Opening Ceremony

Grid Lines Dress

$83 to buy
$425 retail
Stylist Notes

Go for a bold stripe pattern in this sculptural fit and flare by Opening Ceremony. Shades of green make a great statement for that first date.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Not Fitted - fuller skirt allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to Mid-thigh - (on a 5'6" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Navy and turquoise ribbed stretch knit (100% Nylon). Sleeveless. Crew neckline with pleating detail. Circle skirt. Back keyhole. 32” from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
347 reviews
Fit
Large
(18)
True to Size
(263)
Small
(26)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
February 12, 2013
Amazing dress!!!!
Got lots of compliments on this dress all night, def a winner!
AshleyFebruary 27, 2013
is it more blue than green?
RTR CustomerFebruary 27, 2013
Hi Ashley! This dress is more of a teal color in person! I would say more green than blue!
DEANNAApril 20, 2013
Hi! Is this dress dressy enough for a college formal?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
February 24, 2013
All my friends loved it - and it was fun to dance in!
I wore it to a college formal and it was the right amount of fun and classy. It's made of a stretchy material but also has a double layer in the top, which gives some structure. The green/aqua stripes are raised, so it looks really cool up close - and gives a sort of velvety look from far away. It was a good length for someone who's short like I am (5' 3") and was fine for twirling/dancing. The dress is a conservative cut but the material made me feel like I was from the Jetsons. Cons: It leaves a lot of room under the arms, which isn't the greatest if you've got a little pudge there like I do. Also, the straps are closer to the neck than I would have liked - you can't really show off your collarbone. All around a nice new dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 7, 2013
I wore this for our RTR winter trunk show and it was a huge hit!
This dress fit perfectly! Super snug and really comfortable. The A-line is super flattering, even for a petite person with a booty! The color is more of a bright jade green and navy, and is really pretty in person. I didn't want to send this dress back!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
March 9, 2013
Amazing Dress!
I received many compliments on this dress. I added a black belt, and I had a black cardigan that I wore part of the time. The fit was great, and the dress has lots of stretch, so there is some give to the sizes. I saw the comments below on worrying whether it was too short to move in. I'm 5'6", and I felt that the dress was long enough to move in comfortably without showing too much skin. This dress is also really great becuase you can wear almost any undergarment without worrying about it showing through.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
March 12, 2013
fun, flirty, funky
Really cute dress but not a knock-out. Great for a casual night out. The material is very stretchy and soft on your skin. The skirt is very poofy so I felt a belt was necessary to cinch the waist. I think it could be great if worn with funky colored shoes and jewelry
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
March 14, 2013
It was a great dress for a night to go out and have a big meal and dance. I felt comfortable and fun
The dress is very strechy which makes it easy to move in and the size can be quite flexible. It was perfect for a night of dinner and dancing. The skirt moves really well which was fun on the dance floor.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 15, 2013
Too Big
Didn't end up wearing this one... it came because my backup size wasn't available. It was stretchy and had a really cool pop of color, but was a bit to boxy in the waist for me - though that's probably because it was a size too big!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
March 17, 2013
Beautiful, tailored look yet stretchy & comfy!
This dress was amazing for my Med School Match Day ceremony! It has amazing bold colors and texture for interest. It's tailored and feminine and flattering... but also so comfortable. I didn't think I could find all of these qualities in one dress! Not to mention, it was so versatile: great for dressing up (I wore with a gold necklace and bracelet and black strappy heels for the ceremony) or dressing down (wore with nude flats for the after ceremony festivities). Great dress! Would definitely recommend!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
March 20, 2013
Great color!
I wore this dress to my best friend's bachelorette party. The dress is super comfortable and very forgiving. The material is crazy stretchy and the color is even more vibrant in person. I would definitely recommend for curvy girls like myself as it hides a lot around the midsection. Great dress and got lots of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 25, 2013
AMAZING feel and fit!
Emerald green is really better than pictured, Paired with hot pink accessories and heels it went from conservative, to FUN. I am always a 2, but was thrilled the 0 was comfortable. Probably because fabric is stretchy, forgiving, and the length was perfect. Felt great in the dress and I would recommend to anyone.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 117lbs
March 31, 2013
My FAVORITE RTR Dress So Far!!!
This dress is AMAZING! Color and fit are perfect. Sexy and classy. My husband loved it. I felt great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
April 5, 2013
Adorable for a bridal shower!
This dress fit like a glove! So flattering and fun color/texture. Wore this to a bridal shower and got so many compliments, even from the bride. Dress has stretch to it and can wear a normal bra underneath. Love love love!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 7, 2013
This was an amazing dress!
So comfortable, stretchy, runs true to size. Can dress it up for an event or a great day to night dress. I kind of want to go buy this dress its so great! I would absolutely wear an Opening Ceremony dress again!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
April 8, 2013
I wore this to a Senior Semi-Formal. The color is much brighter in person.
Fits great! Super flattering. Really accentuates the waist. Was not too short for my height.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
April 10, 2013
Afternoon wedding perfection!
Such a fun and flirty fit---the flared skirt was perfect on the dance floor! Compliments all day and night long from family, friends and strangers alike! The dress was a complete hit and I enjoyed every second of wearing it. An absolute success for my first RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
April 29, 2013
Perfect dress and great service!
This dress was perfect for the college formal I attended. The dress was a great length and cut that would flatter most sizes and body types. The material is a heavy and very stretchy material. I thought I would be a 4 because I'm usually between sizes but the 4 was actually damaged so I never received it, however, the 2 fit luckily! I would definitely recommend getting a smaller second size especially if you are smaller on top. I wore bright fuchsia pumps with white and gold statement studs and a few bracelets. I decided to wear my hair up because the neckline is on the high side. Overall, great experience with RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
April 29, 2013
Comfortable & Stylish
I went to a hindu wedding ceremony that was very upscale and traditional. This dress was a huge hit because of the color! Much more vibrant in person, its a navy dress with the bright green over the top... absolutely beautiful! Its a stretchy material that hides problem areas extremely well, like a post baby stomach. I was worried it would be too short so I wore it with black tights and black shoes but it would have been fine without the tights. Highly recommend this dress, perfect in every way.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 8, 2013
Great dress for a Semi-Formal Southern Wedding!
Absolutely LOVED this dress. Was a big hit-received compliments on it all night long! I have a very narrow frame so the 0 fit me perfectly. The stretchy material was extremely comfortable and the high neck and stripes made it formal enough for the wedding. Pared it with my hot pink Louboutins and hot pink lipstick for a little pop of color. Would highly recommend this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 11, 2013
A very sweet dress that plays up your girly side!
Great, fun colors--it is the perfect teal and navy combination! Very comfortable fabric and the flouncy skirt is so fun. It pairs really well with a skinny belt or a chunky necklace. I ordered the dress for a semi-formal party, but ended up wearing it for a more casual dinner party instead. My friends and boyfriend all adored the look and I'd definitely recommend it for any flirty night out!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
May 13, 2013
Not fun at all!
Very comfortable fit but I have a large bust and plus the stripes made me look HUGE. I do not recommend this for anyone larger than a C cup.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 22, 2013
Was so excited to try the dress on and really loved the samples!!
Dress fits snug and is a stretchy material. It is SO flattering and I received the most comments I have ever received. The dress was sassy, in style and flowed so well. You could wear it for days it was so comfortable. Wish it was a permanent item in my wardrobe!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 30, 2013
Gorgeous emerald dress is perfect for weddings!
I wore this dress to a southern wedding and loved it. Pros - unique color/pattern, great length for shorter girls, pairs beautifully with nude color pumps, flares out beautifully when sitting. Cons - well, none really! Technically both the 0 and the 2 fit me, but the 0 just seemed too snug/short and the 2 fit just right. I would pair this with a waist belt OR a statement necklace - but not both, that looked too busy. I chose to go the statement necklace route and got compliments on my dress all day :)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 1, 2013
Cute twirl me dress!
This dress has some stretch. It can be worn with a regular bra. It's pretty plain so I wore a thin gold vintage belt with some nude heels. Fun to dance in.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 4, 2013
Wore this for a New York fashion fundraiser that I am the publicist for. Got lots of compliments!
The color is absolutely gorgeous and on trend. Great fit for an hourglass shape. It really shows off a tiny waist. The dress is short though, so you must be comfortable to show of your gams! There is also a criss cross shape to the front chest area. That detail combined with the material makes most bra details show. Take some time and find the right seamless one to wear or be brave and go braless.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress for a Summer Wedding
I loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding where the church was during the day and reception at night. It was a great dress to wear to both. I got the 2 and 4 and ended up wearing the 2. I probably could have gotten the 0 and worn that instead. The two fit well, but the top was a bit big and I kept pulling it up all night. I have a short torso, so that is why it probably fit that way. Regardless, it was a great dress for a summer wedding and I got a lot of compliments. The jersey material makes it a bit more casual and it has a lot of stretch to it so I would recommend sizing down for backup.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 10, 2013
Unique dress that adds flare to a simple design!
This dress was extremely comfortable and was a great dress to wear to a wedding! I'm usually around a size 6, but I ended up wearing the 4 because the material is stretchy and the 4 looked more fitted. I would definitely recommend wearing colorful accent shoes with this dress as well. I matched it with gold BCBG heels that looked great with the gold and emerald necklace suggested by RTR for this dress. It wasn't too short, it wasn't too long, and I received many compliments on the dress. It definitely looks a lot better in person than it does in pictures. I was pleasantly surprised once I put all the final touches on the whole outfit. Cool, beautiful, and trendy dress for sure!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145lbs
June 10, 2013
I didn't end up wearing this dress.
I thought it was going to be a more fitted material. The material threw me off and it fit terribly on my body. I was not a fan.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
June 11, 2013
Fun, flattering and comfortable!!
This dress was the perfect sum of my edgy style + a classy wedding shower. The comfort level was off the charts. Sitting, standing, assisting the bride with gifts, I never had to worry. The color is great. The lines on the dress are much more visible in person than they are in the model photo. The cut of the dress was very flattering on my hourglass shape, accentuating my small waist, and keeping my bodacious party appropriately in tact. I wore it with a blazer at first, but eventually took the blazer off. Both ways brought many compliments on the fun and flattering dress! I would absolutely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 105lbs
June 12, 2013
Perfect for an outdoor wedding!
The fit was great and it flowed really well! From the pictures I thought the dress had black detail in it but it navy blue so I had to rethink the shoes I had in mind but it all worked out! Will definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
June 24, 2013
Love, love love this dress!
This dress was super comfortable, flirty & flattering! I received so many compliments. I also rented the gold Alexis Bittar Escher Step Cuff, which went perfectly with my look! I styled nude peep toe pumps and carried a white clutch. Definitely recommend this for a wedding, party or just a girls night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 24, 2013
Structured, stretchy, chic, and comfortable!
Okay, despite the fact that this is the dreaded bathroom shot, the dress was great. I wore it to a formal wedding and could not have been happier. It lends itself to be dressed up or down with accessories and shoes. I wore it with a bright crystal necklace that really made it pop. This dress is very very comfortable. There is no zipper, its just a "pull over your head" type of dress and feels like it is made out of thick jersey material. No need to worry about size I fit in both the 6 and 4, since it stretches it really is just your personal comfort for size choice. I gave this dress 4 stars (would have given 4.5 but no half points) only because the arms dip in just a little bit so I had to occasionally tuck my bra strap in. Also, I was hoping it would pinch in just a little more at the waist for a more defined hourglass shape but these are minor details. I would definitely recommend this dress, especially for a first time renter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
June 24, 2013
Loved this dress!!! It is SOOOO comfortable! It was honestly as comfortable my running clothes.
I loved this dress! I was at my cousins wedding, taking tons of pictures, and this dress just moved with me. It was as comfortable as my running clothes, no special underwear required! My legs are much bigger than the top half of me, so this cut was perfect. I ended up wearing the size 2 and it fit great. I sized down from my normal 4 because of the cut of this dress, didn't have to worry about it being too tight on my legs. Sorry for the awkward pic. I'm usually behind the camera and don't take direction well.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 26, 2013
everyone complimented me on it and loved it!
this was the first time i have worn RTR, this dress was absolutly amazing! It fits beautiful on any body type. I am 5'9 and was worried about the length but it was perfect, not too short at all. the color is gorgeous. the first picture shows its true bright colors. i paired it with charcoal earings and bracelt with a black clutch and charcoal grey heels. I seriously didnt want to return it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 28, 2013
So comfortable to wear all day long!
I wore this dress for my bridal shower and this was my favorite rental so far. The fabric was stretchy and comfortable. The color was a perfect compliment to my tan. I received so many compliments all day long and felt beautiful without being overexposed. The shape of the dress is great for girls like me that aren't very curvy because it gave me a great shape. This was actually my backup dress as my first choice was not flattering on me at all. I can either wear a 2 or 4 and wore the 4 in this which was good because of the stretch in the material. I loved, loved, loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 3, 2013
Felt like Carrie Bradshaw from the carrie diaries! So glamorous!
I love this dress! The colors are phenomenal! Better than the main picture shows! Many people said that it was obvious that this was a designer dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 127lbs
July 7, 2013
Really comfortable!
This dress has a ton of stretch to it and is amazingly comfortable! It can be dressed up or down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
July 8, 2013
Fit was excellent!
This dress fit really well! I am usually a size 10, but the 8 was fine because of the stretchy fabric. I especially liked the silhouette because it really accentuated the waist and hid my tummy. The fabric itself was really unique as well and made it a lot more different than other dresses. Awesome dress- I would rent this again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
July 9, 2013
beautiful and VERY comfortable!
I rented this dress at the last minute for a wedding. It's by far one of my favorite dresses I've rented (and worn!) Very flattering, the color was beautiful and it was SO COMFORTABLE! I highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
July 10, 2013
Very fun, very flattering fit - great summer time dress!
I rented this for a wedding and had a really hard time deciding between wearing this dress or a more formal dress that I borrowed from a friend. In the end, I was worried that this dress was too casual, so I picked my friend's dress, as it was dressier and coordinated better with my date's tux. The thick knit material of this dress is extremely comfortable. However, the material is what keeps it from being dressier. The fit and flare style, as well as the material, is very flattering and it's easy and comfortable to wear with a regular bra. Also note that the dress is teal and navy. In person, it is clearly blue and not black. I had a hard time telling the difference between the 0 and the 2 and the dress has a lot of stretch to it, so I wouldn't stress about which size to order. Overall, I really liked this dress and wish I had had another occasion to wear it before I had to send it back.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
July 10, 2013
Better in person than in pictures
This dress is really textured so the fabric is more appealing in person than what shows in the photos. It is very comfortable because it's a stretchy fabric (both the 4 and 6 fit), but because of that, it lacks the structure/support that I prefer. I didn't find it very flattering and wished I'd had a belt that worked with this dress to define my waist more. I wore the Kate Spade Crystal Chapel Cluster Necklace with it but wouldn't recommend it. Even though the neckline on the dress is high, the necklace wasn't quite long enough (even at the longest length) and it kept getting tucked in (you can see this in the photo). I would love it if RTR showed or even suggested (in stylists notes) a couple more accessory options. Overall, a no-fuss, comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 9

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×