Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
December 30, 2011
Every eye turned my way when I entered the party
It hugs you in all the right places, but still allowing room to dance all night in. The dress was very flattering and sensual...Definately will rent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 29, 2011
Constant Flattery
My husband about fainted when I came downstairs with this dress on. This dress was gorgeous and makes you look very thin. I received constant comments on it as the "best dress at the party". I found the length perfect and the stretchy nature of the fabric makes it very comfortable. I rented the 0 and the 2 and was happiest with the fit of the 2.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2011
LOVED THIS DRESS
It was fun material that complemented my figure. It was really comfortable and shiny - perfect for the holidays!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105lbs
December 20, 2011
I stood out that day. I had a lot of nice compliments. :)
I wore this at a wedding.I had lots of compliments and some people asked where I bought it.I received the dress just 2 days before the event, I had no problem with the size and I'll do it again at my next event! Thanks Renttherunway! :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
December 16, 2011
34H's? This fits GREAT!
So, I was really skeptical that anything "designer" would fit my post-baby boobies. Pre-pregnancy I had a hard enough time with my natural 34E's... and now that I'm a nursing momma, with 34H's. Pretty ridiculous, right? This dress *FIT*. I ordered an 8 and a 10, because with a tiny waist and huge hips, my jeans run rather large. Surprisingly, the 8 fit great, with the fabric concealing any bit of flab I might've had. The neckline is very flattering and wasn't revealing, and the bottom hemline hit just above my knees. The downsides: the fabric resembles shimmery curtains, but for a party dress, who cares? Also, the top is rather difficult to zip up, but once zipped, is just fine. I wasn't squeezing into it either. Altogether, I'm very impressed with this dress! (My husband was pleased too, haha).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
December 13, 2011
first rtr dress!
I ordered this as my primary dress and did not end up wearing it. I'm between a 0 and a 2, the 2 fit better but I thought it was a little worn and old. It is an awesome dress though, super form fitting and would have looked fabulous if it was in better shape. Thankfully I ordered a back up dress that worked well so my overall RTR experience was great.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
December 5, 2011
Best feeling in the world when you know that the dress looks amazing and feels so comfortable.
First Rental w/RTR and I am hooked :) Arrived by UPS in plenty of time to make changes with RTR. I was concerned about the dress fit since I have a petite body type, yet the it was perfect. The dress positively accentuates your curves which would be great for all body types. The rental was for a holiday office party and due to the beautiful material I could eat/drink with out the worry that it would show in the stomach area. Wonderful color, especially in a sea of black. It was great to know that no one else would be wearing this dress that sometimes can occur from buying one at a department store. I loved the Sunday return was USPC, since all UPS store locations in my area are not open on this day. Very easy and fun process overall, Thanks so much RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 30, 2011
Standing out in pictures next to all the girls in LBDs.
I ordered this dress for New Years Eve and loved it. I was nervous because the model in the picture is built slim where I definitely have some curves but it still fit like a glove. The dress is a little darker than it appears in the pictures but it is comfortable and definitely stands out next to all the LBDs.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 30, 2011
Nice Fit!
I was looking for a dress that was stretchy and scrunchy because I was a bridesmaid in my friend's wedding and I had just had a baby two weeks prior..so I couldn't wear I nice form fitting gown, sicne I wasn't back to my normal shape yet. And this dress fit the bill! Very giving around the hips and stomach, and the top was big enough as well, so I wasn't 'busting out.' It was extremely comfortable to wear all night as well!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 96lbs
November 30, 2011
As this was for my bachelorette, I knew I probably wouldn't wear the dress again. So, it didn't make sense to buy one. RTR was so convenient!
I wore this dress for my bachelorette party last May. I ordered a 0 and a 2 and wore the 0. It was a little long on me, so I had to tuck the hem under. I really liked the dress, but I think it would look better on someone with more hips than me. Also, the button on the back of the 0 looked like it was about to fall off (it didn’t). But it had me worried all night! That said, it really was a gorgeous dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 30, 2011
The compliments on the dress.
I wore this to my company Holiday party last year and everyone loved the color and the fit. It was a perfect dress for an awesome event.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
November 28, 2011
I rented this dress from New Jersey for a Florida wedding. The dress arrived on time. I received so many compliments. I returned it from Florida without a hitch!! So hooked with RENT THE RUNWAY! Thank you!!
I ordered a size 2 and 4. The dress came and it did run a little small. I wore the size 4 and it fit like a dream. Beautiful fabric. Received so many compliments. I would suggest going up one size from what you usually wear.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
This dress was awesome. I just had twins 11 months ago. I wore this to a class reunion and everyone said I looked better than I looked in high school (25 years ago)!!!
Loved it!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 20, 2011
Perfect party dress
This is a great dress! I am usually a 10 but one of the RTR consultants said to order up and she was exactly right. The 12 fitted perfectly, just like most 10s do on me. It is very comfortable (really important to me) and also different and eye catching - there weren't any dresses like it at my 350+ attendee event. It is form fitting but moves and stretches, easy to sit and dance in. I loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2011
Fitted but comfortable
This dress worked for me. I was nervous after reading all the reviews but decided to take the plunge -- and I loved it. Yes, it's super-fitted throughout but the ruching means it's not skin-tight. (I wore Spanx). Easy to dance in, a gorgeous soft gold color (not too glitzy/flashy), and a very flattering square neckline that highlights the shoulders and collarbones. My boyfriend wants me to buy this dress.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
November 11, 2011
The ease of renting was the best! It was like Christmas opening the dress up for the first time! I also love chatting with your stylists! They are extremely helpful!
I wore this to an evening wedding and it was spectacular! It is very form fitting but the ruching helps hide any flaws. I do have to say if you're dancing a lot it does ride up some. Although it might just be me not used to a shorter dress. It isn't as long in the pictures either and I'm 5'8 more like mid thigh. Lovely color, more gold than the picture but still amazing. I would definitely rent this one again! Although with all the dresses on this site probably not! Thanks RTR for an amazing dress!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 121lbs
November 11, 2011
Not the best for small chest
I ordered this dress in both a size 4 and a size 6. This dress runs way small. Could not even get into the size 4. Chest-wise, probably best for a C cup. The size 6 fit OK but had a chest flattening effect. Also, the lining on the size 6 kept poking out the bottom of the skirt. Wish that RTR would include a body type of SMALL CHEST, because pear-shape does not necessarily imply a small chest. Had to return both sizes, unworn.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! When it first arrived, I was not sure this dress was going to fit because it looked so small on the hanger. Don't be fooled by this. This dress has so much stretch to it. I am a 38DD and ordered the size 12 - fit perfectly. Wore it to a wedding tonight and received so many compliments, that I wish I owned this dress. Will definetly rent this dress again.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
November 4, 2011
This dress was awkward. I general wear between a 10 or 12 depending on the designer so I ordered both. The 10 was way to tight. I couldn't even zip it up but the 10 was way too big. Didn't fit my curves or anything just kinda hung. Plus the lining was all messed up. It hung below the dress like it has been wore far too many times.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2011
Loved this dress! It has some stretch but it doesn't cling so it is very flattering and not uncomfortable to wear. Also, just to note: the actual color is more of a champagne, not ivory as it looks in the picture.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
October 28, 2011
This dress fits amazingly! I'm def full busted, and it hugged me in all the right places while still concealing what needed to be hidden. The material completely hid my tum-tum, which was awesome. I loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Body type: Hourglass
October 26, 2011
I love this dress. I got married in Las Vegas and wore this dress instead of a wedding dress. I wore a pair of offwhite pearl shoes. My friends and family comment was "you knocked it out of the park, simply georgeous." Need I say more.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 20, 2011
This dress looked like it was made for my daughter. She wore it for Homecoming and it was perfect. She is tall, athletic and has a GG bust. Wow. Great fit, soft hug and the material is beautiful. Perfect for any age.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
For one, it was my wedding so of course it was amazing. I enjoyed my little "party dress" to complete that wow look halfway through the reception when my wedding dress got to be too much! :)
perfect fit! it doesn't matter what body type you have, its slimming and hugs every curve you want to show off! and its so comfortable and you don't have to worry about it riding up. it gives your body that WOW factor.
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2011
I am petite but athletic and this dress was perfect. It has a lot of stretch and hugs in all the right spots. The straps did cut into me a little like other reviews stated, but not to a point that I was uncomfortable. Tons of complements with this dress!!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011
Everyone loved the dress! I have never felt so beautiful in my life!
I typically wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit perfectly! Because this dress stretches, the smaller size was actually perfect. I have a 36 G chest which makes dresses very challenging to find and this one fit like a glove yet was still comfortable & beautiful. I have never received so many compliments in one night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
October 17, 2011
Super comfy, a tad on the long side, but really looked great! It's really stretchy, but still looks really fancy. I wore a strapless bra and still managed to have a little cleavage, but not too much.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 16, 2011
It's more like true to size/large. My only issue is that the metal fabric chafed inside my upper arms. I rented this for my wedding reception and it was a knockout. The Ivanka Trump gold peeptoes they have at macy's right now match the dress perfectly.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
Love this dress! I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and the 6 fit perfect! It was very comfortable and flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
This dress is beautiful wore it to a cancer benefit. Shows off curves in all the right places. I rented in size 4 and 6. The 4 fit like a glove. Wore with gold strappy heels and nicole miller bracelet and earrings
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
This dress is a knockout. Based on the other reviews that said this was very fitted, I ordered a size up for backup, and I am glad I did! I could barely get my usual size on. The fit is very sexy, but flattering as it gives in all the right places. My husband loved it! It did ride up a little when I walked which was a little annoying, but overall it was a hit! Sexy and classy.
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
October 4, 2011
Usually I wear a size 4-6, so I ordered the size 2 and 4, and ended up wearing the size 2. The dress came to about 2" above my knees, but did ride up a bit throughout the night, though not to the point of annoyance. I did more dancing in this dress and had a great time in comfort. I received a ton of compliments and felt great! The color is a bit darker than shown on the model, which was perfect for the wedding I attended. My only complaint, should I find one at all, is that the front of my arm straps rubbed a bit raw from all my dancing and prolly my larger shoulder/chest muscles. The dresses were shipped to my hotel no problem, and the return process is a cinch! Overall this dress rocked!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2011
The dress did fit true to size but it doesn't look like the picture. The dress is looking very worn. The lining hangs lower and the color is a lot darker. The folds in the fabric ended up looking like wrinkles. It is also too tight under the arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 104lbs
October 3, 2011
Fit perfectly!
When I first put this dress on it felt itchy but it fit PERFECTLY, I'm a size 0 and 5'6'' and it fit to a T. Loved the color! It is NOT too white for a wedding its more of a gold/metallic, you can adjust the length easily by pulling the skirt up or down w/o it looking strange. LOVE the back of this dress, danced all night at an outdoor wedding in South Carolina and received MANY compliments!
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
This is a beautiful dress, and I got a lot of complements on the top cut of the dress and the color. I'm glad I chose a larger size, because I carry a lot of weight in my bust. I'm 5'4" and 115, and size 8 worked great for me. I got a ton of compliments, and would definitely recommend the dress to anyone.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 28, 2011
The fit was ok, but a little on the long side. The interior lining was actually very itchy on the skin. Overall look was decent. I wore it with peep-toe black/golden pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
September 27, 2011
way to small
Was very excited to rent this dress and was going to wear it on my honeymoon for a fancy dinner we were going too but the 6 & 8 were TOO small! Also the color was darker then the picture. Was very disappointed that it didn't work out!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2011
The dress fit really well and it stretched so it can fit various sizes. But the straps came right under the arm pit and it was so rough that it chafed my arm pit almost instantly just wearing around the house. I ended up not wearing the dress because it was just uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2011
Beautiful
This dress is so flattering. While I am petite, I have a larger bust (34C) and I didn't even have to wear a bra. This dress holds you in in all the right places. I received so many compliments. I was worried that the color may be too light for the wedding I attended, but it was absolutely perfect. I was so comfortable all day & night and it was easy to dance/eat/drink in. Loved this rtr!!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2011
My date just dropped his draw and told me how stunning I looked.
This dress was amazing and I got so many compliments. I do have a larger bust size and wore a size 8 (I am 5'9" and smaller tho: 32G bust, 25 waist, 35 hips). It was snug but fit perfectly and I love that the material gives a little so dancing and walking/sitting is all comfortable! The dress is definitely not pearly white like it looks in the photo. I'd say it's more of a goldish color. I wore sparkly gold heals and it matched perfectly. Under the arms is a tad itchy and the dress did have a few areas where the fabric was snagged but it was hardly noticeable. I NEED to wear a bra with dresses so I have a VS bra that can be worn 100 ways, bc you do need to put the straps out pretty wide. A normal bra would not work. I seriously recommend all of the Nicole Miller dresses made with this material. Looks awesome, and you feel awesome wearing it! <3
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
8 / 10
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×