Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
369 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(58)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 4, 2012
I didn't have to worry about dress shopping or anyone having the same dress as me. It worked out great!
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve party. It is stretchy so it fit great on curves. Very comfortable to move around and dance in. The dress is more gold than it appears in the photo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Tight and form fitting
This dress was my backup. I didn't end of wearing it because it was just too form fitting and it looked like it had been rented a lot. The hem was peeking out from the bottom. I would imagine it might ride up if you tried dancing in this. The color of the dress was a very pretty gold, and the material was soft and not too shiny.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 18, 2013
Wore this for my sorority date party, had a great time
This dress was pretty tight on me in areas of my body that I'm not entirely comfortable with (even with Spanx!), so I wasn't entirely happy with the dress. I'm pretty short, so the skirt also ran long (down to my knees), which isn't really the look I was going for for my college date party. This dress would definitely be a better fit for taller women.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
a head turner!
definitely a tight-fitting dress. however, it hugged my curves in the right places. the only issue i had was that the fabric is cut high and rubbed against my underarms, which was a bit uncomfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
January 30, 2013
Hides flaws, great color
This was my "add a second look" dress I ended up not wearing it to the event. The size I normally wear (10) was great in the waist and hips but I also tried the 12 and had the same issue I had with the 10. I found it really tight around my shoulders/arms. It was rubbing and I felt restricted in my arm movement. The fabric and color make this a beautiful dress, however I just couldn't get past the discomfort in the shoulders.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 18, 2013
Meh
I wasn't overly impressed with the way this dress looked on me, but it's probably because I'm so faire skinned. My fault for not picking a more flattering color. I wore a size up from usual, and it fit very well though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114lbs
April 5, 2013
Got tons of compliments when worn to a Martha Stewart White Party
It fits slightly on the small size, especially in the bust - and I'm rather flatchested. It looked great and I got a ton of compliments however, the fabric was of a somewhat lesser quality than I would expect from Nicole Miller. It was on the thin side and therefore was chilly. Slightly itchy too :( But we sacrifice for fashion!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
LOVED this dress.
I wore it to my rehearsal dinner. Great fit, but it runs small. I wear an 8 but the 10 fit perfectly. I own two Nicole Miller dresses and the same goes for those. I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
the color was stunning
This was a beautiful dress. Loved the style. It ran a bit small so glad I got 2 sizes to choose from. I think from all the dry cleaning it caused some shaffing on my arms after while. After a couple of drinks though it didn't bother me too much :)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
The service was great but the dress didn't work for me.
The dress ran small, I didn't end up wearing it but my friend did. She is a size 8 and wore this dress in a 12. Her body is more athletic. The dress didn't have much give for curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2013
Too tight for my taste
When I tried to put this on it just felt/looked too tight - maybe if I was going out in Vegas but wasn't wedding appropriate. I did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
Runs very, very small
I usually wear an 8 (or a 6 if the item runs a little large). The size 8 in this dress was so small I could barely get it over my shoulders and zipped up; definitely too tight to wear. Glad I brought a "back-up" dress from home.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
June 22, 2013
I loved the color and how easy it was to find accessories to match.
The dress runs small in the shoulders and arms. I wish I would have ordered a size up instead of down. Fortunately I was still able to fit in the size 2. The dress was very forgiving and comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
August 8, 2013
Awesome
I usually wear a size 2, but this it was too tight in the chest. I do have a large rib cage so I am glad I ordered the 4. Was so fun to wear a classic dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
September 25, 2013
Showstopper
I love this dress. I rented it for my birthday in Vegas. Heads were turning, it looked stunning, and my husband loved it. It hugs the curves, but if you have broad shoulders or muscular arms, it might feel a bit snug. It's very tight through the chest, so if you're busty, it will be uncomfortable. The dress I received had some stains down the front and I got lucky I had a matching scarf that I draped over the stains, but I was a bit disappointed with the condition of the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 12, 2013
Returned for fit
I returned this dress for some issues it had. One side was really pilled, like someone had leaned or sat on something brick that shredded it up a little. However, the return process was easy and customer service was great! I was sad to lose my shipping and insurance money, though. It would have probably been a nice dress if it hadn't been so worn, and I'm sure that problem has been rectified by now.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
May 3, 2014
I wasn't 100% comfy but still got tons of compliments
Goergeous dress. A little unforgiving to non flat bellies but I was forewarned there. Very well crafted.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 6, 2011
This DRESS is the bomb --- I loved it. Looks even better when you have a tan. The wrinkles in the fabric hide the trouble spots nicely.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
January 25, 2012
I was told that I was the "hottest thing there" (at the event) multiple times!
Rarely do I have the opportunity to rent something fancy (-er) from Rent the Runway. This dress was a smash hit. I was called "Marilyn" multiple times throughout the evening from friends and strangers alike, and was even told by a few people that I was the "hottest thing there." Love this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
August 6, 2012
This dress was absolutely stunning and made me feel like Cinderella :)
This was my first RTR experience and and fell in love right away with this dress :) I wore the dress to a summer wedding and got so many compliments. The dress itself was very comfortable and fit like a glove - perfect if you love dancing! I would recommend ordering the two sizes for this dress - I was glad I ordered the next size than my regular dress size. This dress would be perfect for a wedding or any special event.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
October 5, 2012
hot damn, a sexy dress!
great fit for any body type- rouching is very forgiving. it's a stretchy material so it was really comfortable to dance/walk in. i wore spanx underneath that helped with my tummy. it came to my knee, which was fine since the rest of it was pretty snug- didn't want to be too sexy for this wedding. The arm holes were a little small and the 0 was a little too taut zipping up, which is why i said it runs small. loved it!!! thanks rtr!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 2, 2012
I took a risk by wearing a light colored dress as my skin is pale. I'm glad I tried something new.
This dress is not one of my favorite RTR dresses, however, I'm glad I took the risk and had the opportunity to rent something I wouldn't buy let alone really try on. In my opinion the dress has mixed fits. I typically wear an 8, but wore a 10 as the straps cut in a bit in the front underarm area. This did leave the rest of the dress a bit roomier in the waist and hips area, but turned out to be a good thing as it made me feel a little less self conscious for wearing a light metallic fabric with horizontal ruching. But the best thing was knowing that my husband really enjoyed the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 15, 2013
Birthday party in Ft. Lauderdale ( I live in Jersey)!
Loved the dress. The color was beautiful and I normally wear a six, but went with the 8. I only had one problem. The lining hem was coming down on the dress and I had to quickly sew it up for the night. I reported it so hopefully if someone else order the 8, it will be repaired. Very flattering, got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
Beautiful metallic gold!
Very fitted. Fabric is a little thicker than I anticipated but also quite comfortable. Size up, runs a bit snug under the arms. Very flattering length. First RTR rental = success!!
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
April 4, 2011
Gorgeous dress, very flattering. Only reason I gave it for stars is because I had to pull it down throughout the night as it rode up. I normally wear a size 4 despite my full bust. Ended up wearing the 6 and probably would have been more comfortable in an 8. Other than that like i said great dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
September 27, 2011
way to small
Was very excited to rent this dress and was going to wear it on my honeymoon for a fancy dinner we were going too but the 6 & 8 were TOO small! Also the color was darker then the picture. Was very disappointed that it didn't work out!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
December 29, 2011
Constant Flattery
My husband about fainted when I came downstairs with this dress on. This dress was gorgeous and makes you look very thin. I received constant comments on it as the "best dress at the party". I found the length perfect and the stretchy nature of the fabric makes it very comfortable. I rented the 0 and the 2 and was happiest with the fit of the 2.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
August 29, 2012
Amazing dress!
Great dress. Zipper was a little stiff but otherwise it fits very well.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 1, 2012
The fabric was a little thin, and it was bordering on too-tight. Size one up!
The color was beautiful (but didn't go with my coloring). The fabric was a little thin and scratchier than expected, and the dress was uber-tight at my normal size. I'd size one up for better fit.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 106lbs
November 14, 2012
Easy and convenient
Got so many compliments even from the bride!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
November 19, 2012
Not for me
Dress is gorgeous but wasn't for me. I don't normally wear sexy dresses and this is one!!! Very pretty on but I realized that the fabric under your arms comes up real high and it itched!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
December 30, 2012
This is a very fitted dress. Not forgiving. The material felt "cheap"
Glad I had another option shipped
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 28, 2013
very flattering
Rented this for my rehearsal dinner. I usually wear a size 2-4, didn't even try on the 2 as I knew it would be too tight. I could probably get away with wearing a 4 or a 6 in this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
June 20, 2014
Tight but forgiving
The dress runs small and was tight, but the ruching is forgiving. Nice to be able to wear a regular bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
June 6, 2017
So fun!
Sized up based on reviews, beautiful dress. The color is darker than it looks because it reflects light in photographs. I was surprised at how much it rode up when I started walking, and probably should have switched to the larger size.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
August 30, 2010
Rented this dress to wear to a wedding in Santa Barbara, it was a huge hit and I felt gorgeous. It is stretchy, so it gives in all the right places without making you look like you have a big pooch....I highly recommend it!I wore it with metallic sandals, a clutch and a wrap.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 8, 2010
Absolutely stunning. Wore with a brown and gold metallic LV shawl and brown heels, similar to the photo. Evening outdoor wedding. Photographs well and makes you look super tan. Easily accommodates a strapless bra.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2010
Love this dress! I wore it to a family friends wedding and received so many compliments. As other reviewers mentioned it fits really well and enhances/hides in all the right places. While the dress is true to size, I actually ended up wearing the larger of the two sizes ordered because it was a little longer which made it seem more formal.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
September 14, 2010
Love this dress. Absolutely stunning and flattering. Got tons of compliments on it.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 16, 2010
Great dress! Very classy and no special bra requirements other than strapless. However, you may not want to rent this if you're 5'2" and under - it's pretty long and will definitely hit below the knee on you.
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×