Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size294
Small57
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 5, 2012
Perfect Dress!
I rented this dress for a friend's October wedding, and I absolutely LOVED it. I've never had so many compliments about how great I looked. All the groomsmen (who I went to high school with) kept hitting on me before the wedding and at the reception!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 5, 2012
Everyone made a comment about how pretty my dress was. It was the center of attention and made introductions and small talk very easy.
Loved it. Conversation starter. Fit well. Very flattering. Hides extra weight. Many compliments
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 5, 2012
Pretty dress
Wore this to a friends wedding. Fits true to size, very pretty and got lots of compliments, however if you don't like tight dresses you won't like this one...its pretty tight and i found it hard to dance in. Other than that it was great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
September 4, 2012
Feeling all dressed up and looking A-OK for an old lady!
I wanted a sexy but classic dress for a dinner out with the husband & drinks with friends. This ran a little bit tight, and the dress itself was a bit more worn than others I've rented from RTR, but it worked just fine. I'd give it a B. Probably would've gotten an A- if it hadn't been so popular (& was in better shape!). Hubby loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
Loved getting the 2 sizes. It was so helpful!
This dress was great! I got a lot of compliments. My only complaint is that there were a few stains on the dress that you could only see in certain lighting. Overall great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 30, 2012
AWESOME NIGHT OUT DRESS!
Love this dress. Fits true to size and is super flattering. Just be careful of the color of the dress and skin tones- I would have preferred a darker color but besides that it was awesome :)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Body type: Hourglass
August 29, 2012
Great dress
I am in between sizes and the fit was great, gave me great room.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
August 29, 2012
Amazing dress!
Great dress. Zipper was a little stiff but otherwise it fits very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2012
Nice dress for a wedding
Classic Nicole Miller - you really can't go wrong with her dresses - they are very sexy and flattering to a woman's body. My only problem with this one was the color was not exactly as appears in photos - it was a little on the dull side. It is also def clingy - but at the same time it has a lining that hides flaws somewhat. I didn't feel like I needed to wear spanx with it but some people may want to. I also don't think it would be great for super busty girls. I am a B cup and felt like it was a little snug in the bustline area even though the rest of the dress fit.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
August 28, 2012
I loved everyone asking where I got my dress and also knowing no one else would have it!
I ordered a 2 and a 4 and went with the 4, only because it gave me more "dancing" room. It is classy and not too short. Snug and form-fitting though! stretchy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
August 28, 2012
Never Wore it
The arm holes are sooo small, make sure you go up at least one size if not 2! I never ended up wearing it, but the color was very pretty.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 28, 2012
Being the best dress at the wedding!
I was invited to a wedding in Pottsville, PA (home of Yueling Brewery!) and I knew I would dazzle with this rental. Not to bash all of my PA friends, but us city folk know how to dress to a wedding!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
Fabulous Night Out on the Town
I wore this dress for a "black tie optional" awards dinner in Washington DC for the company my husband works for. It was our first time at this annual dinner, so I didn't want to be too over dressed or too under dressed. This dress worked out PERFECT! I was already a big fan of Nicole Miller. I think her dresses are so figure flattering. And I wanted a summer color for this August event (most of the formal dresses I own are black). The gold was beautiful, and I paired it with new gold earrings and gold strappy heels I already had. I felt wonderful in it all night. One note, it definitely hugs your body. So make sure you are wearing seamless underwear. You don't want any bulges or rolls! I have an athletic build so it made me feel curvy even though I'm not.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 27, 2012
Great dress
Ordered a 2 and a 4...the 2 felt just a bit snug so went with the 4. It fit great and looked amazing!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
August 27, 2012
Did not look attractive
Did NOT look attractive on me at all. I've got broad shoulders and wide hips, with a smaller waist.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
Loved it!!
I wore this to a summer wedding and it was such a hit! I have a pear shape body and am short and this dress looked great. The material fit great to my body and was very flattering. Would definitely pick again!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 113lbs
August 21, 2012
Damaged and not by me
This dress is very pretty. However, I was charged an extra $50 for a damaged dress and as MANY MANY reviews have previously stated, the dress came looking like it had been around the block few times. The zipper was shotty and the bottom had been folded up one too many times. I didn't care because for fifty bucks at a dark wedding, I thought it looked great. I would highly suggest photographing the dress when you receive it and prior to returning so that you can prove it was the girls before you who "folded up the dress to make it shorter" or who were maybe squeezing into the wrong size or had too much to drink so that you are not charged this fee. This dress has many many reviews regarding wear and tear and I am the unfortunate one who has to pay for it. I will not be using RTR again.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2012
Pretty dress
This was a pretty dress in the photos, but it did not look good on me when I tried it on.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
August 18, 2012
Many Compliments!
I wore this dress for my at-home reception and loved it. I received so many compliments and it is very flattering. No major complaints!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 16, 2012
loved it!
ran just a little small, but I expected that of Nicole Miller
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
August 16, 2012
Another winner
This dress was beautiful but simple, not to much. The only downsize is the dress is a little short.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Body type: Apple
August 16, 2012
pretty
didn't fit sending it back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 16, 2012
Lovely
Wore this for my rehearsal dinner, and ended up with NO PHOTOS! Anyway, the fit was snug but not small, it hugged in all the right places and smoothed all the other ones. Loved this creamy number.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 16, 2012
Sexy dress :)
I wore this dress for my wedding after-party. I love that this dress comes in stretchy material that ensures a perfect fit. I usually wear a 4, but I have a particularly small waist so I wore the 2 to avoid any awkward bunching, which you can do in this dress because it stretches just enough at the bust and waist to allow flexible sizing. It was super comfortable, didn't ride up, and was a great dress to continue the wedding festivities at our beach house dance party late into the night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 15, 2012
Great dress!
I wore this dress for a party. Everything about the dress was great--my only complaint is that the arm holes (for lack of a better word here) were a little on the tight side. I'm pretty petite so I didn't really see that coming. Glad I ordered both the 0 (my typical size) and the 2. Oh yeah, and I guess I should say this was a costume party.
EmilyOctober 16, 2012
What type of shoes did you wear with your dress??
ElizabethDecember 14, 2012
Because this was a super-hero themed costume party, I wore tall brown boots. I don't think that I would do that if I had been wearing it for another occasion. I think you could do gold or a neutral pump though.
nancyDecember 20, 2012
Where did the dress hit on your legs? I want to wear it for NYE and want it to be more on the mini side. I'm 5'0, would fashion tape work to shorten it?
ElizabethDecember 20, 2012
Hi Nancy, the dress hit me roughly mid-thigh, on average. I say "on average" because it did sneak up a bit throughout the night. If I remember correctly, RTR included fashion tape with the shipment (so helpful!). I didn't use it but think it would work if you needed to shorten the dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 15, 2012
I loved this dress so much I rented it again for the night after my wedding this fall! I can't wait to wear it again!
This dress was beautiful. The color is very true to size, it fits well and hugs in all the right places. And it's comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
August 13, 2012
Could have been better
The color of the dress is a very nice muted gold. The fit seem like it could be true to size, but my bust won't allow me to wear my true size, so i am a little biased. I don't think the fit is very good though. Much of the elastic in the dress seems to have disappeared. The inner lining is so loose, it kept coming out from the hem of the dress, so people kept coming up to me to pull the dress down to hide the lining. Also, there is some fraying on the shoulders. All in all a pretty dress, but very clearly used and worn many times, kinda spoils the effect of wearing a dress that is supposed to be stunning. Maybe time to retire or replace this one.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
August 13, 2012
Loved this dress and am trying to find an event to wear it again (with a different crowd/group of friends) because of how great I felt and the compliments I received!
I rented this for our 6th wedding in 2010 and loved it! After an unsuccessful rent, having this dress fit and work was amazing. It was so flattering and eye catching but not too in your face either. I'm so tall, that I tend to worry about the length of dresses, but this hit right above my knee. I received so many compliments, and the wedding photographer of this wedding (we ended up using as our own) when we met over a year later, he recalled that I was the "girl in the gold dress!"
AshleyJanuary 16, 2013
I am also worried about the length of dresses as I am almost 6 foot myself. Could you let me know what other dresses worked for you? I haven't rented yet. Looking to rent soon. Thanks so much! You looked great in this by the way :)
SarahJanuary 22, 2013
Ashley, thanks :) And I've had success with renting from Halston Heritage (sunny days dress) and a Nanette Lepore dress (Navy lacey crew dress) But Nicole Miller is definitely great when it comes to length for us tall gals :) Hope this helps!
ElizabethFebruary 21, 2013
I love your shoes! I'm also pretty tall, but I love heels, so I'm always on the lookout for cute heels that aren't too high. Mind telling me the brand/style?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
August 13, 2012
Great experience with renting, everyone kept asking where I got it from!
I wore this for my bachelorette party in Atlantic City and got so many compliments throughout the night from everyone! The material is very flattering and has lots of stretch. Loved every moment while wearing it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 13, 2012
Perfect Engagement Photos!
This dress is an absolute knock out. I can't imagine anyone not looking great in it. It's a snug fit, but you can't tell once you have it on. It's super comfortable. I rented this dress for our engagement photos and then ended up wearing it to a wedding later that night. As always with RTR, I got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
August 12, 2012
Good go-to dress.
The dress was cute and really flattering on my body. The runching looks good on everyone and hides your tummy. I didn't end up wearing it out, but I definitely would have. The shiny texture makes it pretty dressy. My only complaint is that it looked like the dress had seen better days - it was a little worn.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
August 11, 2012
Super flattering
I rented this for a reunion and it was extremely flattering! The ruching helps to hide any problem areas and the stretchy fit hugs your body in the right places!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
August 10, 2012
Being in a comfortable dress
Absolutely loved this dress! Fit amazingly!! I would highly recommend is dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 9, 2012
Cute and fun dress
I wore this to a formal event in January, it was simple and elegant. M only complaint would be the armholes cut into my sides just a bit. I'm around 34C so if you have a smaller bsut this should be a problem. It was a perfec dress for the event
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
August 8, 2012
the confidence in knowing that i chose a great dress thanks to the reviews and photos and fit guide- I'm a girl that HAS to try on before I buy- and this process made it so easy!! I felt beautiful in that dress and I cant wait to rent again!!
I wore this for a wedding and I got a TON of compliments! it fit perfectly and was a great material that was forgiving and breathable for dancing! It did like to creep up a bit while dancing but what dress doesnt? I would recommend it anyone and I would even rent this exact dress again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
August 8, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress!
This fabric definitely stretches so I would recommend going down a size. I'm usually a size 8 however the 6 was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 6, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning and made me feel like Cinderella :)
This was my first RTR experience and and fell in love right away with this dress :) I wore the dress to a summer wedding and got so many compliments. The dress itself was very comfortable and fit like a glove - perfect if you love dancing! I would recommend ordering the two sizes for this dress - I was glad I ordered the next size than my regular dress size. This dress would be perfect for a wedding or any special event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 1, 2012
Amazing times with my friends and didn't blow a ton of money on the dress that made my night AMAZING!
I wore this for my bachelorette party and the only con was that it may have been a little too long. Truthfully though, all I did was pull it up and roll it up. It was amazing. I felt perfect and got tons of compliments. The rest of the reviews were right. I REALLLY want to buy this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
July 17, 2012
RTR has great, easy service and I can't wait until my next event so I can rent another dress!
I rented this dress for my birthday party and couldn't have been happier with it. It was definitely form-fitting but super comfortable because of the stretchy fabric. I loved the color, beautiful pale gold that complimented my skin and in pictures looked more metallic which was very pretty. Got so many compliments. I paired it with darker gold shoes and earrings which I thought might be too much gold, but it all really worked together and I loved my look!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
July 16, 2012
Runs a little big
I ordered the 6 and 4. I tried on the 6 first and am so glad that I had the 4. The fit was great but the fabric was a little on the itchy side and while dancing it did seem to get shorter and shorter. But overall happy with the rental
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×