Nicole Miller

Square Neck Metallic Sheath

$50 rental
$410 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! Slip on this metallic sheath by Nicole Miller for a luxurious summer look that radiates heat. Shown here with Crislu's A Girl's Best Friend Bracelet.

Also available in navy.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - stretch fabric great for all cup sizes while neckline is not revealing
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout; ruched fabric augments lower abdomen - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist
HIPS: Fitted - augments backside
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Light gold metallic stretch taffeta. Square neckline. Keyhole opening in back. Hidden side zip. Side ruching detail. 23" from natural waist. 34" from shoulder to hem.

Share
368 reviews
Fit
Large
(17)
True to Size
(294)
Small
(57)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 13, 2012
This dress was amazing. It fit like a glove and was very flattering!
I would rent this dress again in a heartbeat. It was perfect for a winter holiday party. I had random people come up to me and compliment me and ask what designer it was.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 14, 2012
I felt (and looked) like a bombshell! It was amazing, great fit.
I wore this for my anniversary date. Italian, movie, comedy club. I have an hourglass figure with a full bust which is hard to cover some times. But the dress fit like a glove, was actually warm with the lining. Easy fit..but did need help with zipper and was tight on underarms. Overall; and amazing dress that I wish I could keep.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 21, 2012
A memorable holiday date night with my love!
The dress fit great! Definitely recommend shapewear, but otherwise it flatters every shape and hites the flaws.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
November 25, 2012
Everyone loved the back of this dress and I got a ton of complements!
Fit true to size. I wore it with a regular strapless bra and spanx. It is VERY tight fitting. I am tall and was worried it would be too short for this formal event, but it was perfect. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 27, 2012
It was nice that I could rent a back up just in case the first dress didn't work out.
Did not end up wearing this one, it was a backup.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
December 2, 2012
z
Beautiful dress. I think it runs a bit small because I usually wear a size 4. I was impressed with the quick delivery and packaging upon arrival. I was disappointed that there were some snags in the dress. They weren't noticeable but nevertheless they were there. Also the hemline hung below the bottom of the dress. I feel that the dress shouldn't have been sent to me like that. Because it was a krinkly type material it wasn't noticeable though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 3, 2012
I wore this dress to a friend's wedding and got tons of compliments!
The dress was gorgeous. Loved the gold color. The dress has a "sheen" to it, but it is not tacky looking. I got tons of compliments on the dress and it is extremely comfortable to wear! The only downside is that the dress is clearly a popular one and had been worn many times before me. The liner at the bottom kept peeking out, and I continually had to tuck it back under. Other than that, loved it!
CaitDecember 28, 2012
what color shoes did you wear? I cant really see
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 5, 2012
I didn't end up wearing this dress (as I ordered two for the occasion) but it was beautiful!
I chose to wear the other black dress that I ordered just because it was a bit more conservative for the crowd I was with. It was also a little lighter than shown so it looked a bit "white" in pictures-- so I definitely did not want to wear something white-ish to the wedding! Regardless, this would be an amazing dress to wear to a formal, party etc. as it was super flattering!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2012
I ordered the dress in size 2 & 4, both fit well. The fabric stretches & crinkles hiding any flaws!
The only reason I chose to go with the size 2 instead of the size 4 is because I like shorter dresses that show off my legs. I loved the crinkles in the dress because they hid the one flaw I am most self-conscious about. Everyone commented on how amazing the dress looked. My one tip - for fair skinned girls such as my self is get a spray tan before your event so your coloring against the dresses coloring doesn't get washed out.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
December 14, 2012
Disappointed
The dress looked a bit worn when I opened the package. But I rented it for for my husband's firm holiday party, which is an evening event and the rooms can be prety dark (read: forgiving of a less than perfect dress). But despite my best efforts, I couldn't get the dress zipped up around my bust line and ended up not being able to wear the dress. It looks terrific on the model and in the photos of the other women on the website, but just didnt work for me.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 15, 2012
Two people I'd never met before came up to me at the party and said "best dress of the night!"
I ordered a 2 and 4. The 2 was VERY stretched out from a previous wearer. I panicked a bit but then I tried on the 4 and it fit perfectly. I loved the dress and felt beautiful in it. Large busted girls may have some issues with the top area because once zipped up it's pretty tight. The color is great for cocktail parties, the gold definitely stands out in a sea of black. Loved my experience with RTR and will definitely use them again!
RTR CustomerJanuary 12, 2013
Love those shoes with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2012
Beautiful dress - love the fancy back
stretch meant it fit right everywhere
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 22, 2012
Perfect!
Gorgeous dress. Just as expected. As a very short and petite build, this is one of the few dresses I felt confident would fit based on other reviewers descriptions. I usually wear 0 or 00, and can usually wear child L. The 0 was perfect, though it wore longer than pictured on model.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 4, 2012
I didn't have to worry about dress shopping or anyone having the same dress as me. It worked out great!
I wore this dress for a New Year's Eve party. It is stretchy so it fit great on curves. Very comfortable to move around and dance in. The dress is more gold than it appears in the photo.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 4, 2012
Feeling gorgeous in a beautiful designer dress!
Very forgiving material...this dress has a light gold sheen that was perfect for the holiday season. The length was great as it hit mid thigh on me.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
January 16, 2012
I loved the extra details; the little perfume and the new years eve crown, it was a nice touch.
Totally flattering to any figure. Runs pretty true to size. Flexible material makes for an amazingly comfortable fit. Absolutely loved it.
BritNovember 8, 2012
We are the same age, and size, thanks for posting!! now I know this will look great on me too!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 5, 2012
Everyone loved the dress!
Amazing dress! Runs a little large so I'd order a size down to be sure.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 30, 2012
Absolutely loved this dress! I wore it to the ESPY Awards in LA and it was PERFECT.
The fit was great. It was strechy and form fitting and very flattering for my curves. I got a ton of great compliments. Nicole Millers dresses always seem to be very true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 31, 2012
Rented for an NYE party
perfect for curvy girls.
TanyaNovember 6, 2012
Beautiful!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 6, 2012
Love it!
I rented this dress for New Years Eve and it was fabulous. I received lots of compliments and it fit perfectly.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Loved the color!
Very fitted and flattering!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Body type: Petite
November 30, 2012
Most compliments ever...
Thank you..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Great dress!
I ordered this for a Christmas Party, but ended up wearing another dress I had ordered. I really liked the fit but it was a little longer than expected. If you want a longer dress this would be a great option!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 27, 2012
Wonderful !
Fit like a glove, pretty stretchy. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 31, 2012
Very Flattering!!
I wore this dress when my husband and I eloped. I ordered a size 2 and 4. I ended up wearing the 2. The inside lining of the dress was a lot looser than the dress it self so if you weren't careful putting it on, the lining could hang out at the bottom. The dress photographed beautifully and the ruching (sp) on the dress was so flattering and emphasized my curves. I was able to wear a strapless bra. The only uncomfortable part was around the top where the outside of the dress was a little rough on my skin. BUT overall, I was extremely happy with my choice and the process was SUPER EASY!!!
MariaFebruary 18, 2013
what color shoes did you wear?
RTR CustomerFebruary 19, 2013
Hi Maria! I would suggest wearing nude or gold shoes with this dress!
BethApril 3, 2013
I was going to wear nude but because it was cold out and my nudes were peep toe, i wore black pumps which actually looked very classy with it!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
January 2, 2013
Perfect for New Years!
This was the perfect New Years Eve dress. The 6 fit perfectly and really clung to all my curves. It was a little tight around the bust so if you have bigger boobs you might want to consider sizing up. All in all, very comfortable dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 2, 2013
Tight and form fitting
This dress was my backup. I didn't end of wearing it because it was just too form fitting and it looked like it had been rented a lot. The hem was peeking out from the bottom. I would imagine it might ride up if you tried dancing in this. The color of the dress was a very pretty gold, and the material was soft and not too shiny.
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 165lbs
January 2, 2013
Easy fit and cute color
I wore this for a bachlorette party and got lots of compliments. Its stretchy which is nice. I had a baby about two months before and was hoping this dress would help "hide" some of the tummy fat, but I felt like it actually made it stand out worse. Loved the color though, very nice change from typical black or white.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
January 4, 2013
Made me the belle of the ball at my own NYE party!
It fit like a 0. I was a bit worried about the arms because some of the reviewers were mentioning the armholes were super small. I have pretty big arms so I got the 2 for back up too, but the 0 was perfect and comfortable. The first time I tried the dress on, it came up to my knees. I was hoping for it to be shorter, but figure it would be fine. When I put the dress on for the event, I was in a rush and the bottom rolled up underneath. It was awesome, I was able to turn it into a mini. I had originally worn it with gold heels and had a much dressier look. Then we decided to go across the street to the park to watch fireworks. So I threw on my riding boots and my leather jacket and it still works! I love the versatility of this dress. I went from cocktail party look to a punk rock concert look.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
January 5, 2013
Great for New Years! So comfortable.
I wore the 8 because I ordered the day before (oops) and my size was not available. The 8 fit pretty well because the material was stretchy. Maybe a little loose on the top but overall a great fit. It was amazingly comfortable and hid my mid section very well. I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2013
This dress made me feel amazing!
This was the first dress I ever rented from RTR, and it was a great experience. I hate buying dresses and only wearing them once and I'm not one to splurge on purchases much, so this was an awesome way to wear a gorgeous dress and only pay a fraction of its retail price. I rented a 6 and an 8 and was able to fit nicely into the 6. The material has a little stretch to it. I got tons of compliments and I honestly felt both glamorous and comfortable all night. I would rent this dress again if there weren't so many other options to choose from ont his site. I've since reccommentded this site to MANY friends and they've all loved it as well! You cannot beat the quality for the price!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
January 10, 2013
Looked amazing on and fits like a glove. Lots of compliments.
Fit was true to size and looked amazing on. The color is a gold color and very sheen. I am very short and very busty and it fit great. Lots of cleavage and came to my knees but I received a ton of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 11, 2013
It was a WOW dress! I got a lot of compliments.
Pros: fit well Cons: too long.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 100lbs
January 14, 2013
Beautiful!
This dress was a perfect fit! It fit like it had been tailor made just for me. The color is beautiful and I had so many compliments on it. I am a size 0 and it was very true to the fit for me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 114lbs
January 17, 2013
Very comfortable and fun
I ordered this dress as an alternate incase the other dress didn't work out. I didnt end up wearing it out but its a great dress, very flattering material. It is stretchy and the rouching hide any imperfections. The dress is a little tight under the arms, so if you have big arms or bra line buldge it may not be the best choice. The back of the dress is very cute and makes your butt look awesome!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
January 18, 2013
Wore this for my sorority date party, had a great time
This dress was pretty tight on me in areas of my body that I'm not entirely comfortable with (even with Spanx!), so I wasn't entirely happy with the dress. I'm pretty short, so the skirt also ran long (down to my knees), which isn't really the look I was going for for my college date party. This dress would definitely be a better fit for taller women.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
January 27, 2013
Best quote of the night: "You look like movie stars!"
The dress fits fairly true to size. I'm usually a size 4 (sometimes a 6), and the 6 fit really well. It's a tight dress, but very flattering because of the rouching and material. The color is really pretty - it's a subtle shade of gold that really pops in pictures. The back is really fun, too. My friend and I both rented from RTR for a night out on the town in Orlando, and we loved the experience!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 27, 2013
a head turner!
definitely a tight-fitting dress. however, it hugged my curves in the right places. the only issue i had was that the fabric is cut high and rubbed against my underarms, which was a bit uncomfortable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 138lbs
January 30, 2013
Perfect fit for a full bust!
I usually have a hard time with dresses that fit up top and my waist. This one was perfect. I would even rent it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 30, 2013
Everyone was complementing the dress all night---made heads turn!
Fit was tight so I went for the 4 (I ordered a 2 and a 4) so it wouldn't look painted on. But the 4 was awesome. Rides up a little when you walk but that is a common problem with this style of dress
See more reviews:
2 / 10

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×