Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

366 reviews

Fit
Small 57
True to Size 292
Large 17
Photos 183
Vanessa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 12, 2011

Beautiful

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is so flattering. While I am petite, I have a larger bust (34C) and I didn't even have to wear a bra. This dress holds you in in all the right places. I received so many compliments. I was worried that the color may be too light for the wedding I attended, but it was absolutely perfect. I was so comfortable all day & night and it was easy to dance/eat/drink in. Loved this rtr!!
jgan
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Straight & narrow
Sep 21, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress fit really well and it stretched so it can fit various sizes. But the straps came right under the arm pit and it was so rough that it chafed my arm pit almost instantly just wearing around the house. I ended up not wearing the dress because it was just uncomfortable.
J. Storm
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 27, 2011

way to small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Was very excited to rent this dress and was going to wear it on my honeymoon for a fancy dinner we were going too but the 6 & 8 were TOO small! Also the color was darker then the picture. Was very disappointed that it didn't work out!
Mimi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The fit was ok, but a little on the long side. The interior lining was actually very itchy on the skin. Overall look was decent. I wore it with peep-toe black/golden pumps.
small town
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This is a beautiful dress, and I got a lot of complements on the top cut of the dress and the color. I'm glad I chose a larger size, because I carry a lot of weight in my bust. I'm 5'4" and 115, and size 8 worked great for me. I got a ton of compliments, and would definitely recommend the dress to anyone.
Michaela
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Body type: Athletic
Oct 3, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
The dress did fit true to size but it doesn't look like the picture. The dress is looking very worn. The lining hangs lower and the color is a lot darker. The folds in the fabric ended up looking like wrinkles. It is also too tight under the arms.
Heather M.
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
Oct 4, 2011

Overall fit: Large
Usually I wear a size 4-6, so I ordered the size 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the size 2. The dress came to about 2" above my knees, but did ride up a bit throughout the night, though not to the point of annoyance. I did more dancing in this dress and had a great time in comfort. I received a ton of compliments and felt great! The color is a bit darker than shown on the model, which was perfect for the wedding I attended. My only complaint, should I find one at all, is that the front of my arm straps rubbed a bit raw from all my dancing and prolly my larger shoulder/chest muscles. The dresses were shipped to my hotel no problem, and the return process is a cinch! Overall this dress rocked!
Dee
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress is a knockout. Based on the other reviews that said this was very fitted, I ordered a size up for backup, and I am glad I did! I could barely get my usual size on. The fit is very sexy, but flattering as it gives in all the right places. My husband loved it! It did ride up a little when I walked which was a little annoying, but overall it was a hit! Sexy and classy.
Aslanina
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is beautiful wore it to a cancer benefit. Shows off curves in all the right places. I rented in size 4 and 6. The 4 fit like a glove. Wore with gold strappy heels and nicole miller bracelet and earrings
Lindsay
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Oct 13, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Love this dress! I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and the 6 fit perfect! It was very comfortable and flattering!
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 16, 2011

Overall fit: Large
It's more like true to size/large. My only issue is that the metal fabric chafed inside my upper arms. I rented this for my wedding reception and it was a knockout. The Ivanka Trump gold peeptoes they have at macy's right now match the dress perfectly.
Ellen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Oct 17, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Super comfy, a tad on the long side, but really looked great! It's really stretchy, but still looks really fancy. I wore a strapless bra and still managed to have a little cleavage, but not too much.
Momx2
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Oct 19, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I am petite but athletic and this dress was perfect. It has a lot of stretch and hugs in all the right spots. The straps did cut into me a little like other reviews stated, but not to a point that I was uncomfortable. Tons of complements with this dress!!
Morgie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185 lbs
Oct 20, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress looked like it was made for my daughter. She wore it for Homecoming and it was perfect. She is tall, athletic and has a GG bust. Wow. Great fit, soft hug and the material is beautiful. Perfect for any age.
Mary C.
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 26, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I love this dress. I got married in Las Vegas and wore this dress instead of a wedding dress. I wore a pair of offwhite pearl shoes. My friends and family comment was "you knocked it out of the park, simply georgeous." Need I say more.
Bugaboo
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Full Bust
Oct 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress fits amazingly! I'm def full busted, and it hugged me in all the right places while still concealing what needed to be hidden. The material completely hid my tum-tum, which was awesome. I loved it!
AB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
Oct 29, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
Loved this dress! It has some stretch but it doesn't cling so it is very flattering and not uncomfortable to wear. Also, just to note: the actual color is more of a champagne, not ivory as it looks in the picture.
TJB
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was awkward. I general wear between a 10 or 12 depending on the designer so I ordered both. The 10 was way to tight. I couldn't even zip it up but the 10 was way too big. Didn't fit my curves or anything just kinda hung. Plus the lining was all messed up. It hung below the dress like it has been wore far too many times.
Claudia
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 4, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! When it first arrived, I was not sure this dress was going to fit because it looked so small on the hanger. Don't be fooled by this. This dress has so much stretch to it. I am a 38DD and ordered the size 12 - fit perfectly. Wore it to a wedding tonight and received so many compliments, that I wish I owned this dress. Will definetly rent this dress again.
AH
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121 lbs
Nov 11, 2011

Not the best for small chest

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ordered this dress in both a size 4 and a size 6. This dress runs way small. Could not even get into the size 4. Chest-wise, probably best for a C cup. The size 6 fit OK but had a chest flattening effect. Also, the lining on the size 6 kept poking out the bottom of the skirt. Wish that RTR would include a body type of SMALL CHEST, because pear-shape does not necessarily imply a small chest. Had to return both sizes, unworn.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 16, 2011

Fitted but comfortable

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress worked for me. I was nervous after reading all the reviews but decided to take the plunge -- and I loved it. Yes, it's super-fitted throughout but the ruching means it's not skin-tight. (I wore Spanx). Easy to dance in, a gorgeous soft gold color (not too glitzy/flashy), and a very flattering square neckline that highlights the shoulders and collarbones. My boyfriend wants me to buy this dress.
katharine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 20, 2011

Perfect party dress

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a great dress! I am usually a 10 but one of the RTR consultants said to order up and she was exactly right. The 12 fitted perfectly, just like most 10s do on me. It is very comfortable (really important to me) and also different and eye catching - there weren't any dresses like it at my 350+ attendee event. It is form fitting but moves and stretches, easy to sit and dance in. I loved it.
khyla
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Nov 30, 2011

Nice Fit!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I was looking for a dress that was stretchy and scrunchy because I was a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding and I had just had a baby two weeks prior..so I couldn't wear I nice form fitting gown, sicne I wasn't back to my normal shape yet. And this dress fit the bill! Very giving around the hips and stomach, and the top was big enough as well, so I wasn't 'busting out.' It was extremely comfortable to wear all night as well!
caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Dec 13, 2011

first rtr dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered this as my primary dress and did not end up wearing it. I'm between a 0 and a 2, the 2 fit better but I thought it was a little worn and old. It is an awesome dress though, super form fitting and would have looked fabulous if it was in better shape. Thankfully I ordered a back up dress that worked well so my overall RTR experience was great.
Sophia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

34H's? This fits GREAT!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
So, I was really skeptical that anything "designer" would fit my post-baby boobies. Pre-pregnancy I had a hard enough time with my natural 34E's... and now that I'm a nursing momma, with 34H's. Pretty ridiculous, right? This dress *FIT*. I ordered an 8 and a 10, because with a tiny waist and huge hips, my jeans run rather large. Surprisingly, the 8 fit great, with the fabric concealing any bit of flab I might've had. The neckline is very flattering and wasn't revealing, and the bottom hemline hit just above my knees. The downsides: the fabric resembles shimmery curtains, but for a party dress, who cares? Also, the top is rather difficult to zip up, but once zipped, is just fine. I wasn't squeezing into it either. Altogether, I'm very impressed with this dress! (My husband was pleased too, haha).
Reena
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Dec 21, 2011

LOVED THIS DRESS

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was fun material that complemented my figure. It was really comfortable and shiny - perfect for the holidays!
Cecily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Dec 29, 2011

Constant Flattery

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
My husband about fainted when I came downstairs with this dress on. This dress was gorgeous and makes you look very thin. I received constant comments on it as the "best dress at the party". I found the length perfect and the stretchy nature of the fabric makes it very comfortable. I rented the 0 and the 2 and was happiest with the fit of the 2.
Sonam
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
Jan 5, 2012

Decent

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
A little worn out, the inside part of the dress kept peeking out from the bottom.
Kate
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Love it!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and it was fabulous. I received lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
Han
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 9, 2012

Just OK

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The color of this dress is much prettier in person than in pictures. I was super excited to try it on. Unfortunately, the fit wasn't great. I usually wear a size 2, but had to wear the backup size 4. The size 2 cinched my waist perfectly and hit the right spot on my leg, but the straps were too short so the dress came up really high on my underarms & the neckline hit an awkward place on my chest. I opted to wear the bigger size so the neckline would look nice, but my body was more frumpy. Overall, the dress was pretty but it wasn't flattering.
Allison
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Feb 13, 2012

Awesome first RTR experience!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party in Atlantic City. I absolutely loved it! The fit was great, hugged all the right places, but was still stretchy so it was comfy. Only (tiny) complaint was that it was a little tight under the arms. Also, the color was slightly more gold than in the picture. I received many compliments! I will definitely be using RTR again!
Michele
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 15, 2012

perfect

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was so comfortable and such a pretty color. It fit great and hid anything you want to hide while accentuating everything you want to accentuate. Defintely a great rent!
Wendy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

PERFECT DRESS FOR ME!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Absolutely GORGEOUS dress. I am curvy, 5'4", 120 pounds and the size 6 was perfect. My husband LOVED it and my 5 year old daughters' jaw dropped in amazement when I tried it on. I wore it to our local Humane Society's Dog Ball and got many compliments. I will not hesitate to order again from RentTheRunway. I got the package as scheduled and in perfect shape. Returns are so easy, just pop the dresses in the bag provided and drop off at your local post office. Can't get any easier than that! Thank you Rent the Runway!!!!!!
Angela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Mar 4, 2012

Great for a wedding!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is very form fitting. It hugs all the right areas and is stretchy. It was pretty comfortable and I was able to dance all night but it does rub a little in the underarm area. Up close you can tell the dress has been worn numerous times but still looked very nice. This was my first time renting from RTR and have to say it was a fabulous experience!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 17, 2012

Beautiful Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and it was a hit. Looked tiny when I took it out of the bag but fit like a glove. The color is great with a tan. Very comfortable and flattering. It is very fitted so if you have any body issues I would not recommend this dress.
Alison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 26, 2012

Stunning & fits like a glove!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fits true to size and shows off everything you want to accentuate and hides everything you else!! I wore this for a cocktail/semiformal charity event for the Bridgetown Music Foundation and got compliments from numerous people there! Nicole Miller never fails me!! Loved it!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Apr 18, 2012

This dress was a knockout!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I'm not sure words can describe how much I loved this dress. I had rented a size 10 and 12 and I was VERY pleased that the 10 fit perfectly. There were only one small issue I had with this dress. The first one is the arms came up right into the armpits and caused a lot of rubbing. I was a bit red in the underarm area and on the backs of my arms from rubbing against the dress all night. Everywhere I went people asked me where I got this dress and I happily told them it was from RTR! I can't wait to rent this dress again for my friends wedding!
Lea
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
May 6, 2012

Lots of compliments.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'10" and it's difficult for me to find a form-fitting dress that isn't too short. I was very pleased with it, especially the back which I received many compliments about. Two issues: the armpits were kind of snug but I have broader shoulders that don't really "match" my waist size and I received a size 4 that had a noticeable stain on the bottom. I am very glad and lucky that the 2 didn't have anything wrong with it. Overall, excellent pick.
Kathryn
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 21, 2012

Show-stopper for Wedding

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a formal wedding and could not have been happier. Compliments all night. The color is more gold than is pictured, so no risk to be "too white". The fit is so flattering, and I'd object with the comments below that it runs too small. Nicole Miller does sometimes run small (which is why I got a 2 vs a 4), but I'd say If anything, maybe a bit big -- doesnt matter either way because it is a Nicole Miller famed "perfect stretch" with her thick fabric and flattering "wrinkles". Lots of room to work with here, and you have the option of the layer to put underneath. I did both with and without that - didn't make a huge difference. Beautiful choice - so glad I went with this one!
Elyse
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2012

Curvy girl - fits perfect :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I absolutely love this dress! I'm a tall girl, 5'10 and was worried that it would be too short. Not to mention I have curves.... It ended up turning out perfect! I wore it for my bachelorette party and couldn't have felt better! :)
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×