Opening Ceremony

Green Means Go Dress

$88 to buy
$405 retail
Stylist Notes

Oh hello gorgeous! You'll turn heads at the cocktail party wearing this figure flattering Opening Ceremony sheath.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-8.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust and can not be worn with a standard bra due to exposed back
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a NuBra due to exposed back
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Green cable knit (57% Viscose, 31% Polyester, 12% Elastatine). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. Pencil skirt. Hidden zipper. 35.5” from shoulder to hem. USA.

Share
93 reviews
Fit
Large
(14)
True to Size
(64)
Small
(7)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
November 29, 2013
Perfect dress
My boyfriend did not want me to send this dress back. It hugged in all of the right places and is extremely flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 23, 2013
Great color for the holidays!
I used this for a friend's debutante party. The material was really stretchy, soft and comfortable while also flattering for dancing the night away. For me, personally, it fit tighter across the chest and looser on my butt, so sometimes I had to be aware of how short it was. Also, I found that in the chest area, there were little stitches that made my boobs look like they were pointy. It wasn't too noticeable, but at the beginning of the night it bothered me a little. Overall, the dress was great for this formal affair and was extremely comfortable to wear all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2014
I loved this dress.
I loved this dress, I would have rather worn the 4, but it was shipped to me with a hole in the side seam. Really disappointing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2014
Super Sexy, Soft & Comfortable
There was some nice stretch to this dress, so it hugged in all the right places. Felt like a million bucks in this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
January 12, 2014
Perfect for Homecoming, loved it
I loved how the dress was stretchy, you were able to move easily and dance. It was a great dress, its perfect for many occasions. I loved the back, and it wasn't too short at all
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
January 18, 2014
Perfect for a fall wedding!
Dress fit so well, was not too tight but hugged curves in the right places. Neckline is very flattering. I wish I could've kept this dress and worn it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 28, 2014
Cute & Comfortable
Wore this to the rehearsal dinner. SUPER comfy and stretchy which was great for all the eating i did. Fit my shape very well. Don't recommend this for busty girls like myself. I didn't realize the cut-out in the back would show my bra, so I wore a bra anyway and put a sweater on to cover the back. Other than that no problems.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2014
Classy and Comfortable with a Little Edge`
I wore this dress to a city event that was attended by mostly middle-aged and older adults. I wanted to wear something classy that also suited my personal style. The color of the dress is a greenish-blue, not dark green as the picture showed (not a big deal). The fabric was really comfortable and the length was just right. My only complaint is that the bustline goes up higher on the actual dress than it is shown in the picture. I wore a bra under it with an intricate strap design, and the open back was perfect to show it off. Although I would recommend wearing the NuBra with this as well for a complete backless look. Overall I liked the dress, but probably wouldn't rent it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
February 19, 2014
Comfortable and sexy!
This dress was comfortable and sexy! I wore it on Valentine's day and my husband liked it very much. The only issue, and it's not even that much of an issue, was that you really can't wear a strapless bra with the dress. Sure, you can get one of those sticky bras that are backless, but ehh, they're not that effective. I relied on my own ability to hold the dress up and it was just ok. The girls were a little lower than I would've wanted, but as a whole, the dress was great. The back was really sexy too. I wish I got a pic! I'm a size 8 and the 8 fit beautifully. True to size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 20, 2014
Was a little big but not by much
Cute! Classy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 29, 2014
VaVaVoom!
This dress is wonderful for a bit of sex appeal. It runs a bit short, which can be exactly the look you're going for on the right night. The bust detailing tried to ride up on me all night. I probably could have used a size 2 rather than a 0, but it was my 'back-up' for the wedding I attended the previous night. It was intended for the date all along and worked wonderfully. My husband certainly didn't mind that it was a tad bit small. With the open back it was impossible to wear an unnoticed bra, but the material was thick enough I didn't feel exposed.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 31, 2014
I loved wearing this dress! It hugs the body but is still completely comfortable.
Fits great, for your backup size, definitely go with a size down just in case. Love this dress, I will definitely wear it again! IT really highlights shoulders and back, but is so body conscious everything else is flattered as well. The only con is that I felt it was a bit too sexy for a wedding! If you have a bigger chest like me, be aware they will be on full display since the seams to outline the chest are not very generous! Not a bad thing, but something to be aware of depending on the event. Great fabric and in an unexpected color, great for Fall weddings with gold jewelry : )
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2014
Dress wasn't flattering for me RTR saved the day
I don't like this dress at all. RTR sent it as a replacement, the dress I ordered was damaged and unable to be sent. I seriously hate this dress. It's baggy in the wrong places and the stitching on the bust looks ridiculous because i am a 36G. BUT--before this dress came this morning RTR's FABULOUS customer service team rectified the situation once I told them I didn't like what was being shipped as a replacement. I will review the other dresses they send, but this review says nothing about the fact that RTRs customer service went above and beyond to make me happy. I've made 2 more orders for upcoming events and will absolutely use again in the future. So, while the dress was a dud, RTR came out on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
May 10, 2014
STYLIST REVIEW
I LOVED this dress! The fabric is really stretchy and extremely soft and comfortable. I was concerned about the seams in the bust area being awkward, but they were not a problem at all and looked fine! I'm 5'8, so the length was perfect for my height as well. The cut out back is so fun, and I wore a sticky bra because you can't really wear a normal bra. I wore this for a friend's birthday celebration in NYC, so it was just the right amount of dressy without being overly formal. I am wearing the SLATE & WILLOW ACCESSORIES Loop Me In Necklace, which is GORGEOUS and I highly recommend renting it! My friend in the picture is also a stylist for RTR and is wearing the PARKER Red Shock Wave Dress. She looked absolutely stunning in it!
CaitlinAugust 11, 2014
Love this!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
May 30, 2014
The dress was very comfortable and I received a lot of compliments on the style and color.
The fit was true to size, but it was a tad bit short for my very long legs. Other than that, it was a beautiful piece and I felt confident wearing a key hole back dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 21
August 5, 2014
Gorgeous color and stunning neckline!
The dress was gorgeous. The color was a nice hunter green color and the material was easy to move in! I did a lot of dancing and I had no problems being comfortable. My only issue was that the dress seemed very stretched out in the middle. I don't know if they are all like that but it was rather unflattering. The open back was adorable and the neckline was not too showy. Had no problems other than the midsection. Would definitely recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 14, 2014
Went to a September wedding in Brooklyn, NY on a hot humid day. Dress was light and comfortable.
The dress fit very fit to size and the fabric was a bit stretchy so it allowed for some room. The dress was super comfortable and I did not need to keep pulling it down while dancing. Only downside to the dress is that you have to wear a sticky NuBra with it, which falls off easily if you get sweaty. Otherwise, the dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments on it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 24, 2014
Wore for a night out at a bachelorette party
The dress arrived a little more worn than I expected. It's a cute dress for the right body type, but personally I was caught off guard by how stretchy, thin, and clingy the material of the dress was. I generally prefer to wear something a little thicker and more forgiving. After a big meal before going out, I was uncomfortable in such a tight dress. It fits true to size. I was concerned about the unique bust stitching since I am a 36D, but the busy area fit just fine. Finding the right bra was a challenge, however, since the dress is open back.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 7, 2014
great little casual dress
Color is perfect, very similar to the picture. Fit and fabric were comfortable, though stretched a throughout the night, hence the "runs large." Rented for a casual June wedding, and it was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
June 3, 2013
Perfect for a Vegas bachelorette party, and I've never felt sexier or classier (at the same time)!!
I wore this for a night out at the clubs in Vegas in May. It was amazing! I got sooo many compliments from the girls as well as several fellows throughout the evening. I think this dress scored me a few free beverages;). I felt amazing in this dress. I am normally a 4, but it is meant to fit tight so the 2 fit better! I think it runs a liiiittle small, but not enough for me to select it as the overall fit option. The dress made my bust (small as it is) look great. Comfortable, sexy, and classy. 10/10 would wear again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 3, 2015
Gorgeous but unlined...felt too sexy for a wedding.
Very revealing, but definitely a head turner! It isn't lined and the material is isn't very forgiving, so be prepared with proper undergarments (or go commando)...not for the conservative at heart. I didn't end up wearing this because it didn't quite fit and my backup size wasn't available. Would rent again for a night out!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
March 16, 2015
Great dress! Good quality!
Loved the dress, but ran a little big I would definitely go 1-2 sizes smaller!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2015
Tiny
This dress just wasn't right. The seam on the chest is weirdly placed and the dress is soooo short.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
November 4, 2013
Beautiful fit and color, plus so comfortable!
This was my first experience with RTR and it was wonderful! I received endless compliments at the wedding I attended. The color was perfect for a fall wedding, and the fit was great-hugged my body and is just the right length. The fabric was so soft which made it super comfortable to wear all night long. Loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
August 26, 2015
Great fit, very comfortable.
I wore this at my bachelorette party. Very stretchy without being too thin of material. The color is very accurate to the photo online. It fit true to size and wasn't too short either.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 35
August 26, 2015
Went to a friend's wedding. I received a lot of comments on how fun and great this dress was!
Simple and basic dress to wear to a friend's wedding. Dress it up with shoes or a bold earring. If you intend on wearing spanx, make sure you find one that doesn't have coverage on the back since it is open. Dress was very comfortable and was easy to dance in. I would recommend on getting 2 sizes since you want to make sure it fits you perfectly and don't want it to be too short and too tight, Otherwise, it was a great hit :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
September 14, 2015
Love love this dress! I would buy it if I could.
it fit perfectly and was so comfortable. I am a slender 6'3 and it wasn't too short which was amazing. I got so many complements on the shape and the back!
Size worn:
2
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 23, 2015
Gorgeous, flattering dress
The dress was amazing. Arrived on time. I wasn't sure if I would fit into it. I ordered a 6 and a 2, because that was what was available. The two fit great. Very very stretchy. I wore spanx under, to hide the unforgiving hug of my curves. Great length, stayed in place. Great dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 18, 2016
Nice material, thicker and fit true to size. Great neckline and sexy date dress! My husband loved it
Fit true to size, form fitting. Nice material-thicker so it felt nicer. The neckline is different and I thought was very flattering. On the short side, but not too short. I felt sexy and confident! Will rent this one again! Perfect for date night or night out with the girls!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 14, 2016
So comfortable!
Great fit! Totally my style with cutout on the back! Got a ton of
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
March 20, 2016
Beautiful dress!
I ended up wearing this dress twice because I liked it so much. I wore the size 8 because the 6 was so short it barely covered my derrière! I am tall and have long legs, so I almost always need a little more length in my dresses. The fabric is stretchy but not clingy. The dress stayed put all night; I never needed to adjust it. It didn't stretch out either, so it looked just a good the second wearing. The fabric is a beautiful dark green and has a little texture to it. The dress is cut pretty low in front and is open in the back, so I decided to skip the bra. This dress is sexy but tasteful and is really well made. I loved wearing it and got so many compliments! My boyfriend loved this dress on me. I will definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 18, 2016
Sexy
Fits very well and is very sexy, but the color was not what I was looking for in terms of a spring wedding dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2012
I got a lot of compliments on the dress and I was so happy with it. I was really happy with my first Rent the Runway experience and will definitely do it again.
The fit was great. The fabric is very forgiving and super comfortable. I would rent another Opening Ceremony in a minute. Finding the proper bra was a little challenging. I wore a sticky one with no back, but the front is a little low cut, so it poked out a little bit a few times.
MollySeptember 12, 2012
She looked hot! So much so that I'm booking this for another upcoming wedding in a few weeks!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 19, 2012
Wore this for our Closet event during Fashion Week!
The material has a pebble like effect but is not shiny. It is very pretty but a little thicker then I would have expected. This is not forgiving if you have problem areas so be prepared! I had a size four but wish I would have gotten a 2. The only issue is the bust has cups as part of the design and I have a larger bust and the 4 was already cutting it close....I think the 2 would have had me looking ridiculous. Size up if you are larger than a B!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
December 31, 2012
Fun option! Very comfortable!
Loved wearing this dress. I wore the size 0 and am usually a size 2. I wasn't able to wear a standard bra with it and and didn't want to wear a Nubra, but I was actually able to wear it without a bra. I also used hemmed tape and made it slightly shorter. Great option though, very comfortable
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 105lbs
January 5, 2013
When I walked in to the pictures for my homecoming dance my boyfriend didn't even recognize me!!
The fit was amazing! It was a little long for me because I am only 5' 0"even. But a little double sided tape fixed the issue right up! It came with a small hole in the side seam. Nevertheless this dress was a show stopper and I felt sexy in it all night long!
StephanieApril 30, 2013
I'm also short (5'1) and about the same proportions as you but am looking for something a little longer for a charity event. Do you think the length would have been ok for something like that?
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 153lbs
February 18, 2013
Everyone loved the dress!
Fit was awesome, super stretchy and comfortable. The only problem I had is that when I received it in the mail it had a hole in the dress on the seam, but my roomie did a quick seamstress job and it was fine. Super comfortable. I was scared it would be too short because I'm really tall and have a long torso but it wasn't too bad. Loved it overall.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
March 17, 2013
This dress is super stretchy, so it worked well for dancing.
The dress was far stretchier than I expected, so I was able to go down a size. As other reviewers have mentioned, the bust area is a bit awkward, particularly if you need a bit of support and can only wear a strapless/backless NuBra. It's super comfortable and shows off your curves, though it might look better on someone with a more defined waist than someone with an athletic body type like me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
March 31, 2013
Everyone noticed the minute I walked in.
The dress fit amazingly. Best dress I have ever worn and it was classy and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
July 7, 2013
The dress was incredibly comfortable and easy to dance in!
The material of the dress was amazing and the fit was perfect. It's a great dress for a formal event in the spring or summer, especially. I loved this dress, I highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×