Such A Knockout Gown

$80 rental
$960 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
763 reviews
Fit
Large37
True to Size608
Small53
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 4"
Body type: Hourglass
May 25, 2015
This dress is sure to give any girl the perfect hourglass shape!
This dress is definitely a knock out gown. It fits true to size and is very easy to wear. My only complaint is that this dress can be a little heavy so you might not want to wear it to a summer event! Have fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2015
The dress(es) came in a fashionable manner! I was very comfortable and quite complimented. Thanks!
I wore this dress to a Moonlight Cruise (semi-formal attire) and chose this dress kinda last minute. I was sorta nervous but the dress was perfect in every way. I'm slim and wasn't sure how the dress would do for my small boobs, but *thumbs up*. My friends loved it on me (and some of the guys on the cruise said so, too). Can't wait rent from RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 22, 2015
Flattering fit
Loved this for a black tie wedding. Really hugs your curves.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2015
This dress was stunning!
This was a million times more flattering than I expected! I felt really confident in this dress and received lots of compliments. Like others said, the lining pokes out at the top, and the straps were way too long. Other than that it was perfect for me!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
May 19, 2015
wonderful gown. came rigt on time and return shipping was super easy!
wonderful gown. came rigt on time and return shipping was super easy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2015
The dress I selected was returned damage, a stylist picked this and sent it to me, I was so pleased
This dress is by far my absolute favorite dress I have rented from RTR. The fit was so perfect, it really made me feel sexy and yet classy at the same time. The fabric was beautiful. I loved loved loved this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2015
Looks great on!
Wish the chest had more support! I'm a 32G and felt I was spilling out a lot, but I loved it still!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
May 18, 2015
I wore this for a gala and received tons of compliments on this dress!
The dress was super flattering. I wore spanx because it's quite form fitting, but it made me look like I actually have curves! The zipper was definitely a problem-- on both the dress I wore and the back up dress. It was very sticky. Despite that I highly recommend the dress. I'll use Rent the Runway again for sure.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
May 17, 2015
Beautiful, easy dress! Got lots of compliments. Fits like a glove while still being classy.
Size 0 fit me well without being too tight. The length was perfect with 4 inch heels (I'm 5'2), and the bust was fitted without smushing my B's into A's. Straps make the dress easy to wear, I wore a nude bra underneath and taped my bra so it wouldn't show. Beautiful lace-like detail made it more fun than a regular black dress. Would look pretty with a pair of statement earrings. Will rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 16, 2015
Beautiful and comfortable!
The 4L fit my body much better, but I had to wear the 6L because I needed more length. I am 5'8" and I like to wear heels. If you are taller than me I wouldn't recommend the dress. For all others it is beautifully form fitting and fun!
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
May 16, 2015
All the compliments
When I first took the dress out of the garment bag, it seemed like nothing to write home about. Simple black dress, with some. However when, I added the some simple shoes along with a silver bracelet and earrings, it was such a knockout and the definition of the perfect (not so) little black dress! The sheer portion at the bottom really CDs out in pictures! Also, the cleavage area looks great! I wore it to law school prom, received a ton of compliments, and nobody else had it (which is amazing since I live in NYC with two Rent the Runway stores and everyone does RTR). It's definitely underrated. Oh, and it came a day earlier than it was supposed to, but I still got to keep it until the date I asked for. Awesome sauce!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 15, 2015
Beautiful!
I loved this dress. I'm size 4 on bottom and XS on top. I got both size 2 and 4...size 4 fit like a glove. It was perfect! I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because toward the end of the evening, the interior slip it kind of high and it found it's way up around my waist and left my undies exposed. Thankfully, the lace is thick and nobody was around to notice. So be mindful of sitting down & getting back up in this dress! Aside from that, it was ideal.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 14, 2015
The dress and jewelry were great and everything showed up on time.
The overall fit of the dress was great. Would have been nice of it was just a bit longer. Great RTR experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 8, 2015
Beautiful gown , very comfortable. Top rolled over a little but I use fashion tape and it was fine
Needed 5 inch heels. As dress is long but fit was amazing. I am 5'3 102 lbs 32c and wore a 0R.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 21
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 210lbs
May 3, 2015
The lace work is beautiful in person and the dress itself is very sexy.
The dress material was stretchy which made the fit both comfortable and skin tight. It hugged all the right curves. That being said, there were a few issues. First, the zipper was extremely sticky and required two people to hep zip it up. Second, this dress was by no means long enough. I specifically ordered a 12L, so either the dress I received was a 12R or this specific Nicole Miller version of a 12L is extremely off. Even without heels on the dress was too short. Third, the straps were very loose and did not hold the dress up, I was constantly pulling it up to keep my boobs from falling out, while also pulling it down so that you couldn't see my feet. All in all the dress was acceptable. I received many compliments, was annoyed by the length. It you are 180 lbs 5'8 and curvy this dress will be the perfect fit for you!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2015
First formal affair as an Army Officer's wife!
This dress is gorgeous! The picture most definitely does not do this dress justice. The pattern and layout of the lace on this dress is just wonderful. I usually wear a 4 so I ordered that size and a 6 for my back-up size. The 4 fit me like a glove but I'm rather tall so it stopped at my feet and with heels on you could see the bottom of my shoes. The six covered my shoes but was a little too baggy. I decided it wasn't too big of a deal if people could see my shoes and went with the 4. The dress looked stunning and was still extremely comfortable and I was able to move around as freely as I wanted. I felt like this was a very classy dress for my first formal event as an officer's wife and I was even told I looked stunning many times throughout the night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 116lbs
April 29, 2015
Fits like a glove
I'm 5'5, 116 lbs. normally wears a 0 or 2. The 0L fit great. This dress is elegant yet sexy, a simple cut yet very intricate lace work, and the fit is incredible. If you want to look like Nicki Minaj this is NOT the dress for you. This dress is more like the styles of Heidi Klum or Angelina Jolie.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
April 28, 2015
Received many compliments throughout the evening - classy with a dash of sex appeal.
Fit like a glove! I'm 5'7" and the L was perfect with 2 inch heels - if you're tall, size up on the length. The gown was gorgeous; the lace and the slight train made for a nice twist on an otherwise straightforward black gown. This dress also made my otherwise small chest seem more va-va-voom, but in the best of ways. Only con was that the zipper was tough. Not because of a tight fit but because of the lace - had to have my husband help out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 27, 2015
Did not wear
The dress is very flattering but was a bit too old fashioned looking for my taste. The lace is beautiful
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
April 27, 2015
Fit is beautiful, length was perfect for my height in heels.
Wore this to a formal event with 1920's Paris theme. Elegant dress, on the heavier side, so better for Spring / Fall. Was perfect length for me in heels (5'9" with 3" heels). Only issue is the zipper, which was not great on either dress - kept getting stuck on fabric. Recommend strapless bra, I'm a 34C and it was a bit loose.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 23, 2015
Felt beautiful and sexy in this dress
I wish there was a little more room in the bust and I thought the straps were a little bit long, I wish there was a way to tighten them. It's got some stretch to it in the body and spanx did me well!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
April 23, 2015
Fabulous dress for a fabulous evening!
Loved this dress! It's amazingly comfortable, the straps were great too. My only complaint is the neckline, not sure if it was stretched out but the lace kept folding over & the lining would show. I'm probably the only one who noticed it. Overall, it was a fabulous dress & I would rent it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
April 22, 2015
Fit like a glove. Absolutely gorgeous dress. I would highly recommend it.
It fit like a glove on my body however it was a big long on me. I had to hold it up to prevent tripping.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2015
Dress fit well and was amazing throughout the whole night
The dress was amazing I didnt want to return it however i did find that the dress ran a little short i ended up wearing sandals even with the L size I ordered the 10L and the 12L but ended up wearing the 12L to have more room it was comfortable and i was able to wear it all night at my sororities formal without wanting to get out of it. the zipper is a little tricky but just have a friend there when you are getting ready so they can help you. I know a lot of the other reviews talked about the straps being lose or the bust rolling down but i didnt have the strap problem but i simply used dress tape to keep the bust up. Overall this dress is a 10 i was obsessed and got compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2015
Great dress , got several compliments
The top lining around the chest area kept rolling over, I used fashion tape and it stayed up All night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 20, 2015
Black Tie Wedding-First RTR Experience...Beyond Perfect!
I ordered both the 0R and the 2P. They fit very similarly other than the length. The 0 was too short for heels--(even with my 5'3 height), so I wore the 2P because the length was great for 3 inch heels. The dress fits like a glove, it's sexy, comfortable, and flattering in all the right places. If you are taller than 5'3, DEFINITELY get the dress in a long size. Overall, this was a perfect first experience. I loved the dress more than words and I cant wait to rent again!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 19, 2015
Great fit and length. Rent the long if you're going to be wearing heels and you're over 5'6 like me!
I loved this dress. The fit, the lace, the length. The flare at the bottom really made the dress and everyone complimented me and asked where I got my amazing dress. I rented both the 4L and 6L in case the smaller size didn't fit but I think it ran perfectly according to size (I normally wear a 4). I would definitely recommend this for a winter wedding or formal affair. My first RTR dress and I can't wait to rent more!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
April 14, 2015
Very comfortable dress, I felt great in it. It's not something that I would typically wear as it is
Very comfortable dress, I felt great in it. It's not something that I would typically wear as it is very sexy. I have rather large breasts and this dress does not hide that (that would be my only negative). But, the material, shape and color gives you a great mermaid effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 11, 2015
Sexy, but classic
Very form fitting, but lacy fabric is gorgeous and hides flaws
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Other
Age: 27
April 10, 2015
Wore for formal engagement shoot & felt so glamorous!
This dress is even more beautiful in person. The lace makes a simple black gown elegant and memorable. It's definitely form fitting and will accentuate all of your curves! It fits pretty true to size but as other reviewers pointed out, it is a little tight in the bust. For women with bigger breasts, it might be a good idea to get one size up for a backup. Also, as a few other reviewers mentioned, the lace on the neckline does seem to fold over some but it wasn't an issue for me. All in all, it's a gorgeous dress and I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 2, 2015
PERFECT NYE Wedding dress... Flattering, comfortable, and just overall gorgeous!
I rented the 2L and 4L knowing I'd want the fit to be very close. The 2 fit but had longer straps for some reason so it was tight in the chest (which would have been good) but the neckline hit so low I felt like my chest was popping out. I chose to wore the 4 - even though it was a bit looser it was still very form fitting. The stretch in the fabric made it easy to dance in and eat dinner without worrying about sucking my stomach in all night. The black lace made it easy to accessorize - which I went with big statement earrings. Didn't notice much different between the 2 and 4 in length, but both were long enough to wear 3 inch heels but not too long that I was tripping over it at any time
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
April 1, 2015
Beautiful, Elegant, Flattering!
It fit well, but definitely was busty! Slimming through the waist, great to dance in and very comfortable
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
March 30, 2015
Gorgeous dress!
I am 5'6, 125 lbs, 32D and the 2L worked perfectly with 3 inch heels. The dress was incredibly comfortable and beautiful. Couldn't have been happier.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2015
Beautiful dress! Very sexy and classic
Like the other reviews said some fashion tape is necessary to keep the straps in place and the lining from the top of the dress from popping out. Overall the dress made me feel so beautiful, classic and saucy! Highly recommend! If you are on the shorter side some heels are definitely necessary! I rented it for prom and it was perfect and unlike anyone else's dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 152lbs
March 27, 2015
This dress fits like a glove.
Pictures simply makes this dress look like a ordinary black dress, but in person, its stunning. Lace criss crosses at the midsection and makes your waist look teeny tiny. The ladies at the Soho showrom were incredibly helpful and kind and honest.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 25, 2015
Comfortable fit, very sexy
I bought this dress as a backup for an event, and didn't end up choosing it. I loved the look and fit, but I needed something that really popped visually. This is more intricate up close, but not from a distance. The fit is great, but the top of the bust seems to roll down a little, showing the inner lining. It's very low-cut (not a bad thing, just be aware!).
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
March 24, 2015
The dress fit like a glove and I got so many compliments!
The dress is very form fitting, yet the material is stretchy so it's easy to maneuver in. I'm usually a size 10 in dresses since I have an athletic build (broad back and shoulders), but I wore the 12 for a little extra room for my back and chest. Overall the dress was gorgeous and hugged all the right curves, would definitely recommend for any special occasion.
LilianNovember 14, 2015
Nice!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
March 24, 2015
Not a big fan!
Pros: The length was nice and overall design was good. Con: This is a low cut gown and the bodice part kept folding over it looked weird. I did not wear the dress just for that reason. Maybe I needed a bigger "bodice" to pull this dress off but I think the fabric would have kept flipping over even if I added a bigger bodice.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 24, 2015
We went to an annual dinner for the Explorers Club at the Museum of Natural History!
The dress was great! Sucked everything in in the right places. A little tight across the bust, so I didn't wear a bra. I wore 4" heels and it just barely skimmed the ground. There was a tiny tear/separation from the lace and the lining near the butt, but not noticeable. I will definitely be using Rent the Runway again! Great service at the Flatiron location, but I'll probably preorder next time.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 96lbs
March 23, 2015
Given the lack of choices in smaller sizes I would recommend this dress
I am very skinny and I have to get everything tailored ... like everything. I typically order petite bc it is cut smaller than most, unfortunately this was not available in 0P so I ordered 0R. The dress is cut smaller in the bust which is great bc it ran only slightly larger, however the hips were larger and did not hug the body as I would have liked. If RTR could carry smaller sizes that would be great for girls like me who have to have everything tailored.
See more reviews:
4 / 20

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×