Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(58)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 8, 2010
This dress looks WAY better in person. I wore it to a wedding and it was a hit - a stranger told me I had the best dress there (and there was heavy competition). LOVE this dress.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
LOVED IT! I felt really gorgeous all night at this black tie gala I went to in Hollywood. I wore it with one of the necklaces from this site but I can't find it anymore...but yeah it was amazing. And it's true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 11, 2010
The dress was wonderful. Very true to size and incredibly comfortable b/c the whole dress is stretchy. Received many compliments and absolutely loved it. It hit right above my knee at 5'5''.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
December 4, 2010
flattering cut, but the fabric looks and feels like curtains- very thick, more wrinkly than I expected. did not end up wearing it. great neckline though, and forgiving body.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 20, 2010
I'm on the small side of the top, so I felt a little flat chested on the top and I felt like it really showed off my hips. I was a little self-conscious at first, but my boyfriend though I looked hot. I wish they had a body type section for small chested, so I would have a better idea what would look great.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
January 3, 2011
This dress is perfect!!! And it fits like a glove. If you are thinking of renting this dress, it does run true to size, but be honest with yourself about your size. I vary between and 8 to a 12 depending on the style. I was honest with my self and went for the 10 and it couldnt have been more perfect! I got complimented all night! One slight draw back is it does tend to ride up a little bit after some time. I spent 6 hours in this dress so it's to be expected when it fits so close your curves. It also doesnt have as much sheen as what the picture shows, but it is still beautiful! It was perfect for my New Year's Eve and I'm sure it will be perfect for whatever you need it for.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
January 9, 2011
I love this dress! The fit was fantastic. It easily stretches to hug your curves, so it looks like it was tailored to fit you perfectly. So comfortable, too! I wore it to my husband's company holiday party and had a blast dancing and mingling. My only note is that it has a gold tone to it, not silver as I thought from the photos. Overall, I would highly recommend!!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
February 2, 2011
This dress is absolutely stunning. It is actually a little more gold than the picture shows. I have no chest, but this dress fit my body so well I couldn't have been happier. The only problem I had was that the underarm part of the dress wasn't long enough, so it rubbed my armpits all night to where they were red the next day, but I felt so fabulous in it that I didn't care! My shoes hurt way worse than that :)Love, love, loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
February 14, 2011
I rented this dress for my engagement party. It was beautiful, and I was very pleased with it, received compliments all night! The body of the dress went up a little higher than ideal (short straps), as mentioned in other reviews, so it was uncomfortable from time to time in my underarm area. I guess this dress would be ideal for short torsos, even though I don't have a long torso. I felt like it was a bit slimming on the hips. And it is very stretchy, so it'll fit most people if they are around the correct size. I asked for a 4 and a 6 (i'm around 140lbs), and the 6 fit better. In most brands I tend to wear a 4.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
March 6, 2011
I loved this dress. It did wonders for my ass-ests. I'm not a tall individual, but with heels, the just-above-the-knee cut was ideal. Many compliments. My friend rented the same dress in navy for New Years Eve, she's 5'8'' and 130 lbs and it fit her perfectly as well. Sisterhood of the traveling dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
March 14, 2011
Very smooth experience!!
This dress was a knockout. First of all it fit like a glove in all the right places. I am a curvy young lady(hips and thighs) I felt fabulous, I looked fabulous and everyone around could not stop telling me how much they loved the dress. The worst part about the dress/rental was returning it:( but oh well I can always rent it again, or any of the other fabulous dresses on the site....Thanx Rent the Runway for make me feel like a star:)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
March 17, 2011
Everybody loved it!
Fit: can't hide anything in this dress. Thank goodness for Spanx!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
March 18, 2011
I wore this dress for my engagement party and am still getting compliments on it! When I first pulled it out of the garment bag, I thought oh know, this looks too small, and since they didn't offer two sizes, I had a mini-panic attack. What a relief when I saw how much it stretches. It stretches in a way that sucks you all in too which is great! I highly recommend this dress. BTW, it felt so nice to say "who" my dress was instead of where I bought it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
February 18, 2011
I couldn't love this dress more.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 6, 2011
Awesome dress! I rented this dress to change into for my wedding reception. Everyone LOVED it! It was a mini version of my wedding dress, also by Nicole Miller. You can easily wear a strapless bra with it. It gave in all the right places and was very, very comfortable. I'm very pale, but it made my skin look slightly tan! It fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 6, 2011
If you have broad shoulders or a toned back, this dress looks dynamite. I also got tons of complements on the color. I was sad to send it back. The dress looked small on the hanger but stretched to fix perfectly. The fabric is very forgiving. The straps were a teeny bit long (I have a small bust) but that was fixed with a slightly padded strapless bra. I thought the dress was a little itchy around the shoulders when I first put it on, but I didn't notice it the rest of the night. By the way, if you are looking for a nail polish match, Sephora by OPI's Already Famous is dead-on.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 48
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 10, 2011
This dress was Uh.Maz.Ing! I wore it to a wedding and it was perfect. I usually wear a 6 so I ordered a 4 and a 6. The 6 worked but I would have been more comfortable in an 8. The top part of the dress was a bit snug and I have a small chest. The color is gorgeous and the fabric is very forgiving. I would love to keep this dress! :)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Petite
April 17, 2011
I wore this dress to a wedding and it was a hit! I had another guest who came up to me and said my dress was the most beautiful in the party outside of the bride's, of course. My husband even had a friend who commented to him how beautiful my dress was! The dress is body hugging and shows off your figure. But it's stretchy so you can still walk and dance comfortably in it. But like some people said, the straps are slightly short. So if I had to change anything about this dress, it would be to extend the straps by about 1/4". Otherwise, I'm very happy with this rental.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
April 17, 2011
I ordered a size 2 and a size 4 in this dress. Don't freak out when you see the dress on a hanger, it stretches a lot! There is a nude lining on the dress that kept peeking out all evening from the bottom hem, the neckline, and the straps. Other than that, this dress was great!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 18, 2011
Wore this to an engagement party and it was all the rage. I received many complements on it, this dress really hugs you in all the right spots. I have a large chest and it fit well, the dress runs true to size, I ordered the a larger size as back up but didn't need it. It also comes down to just above the knee so if you are short like me just keep that in mind. I wore it with high beige heels and gold jewelry. It is a very gold dress by the way, not as white as the photo shows, also it seemed to be more pleated than the photo shows but it looks nice on. Photographs well too.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
April 25, 2011
I loved this dress. I rented it for my Golden Birthday party and it was perfect. I ordered a 4 and a 6, and both dress actually fit really well. I wore the 4, but the 6 had a little more added length which was also nice. It looked really small on the hanger, but the dress has a lot of elastic, and was very flattering. I'm a little curvy, and it was fitted without looking too scandalous. Fabulous Dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 205lbs
May 2, 2011
This dress really is gorgeous-- a little darker color than in the picture, but I don't think it's really meant for ladies trying to hide a little extra. I own a dress similar to this that I remember making me look amazing-- but that was 20 pounds ago, and I thought the detailing would cover up a pooch, but this dress is so snug/tight that it will accent it if you have one. It really hugs you tight so be prepared to let it all hang out, which, in my case, made me feel pretty self conscious. I'm sure on a slimmer figure it would look amazing, though, especially with long legs. It's also super comfortable to wear.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
May 3, 2011
This was overall a great dress. It's stretchy and tight so hugs your body well. I'm short and the dress was very easy to fold up so that it hit me mid thigh. Otherwise, this dress came to my knees. The color was great and I got a lot of compliments. One thing I didn't like was that the folds in the dress don't really look like the picture... there are a lot of them and they are much more prominent. It really changes the look of the whole dress to more "scrunchy" than neat the way it looks here. These scrunches definitely would help to hide any flaws but also add a little more to the dress so they don't particularly show off your body either. Also, don't get this dress if you are looking to show off your cleavage. I'm an A cup and my boobs looked bigger underneath the dress than the model's. It was fine, but I'm not sure the cut would be flattering on someone with a larger chest.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Apple
May 16, 2011
Fits perfectly for a larger top. The length of the dress hits at the knees and the ruching hides any imperfections. Great dress! Wore it for my Bachelorette party and it was a hit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
August 24, 2011
RTR is easy! It comes with everything you need, and the staff is very flexible if something doesn't fit right :)
This dress was GORGEOUS. I got a ton of compliments and felt confident the entire day of the wedding. It was sexy without being too revealing. I totally wish I owned it because I would wear it again in a heartbeat! I am in between a 10 and 12, and, though I fit in both, I wore the 12 just because it IS form-fitting. Only complaint is that the material rubs under the armpit and my skin was a little irritated, especially because I was moving my arms a lot to dance.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
August 31, 2011
My date just dropped his draw and told me how stunning I looked.
This dress was amazing and I got so many compliments. I do have a larger bust size and wore a size 8 (I am 5'9" and smaller tho: 32G bust, 25 waist, 35 hips). It was snug but fit perfectly and I love that the material gives a little so dancing and walking/sitting is all comfortable! The dress is definitely not pearly white like it looks in the photo. I'd say it's more of a goldish color. I wore sparkly gold heals and it matched perfectly. Under the arms is a tad itchy and the dress did have a few areas where the fabric was snagged but it was hardly noticeable. I NEED to wear a bra with dresses so I have a VS bra that can be worn 100 ways, bc you do need to put the straps out pretty wide. A normal bra would not work. I seriously recommend all of the Nicole Miller dresses made with this material. Looks awesome, and you feel awesome wearing it! <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2011
Beautiful
This dress is so flattering. While I am petite, I have a larger bust (34C) and I didn't even have to wear a bra. This dress holds you in in all the right places. I received so many compliments. I was worried that the color may be too light for the wedding I attended, but it was absolutely perfect. I was so comfortable all day & night and it was easy to dance/eat/drink in. Loved this rtr!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 21, 2011
The dress fit really well and it stretched so it can fit various sizes. But the straps came right under the arm pit and it was so rough that it chafed my arm pit almost instantly just wearing around the house. I ended up not wearing the dress because it was just uncomfortable.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Body type: Full Bust
September 28, 2011
This is a beautiful dress, and I got a lot of complements on the top cut of the dress and the color. I'm glad I chose a larger size, because I carry a lot of weight in my bust. I'm 5'4" and 115, and size 8 worked great for me. I got a ton of compliments, and would definitely recommend the dress to anyone.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2011
The dress did fit true to size but it doesn't look like the picture. The dress is looking very worn. The lining hangs lower and the color is a lot darker. The folds in the fabric ended up looking like wrinkles. It is also too tight under the arms.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
October 5, 2011
This dress is beautiful wore it to a cancer benefit. Shows off curves in all the right places. I rented in size 4 and 6. The 4 fit like a glove. Wore with gold strappy heels and nicole miller bracelet and earrings
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Body type: Athletic
October 13, 2011
Love this dress! I typically wear a 4 or 6 in dresses and the 6 fit perfect! It was very comfortable and flattering!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
October 17, 2011
Super comfy, a tad on the long side, but really looked great! It's really stretchy, but still looks really fancy. I wore a strapless bra and still managed to have a little cleavage, but not too much.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
October 19, 2011
Everyone loved the dress! I have never felt so beautiful in my life!
I typically wear a 10/12 and the 10 fit perfectly! Because this dress stretches, the smaller size was actually perfect. I have a 36 G chest which makes dresses very challenging to find and this one fit like a glove yet was still comfortable & beautiful. I have never received so many compliments in one night!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 19, 2011
I am petite but athletic and this dress was perfect. It has a lot of stretch and hugs in all the right spots. The straps did cut into me a little like other reviews stated, but not to a point that I was uncomfortable. Tons of complements with this dress!!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 185lbs
October 20, 2011
This dress looked like it was made for my daughter. She wore it for Homecoming and it was perfect. She is tall, athletic and has a GG bust. Wow. Great fit, soft hug and the material is beautiful. Perfect for any age.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Body type: Full Bust
October 28, 2011
This dress fits amazingly! I'm def full busted, and it hugged me in all the right places while still concealing what needed to be hidden. The material completely hid my tum-tum, which was awesome. I loved it!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Apple
November 4, 2011
This dress was awkward. I general wear between a 10 or 12 depending on the designer so I ordered both. The 10 was way to tight. I couldn't even zip it up but the 10 was way too big. Didn't fit my curves or anything just kinda hung. Plus the lining was all messed up. It hung below the dress like it has been wore far too many times.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 4, 2011
This dress is absolutely gorgeous! When it first arrived, I was not sure this dress was going to fit because it looked so small on the hanger. Don't be fooled by this. This dress has so much stretch to it. I am a 38DD and ordered the size 12 - fit perfectly. Wore it to a wedding tonight and received so many compliments, that I wish I owned this dress. Will definetly rent this dress again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Body type: Hourglass
November 28, 2011
This dress was awesome. I just had twins 11 months ago. I wore this to a class reunion and everyone said I looked better than I looked in high school (25 years ago)!!!
Loved it!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×