Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large17
True to Size294
Small57
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
June 11, 2013
Runs very, very small
I usually wear an 8 (or a 6 if the item runs a little large). The size 8 in this dress was so small I could barely get it over my shoulders and zipped up; definitely too tight to wear. Glad I brought a "back-up" dress from home.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
June 10, 2013
Too tight for my taste
When I tried to put this on it just felt/looked too tight - maybe if I was going out in Vegas but wasn't wedding appropriate. I did not wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 158lbs
June 9, 2013
Perfect dress for my bachelorette party!
I wore this for a night out during my bachelorette party and I absolutely loved it! It's fitted and super sexy, but the stretchy material made it soooo comfortable for an entire night with lots of dancing. The material was a little bit itchy in the beginning where my arms grazed my sides, but I got used to it quickly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2013
Beautiful metallic gold!
Very fitted. Fabric is a little thicker than I anticipated but also quite comfortable. Size up, runs a bit snug under the arms. Very flattering length. First RTR rental = success!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 3, 2013
Nice classy dress to wear to a semi-formal party. Loved the cut and color.
Wore it to the company christmas party. The 6 fit better, but it was really worn out so I squeezed in to the 4.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 21, 2013
best dress
wore this at my bridal shower - it was awesome. love the stretchy material too! color was fantastic.i 'm a big fan of nicole miller dresses in this material. they all work well on me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
May 15, 2013
The service was great but the dress didn't work for me.
The dress ran small, I didn't end up wearing it but my friend did. She is a size 8 and wore this dress in a 12. Her body is more athletic. The dress didn't have much give for curves!
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 14, 2013
I'm sad I don't have any pictures but I was surprised at how nice this dress looked on me!
I have an hourglass figure, this stretched and fit where it needed to.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 13, 2013
Very flattering for curvy woman
Fit nicely and the length was perfect. I wore this dress to my bachelorette party
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
May 13, 2013
Great concept! Very happy with my rental :-)
Great fit even for girls with narrow hips
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 8, 2013
I got compliments from total strangers on this dress. I felt like the hottest girl in the room.
It fit as I expected, but once I got it on, there was a water or grease stain on the lower front. I called RTR and they offered me credit for this dress and my backup even though I was just calling to inform them about the stain.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
May 7, 2013
the color was stunning
This was a beautiful dress. Loved the style. It ran a bit small so glad I got 2 sizes to choose from. I think from all the dry cleaning it caused some shaffing on my arms after while. After a couple of drinks though it didn't bother me too much :)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
April 26, 2013
I JUST FELT ALL TYPES OF GLAMOROUS!
It fit perfectly the only thing that bothered me was feeling the uncomfortable zipper under my armpit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 25, 2013
This dress is amazing!
It fit perfectly! The color is a little darker than the image, but I would definitely rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
April 25, 2013
I needed this dress in a hurry and Rent the Runway was able to get it to me so quickly!
This dress fits like a glove and the stretchy material makes it easy to be worn by any and all body types. I have a bigger bust and a smaller waist so I was nervous about using Rent the Runway, when I couldn't try something on first. If that's usually a problem for you, then this is your dress! It's risk-free that it will fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
April 22, 2013
"New" Dress for a Reasonable Price
I was going to see a Broadway play and rented this dress for the occasion. It was great to have a "new" dress to wear without having to spend $300+ and I received a lot of compliments. The fit was true to size and the color was beautiful. I rated the dress 4 stars because it was very itchy and the neckline didn't fit very well. The square-neck hit at a weird angle and was digging into my armpits the entire night. If the dress had been more comfortable to wear, I definitely would have rated it 5 stars.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
April 22, 2013
LOVED this dress.
I wore it to my rehearsal dinner. Great fit, but it runs small. I wear an 8 but the 10 fit perfectly. I own two Nicole Miller dresses and the same goes for those. I had to size up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
April 17, 2013
A great gold color that goes with olive to dark skin tones!
It is a little snug, but not uncomfortable! It runs true to size and isnt too short.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
Wore it to senior formal
This dress was great!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
April 16, 2013
Nice fit not the best color for my skin tone.
I ordered the 0 and the 2. The color for the 2 was a little more washed out and the button on the back had been replaced and stood out a little. I'm half Filipino and the color wasn't quite as flattering since it was winter. I think if I was a little tanner it would look better
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 61
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
Birthday party in Ft. Lauderdale ( I live in Jersey)!
Loved the dress. The color was beautiful and I normally wear a six, but went with the 8. I only had one problem. The lining hem was coming down on the dress and I had to quickly sew it up for the night. I reported it so hopefully if someone else order the 8, it will be repaired. Very flattering, got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
April 14, 2013
Renting from this website was so easy! My dress came exactly on time
The dress was so comfortable and was easy to dance in. I wore it to a fraternity formal and got many compliments on it. The gold color was so pretty and the dress was form fitting but very flattering, even on someone like me who is curvy. I went with the 6 instead of the 4 because the 6 was a little longer
KenleighJune 7, 2013
So, it's more gold in person, than it is ivory in the picture?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
April 13, 2013
Solid gold!
This was such a fabulous dress. I wore it for a Christmas party and got tons of compliments. It looks super small on the hanger, but when it's on, it's perfect. I would recommend that you get your normal size and maybe the size up since it is so bodycon. I found it to be a little scratchy around the arms because of the pilling that is in the lining. RTR shows that this is a popular dress and while the inside (and the paint on the zipper) shows wear, the outside is just fine. I would consider renting again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 11, 2013
Classy, yet eye-catching.
This is a beautiful dress. I didn't end up wearing it because it was my back-up and I loved my other dress more; but this is great especially for a party, Vegas, New Years Eve, etc. Fits nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
April 9, 2013
overall good fit. a little tight under the arms
great color and figure flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 112lbs
April 5, 2013
Got tons of compliments when worn to a Martha Stewart White Party
It fits slightly on the small size, especially in the bust - and I'm rather flatchested. It looked great and I got a ton of compliments however, the fabric was of a somewhat lesser quality than I would expect from Nicole Miller. It was on the thin side and therefore was chilly. Slightly itchy too :( But we sacrifice for fashion!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 4, 2013
If only my shoes had been as comfortable as this dress!
I rented this dress for an early spring wedding and it worked out wonderfully. I ended up going with the size 6 because it was slightly longer and gave a bit more breathing room in the arm area. I have broad shoulders and the cut of the smaller dress was too tight around my underarms. The dress is meant to fit snugly, so I would not recommend it if you're trying to hide anything. It does not require a bra, but if you do decide to go with one, you'd likely need a strapless due to the cut. All-in-all... an extremely comfortable dress that received numerous compliments throughout the evening! Once again, a great experience with RTR.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
April 3, 2013
This dress was absolutely perfect! It was fun & easy to dance in. I got so many amazing compliments!
The dress runs true to size, maybe a little small. It is a very light gold so it was perfect for a winter formal. It is cute and appropriate, but still sexy and fun!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
April 2, 2013
I wore this dress to celebrate my Golden birthday!
The dress fit like a glove! It stretches so it was easy to dance in! It also hugs you in all the right places. Its very flattering and I received a ton of compliments! I would definitely rent again! My only concern is that you could tell it had been worn a few times before, but I quickly got over that due to the amount of positive feedback I got. It was my first RTR experience and it was a great one! I would highly recommend!
RTR CustomerJune 7, 2013
What bra did you wear with this?
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 100lbs
April 1, 2013
Good and reliable services.
I rent a Lilly Pulitzer bag with it, looks good with the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 28, 2013
very flattering
Rented this for my rehearsal dinner. I usually wear a size 2-4, didn't even try on the 2 as I knew it would be too tight. I could probably get away with wearing a 4 or a 6 in this dress.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 27, 2013
This dress is comfortable, looks great, and I got tons of compliments all night!
Usually I wear a 10. The 10 was a hair too snug, I probably could have worn it, but since I had the 12 I figured I might as well wear that one. The length was perfect. I don't like skirts that are too short and this one stopped just a few inches above my knees. The dress is very forgiving for any little bulges or things that you would like to hide. I'm pretty sad that I didn't get any full body pictures that night though. Small warning, I thought I could wear a regular bra with this dress, that wasn't the case. I wore strapless and that was fine. It wasn't a big inconvenience.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
March 18, 2013
This dress has a gorgeous color and perfect fit.
I wore this to a charity fundraiser. Easy to wear, easy to dance in. I rented a 6 and an 8, wore the 6. It's a little odd to get on since the zipper is on the side. I just put it on over my head and that worked. I went bra-less, which I don't normally do but it worked for this dress. This was my 2nd rental from RTR and loved it. I will def rent this dress again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 18, 2013
I felt so awesome in this dress! Everyone was complementing me! Perfect for a wedding or bachorette
Snug fit.. i'm between a 4 and 6 but there was no way the 4 would even zip! It was comfy and flattering...really covers any sort of belly! It was long enough too... i'm 5'4 and it hit me mid thigh. The only con I would say is that by the end of the wedding both of my arms hurt where the dress rubbed. Now, this is prob because I was a dancing fool all night! Overall, I loved it and i would wear it again!!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 15, 2013
All my friends really seem to like this dress. I received lots of compliments!
This dress fit like a glove, it was truly prefect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 8, 2013
Beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to a wedding and got so many compliments on it! The material is very forgiving and feels great on. Fun dress to dance in as well!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
March 8, 2013
Comfort.
Both sizes came with odd stains. I wore the dress anyway because with the scrunchy fabric, they weren't noticeable. Dress was very comfortable though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 4, 2013
Perfect for my first wedding as a planner!
I became a certified wedding planner and my first wedding was for my cousin. I wore this that day and it was both very professional and very flattering. I got compliments by everyone! Very forgiving fabric, the ruching(sp?) was flattering and it was so comfortable!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 28, 2013
I received so many compliments-and I wore this dress to a black tie affair! Love!
The dress is stretchy, which was great considering I was on vacation and eating all weekend! The color was stunning!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 122lbs
February 28, 2013
A lot of people commented on how I stood out in the crowd!!
It was super comfy, stretchy material so it fit the shape of my body perfectly. Everyone I spoke with at the party commented on how great my dress was!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×