Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size294
Small57
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2011
RTR is easy! It comes with everything you need, and the staff is very flexible if something doesn't fit right :)
This dress was GORGEOUS. I got a ton of compliments and felt confident the entire day of the wedding. It was sexy without being too revealing. I totally wish I owned it because I would wear it again in a heartbeat! I am in between a 10 and 12, and, though I fit in both, I wore the 12 just because it IS form-fitting. Only complaint is that the material rubs under the armpit and my skin was a little irritated, especially because I was moving my arms a lot to dance.
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2011
I rented this dress for an evening wedding and I loved it! It looked small when it arrived but fit perfectly. I am a size 4 in almost everything, and the size 4 worked perfectly. The dress looked great in pictures & I received many compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2011
Ordered the 2 and 4, thought they both looked tiny, but put on the tiny little 2 and BAM! Perfect fit, great stretch. This dress got SO many compliments, and looked gorgeous in photos. The color is even better in person, and it's insanely comfortable for a cocktail dress...I wish I owned it now!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
June 9, 2011
Very pretty gold color, nice fabric. I liked the neckline. If it hadn't been so form fitting, I think I really would have loved the dress. Unlike others, I did not find that this dress hid my flaws. Think skin tight dress with ruching on top. Even with control top leggings on, it did not look good. I'm 5'7", 143 lbs. 34B, muscular legs and butt. My husband told me he thought it looked like something he'd see a trashy girl in Las Vegas wearing. Ouch! Not the look I was going for to attend his friend's wedding. Sadly, it's going back tomorrow. If you're not a va va va voom girl, I'd try another style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
June 8, 2011
This dress is very pretty, but I think only true hourglasses can pull this off, since it really shows every single curve. You need to be fairly tall and have bigger boobs to wear this.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2011
This dress was awful, awful, awful. I can't figure out why so many people liked it or what body type it would look good on. The silhouette was the worst part about it - it was so tight over my butt and thighs that it was extremely unflattering, even on a 5'6'', 120 lb. frame. I honestly looked like a hooker. The neckline was equally bad and made my chest look flat and just plain weird. I wanted to wear this to my own bridal shower hoping the length wouldn't be too short and the ruching would be forgiving, but it was truly a mistake. Try another dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Apple
May 16, 2011
Fits perfectly for a larger top. The length of the dress hits at the knees and the ruching hides any imperfections. Great dress! Wore it for my Bachelorette party and it was a hit!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2011
This DRESS is the bomb --- I loved it. Looks even better when you have a tan. The wrinkles in the fabric hide the trouble spots nicely.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2011
I'm usually a size four and I'm really glad that I ordered a size smaller!! I agree that this dress is for taller girls, I'm 5'5" and it was a bit too long for my liking, but it fell above the knee (like the model). The color seemed to be a bit darker than in the picture, more of a tan/beige. Still a knockout dress!! I highly recommend it! It is great for accentuating your good features and hiding your not so great parts too!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2011
This was overall a great dress. It's stretchy and tight so hugs your body well. I'm short and the dress was very easy to fold up so that it hit me mid thigh. Otherwise, this dress came to my knees. The color was great and I got a lot of compliments. One thing I didn't like was that the folds in the dress don't really look like the picture... there are a lot of them and they are much more prominent. It really changes the look of the whole dress to more "scrunchy" than neat the way it looks here. These scrunches definitely would help to hide any flaws but also add a little more to the dress so they don't particularly show off your body either. Also, don't get this dress if you are looking to show off your cleavage. I'm an A cup and my boobs looked bigger underneath the dress than the model's. It was fine, but I'm not sure the cut would be flattering on someone with a larger chest.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
May 2, 2011
This dress really is gorgeous-- a little darker color than in the picture, but I don't think it's really meant for ladies trying to hide a little extra. I own a dress similar to this that I remember making me look amazing-- but that was 20 pounds ago, and I thought the detailing would cover up a pooch, but this dress is so snug/tight that it will accent it if you have one. It really hugs you tight so be prepared to let it all hang out, which, in my case, made me feel pretty self conscious. I'm sure on a slimmer figure it would look amazing, though, especially with long legs. It's also super comfortable to wear.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Pear
April 25, 2011
I loved this dress. I rented it for my Golden Birthday party and it was perfect. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and both dress actually fit really well. I wore the 4, but the 6 had a little more added length which was also nice. It looked really small on the hanger, but the dress has a lot of elastic, and was very flattering. I'm a little curvy, and it was fitted without looking too scandalous. Fabulous Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 18, 2011
Wore this to an engagement party and it was all the rage. I received many complements on it, this dress really hugs you in all the right spots. I have a large chest and it fit well, the dress runs true to size, I ordered the a larger size as back up but didn't need it. It also comes down to just above the knee so if you are short like me just keep that in mind. I wore it with high beige heels and gold jewelry. It is a very gold dress by the way, not as white as the photo shows, also it seemed to be more pleated than the photo shows but it looks nice on. Photographs well too.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2011
I ordered a size 2 and a size 4 in this dress. Don't freak out when you see the dress on a hanger, it stretches a lot! There is a nude lining on the dress that kept peeking out all evening from the bottom hem, the neckline, and the straps. Other than that, this dress was great!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Body type: Petite
April 17, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was a hit! I had another guest who came up to me and said my dress was the most beautiful in the party outside of the bride's, of course. My husband even had a friend who commented to him how beautiful my dress was! The dress is body hugging and shows off your figure. But it's stretchy so you can still walk and dance comfortably in it. But like some people said, the straps are slightly short. So if I had to change anything about this dress, it would be to extend the straps by about 1/4". Otherwise, I'm very happy with this rental.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
April 11, 2011
I got tons of comments on this dress. It looked great and was fun to wear. I wore a twisted pearl necklace that I got from forever 21 and it was perfect.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 47
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 10, 2011
This dress was Uh.Maz.Ing! I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect. I usually wear a 6 so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 worked but I would have been more comfortable in an 8. The top part of the dress was a bit snug and I have a small chest. The color is gorgeous and the fabric is very forgiving. I would love to keep this dress! :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 6, 2011
If you have broad shoulders or a toned back, this dress looks dynamite. I also got tons of complements on the color. I was sad to send it back. The dress looked small on the hanger but stretched to fix perfectly. The fabric is very forgiving. The straps were a teeny bit long (I have a small bust) but that was fixed with a slightly padded strapless bra. I thought the dress was a little itchy around the shoulders when I first put it on, but I didn't notice it the rest of the night. By the way, if you are looking for a nail polish match, Sephora by OPI's Already Famous is dead-on.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2011
Awesome dress! I rented this dress to change into for my wedding reception. Everyone LOVED it! It was a mini version of my wedding dress, also by Nicole Miller. You can easily wear a strapless bra with it. It gave in all the right places and was very, very comfortable. I'm very pale, but it made my skin look slightly tan! It fits true to size.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, very flattering. Only reason I gave it for stars is because I had to pull it down throughout the night as it rode up. I normally wear a size 4 despite my full bust. Ended up wearing the 6 and probably would have been more comfortable in an 8. Other than that like i said great dress!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2011
I wore this dress for my engagement party and am still getting compliments on it! When I first pulled it out of the garment bag, I thought oh know, this looks too small, and since they didn't offer two sizes, I had a mini-panic attack. What a relief when I saw how much it stretches. It stretches in a way that sucks you all in too which is great! I highly recommend this dress. BTW, it felt so nice to say "who" my dress was instead of where I bought it.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2011
Everybody loved it!
Fit: can't hide anything in this dress. Thank goodness for Spanx!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2011
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! It was elegant but hot. It covered my gut which I loved. It was comfortable and gorgeous and I didn't need any jewelry really to dress it up. I wore it to Vegas and had a lot compliments on it too.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2011
Very smooth experience!!
This dress was a knockout. First of all it fit like a glove in all the right places. I am a curvy young lady(hips and thighs) I felt fabulous, I looked fabulous and everyone around could not stop telling me how much they loved the dress. The worst part about the dress/rental was returning it:( but oh well I can always rent it again, or any of the other fabulous dresses on the site....Thanx Rent the Runway for make me feel like a star:)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
March 6, 2011
I loved this dress. It did wonders for my ass-ests. I'm not a tall individual, but with heels, the just-above-the-knee cut was ideal. Many compliments. My friend rented the same dress in navy for New Years Eve, she's 5'8'' and 130 lbs and it fit her perfectly as well. Sisterhood of the traveling dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 18, 2011
I couldn't love this dress more.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2011
I rented this dress for my engagement party. It was beautiful, and I was very pleased with it, received compliments all night! The body of the dress went up a little higher than ideal (short straps), as mentioned in other reviews, so it was uncomfortable from time to time in my underarm area. I guess this dress would be ideal for short torsos, even though I don't have a long torso. I felt like it was a bit slimming on the hips. And it is very stretchy, so it'll fit most people if they are around the correct size. I asked for a 4 and a 6 (i'm around 140lbs), and the 6 fit better. In most brands I tend to wear a 4.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 2, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning. It is actually a little more gold than the picture shows. I have no chest, but this dress fit my body so well I couldn't have been happier. The only problem I had was that the underarm part of the dress wasn't long enough, so it rubbed my armpits all night to where they were red the next day, but I felt so fabulous in it that I didn't care! My shoes hurt way worse than that :)Love, love, loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2011
My 2 best friends and I all tried on this dress and all fell in love- despite the fact that we have totally different chest sizes, A,B, & D.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2011
I love this dress! The fit was fantastic. It easily stretches to hug your curves, so it looks like it was tailored to fit you perfectly. So comfortable, too! I wore it to my husband's company holiday party and had a blast dancing and mingling. My only note is that it has a gold tone to it, not silver as I thought from the photos. Overall, I would highly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2011
Gorgeous dress! It's not as shimmery/white as the picture makes it seem, but it is a light gold. It hides any flaws and is great for a curvy body. Very classy and fun!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
Great NYE dress - It's definitely a little more form fitting that it appears on the model but is extremely flattering! The gold-toned metallic definitely makes you look a bit tanner than you are (I am very fair skinned). It was a big hit and I was almost sad to put it back in the mail!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
This dress is perfect!!! And it fits like a glove. If you are thinking of renting this dress, it does run true to size, but be honest with yourself about your size. I vary between and 8 to a 12 depending on the style. I was honest with my self and went for the 10 and it couldnt have been more perfect! I got complimented all night! One slight draw back is it does tend to ride up a little bit after some time. I spent 6 hours in this dress so it's to be expected when it fits so close your curves. It also doesnt have as much sheen as what the picture shows, but it is still beautiful! It was perfect for my New Year's Eve and I'm sure it will be perfect for whatever you need it for.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 30, 2010
Gorgeous!! I am very tall and this dress was still a great length for me. Although it is a light color it is still very slimming and flattering. When you take it out of the garment bag it looks very small but it is stretch and contours to your body making it a perfect fit for you! Loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2010
I'm on the small side of the top, so I felt a little flat chested on the top and I felt like it really showed off my hips. I was a little self-conscious at first, but my boyfriend though I looked hot. I wish they had a body type section for small chested, so I would have a better idea what would look great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
December 4, 2010
flattering cut, but the fabric looks and feels like curtains- very thick, more wrinkly than I expected. did not end up wearing it. great neckline though, and forgiving body.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2010
I wear a 4 and am a 34D... this fit true to size and the bust wasn't constricting. Liked the back a lot!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
The dress was wonderful. Very true to size and incredibly comfortable b/c the whole dress is stretchy. Received many compliments and absolutely loved it. It hit right above my knee at 5'5''.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
LOVED IT! I felt really gorgeous all night at this black tie gala I went to in Hollywood. I wore it with one of the necklaces from this site but I can't find it anymore...but yeah it was amazing. And it's true to size.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 8, 2010
This dress looks WAY better in person. I wore it to a wedding and it was a hit - a stranger told me I had the best dress there (and there was heavy competition). LOVE this dress.
See more reviews:
9 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×