Nicole Miller

Such A Knockout Gown

$239 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Be the center of attention at the gala wearing this gorgeous Nicole Miller lace gown. An effortless chic style to look fab and have a night of bliss. Pair with Nicole Miller's Southern Plantation Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - cup area at bust runs slightly small so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at natural waist
HIPS: Very fitted - fitted at hips with flared skirt below hips
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6'') and long measures 60'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Black stretch lace (84% nylon, 16% spandex). Sleeveless. Sweetheart neckline. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper. Lined (68% nylon, 32% spandex). Imported. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
853 reviews
Fit
Large
(39)
True to Size
(644)
Small
(61)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
great overall fit, beautiful construction
tight enough that i didn't need to wear a bra, but not so tight that it was uncomfortable. the lace overlay was beautiful and made the plain black so interesting. the double straps were flattering and the bust fit beautifully. one note, its slightly long - i'm 5'7" and wore 3 inch heels - found myself stepping on the bottom of the dress when i walked up and down stairs.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 12, 2013
Beautiful Dress, but Lace a little Worn
I loved this dress. I didn't wear spanks because the dress really sucks it in--it's pretty tight. I'm 5'9, and with 2.5" heels, I felt like it was borderline too short. The only downside is, the dress I wore needs to be retired, because the lace was worn on the midsection. It had already started to "bauble."
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
February 12, 2013
This dress fits like a glove! Definitely "va va va voom," ladies.
This is a really beautiful dress. The photos don't do the material justice! The 6 definitely fit since the dress is extremely stretchy, but would have probably worn the 4 had it been available since the straps were a little long. I am very glad that I got the Long, otherwise it would have been too short. I am almost 5'6'' and wore 4'' heels. The top neckline turned out a bit, so I just used some body tape to secure it to me. Since this was for a Mardi Gras ball, I was able to dress it up with some sparkly jewels. Overall, great choice and great first RTR experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
February 13, 2013
This was a second choice as a back-up and I ended up wearing the first. Will rent again though!
Really beautiful detail and comfortable fit.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 18, 2013
The dress was absolutely amazing and the entire process was so easy!
I normally wear a size 8 but the dress had some stretch to it and the size 4 fit like a glove. I got so many compliments and was in love with the dress. I have no complaints and will definitely be ordering more dresses from rent the runway!
AmandaJanuary 22, 2014
Were you able to wear a normal bra? Or strapless?
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2013
Lace detail makes the whole dress. Love the straps!
Slightly long
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
February 18, 2013
Definitely made me look like I had curves!
I loved this dress! It was beautiful and looked just liked it had online. It fit very nicely making my little boy shape look more womanly which was definitely a plus. I got several compliments saying how beautiful I looked from complete strangers. It made my night out very enjoyable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
February 19, 2013
The process was so easy! I would highly recommend RTR!!
Fits like a glove! A very comfortable dress and true to size. Both the 2 and the 4 fit but I decided on the 4 to be more comfortable throughout the night. It was hard to even tell a difference in the two sizes. I went with the L length which was perfect for me with heels on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 21, 2013
Stunning, Comfortable, I will never forget this dress!
This dress fit perfectly! I felt entirely comfortable in it and was able to run a gala, after party and have fun at the same time! If only I could keep the dress...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
December 9, 2012
Gorgeous black gown
The dress arrived in a timely fashion, fit well, and was in outstanding condition. The prepackaged return envelope made the process easy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
February 20, 2013
It was perfect for this formal event.. TONS of compliments!
It fit spectacularly, super easy to move and dance in... I'd order this dress again in a heartbeat
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
October 9, 2012
Gorgeous!
Recieved so many compliments.. Rent it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 24, 2013
Beautiful, flattering & classic
This classic black gown fit incredibly. The double straps and delicate lace were the perfect details on a somewhat simple dress. I had to get a 2R instead of a 2L because I ordered last minute, but 100% recommend getting the long if you're my height. I wore very short heels which were poking out of the bottom a bit awkwardly, but other than that I had no issues with the fit. I had a bit of a hard time with the zipper, but after enlisting a friend was able to get it unstuck. Overall, RtR made this a great experience - I was so happy I could wear a beautiful gown without having to go out and buy an expensive one that I will likely never wear again. And definitely go to the showroom if you have the opportunity!
LoveMarch 25, 2013
You look lovely in this one, way to go!
AmandaMay 15, 2013
This dress is gorgeous on you!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
February 26, 2013
Beautiful black lace, flattering fit--another RTR success!
I wore this for a black tie wedding in Aspen. The dress fit true to size and I found it flattering. The underlayer can be a big snug, but the lace hangs nicely over the bottom layer. (Full disclosure--I forgot my spanx and wasn't an issue!) As other reviewers have noted, the inner layer at the bust has an annoying habit of inverting a bit so that the lining shows--a bit of tape to the bra might do the trick, but I'm not sure. Also--the zipper was a mess, and kept catching at the waist and wouldn't zip all the way. Not sure if this was an issue just with the dress I had, but something to watch for (perhaps RTR staff could repair this to avoid future headaches for other renters?)
LoveMarch 25, 2013
Another beauty who looks lovely in this one!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 1, 2013
This dress was amazing and absolutely gorgeous!
I wore a size 4L, and did have to wear pretty high heels since the length was pretty long, but that didn't bother me. I would highly recommend this dress. The lace is beautiful and I got tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 2, 2013
The dress is stunning! I rented it to wear to Stanford's Viennese Ball and I got endless compliments
It's very fitted through the chest, stomach, and hips/thighs, but it's also very stretchy so it's very comfortable. I danced in it for hours and it wasn't constricting at all. And the bottom part splayed out and looked beautiful while twirling! And it's exactly the right length for me. I'm 5'4'' and I wore it with 2 inch ballroom heels and it just skims the ground.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2013
This dress was gorgeous!
This was my first rent the runway experience and I am so pleased. This dress was beautiful. The lace was so elegant. It fit perfectly and accentuated all of my curves. My boyfriend thought it was so sexy and all my friends were in love with it! Perfect dress for a formal event. The only problem was that the straps seemed to be a bit loose from over use. But I used some of the fabric tape provided with my order and it was fine!! Another big plus, I was able to wear a regular strapless bra! I hate dealing with cups/tape/ etc. Overall, a wonderful dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
March 3, 2013
Beautiful dress, even better in person
I wore this dress to a black tie gala and really liked it. It was comfortable and sexy. The only negative was the length and the lining at the bust. I'm 5'9" and wore the 8 tall but it was still a little short with heels. The lining at the bust sticks out and I really don't know if there's a way to prevent it from happening. It didn't bother me that much. Also, I would recommend using fashion tape to make the straps stay separated. Overall, this is a gorgeous dress and I got so many compliments on it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 7, 2013
Loved this dress! I did not want to send it back!
This dress is very fitted and so flattering! I honestly have nothing bad to say about this dress, I got so many compliments. Pictures don't do it justice because the lace is beautiful. Don't think twice! Rent it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
March 16, 2013
Sophia Vegara Look for sure
liked the fit of the dress, but I found the lace to be a little cheap looking. Also the staps to the dress a little stretched out needed to adjust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 17, 2013
Having such a beautiful, high-quality gown to wear to gala was marvelous.
This was the only appropriate petite sized gown I really liked from the RTR choices and it was a good one. I preferred my second selection (Bagley Mischa) but it was only available in a regular length which was way too long and hung strangely around my torso--I wasted money with this add-on. This petite Nicole Miller was truly elegant but with a 36D chest, it was a bit too small for my top and I felt self conscious. The earrings were a surprise bling that were heavy huge, beautiful clip-ons which I was able to wear for more than 6 hours before the real pain set in. Overall, a good experience, with lots of compliments.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 57
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 18, 2013
Homecoming parade in August.
I wore this for my schools Homecoming parade and I LOVED this dress! Its really simple and elegant but at the same time the lace and its crisscrossing make it fun and flirty! It was very clingy but add a little spanks and your good to go!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 22, 2013
Beautiful dress
I so wish i could have worn this dress. I think before me someone with a larger bust and a big push-up bra wore it because it was a bit streched out in the chest area so my bra was showing and I couldn't wear it. But otherwise it fit so very beautifullly. It was a great material, the lace was strong but Im sure any jewelry that isnt smooth can snag the fabric. The length was perfect for my 3.5 inch heels, even 4 would have been great. Keep in mind that this dress looks beautiful on a woman that is a bit more curvacious although it is cut in such a way that would be flattering to any body. This dress is worth the rent for a sexy but elegant impression.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 23, 2013
Great dress!
The dress is stretchy and forgiving. It fits in all the right places! There wasn't a lot of support, so I felt the need to readjust a couple times. The straps were also a little long for my height, so I had to make a quick and removable adjustment to keep them in place. The length was perfect with 3" heels. If you're taller than 5', I would suggest getting a longer length.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 25, 2013
Beautiful dress! Picture doesn't do it justice!
Wore this dress to a black tie event, and I got compliments all night. The lace detail is absolutely beautiful. The cut of the dress is very flattering. Fit was perfect and the length was just right with 2.5 inch heels.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 27, 2013
pretty and flattering!
Runs a little large... glad I sized down for the 2nd dress. The top edge rolled a little and showed the lining. Drove me crazy all night, but didn't detract much from the look.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
March 30, 2013
Beautiful dress..
Comfortable, beautiful, and a great fit.
kathrynApril 29, 2014
on your nicole miller dress...did you get the petite or regular 4? Thanks!
DanielaApril 29, 2014
The petite
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
March 31, 2013
This dress was great. Very comfortable for a long night out.
I'm 5'2" and with 4 inch heels the length was just right, so I don't know if taller ladies might find it short.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2013
Sexy and comfortable!
The dress was a size up from what I usually wear (6), but it was body conscious nonetheless, allowing me to feel sexy and uber-comfortable at the same time. Received compliments on it all night. My favorite part was that for a gown-looking dress, I could dance easily in it all night without feeling restrained. Would definitely recommend - especially if you've got some curves!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
April 7, 2013
Super flattering to my curves!
I'm 5'11 couldn't wear a huge heel. It's actually longer in the back and a little shorter in the front. Is super comfortable all around. The back is beautiful, got so many compliments.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
April 8, 2013
Amazing dress, amazing experience!!
This dress was amazing! It was my first time using the website and I was a little nervous but everything ran smoothly! I ordered size 2 and 4, the 2 was perfect in every way. The only problem I had with it was the zipper. It was very tough to zip up because it kept getting caught on the lace around it, but once it zipped, I was ready to party the night away! RTR is wonderful, and I LOVED the little goody package sent with the dresses.
KathrynFebruary 12, 2014
What length did you order and what heel height did you have?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
April 8, 2013
Loved the dress! and it hugged my body in all the right places!
The lace was really pretty although there was part of it that seemed a little damaged. Everything fit perfectly except it was still a few inches too short for a "long".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
April 9, 2013
Glamorous but comfortable black tie attire
The dress was great. I ordered a 2 and a 0 and the 2 was loose (though the length of the 0 was a tiny bit short in the front and I found myself pulling the dress down over the course of the night). It was comfortable and I felt great wearing it. The zippers were a bit sticky on both sizes, as a result of the lace fabric I think, but despite my worries, both zippers worked.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 10, 2013
I didn't wear this dress, because the wedding wasn't as formal as I thought. I wish I had!
It was very pretty and flattering. I loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 11, 2013
The dress is sexy and elegant at the same time!
The dress was perfect! It hugged in all the right places and I recieve so many compliments. I felt sexy and elegant at the same time. The stretchy material made it easy to wear and very comfortable. The only negative was that I ordered an 8L and wore 4 inch heals and the dress was just about 2 inches short. I wish it was just a tad longer. But if I had it to do ver again, I'd order the same dress!!
hannahSeptember 9, 2013
Did it hug the tummy area a lot?
StefanieSeptember 9, 2013
Yes - It does hug the tummy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
The look on my date's face when he saw my butt.
Runs long, perfect for my height+ 3 inch heels. Surprisingly stretchy so it fit like a glove. Sweetheart neckline was very flattering for us small busted girls. It gave me the look of curves which is almost impossible for my straight and narrow figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 21, 2013
Very flattering dress! I felt great, and got tons of compliments!
At the last minute, the dress I ordered in this size was unavailable. RTR called me and helped me select this Nicole Miller knockout. I needed the petite length because I am 5'2" but had to wear flats because I recently had knee surgery and I was on crutches. The length was perfect for me, but would have been way too short with any type of heel. The fit was snug but flattering. It even hid my big knee brace underneath!! I love RTR and will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2013
great dress
..
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 22, 2013
I selected this dress to present during an evening dinner to my company's senior management.
Huge hit! Amazingly flattering and waist-defining. It's hard to see how pretty it is by the picture. Thumbs up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
April 23, 2013
Perfect fit- elegant but very sexy!
This was a back up dress I had to pick hours before my order had to be shipped. I originally ordered a gold sequins dress to go along with the wedding's theme, but the gold dress was too damaged to be shipped to me. I was at work and I had to hastily pick a new dress. I picked this and it was perfect. I was worried it wasn't going to have the same effect as a gold, sequins gown, but the dress fit amazingly. I received so many complements that night, I felt so glamourous! As for the size, I'm 5'2'' but always wear tall heels, so the 0R was the perfect length.
See more reviews:
3 / 22

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×