Parker

On Cruise Control Maxi

$85 rental
$315 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Twist and twirl in this navy pleated gown by Parker at the gala. A comfy but chic style to jazz up with jewels like the Kenneth Jay Lane's Renaissance Cuff.

Size & Fit

This dress runs large. We recommend sizing down in this dress. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - runs large in the bust area
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with elastic band
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt allows for comfortable room at hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6'') and long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'’-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or racer back bra
FABRIC: Fabric is has no stretch except at waist band
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Navy silk(100% silk). Scoop neckline. Racer back. Pleated skirt. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
127 reviews
Fit
Large
(70)
True to Size
(46)
Small
(11)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
May 28, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
I wore this to my prom, and it was very appropriate and comfortable with out being over the top. I am 5'10" and I wore flats, and I had to hold up the skirt to walk, so it does run a little long. The skirt is a lot fuller than it looks and it moves beautifully when you walk. A stapless bra works fine, although the sides are a little loose.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
June 12, 2012
I love this dress and have rented it again since wearing it!
This dress is so chic and so EASY! I love the rich navy color and the scoop neck to give some classy sex appeal. I felt very confidant wearing it and it made me look taller and thinner!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
June 26, 2012
Would have been great...but.
I rented this dress as a backup, they sent me two sizes ML and SL. The ML was HUGE, and the SL was great, except it did not fit my bust, the "girls" were smashed in it. The material is not forgiving, so either you can fit in the dress, or not. I would recommend this dress for a slender, tall girl with average size boobs. It is a really cute cut, classy and sophisticated. You can dress it up, or down:) Again, great customer service from RTR.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
June 28, 2012
Not great for petite women
I would highly recommend this dress for tall women because the dress is lovely (beautiful color and fabric) but runs long and big. I am petite with a full bust and usually wear a size 2-4 so I ordered the XSR and SR - I was swimming in even the XS. Because the dress was oversized, the fit wasn't very flattering; it felt pretty shapeless around the bust and waist. I was also stepping on the hem even in 2.5" heels. Just gave the unsexy vibe of playing dress-up in my mom's clothing. I did think the scoopneck and racerback were flattering. I love that the pleated skirt has a 1920's vibe but the racerback is so modern.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
July 17, 2012
This was my first RTR rental. They make it extremely easy with the packaging and the pre-addressed mail back envelope. I will definitely rent again!
I loved this dress! You can't tell by the photos but it is very flowy and looks extremely elegant when you walk. I will say it may not fit everyone because it is very long. I am 5'9" and it only fit me with heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
July 30, 2012
I wanted SO badly to love it..
Trust me, this dress is gorgeous. Light and comfortable. Unfortunately, I had to return it though because it just didn't work for the event! The dress is incredibly long, and it would have worked great if I had 5 inch wedges to wear with the dress, but I wanted to wear flats as I was hosting a bridal shower for the day. I wanted to love it so much, but it just didn't work out. Another thing, I am convinced that the dress runs large not just in length. Depending on designers I can wear up to a 6 and I was still "swimming" in an XS, in the top portion. Next time, RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
August 1, 2012
All the compliments I received and how much fun it was to dance in - the skirt billowed around me! My boyfriend loved it too.
I rented this dress for a daytime wedding. It was beautiful and fit really well! I wore a belt with it because the waist fit a bit loosely. You could wear it without a belt, but I wanted a bit more shape at the waistline. It's very long so would probably work better on taller women. I didn't need to wear a bra with it either - just wore nipple covers and I was fine. I got a ton of compliments in it! One lady told me I was the best dressed at the wedding!
AlyshaApril 12, 2013
You look gorgeous!
RTR CustomerApril 17, 2013
Beautiful girl...love her smile!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
August 6, 2012
perfect dress
I took a risk ordering this dress for my daughter's engagement party. I had a backup dress in case it wouldn't fit or I didn't like it, but I didn't have to worry. The dress was perfect! Even the jewelry looked beautiful. I ordered a small and a medium, and wore the size small as this dress does run a bit long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
August 8, 2012
Long for a short person :)
I rented this for a friend's evening wedding. I read the reviews and decided to order the XSR and SR due to the dress running large. The XS fit just fine, but was a little tighter through the bust than I was comfortable with. I probably could have not worn a bra (yes, it was that tight) but, again, I didn't feel completely comfortable with that. The SR gave me enough room to move but still keep the girls in check. The only issue I had was the length - I am short and wore a 4" heel but still had to pick up the dress when I walked (and the dress was the "regular" length.) I loved the fact that the dress was "casually chic" - which was what I was looking for - but got annoyed really early with the length. Wouldn't recommend for us on the shorter side but would for anyone taller than 5'6" with a 3" or 4" heel.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
August 12, 2012
great dress!
This dress was a little tight in the bust and long...but super comfortable. The dress is flowy.. and great alternative to black!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2012
Did not fit well
I was so excited to rent this dress, but it did not fit well. The weight of the skirt pulled down the tank-style top too much -- not only did the tank look too big and my bra was showing, but it also made the length of the dress too long even with 4 inch heels. Even if I would have ordered an XS (which I never wear) I feel the same thing would have happened. I ended up not wearing this dress and resorting to something I already owned.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 14, 2012
Very long - if you're short
This dress is super long - but I am only 5'2". I was still able to wear it, but had to put a belt on and blouse up the top a little with 4.5 inch heels. Definitely runs large - I usually wear a medium but I was swimming in that.
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
August 15, 2012
This dress fit great and was beyond comfortable on a humid day in San Diego.
I absolutely loved this dress and had such a great time wearing it. I wore it to my boyfriend's cousin's wedding in San Diego. Even though it was quite warm I was still comfortable because the dress is so flowy and breezy. I received a ton of compliments from other guests at the wedding and had so much fun dancing because the skirt moves so nicely. It runs long, I wore 4 inch wedges with it and it dips a little low on the sides. The dress comes with a matching belt but I felt like it was and afterthought and cheapened the look. RTR says you can wear a racer back bra with it but I don't see how because the straps in the back are quite narrow. The rental was super easy and even came a day early. I was really sad to have to send this dress back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 16, 2012
Rent the Runway was super easy and I received some nice compliments that night!
The dress was great and although it's a maxi, it's not too formal. I'm 5'4" and had to wear my tallest 4 1/2" heels with this dress in the SR - and it was still dragging on the ground. So I also added my own small belt at the waist (which you can't see) and pulled up the dress to create a blouson effect over the belt, which kept it off the ground. I definitely agree with other reviewers that this dress probably wasn't made for shorter girls, but I made it work and liked it nonetheless!
KailaOctober 22, 2012
I love this dress on her! Way more than the model!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSL
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 21, 2012
fun and romantic
I wore this for an evening rooftop wedding and it was perfect! I'm typically a size 4 with a C cup chest. It could have used a belt to help the waist stay up better, but it didn't bother me! I received so many compliments that night......I would recommend this dress!!! (I'm 5'10", and this was long enough to wear wedges!)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
August 22, 2012
I loved this dress, it was very comfortable even though it was very hot outside and the dress was long. I received so many compliments on my whole outfit (necklace was rented also) and everyone thought I looked amazing. I got my whole order shipped directly to my hotel also which was very convenient! Love it!
This dress was amazing! It was very elegant and sophisticated and totally comfortable! The only problem was that I kept stepping on it when I walked up or down any stairs. I rented a regular length size small and I had really high heels on and I'm 5'5" so I feel like maybe the shorter size would have been better? I also should have maybe gotten a medium because my bust is so large and I feel like the top was too tight on my bust even though it looked fine. Overall a great dress, I would totally rent it again I felt like a knockout!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
January 28, 2013
Felt very confident in this dress!
I am 5'10 and this dress was the perfect length to the floor with 4 inch heels on! VERY slimming and flattering, hides any flaws you may have in the hips, due to the waistline. I absolutely loved this dress and recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 29, 2013
couldnt wear it, but the dress itself is really pretty
I ordered two sizes (I think 2 and 0) - they were both HUGE! I couldnt wear either of them. I wished it fit me though because the dress is stunning - fabric is gorgeous.
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 12, 2013
Paired with a neon belt and it looked great. I got a ton of compliments.
Dress does run large, but a belt really compliments the dress as well as helps it sit well
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Wore it for a wedding
Gorgeous dress but was too big and too long. Even with 5in heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2013
Great movement and loved the racer back, easy to accessorize.
Fit perfectly
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 123lbs
February 27, 2013
Beautiful dress, comfortable. I loved wearing it, but it ran really big - even the XS
Beautiful dress, beatiful color, so comfortable and so many options to dress it up or dress it down. It arrived in excellent condition with the pleated skirt perfect. I loved wearing it, but it was really big, even for the XS.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SL
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
March 7, 2013
I loved the dress. Staff pick.
Absolutely loved the dress. I should have worn a medium but they didnt have it available so I kinda squished my boobs into a small. Still was amazing and wearable. Got tons of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LL
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
March 8, 2013
I got so many compliments!
It was a wonderful color and beautifully cut, however on my D sized chest, it pulled a little bit. It was also a bit long. The color was beautiful and perfect for a spring wedding!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2013
I received a lot of complements on this dress!
The chest was a little tight. And, it was very long for being regular length. My heels would snatch the bottom a couple of times. I think it was a little plain jane for a wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
March 27, 2013
Beautiful dress!
The dress was very long. I am 5'8 and it dragged on the floor al little bit. The fabric is casual but can be dressed up with accessories. I would totally rent this again but maybe in a smaller size - especially if you have a small bust. The wait also did not sinch in as much as i had hoped.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
April 1, 2013
Not good for petite girls
The dress is cute, but the fit was all wrong for my body. I am 5' 3" and the web site said that a R length with 3" heels would be fine. I tried it on with 4.5" heels, and the dress still dragged on the floor in front of me. The fit also ran large. I am 31-26-37 and the dress felt like it sagged on me. The skirt was heavy and pulled the dress down a bit since the waist was too big to begin with. Also I worried about dancing and keeping the ladies in, which could have been solved with some fashion tape but ultimately was not worth it on top of the hem and size issues. RTR service was excellent and refunded me the money, even though I kept my order for the weekend to use the jewelry. I'm sad the dress didn't work, but I am excited to order from RTR again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
This was a stunning dress! Classic and comfortable!
I wore this dress for a Long Island wedding "near the beach" last summer. It was incredibly hot, and this dress was so light and airy. The pleats stayed fresh all night through both dinner and dancing. It was quite long, so to keep it off the floor I wore heels that were able 5" high and with a good platform - it would be nice if there was a short option. Overall, I loved this dress and would certainly consider renting it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
April 29, 2013
Eh.
Stay away if you have a large bust. While I wear a 36c and usually have no issues with dresses, this one hardly went over my chest. So sad because the dress truly is gorgeous!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 30, 2013
Beautiful!
I loved this dress! It's very flattering and fits great. The top was a little loose and I could have probably worn an XS, but overall it fit lovely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 138lbs
April 30, 2013
Too long.
Sheer top. Didn't love it.
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 6, 2013
This dress was stunning! I received so many compliments and felt awesome in it during the entire day
The straps were a little loose on me and it was pretty long but other than that - it was so comfortable and beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
ML
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 192lbs
May 7, 2013
No Bust Room!
I would not recommend renting this dress if you have any kind of bust. Mine about a 34B/C, was squished, with no bra! The rest of this dress fit like a dream. The bottom is flow-y and the racer back is a nice touch.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
SR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 13, 2013
Really liked the look of this dress overall. It was far more elegant that i thought!
I read several reviews, so I knew the dress ran a little large, but unfortunately there wasnt an XS available when I needed it. Took a chance on the S and it turned out alright. Its definitely long, but with my highest heels, I was able to make it work. The waist area also ran a little large, but with a cute belt, no one will notice!
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
May 19, 2013
Gorgeous, confortable and sophisticated dress!
I rented this dress for my engagement / going away party. I wanted something that was elegant without looking too stuffy for an outdoor event in May. The dress was a little snug in the bust area and a little large in the waist but overall it worked out well. I belted it for a small detail and to add definition. I received so many compliments on this dress and would highly recommend it to other ladies!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
May 28, 2013
The dress is dressier in person than the picture captures on the website.
Overall I am pleased with the dress. I didn't give it 5 stars because it was a little big on me. I added the belt to keep the waist of the dress closer to my waist; otherwise the weight of the skirt dragged it down. I am 5'3" and I wore 3in gold strappy heels and the dress was about 2 inches too long. I would either recommend higher heels or a taller frame. I received several compliments on the dress though and it worked well for an evening wedding.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
May 30, 2013
FUN to dance in!
Pros: This dress made me feel so pretty! The full skirt is really fun to dance in and it was a very comfortable fit Cons: SO LONG! I'm pretty short so I am used to dresses being too long. This dress rested about 4 inches onto the ground with heels! I added a belt and ballooned the dress out over it to shorten it and that worked great. However, I did keep catching it on the stairs. Overall I would rent again! Thanks RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
LR
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
May 30, 2013
Beautiful dress, but not for the busty ladies....
Everything about this dress is right on. Gorgeous color and length, can be worn casually or formal and so comfortable. Sadly, it didn't even come close to fitting in the bust area....
Top Contributor
Size worn:
MR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 2, 2013
Beautiful for a warm day wine tasting
I wore this to go wine tasting in San Luis Obispo, CA. It was a warm day and the flow and lightweight of this dress kept me cool while looking great. I dress it down with platforms and minimal accessories, but you could also dress it up with dressier shoes and more jewlery. I loved this dress, but the lining had a huge rip, but since it was underneath the dress you couldn't see it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XSR
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 9, 2013
I loved this dress!!!
I felt amazing this dress. I was very nervous about wearing a long dress because I never do. But i got this dress and was super happy with it. I got so many compliments on the dress.The dress was pretty long but I had heels and wore a belt around the waist which made it just hit by my feet. I will definitely be renting from rent the runway again.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×