Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
best dress
wore this at my bridal shower - it was awesome. love the stretchy material too! color was fantastic.i 'm a big fan of nicole miller dresses in this material. they all work well on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect dress for my bachelorette party!
I wore this for a night out during my bachelorette party and I absolutely loved it! It's fitted and super sexy, but the stretchy material made it soooo comfortable for an entire night with lots of dancing. The material was a little bit itchy in the beginning where my arms grazed my sides, but I got used to it quickly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2013
Too tight for my taste
When I tried to put this on it just felt/looked too tight - maybe if I was going out in Vegas but wasn't wedding appropriate. I did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
Runs very, very small
I usually wear an 8 (or a 6 if the item runs a little large). The size 8 in this dress was so small I could barely get it over my shoulders and zipped up; definitely too tight to wear. Glad I brought a "back-up" dress from home.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
June 17, 2013
This dress is stunning - looks exactly like the picture!
I rented this dress for my daughter to wear to a family wedding. She's 5'4'', 110 lbs and usually wears a 0 - 2. We ordered both sizes, and the 0 fit perfectly. It's very flattering, but still keeps everything covered.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2013
I loved the color and how easy it was to find accessories to match.
The dress runs small in the shoulders and arms. I wish I would have ordered a size up instead of down. Fortunately I was still able to fit in the size 2. The dress was very forgiving and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
June 25, 2013
Tons of compliments!
Dress is pretty long for a short girl like myself. I just folded the dress under, and luckily the rouching disguised it. Dress definitely requires a tan. Overall comfortable dress that allows undergarments which are needed to get figure to show through rouching.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
July 14, 2013
Felt comfortable and chic!
I wore this dress to one of many holiday parties my fiance has to attend to for work. I had just cut my hair into a short bop and this dress totally accentuated my new cut! The dress definitely looked like it had been around but not obvious to others. The bottom hem was just a bit loose. I ordered the 2 and 4. They both fit great. I went with the 4 only because I'm busty and the 2 felt just a bit more constraining. Overall I was very pleased with the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 23, 2013
Fabulous Choice
I rented this dress for my 25th Class Reunion and I felt like the Belle of the Ball. There is loads of give with this dress... very stretchy so you can be confident in ordering the size you typically wear. With all the ruching, you can pull it down or wear it slightly higher on the leg. I will say that the material IS very scratchy and it did irritate the skin under my arms. Dress arrived in time and was packaged nicely... ready to wear out of the box. Thank you to Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Body type: Apple
July 29, 2013
Not my favorite RTR dress
I was disappointed that I didnt absolutely love this dress. I love Nicole Miller because normally her dresses fit me really well but I didnt think this one was very flattering. I felt self-conscious all night about the shape of my body because its very form fitting and not at all structured. The material was hurting under my arm all night too. I did like the fact that this dress was more of a gold and not pearl, as it looks on the model.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 3, 2013
"I don't know who you are but you are beautiful"
I rented this dress for a wedding and the compliments didn't stop the entire night! During cocktail hour a wedding guest walked up to me and said "I don't know who you are but you are beautiful!" The dress was a huge hit, and it was further complimented by the gorgeous Alexis Bittar Fern Drop earrings and House of Harlow Newly Minted Clutch that I also rented. Sadly I don't have any pictures as my phone broke hours before the event. I recommend this dress for anyone who wants to look and feel sexy without "letting it all hang out." This dress is a tasteful standout, and many of my compliments came from women older than myself!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
August 6, 2013
Perfect for a Bride on her Bachelorette Party!
Dress fit comfortably everywhere- Thank God for stretch! I felt great not wearing a bra with it, and everything stayed in place. The one and only uncomfortable thing was where the dress met my armpits... I felt like it cut in a little, but it wasn't bad enough that it stopped the party! Can't wait to rent my next dress!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 8, 2013
Awesome
I usually wear a size 2, but this it was too tight in the chest. I do have a large rib cage so I am glad I ordered the 4. Was so fun to wear a classic dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2013
Loved this dress, but didn't wear it
I tried to rent this dress for a wedding. Unfortunately the size I needed (8) was not available because the person who wore it before me had damaged the dress. RTR was nice enought to send me another dress of my choosing, at no additional cost, and I ended up wearing that dress instead, even though they sent me the next size up (10) in this dress. I would like to try to rent this dress again though if it is available in my size and, as always, KUDOS to the RTR cusotmer service staff!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2013
Showstopper
I love this dress. I rented it for my birthday in Vegas. Heads were turning, it looked stunning, and my husband loved it. It hugs the curves, but if you have broad shoulders or muscular arms, it might feel a bit snug. It's very tight through the chest, so if you're busty, it will be uncomfortable. The dress I received had some stains down the front and I got lucky I had a matching scarf that I draped over the stains, but I was a bit disappointed with the condition of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
October 3, 2013
I felt like a celebrity
It fits very tight, in a good way! The fabric fit perfectly against my curves and I felt amazing in it. I received tons of compliments and loved it. The fabric is thicker than it seems though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Returned for fit
I returned this dress for some issues it had. One side was really pilled, like someone had leaned or sat on something brick that shredded it up a little. However, the return process was easy and customer service was great! I was sad to lose my shipping and insurance money, though. It would have probably been a nice dress if it hadn't been so worn, and I'm sure that problem has been rectified by now.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 29, 2013
I wore this to a red carpet fundraising event.
This fabric has little give. The straps can be snug too.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2013
This dress was very comfortable
I wanted a dress that would be comfortable and easy to dance in. This was the perfect choice! I thought the fit was flattering as well since it hugs the body but the material bunches so it hides any imperfections. I ordered a size 0 and 2. Both sizes fit fine but I opted for the 2 for more room in the arm area.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
Wore it to senior formal
This dress was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2012
Decent
A little worn out, the inside part of the dress kept peeking out from the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 10, 2014
Received a pretty used dress
This dress looks gorgeous on-line. Unfortunately, I think the dress I received had seen better days. It seemed stretched out in certain places, the hemline hung unevenly and the material was pilling in places. Too bad. Gorgeous dress!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 6, 2014
LOVED this dress. Got sooo many compliments.
I felt so comfortable in this dress. It fit great, gave me support in all the right areas and hid my insecurities.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 3, 2014
I wasn't 100% comfy but still got tons of compliments
Goergeous dress. A little unforgiving to non flat bellies but I was forewarned there. Very well crafted.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Body type: Hourglass
May 29, 2014
Graduation dress
I liked this dress for graduation. It was slimming and fit me well. Not colorful enough for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
July 13, 2014
Not for me
Not flattering at all. I did not wear this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
July 27, 2014
Wearing a gorgeous dress that fit well, always make for happier moments :)
Great fit, no complaints :)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2014
wore this on my wedding day as my after party dress... it was perfect!
great fit
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 18, 2014
Felt like a bride-to-be at my engagement party!
Loved this dress! I wore it for my engagement party and got tons of compliments. The style is very flattering as it hugs your figure but the rouching hides those little flaws. It is a beautiful ivory color with a silky sheen. It was also surprisingly comfortable because it has a bit of stretch to it. I ended up wearing the smaller size because of the stretch. It did have one small stain on the back, but nothing a Tide-to-Go pen couldn't fix.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
January 12, 2015
Great dress
I wore this dress to a Christmas party that we hosted at our home. It was comfortable and cute. I got many compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 18, 2015
Prefect Bachelorette Dress
It was a great fit and very flattering. The only thing I didn't like was that it rubbed under my arms and I was very sore there by the end of the night.
View photos (2)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 30, 2010
I love this dress it was so cute. It was a little darker then the pictures color but still so cute! Made me look very tan and made it look like i had a big butt!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
October 6, 2010
I loved this dress! I rented it for a girls' trip to Vegas, and I felt absolutely stunning! I agree it hugs you in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 25, 2010
I wear a 4 and am a 34D... this fit true to size and the bust wasn't constricting. Liked the back a lot!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
January 5, 2011
Gorgeous dress! It's not as shimmery/white as the picture makes it seem, but it is a light gold. It hides any flaws and is great for a curvy body. Very classy and fun!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
January 14, 2011
My 2 best friends and I all tried on this dress and all fell in love- despite the fact that we have totally different chest sizes, A,B, & D.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2011
This DRESS is the bomb --- I loved it. Looks even better when you have a tan. The wrinkles in the fabric hide the trouble spots nicely.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
November 18, 2015
Stunning. I got so many compliments.
I felt so comfortable in it which is surprising because it is very form fitting.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 4, 2015
Perfect Fit
This is the best dress for dancing, the fabric has some stretch to it but not an excessive amount. The color isn't too bright but enough that it's very pretty. Fit was right on for my body type. You could easily dress this up or down so it would be good for many different occasions.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
October 20, 2011
For one, it was my wedding so of course it was amazing. I enjoyed my little "party dress" to complete that wow look halfway through the reception when my wedding dress got to be too much! :)
perfect fit! it doesn't matter what body type you have, its slimming and hugs every curve you want to show off! and its so comfortable and you don't have to worry about it riding up. it gives your body that WOW factor.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
7 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×