Pencey

Butterfly Kisses Dress

$113 to buy
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(65)
True to Size
(29)
Small
(4)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 17, 2013
Although the concept is a cute one......

.....this dress was too large so I had to send it back and didn't wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 10, 2013
Wish I could've had two size options on this one

I really loved this dress - especially the fabric and print - but the cutouts just did not sit right on me. I ordered it as my second $25 option (so I didn't have the option to order 2 sizes) for a wedding and ended up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner. I think the 4 would have fit much better for the sake of the cutouts.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2013
Super Cute!

I wore this dress to a daytime wedding in Las Vegas, and the lightweight material was perfect for the 109 degree day! The dress runs large. I normally wear a size 2 and the 0 was great, though I wish the cutouts would have hugged my waist more. I also had to use fashion tape to make sure I was fully covered under my bust. Despite these very small issues, I loved the dress. It was fun, easy, but had a little sex appeal as well.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 24, 2013
Wish I could have purchased this dress!

I rented this dress for my sister-in-law's wedding in Las Vegas. Since Elvis would be performing the ceremony, I needed something fun but still wedding appropriate. This dress was PERFECT! I am VERY pear shaped and this dress hugged all the right things and minimized my hips/butt. Very comfortable and lightweight (it was 106 degrees in Vegas...). I got compliments all night from family and guests! Runs very small. I usually wear a 4-6 and rented this dress in a 0 and 4 (no 2s available). The 4 was really not much bigger than the 0, but the 0 felt perfect in the chest and torso, so I went with it (and felt great about wearing a size 0 again!). Definitely recommend this dress, and REALLY wish I could have bought it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 8, 2013
Didn't fit right.

This dress did not fit me well. The fabric was pretty, but it seemed stretched out/worn. There was no real difference between the size 0, and the 2. i tried both, and wore neither. The cut outs were really not my style for a wedding, and I was worried that I wouldn't have enough support without a bra. Without a bra you could see too much, and with it, you could see parts of the bra from the front and back.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 9, 2013
WAY TO BIG!

Got a size 2 and was huge couldnt wear.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2013
Flirty and fun dress. The size 0 is more like a size 6.

I love this dress! To help with fit, my measurements are 34DD(if u measure around my bust its 35)-27-39 and I wore a size 0 and IT FIT PERFECTLY. I have never, ever worn a size zero in my life. But this was perfect. I didn't have to tape anything and the cut-outs fell perfectly as on the model. And my waist is between 27 and 27.5. I wore this to dinner with a cropped leather jacket and combat boots. It is not for a formal affair, as it has a more party or semi-casual feel (because of the material and the cut-outs). I also didn't have to wear a bra and it cupped and supported my bust beautifully.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2013
Beautiful dress!

This dress ended up looking great and is a beautiful dress/fabric, however, it was not without a lot of work. I had to safety pin it in several locations to get it to fit since it runs so large. I had read other reviews on here saying it ran big but I had no idea it would be that much bigger! Thank goodness I am skilled with a safety pin :) Even after safety pinning it in several spots, it was somewhat obvious if you really looked at it (fabric was bunching where I folded it, you could see the fabric not line up). Dress is still very pretty but if you want a good fit, this is dress may not be it.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2013
Flirty and fun, but short!

I wore this on a Valentine's Day date with my hubby. I felt so special and the cut outs made it very sexy. The print was subtle and flirty and not too "adolescent" looking. I'm not very tall (5'4") and this dress felt a bit short, especially sitting down. Also, I wore the smaller back up size, so maybe it runs big? I am smaller on top and since it is loose on the bottom I needed it tighter up top so I wore the 2. Other than that, I loved it!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 21, 2013
Perfect spring formal dress!

I received so many compliments on how original this dress was. The cutouts make it a little edgy, but it is still a very classy look. The skirt is flowy so it gave me room to wear a smaller size. The only issue I had was being able to see the bottom of my bra through the cutouts. Even with a Nubra, there were some moments when you could see it. Overall though, I loved this dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Perfect fit!

Runs large so order a smaller backup size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous dress, Great fit, Lots of compliments

I wore this for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding that I was in. It was a total hit. I wore the smaller size so that the cutouts hit in the right spots, but I had to go bra-less (the bra would have completely shown).

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2014
Dress was too large!

This was a beautiful dress, but it was so large I couldn't wear it. Thankfully, I had a backup from RTR that worked. This dress felt at least two sizes too large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2015
Loose around the rib cage

The slits on the side show underboob if you're not careful, size was too large.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2012
I was told by a complete stranger that it was the best dress of the night!

I rented this dress for an outdoor, spring wedding in the Vermont mountains. I received a large number of compliments from my husband, friends, and strangers! I felt really great in it. The mix of the feminine design and skirt complemented well with the sexier cutouts. As the other reviews mention, the dress runs large. I went with my backup size which was a size lower than what I typically wear. My only issue with the dress is that the size of cutouts were larger than they appear in the picture. After a bit of trial and error, I was able to make the dress work. You absolutely need double-sided tape. I often can get away without wearing a bra with dresses and sometimes shirts, but this dress you need the support as to avoid any unwanted popouts or side-boob! Had I not needed to spend quite some time working out the fit, I would have given it 5 stars.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
I received a ton of compliments.

I rented this for a bridal shower. I am typically a 4 or a 6 but i read the reviews and orders a 4 and a 2. They only sent the 2 but it worked out because it fit great.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
September 8, 2012
Average rental

Really cute dress but runs REALLY large. I usually wear a 4-6, (more on the 4 end 6 only for butt-hugging dresses) and I got a 0 and it was still a little big! I managed to make it work with some dress tape in places, but without it the dress would buckle out at the neck and the waist band on the sides drooped. I was cute and I got compliments, but not the best fit... especially if you're any smaller than me. (34'-25-38' last time I checked)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Fall Homecoming

I wore this dress for my fall homecoming and everyone loved it! I got compliments about every aspect: the cut-outs, color and florals on it. I felt comfortable and beautiful in my dress which to me, is the most important part about a dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 15, 2013
Flirty and sexy and versatile. Really wish I could own this dress!

I wore this to a casual dinner rehearsal for a wedding. Loved it! I wore a normal bra although it did peak out the top slit at times...a smaller busted girl may not have issues. I ordered the 2 and the 4 and I honestly couldn't tell the difference between the two. So, it fit true for a 4, but big for a 2. Overall, great dress!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 11, 2014
I was kinda disappointed when it arrived!

It ran very very big if should of got a 4 or even a 2. The only way to make this fit better was to pin it. It looks gorgeous on the girl but on me, don't think I could pull it off! I suggest getting the size you wear an a size smaller.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 5, 2012
Not the right look.

My boyfriend told me it looked like I had fish gills. Not the look I was going for. The print and material are great but it doesn't seem to balance right with the open cutouts. Needless to say, I went with my back up dress.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 12, 2012
Didn't want to give it back

Wore the dress with boots to a country concert. I felt great and got a ton of compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2012
This dress is perfect for a date night! Cute, romantic, and the cut-outs make it sexy!

I wore this dress for a date night because I was sick of my same-old outfits. It was perfect. The floral pattern make it romantic and feminine and the cut outs are a nice surprise that throw in a little bit of sexiness. I wore it with a bright yellow short-sleeved cardigan when it got cold at night. I'd recommend for anyone who wants to play up their feminine side for a nice date or brunch. Only thing I'd say that was a bit frustrating was that the bodice/top part of the dress was a little roomy...

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 25, 2013
So cute, but runs way big.

I ordered a 6 and a 4 but I wish I'd gotten a 2. The 4 was really loose in the top and I had to use fashion tape to keep myself in it. It was really cute though - although I wore it to a very southern wedding and got a few too many glances in my direction because of the holes in the side. I loved it though, but would probably think twice about wearing it to anything other than a party or a night out on the town.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
December 16, 2016
nice change

liked it, but the chest area was wayyy too big

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 8, 2014
Great fit; lots of compliments!

Wore this to a wedding. I'm only 5'2", and even with heels, the slits weren't too revealing.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2013
Lovely pattern. Comfortable material. Watch your girls!

I was so excited when I saw this dress. I am a huge fan of floral, so I thought it was perfect - especially with the cuts on the sides! It's also super comfortable. The only issue I had with it was that I thought that my bra was going to show near the slits if I moved too much, but I was fine. I got sizes 2 and 4, thinking 4 would be fine because that's what I usually am, but the 2 was perfect! I matched it with a pair of coral peep toe pumps. Can I just buy it? I want to wear it all the time!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
September 18, 2015
I wasn't comfortable in this though others said it looked great!

I gave it 5 because it is great material and everyone said it looked great. It is also very large as I usually wear an 8 and felt like I could almost have worn a 4 in this. I however am a 36 yr old woman and wanted to try something risky, I ended up not being comfortable with the cut outs. I have to wear some kind of bra and the one I used showed at the bottom a little. I also felt like it wasn't flattering to my shape all though others assured me I was wrong! I didn't actually end up wearing it out of the house I wore my back up dress. I would personally say this is for if you are younger, bolder than I or have a better shape around the cut out areas.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 29, 2014
Cute dress but runs small on the top

I didn't end up wearing thing dress as it was a little small on the top. The cut outs were cute, but probably better for girls with a smaller bust.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
May 12, 2014
Love this dress - sweet and cute, but not overly so because of cut outs.

I ordered a size 2 and 4. The size 2 was a bit short (waist line hit above my waist since my torso is long), but it hid my bra better. The size 4, overall fit better, but I had to tug the dress a few times to conceal my bra from peeking out of the cut outs. Regardless, none of this was problematic. I loved the dress. I like the subtle style of it, except for the cut outs, which added just enough flare/edge/attention, and it was very light and comfortable.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 14, 2014
loved it

had a little trouble finding the right bra to wear with it-- ended up using a strapless and some fashion tape. Worked out fine.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
April 30, 2012
Don't pass up...

If you are looking for daytime chic, this is a dress that lives up to that statement. The dress even has pockets. Perfect for those things you should stow away like lipstick, or great for holding your dress from blowing up and away on a windy day. The highest cut out is not thought out well. You should invest in double siticky tape to hide your bra. I wasn't disappointed at all.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2012
Feeling confident in a great dress made me feel confident to bet on my favorite horses at the horse races!

This dress is such a cute day time look. It was perfect for a sunny day at the horse races! The sides were loose but I don't think they were made to be skin tight. I definitely found it well fitting.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Cute and Sexy

I rented this for a sorority formal and it fit perfectly! The dress itself it super cute and the cutouts give it a little edge, which I loved! The only tricky part was the bra situation. My strapless bra kept sneaking out, but double-sided tape definitely helped!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 4, 2012
Loved!

I loved, loved, loved this dress, but did not end up wearing it. I had rented it for an outdoor country wedding and felt like it was just a little too much. However, it fit awesome! I had read about some people having issues with the cutouts, but it fit like a glove!

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 19, 2012
I got so many compliments and the cut-outs made it cute and sexy but not over-the-top!

Great fit! I got the four just in case but the smaller size was better- I didn't have to worry about falling out- which is good since I had to go sans bra! I'm about 34C so I was concerned about that but didn't have any problems with the girls ;)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
Loved it!

This dress was sweet and sexy all in one! I was nervous about the cut outs and an accidental wardrobe slip, but all went well. I'm tall so I wore the 4 to make it long enough...the 2 was way too short. Very fun dress :)

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
October 2, 2012
This Dress was perfect!

Just was I was looking for, for a fun Saturaday night event. I got a number of compliments on the dress and people loved the fun cutouts on the side.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2013
Great dress

It fit really great and was very comfortable. The back was really sexy but still trendy enough to wear to a work fundraiser/function.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 53
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2013
We did not wear the dress as it was not appropriate for the occasion.

DId not wear it. Fit true to size.

See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×