Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(57)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
January 15, 2012
I was complimented so many times by men and women alike! One guy told me my dress was "Boom!" lol
I read the reviews about this dress and looked at all the pictures before finally choosing this dress. The reviews made me think this dress would be more gold than what it actually turned out to be. Even though it wasn't as gold as I expected, it was BEAUTIFUL!! Ridiculously comfortable and so easy to move in! My only issue was that this particular dress had been worn enough that the bottom hem kept flipping up to show the underside of the dress. Not enough to cause any notice (maybe a half an inch), that's just my OCD. I ordered a 6 and a 10 because they were out of 8's. I fit into both but the 6 was just a smudge tighter under the arms than I wanted to deal with so I wore the 10. I absolutely loved this dress and am considering going out and buying one!!!! Also, this being my first time renting from RTR, I was very nervous. I flew from NC out to Phoenix AZ for NYE and had to have my dress delivered to me in AZ but it came right on time, RTR emailed me every time the status changed (updated) so I was never left wondering. They also included goodies in with my order like a NYE hat, garment tape (to keep things in place), and other pamphlets and coupons and I found out the garment bag was mine to keep.....I was surprised by the effort that RTR put into servicing their customers! Definitely a customer for life and plan to return again and again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2012
I was told that I was the "hottest thing there" (at the event) multiple times!
Rarely do I have the opportunity to rent something fancy (-er) from Rent the Runway. This dress was a smash hit. I was called "Marilyn" multiple times throughout the evening from friends and strangers alike, and was even told by a few people that I was the "hottest thing there." Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2012
I received many compliments on my dress all evening. It was comfortable, stylish and I loved everything about this dress! I would highly recommend this dress!
I received many compliments on my dress all evening. It was comfortable, stylish and I loved everything about this dress! I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 26, 2012
I was extremely happy with this dress, it was my first rental. It was very comfortable and had a great fit. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 13, 2012
Got so many compliments from friends! A few people even said they didn't recognize me. Loved this dress!
Thought for sure I would need a larger size for this dress. I was surprised when the smaller of the two sizes fit great. Wore it for a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 6, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning and made me feel like Cinderella :)
This was my first RTR experience and and fell in love right away with this dress :) I wore the dress to a summer wedding and got so many compliments. The dress itself was very comfortable and fit like a glove - perfect if you love dancing! I would recommend ordering the two sizes for this dress - I was glad I ordered the next size than my regular dress size. This dress would be perfect for a wedding or any special event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Great experience with renting, everyone kept asking where I got it from!
I wore this for my bachelorette party in Atlantic City and got so many compliments throughout the night from everyone! The material is very flattering and has lots of stretch. Loved every moment while wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
I loved this dress so much I rented it again for the night after my wedding this fall! I can't wait to wear it again!
This dress was beautiful. The color is very true to size, it fits well and hugs in all the right places. And it's comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 25, 2012
Vegas bachelorette party - went perfectly with my cute veil! :)
It was longer on me than in the picture, but I'm short! It wasn't too long though - still looked fantastic!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2012
hot damn, a sexy dress!
great fit for any body type- rouching is very forgiving. it's a stretchy material so it was really comfortable to dance/walk in. i wore spanx underneath that helped with my tummy. it came to my knee, which was fine since the rest of it was pretty snug- didn't want to be too sexy for this wedding. The arm holes were a little small and the 0 was a little too taut zipping up, which is why i said it runs small. loved it!!! thanks rtr!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 6, 2012
Saved me time/money when Dad had a stoke one week before my wedding...RTR saved me!
It is very fitted around the hip area but also real comfortable and stretchy! The arm holes are small and kind of cut into my arm pits so I actually just wore the 8 for comfort in the upper area of my body. The two sizes almost fit the same in the bottom area! I have a small bust and waist and a little bigger in the hip area!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 2, 2012
I took a risk by wearing a light colored dress as my skin is pale. I'm glad I tried something new.
This dress is not one of my favorite RTR dresses, however, I'm glad I took the risk and had the opportunity to rent something I wouldn't buy let alone really try on. In my opinion the dress has mixed fits. I typically wear an 8, but wore a 10 as the straps cut in a bit in the front underarm area. This did leave the rest of the dress a bit roomier in the waist and hips area, but turned out to be a good thing as it made me feel a little less self conscious for wearing a light metallic fabric with horizontal ruching. But the best thing was knowing that my husband really enjoyed the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2012
LOVED IT!!
This was my first RTR dress and it was perfect! It's true what everyone says... the compliments never stopped coming! It was amazing and I felt so glamorous. Someone even called me a bombshell... wow! RTR is my new best friend!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 153lbs
December 12, 2012
Really loved this service! they made it fast and easy and my designer answered all my questions.
This dress fit great. I ordered an 8 and 10 the 8 fit well but when i sat down you could see unsightly muffin tops. In the size 10 there was no issue. The dress was very comfortable. It was more gold/ champagne color than it looks in the pictures. I wore a nice pair of gold heels and a little gold hand bag. I also wore a little black shrug with it to help stay a little warmer. I had a ton of compliments on this dress and can't wait for an excuse to rent again
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
December 13, 2012
Gorgeous, form-fitting dress!
I absolutely love this dress. It hugs all the right places and is a great color. I did rent one size up as well, which I would recommend to anyone interested in this dress. My regular size *just* fit, but I was very close to needing a size up. It's a matter of comfort, and some women might feel more comfortable having a second option. Still, a gorgeous dress that I would definitely rent again! I wish I had rented some black onyx jewelry to contrast with the color.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2013
Lovely, glamorous, and comfortable.
This dress is simply gorgeous. The color is a light gold, and the ruched waist area hides a multitude of sins during those parties when perhaps you're drinking a few too many fizzy drinks... I'm a petite gal, so I was pleased that the 0 fit me well, particularly when I wore a bra that enhanced that part of my body. Great deal and just beautiful. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 3, 2013
easy delivery and returns, extra days to return to account for NYE
have rented a few times before and had great experiences - this time was no different. fit was great, big hit with the party for NYE, and the boyfriend loved it :) note that the dress is more champagne colored than gold, but wasn't an issue
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
This dress fit beautifully!
I usually wear a 6 in Nicole Miller dresses, but I rented a 4 because the 6 was unavailable. I was pleasantly surprised at the fit of this particular dress. It hugged every inch of my body and was comfortable enough that I could dance (and eat!) in it. This is by far my favorite dress that I have rented from RTR! I would highly, highly recommend it. The pictures online simply do not do it justice. Super glamorous and classy!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
January 8, 2013
Classy and Fun!
This dress was a perfect choice for my first RTR experience. I am usually a size 4 and think that overall fit better but the armholes were very small and kept rubbing. In hindsight I wish I wore that size and dealt with the rubbing. I ended up going with the 6 for more room in the arm pits. The stretch is great - the dress is very comfortable and flattering. The size 6 dress should have been retired - was worn and the bottom lining kept falling down below the dress. But RTR customer service was great when I brought this to their attention after the fact. It's more champagne than it looks in the picture and doesn't need much jewelry to go with it. Just a simple, beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2013
Very cute dress, but too much rouching.
I thought the dress had a bit too much rouching in person. I wore it for my grandparent's golden anniversary party. I loved the sleeves and the cut-out back, but the rest left a little to be desired.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 24, 2013
Classic Glam
I wore this dress to a red carpet event. It was comfortable, very pretty and fit well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2013
I received so many compliments-and I wore this dress to a black tie affair! Love!
The dress is stretchy, which was great considering I was on vacation and eating all weekend! The color was stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments on it! The material is very forgiving and feels great on. Fun dress to dance in as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
I wore this dress to celebrate my Golden birthday!
The dress fit like a glove! It stretches so it was easy to dance in! It also hugs you in all the right places. Its very flattering and I received a ton of compliments! I would definitely rent again! My only concern is that you could tell it had been worn a few times before, but I quickly got over that due to the amount of positive feedback I got. It was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! I would highly recommend!
RTR CustomerJune 7, 2013
What bra did you wear with this?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 3, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect! It was fun & easy to dance in. I got so many amazing compliments!
The dress runs true to size, maybe a little small. It is a very light gold so it was perfect for a winter formal. It is cute and appropriate, but still sexy and fun!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2013
Birthday party in Ft. Lauderdale ( I live in Jersey)!
Loved the dress. The color was beautiful and I normally wear a six, but went with the 8. I only had one problem. The lining hem was coming down on the dress and I had to quickly sew it up for the night. I reported it so hopefully if someone else order the 8, it will be repaired. Very flattering, got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
Beautiful metallic gold!
Very fitted. Fabric is a little thicker than I anticipated but also quite comfortable. Size up, runs a bit snug under the arms. Very flattering length. First RTR rental = success!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 30, 2013
beautiful dress! so comfortable, eye catching, would definitely rent it again!
fits true to size, little snug under the arms.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 20, 2014
Fun dress for work holiday formal! But I ordered too big.
On average, I'm a dress size 2, however only the 0 and 4 were available so I took a chance on it anyways because I loved the look of the dress and the longer length. I'm 5'7 and usually with a size 2, I feel dresses run a bit short on me. The 0 was too small and the 4 was too big but I wore it anyways. I'm sure the 2 would've fit perfectly- so likely "true to size". The 4 was baggy/bunchy and not very flattering for my figure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
August 8, 2010
Perfect for a larger chest, this dress has knockout-wow potential. The straps are on the shorter size so I would avoid if you have a super long torso.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
October 5, 2010
Loved this dress! Wore it for a baptism and got complimented on multiple ocassions. It is true that the straps run a little short or maybe it is because of the fuller bust... not sure but either way it was a great dress. Loved it.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
December 30, 2010
Gorgeous!! I am very tall and this dress was still a great length for me. Although it is a light color it is still very slimming and flattering. When you take it out of the garment bag it looks very small but it is stretch and contours to your body making it a perfect fit for you! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
January 3, 2011
Great NYE dress - It's definitely a little more form fitting that it appears on the model but is extremely flattering! The gold-toned metallic definitely makes you look a bit tanner than you are (I am very fair skinned). It was a big hit and I was almost sad to put it back in the mail!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2011
This dress was absolutely gorgeous! It was elegant but hot. It covered my gut which I loved. It was comfortable and gorgeous and I didn't need any jewelry really to dress it up. I wore it to Vegas and had a lot compliments on it too.
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, very flattering. Only reason I gave it for stars is because I had to pull it down throughout the night as it rode up. I normally wear a size 4 despite my full bust. Ended up wearing the 6 and probably would have been more comfortable in an 8. Other than that like i said great dress!!
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2011
I'm usually a size four and I'm really glad that I ordered a size smaller!! I agree that this dress is for taller girls, I'm 5'5" and it was a bit too long for my liking, but it fell above the knee (like the model). The color seemed to be a bit darker than in the picture, more of a tan/beige. Still a knockout dress!! I highly recommend it! It is great for accentuating your good features and hiding your not so great parts too!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
June 5, 2011
This dress was awful, awful, awful. I can't figure out why so many people liked it or what body type it would look good on. The silhouette was the worst part about it - it was so tight over my butt and thighs that it was extremely unflattering, even on a 5'6'', 120 lb. frame. I honestly looked like a hooker. The neckline was equally bad and made my chest look flat and just plain weird. I wanted to wear this to my own bridal shower hoping the length wouldn't be too short and the ruching would be forgiving, but it was truly a mistake. Try another dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Athletic
June 9, 2011
Very pretty gold color, nice fabric. I liked the neckline. If it hadn't been so form fitting, I think I really would have loved the dress. Unlike others, I did not find that this dress hid my flaws. Think skin tight dress with ruching on top. Even with control top leggings on, it did not look good. I'm 5'7", 143 lbs. 34B, muscular legs and butt. My husband told me he thought it looked like something he'd see a trashy girl in Las Vegas wearing. Ouch! Not the look I was going for to attend his friend's wedding. Sadly, it's going back tomorrow. If you're not a va va va voom girl, I'd try another style.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Large
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2011
Ordered the 2 and 4, thought they both looked tiny, but put on the tiny little 2 and BAM! Perfect fit, great stretch. This dress got SO many compliments, and looked gorgeous in photos. The color is even better in person, and it's insanely comfortable for a cocktail dress...I wish I owned it now!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2011
I rented this dress for an evening wedding and I loved it! It looked small when it arrived but fit perfectly. I am a size 4 in almost everything, and the size 4 worked perfectly. The dress looked great in pictures & I received many compliments. I would definitely recommend this dress!
See more reviews:
8 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×