Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(58)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
October 5, 2012
dress fit just right
the zipper along the side caused it to bunch funny
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
October 6, 2012
Great dress, definitely unique in style and class...
Fit nice, the rucheting made any irregularities in my stomach disappear. Length was just above knee. Comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
October 14, 2012
Great concert dress, perfect for Vegas strip!
It was tight looking, but flattering. Tight in the shoulders but comfortable everywhere else. I could have probably used a bigger size, but thats not the dress' fault.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 18, 2012
Well this won't let me download and the dress looked spectacular!
This is her Mom filling this out...she loved the look..(as did I)...and she said it felt a little wierd...I ignored that because she looked so awesome. :) She looked like a model! And it wore beautifully.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
October 20, 2012
Great, easy dress - very flattering.
A really easy tube to slide into, wear a bra with, not think about for the rest of the night. Fit great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 21, 2012
Loved it and so did everyone else!
It felt true to size. Arrived quickly and came with everything I needed (including two sided tape!).
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2012
Dress fit true to size and was very stunning!
Received a lot of compliments throughout the evening. Unfortunately, the hem kept falling out from under the dress which was slightly annoying. Other than that, I loved the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 46
Body type: Hourglass
October 29, 2012
perfect dress for Vegas!
great dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
October 31, 2012
BEST Experience!!!
Very fitted great for the event. Rose up alot but was a great dress overall. Worth the buy and time.
desireeNovember 6, 2012
you look pretty, glamorous, sexy and elegant! Score!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
November 5, 2012
It was a little darker than the picture shows, but it's true otherwise. Forgiving in the stomach.
The dress has a button at the nape of the neck. The button was literally hanging by a thread when I got it. At the wedding I was at, there was a bathroom attendant that re-sewed the button back on for me, so then I had no issues. I was a little annoyed that the dress would come in that condition, but thankfully it was fixable and I was not penalized. In the picture I have uploaded, you can see why this button would be important as the dress does fit nicely along the shoulders.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
November 6, 2012
Lots of compliments!
Beautiful dress and a bit stretchy so great for dancing..really showed my cleavage :) was glad I got the 10 as the 8 would have been too tight.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
November 7, 2012
I was impressed with the presentation and the details that went into the experience.
Rent the Runway really knows what they're doing! I was so impressed with the presentation and delivery of the dresses (even the pre-labled bag to ship the dress back). The preparation and details that went into the experience were impeccable... Until, I tried the dresses on... I hate to say it, but it was very visible to see the wear and tear on the size I preferred to wear (4). It looked like the zipper and button on the back of the dress had been replaced (a different color thread was used, you could tell if you compared the two dresses), the several dry-cleaning/washings left the lining visible in multiple places along the dress, and the texture of the fabric had obviously seen better days. The other size (2) was in much better condition, the dress looked as if it maybe had been worn once before. The sizes seemed pretty similar but I loved the overall appearance of the second dress more so. Unfortunately, the cut around the shoulders was just too tight. Long story short, I decided to go for the 4 (rather be comfortable) but I was constantly adjusting the straps and the bottom of the dress to make sure the lining wasn't visible. I will absolutely use RTR again! As for constructive criticism, I would suggest and closer evaluation of those dress that are ready to retire. Overall, friends still said the dress was stunning :) Thanks RTR!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2012
I felt great in this dress. My husband couldn't stop telling me how sexy I looked in it!
I ordered both a size 8 and size 10 and ended up wearing the 10. While I fit into the size 8, I have broader shoulders and the top portion was going to be too tight and cut in under my arm pits. The fabric is very stretchy (and forgiving) and comfortable! I'm 5'6" and it hit me a couple of inches above the knee. This dress looks a bit more gold in the pictures. It is more creamy colored. Thanks RenttheRunway for helping make me look great without breaking the bank!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
November 12, 2012
Loved it. Got tons of complements.
I ordered this dress in a size 6 and 8. Both fit, but I actually liked the slightly looser fit of the 8. The 8 was also a little longer, so it made the dress look more elegant. The size 6 looked a little bit better for a night out, not a wedding. Overall, this dress was great. I received a lot of complements and people asking me about the dress, designer, etc. I recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was amazing. It fit like a glove and was very flattering!
I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. It was perfect for a winter holiday party. I had random people come up to me and compliment me and ask what designer it was.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
I felt (and looked) like a bombshell! It was amazing, great fit.
I wore this for my anniversary date. Italian, movie, comedy club. I have an hourglass figure with a full bust which is hard to cover some times. But the dress fit like a glove, was actually warm with the lining. Easy fit..but did need help with zipper and was tight on underarms. Overall; and amazing dress that I wish I could keep.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2012
A memorable holiday date night with my love!
The dress fit great! Definitely recommend shapewear, but otherwise it flatters every shape and hites the flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
Everyone loved the back of this dress and I got a ton of complements!
Fit true to size. I wore it with a regular strapless bra and spanx. It is VERY tight fitting. I am tall and was worried it would be too short for this formal event, but it was perfect. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
It was nice that I could rent a back up just in case the first dress didn't work out.
Did not end up wearing this one, it was a backup.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and got tons of compliments!
The dress was gorgeous. Loved the gold color. The dress has a "sheen" to it, but it is not tacky looking. I got tons of compliments on the dress and it is extremely comfortable to wear! The only downside is that the dress is clearly a popular one and had been worn many times before me. The liner at the bottom kept peeking out, and I continually had to tuck it back under. Other than that, loved it!
CaitDecember 28, 2012
what color shoes did you wear? I cant really see
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress (as I ordered two for the occasion) but it was beautiful!
I chose to wear the other black dress that I ordered just because it was a bit more conservative for the crowd I was with. It was also a little lighter than shown so it looked a bit "white" in pictures-- so I definitely did not want to wear something white-ish to the wedding! Regardless, this would be an amazing dress to wear to a formal, party etc. as it was super flattering!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2012
I ordered the dress in size 2 & 4, both fit well. The fabric stretches & crinkles hiding any flaws!
The only reason I chose to go with the size 2 instead of the size 4 is because I like shorter dresses that show off my legs. I loved the crinkles in the dress because they hid the one flaw I am most self-conscious about. Everyone commented on how amazing the dress looked. My one tip - for fair skinned girls such as my self is get a spray tan before your event so your coloring against the dresses coloring doesn't get washed out.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Two people I'd never met before came up to me at the party and said "best dress of the night!"
I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 was VERY stretched out from a previous wearer. I panicked a bit but then I tried on the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved the dress and felt beautiful in it. Large busted girls may have some issues with the top area because once zipped up it's pretty tight. The color is great for cocktail parties, the gold definitely stands out in a sea of black. Loved my experience with RTR and will definitely use them again!
RTR CustomerJanuary 12, 2013
Love those shoes with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Beautiful dress - love the fancy back
stretch meant it fit right everywhere
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect!
Gorgeous dress. Just as expected. As a very short and petite build, this is one of the few dresses I felt confident would fit based on other reviewers descriptions. I usually wear 0 or 00, and can usually wear child L. The 0 was perfect, though it wore longer than pictured on model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
Feeling gorgeous in a beautiful designer dress!
Very forgiving material...this dress has a light gold sheen that was perfect for the holiday season. The length was great as it hit mid thigh on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 16, 2012
I loved the extra details; the little perfume and the new years eve crown, it was a nice touch.
Totally flattering to any figure. Runs pretty true to size. Flexible material makes for an amazingly comfortable fit. Absolutely loved it.
BritNovember 8, 2012
We are the same age, and size, thanks for posting!! now I know this will look great on me too!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to the ESPY Awards in LA and it was PERFECT.
The fit was great. It was strechy and form fitting and very flattering for my curves. I got a ton of great compliments. Nicole Millers dresses always seem to be very true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
Rented for an NYE party
perfect for curvy girls.
TanyaNovember 6, 2012
Beautiful!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Love it!
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and it was fabulous. I received lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Loved the color!
Very fitted and flattering!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2012
Most compliments ever...
Thank you..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Great dress!
I ordered this for a Christmas Party, but ended up wearing another dress I had ordered. I really liked the fit but it was a little longer than expected. If you want a longer dress this would be a great option!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Wonderful !
Fit like a glove, pretty stretchy. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2012
Very Flattering!!
I wore this dress when my husband and I eloped. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the 2. The inside lining of the dress was a lot looser than the dress it self so if you weren't careful putting it on, the lining could hang out at the bottom. The dress photographed beautifully and the ruching (sp) on the dress was so flattering and emphasized my curves. I was able to wear a strapless bra. The only uncomfortable part was around the top where the outside of the dress was a little rough on my skin. BUT overall, I was extremely happy with my choice and the process was SUPER EASY!!!
MariaFebruary 18, 2013
what color shoes did you wear?
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Maria! I would suggest wearing nude or gold shoes with this dress!
BethApril 3, 2013
I was going to wear nude but because it was cold out and my nudes were peep toe, i wore black pumps which actually looked very classy with it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Perfect for New Years!
This was the perfect New Years Eve dress. The 6 fit perfectly and really clung to all my curves. It was a little tight around the bust so if you have bigger boobs you might want to consider sizing up. All in all, very comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2013
Easy fit and cute color
I wore this for a bachlorette party and got lots of compliments. Its stretchy which is nice. I had a baby about two months before and was hoping this dress would help "hide" some of the tummy fat, but I felt like it actually made it stand out worse. Loved the color though, very nice change from typical black or white.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 4, 2013
Made me the belle of the ball at my own NYE party!
It fit like a 0. I was a bit worried about the arms because some of the reviewers were mentioning the armholes were super small. I have pretty big arms so I got the 2 for back up too, but the 0 was perfect and comfortable. The first time I tried the dress on, it came up to my knees. I was hoping for it to be shorter, but figure it would be fine. When I put the dress on for the event, I was in a rush and the bottom rolled up underneath. It was awesome, I was able to turn it into a mini. I had originally worn it with gold heels and had a much dressier look. Then we decided to go across the street to the park to watch fireworks. So I threw on my riding boots and my leather jacket and it still works! I love the versatility of this dress. I went from cocktail party look to a punk rock concert look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2013
Great for New Years! So comfortable.
I wore the 8 because I ordered the day before (oops) and my size was not available. The 8 fit pretty well because the material was stretchy. Maybe a little loose on the top but overall a great fit. It was amazingly comfortable and hid my mid section very well. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2013
This dress made me feel amazing!
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR, and it was a great experience. I hate buying dresses and only wearing them once and I'm not one to splurge on purchases much, so this was an awesome way to wear a gorgeous dress and only pay a fraction of its retail price. I rented a 6 and an 8 and was able to fit nicely into the 6. The material has a little stretch to it. I got tons of compliments and I honestly felt both glamorous and comfortable all night. I would rent this dress again if there weren't so many other options to choose from ont his site. I've since reccommentded this site to MANY friends and they've all loved it as well! You cannot beat the quality for the price!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×