Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
160 reviews
Fit
Large
(89)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 13, 2012
I L O V E D this dress! And so did everyone else!
First off, I got SO many compliments on this dress, and many asked where I found it. It was extremely comfortable, and exactly what I was looking for. I have a small upper body (chest, arms, and waist) but athletic legs that are stocky. The dress' straps that run along the rib cage were a little too loose on me, and it was noticeable, but it was an easy fix with double stick tape! (My waist is 24 inches) I also taped the chest portion because I have a smaller chest and I was afraid the dress would slip if I didn't.(: (I know it says I'm a 32C and that's the size I wear, but I would NOT consider myself a C, at most I'd say a B.) The length on me was a little longer than the model in the picture, but I didn't mind. Keep in mind, I'm 5'7". I felt confident and gorgeous all night long! I didn't even want to change at the end of the night(: I'm sure you'll love this dress!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
December 16, 2012
Love, love, love this dress.
I ordered this as a backup for a fancy Christmas party. I had such a hard time deciding between this and my first choice and ultimately went for my first (dressier) choice. I do however want to re-rent this dress for another occasion. It's SO cute and so comfortable. I am solidly a size 2 but ordered the 0 based on previous reviews and the 0 fit me perfectly. Order this dress! You will not regret it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
December 16, 2012
So many compliments!
This dress was a great choice! I recieved so many compliments and people told me i looked like a model all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 22, 2013
I normally wear a size 4, but even the size 2 was lose at the top.
Because of the unfit size, I chose to wear a strapless bra to have a bit more support and give the dress less falling room. The dress definitely was a sexy piece but I wish I would have know how big it was going to be.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 12, 2013
It was flirty and perfect for my New Year's Eve celebration!
I liked how it was pretty short because I am so tall. I like the way it was flawy at the bottom and had cut outs on the sides for a sexier look.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 14, 2013
Dress was so comfortable, perfect for dancing, and i got so many compliments throughout the night!
I typically wear a size 6 or 8, and i ended up wearing the size 8 due to complications in the shipment. This dress was a little loose for me in the top; the sleeves kept slipping throughout the night, but i still felt wonderful and i loved how the dress swayed with every step. Although i read that fashion tape worked for most people i used the sticky cups from victoria's secret and that worked perfectly for me. Fashion tape is the most inexpensive option though. I would definitely wear this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 118lbs
May 13, 2013
Very cute dress
I had to order a larger size, since my size was not available. It ran very big, but the chest area was made for a smaller bust. My daughters loved it though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2013
Lovely Dress!
I absolutely loved this dress! I wore this for a birthday dinner/party that I was hosting...It definitely runs large though, even the 0 was a little loose on me on the sides. I wore a black strapless bra with it. It was very comfortable and classic and fun to dance in, while the cutouts gave it a little sexiness. I got lots of compliments from everyone. I have used RTR a few times and this was the first dress that I was soo sad to return!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2013
Sexy dress - Great for Vegas!
Really cute dress! Glad I read the reviews and sized down - the 2 was perfect in the waist; I was worried that there was only a 2 and a 6 available but thankfully the 2 was great. I have not worn a size 2 since high school, so this dress does run big. Great for girls with big hips/butt and small waist because the dress is only has a zip in the waist (on the back). Flatter the body shape very well. CON: The straps were very annoying and kept falling though. Hollywood fashion tape would have come in handy but I would have had no boobs, so I just wore a regular strapless nude bra and that was fine for being in dark clubs in Vegas. One con - when you're dancing, tall girls needs to be aware of the fact that the dress *might* lift up because of the flowy material, so wear appropriate underwear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2013
Cute Dress
Was a little worn from usage but was a cute dress. Too bad I didn't get to really enjoy it since it was freezing in NY for Memorial Day weekend!!! Like most reviews said size down, and I did and it was a great fit. ****Sorry no pics****
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2013
Great party dress!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette and it was perfect! I read all the reviews online before I ordered it and I'm really glad I did as I typically wear a 2/4 and I reented the 0/2. I ended up wearing the 0 as the 2 was far too big for me. The straps do fall down a little bit but I bought fashion tape which I reccommend buying if you don't own already. It worked perfectly all nice. I wore a NU bra with the dress and had no issues with seeing my bra. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
July 13, 2013
I wore this for my birthday and it was exactly what I wanted to stand out!
The fit was perfect! I never usually wear a size 0 (typically I am a 4 or 6) but I read other reviews stating that this dress ran large. I am 5'10, 145 pounds. The dress was pretty short on me, but I am rather tall. I loved the way it fit. I was was able to wear a black bra with it. The dress was light and I felt sexy all night. .
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 28, 2013
Fun sexy bachelorette party dress!
This dress was so cute and super sexy. I felt hot for my last night out as a single woman! I definately recommend it. I went with the smaller backup size because my size felt too big. Only thing is, you definately need some tape to hold everything in place.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2013
Sad I couldn't wear it :(
I'm a petite person and unfortunately I was unable to wear this dress. I ordered a size 0 and the straps were too long and the cut outs were hanging off of me. It's too bad this dress doesn't come in petite; it looks like such fun to wear!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 7, 2013
Runs VERY large!
I rented the size 2 as a backup dress after reading the reviews warning that the dress runs big - and they were right! The side cut outs were hanging & the straps were a bit long so I wore my other option. It is a very cute dress - just order TWO sizes down!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 16, 2013
Didn't fit!
This was a cute dress, I'm sure it would have worked on the right body type. The cutouts were larger than they appeared in the photos- they weren't as attractive in my opinion, but I think that the dress may have been a little stretched out. The 0 was too small for my chest- there was some definite side boob showing, while the 2 was just too large overall. Again, if it fit correctly I probably would have liked it, but it just didn't work on me.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
September 22, 2013
Great for Vegas!
I normally wear a size 4 or 6, and the 2 was still a bit big! Order small! Fashion tape allowed me to wear a regular bra. Loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 17, 2013
I wore this for my bachelorette party- it was cute and I received lots of compliments
I thought the dress was a little bit big. The cutouts in the side hung pretty loosely, I just wish it had been a little tighter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
November 21, 2013
Beautiful dress
This dress is great, beautiful shape and details but it did run big. The zero was still a little loose in both the chest and rib-area (cut outs sagged). It wasn't all that noticeable and overall I enjoyed wearing it.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
January 13, 2014
Not fitted enough.
Nice dress, But the dress was too baggy even though I got the smallest size. I think this a dress for the more curvy figure. I was nice just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2014
Cute, fun party dress
I wore this dress for a birthday weekend in AC in January. It was cold, as you can imagine, and the dress was def. larger on top than I wanted. It was still fun to wear and perfect to drink and dance in. Not sure if I would rent it again, since there are SO many fun little black party dresses on RTR. Still happy with my rental, it did what it needed to do!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
February 18, 2014
runs large
if i had the right size it would have been a great vacation date night dress......opted to call and choose a designer i knew would fit. RTR sent it straight to my hotel it was a great experience as always!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 5, 2014
Too big
The dress was simply too loose so I ended up returning it. it's very light weight and perfect for a party.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 9, 2014
Too big
I ordered the 0 and the 2 of this dress. The size 2 was too big, and the 0 was even bigger than the 2. The cutouts on the sides were gaping on both dresses, so I ended up wearing a different dress to the event.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2014
This dress cutout section fit weirdly- it did not lie flat... neither did the straps.
This dress cutout section fit weirdly- it did not lie flat... neither did the straps. I ended up not wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
April 9, 2014
The cutouts on this dress were so flattering
Unfortunately, the dress gaped a bit at the sides because it runs too large. The length was perfect though! Very pretty.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2012
All of the compliments I got!
I wore this for a sorority formal and felt great in it; got a ton of compliments!! But it is very revealing and you have to be comfortable with your waistline and be willing to readjust it throughout the night. I wish I would have thought to get a bib/statement necklace ahead of time because it needs it. It runs large in the best area but true to fit in the waistline.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
May 20, 2012
Great service. I received many, many compliments throughout the night.
I rented this dress for my junior prom and loved it. It did run VERY large; I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up with the 0. However, the sides and cutouts were still quite noticeably large on me, but I used fashion tape to secure them in place. The straps were also quite long, so fashion tape was used to make sure that they didn't fall off. Overall a great looking dress and I'm very happy with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
July 11, 2012
love the sexy, playful cut
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas. I loved the slightly edgy vibe. While it certainly shows some skin on the sides, its long enough/loose enough in the bottom that it still feels classy. The only problem is that it runs slightly big overall, so the top hung very low. Overall the dress would have looked better on me if it were slightly more fitted. Definitely opt for the size down or order a back up size. I wore it with a Nubra.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
July 25, 2012
My teacher calling me sexy was hands down the best part about this dress experience.
I rented this for my Senior Prom because I'm too short for a long dress to look good. This dress arrived on time and was wonderful! Everyone loved the design and the slits in the sides. My teachers even told me I looked sexy. It was the perfect length and you can still dance in it. The straps were a little long though since I have no boobs so I had to pin them back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
July 28, 2012
Absolutely loved the cuts on the side; they make up for the dress being a little long!
This dress was perfect for my birthday LBD! Only thing i disliked was that the bust was a little big even with a padded bra! I had to use fashion tape to make sure I didn't show anything. Also, the sides where it's cut were big so they sagged (picture shows it). Just wish maybe they had a XS in the dress. Other than that, the dress was amazing!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
July 30, 2012
Having a fun dinner with my girls in Chicago in this easy, effortless, adorable dress.
Hands down literally the best dress I've ever rented from RTR and I've rented quite a few. It was effortless. Compliments from both my girl and guy friends! It could go from a party to formal affair, if wore right. It's short, but wearable. I can't say enough about this dress. I, honestly, think everyone should at LEAST rent this as a back up. It would work for any body type, which is rare. It hits at just the right area, very flattering. I am usually a size 10-12, and the 8 fit me so I would say it runs large.The only down side, is that it's very narrow in the top for me. If you have a bigger chest, I don't know if you'd be able to zip up. I'm very small on top, and it was a snug fit. No one else seemed to have this problem though, so go for it. RENT RENT RENT! I would buy this dress if they had a size 10...or the money ;D
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 11, 2012
Easy going dress, fun to dance in!
runs a little big so I used the 0 instead of a 2. I LOVED IT THOUGH! So comfortable and works well with plenty of events!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
Fun, flirty option for a LBD bacheleorette party!
This dress was great. It was something a little bit different for a bacheleorette party of my sister's. The theme was LBD attire so it was nice to have something with a little bit of a flair other than just a plain black dress. The slits on the sides were a little bigger than I anticipated, but it was still OK. The bottom of the dress was super flattering and I loved the way the straps were twisted. It runs a little large, usually I wear a 2/4 depending on the dress, but I easily wore a 0 in this.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 18, 2013
Lots of compliments on this dress! It was sassy and unique.
Sizes run large, definitely go down a size. Hard to find a bra to fit underneath, I would go another direction if you are slender, but have a larger bust. Fabric does not stretch, but is still pretty comfortable. Overall a fun dress to wear!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 14, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a trip to Vegas. Pros: super comfy, great for dancing, very sexy. Cons: I have a short torso, and the sleeves kept slipping off my shoulders. Plus, I could tell that the dress had been around the block. That said, it was fun to wear and overall the perfect vegas dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2014
Liked the style
The dress looked great on the hanger, however, didn't do much when I put it on. Definitely made to be worn without a bra. I gave that a shot but ultimately opted to wear my black strapless, I felt the dress both ran large and was stretched out from over use. The bottom of my bra did show because of the cut out style but thankfully not truly noticeable since I was in a dark club.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2012
Great for a Night out...
But not appropriate for a formal affair. Rented this dress in addition to another for NYE, and ended up going with the other. I am usually a size 6 and based on other reviews that it ran big, ordered a size 4. It was a little loose in the ribs, making the side cut outs bigger than pictured and inappropriate for a classy affair. I have a very long torso and usually mini dresses are too short on me but this actually covered me up just fine. Would be great for a more casual party!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 5, 2012
loved it
it fits really big. I usually where a 2 and the 0 was a little loose. It was amazing though and everyone loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 22, 2012
Sexy dress for Valentine's Day
This dress is a great mix of sexy and classy. I would agree with the other reviews that it runs large. The size 4 was still workable, but I would've preferred a smaller size if it had been in stock for a backup size.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×