Nicole Miller

Teal Open Back Gown

$100 rental
$550 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown has a sultry cut-out back to bare just the right amount of skin. With flattering side ruching, this gorgeous style will win you complements all night long. To add some glitz accessorize with Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 sizes (Regular, Long): Regular for heights 5'3" to 5'6" - Long for heights 5'6" and taller (Regular measures 64" from the top of shoulder to hem. Long measures 66" from the top of shoulder to hem. )

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Teal stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'10". See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
68 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(60)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2012
I received so many compliments in this dress!
Dress runs a bit long, so make sure to wear high(er) heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 11, 2012
Beautiful dress! Very elegant!
Gorgeous dress, will flatter most figures. If you are a little more curvy, you may want to spanx it up. The color is a little darker than in the pics, so it was great for a fall wedding.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Body type: Petite
November 12, 2012
Loved the color and that it came with double stick tape.
The dress had a few snags in the silk, but looked fine once it was on.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 19, 2012
AWESOME BLACK TIE DRESS!!
True to size - got so many compliments on this dress! With a large bust I didn't feel exposed! Wish I could purchase!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress made me feel like gorgeous!
This is the perfect dress for a wedding/formal affair. It is not only gorgeous, but also very comfortable. The dress shape and color are very flattering. I received many compliments on how beautiful my dress was. I am even considering renting it again in a different color for the next wedding I will attend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 30, 2012
I rented this for a hospital wing opening. We're featured in a full pic in the hospital's magazine!
Fit like a glove. I wore spanx so the dress didn't pick up any weird bumps. Wear taller heels - it runs a little long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 9, 2012
Beautiful color, rouching not for me
I loved this dress and really wanted to make it work but in the end I opted for a different rental. I couldn't tell from the pictures or uploads that the dress was a snug or had the rouching. It would have been great in maybe the next size up or someone more toned.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
January 21, 2013
Comfortable AND glamorous!
This dress was everything that I hoped it would be - it was form-fitting without being restrictive and the color was beautiful. I got so many compliments and the dress was incredibly comfortable all afternoon and night (I wore it to a black tie wedding in NYC...from the ceremony on through the reception, which was about 9 hours in total). I do wish I got a shawl or something else to cover my back and shoulders during the ceremony though. This isn't an overly revealing dress by any means, but for a January wedding in a cavernous church with cold wooden pews, I felt a little exposed. Also, if you’re 5’6” or taller, are planning on wearing heels of even a modest height, and you'd like the dress to go all the way to the ground as it's pictured on the model, you should probably get the long. However, even though I am 5’6” and I wore about 3” heels, I was actually grateful for the regular because I didn’t want the dress to be dragging on the ground (the “train” just barely skimmed the ground, which was perfect). Overall, I’d definitely recommend this dress to anyone attending a formal affair!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 26, 2013
Felt like a queen!
Comfortable, very form fitting, holds you in. Love to wear a color at a black tie event where everyone's wearing boring black
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 5
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 137lbs
February 27, 2013
True to size, looked worn.
This was an awesome dress. I could have gone with the 4L but it wasn't available. The 6L was a little loose, even in the bust. The train was gorgeous, but when I received the dress, it looked like someone had stepped on it and torn it previously. I wanted to find a dress I could wear a strapped bra with, and it was unfortunate you could see the straps on the backside. I went with clear, and it wasn't too obvious. Overall, great dress, very flattering.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2013
Classy, Simple and Stylish
Looked just like the picture. I wore this dress to the Marine Corps Birthday Ball. It was a great dress for a formal party night. I wouldn't recommend this dress to anyone who is self-concious of her stomach--the dress is tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 28, 2014
Loved this dress!
Wore it to a formal fundraising event...got lots of compliments. I was just 4-5 months post-baby body, but spanx worked wonderfully! The fabric has some stretch to it so it made for a really comfortable evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 6, 2014
Lots of compliments, beautiful color
Fitted and kind of sexy without being inappropriate. Very comfortable to wear all night. My mother-in law kept telling me I should buy the dress for myself, it looked so good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 27, 2014
Gorgeous fit
I rented this dress last year for a black tie event and am just now getting a chance to review it. I've worn Nicole Miller before and always love her designs, so I figured this would be a safe bet. The color of the dress is beautiful and the fit is really flattering *if you have the right shape for this dress. The dress doesn't run small per se, but it does hug you all over and is very fitted. i.e. I made sure not to eat too much that night because any tummy pooch will most definitely show in this dress. It would work for pear or hourglass shapes, but I'm not sure that it would be as flattering on an apple shaped body only because of the way it hugs your waist. Beautiful dress though! I would highly recommend it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
April 13, 2014
Sexy, snug but a show stopper
Fit a little snug but this was a great wedding dress. Wore spanx which made it ride up all night. This wasn't ideal but the overall look was a good one. Got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
April 19, 2014
Great
wasnt crazy about the color so i ended up wearing something else
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
March 26, 2011
This dress is gorgeous. Bust felt slightly small for a 38C/36D, but otherwise was very true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 23, 2011
Loved it. Compliments all night although the dress was more rouched on me (not skin tight like in the photo) and the color is more green than teal (very misleading).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2015
Too right in the hips
I didn't end up wearing this dress for the black-tie event I was attending. I have an hourglass figure, with a small waist and broad shoulders and hips. Since the gown was fitted through the hips, it was too right on me. I'd recommend that ladies with a similar figure choose a different dress. All the same, the gown and the color were lovely. Just not on my body!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Full Bust
October 30, 2010
This dress was GORGEOUS, extremely flattering. The colour was beautiful and I got compliments all night. It is flattering on a full bust but a 34DD was about the limit of what could fit in there. (C or D would have been better) I needed to wear it with a strapless bustier, and that worked fine. The 6R was still a bit long on me with 4 inch heels, but nothing too precarious to walk & dance in all night. Loved it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2011
Got many compliments on this dress, it stood out in a sea of black dresses. The 6L was perfect for my height and it ran true to size. It is snug but comfortable and fabric has enough stretch that sitting or standing was not a problem. It has a short train and in a crowded room, I did get stepped on a few times. Very happy with this rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 7, 2011
This dress was my first choice, but I didn't end up wearing it as I ordered it in an 8 and it was too big. I have a fuller bust so I was worried that the 6 would be too small, but it actually doesn't run too tight. Also the color was not as teak as it reads from the picture. It was more green.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
October 19, 2011
This dress was stunning. It fit like a dream, though quite long. It has a train, but was still a bit long for me, being 5'6". I would definitely rent this dress again.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 14, 2011
Great fit!
This fits perfectly (with a little bit of stretch in the material). The color is a little darker than it looks in this picture. Not a super-bright teal or anything.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
November 16, 2012
Awesome dress! Great for the Barrister's Ball I attended. Very flattering!
The dress is longer than I thought - Even with heels, I could have done with a 4R and just slightly shorter heels (I'm 5'8"). It is a very flattering dress even with a large chest (DD). Loved the color the best, it's not too "Look at me" out there, but it grabs attention. I got compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
December 5, 2012
Wouldn't recommend this dress :-(
This is dress has a really unique gorgeous color in person but I didn't find it to be as flattering as I would have liked.. If you have an athletic build the top is very tight around the chest/arm area. Also the quality of the dress itself was subpar. There were snags in the fabric all along the stomach and chest areas. I immediately called RTR in a panic b/c I needed at formal gown for a black tie wedding I was attending that Saturday. I placed the order for thursday... They were extremely helpful and gave me my original choice (which I had chosen not to rent b/c of the price) for no additional charge and had it delivered the next day to the hotel I was staying at. The second option was perfect.. RTR saved the day :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 134lbs
April 18, 2013
military ball
I wore this to a military ball and it was perfect! The dress hugged my body in all the right places and the back of the dress makes it a little special. Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
July 18, 2013
Dress was perfect for a wedding held in the Sears Tower. Just the right amount of luxe.
The dress is true to size. The material gave a bit which was great for dancing during the reception. The long was also perfect for wearing with heels given my height.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×