Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size294
Small57
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
February 26, 2013
It fit beautifully!
A little snug in the armholes but wonderful overall!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 24, 2013
Classic Glam
I wore this dress to a red carpet event. It was comfortable, very pretty and fit well.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2013
So many compliments!
I rented this for a fundraiser event and everyone commented on it. When I told my girlfriends it came from RTR they all said I needed to buy it because it was the perfect dress. I'm have an olive complexion, and this color was perfect. It was also so unbelievably comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
Meh
I wasn't overly impressed with the way this dress looked on me, but it's probably because I'm so faire skinned. My fault for not picking a more flattering color. I wore a size up from usual, and it fit very well though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 7, 2013
Fit like a glove, great for my curves!
It really made my waist look excellent with the rouching. At the same time really looked great on my curves. The neck line wasn't too low allowing someone with a larger bust to fit well.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 7, 2013
Ringing in the new year with style
Great dress. Very comfortable but it doesn't really stretch. Fits true to size. I wear a size 2 and it fit like a glove. The material for the dress is thicker than what imagined but still very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
February 4, 2013
Goes great with blonde hair!
Fit true to size
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 230lbs
February 3, 2013
I wore this dress for my birthday party and received a ton of compliments!
This dress had a very flattering fit and was very stretchy which made it comfortable to dance the night away in! I have a little extra in my mid section which I am very self conscious about but this dress hit it well!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
February 2, 2013
My dress looked great and was super comfortable
This dress was actually my back up dress and I loved it so much more than my original first choice. This dress stretches and hides the areas you want to hide.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
January 31, 2013
Very cute dress, but too much rouching.
I thought the dress had a bit too much rouching in person. I wore it for my grandparent's golden anniversary party. I loved the sleeves and the cut-out back, but the rest left a little to be desired.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Hides flaws, great color
This was my "add a second look" dress I ended up not wearing it to the event. The size I normally wear (10) was great in the waist and hips but I also tried the 12 and had the same issue I had with the 10. I found it really tight around my shoulders/arms. It was rubbing and I felt restricted in my arm movement. The fabric and color make this a beautiful dress, however I just couldn't get past the discomfort in the shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2013
Everyone was complementing the dress all night---made heads turn!
Fit was tight so I went for the 4 (I ordered a 2 and a 4) so it wouldn't look painted on. But the 4 was awesome. Rides up a little when you walk but that is a common problem with this style of dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect fit for a full bust!
I usually have a hard time with dresses that fit up top and my waist. This one was perfect. I would even rent it again!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
a head turner!
definitely a tight-fitting dress. however, it hugged my curves in the right places. the only issue i had was that the fabric is cut high and rubbed against my underarms, which was a bit uncomfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Best quote of the night: "You look like movie stars!"
The dress fits fairly true to size. I'm usually a size 4 (sometimes a 6), and the 6 fit really well. It's a tight dress, but very flattering because of the rouching and material. The color is really pretty - it's a subtle shade of gold that really pops in pictures. The back is really fun, too. My friend and I both rented from RTR for a night out on the town in Orlando, and we loved the experience!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
January 22, 2013
Perfect for the event!
I wore this dress for my sorority recruitment and it was perfect. The fit is true to size, and is a great color. It is form fitting but very flattering. The only complaint I had was that it irritated the underside of my arms.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
January 18, 2013
Wore this for my sorority date party, had a great time
This dress was pretty tight on me in areas of my body that I'm not entirely comfortable with (even with Spanx!), so I wasn't entirely happy with the dress. I'm pretty short, so the skirt also ran long (down to my knees), which isn't really the look I was going for for my college date party. This dress would definitely be a better fit for taller women.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
January 17, 2013
Very comfortable and fun
I ordered this dress as an alternate incase the other dress didn't work out. I didnt end up wearing it out but its a great dress, very flattering material. It is stretchy and the rouching hide any imperfections. The dress is a little tight under the arms, so if you have big arms or bra line buldge it may not be the best choice. The back of the dress is very cute and makes your butt look awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
January 14, 2013
Beautiful!
This dress was a perfect fit! It fit like it had been tailor made just for me. The color is beautiful and I had so many compliments on it. I am a size 0 and it was very true to the fit for me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2013
It was a WOW dress! I got a lot of compliments.
Pros: fit well Cons: too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
January 10, 2013
Looked amazing on and fits like a glove. Lots of compliments.
Fit was true to size and looked amazing on. The color is a gold color and very sheen. I am very short and very busty and it fit great. Lots of cleavage and came to my knees but I received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 10, 2013
This dress made me feel amazing!
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR, and it was a great experience. I hate buying dresses and only wearing them once and I'm not one to splurge on purchases much, so this was an awesome way to wear a gorgeous dress and only pay a fraction of its retail price. I rented a 6 and an 8 and was able to fit nicely into the 6. The material has a little stretch to it. I got tons of compliments and I honestly felt both glamorous and comfortable all night. I would rent this dress again if there weren't so many other options to choose from ont his site. I've since reccommentded this site to MANY friends and they've all loved it as well! You cannot beat the quality for the price!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
January 8, 2013
Classy and Fun!
This dress was a perfect choice for my first RTR experience. I am usually a size 4 and think that overall fit better but the armholes were very small and kept rubbing. In hindsight I wish I wore that size and dealt with the rubbing. I ended up going with the 6 for more room in the arm pits. The stretch is great - the dress is very comfortable and flattering. The size 6 dress should have been retired - was worn and the bottom lining kept falling down below the dress. But RTR customer service was great when I brought this to their attention after the fact. It's more champagne than it looks in the picture and doesn't need much jewelry to go with it. Just a simple, beautiful dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2013
Great for New Years! So comfortable.
I wore the 8 because I ordered the day before (oops) and my size was not available. The 8 fit pretty well because the material was stretchy. Maybe a little loose on the top but overall a great fit. It was amazingly comfortable and hid my mid section very well. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 4, 2013
Made me the belle of the ball at my own NYE party!
It fit like a 0. I was a bit worried about the arms because some of the reviewers were mentioning the armholes were super small. I have pretty big arms so I got the 2 for back up too, but the 0 was perfect and comfortable. The first time I tried the dress on, it came up to my knees. I was hoping for it to be shorter, but figure it would be fine. When I put the dress on for the event, I was in a rush and the bottom rolled up underneath. It was awesome, I was able to turn it into a mini. I had originally worn it with gold heels and had a much dressier look. Then we decided to go across the street to the park to watch fireworks. So I threw on my riding boots and my leather jacket and it still works! I love the versatility of this dress. I went from cocktail party look to a punk rock concert look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2013
This dress fit beautifully!
I usually wear a 6 in Nicole Miller dresses, but I rented a 4 because the 6 was unavailable. I was pleasantly surprised at the fit of this particular dress. It hugged every inch of my body and was comfortable enough that I could dance (and eat!) in it. This is by far my favorite dress that I have rented from RTR! I would highly, highly recommend it. The pictures online simply do not do it justice. Super glamorous and classy!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
January 3, 2013
easy delivery and returns, extra days to return to account for NYE
have rented a few times before and had great experiences - this time was no different. fit was great, big hit with the party for NYE, and the boyfriend loved it :) note that the dress is more champagne colored than gold, but wasn't an issue
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2013
Easy fit and cute color
I wore this for a bachlorette party and got lots of compliments. Its stretchy which is nice. I had a baby about two months before and was hoping this dress would help "hide" some of the tummy fat, but I felt like it actually made it stand out worse. Loved the color though, very nice change from typical black or white.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Tight and form fitting
This dress was my backup. I didn't end of wearing it because it was just too form fitting and it looked like it had been rented a lot. The hem was peeking out from the bottom. I would imagine it might ride up if you tried dancing in this. The color of the dress was a very pretty gold, and the material was soft and not too shiny.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Perfect for New Years!
This was the perfect New Years Eve dress. The 6 fit perfectly and really clung to all my curves. It was a little tight around the bust so if you have bigger boobs you might want to consider sizing up. All in all, very comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 1, 2013
Lovely, glamorous, and comfortable.
This dress is simply gorgeous. The color is a light gold, and the ruched waist area hides a multitude of sins during those parties when perhaps you're drinking a few too many fizzy drinks... I'm a petite gal, so I was pleased that the 0 fit me well, particularly when I wore a bra that enhanced that part of my body. Great deal and just beautiful. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2012
Very Flattering!!
I wore this dress when my husband and I eloped. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the 2. The inside lining of the dress was a lot looser than the dress it self so if you weren't careful putting it on, the lining could hang out at the bottom. The dress photographed beautifully and the ruching (sp) on the dress was so flattering and emphasized my curves. I was able to wear a strapless bra. The only uncomfortable part was around the top where the outside of the dress was a little rough on my skin. BUT overall, I was extremely happy with my choice and the process was SUPER EASY!!!
MariaFebruary 18, 2013
what color shoes did you wear?
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Maria! I would suggest wearing nude or gold shoes with this dress!
BethApril 3, 2013
I was going to wear nude but because it was cold out and my nudes were peep toe, i wore black pumps which actually looked very classy with it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2012
sexy
loved it..... super sexy...... rouching does a good job hiding all flaws :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
December 30, 2012
This is a very fitted dress. Not forgiving. The material felt "cheap"
Glad I had another option shipped
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Wonderful !
Fit like a glove, pretty stretchy. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Great dress!
I ordered this for a Christmas Party, but ended up wearing another dress I had ordered. I really liked the fit but it was a little longer than expected. If you want a longer dress this would be a great option!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect!
Gorgeous dress. Just as expected. As a very short and petite build, this is one of the few dresses I felt confident would fit based on other reviewers descriptions. I usually wear 0 or 00, and can usually wear child L. The 0 was perfect, though it wore longer than pictured on model.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147lbs
December 21, 2012
The dress was comfortable, and gorgeous!
I received so many compliments on this dress. I looked and felt amazing.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Beautiful dress - love the fancy back
stretch meant it fit right everywhere
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Two people I'd never met before came up to me at the party and said "best dress of the night!"
I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 was VERY stretched out from a previous wearer. I panicked a bit but then I tried on the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved the dress and felt beautiful in it. Large busted girls may have some issues with the top area because once zipped up it's pretty tight. The color is great for cocktail parties, the gold definitely stands out in a sea of black. Loved my experience with RTR and will definitely use them again!
RTR CustomerJanuary 12, 2013
Love those shoes with this dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
3 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×