Gold Rush Mini

$65 to buy
$520 retail
Stylist Notes

Having a huge blowout birthday bash? Rent this gold sequin explosion by Pencey for your big night.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted throughout midsection; fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - may be more fitted on women with fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Gold sequins (100% polyester with sequins). Crew neckline. Short sleeves. Shift body. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported.

Share
141 reviews
Fit
Large
(11)
True to Size
(88)
Small
(29)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 26, 2013
I wore this to an RTR fashion show. It was perfect!
The dress runs a little big, but not obnoxiously. There's a built-in slip underneath so there's no need to worry about itchy sequins. It's a modest dress, but still chic.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2013
The dress fit great and perfect for formal!
Usually the dresses run big on me but this dress fit perfect and everyone said it was their favorite dress at our sorority's formal
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
April 28, 2013
My Bday!! I wore it to Formal and it looked absolutely gorgeous!! i got so many complements!!
A little tight on the arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
May 3, 2013
Beautiful
It was beautiful but the sequins caught in to everything, My hair the
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 21, 2013
I wore this for my Bachelorette Party in the Spring.
I recieved so many compliments! I think the best part about this sparkly dress other than the fact that it's so different and cute is that the bar tenders couldn't miss me! As soon as I stepped up to the crowded bar, mine was the next order taken! Fantastic!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
July 14, 2013
These sequins made me stand out
This dress was awesome. So incredibly sparkly; it was definitely an attention grabber! Other reviews said that it was tight in the arms, but I really didn't experience that. The only negative is that my hair kept getting caught in the sequins, so maybe plan on wearing your hair up. Overall, great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
July 30, 2013
Wearing this dress for NYE
Perfect dress for New Years! Very warm for that time of the year and comfortable to dance the night away in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 5, 2013
Cute dress, couldn't wear it.
For some reason, this fit me very strangely and I don't have trouble with things fitting. It was incredibly uncomfortable at the neckline. I didn't wear it because of the tightness at the neckline and odd fit in my shoulders. Sad - I had gotten it for Vegas and it just sat in my suitcase. Giving it two stars because it was a very fun dress, just didn't fit me at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
August 27, 2013
Cheesy!
I normally don't wear sequins, but I thought this looked like a fun, classy option to wear while on a vacation in Miami. This dress was incredibly cheesy looking in person and I ended up not wearing it. Also, I have a very athletic build with muscular arms and the sleeves were very tight on my arms when I tried it on (otherwise runs true to size).
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2013
Felt pretty.
Wore this to a "formal" wedding and it was perfect. Comfortable yet sparkly and appropriate for occasion. Didn't have to wear any special bra or Spanx so that was another bonus. A random gentleman (other than my husband) complimented me on the dress which made me feel good. Would definitely do this dress and RTR again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 17, 2013
Show stopper, sparkly, classic!
Very pretty! As mentioned, the sleeves are tight and I felt that the dress runs a bit small overall. I am normally a 4 in most dresses and the 6 was a better fit. I wore this for my sister's Bachelorette Weekend for wine tasting (she requested that we all wear sequins!). Overall, a classic, stand out dress! Sorry -- didn't capture a clear pic with all of the wine tasting going on! ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2013
If you want to stand out and really be flashy without being at all trashy, this is it!
I ordered a XS and Small based on other reviews from customers thinking it would be more of a shift dress than anything really fitted. Though, I could not get the XS over my hips, which typically is not a problem. The Small fit and was still very comfortable, though it was less than a shift dress because it was still fitted around the hips and bum area. The length was just to my fingertips at 35" from shoulder to hem. I would definitely rent again but would try the Medium. p.s. This dress was sent to me overnight and delivered within 24 hours before 10 am day of wedding! Love RTR!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2013
Got a ton of compliments but runs small!
I usually wear a medium, size 6 or 8, but the large in this dress was a bit tight across the thighs and in the arms. I got a ton of compliments on it. The sequins are actually different shades of gold and looks great. The dress was comfortable and not too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 9, 2013
Wasn't a fan
Ordered. Tried on. Horrible. Def not a good dress for an hourglass figure. It went straight down and made my hips lok wide.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
January 3, 2014
comfortable dress to be in all night!
It was very comfortable to be in all night. I rented it for New Years and I don't regret it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
January 22, 2014
Great party dress- sexy but not skanky.
i wore this dress for a vegas work conference that fell on my birthday. it was sparkly enough to celebrate my birthday in vegas, but classy enough to still be appropriate for a business-related party. don't try this on alone if it is even a little tight-- the sleeve cut and sequin material make it impossible to take off without assistance. although the small fit great while on, i had to track down a stranger to help me get out of it-- EMBARRASSING!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
March 30, 2014
Love the dress! Tons on compliments!
I wore this to a 1920s themed party. I typically wear a 6 but chose the large because I wanted it a little loose to go with the theme. A medium probably would have worked. I am only 5'3 and the length was fine on me but for someone tall it may be short. Love all of the sequins. I will probably be renting this again!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 22, 2014
Too small....and too large?
The small was uncomfortably small but the medium was too big and boxy to look at all attractive. I ended up returning and with a winter storm in effect I couldn't get another dress overnighted to me. However, customer service was very helpful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
April 28, 2014
Super cute!
At first, I was concerned that this dress wasn't formal enough for my event, but after I arrived I received a lot of compliments about how cute the dress was. It fits more like a tunic even though it looks formal in the picture. It fits true to size and I probably could have worn the Small. I loved how sparkly it was, the color and shine is just like the picture!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
May 22, 2014
I wore this dress for my birthday dinner. It was comfortable and made me stand out on my day!
A little long (but I'm short) and looser fitting than I expected, but since I wore it to a nice dinner where I wanted to enjoy all of the delicious food it was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 29, 2014
This dress is beautiful, but I don't think it was right for my body type.
I had bunching in the stomach area, which made me self conscious all night but maybe thats because I'm not all that tall. I just felt like it didn't hug my curves enough. It was a little itchy when sitting, however (and unrelated) it looks short but was the perfect length all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 29, 2014
Wore this dress to a holiday cocktail party.
Received many compliments and dress also looks great photos!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Body type: Apple
May 30, 2014
Photographs beautifully.
I rented this for a photo shoot I styled and photographed. It was a sophisticated nautical theme and the sequins added texture to the shoot and the creme trim added something different than the typical sequin number. It photographed well and I was happy with the result. My model rocked it ;o)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 30, 2014
The dress was really fun! Perfect for a bachelorette. I liked it and would rent again.
Tight around the arms - kind of hard to get on and off.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
June 7, 2014
Perfect Dress for any special occasion!
The fit was perfect. Not too tight or loose. The sequin on the dress looked amazing and only got better as day turned into night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 22, 2014
Fits a little funny but pretty & unique !
Very loose in the waist and the band on the bottom doesn't stretch so the snug part is the bottom - wouldn't recommend for pear shape. Also there isn't a zipper so I had a hard time getting in and out of it. Lots of attention for how unique it was! The sequins are actually all different colors. Shows off legs but long enough to dance all night - great length
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 7, 2014
Wore this to Beyonce concert, when the lights go out, you stand out!! Loved, so did everyone else :)
The chest area was a little tight, I had to wear a bit to cinch in the waist a little as well. Overall it is a sort of boxy fit, so playing with the material/accessorizing is a must.
JazminSeptember 21, 2014
what kind of belt did you wear? it looks gorgeouss
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 122lbs
July 14, 2014
Sparkly fun for bachelorette party
This was an ah-mazing dress for my bachelorette party. Sparkly, fun, and short (but not too short!). Actually, the underlining helped keep the dress from moving into "danger, your ladybits are showing territory" when dancing, which is an issue I've had with other shift dresses. The only thing I didn't love about the dress was how stiff it is...but I guess that's the price to pay for a dress covered in sequins. The stiffness made the dress a little challenging to get on, but once it was on it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
July 14, 2014
Birthday Celebrations for a Middle Child!
You'll be noticed in this dress - that's a promise. If you're anything like me and love attention, especially on your birthday, this dress is for you. It's very comfortable - I made it through a seven dish tasting menu without growing uncomfortable or feeling too constricted even once. After dinner, I sang and danced late into the night. Perfect dress from start to finish. I went with the large because the arms on the medium were a bit too tight for comfort. So, if you have a great combination of broad shoulders and muscle/fat-baring arms - a larger size is recommended. Overall a great choice!
andreaOctober 28, 2014
Your hair is killer with it! Copying if I rent this one :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
July 24, 2014
Dress is amazing! If u wear something like this everyone will note it.
Im 5'5 130lb and size S was perfect For me. The dress is amazing! I got a lot of compliments and it was hard for me to return. I wanted to keep it.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2011
Really cute dress! got lot's of compliments and felt very comfortable in it...would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
June 4, 2014
LOVE!
Can't go wrong with glitter!!!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
August 12, 2014
I wanted to stand out...and I did!
This stunner was comfortable to wear all night. I wore this for my engagement party/couples shower and wanted a fun alternative to a white dress. Highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 29, 2014
I got so many (good) head turns that I felt like Beyonce or J.Lo!
I was obsessed with this dress as soon as I saw it on RTR and it was the PERFECT dress for my 23rd birthday! The dress is classy, sexy and you can't go wrong with something that sparkles like that! The sparkles are actually gold and pale pink so I would recommend nude or a bright colored shoe (I wore red). I ordered both the Medium and Large after reading multiple reviews, but felt the Large fit better in the sleeves and for the style of the dress. I would recommend going up a size if you have bigger arms but overall, I absolutely loved the dress and would most definitely re-order!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2014
Loved this dress! Wore it as a bridesmaids dress. So elegant.
Little tricky to get into because there is no zip. I got dressed before hair and make up. Absolutely loved it though. All the bridesmaids wore nude shoes.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
October 1, 2014
The star of the photoshoot!
I'm a photographer, and use Rent the Runway primarily for wardrobe options. I found this dress for a fun, modern elopement editorial I was about to shoot, and it worked perfectly! The only note the model made was that it was not stretchy at all, and didn't have much give. Not necessarily a bad thing, just something to keep in mind! Overall, this was a fabulous little dress, and everyone has been commenting on it!
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 27
October 19, 2014
I wore this dress for my Savannah, Georgia Bachelorette Party! I walked around town to oohs and ahhs
I ordered an XS because the S was not available and it was a little tight around the thighs and I was unable to lift my arms very high :( I would say to look for another dress than try and go down a size if you're unsure. However, the dress was so fun and I got so many compliments throughout the night! I was nervous about trying RTR, but everything arrived on time and looked great :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2014
A great choice if you don't have a 21" waist.
The dress was beautiful & comfy. Perfect for a long night of dancing. I received lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 24, 2014
Sparkles Galore!
So if you have boobs or arms that are human shaped, get a large. Definitely does not allow a lot of room there. But the dress has a nice comfy liner and looks positively awesome. I feared it might be heavy and make me look chunkier but it was just fabulous
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
November 17, 2014
Lit up the room
I got a million compliments on this dress. It definitely stood out in a room full of black dresses. I loved the fit and the comfort of this dress. I highly recommend it!!!!
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×