Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Steel the Show Dress

$70 to buy
$400 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Do exactly what this dress is named, "Steel the Show!" Wow them with this little number by Nicole Miller It's sparkle and pizzaz with surely leave them speechless. Pair with Janis Savitt's Crystal Knot Bracelet to finish the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - abstract pattern slims in at the waistline
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should size up
WAIST: Very fitted - abstract pattern slims in at the waistline
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mini - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear; SPANX recommended to cinch in hips and backside
FABRIC: Fabric Is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Petite, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Steel crepe de chine with sequin inserts. One shoulder neckline.Ruching on skirt and bodice. Inner boning at bust. Exposed side zip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. .

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

56 reviews

Fit
Small 12
True to Size 40
Large 4
Photos 38
Mari
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Apple
Nov 30, 2011

I am so happy I rented from RTR when we ran into guys at our hotel that had seen us at the pool...they didn't even recognize me and their jaws were dropping...thanks to this dress!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really loved this Nicole Miller number...I got so many compliments, and the dress was fun and cute without being vampy. I have a large chest and am apple shaped, and the dress fit perfectly! I loved the sparkle and matte effect as well. Highly recommended!
Kasandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2011

I got a lot of compliments and definitely plan on ordering again :)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my fall homecoming and I loved it! Not itchy or uncomfortable at all. I ordered a 2 & 4, expecting to wear the 4, but ended up going with the 2.
Jac
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Jan 3, 2012

The fact that the RTR crew called me to make sure that I had a dress that would fit perfectly was great. I will definitely keep renting from them!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I really enjoyed the dress. The length was perfect and the color was true to the picture. My backup size was unavailable so I was pretty nervous about just having one dress but the RTR crew sent me a backup style just in case. The dresses ended up working just fine when I put on a pair of Penti tights. It was a very flattering cut on a pear body and hugged all the right curves. The top was a bit big though but the shoulder strap held up the dress pretty well. My only complaint was that I did scratch my upper, inner arm on the sequins. Other than that the dress was great and everyone loved it including my boyfriend.
KC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133 lbs
Jan 3, 2012

I just love how consistent rent the runway is. I mean, it's just a brilliant idea by an extremely well-run group. Thank you for making looking great so easy!!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
This dress was super hot! The fit was perfect, I got tons of compliments. I work it for New Years but it would also be great for a birthday or bachelorette party. Highly, highly recommend this dress!
May
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

Everyone said the dress was adorable! I wish I could keep it!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for my winter formal, and it was definitely perfect for the occasion. The dress is a little edgy but still super classy! However, it was a little bigger than I expected. I'm really little (5'0") so the dress did not fit as well as it does on the model. If you're petite, expect the dress to hit about to your knees. I kinda rolled the dress up from under to make it shorter, because it's really not as cute when it's long, to me at least. Also it was a bit loose in the bust area (but I'm pretty small there too haha) but the tape RTR gives you helps a little bit. Overall, it was a super cute dress and I would definitely recommend it if you're average to taller height or if you're petite and you don't mind it reaching your knees. I'm definitely renting again, RTR makes everything so easy and convenient!
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114 lbs
Jan 31, 2012

When my backup size became unavailable, the stylist called and offered an addition dress, in both sizes. I was so pleased and surprised! 3 dresses came the next day, and I ended up wearing this one. I received many "WOWs"!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
First, I want to say that this was the best customer service experience I have had in quite a while. When my backup size became unavailable, the stylist called and offered an addition dress, in both sizes. I was so pleased and surprised! 3 dresses came the next day, and I ended up wearing this one. I rented this dress for our end-of-the-season roller derby celebration (PROM!) and it was a total hit. I felt pretty and sexy and the dress didn't give me any trouble. It was true to size as well. No bra needed, but you could wear a strapless with no problem. I'd totally rent this again, but there are so many more to choose from next time! This was my first experience with RTR and I've already planned my next dress. In the pic, my leaguemate and BFF wore the Milly dress in a Size 2. To die for! Matched her team colors perfectly.
Alyssa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Feb 18, 2012

The dress came in exactly when it was planned for, and I even switched dresses before my event.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I loved this dress. I got it for my winter weekend dance and it was very classy. I was on court and received many compliments on this dress. It was a little big in some spots but it wasn't really a problem, I was sure to dance in this dress all night.
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 11, 2012

It came to my house perfect and ready. No one had the same dress and it looked awesome

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress so much. The fit was perfect, it was different, and one of a kind. I got compliments all night and was comfortable dancing in it all night.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 19, 2012

Three of the girls on the trip Rented the Runway and we all had so much fun in our flirty dresses. It was great to spend time with friends and not have to worry about shopping for multiple dresses for the trip. My dresses showed up the day before I left and I was fixed up. I loved not having to worry about shopping for a night on the town.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
My first rental and loved it from the moment the box arrived. The dress fit like a glove and was perfect for a night on the town in Vegas. It was very flattering and I received several compliments. I wish I could have kept the dress!
Jillian
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 30, 2012

Great birthday party dress!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt stylish and great in this gorgeous dress. it was fun and sexy! and very easy to dance in!
Jasmine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

I was told I looked beautiful all night. It was amazing.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Alright so I loved this dress. It was beautiful and almost everywhere I went people complimented me on it. But I also have some hips so it makes them look even wider because of it material. The sequins were all on there when I got it and it didnt fall off. I would def. recommend it.
Ana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Best Dress worn ever!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
My husband love the Dress...it was so beautiful!
Christie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

People told me I looked like a runway model in this dress. The perfect length and not too flashy.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The fit is close to body but not tight as long as you get the right size. I am between a 4 and a 6 so I found the larger size fit better. The material was comfortable and I found it had only a little bit of stretch to it. The length was good for me and not too short (I am 5'11"). Overall, I would definitely rent this dress again, and if I could, I would buy it!
liz
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Oct 21, 2012

Perfect dress for a Lovely occasion!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress to my cousins wedding. Got lots of compliments and felt really beautiful in it! This dress will make you feel like a star ! Definately a head turner ;] Loved it!
Aven
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 5, 2012

This dress was a huge success! Felt like a star on the red carpet.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress fits true to size and has a bit of a stretch so it fits very comfortably. I has very happy with the length as well. Another successful Rent the Runway experience!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Dec 12, 2012

Comfortable to wear, sequins are gorgeous!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I found this dress to fit very true to size. I don't have much of a waist (I am built very straight and narrow), but the asymmetrical nature of this dress was very flattering. I got compliments all night long! Would definitely rent this one again.
Heather
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 1, 2013

All the compliments I received on it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit fairly true to size! I'd say it's tighter on top than on bottom, but it's stretchy so it worked out fine. The dress was BEAUTIFUL and arrived in perfect condition! I got so many compliments on it (gave due credit to RTR, of course :), and it was super comfortable to dance in. This dress is fabulous for New Years or any other occasion when you need just a little sparkle ;) Would absolutely recommend it!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Jan 6, 2013

Major Compliments from classmates

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Great dress in different color from one I rented previously. The shine and sparkle looks amazing for a holiday party and I got a ton of compliments on the dress from everyone! I wish I had remembered to get a better picture of both myself and my fiancé at the party because we both looked awesome. Stretchy enough through the skirt for pear shaped ladies like myself makes me love this design and designer!
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 21, 2013

I didn't wear this dress.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
Fit was very small, and sequins were uncomfortable.
Jorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Feb 21, 2013

This dress was perfect for the Mardi Gras party I attended! It's sparkly, fun and sexy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
When I rented this dress I ordered a size 2 and 4. I usually wear a 2, but the 2 fit too tight for me so I wore the size 4. The dress is very sexy, fitted and flashy. I loved everything about the dress. It was definitely a fun dress to wear. I received many compliments. My only problem was that some of the sequin on the dress was missing, but luckily it wasn't in noticeable areas. If you are looking for a fun & sexy dress for your occasion, then this dress would be perfect for you! You will have so much fun and feel great wearing it.
Mattie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 24, 2013

Super fun party dress, compliments all night!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This is a fabulous party dress. It's very flattering and the sparkles make you stand out against regular dresses. I ended up pinning the hem a bit because I wanted it shorter, but that's very minor. Very happy with this dress!
Maha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Apple
Apr 3, 2013

Hot! if you have the body for it!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was really sexy and a great for clubbing, the only thing is that your stomach needs to be a more shapely. No muffin tops or kangagroo pooches ladies. I have a muffin top and curvy hips so it definately made the wrong parts of my body stand out and took away from the dress. Its not the dress's fault, you just have to have a certain body type to look good in it. Spandex may or may not resolve your problem, in my case it seemed like it almost highlighted my unflattering parts. Moral of story you have a belly, skip this dress.
Lydia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Aug 2, 2013

This dress is awesome!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress is tight, but fits true to size. The dress is not stretchy where the sparkles are, but the dress is adorable and was perfect for my husbands Christmas party. Loved it, the length is short but still comfortable. There was no room for a bra , you could see lines as the dress was so tight!
joanna
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 28, 2013

Sparkly Disco Ball!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I felt like a human disco ball wearing this dress...in all the good ways! It's very form-fitting dress, so I sized up for my hips. However, it is very flatting with the design and I got a lot of compliments all night. It was long enough for me to wear spanx. I could even eat in it! The arm area was a little bit itchy with the sequins, but a few glasses of wine will clear that right up!
EMM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 2, 2013

Couldn't wear

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Pretty dress but unfortunately I couldn't wear this dress for my event. I have a short waist and the snug fit did not look flattering on me.
Jeanine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 4, 2013

-

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little awkward when I tried it on and ended up wearing the other dress I rented in the same order. The color and sparkles were really nice but maybe it would fit nicer on someone with smaller hips than mine. Very cute in person though!
Erin DVM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Nov 10, 2013

Loved it!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
This dress was true to the photo on the model. It fit well and comfortably. It is stretchy. Able to wear a regular strapless bra. The zipper down the left side did stick out a bit, so I secured it to my side w body tape. I got compliments all night.
Meghan
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Nov 22, 2013

Sparkly figure hugging perfection!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I felt so fabulous in this sparkly perfect dress! It hugged my bum in a great way and was super comfy and still sexy. I would wear this everyday if I owned it just to get a few moments of fab. Thanks!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 27, 2013

Looked stunning, like a grey disco ball.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm a very curvy size 6-8 and needed the 8. I have a small waist (proportionally) and the larger size to accommodate my bust was still tight around the waist in a good way. I'm 5''2' with ample junk in the trunk and the dress was almost too short - but the stretchiness of the material saved it. I loved the one shoulder strap and appreciated that the dress was minimizing up top. Lots of compliments. I wouldn't say it was a hit, but I didn't see a lot of women my size reviewing this dress and thought some of the curvier girls would appreciate more information. If you LOVE the style I say go for it - it will work!
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Jan 1, 2014

Loved the disco ball dress for NYE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Perfect NYE dress with tons of sparkle. I received compliments all night long with the dress & gave RTR all the credit. Can't wait for my next occasion to rent again!
Aubrey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 25, 2014

This dress was such a blast! Perfect for a fun formal night.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is definitely form fitting so I would suggest maybe wearing spanks. Thats the only thing I would change about how I wore it, but I received many compliments and loved wearing this dress!
Damaris
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 10, 2014

My best friend's wedding

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was super fitted and made me feel, well, a tad inappropriate! I definitely didn't end up choosing it for the wedding even though I thought it could've worked (online). Thank goodness I ordered another dress as well. It's not a good fit for someone who has a larger bust and hips as it's very va-va-va voom!
Anai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 126 lbs
Mar 6, 2014

Fun, Flattering and Flirty!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was worried the dress would be too flashy as I normally would not wear sequins however it was very subtle and classy not tacky. The material fit very comfortable and snugged your body in a very flattering way. The scrunched up parts definitely made the fit look even better. It was comfortable and simple. Would definitely recommend.
RTR Customer
Mar 19, 2014

I wish I was able to get another size! Would have been perfect for my birthday night out!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I didn't wear this dress because it was just a little too small and they were not able to send me a backup size. I was bummed because this dress is gorgeous! I would absolutely rent again (in a bigger size) for another event.
Sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Just the right of glam for Vegas!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This dress for fantastic, I loved it! I wore it to a boxing match in Vegas. Everything about it was great, the material was forgiving and very comfortable. I received a ton of compliments, would rent again for sure.
Kacey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
Jul 15, 2014

Super cute and comfy!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Love that the dress "stretched" and fit true to size. However, there was this piece that ran along the sides that kepts bunching up that gave this "muffin top" illusion..not good! LOL
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 174 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

In a 10 got a 12 and 10 neither fit to my breast

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
it was pretty
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Sep 8, 2014

Rented for a night out in Vegas. I received many compliments. Definitely a show stopper!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
I really enjoyed this dress. The sequins definitely made heads turn and was great for a fun night out in Vegas. It fit my small frame well and was very flattering. I definitely recommend!
Sharon
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109 lbs
Nov 28, 2014

Gorgeous dress perfect for my Atlantic City weekend and erasure concert

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
Fit really is true to size. It is comfortable and although it has some sequins, it is still classy. Its such a fun, little dress! I will definitely rent again.
danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Dec 7, 2014

Gorgeous sparkly dress

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress is beautiful, and on me (5'3) was not as short as on the model in the photo. It felt mostly comfortable and the darker gray of the non-sequins material looked very pretty. The dress overall looked very classy and nice. I wear a 0, and ordered this in a 2 as my back-up (wore the Nicole Miller shooting star dress) because the other didn't have the 2/backup available. I did not end up wearing this dress, but I'd love to find an occasion to wear it in my correct size another time.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×