Parker

On Cruise Control Maxi

$85 rental
$315 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl in this navy pleated gown by Parker at the gala. A comfy but chic style to jazz up with jewels like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Renaissance Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs large in the bust area
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'’-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or racer back bra
FABRIC: Fabric is has no stretch except at waist band
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy silk(100% silk). Scoop neckline. Racer back. Pleated skirt. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(70)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 2, 2012
I loved the dress!!
You should definitely belt is and have a backless bra.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 7, 2012
Great dress!
I woret this dress to a friends wedding shower and it felt amazing. It runs super long. so i had to hold the front up when I walked but I'd rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
November 11, 2012
Absolutely stunning dress.
Wore it to a black tie formal wedding, received so many compliments on the dress and the Kate Spade necklace. Extremely comfortable, loved wearing this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 16, 2012
Great Dress. It is long but I read the reviews and knew it would be. I would def. rent again.
I rented this dress for a work social. It was perfect. I did wait too long to order so I had to wear to order the long because the regular was gone. And it was really long but I wore high heels so it was only bad when going up and down stairs. I love this dress. I felt amazing in it. I would def. rent again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 25, 2012
Beautiful Dress... Just TOO BIG.
The XS was far too big. It hung way too much and was so long. I couldn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 30, 2012
Runs small. I ordered a medium & large, but they both fit the same
I was so excited to wear this dress for my husband's company holiday party... but my excitement turned to disappointment very quickly. I ordered a medium & large, as these are the sizes that I normally wear. I tried on the medium and it would not even go over my chest (I am a 36C). I then tried on the large and the exact same thing happened. The large fit exactly the same as the medium! The dress does look amazing in person and is made with very light weight fabric. Will this deter me from renting from RTR again? Absolutely NOT! This is the first time this has happened to me, but I've had much success with the dresses I've rented in the past.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 10, 2012
This was my first time using and it the process was super easy.
The dress fit wonderfully and I received so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
December 12, 2012
Absolutely in love with this dress.
So perfect, got so many compliments, perfect length for my height and weight in the medium long size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 12, 2012
Wish It Had Fit!
I absolutely loved this dress and could not wait to wear it to an August wedding in Brooklyn. I ordered matching accessories and everything, but unfortunately, I was unable to wear it and had to go with my backup instead. I tried to order both the ML and the MR, but the MR was sold out. I thought I would be okay, I'm about 6' with heels, but the ML was not only long, it was huge! I thought it came with belt (which it didn't), but even when I added one there was no way I could make it work. I actually checked the tag twice to make sure they didn't send the wrong size. Such a shame because it is a beautiful dress - the material and the navy pleats are gorgeous! Definitely size down!!
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Body type: Pear
December 30, 2012
I am a Campus Rep for RTR and wearing this dress at the RTR fashion show was amazing!
I am 5'8" and wore 4 inch heels with the dress and it was the perfect length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Regular still runs a bit long but loved the dress. Super comfortable and flattering.
Regular still runs a bit long but loved the dress. Super comfortable and flattering.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 8, 2013
I wore this dress for my rehearsal dinner and I cannot tell you how pleased I was with it.
The fit wak ok, but it does run a little large. I should have worn an extra small. However, it still fit just fine and did not give me any problems. I wore a SR and the dress was still very long. I had 5 inch heels on and it just hit the floor, it was perfect actually. You will not be disappointment with this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 9, 2013
Perfect summer wedding dress!
It was very low cut on the sides, so i had to wear a backless, strapless bra. But overall it was so comfortable! I am tall and this hit the floor with flat sandals on. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 13, 2013
Simple but beautifully elegant
So I first rented the SL because I'm 5'7 an usually wear 2-3 inch heels but the SL was way way too long. The rent the runway staff helped out so much and were fabulous in getting me another dress and the SR in the same dress. The SR in this Parker dress fit perfectly and I loved the accordion style bottom of the dress. Overall had a great experience with RTR but this dress definitely does run long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 23, 2013
Fun dress -- way too long.
This is a great looking dress, but I have no idea why I didn't listen to all of the reviews...it is really long. And belting it ended up looknig odd. I sent it back, wishing (as usual) that I were taller.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
January 23, 2013
I wore this dress to an Inaugural Ball and it was perfect.
This is a great dress to dress up or down. I wore it to a very formal event and it worked great with fancier accessories but I could definitely see it with a belt for a more casual event. I got tons of compliments and loved wearing it. I am 5'3" and wore 3.5" heels and the regular length was just a touch too long so I had to be careful not to tear it but I could definitely get around. The only small issue I had is that it was not easy to find a strapless bra that didn't show a line because the top is so thin but I managed to make one work. Love this dress and love the pleated skirt.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 28, 2013
Felt very confident in this dress!
I am 5'10 and this dress was the perfect length to the floor with 4 inch heels on! VERY slimming and flattering, hides any flaws you may have in the hips, due to the waistline. I absolutely loved this dress and recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2013
couldnt wear it, but the dress itself is really pretty
I ordered two sizes (I think 2 and 0) - they were both HUGE! I couldnt wear either of them. I wished it fit me though because the dress is stunning - fabric is gorgeous.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 12, 2013
Paired with a neon belt and it looked great. I got a ton of compliments.
Dress does run large, but a belt really compliments the dress as well as helps it sit well
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Wore it for a wedding
Gorgeous dress but was too big and too long. Even with 5in heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
Great movement and loved the racer back, easy to accessorize.
Fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 27, 2013
Beautiful dress, comfortable. I loved wearing it, but it ran really big - even the XS
Beautiful dress, beatiful color, so comfortable and so many options to dress it up or dress it down. It arrived in excellent condition with the pleated skirt perfect. I loved wearing it, but it was really big, even for the XS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
March 7, 2013
I loved the dress. Staff pick.
Absolutely loved the dress. I should have worn a medium but they didnt have it available so I kinda squished my boobs into a small. Still was amazing and wearable. Got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 8, 2013
I got so many compliments!
It was a wonderful color and beautifully cut, however on my D sized chest, it pulled a little bit. It was also a bit long. The color was beautiful and perfect for a spring wedding!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2013
I received a lot of complements on this dress!
The chest was a little tight. And, it was very long for being regular length. My heels would snatch the bottom a couple of times. I think it was a little plain jane for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
March 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress was very long. I am 5'8 and it dragged on the floor al little bit. The fabric is casual but can be dressed up with accessories. I would totally rent this again but maybe in a smaller size - especially if you have a small bust. The wait also did not sinch in as much as i had hoped.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 1, 2013
Not good for petite girls
The dress is cute, but the fit was all wrong for my body. I am 5' 3" and the web site said that a R length with 3" heels would be fine. I tried it on with 4.5" heels, and the dress still dragged on the floor in front of me. The fit also ran large. I am 31-26-37 and the dress felt like it sagged on me. The skirt was heavy and pulled the dress down a bit since the waist was too big to begin with. Also I worried about dancing and keeping the ladies in, which could have been solved with some fashion tape but ultimately was not worth it on top of the hem and size issues. RTR service was excellent and refunded me the money, even though I kept my order for the weekend to use the jewelry. I'm sad the dress didn't work, but I am excited to order from RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
This was a stunning dress! Classic and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a Long Island wedding "near the beach" last summer. It was incredibly hot, and this dress was so light and airy. The pleats stayed fresh all night through both dinner and dancing. It was quite long, so to keep it off the floor I wore heels that were able 5" high and with a good platform - it would be nice if there was a short option. Overall, I loved this dress and would certainly consider renting it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Eh.
Stay away if you have a large bust. While I wear a 36c and usually have no issues with dresses, this one hardly went over my chest. So sad because the dress truly is gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful!
I loved this dress! It's very flattering and fits great. The top was a little loose and I could have probably worn an XS, but overall it fit lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
April 30, 2013
Too long.
Sheer top. Didn't love it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 6, 2013
This dress was stunning! I received so many compliments and felt awesome in it during the entire day
The straps were a little loose on me and it was pretty long but other than that - it was so comfortable and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 192lbs
May 7, 2013
No Bust Room!
I would not recommend renting this dress if you have any kind of bust. Mine about a 34B/C, was squished, with no bra! The rest of this dress fit like a dream. The bottom is flow-y and the racer back is a nice touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Really liked the look of this dress overall. It was far more elegant that i thought!
I read several reviews, so I knew the dress ran a little large, but unfortunately there wasnt an XS available when I needed it. Took a chance on the S and it turned out alright. Its definitely long, but with my highest heels, I was able to make it work. The waist area also ran a little large, but with a cute belt, no one will notice!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 19, 2013
Gorgeous, confortable and sophisticated dress!
I rented this dress for my engagement / going away party. I wanted something that was elegant without looking too stuffy for an outdoor event in May. The dress was a little snug in the bust area and a little large in the waist but overall it worked out well. I belted it for a small detail and to add definition. I received so many compliments on this dress and would highly recommend it to other ladies!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 28, 2013
The dress is dressier in person than the picture captures on the website.
Overall I am pleased with the dress. I didn't give it 5 stars because it was a little big on me. I added the belt to keep the waist of the dress closer to my waist; otherwise the weight of the skirt dragged it down. I am 5'3" and I wore 3in gold strappy heels and the dress was about 2 inches too long. I would either recommend higher heels or a taller frame. I received several compliments on the dress though and it worked well for an evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
FUN to dance in!
Pros: This dress made me feel so pretty! The full skirt is really fun to dance in and it was a very comfortable fit Cons: SO LONG! I'm pretty short so I am used to dresses being too long. This dress rested about 4 inches onto the ground with heels! I added a belt and ballooned the dress out over it to shorten it and that worked great. However, I did keep catching it on the stairs. Overall I would rent again! Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not for the busty ladies....
Everything about this dress is right on. Gorgeous color and length, can be worn casually or formal and so comfortable. Sadly, it didn't even come close to fitting in the bust area....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 2, 2013
Beautiful for a warm day wine tasting
I wore this to go wine tasting in San Luis Obispo, CA. It was a warm day and the flow and lightweight of this dress kept me cool while looking great. I dress it down with platforms and minimal accessories, but you could also dress it up with dressier shoes and more jewlery. I loved this dress, but the lining had a huge rip, but since it was underneath the dress you couldn't see it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2013
I loved this dress!!!
I felt amazing this dress. I was very nervous about wearing a long dress because I never do. But i got this dress and was super happy with it. I got so many compliments on the dress.The dress was pretty long but I had heels and wore a belt around the waist which made it just hit by my feet. I will definitely be renting from rent the runway again.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×