Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size294
Small57
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
July 15, 2012
Not only a gorgeous dress but also a comfortable one! Thanks Rent the Runway!!!
Absolutely LOVED this dress! So comfortable and stretchy! I wore this to a wedding and got tons of compliments! The neckline and back are just gorgeous! Thanks Rent the Runway!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
July 13, 2012
Got so many compliments from friends! A few people even said they didn't recognize me. Loved this dress!
Thought for sure I would need a larger size for this dress. I was surprised when the smaller of the two sizes fit great. Wore it for a rehearsal dinner and received tons of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
July 12, 2012
Great Dress!
I ordered this dress in a size 6 which is my true size. I went to a summer wedding and received so many compliments. The color is more gold and fits the body perfectly for a sexy look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
June 26, 2012
I was extremely happy with this dress, it was my first rental. It was very comfortable and had a great fit. I will definitely be renting again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 142lbs
June 8, 2012
Beautiful, but didn't fit
I should have ordered it several days before I needed it in case it didn't fit. I couldn't get this zipped up at the bustline. When I got it all but about an inch away from zipped up, it cut off circulation at the arms. I ended up sending it back. It fit everywhere else but the bustline for me. Such a great looking dress - too bad!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
June 3, 2012
Amazing
I wore this dress to my engagement party. It is stunning. I had strangers coming up to me telling me that it was georgeous! The fit runs true to size. The neck line is also not to short for someone who has a larger cup size.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2012
Curvy girl - fits perfect :)
I absolutely love this dress! I'm a tall girl, 5'10 and was worried that it would be too short. Not to mention I have curves.... It ended up turning out perfect! I wore it for my bachelorette party and couldn't have felt better! :)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Body type: Full Bust
May 26, 2012
Loved the dress- Loved the service- Love turning 21- perfect night in the perfect dress
Absolutely loved this dress and can not say enough things about it- perfect size, perfect color, runs a little longer than expected but folded up perfectly! Wore this dress for my 21st birthday in Boston and got compliments all night =) LOVE the dress and loved the service! Perfect experience from Rent the runway and will absolutely be using this site more in the future
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2012
Show-stopper for Wedding
I wore this to a formal wedding and could not have been happier. Compliments all night. The color is more gold than is pictured, so no risk to be "too white". The fit is so flattering, and I'd object with the comments below that it runs too small. Nicole Miller does sometimes run small (which is why I got a 2 vs a 4), but I'd say If anything, maybe a bit big -- doesnt matter either way because it is a Nicole Miller famed "perfect stretch" with her thick fabric and flattering "wrinkles". Lots of room to work with here, and you have the option of the layer to put underneath. I did both with and without that - didn't make a huge difference. Beautiful choice - so glad I went with this one!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 168lbs
May 8, 2012
The amazing customer service!!
All I can say is one word! Fabulous! I rented this dress for my bachelorette party and it could not have been more perfect!! Fit is amazing!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
May 7, 2012
The dress arrived right on time - two days before the event - so I could try it out and still have time to buy another dress if it didn't work. The dress came with additional accessories like double-sided tape, and you got to keep the dress bag! The process was super simple, and I would definitely do it again! Best compliment: An old classmate said she always looked forward to seeing what I would wear and wasn't disappointed!
After reading all of the positive reviews, I had to rent it for a friend's wedding. And I wasn't disappointed! Like other reviews have said, the fit was amazing. Whatever the material is, it hugs your curves and hides all of the flaws. I received a lot of compliments and couldn't be happier with how it turned out.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2012
Lots of compliments.
I am 5'10" and it's difficult for me to find a form-fitting dress that isn't too short. I was very pleased with it, especially the back which I received many compliments about. Two issues: the armpits were kind of snug but I have broader shoulders that don't really "match" my waist size and I received a size 4 that had a noticeable stain on the bottom. I am very glad and lucky that the 2 didn't have anything wrong with it. Overall, excellent pick.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
April 18, 2012
This dress was a knockout!
I'm not sure words can describe how much I loved this dress. I had rented a size 10 and 12 and I was VERY pleased that the 10 fit perfectly. There were only one small issue I had with this dress. The first one is the arms came up right into the armpits and caused a lot of rubbing. I was a bit red in the underarm area and on the backs of my arms from rubbing against the dress all night. Everywhere I went people asked me where I got this dress and I happily told them it was from RTR! I can't wait to rent this dress again for my friends wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 26, 2012
Stunning & fits like a glove!
This dress fits true to size and shows off everything you want to accentuate and hides everything you else!! I wore this for a cocktail/semiformal charity event for the Bridgetown Music Foundation and got compliments from numerous people there! Nicole Miller never fails me!! Loved it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
March 19, 2012
Loved it!
I could have gone with the size 2 in the body, but the cut of the arms was tight and the 4 was more comfortable. Fit great, hides all the imperfections.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 17, 2012
Beautiful Dress
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and it was a hit. Looked tiny when I took it out of the bag but fit like a glove. The color is great with a tan. Very comfortable and flattering. It is very fitted so if you have any body issues I would not recommend this dress.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
March 4, 2012
Great for a wedding!
This dress is very form fitting. It hugs all the right areas and is stretchy. It was pretty comfortable and I was able to dance all night but it does rub a little in the underarm area. Up close you can tell the dress has been worn numerous times but still looked very nice. This was my first time renting from RTR and have to say it was a fabulous experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2012
I received many compliments on my dress all evening. It was comfortable, stylish and I loved everything about this dress! I would highly recommend this dress!
I received many compliments on my dress all evening. It was comfortable, stylish and I loved everything about this dress! I would highly recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
February 19, 2012
RTR's stylist definitely helped me with my entire look....:)
This dress was perfect. It was definitely fitted like the other reviews say and although I'm always several different sizes (lol) The 8 was perfect but somewhat hoochie so I opted for my back up dress of a size 10 as suggested by the chat stylist which was very helpful. However, I wore it to a French Embassy gala event and it was perfect! Especially since I didn't want to wear a long gown like all the other women. Overall, satisfied and can't wait for my next rental!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 15, 2012
PERFECT DRESS FOR ME!!!
Absolutely GORGEOUS dress. I am curvy, 5'4", 120 pounds and the size 6 was perfect. My husband LOVED it and my 5 year old daughters' jaw dropped in amazement when I tried it on. I wore it to our local Humane Society's Dog Ball and got many compliments. I will not hesitate to order again from RentTheRunway. I got the package as scheduled and in perfect shape. Returns are so easy, just pop the dresses in the bag provided and drop off at your local post office. Can't get any easier than that! Thank you Rent the Runway!!!!!!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
February 15, 2012
Everyone loved it!
it was pretty accurate and stretchy so if anything it runs bigger than normal. but it worked for me
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
February 15, 2012
perfect
This dress was so comfortable and such a pretty color. It fit great and hid anything you want to hide while accentuating everything you want to accentuate. Defintely a great rent!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 13, 2012
Awesome first RTR experience!
I rented this dress for my Bachelorette party in Atlantic City. I absolutely loved it! The fit was great, hugged all the right places, but was still stretchy so it was comfy. Only (tiny) complaint was that it was a little tight under the arms. Also, the color was slightly more gold than in the picture. I received many compliments! I will definitely be using RTR again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2012
I was told that I was the "hottest thing there" (at the event) multiple times!
Rarely do I have the opportunity to rent something fancy (-er) from Rent the Runway. This dress was a smash hit. I was called "Marilyn" multiple times throughout the evening from friends and strangers alike, and was even told by a few people that I was the "hottest thing there." Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 23, 2012
Magical from the moment I put the dress on until the moment I took it off :)
This dress fits like a glove. It hugs all the right areas and the stretchy material makes it comfortable to wear and dance the night away, which is what I did :) I love Nicole Miller and own some of her dresses and they always deliver! Love the dress, love this website and LOVED all the compliments I got throughout the night!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 16, 2012
I loved the extra details; the little perfume and the new years eve crown, it was a nice touch.
Totally flattering to any figure. Runs pretty true to size. Flexible material makes for an amazingly comfortable fit. Absolutely loved it.
BritNovember 8, 2012
We are the same age, and size, thanks for posting!! now I know this will look great on me too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 167lbs
January 15, 2012
I was complimented so many times by men and women alike! One guy told me my dress was "Boom!" lol
I read the reviews about this dress and looked at all the pictures before finally choosing this dress. The reviews made me think this dress would be more gold than what it actually turned out to be. Even though it wasn't as gold as I expected, it was BEAUTIFUL!! Ridiculously comfortable and so easy to move in! My only issue was that this particular dress had been worn enough that the bottom hem kept flipping up to show the underside of the dress. Not enough to cause any notice (maybe a half an inch), that's just my OCD. I ordered a 6 and a 10 because they were out of 8's. I fit into both but the 6 was just a smudge tighter under the arms than I wanted to deal with so I wore the 10. I absolutely loved this dress and am considering going out and buying one!!!! Also, this being my first time renting from RTR, I was very nervous. I flew from NC out to Phoenix AZ for NYE and had to have my dress delivered to me in AZ but it came right on time, RTR emailed me every time the status changed (updated) so I was never left wondering. They also included goodies in with my order like a NYE hat, garment tape (to keep things in place), and other pamphlets and coupons and I found out the garment bag was mine to keep.....I was surprised by the effort that RTR put into servicing their customers! Definitely a customer for life and plan to return again and again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
January 10, 2012
This was my first rental and have already reserved my next dress for a wedding in May.
I was very happy with how this dress looked! There could be a little more room or give in the under arm area, it seemed a little tight but other than that it was great! It was super comfortable besides the under arm area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 9, 2012
Just OK
The color of this dress is much prettier in person than in pictures. I was super excited to try it on. Unfortunately, the fit wasn't great. I usually wear a size 2, but had to wear the backup size 4. The size 2 cinched my waist perfectly and hit the right spot on my leg, but the straps were too short so the dress came up really high on my underarms & the neckline hit an awkward place on my chest. I opted to wear the bigger size so the neckline would look nice, but my body was more frumpy. Overall, the dress was pretty but it wasn't flattering.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Love it!
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and it was fabulous. I received lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
So easy, fun and inexpensive. I love bragging about it too!
I loved the dress. It was so comfortable, lots of wiggle room (if you know what I mean).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
January 5, 2012
Decent
A little worn out, the inside part of the dress kept peeking out from the bottom.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
Feeling gorgeous in a beautiful designer dress!
Very forgiving material...this dress has a light gold sheen that was perfect for the holiday season. The length was great as it hit mid thigh on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
January 4, 2012
RTR was so easy to use & extremely convenient! Although wearing these gorgeous dresses makes you want to keep them............If you can't afford a $500+ dress, renting is the way to go! Especially for a dress that you may only wear once or twice. :)
This dress fit so well! It was so hard to pack it up to ship it back, I wanted to keep it!! I've never felt so amazing in any other dress before! I highly recommend this dress to anyone who wants to look fab for the night! I wore it for NYE & got compliments all night long!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 4, 2012
I didn't have to worry about dress shopping or anyone having the same dress as me. It worked out great!
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve party. It is stretchy so it fit great on curves. Very comfortable to move around and dance in. The dress is more gold than it appears in the photo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
January 3, 2012
A complete random stopped to ask if this was a 'Nicole Miller.' I was thrilled to tell her yes!
I absolutely loved wearing this dress! I wore it for my boyfriend's Company Holiday Party and I recieved so many compliments. I was definitely a statement piece in the sea of black cocktail dresses; yet it was tasteful and elegant. This dress is perfect for every body type.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 220lbs
January 3, 2012
Feeling gorgeous all night and comfortable in a designer dress.
I rented this dress for New Year's Eve. I got a 10 and a 12. Although stretchy material I felt more comfortable in the 12, but the 10 would have been fine,it was just a preference of mine. The larger size wasn't as form fitting. This dress was comfortable to move in and I got tons of compliments! RTR called me after I made my order and they added some Kate Spade earrings as a bonus to complete the look. It was a great personal touch. Everything about NYE this year was memorable and I would definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
January 2, 2012
Had a great NYE and the dress made it even better! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off me.
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve event. I loved the color, which is a light gold that almost appears to glow in the right light. It stood out from all the other LBD's that were worn that night. It was also very comfortable. The material is very stretchy, so it's easy to move around in. I would say the dress fit fairly true to size however, I have a more athletic build and the 4 was tight around my shoulders and chest. Therefore, I decided to wear the 6 whose length I liked better anyhow. I assume this dress does get rented a lot and there were some signs of wear, mostly on the inside. The material on the inside of the straps were somewhat pilled and a little itchy. Overall though I thought it was a great dress, well worth the rental price.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 1, 2012
This RTR experience make me feel like the belle of the ball with all the compliments I received!
I wore this dress to a summer wedding and received so many nice comments about it! I normally wear a 4, but the 6 also fit almost perfectly too. It's very comfortable and breathable, making it a great warm weather rental. The color is true to the picture, as well as the "crinkle" effect. The only drawback is that for a more broad-shouldered/bigger busted person, the top on the 4 was a bit snug (although I still wore it). I'd recommend sizing up. To sum it up, I loved wearing this dress and would rent it again!
KristynJanuary 27, 2012
I want to rent this for a wedding, but it looks pretty white in the pictures. Was it more gold in person?
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 31, 2011
I got compliments all night long on how great the dress looked on me. It was so easy and much better than buying this dress! It came right on time and was so easy to ship back! They gave me everything to go with this dress and even let me keep the hanging bag! RTR made my night fabulous!
This dress looks awesome on! Its stretchy and comfortable. I got lots of compliments on it all night!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
7 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×