Pencey

Butterfly Kisses Dress

$113 to buy
$375 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Take a twirl in this sexy yet feminine Pencey dress. All your girlfriends will want to copy your flirty style to have that in style Spring look. Shown here with the Lulu Frost's Silver Drift Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs slightly large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes- cut outs expose upper waist-should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape
WAIST: Fitted - full skirt conceals lower abdomen
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt does not hug hips or backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra or no bra and fashion tape; dress has built-in boning in bodice
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Product Details

Printed silk (100 % silk). V neckline. Ruched bodice with cut-outs. Full skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
97 reviews
Fit
Large
(65)
True to Size
(28)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
October 22, 2012
literally every single person i saw complemented the dress!
it runs a bit large and the ribbing kept it from laying flat against my ribcage, but the cutouts on the side are perfectly placed and so, so flattering! wore it with a nu bra and didn't have to worry about mishaps all night. loved that it wasn't supershort- kept it on the classy side of sexy. paired it with a dark blue leather jacket and sky high pumps and went from a birthday dinner to a club, then to a house party! this dress fit in perfectly at all three places. i absolutely recommend that you rent it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 12, 2012
Wore this dress as I ran a RTR Trunk Show on my campus and it was HUGE hit!!!!!
The dress ran big in the torso area. It was still wearable and it looked great on! Got a lot of compliments. I would definitely suggest getting this dress a size down and if you are a 0 like myself be ready that you may have to tuck or pin in certain areas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 16, 2012
A perfect party or weekend dress!
The look of this dress is adorable, however it ran a bit big on top for me. I'm pretty small on top, so if you are too, I'd definitely wear a push-up bra or something like that. The dress may also show some bra, but it's not too big of a deal. All in all, it was very cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2013
Great dress
It fit really great and was very comfortable. The back was really sexy but still trendy enough to wear to a work fundraiser/function.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2013
LOVED IT.
Only problem I had with the dress was the slits along the sides. But with a little fashion tape it worked out very nicely, got a lot of compliments on it! THanks!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 15, 2013
SUCH a great dress. I got so many compliments.
We had to pin the sides in a bit to make it fit better. Still worked out fabulously. Love this dress! btw im 5'11 and wear a 2-4. this dress was the perfect length. Not too short!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
February 16, 2013
The dress is even more beautiful in person, but runs large.
I was so excited when I saw this dress in person but when i tried it on it was much too loose and unfortunately for me i already had the smallest size. I do recommend it though very beautiful, pictures dont do it justice.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 52
Body type: Athletic
March 3, 2013
We did not wear the dress as it was not appropriate for the occasion.
DId not wear it. Fit true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
March 21, 2013
perfect!
fit like a glove, except under the boobs where the first slit is.... overall it looked great and wasr rally comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 18, 2013
Such a FUN dress! The length was great, neckline too, the slits were just a pop of excitement.
Fashion tape is needed unless you don't mind the occassional under-boob pop out. The 4 fit and slits were a little smaller (b/c the waist sat a little higher) ... the 6 waist fell closer to my hips. Simple jewelry was perfect.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
April 20, 2013
This dress made me feel GREAT!
I had been looking at this dress for a long time and I was so happy with my choice! It definitely does run large, even with the right size the cutouts were still loose. I loved the pattern on the dress and it was so comfortable. I would recommend wearing a strapless bra though. Overall, wonderful dress, unforgettable night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 1, 2013
This dress was extremely flattering and I got a lot of compliments!
The fit was very comfortable and runs a little large. I did try on the size 6, but the straps kept falling off my shoulders. Overall I loved the dress and I wish I didn't have to send it back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 6, 2013
So many compliments!
Rented this for our date weekend out of town, and complete strangers made a point to come up and compliment me on it! I found it to be a tad larger than most 0's are - but a hidden safety pin at the back was all I needed to make it a tad more snug. I loved renting it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 17, 2013
Although the concept is a cute one......
.....this dress was too large so I had to send it back and didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 10, 2013
Wish I could've had two size options on this one
I really loved this dress - especially the fabric and print - but the cutouts just did not sit right on me. I ordered it as my second $25 option (so I didn't have the option to order 2 sizes) for a wedding and ended up wearing it for the rehearsal dinner. I think the 4 would have fit much better for the sake of the cutouts.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 15, 2013
flirty without being too much for a girl's night
I wore this as for o a 1920s Great Gatsby viewing party. I thought the dress was great, although I did have to use fashion tape to make sure the top cut out didn't overexpose me. The dress was light and flowy at the bottom and was great to wear!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 17, 2013
Comfy breezy dress
I have only give 4 stars to this beautiful dress just only because it was a bit long from what i expected. But other than that... super comfortable.. the pockets were really convenient for the quick trip to the bathroom to retouch the lipstick w/o having to carry my whole clutch. Got a lot compliments. Great dress overall. Love your amazing service RTR. looking forward to play dress up again. Angie C
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
July 18, 2013
Super Cute!
I wore this dress to a daytime wedding in Las Vegas, and the lightweight material was perfect for the 109 degree day! The dress runs large. I normally wear a size 2 and the 0 was great, though I wish the cutouts would have hugged my waist more. I also had to use fashion tape to make sure I was fully covered under my bust. Despite these very small issues, I loved the dress. It was fun, easy, but had a little sex appeal as well.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 24, 2013
Wish I could have purchased this dress!
I rented this dress for my sister-in-law's wedding in Las Vegas. Since Elvis would be performing the ceremony, I needed something fun but still wedding appropriate. This dress was PERFECT! I am VERY pear shaped and this dress hugged all the right things and minimized my hips/butt. Very comfortable and lightweight (it was 106 degrees in Vegas...). I got compliments all night from family and guests! Runs very small. I usually wear a 4-6 and rented this dress in a 0 and 4 (no 2s available). The 4 was really not much bigger than the 0, but the 0 felt perfect in the chest and torso, so I went with it (and felt great about wearing a size 0 again!). Definitely recommend this dress, and REALLY wish I could have bought it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
September 8, 2013
Didn't fit right.
This dress did not fit me well. The fabric was pretty, but it seemed stretched out/worn. There was no real difference between the size 0, and the 2. i tried both, and wore neither. The cut outs were really not my style for a wedding, and I was worried that I wouldn't have enough support without a bra. Without a bra you could see too much, and with it, you could see parts of the bra from the front and back.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
September 9, 2013
WAY TO BIG!
Got a size 2 and was huge couldnt wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 9, 2013
Flirty and fun dress. The size 0 is more like a size 6.
I love this dress! To help with fit, my measurements are 34DD(if u measure around my bust its 35)-27-39 and I wore a size 0 and IT FIT PERFECTLY. I have never, ever worn a size zero in my life. But this was perfect. I didn't have to tape anything and the cut-outs fell perfectly as on the model. And my waist is between 27 and 27.5. I wore this to dinner with a cropped leather jacket and combat boots. It is not for a formal affair, as it has a more party or semi-casual feel (because of the material and the cut-outs). I also didn't have to wear a bra and it cupped and supported my bust beautifully.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 26, 2013
Beautiful dress!
This dress ended up looking great and is a beautiful dress/fabric, however, it was not without a lot of work. I had to safety pin it in several locations to get it to fit since it runs so large. I had read other reviews on here saying it ran big but I had no idea it would be that much bigger! Thank goodness I am skilled with a safety pin :) Even after safety pinning it in several spots, it was somewhat obvious if you really looked at it (fabric was bunching where I folded it, you could see the fabric not line up). Dress is still very pretty but if you want a good fit, this is dress may not be it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2013
awesome cut outs, very unique! love it!
fits well, tricky to wear a bra and not let it be seen. Had to use tape but it still showed a little bit on the sides
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 18, 2013
Lovely pattern. Comfortable material. Watch your girls!
I was so excited when I saw this dress. I am a huge fan of floral, so I thought it was perfect - especially with the cuts on the sides! It's also super comfortable. The only issue I had with it was that I thought that my bra was going to show near the slits if I moved too much, but I was fine. I got sizes 2 and 4, thinking 4 would be fine because that's what I usually am, but the 2 was perfect! I matched it with a pair of coral peep toe pumps. Can I just buy it? I want to wear it all the time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 18, 2013
Flirty and fun, but short!
I wore this on a Valentine's Day date with my hubby. I felt so special and the cut outs made it very sexy. The print was subtle and flirty and not too "adolescent" looking. I'm not very tall (5'4") and this dress felt a bit short, especially sitting down. Also, I wore the smaller back up size, so maybe it runs big? I am smaller on top and since it is loose on the bottom I needed it tighter up top so I wore the 2. Other than that, I loved it!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 21, 2013
Perfect spring formal dress!
I received so many compliments on how original this dress was. The cutouts make it a little edgy, but it is still a very classy look. The skirt is flowy so it gave me room to wear a smaller size. The only issue I had was being able to see the bottom of my bra through the cutouts. Even with a Nubra, there were some moments when you could see it. Overall though, I loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 1, 2014
Fun birthday brunch dress!
I loved this dress. I rented it for my birthday and felt so good all day! The cut outs on the sides are a little tricky to work out with a bra, but luckily I had one that was a similar blue to the dress, so it worked. The dress is silky and flowy and fun. It was perfect for brunch!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
March 26, 2014
Perfect fit!
Runs large so order a smaller backup size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
April 1, 2014
Gorgeous dress, Great fit, Lots of compliments
I wore this for the rehearsal dinner of a wedding that I was in. It was a total hit. I wore the smaller size so that the cutouts hit in the right spots, but I had to go bra-less (the bra would have completely shown).
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2014
Perfect for spring weddings
The cutouts are pretty and don't show too much skin, making this appropriate for a wedding. I paired this with a wrap for the ceremony.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2014
Dress was too large!
This was a beautiful dress, but it was so large I couldn't wear it. Thankfully, I had a backup from RTR that worked. This dress felt at least two sizes too large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 4, 2015
Loose around the rib cage
The slits on the side show underboob if you're not careful, size was too large.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
September 18, 2015
I wasn't comfortable in this though others said it looked great!
I gave it 5 because it is great material and everyone said it looked great. It is also very large as I usually wear an 8 and felt like I could almost have worn a 4 in this. I however am a 36 yr old woman and wanted to try something risky, I ended up not being comfortable with the cut outs. I have to wear some kind of bra and the one I used showed at the bottom a little. I also felt like it wasn't flattering to my shape all though others assured me I was wrong! I didn't actually end up wearing it out of the house I wore my back up dress. I would personally say this is for if you are younger, bolder than I or have a better shape around the cut out areas.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 17, 2012
I was told by a complete stranger that it was the best dress of the night!
I rented this dress for an outdoor, spring wedding in the Vermont mountains. I received a large number of compliments from my husband, friends, and strangers! I felt really great in it. The mix of the feminine design and skirt complemented well with the sexier cutouts. As the other reviews mention, the dress runs large. I went with my backup size which was a size lower than what I typically wear. My only issue with the dress is that the size of cutouts were larger than they appear in the picture. After a bit of trial and error, I was able to make the dress work. You absolutely need double-sided tape. I often can get away without wearing a bra with dresses and sometimes shirts, but this dress you need the support as to avoid any unwanted popouts or side-boob! Had I not needed to spend quite some time working out the fit, I would have given it 5 stars.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
August 10, 2012
The cute outs made a really cute dress a little sexier
The dress fit really well. It is way prettier on than on the hanger. I didn't have a problem with my bra showing, just wear a strapless one and you will be fine.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2012
I received a ton of compliments.
I rented this for a bridal shower. I am typically a 4 or a 6 but i read the reviews and orders a 4 and a 2. They only sent the 2 but it worked out because it fit great.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 8, 2012
Average rental
Really cute dress but runs REALLY large. I usually wear a 4-6, (more on the 4 end 6 only for butt-hugging dresses) and I got a 0 and it was still a little big! I managed to make it work with some dress tape in places, but without it the dress would buckle out at the neck and the waist band on the sides drooped. I was cute and I got compliments, but not the best fit... especially if you're any smaller than me. (34'-25-38' last time I checked)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2012
Fall Homecoming
I wore this dress for my fall homecoming and everyone loved it! I got compliments about every aspect: the cut-outs, color and florals on it. I felt comfortable and beautiful in my dress which to me, is the most important part about a dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 20, 2013
I wore this for a senior formal and absolutely loved it!
Super comfortable and flattering and fits pretty true to size. Such a cute dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×