Opening Ceremony

Green Means Go Dress

$88 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Oh hello gorgeous! You'll turn heads at the cocktail party wearing this figure flattering Opening Ceremony sheath.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green cable knit (57% Viscose, 31% Polyester, 12% Elastatine). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden zipper. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. USA.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 31, 2012
This dress was so cute and everything I had hoped it to be with one exception- IT'S VERY SHORT.

At 5'10" this dress barely covered my derrière. That in combination with the fact that it's body conscious made this dress inappropriate for my husbands work function. Great dress if you're petit.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
January 7, 2013
Soft, accurate fit that compliments the figure with a classy look.

Loved this dress! I'm always nervous about not wearing a bra...didn't need to with this dress and still had cleavage AND support. I paired it with nude pumps and gold accessories and I felt so chic. I am 5'2" and 123 pounds and the 4 fit perfectly. Short but not uncomfortably so (didn't need to tug it down at all.) I would recommend this style for anyone..I can't imagine a body type it wouldn't suit.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 8, 2013
Great dress!

I wore this dress to a NYE party and it was perfect! Not only did it look great but it was so comfortable. I ordered both the 0 or 2 and although the 0 worked, the 2 was slightly less snug so I went with that. Overall great dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 15, 2013
dress looked great but not formal enough

fit was great especially if you want to enhance your curves. The color is true to the picture of an evergreen. I was not happy though about the material becuase it just was not formal enough for the new years eve party I was going to. I had rented two dresses and wore neither and ended up wearing an old dress I had becuase it at least looked more formal. This dress would be great for a less formal or day wedding.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 22, 2013
When it first arrived, it looked sooo small. The fit was perfect. Order to your true size.

I am a large A or small B-cup. I was concerned the top would not be filled out. This was not a problem because of the type of material and fit of the dress. It is very form fitting and was shorter on me (I am 5'7) then it was on the 5'10 model. This was my husbands favorite. Our photo did not turn out well, but I wore gold jeweler and it was a hit.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
February 3, 2013
My husband's jaw dropped when I came out in this dress! Felt super sexy in it.

This dress fit like a glove! Material has some stretch to it and hugged my body perfectly. Dress was a bit longer on me than on the model (as I'm petite), but still very sexy. Loved the back keyhole detail!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 55
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 9, 2013
I wore this to a St. Patrick's Day party and received several compliments.

I thought the dress was a little short for me (my age) and felt myself constantly pulling it down at the bottom during the evening. The material is stretchy and textured but very comfortable. I wore black tights and booties due to the recent snowfall. Overall, I liked it and was very happy with my first RTR dress.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 17, 2013
St. Patty's and anniversary gorgeous

This dress is beautiful and well-made. It has some stretch to it too, so no worries about a tight fit. I felt a little self-conscious because I have a small bust and this dress would have favored a little bit more volume in the chest. Otherwise, excellent. My husband loved it!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2013
Sexy!

This dress was very comfortable and I loved the pebbled texture. It's a bit short for a more formal occasion or wedding, but perfect for a night out.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
March 26, 2013
loved the fit of the dress, and so did my boyfriend

true to size, very flattering fit

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Really loved the color!

Stretchier than I expected - I should have gone down a size for my backup.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 2, 2013
Perfect for my Hourglass figure! Got a lot of compliments. Loved the open back.

I got the 6 and 8. Even though it's very stretchy and the 6 also looked good , I decided on the 8 b/c of the body fitting material. I didn't want it too tight on me.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
June 16, 2013
Great fit - lots of compliments!

Loved this little dress! Wore it to a big charity gala and it was perfect. It has a great stretch to it and is super flattering, and the color was pretty amazing (which was why I chose it). First time renting this brand and was a huge fan.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
June 24, 2013
Flattering dress

The dress fit like a glove and the color is beautiful. Great first experience with Rent the Runway!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
July 14, 2013
Loved the color!

This dress was AWESOME! I loved everything about it. The material is super flattering and comfy. Would recommend to anyone.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 16, 2013
Flattering & Comfortable Dress

The color of this dress is beautiful and it fits very comfortably. I did not want to wear a NUbra so I wore a low-back converter bra with clear straps that could hook closer to the arm so they wouldn't show. I could have worn the 0 but the 2 was more comfortable. I loved the length because it wasn't too short or scandalous.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2013
Such a pretty color!

The dress is made out of a thinner fabric, so it does not hold anything in for you. Spanx really help with this dress! The back is so pretty and the color is a nice change from black.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
August 25, 2013
Loved it!!!

My first experience with RTR, and its a winner! this dress worked out great for me, loved the fit, color and the fabric.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
October 22, 2013
Simple and comfortable

I liked this dress but the fabric is a little weird; it kind of reminded me of an old couch from the 70s. It was very comfortable, though. Super stretchy and form fitting and not too thin or thick.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2013
Perfect dress

My boyfriend did not want me to send this dress back. It hugged in all of the right places and is extremely flattering.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 23, 2013
Great color for the holidays!

I used this for a friend's debutante party. The material was really stretchy, soft and comfortable while also flattering for dancing the night away. For me, personally, it fit tighter across the chest and looser on my butt, so sometimes I had to be aware of how short it was. Also, I found that in the chest area, there were little stitches that made my boobs look like they were pointy. It wasn't too noticeable, but at the beginning of the night it bothered me a little. Overall, the dress was great for this formal affair and was extremely comfortable to wear all night!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
I loved this dress.

I loved this dress, I would have rather worn the 4, but it was shipped to me with a hole in the side seam. Really disappointing.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2014
Super Sexy, Soft & Comfortable

There was some nice stretch to this dress, so it hugged in all the right places. Felt like a million bucks in this dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
January 12, 2014
Perfect for Homecoming, loved it

I loved how the dress was stretchy, you were able to move easily and dance. It was a great dress, its perfect for many occasions. I loved the back, and it wasn't too short at all

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2014
Perfect for a fall wedding!

Dress fit so well, was not too tight but hugged curves in the right places. Neckline is very flattering. I wish I could've kept this dress and worn it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2014
Cute & Comfortable

Wore this to the rehearsal dinner. SUPER comfy and stretchy which was great for all the eating i did. Fit my shape very well. Don't recommend this for busty girls like myself. I didn't realize the cut-out in the back would show my bra, so I wore a bra anyway and put a sweater on to cover the back. Other than that no problems.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2014
Classy and Comfortable with a Little Edge`

I wore this dress to a city event that was attended by mostly middle-aged and older adults. I wanted to wear something classy that also suited my personal style. The color of the dress is a greenish-blue, not dark green as the picture showed (not a big deal). The fabric was really comfortable and the length was just right. My only complaint is that the bustline goes up higher on the actual dress than it is shown in the picture. I wore a bra under it with an intricate strap design, and the open back was perfect to show it off. Although I would recommend wearing the NuBra with this as well for a complete backless look. Overall I liked the dress, but probably wouldn't rent it again.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 19, 2014
Comfortable and sexy!

This dress was comfortable and sexy! I wore it on Valentine's day and my husband liked it very much. The only issue, and it's not even that much of an issue, was that you really can't wear a strapless bra with the dress. Sure, you can get one of those sticky bras that are backless, but ehh, they're not that effective. I relied on my own ability to hold the dress up and it was just ok. The girls were a little lower than I would've wanted, but as a whole, the dress was great. The back was really sexy too. I wish I got a pic! I'm a size 8 and the 8 fit beautifully. True to size!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 20, 2014
Was a little big but not by much

Cute! Classy

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2014
STYLIST REVIEW

I LOVED this dress! The fabric is really stretchy and extremely soft and comfortable. I was concerned about the seams in the bust area being awkward, but they were not a problem at all and looked fine! I'm 5'8, so the length was perfect for my height as well. The cut out back is so fun, and I wore a sticky bra because you can't really wear a normal bra. I wore this for a friend's birthday celebration in NYC, so it was just the right amount of dressy without being overly formal. I am wearing the SLATE & WILLOW ACCESSORIES Loop Me In Necklace, which is GORGEOUS and I highly recommend renting it! My friend in the picture is also a stylist for RTR and is wearing the PARKER Red Shock Wave Dress. She looked absolutely stunning in it!

CaitlinMay 10, 2014
Love this!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2014
The dress was very comfortable and I received a lot of compliments on the style and color.

The fit was true to size, but it was a tad bit short for my very long legs. Other than that, it was a beautiful piece and I felt confident wearing a key hole back dress.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2014
Went to a September wedding in Brooklyn, NY on a hot humid day. Dress was light and comfortable.

The dress fit very fit to size and the fabric was a bit stretchy so it allowed for some room. The dress was super comfortable and I did not need to keep pulling it down while dancing. Only downside to the dress is that you have to wear a sticky NuBra with it, which falls off easily if you get sweaty. Otherwise, the dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments on it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2014
Wore for a night out at a bachelorette party

The dress arrived a little more worn than I expected. It's a cute dress for the right body type, but personally I was caught off guard by how stretchy, thin, and clingy the material of the dress was. I generally prefer to wear something a little thicker and more forgiving. After a big meal before going out, I was uncomfortable in such a tight dress. It fits true to size. I was concerned about the unique bust stitching since I am a 36D, but the busy area fit just fine. Finding the right bra was a challenge, however, since the dress is open back.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 3, 2013
Perfect for a Vegas bachelorette party, and I've never felt sexier or classier (at the same time)!!

I wore this for a night out at the clubs in Vegas in May. It was amazing! I got sooo many compliments from the girls as well as several fellows throughout the evening. I think this dress scored me a few free beverages;). I felt amazing in this dress. I am normally a 4, but it is meant to fit tight so the 2 fit better! I think it runs a liiiittle small, but not enough for me to select it as the overall fit option. The dress made my bust (small as it is) look great. Comfortable, sexy, and classy. 10/10 would wear again!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
November 4, 2013
Beautiful fit and color, plus so comfortable!

This was my first experience with RTR and it was wonderful! I received endless compliments at the wedding I attended. The color was perfect for a fall wedding, and the fit was great-hugged my body and is just the right length. The fabric was so soft which made it super comfortable to wear all night long. Loved this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 26, 2015
Great fit, very comfortable.

I wore this at my bachelorette party. Very stretchy without being too thin of material. The color is very accurate to the photo online. It fit true to size and wasn't too short either.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 26, 2015
Went to a friend's wedding. I received a lot of comments on how fun and great this dress was!

Simple and basic dress to wear to a friend's wedding. Dress it up with shoes or a bold earring. If you intend on wearing spanx, make sure you find one that doesn't have coverage on the back since it is open. Dress was very comfortable and was easy to dance in. I would recommend on getting 2 sizes since you want to make sure it fits you perfectly and don't want it to be too short and too tight, Otherwise, it was a great hit :)

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
September 14, 2015
Love love this dress! I would buy it if I could.

it fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I am a slender 6'3 and it wasn't too short which was amazing. I got so many complements on the shape and the back!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2016
Sexy

Fits very well and is very sexy, but the color was not what I was looking for in terms of a spring wedding dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on the dress and I was so happy with it. I was really happy with my first Rent the Runway experience and will definitely do it again.

The fit was great. The fabric is very forgiving and super comfortable. I would rent another Opening Ceremony in a minute. Finding the proper bra was a little challenging. I wore a sticky one with no back, but the front is a little low cut, so it poked out a little bit a few times.

MollySeptember 11, 2012
She looked hot! So much so that I'm booking this for another upcoming wedding in a few weeks!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×