Nicole Miller

Teal Open Back Gown

$100 rental
$550 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown has a sultry cut-out back to bare just the right amount of skin. With flattering side ruching, this gorgeous style will win you complements all night long. To add some glitz accessorize with Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller (Regular measures 64" from the top of shoulder to hem. Long measures 66" from the top of shoulder to hem. )

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
68 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 8, 2011
Great Color…Assets Ummphed
I am 5'8 and had to buy 5 inch heels for the length to be perfect. It looked and felt great. Received tons on compliments. I
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
December 19, 2011
The fact that when I called on Thursday afternoon they were able to get me the right size for my event the following evening!! Great Customer Service!!!
Got this dress in a 6L and a 8R first. The 6 was WAY too tight and the 8 was WAY too short...I am 5'9". They over nighted me the 8L and it fit perfectly. I am busty and should have had a 10 just for that reason but it would not have fit anywhere else. So if you are taller than 5'7" get a long...it was too short for me bare footed.
EmilyMarch 11, 2012
That dress looks made for you, so stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 17, 2012
Love Rent The Runway
This dress was more teal in color than green, which I didn't care for. I ordered a 2R and 4R and wore the 4R because the 2R was way too small - even the 4R was snug with Spanx. It was a bit short as well, I'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels, I would have loved for it to be an inch longer. Overall using Rent the Runway was AMAZING! So quick and easy! I loved it so much!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 17, 2012
I love renting from RTR and would highly recommend it!
I wore this gown to a Mardi Gras ball and it was beautiful. It was a bit snug in the bust and butt but overall very comfortable. I am 5'2" and wore 3 inch heels and the train still drug a bit making it a dancing nuisance. The petite was not available for me but I would definitely recommend if you are 5'4 or shorter.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 28, 2012
Best compliment: "I love that color on you!"
I usually wear a 4, but this was only available in 6. I got the long version and it fit well. Could have been a bit longer, but I am 5'11" and chose to wear 3 1/2" heels. I would be careful with a larger chest with this gown, it is very form fitting. I would even consider going up one size more if I was to wear it again. The color was beautiful and I got lots of compliments before and after on the color. It is more green in bright light and more teal in darker light. The train is great, but if the room is crowded, it will get stepped on. Get a good strapless bra because the shape you get will show. Overall, I was very pleased.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 6, 2012
Only compliments received were eyes or admiration.
The dress has a very snuggled fit, stretches a lil, also if your tall, like i am (5'10) you should get long. But loved this dress.
ElizabethOctober 29, 2012
Great color on you!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
great dress
beautiful dress. Fit like a glove! classy and sexy
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 20, 2012
Beautiful and comfortable!
I got this dress for a formal event that was on St. Patrick's Day. Perfect color! It is definitley a little greener than in the picture, but not by much. I loved the way it fit, and it has just enough rouching to cover up any tummy issues. My favorite part is the neckline (gorgeous) and the little mini train - though be careful of people walking behind you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
August 20, 2012
Very flattering. Felt like a movie start!
I wore this dress to my sorority formal. I am only 5'2" so I was worried about the length, but with 4" heels I pulled this off! Loved the fabric and it fit perfectly all over! The small train in the back is so much fun and really plays up the elegance of this dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 132lbs
September 5, 2012
Amazing Dress!
I rented this dress for a formal wedding. It was supposed to be my back up dress but I ended up liking it so much, that I decided to wear it instead. The fit was fabulous and it was very comfortable. With high heels (4 in), it just swept the ground, perfect length. Paired the dress with a simple 3 strand floating pearls for a classy look.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2013
Classy, Simple and Stylish
Looked just like the picture. I wore this dress to the Marine Corps Birthday Ball. It was a great dress for a formal party night. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone who is self-concious of her stomach--the dress is tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2014
Loved this dress!
Wore it to a formal fundraising event...got lots of compliments. I was just 4-5 months post-baby body, but spanx worked wonderfully! The fabric has some stretch to it so it made for a really comfortable evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 6, 2014
Lots of compliments, beautiful color
Fitted and kind of sexy without being inappropriate. Very comfortable to wear all night. My mother-in law kept telling me I should buy the dress for myself, it looked so good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2014
Gorgeous fit
I rented this dress last year for a black tie event and am just now getting a chance to review it. I've worn Nicole Miller before and always love her designs, so I figured this would be a safe bet. The color of the dress is beautiful and the fit is really flattering *if you have the right shape for this dress. The dress doesn't run small per se, but it does hug you all over and is very fitted. i.e. I made sure not to eat too much that night because any tummy pooch will most definitely show in this dress. It would work for pear or hourglass shapes, but I'm not sure that it would be as flattering on an apple shaped body only because of the way it hugs your waist. Beautiful dress though! I would highly recommend it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 13, 2014
Sexy, snug but a show stopper
Fit a little snug but this was a great wedding dress. Wore spanx which made it ride up all night. This wasn't ideal but the overall look was a good one. Got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 19, 2014
Great
wasnt crazy about the color so i ended up wearing something else
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 26, 2011
This dress is gorgeous. Bust felt slightly small for a 38C/36D, but otherwise was very true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 23, 2011
Loved it. Compliments all night although the dress was more rouched on me (not skin tight like in the photo) and the color is more green than teal (very misleading).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2015
Too right in the hips
I didn't end up wearing this dress for the black-tie event I was attending. I have an hourglass figure, with a small waist and broad shoulders and hips. Since the gown was fitted through the hips, it was too right on me. I'd recommend that ladies with a similar figure choose a different dress. All the same, the gown and the color were lovely. Just not on my body!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
October 30, 2010
This dress was GORGEOUS, extremely flattering. The colour was beautiful and I got compliments all night. It is flattering on a full bust but a 34DD was about the limit of what could fit in there. (C or D would have been better) I needed to wear it with a strapless bustier, and that worked fine. The 6R was still a bit long on me with 4 inch heels, but nothing too precarious to walk & dance in all night. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2011
Got many compliments on this dress, it stood out in a sea of black dresses. The 6L was perfect for my height and it ran true to size. It is snug but comfortable and fabric has enough stretch that sitting or standing was not a problem. It has a short train and in a crowded room, I did get stepped on a few times. Very happy with this rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2011
This dress was my first choice, but I didn't end up wearing it as I ordered it in an 8 and it was too big. I have a fuller bust so I was worried that the 6 would be too small, but it actually doesn't run too tight. Also the color was not as teak as it reads from the picture. It was more green.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2011
This dress was stunning. It fit like a dream, though quite long. It has a train, but was still a bit long for me, being 5'6". I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Great fit!
This fits perfectly (with a little bit of stretch in the material). The color is a little darker than it looks in this picture. Not a super-bright teal or anything.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
Awesome dress! Great for the Barrister's Ball I attended. Very flattering!
The dress is longer than I thought - Even with heels, I could have done with a 4R and just slightly shorter heels (I'm 5'8"). It is a very flattering dress even with a large chest (DD). Loved the color the best, it's not too "Look at me" out there, but it grabs attention. I got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 5, 2012
Wouldn't recommend this dress :-(
This is dress has a really unique gorgeous color in person but I didn't find it to be as flattering as I would have liked.. If you have an athletic build the top is very tight around the chest/arm area. Also the quality of the dress itself was subpar. There were snags in the fabric all along the stomach and chest areas. I immediately called RTR in a panic b/c I needed at formal gown for a black tie wedding I was attending that Saturday. I placed the order for thursday... They were extremely helpful and gave me my original choice (which I had chosen not to rent b/c of the price) for no additional charge and had it delivered the next day to the hotel I was staying at. The second option was perfect.. RTR saved the day :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
April 18, 2013
military ball
I wore this to a military ball and it was perfect! The dress hugged my body in all the right places and the back of the dress makes it a little special. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
July 18, 2013
Dress was perfect for a wedding held in the Sears Tower. Just the right amount of luxe.
The dress is true to size. The material gave a bit which was great for dancing during the reception. The long was also perfect for wearing with heels given my height.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×