Parker

On Cruise Control Maxi

$85 rental
$315 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl in this navy pleated gown by Parker at the gala. A comfy but chic style to jazz up with jewels like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Renaissance Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs large in the bust area
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'’-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or racer back bra
FABRIC: Fabric is has no stretch except at waist band
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy silk(100% silk). Scoop neckline. Racer back. Pleated skirt. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(70)
True to Size
(48)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2012
A classic style with a twist, and comfortable to boot!
I wore this dress to a KY Derby gala and I absolutely LOVED it! It is a dark blue and in photos it turns out a beautfiul shade of navy blue. I'm 5'6 and wore a 2.5" heel, which worked out ok, but should have gone with a little higher heel as this dress does run long. There is room in the hip area for a Spanx free evening and you can wear a strapless bra just fine. I got several compliments especially with the racerback, which is a nice unexpected feature. The reason I did not give it a 5, was the dress does run a little large, so you may want to size down one for this dress. I'm a 32C, and it fit ok, but was a little loose on the sides of the bust area, may be better suited for a 34B/C. I originally ordered a SR (small regular) with my backup size XSR, which was what I ended up wearing.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
May 15, 2012
Beautiful maxi for day or nigh
I loved this dress and got tons of compliments. The sweeping pleated skirt is really dramatic. It definitely runs large so size down and it ran long so probably suited to heights above 5'4 with heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
June 12, 2012
I love this dress and have rented it again since wearing it!
This dress is so chic and so EASY! I love the rich navy color and the scoop neck to give some classy sex appeal. I felt very confidant wearing it and it made me look taller and thinner!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2012
Would have been great...but.
I rented this dress as a backup, they sent me two sizes ML and SL. The ML was HUGE, and the SL was great, except it did not fit my bust, the "girls" were smashed in it. The material is not forgiving, so either you can fit in the dress, or not. I would recommend this dress for a slender, tall girl with average size boobs. It is a really cute cut, classy and sophisticated. You can dress it up, or down:) Again, great customer service from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2012
Not great for petite women
I would highly recommend this dress for tall women because the dress is lovely (beautiful color and fabric) but runs long and big. I am petite with a full bust and usually wear a size 2-4 so I ordered the XSR and SR - I was swimming in even the XS. Because the dress was oversized, the fit wasn't very flattering; it felt pretty shapeless around the bust and waist. I was also stepping on the hem even in 2.5" heels. Just gave the unsexy vibe of playing dress-up in my mom's clothing. I did think the scoopneck and racerback were flattering. I love that the pleated skirt has a 1920's vibe but the racerback is so modern.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
July 17, 2012
This was my first RTR rental. They make it extremely easy with the packaging and the pre-addressed mail back envelope. I will definitely rent again!
I loved this dress! You can't tell by the photos but it is very flowy and looks extremely elegant when you walk. I will say it may not fit everyone because it is very long. I am 5'9" and it only fit me with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2012
I wanted SO badly to love it..
Trust me, this dress is gorgeous. Light and comfortable. Unfortunately, I had to return it though because it just didn't work for the event! The dress is incredibly long, and it would have worked great if I had 5 inch wedges to wear with the dress, but I wanted to wear flats as I was hosting a bridal shower for the day. I wanted to love it so much, but it just didn't work out. Another thing, I am convinced that the dress runs large not just in length. Depending on designers I can wear up to a 6 and I was still "swimming" in an XS, in the top portion. Next time, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2012
perfect dress
I took a risk ordering this dress for my daughter's engagement party. I had a backup dress in case it wouldn't fit or I didn't like it, but I didn't have to worry. The dress was perfect! Even the jewelry looked beautiful. I ordered a small and a medium, and wore the size small as this dress does run a bit long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 8, 2012
Long for a short person :)
I rented this for a friend's evening wedding. I read the reviews and decided to order the XSR and SR due to the dress running large. The XS fit just fine, but was a little tighter through the bust than I was comfortable with. I probably could have not worn a bra (yes, it was that tight) but, again, I didn't feel completely comfortable with that. The SR gave me enough room to move but still keep the girls in check. The only issue I had was the length - I am short and wore a 4" heel but still had to pick up the dress when I walked (and the dress was the "regular" length.) I loved the fact that the dress was "casually chic" - which was what I was looking for - but got annoyed really early with the length. Wouldn't recommend for us on the shorter side but would for anyone taller than 5'6" with a 3" or 4" heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2012
great dress!
This dress was a little tight in the bust and long...but super comfortable. The dress is flowy.. and great alternative to black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Did not fit well
I was so excited to rent this dress, but it did not fit well. The weight of the skirt pulled down the tank-style top too much -- not only did the tank look too big and my bra was showing, but it also made the length of the dress too long even with 4 inch heels. Even if I would have ordered an XS (which I never wear) I feel the same thing would have happened. I ended up not wearing this dress and resorting to something I already owned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Very long - if you're short
This dress is super long - but I am only 5'2". I was still able to wear it, but had to put a belt on and blouse up the top a little with 4.5 inch heels. Definitely runs large - I usually wear a medium but I was swimming in that.
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2012
This dress fit great and was beyond comfortable on a humid day in San Diego.
I absolutely loved this dress and had such a great time wearing it. I wore it to my boyfriend's cousin's wedding in San Diego. Even though it was quite warm I was still comfortable because the dress is so flowy and breezy. I received a ton of compliments from other guests at the wedding and had so much fun dancing because the skirt moves so nicely. It runs long, I wore 4 inch wedges with it and it dips a little low on the sides. The dress comes with a matching belt but I felt like it was and afterthought and cheapened the look. RTR says you can wear a racer back bra with it but I don't see how because the straps in the back are quite narrow. The rental was super easy and even came a day early. I was really sad to have to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2012
Rent the Runway was super easy and I received some nice compliments that night!
The dress was great and although it's a maxi, it's not too formal. I'm 5'4" and had to wear my tallest 4 1/2" heels with this dress in the SR - and it was still dragging on the ground. So I also added my own small belt at the waist (which you can't see) and pulled up the dress to create a blouson effect over the belt, which kept it off the ground. I definitely agree with other reviewers that this dress probably wasn't made for shorter girls, but I made it work and liked it nonetheless!
KailaOctober 22, 2012
I love this dress on her! Way more than the model!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 21, 2012
fun and romantic
I wore this for an evening rooftop wedding and it was perfect! I'm typically a size 4 with a C cup chest. It could have used a belt to help the waist stay up better, but it didn't bother me! I received so many compliments that night......I would recommend this dress!!! (I'm 5'10", and this was long enough to wear wedges!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Super comfortable and elegant dress. Wish I owned it!
I rented this for a relaxed outdoor wedding in August. It was very comfortable & easy. I got the small & the xs as my backup, and ended up wearing the xs. It definitely is a little long. I wore flats, and it dragged just the tiniest bit. You can easily wear a strapless bra with this, which I loved as I hate going braless. It might fit a bit tight in the bust if you are large chested, I wear a 34C and it fit perfectly. Style wise, this is a dress than can easily go up or down. I wore it with flats and light jewelry & makeup to match the easy, casual atmosphere of the outdoor wedding. However, I could easily have worth this with heels, dramatic makeup and jewelry and gone to a black-tie event. I wish I owned this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 18, 2012
Flow of the skirt is incredible and perfect for dancing
WAY TOO BIG! I am petite, but figured I would give this dress a try anyway. The dress was absolutely beautiful and stunning. However, maybe due to the weight of the dress, the neckline hung so low that my bra would have surely been exposed. This dress was way too long even with 6" wedge heels on. I didn't end up wearing this dress, but this would be perfect for the 6-foot tall models. Also, both sizes of the dress were sent to me without the belt, as shown and described, but RTR was so helpful and refunded me for this, especially since I didn't end up wearing it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect for early fall!
I ordered the XSR and the SR..ended up wearing the small. Normally i would probably wear a medium because of my chest, but the small was perfect. THe medium would have probably been a little too long. YOu definitely have to wear heals with this dress too. LOVED the material, and the way the skirt of the dress flowed. YOverall I was VERY happy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
September 28, 2012
Great dress! Runs a bit big...and long.
This is a great dress overall. The color is very pretty and it fits pretty well. The skirt part was a bit larger than I expected. I knew from the previous reviews that it ran big so I opted for a S and XS. I ended up wearing the XS. The top is a little baggy and I couldn't seem to find the perfect bra to wear with it. Also, it is really long. I'm about 5'5" and I wore tall heels but the XSR was still a little too long for me. I opted for my own belt rather than the one it came with, to help hold it up a little more. Overall, it worked and I was happy with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 1, 2012
great dress for a wedding or semi-formal affair
runs large, i am 5'7", 120lbs and wore an XSR. had to wear 5 inch heels to keep it from dragging. the dress has a ton of material on the bottom so dancing can be difficult. overall great look and happy with it.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 1, 2012
If you are petite, don't bother renting this dress!
I received this dress and had to send it back without wearing it, which was such a hassle to have to run out the night before and find another one! I am normally a size 4, bust size is a 34B, my height is 5'5" and I weigh about 120 lbs. I rented a small and when I put it on the neck line draped way below my bust line and the dress was still too long even with 6 inch heels on. Also, there was no option of trying to pin it back because the dress was far too heavy. Very disappointed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 5, 2012
Wearing the perfect dress for a late-summer wedding
Baggy in the top, skirt a bit heavy so it pulls the elastic waist down a bit. Overall: lovely dress. Elegant enough for a wedding but still casual enough to dress down with chunky jewelry.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
October 10, 2012
Perfect for any occasion.
The dress was great and perfect for the formal wedding I attended. I dressed it up with a few chunky gold necklaces and stacks of gold bangles. The only issue I had was that the dress is hard to find the perfect bra for if it doesn’t fit absolutely perfect on top. The x-small was pretty tight on top so I wouldn’t have been able to even wear pasties, while the small was pretty baggy and wouldn't allow for traditional strapless or racerback bra. I opted for a strapless adhesive bra from Target and it ended up being perfect. I also had to wear 4.5 inch heels so the dress wouldn’t drag and add a different belt, but I actually preferred the blousy look. I got a ton of compliments and would definitely order it again!
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2012
Five Stars
A bit too long but this dress is absolutely stunning. Perfect for a day party. Everyone knows how amazing a Parker is, but this dress shines!
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 18, 2012
I loved this dress. I received a lot of compliments and the fabric was very comfortable.
I wore this dress to an outdoor wedding and it was the perfect choice. The dress runs long, I am tall and was able to wear heals. I also decided to belt the dress to give my waist more definition. The color is so pretty and the dress flows really nicely and is fun to dance in. The great part is that you can dress it up or dress it down so it really can work for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2012
Such a Beautiful Dress!
I loved this dress. I wore it to my best friend's wedding rehearsal. I received so many compliments on it. My boyfriend even said he overheard many people say how gorgeous the dress was. The dress was really long, but I wore about 4-5in heels and had no issue. The dress was very flowy and comfortable. I also wore a brown belt and it gave the dress a more casual feel. Overall, I was sad to see the dress go.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2012
I loved the dress!!
You should definitely belt is and have a backless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful Dress... Just TOO BIG.
The XS was far too big. It hung way too much and was so long. I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2012
Wish It Had Fit!
I absolutely loved this dress and could not wait to wear it to an August wedding in Brooklyn. I ordered matching accessories and everything, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it and had to go with my backup instead. I tried to order both the ML and the MR, but the MR was sold out. I thought I would be okay, I'm about 6' with heels, but the ML was not only long, it was huge! I thought it came with belt (which it didn't), but even when I added one there was no way I could make it work. I actually checked the tag twice to make sure they didn't send the wrong size. Such a shame because it is a beautiful dress - the material and the navy pleats are gorgeous! Definitely size down!!
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and I cannot tell you how pleased I was with it.
The fit wak ok, but it does run a little large. I should have worn an extra small. However, it still fit just fine and did not give me any problems. I wore a SR and the dress was still very long. I had 5 inch heels on and it just hit the floor, it was perfect actually. You will not be disappointment with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 9, 2013
Perfect summer wedding dress!
It was very low cut on the sides, so i had to wear a backless, strapless bra. But overall it was so comfortable! I am tall and this hit the floor with flat sandals on. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Simple but beautifully elegant
So I first rented the SL because I'm 5'7 an usually wear 2-3 inch heels but the SL was way way too long. The rent the runway staff helped out so much and were fabulous in getting me another dress and the SR in the same dress. The SR in this Parker dress fit perfectly and I loved the accordion style bottom of the dress. Overall had a great experience with RTR but this dress definitely does run long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2013
Fun dress -- way too long.
This is a great looking dress, but I have no idea why I didn't listen to all of the reviews...it is really long. And belting it ended up looknig odd. I sent it back, wishing (as usual) that I were taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 28, 2013
Felt very confident in this dress!
I am 5'10 and this dress was the perfect length to the floor with 4 inch heels on! VERY slimming and flattering, hides any flaws you may have in the hips, due to the waistline. I absolutely loved this dress and recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2013
couldnt wear it, but the dress itself is really pretty
I ordered two sizes (I think 2 and 0) - they were both HUGE! I couldnt wear either of them. I wished it fit me though because the dress is stunning - fabric is gorgeous.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 12, 2013
Paired with a neon belt and it looked great. I got a ton of compliments.
Dress does run large, but a belt really compliments the dress as well as helps it sit well
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Wore it for a wedding
Gorgeous dress but was too big and too long. Even with 5in heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 27, 2013
Beautiful dress, comfortable. I loved wearing it, but it ran really big - even the XS
Beautiful dress, beatiful color, so comfortable and so many options to dress it up or dress it down. It arrived in excellent condition with the pleated skirt perfect. I loved wearing it, but it was really big, even for the XS.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
March 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress was very long. I am 5'8 and it dragged on the floor al little bit. The fabric is casual but can be dressed up with accessories. I would totally rent this again but maybe in a smaller size - especially if you have a small bust. The wait also did not sinch in as much as i had hoped.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 1, 2013
Not good for petite girls
The dress is cute, but the fit was all wrong for my body. I am 5' 3" and the web site said that a R length with 3" heels would be fine. I tried it on with 4.5" heels, and the dress still dragged on the floor in front of me. The fit also ran large. I am 31-26-37 and the dress felt like it sagged on me. The skirt was heavy and pulled the dress down a bit since the waist was too big to begin with. Also I worried about dancing and keeping the ladies in, which could have been solved with some fashion tape but ultimately was not worth it on top of the hem and size issues. RTR service was excellent and refunded me the money, even though I kept my order for the weekend to use the jewelry. I'm sad the dress didn't work, but I am excited to order from RTR again!
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×