Square Neck Sequin Shoulder Dress

$75 rental
$420 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

The perfect statement at any evening affair, this Nicole Miller style is beautiful and flattering on all figures. Shown here with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set and Badgley Mischka's Falling Leaf Earrings.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Navy crinkle metallic taffeta. Square neckline. Sequin beading detail on shoulder straps. Cut out detail on back. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large2
True to Size153
Small20
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2011
I'm a curvy lady and I saw a friend of mine in a Nicole Miller dress similar to this one and it hugged her curves perfectly. So I order this one for a black tie wedding and it was a hit. It just slide over my curves. The material is stretchy and so it hugs everywhere and is perfect for people who want to show off an hourglass figure. Plus, the gathering hides any creases...but I wore spanx with it anyway. I got SOOO many compliments and felt fantastic. I will br renting Nicole Miller dresses again in the future!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
October 3, 2011
This turned out to be a great dress. It was true to size. I'm typically a size 6, but ordered a size 8 since I own a Nicole Miller dress in that size, which fits as well. I did not wind up needing the 8. The dress looked very glamorous and the back is what got me sold on it in the first place. It did not disappoint in real life.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2011
Perfect for hiding hips/stomach, the rouching is amazing. The sequins dig a little and the color is not steel grey like it looks here but a midnight blue. It's a gorgeous dress though!!! highly recommend for evening weddings/formal affairs.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
Loved it! Fit perfectly in all the right places, and really made me look good. It did tend to ride up a bit, but that would be easily fixed with double sided dress tape. I was able to go without a bra, and you couldn't even tell.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
September 20, 2011
This really is a gorgeous dress and originally my first choice outfit. The color is a steely dark blue (much more blue than the pic shows)-think Infinity dark blue. I'm broad shouldered and this didn't make me feel like a linebacker, I felt feminine and classy. Since I'm short, the dress came to my knees which is perfect for me. FYI, this is a really body hugging dress. I have hips and this felt very comfortable, but then it sucks right back in by the knees. The ruching and sheen of the fabric is not forgiving, even with spanx! Also, I'm on the light tan side (skin color like the model-I'm latina) and have dark hair but the color sort of just was blah against my skintone, while in the pic it sort of pops. I ended up looking more muted/serious than I wanted to, if that makes any sense. Very classy, respectable dress great for more serious occasions. I did not wear this out but I didn't foresee any issues with the sequin detail at the shoulders and back, it's very subtle & pretty
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 31, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was sexy, yet not inappropriate. I received a lot of compliments on it throughout the night. The only problem I had with the dress is that in the picture it looks silvery-gray and when I got it it was navy blue. It is my fault for not reading the product details but I feel like the picture was misleading. The fit was perfect for my body-type, but it does ride up, and that causes a bunch up of fabric in your lower back, so you do have to pull it down a lot. Overall the dress was perfect for a wedding.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 19, 2011
absolutely loved this dress!!! loved the color, the style, the fit, it was great
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2011
The dress looks teeny tiny when you first look! However it stretches to size when you put it on, but is rather fitted so may show your tummy a bit, but highlights your curves in a great way! Wore it for a wedding and I got so many compliments on this - paired it with bright blue pumps. You will have to pull it down throughout the night and the sequins can be a little irritating under your arms, but overall an amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
August 14, 2011
I wore this (with the AV Max Hematite Glitzy Glam Earrings) to a wedding and as soon as I told the bride congratulations, she exclaimed "Oh my god, I love your dress, where'd you get it?" First compliment of many from the evening. The dress fits great and though it does ride up a little bit, it was never too short. I'll agree that the color and 'shininess' are not quite the same as the photo, but it was a great dress and wonderful experience for a first rental!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 1, 2011
This was my first time using Rent the Runway. The dress was fantastic - the size I ordered fit perfectly and the dress was incredibly flattering. The entire process was so easy - the dress arrived on time and it was so easy to send back. Overall great experience!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 29, 2011
This dress was awesome! I don't think the straps fit me exactly correctly, but they didn't look funny. Definitely true to size. I wore it to a cocktail party and it was a big hit. Color is slightly more blue than the picture suggests.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
July 20, 2011
I loved this dress and received so many compliments on it, but it did have a tendency to ride up as I walked. Other than that, I loved it, it fit like a glove, and I felt super sexy in it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
July 15, 2011
This dress is different from any dress I own or would buy. Using RTR allowed me to go outside of my comfort zone and wear a dress that looked so great. I felt beautiful all night!
Very elegant dress. I recently wore this to a wedding, and received so many compliments. It seems like this dress would look good on a lot of different body types. It was definitely tighter than what I am used to wearing, but the length made it not trashy looking. The color was a gunmetal gray mixed with navy. I wore nude heels and it looked great. I would recommend to anyone-- however I did wish I had tried a size bigger, just to see if I would be more comfortable... all in all though, no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Body type: Full Bust
July 13, 2011
I selected "true to size", but when ordering, I'd suggest getting your backup size a size larger than you think you'll need. It's very fitted. This dress was very flattering and the color is a lovely navy rather than the greyish color it appears to be in the photo. It's also not as shiny as it appears- it's quite understated and classy. I'm only 5'6" and I found it to be just a little short for my event, as it's a stretchy fabric & rode up a bit when I moved. I was constantly yanking the hem down. That said, for a less-conservative event, I wouldn't have worried about it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 6, 2011
I loved this dress. I am tall and slender, but this dress is very forgiving and really gives you a great shape. I am a 4 generally, and I wore a 4 in this dress too. It fits true to size. It isn't too short either, which is hard for me at 5"8".
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
June 6, 2011
This dress was exceptional. Great cut, fitted yet comfortable, and extremely flattering - I'm very straight up and down and small-chested, and this dress gave me a figure (though I would imagine bigger chested girls may find the fit a little snug). True to size - I run from 0 to 4 depending on the designer, and the 2 fit perfectly. The dress is a beautiful navy color. Would 100% rent again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 22, 2011
I absolutly love this dress. It has a little stretch to fit different bodies, but not look to tight. I was super happy to wear this dress and will be sad to send it back. I did find the color to be a little more navy blue as oposed to the gunmetal grey that appears in the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2011
My fav RTR dress so far!!!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I was expecting a gunmetal color but was surprised when it showed up as navy blue. (I didn't read the description before renting.) But it fit perfectly in all the right places and was a big hit of the night. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 18, 2011
I loved this dress except for the bust. I'm a full 34b but felt like I didn't fill out the top as well as the model does. I got it as a backup dress and didn't end up wearing it because it wasn't as flattering as the other one I got. The back looks awesome, though, and I would definitely recommend the dress if you can fill out the top better than me! :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 9, 2011
This dress is fabulous. I wore it to a black-tie event and received compliments all night. It's obviously very form-fitting, but the stretchiness makes it very flattering as well. I would definitely recommend it to others.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
May 9, 2011
All the compliments I received on how great I looked!
The dress looks super tiny on the hanger, but has a lot of stretch to it. I rented the 4 and the 6 because I was fluctuating between those sizes. I wore the 6 and it fit perfectly. This dress helped me disguise the fact that I carry my weight in my midsection and I got a ton of compliments. I am tall and it wasn't too short. I danced the night away at a wedding in this dress and loved every second of it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2011
This was a great dress- I wore it to an afternoon/evening wedding and got many compliments on it. It definitely accentuates your curves. The size 2 dress fell just above my knee, as shown in the figure, despite my only being 5'4". It was nice being able to wear a strapless bra with it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
May 2, 2011
This was my first RTR dress & I was nervous but dress came on time. This is definitely one of the older dresses in their collection & the material on both sizes seemed to be showing slight age from all of the cleanings. However, after putting the dress on, you never would have guessed it wasn't new. The dress fit perfectly and accentuated every curve that it was supposed to. I'm normally a 6 and didn't even bother trying on the 4 after seeing how perfectly the 6 fit. I was worried about how the straps would look since I feel like I'm broader up top but they were great. Wore this with a black strapless bra. Kept getting compliments all night about how great the dress looked. The sequins was slightly itchy but not enough to both me much. Couldn't be happier!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011
Great dress. It's stretchy, so both the size 6 and 8 fit well. I went with the size 8 because it was a bit more forgiving to my curves. You'll need to make sure you have the right bra, but otherwise, I really enjoyed wearing this. I felt sexy and received several compliments.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
May 2, 2011
This is a fabulous dress. It runs true to size. The color and neckline are very flattering, and best of all the ruching is most forgiving. I'm short waisted and curvy everwhere but in the bust. Wearing panty hose or a firming garment that stopped at the waist would have given me that funny line across the middle so I purchased a great bra with adjustable straps, doctored one of my one of piece firming garments (the back of the dress is wide open so straps are a challenge) and wore thigh high hose. It's one of the few times I've stepped out looking and feeling like a total babe and I'd wear this dress again in a heartbeat.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 31, 2011
I really liked this dress. It was great with a pair of pearl white heels. I ordered a 6 and an 8 the 6 fit great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 5, 2011
Great dress. I received compliments all night. This dress does run small - I normally wear a size 6 in brands such as J. Crew and wore the 8 in this dress. When I first put on the 8 I was afraid it was too tight. But as I adjusted the dress it stretched and lengthened. I am a 34C and it fit great across the bust. The dress is definitely more blue than in the picture - looked great with silver heels. Great experience from RTR! Will definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 28, 2011
AMAZING dress that I never would have picked out for myself. Luckily, a smart and fashionable RTR staffer recommended it to me and she was so right! I have never looked or felt more gorgeous in a dress. Thank you, RTR!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 8, 2011
This dress was perfect for a winter themed party I went to. It was a bit itchy at the arm pits from the beading rubbing but bearable. Wasn't too short for my height and the bust wasn't huge on me. Size 4 fit perfectly!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2011
Love love love! This dress was so extremely flattering. Very fitted, made me feel super sleek! Felt like a million bucks! I wore the smaller of the two sized I ordered, normally an 8 but wore the 6. Loved it with sparkly silver bangles and silver strappy stilettos.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 41
Body type: Straight & narrow
February 1, 2011
Very very flattering style. The way the the material isn't flat in front hides any sort of "pooches" in the tummy area. Got a lot of compliments. Will need a strapless bra.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
January 31, 2011
I loved this dress! I normally wear a size 6 in dresses, but ended up wearing the 4. The 6 made my body shape look kidn of frumpy and the 4 hugged my body perfectly. If you are going to rent 2 sizes, rent your true size and the size below. Also, the dress looks really sexy with a push up strapless bra :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Pear
January 13, 2011
this dress was perfect for new years eve! I ended up going with the smaller size because it was more flattering but it was so comfortable and easy to move in yet form fitting. I am still getting compliments from everyone, you should def try this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 13, 2011
I liked this dress but I didnt love it. The fit is nice and flattering but the sequins dont stand out much and the dress seemed a bit boring. And I found the fabric to be itchy particularly where the sequins are. A nice dress but not a knock out.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
January 4, 2011
I rented this for NYE but ended up wearing my back-up. The two sizes I ordered looked like different dresses. One was much longer than the other, the material looked and felt different and the ruching wasn't the same. It wasn't unwearable but I'm glad I had the spare. Especially because someone was wearing that exact dress at the party! Close call.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 29, 2010
Got so many compliments wearing this dress that if I hadn't loved it, my mind would have been changed immediately. I did love it though, not only for how forgiving the fabric was, or how easy it was to accessorize, but also because it just had that special something extra while being completely comfortable (wore it for 10 hours and didn't think twice). The color is a little darker when not under camera lights, but pair it with black and clean silver and you're set.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
December 29, 2010
Love this dress!!! I got so many compliments at my office holiday party wearing this dress. As others have said, the color is a bit bluer than it appears in the photo, but it fits true to size. It's form fitting, but still very comfortable. I highly recommend this dress and will definitely rent it again.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
December 2, 2010
LOVE this dress! I still cant believe how amazing it is! The fit is tight but makes you look so skinny, hides everything! Fits my larger chest perfectly. One negative comment is that the sequin straps seemed stretched out on the dress I received. Perhaps that is due to other girls wearing it and stretching it out, still wore it, but was slightly disappointed with that. Definitely felt like I was wearing a very broken in and worn dress. But still gorgeous!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Full Bust
December 2, 2010
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! I am usually a size 4, but the 4 was a little too tight. The 6 was perfect and incredibly flattering. I am a D cup and seriously paranoid about ordering clothes online (fearing that I wont be able to zip anything past my waist), but this dress had the perfect amount of stretch. Also, it photographs sooo well! Beautiful ruching and shimmer in the fabric.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2010
very easy! love the free 2nd dress. This was my 1st dress I wore that night for my bday.
I tried on the 6 first and it fits pretty good, but decided to go with the 8 since the sequined part was rubbing a bit on my shoulder and was making it itchy. But when I switched it to the larger size, it didn't bother me whatsoever. I loved this dress and wore it to my birthday party. If you want to hide things, this will do the trick but will still make you look sexy! Packs really light if you have to take it somewhere with you. I had to do a wardrobe change and it helped to just fold it and it still looked good after. Loved it! Loved it! Loved it!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
4 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×