Nicole Miller

Square Neck Sequin Shoulder Dress

$75 rental
$420 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

The perfect statement at any evening affair, this Nicole Miller style is beautiful and flattering on all figures. Shown here with the Chamak by Priya Kakkar's Silver Glitz Bangle Set and Badgley Mischka's Falling Leaf Earrings.

Also available in gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric highlights lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - highlights backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5".)

Product Details

Navy crinkle metallic taffeta. Square neckline. Sequin beading detail on shoulder straps. Cut out detail on back. Hidden back zip. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share
175 reviews
Fit
Large
(2)
True to Size
(153)
Small
(20)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
September 29, 2011
Perfect for hiding hips/stomach, the rouching is amazing. The sequins dig a little and the color is not steel grey like it looks here but a midnight blue. It's a gorgeous dress though!!! highly recommend for evening weddings/formal affairs.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
October 3, 2011
This turned out to be a great dress. It was true to size. I'm typically a size 6, but ordered a size 8 since I own a Nicole Miller dress in that size, which fits as well. I did not wind up needing the 8. The dress looked very glamorous and the back is what got me sold on it in the first place. It did not disappoint in real life.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2011
I'm a curvy lady and I saw a friend of mine in a Nicole Miller dress similar to this one and it hugged her curves perfectly. So I order this one for a black tie wedding and it was a hit. It just slide over my curves. The material is stretchy and so it hugs everywhere and is perfect for people who want to show off an hourglass figure. Plus, the gathering hides any creases...but I wore spanx with it anyway. I got SOOO many compliments and felt fantastic. I will br renting Nicole Miller dresses again in the future!
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 138lbs
October 12, 2011
I loved this dress! It was great looking on and fit well and extremely comfortable. It shows off your curves even if you may not have many. Great for a wedding!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
October 17, 2011
I felt amazing!
I ordered this dress as my back up and ended up wearing it to my husband's annual company party. Note that the color is a navy blue and not gray, like in the picture. This worked out well for me because my husband was wearing a navy tie. The dress fit like a glove - very true to size. I did wear spanx and a strapless and all the imperfections were hidden and smoothed out. The ruching on the dress is very flattering and body hugging without being slutty. I am 5'3 so the dress hit right above my knees, which was more than appropriate for the event. I paired with gold shoes and earrings and a sleek ponytail and it looked amazing. I'm so happy I decided to rent instead of buy another dress that I'll never wear. Thanks to RTR!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
October 20, 2011
Lovedddd this dress. I got lots of compliments and I felt great all night. I ordered a size 2 and 4 and wore the 2 with no problem. This was my first time using rtr and would def use it again.... It was so easy.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
Great dress! Fit really well and was very complimenting! Very comfortable for a tight dress. Usually take a 4 in dresses but sized up to the 6.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Pear
November 2, 2011
I loved, loved, loved this dress!! So flattering....wish I could purchase it! It did ride up a little, but I would just do a small adjust whenever I got up from sitting. I wore this to a wedding and received so many compliments...my husband especially love it :) Such a wonderful experience with my first rental!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 2, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress - when it became availble on RtR, I was ecstatic. The color and sheen of the material is not done justice by the photos online as the steel metallic blue looked even better in person, as did the sequin detailing on the straps. The square neck and back was very cute and flattering as well. This dress was great and fit like a small 6 (I am between a size 4 and size 6), so I was comfortable with the six. I didn't feel the need for body shaping undergarments, but if you're unsure of your posture or midsection, I would definitely recommend Spanx. I was able to wear a thong and a normal strapless bra without any show-through issues. Dress was a great length for my 5-5 frame and didn't ride up. I wore this dress to an evening wedding in October and received many compliments. It's tight but not too tight, and not too revealing in the bust area, even if you're full-figured. I recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
November 2, 2011
I was a little worried about renting this dress since it's an older one but it arrived in perfect condition and fit like a glove! I wore it a wedding so went a size up which was perfect, fitted but still conservative enough, especially with a dressy cardigan over it for the ceremony. It was my first Nicole Miller rental & I will definitely be renting her dresses again!! Amazing dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2011
Favorite!
The picture doesn't do the detail in the shoulder sections justice, I got so many compliments. I ordered multiple back up dresses, all in 8 and 10 and this dress was the only I had to wear the 10 in; there isn't any stretch so the larger size felt best around my hips. I wore pewter heels with it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
November 30, 2011
FANTASTIC customer service.
This dress is fantastic and I got a lot of compliments. I usually wear a 2 or a 4 and the 4 was much better- the dress runs a little small.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 18, 2011
My fav RTR dress so far!!!
I absolutely LOVED this dress. I was expecting a gunmetal color but was surprised when it showed up as navy blue. (I didn't read the description before renting.) But it fit perfectly in all the right places and was a big hit of the night. I would definitely rent it again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2012
great service from RTR; i'll definitely recommend to friends!
fits great, very flattering
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
January 11, 2012
Very versatile dress that moved between NYE parties well.
Great dress that appears several different colors (blue, green, silver) in different lights. The back of the dress was super sexy, definitely an up-do/short hair dress. It was a little tighter than I had hoped (probably better on a less curvy girl) but the right underwear would definitely help. My only real complaint was that my inner/under arm area was sore by the end of the evening from the material.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
January 20, 2012
exceed my expectations
Gorgeous dress! It fit perfect. The only problem is that the attached lining seem to be longer than the dress, but I just used the provided fabric tape to pick it up and it worked perfect. It felt just above 4" from my knee. I paired it with silver shoes and bracelet. I was wearing the Cecile earings (rhinestones)....I had to remove them within 1/2 hr because they kept on catching on the sequence, so be careful what pair it with!!. Also customer service is wonderful. I will definitely rent again fron RTR!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 25, 2012
When I didn't have to go shopping in the store for a NYE dress
I ordered the size that I measured up to, and then as my extra dress I went a size up, and I'm glad I did. It ran a bit small. I got a lot of compliments on it so I would recommend it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
February 14, 2012
Gorgeous dress
I rented this as my back up dress but once I put it on there was no question this was the one. Fit like a glove...very flattering for curves. I'm a 34C and filled it out perfectly. Hit right above knee, did ride up a bit while dancing but I am not complaining ...I received tons of compliments all night. Like others reviewed, the sequin part does rub a bit so by the end of the night I had a little skin irritation but I would still recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
February 20, 2012
Fun party dress
I wore this dress to my company's holiday party and received so many compliments. As other reviews have mentioned, the color is different in person, a dark navy blue, but still gorgeous. I loved the sequin detail on the shoulders. I did a lot of dancing in this dress and by the end of the night the sequins were starting to irritate my skin a little bit, but it was nothing too bad.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2012
I received so many compliments on the dress!
This dress was a home run. I wore it for my brother's wedding, and received so many compliments on it. It's very comfortable, flattering, and has a great neckline. The only slight downside was the straps have sequins that were rubbing a bit, but nothing that I noticed more than a few moments in the evening.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 9, 2012
Had a wonderful night in my fabulous dress!
I loved the look of this dress. I got a ton of compliments and my boyfriend LOVED it! It is tight fitting but not uncomfortable tight. It didn't show my imperfections (like love handles) and I didn't feel like I needed spankz under it. The one part I wasn't expecting is that it was hard to zip up at the top by my chest. Other reviews have the same bra size but no one commented on that. I needed to have my boyfriend zip the dress up all the way for me but it didn't hinder my breathing at all. Overall, I loved the dress and how I felt in it. I would definitely recommend it to others.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 9, 2012
Love!
Flattering, Easy to wear, great color - it's navy not grayish coal. Classic Nicole Miller fabric and design so people know you're in a nice dress that just don't know how little you paid for it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
June 10, 2012
Perfect for the occasion.
I received my dress in great condition. I wore size 0 and it fitted just perfect. It never scratched my underarms, as some reviewers say, it fitted above the knee (not as short as the picture with the model,) and the color was more like a navy blue. Received compliments from the hosts of the party. I didn't give it 5 stars because I didn't think it flattered my body as well as other dresses. I looked too skinny in this dress. However, I wore a push up strapless bra and once I completed my look with my high heels and accessories, I felt it made a big difference.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 173lbs
June 21, 2012
service was great
almost every dress I have ever rented from this designer I have loved!! I truly feel like she must be curvy herself bc each dress is so body conscious that its hard not feel great wearing one of these. Wore this to a wedding and was the center of attention. The hard part was letting all the girls in on my secret bc now thy all want to RTR. :)
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
June 27, 2012
Gorgeous dress!!
I absolutely loved this dress. It fit exactly like it was supposed too. I'm "busy" and petite so this helped to minimize my bust line but accentuated my hourglass figure. Only thing was the zipper in the back. It got stuck a few times. Overall-- would rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
August 9, 2012
Very lovely
Loved the dress. It was comfortable. The color is blue, maybe I wasn't paying attention but it looked black in the photo so I was a bit surprised. The 6 was form fitting, and though I thought to wear it I was going to a wedding and didn’t want to become uncomfortable after 4 hours of wearing the dress. My only complaint was that the sequence under the arms rubbed my arms and left me red the next day. But over all I loved the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 159lbs
August 11, 2012
Great Dress
This dress looked and felt great. It was so comfortable and easy to dance in. I received tons of compliments! I love RTR!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
August 17, 2012
Loved it.
Many compliments on this dress. I had to let everyone know to become members of Rent The Runway. Love this site and the fact that I don't spend a fortune and stuck with a dress that I will only wear once.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
August 20, 2012
Wore it to a wedding. Was a hit!
The black fabric has a slight navy sheen to it, and photographs well. It looks even better in person. The dress is stretchy and is flattering. The only thing I did not love was that the sequins scratch a little against your inner arm. It wasn't too bad (I didn't get red marks or anything). I own other Nicole Miller dresses with similar fabric and all are amazing and flattering on everyone.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
August 20, 2012
Loved it!
I am very petite and have a hard time finding dresses that I can wear without alterations. I've always known that Nicole Miller fits me well, but I loved this dress! The sequin detailing adds something a little bit different and I like the cut out in the back. The length wasn't too long since it is very form fitting. Overall, worked out great.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 21, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Loved wearing this dress. Chose it for a formal wedding and got compliments all evening. I'm on the shorter side (5'2") and it was a little long on me, hitting me mid knee.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 23, 2012
This dress made me feel great and I loved how it turned out in pictures!
I got SO many compliments on my dress! I usually wear a size 2, but ordered a 2 and 4. Although the 2 fit great, I decided to go with the 4 which gave me a little more room (to eat and drink ;) ). The material is stretchy, so it is easy to dance and sit. Although it photographs dark gray, it is more of a navy blue in person. I also rented the bangles shown on the model! It was a great addition to the dress. Overall, I LOVED my dress and am so glad that I decided to rent it!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 23, 2012
I loved this dress!!
I wore this to a friend's wedding and received so many compliments. It was also really comfortable!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect for an evening wedding
I usually wear a 0 in Nicole Miller but decided to wear the 2 to give myself a little more room to dance since the bottom is fitted tighter to the leg. Really emphasizes your curves in a great way (especially in the back) and was perfect for hiding that little bit of upper arm/chest skin near the armpit that sometimes pinches when you have on a strapless dresses.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
August 27, 2012
I got several compliments on the dress and was even asked if someone could borrow it.
Fit very well, the ruching is flattering and the sequins give it a little extra something. The material looks a little more quality in person than it does in the pictures. The seams under the arms did rub a bit and were slightly irritating but not enough that I wasn't happy I picked it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
April 7, 2013
I got so many compliments in this dress!
This dress is beautiful especially if you're curvy in specific places. The material strechy and very comfortable. A real success!! Very Sexy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
April 17, 2013
Wore this dress to a New Years Eve wedding.
This was my first Rent the Runway experience. I usually have to endure endless dress shopping. This process was amazingly simple. The dress was beautiful and I received so many compliments. What a great way to wear a dress I would not generally spend the money on. I will never buy another dress.....I'm hooked!!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
Felt like a star!
Great dress. True navy blue color, gorgeous stretchy material & pretty cut out back. The dress was so comfortable! Very form fitting and flattering. I received lots of compliments! Would definitely recommend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 26, 2013
Loved it!
I absolutely loved this dress. I got the 10 and the 12 and ended up wearing the size 10 as the 12 was too big. I wore this to a friends wedding and received a ton of compliments on it. The sequined part was kind of itchy but sometimes you have to put up with a little discomfort to look good. I'd definitely recommend it to a friend.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
May 10, 2013
Loved it! Looked great at a formal rehearsal dinner.
It was perfect for the event I attended. Finding shoes was no problem and the fabric and fit was slimming.
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×