Pencey

Fierce McJagger Dress

$60 rental
$325 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girls will be impressed with this edgy LBD, show it off by wearing the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Imperial Crystal Bangle Set.

Also available in cobalt.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black silk(100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

159 reviews

Fit
Small 4
True to Size 66
Large 89
Photos 97
Rae
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Body type: Athletic
Oct 1, 2012

Very nice dress. flowy and sophisticated.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very nice dress for homecoming. Shows some skin. Took off one star because dad thought it showed too much skin.
Ally
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 28, 2012

the customer service

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
received many compliments on this dress! very comfortable. I'm usually a 4-6 in a dress and this fit perfectly in the 4. great LBD
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Sep 25, 2012

Great for a girls night out!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great & was very comfortable! Runs pretty true to size, maybe even a little large. I rented this dress for my best friend's bachelorette party & was really happy with it!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Sep 21, 2012

I felt great in this dress and could wear a regular bra in it. Very flirty!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Dress was very comfortable, flirty and fit true to size. I was able to wear my regular bra underneath, and received SEVERAL compliments. I didn't upstage the bride to be, but gave the impression that I was ready to party!
Desiree
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

sexy dress! Got so many compliments on it and it fit like a glove! A perfect dress for my 21 bday!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect shape, color and length, fit perfectly and hides the little love handles that I do have. It was kind of hard for to me to wear a bra but it makes you have cleavage!
Zoe
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 17, 2012

This dress fit perfect! I got tons of complements!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only thing that didn't fit right was the straps. They were a little too long for me. Also, the bra situation is really tricky. Since there are slits in the sides and its low on top, you have to find like little nipple covers or those "stick on" boobs because your bra will show on the bottom slit if its a regular strapless bra like from Victoria's Secret. I wear a 34 D, so my boobs filled up the dress, it was just a challenge to find a bra that supported my boobs in the dress. I reccommend the stick-on patches that give you a lift. Those work best with this dress:)
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 19, 2012

Fun, flirty option for a LBD bacheleorette party!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
This dress was great. It was something a little bit different for a bacheleorette party of my sister's. The theme was LBD attire so it was nice to have something with a little bit of a flair other than just a plain black dress. The slits on the sides were a little bigger than I anticipated, but it was still OK. The bottom of the dress was super flattering and I loved the way the straps were twisted. It runs a little large, usually I wear a 2/4 depending on the dress, but I easily wore a 0 in this.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Body type: Athletic
Sep 17, 2012

I got so many compliments on this dress it was so pretty! WARNING: Runs large.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered a 6 and an 8. The 8 was so big; the 6 was just right. It was such a light weight material which made it great to dance in at the reception and I received so many compliments on it! I would definitely rent it again.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 11, 2012

Easy going dress, fun to dance in!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Date
runs a little big so I used the 0 instead of a 2. I LOVED IT THOUGH! So comfortable and works well with plenty of events!
Erin
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 6, 2012

The packaging was amazing, and I loved the goody bag! The simplicity of the arrival and return cannot be beat!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is adorable. But did not work for me. I am very slender, and the fabric cutouts hung on my mid-section, it was almost comical. Thank goodness my crafty sister in law is beyond amazing with fashion tape or I would have been in serious trouble. It looked about 2 sizes two big. She was able to pull the entire back in with fashion and two-sided tape and secured it well enough that it lasted through a night on the dance floor with only a few adjustments! I have a decent chest, but it did nothing to up my cleavage - no bra worked and I did not have time to purchase a nu-bra. Because the cutouts were so large around my middle, the straps were very loose and could not pull my chest up (I have implants and they are already perky, but this did nothing to enhance them). All in all I recommend it completely if you have more to fill it out! Not for the super slim. Frst time renting and the experience was wonderful. I will just need to rent teeny tiny body con from now on :-)
Jessica
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Sep 2, 2012

Overall a fantastic experience from receiving the package to wearing the actual dress!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is very flattering for many body types, it fits everywhere fantastically pretty true to size and adorable on!
laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 21, 2012

Feeling confident and amazing! Wish I could have kept the dress, it was killer!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I heard the bar girls say "Oh, the hot girls have arrived!" when I walked in wearing the dress :)
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127 lbs
Aug 3, 2012

Easy to dress up with cute shoes!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I really loved this dress, although it was hard to find a bra that would work with it. I got the 0 and 2 since I read that it ran large, but the 0 was even larger than the 2... hm. So needless to say, I wore the 2. It's a cute dress though. Thin material was great for summer.
Marie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 14, 2012

Tons of compliments on this dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
I read that this dress runs large so I ordered the 0. Super sexy and comfy. You can still wear a bra. If you have a larger chest you will need to secure it onto the bra so it doesn't show on the sides.
Renee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 10, 2012

Fun LBD!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this for a bachelorette party and absolutely loved it. It was super comfortable and got a ton of compliments. The A-line shape of the skirt was very flattering and hit about mid-thigh.
Ashleigh
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Aug 1, 2012

Perfect shipping and quality dresses. I have recommended RtR to many many friends!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my Bachelorette party this past weekend and it was such a hit! The dress fits completely true to size and is the perfect length for me (I am 5'5"), for a night out on the town. I received sooo many compliments and I definitely felt like a "sassy" bachelorette with this on. Highly recommend this dress for anyone who wants to have a little edge to their night out. I do not have a big bust and so did not even need to wear a bra, FYI.
ves
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Jul 30, 2012

Having a fun dinner with my girls in Chicago in this easy, effortless, adorable dress.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
Hands down literally the best dress I've ever rented from RTR and I've rented quite a few. It was effortless. Compliments from both my girl and guy friends! It could go from a party to formal affair, if wore right. It's short, but wearable. I can't say enough about this dress. I, honestly, think everyone should at LEAST rent this as a back up. It would work for any body type, which is rare. It hits at just the right area, very flattering. I am usually a size 10-12, and the 8 fit me so I would say it runs large.The only down side, is that it's very narrow in the top for me. If you have a bigger chest, I don't know if you'd be able to zip up. I'm very small on top, and it was a snug fit. No one else seemed to have this problem though, so go for it. RENT RENT RENT! I would buy this dress if they had a size 10...or the money ;D
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jul 28, 2012

Absolutely loved the cuts on the side; they make up for the dress being a little long!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress was perfect for my birthday LBD! Only thing i disliked was that the bust was a little big even with a padded bra! I had to use fashion tape to make sure I didn't show anything. Also, the sides where it's cut were big so they sagged (picture shows it). Just wish maybe they had a XS in the dress. Other than that, the dress was amazing!
Alanna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 27, 2012

All my friends loved the dress and wished they could borrow it! Definitely did not want to return this one!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was comfortable and great for a fun event. The cut outs make it super sexy, but the bottom is flowy so it isn't too over the top. You can also wear a real bra with the dress which is perfect!
Nancy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 111 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

My teacher calling me sexy was hands down the best part about this dress experience.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my Senior Prom because I'm too short for a long dress to look good. This dress arrived on time and was wonderful! Everyone loved the design and the slits in the sides. My teachers even told me I looked sexy. It was the perfect length and you can still dance in it. The straps were a little long though since I have no boobs so I had to pin them back.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 18, 2012

A unique look

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Although this dress has no stretch, it fit perfectly. I didn't use any fashion tape with it, but came close to a couple of "wardrobe malfunctions". :) I'd suggest keeping some tape on hand if you notice it shifting during the night (where the cutouts are, it worked for me, but for some it could be a little iffy - no bra). I loved that it was a little longer than most dresses, so it balanced out the daring sides! Had a little trouble keeping the straps twisted evenly on both sides (one side was tacked better than the other), but no big deal in the overall look. Surprisingly light-weight material.
Janine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Jul 11, 2012

love the sexy, playful cut

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I rented this dress for a trip to Vegas. I loved the slightly edgy vibe. While it certainly shows some skin on the sides, its long enough/loose enough in the bottom that it still feels classy. The only problem is that it runs slightly big overall, so the top hung very low. Overall the dress would have looked better on me if it were slightly more fitted. Definitely opt for the size down or order a back up size. I wore it with a Nubra.
Arielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 29, 2012

Such a great, easy dress to wear - size down though!!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a boat cruise, and I loved it. Was nervous about the slits and fit, but I sized down and the cut was great. The sheer straps give the dress a sweet edge that tone down the sexiness.
Anna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121 lbs
May 20, 2012

Great service. I received many, many compliments throughout the night.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for my junior prom and loved it. It did run VERY large; I ordered a size 0 and 2, and ended up with the 0. However, the sides and cutouts were still quite noticeably large on me, but I used fashion tape to secure them in place. The straps were also quite long, so fashion tape was used to make sure that they didn't fall off. Overall a great looking dress and I'm very happy with it.
Megan
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 8, 2012

everyone loved it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, but it runs very big. I ordered a 0 and 2, and ended up wearing the 0. Even the 0 was too big, but I made it work using fashion tape. It worked out, but I would have liked it a lot more had it been tighter around my waist.
ann
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 23, 2012

I did not need to iron/steam any of the dresses I ordered. It was incredibly easy to return

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal though it would have been perfect for a cute date night. Its got a nice flow to it and the cutouts are perfect - not too scandalous. The neckline is rather plunging but I wore a beaded necklace to distract and surprisingly I was able to wear a real bra with it.
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 11, 2012

This was my first experience with RTR and it couldn't have been any better! I was told several times that my dress was amazing and I looked stunning! Thank you!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received many compliments and it fit great! I did not have to worry about it being too short to move around and dance in. I loved the flow that the bottom had. The only thing was that the straps were semi-big and the hips were loose so I would recommend ordering down a size (my backup size was not available). I would not have picked any other dress! Thanks RTR!
Brittany
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 30, 2012

Got tons of compliments & felt so great!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It was a little baggy on me though, so the slits were a little too revealing and I had to fix it quite a bit with tape, but once the tape was in place it was stunning! I wore it to my sorority's formal and got so many compliments!
allie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 4, 2012

All of the compliments I got!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this for a sorority formal and felt great in it; got a ton of compliments!! But it is very revealing and you have to be comfortable with your waistline and be willing to readjust it throughout the night. I wish I would have thought to get a bib/statement necklace ahead of time because it needs it. It runs large in the best area but true to fit in the waistline.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132 lbs
Jan 30, 2012

"That dress is so beautiful! The way it falls and fits is so extraordinary."

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is so classy and sexy at the same time! I got so many compliments! I am pear shaped, and it was extremely flattering, but I will say that it showed a little more skin than I expected, so if you're not comfortable with showing off your upper body, this dress probably isn't for you. It also fits great. I loved the dress!
Samantha
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 21, 2012

I LOVE RTR! I was constantly asked where I got my dress the night I wore it, and I recommended RTR to all my friends. The best compliment I got was how smart I was to rent a dress for NYE when all my friends spent a lot of money for dresses they were only going to wear once. I would recommend RTR to anyone.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I LOVED this dress!! I wore it out for New Years Eve this year and got so many compliments. I edged it up a little bit with big hair, spike earrings, studded heels, and darker makeup. I ordered both the 6 and 4 because I am little taller I was afraid the 4 would be a little short, but it was perfect. It was a little big in the bust for me, but I have a smaller chest. I also was able to wear a strapless bra with it. It didn't show at all in the back, but it did a little bit underneath due to the cut outs. I just added some double sided tape and it did the trick. There is zero padding in the top, and the dress is actually a really thin, flowy material. From the picture I thought it was a little stiffer material with more form on the bottom. All in all, I was very satisfied.
Megan
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 17, 2012

got a ton of compliments :)

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
loved this dress. it was definitely true to size, and made for a great bday. I was nervous it'd show too much skin, but it was perfect.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 10, 2014

Birthday dinner in Miami

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Very cute!
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Apr 9, 2014

The cutouts on this dress were so flattering

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately, the dress gaped a bit at the sides because it runs too large. The length was perfect though! Very pretty.
Brianne
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

This dress cutout section fit weirdly- it did not lie flat... neither did the straps.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress cutout section fit weirdly- it did not lie flat... neither did the straps. I ended up not wearing this dress.
Aubrey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Too big

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I ordered the 0 and the 2 of this dress. The size 2 was too big, and the 0 was even bigger than the 2. The cutouts on the sides were gaping on both dresses, so I ended up wearing a different dress to the event.
Candy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Mar 5, 2014

Too big

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was simply too loose so I ended up returning it. it's very light weight and perfect for a party.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Feb 18, 2014

runs large

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
if i had the right size it would have been a great vacation date night dress......opted to call and choose a designer i knew would fit. RTR sent it straight to my hotel it was a great experience as always!!!
Kellie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 17, 2014

Cute, fun party dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for a birthday weekend in AC in January. It was cold, as you can imagine, and the dress was def. larger on top than I wanted. It was still fun to wear and perfect to drink and dance in. Not sure if I would rent it again, since there are SO many fun little black party dresses on RTR. Still happy with my rental, it did what it needed to do!
Jacqueline
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Jan 15, 2014

Cut outs are amazing. Cute to dress up or down. Very comfortable.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Material is a little light weight, so I would probably recommend only for spring/summer.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×