Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
645 reviews
Fit
Large
(33)
True to Size
(411)
Small
(54)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 18, 2015
Perfect fit!
Dress fit like a glove! I received so many compliments!! Perfect for a Christmas party! Comfortable and easy to move and dance in!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
November 16, 2014
I loved the ease of ordering.
The dress was really long on me I am 5'. Also I have a shorter torso so the top of the dress that comes on the shoulder was wide and the straps were long if that makes sense. The sequins are beautiful and its a gorgeous dress but like I said it was really long on me and overall big.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
December 2, 2014
Purple Pow WOW
Loved the dress. I'm usually a size 0 though wore size 2L as in the bust, the size 0 was too tight and made me look too busty, unless you love that look. I could see if someone was an A or B cup, this would be ok for. Though definitely size up if you are D or more. The sequins were a bit scratchy though great comfort overall.
zanJanuary 14, 2015
Anna, simply goregous you look amazingI am wearing this dress to a wedding and I am about your size.shape lol. I had a few questions hopefully you could help me with, first I might be a tad smaller then you in the bust but I am about your size, were you comfortable with the amount of cleavage it showed r did you feel like you were putting on a show all night lol? Second I am your height how high were your heels? Finally was VPL an issue, I am guessing this dress is going to require to wear a thong with it? Did you have a vpl issue at all? Thanks you look beautiful!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 9, 2014
Such a gorgeous dress!!!- This dress made me feel beautiful in a way I haven't felt in a long time!
I JUST had a baby 3 months prior. This dress had just enough stretch to fit my post baby shapely-ness! It had pull to the material to help hide any of my body flaws. The delivery and return process was soooo easy! I got compliments all night long, and I felt beautiful in a way that I haven't felt in so long due to during and post pregnancy! I'll be using RTR again for sure!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 149lbs
December 15, 2014
This was a replacement dress when the two dresses I had ordered did not fit & the process was easy!
I am so glad the other two dresses didn't fit, otherwise I might have never known about this dress. Other reviews spoke about the sequins being scratchy, but I didn't find that in my case. It was so beautiful and I loved it! The length was awesome, and allowed me to wear a medium heel comfortably. Reading the other reviews helped tremendously. Being my first rental, I was a little nervous. This experience was great.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 10, 2015
Glamorous. Felt like a movie star. Photographs well. Received so many compliments.
Fits true to size. Accentuates curves. Spanx can be worn but not necessary. Extremely flattering and beautiful in pictures. Red carpet worthy!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 18, 2015
Perfect for formal party
I wore this to Commodore's Ball at the yacht club and it was perfect for that but if we were with more people our age I would have felt a bit elderly on this dress. Would be more appropriate for a woman 40+
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 155lbs
January 18, 2015
I got numerous compliments and felt beautiful all night!
The dress fit beautifully. It has just enough give to fit curves without feeling restrictive. The sequins did scratch my underarms but it certainly wouldn't prevent me from wearing it again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 25, 2015
Loved it!
I loved this dress! It fit perfectly, and was the perfect length. The zipper was tricky, I felt like I was going to break it. But overall, the process was easy and I was very satisfied with this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
January 28, 2015
I wore this to a Mardi Gras themed ball, and felt stunning in it.
Both the 8 & 10 fit, however the 10's torso was longer than mine causing the shoulders to have a gap. I wore 3" heels & the long was perfect. The color is beautiful & a strapless bra did the trick!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
February 8, 2015
Loved the dress and RTR
Dress was much more vibrant than it looked on the model! Stretchy fabric fit great! Sequins definitely chafed under my arms but maybe cause I danced all night! Thank you RTR. I will definitely use you again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2015
This dress was definitely a show stopper!
Love, love, LOVED this dress! I'm 5'9 and even with the long length I couldn't wear a high heel and the dress can scratch some under the arm. Beautiful dress. I would definitely recommend it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 12, 2015
Great color and fit!
Dress was comfortable and had a nice silhouette and cut outs. No need to wear bra but a strapless would've been fine.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 16, 2015
Doesn't get any easier!
True to size fit. Wore with strapless bra for extra support and Spanx. Very comfortable fit.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 17, 2015
The look on my husband's face when I walked out in the dress
It fit just right and I got so many rave reviews! Felt very glamorous!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
February 18, 2015
Amazing dress!
The dress for pretty well except the top was a bit big so I had to pin it and I did get a bit of a rash on my underarms from the sequins but the dress was stunning. Got lots of compliments. Also the lining kept coming up, which probably could've been fixed w/double stick tape but I didn't have time to think about that. My first time renting and definitely not the last. It was very easy to return it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
February 20, 2015
This dress is stunning! The color is fabulous and it really sparkles.
Wish it had bit just a little longer, but it fit like a glove and was super comfortable! Would highly recommend it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 24, 2015
Very glamorous!
A very comfortable and great fitting dress. The length was short-which was perfect for me because I didn't want to wear very high heels. Mine were around 1 1/2 inch. I received many, many compliments all night long. It was a little exile than I usually wear. I've read the sequins hurt the underarms but I personally did not have any problems with it. I didn't see a big difference between 6 and 4. But, I have a small upper body frame and the 4 did fit there better. Overall a great experience that I will do again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 164lbs
February 24, 2015
The stylist was awesome and really helped me pick out the perfect dress.
The dress fit perfectly and was as beautiful as the picture showed. It was elegant. I truly felt glamorous.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 165lbs
February 28, 2015
So many compliments on the dress!
It fit true to size
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2015
Gorgeous color, beautiful dress!
I wore this dress to a military ball and received compliments all night long! I was a little worried about the fit since I just had a baby 3 months ago, but the 6R ended up fitting fine (just slightly on the tight side). I wore 3 inch heels and the dress length was just a tad bit shorter than I like, but the longer size would have been way too long. Like many other reviews stated, the sequins do scratch your arms, but I kind of expected that because sequins are not a smooth textile. It was nice to feel beautiful after several months of wearing nothing but spit-up covered t-shirts and yoga pants!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
March 9, 2015
Received my dress on time and I loved how it shimmers in pictures
Comfortable fit with some stretch in the fabric. I thought the sequins would hurt under the arms but they didn't bother me! I got many compliments throughout the night. I would buy this dress if I could!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 16, 2015
Gorgeous!
I got this dress as a backup when my original dress was not available at the last minute. I was a teeny bit worried it would be too much for a formal wedding that I attended but it was perfect! Very figure flattering and comfortable. I noticed a little irritation under the arms but what else can you expect from full sequins? The straps were slightly big, but I have small shoulders and am small chested so it was nothing a good bra couldn't fix!! Very lovely and I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
March 26, 2015
Head turning gown
I read many other reviews of people that have similar measurements as me to determine what size to order. I'm 5'5", with a shorter torso and 31" inseam and 160lbs. I wore shoes with a 3" heel. The 8R worked well for me. Any taller shoes, and I would have needed the 8L. The dress has stretch to it so it is surprisingly comfortable. I had to keep an eye on my strapless bra popping out of the top. The top did flatten out my chest quite a bit - a better push up strapless bra would have helped. I received many complements and turned a lot of heads in this dress. It is a gorgeous plum purple color. I could dance easily in this dress. One con, as others have stated, the sequins scratch your arms if you wear for an extended time. I highly recommend renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 195lbs
March 29, 2015
LOVE LOVE this dress!! It fit perfectly & was absolutely gorgeous.
Fit was true to size. I'm 36DD so getting the girls in was a lil tricky but spanx did the trick. Definitely make sure you have someone to zip you up!!! The zipper is difficult. Inside of my arms are a lil irritated but that's to be expected with a sequin dress. I'm 5'9 & was able to wear 4 inch heels with the L size. The only bad thing was that another girl at the event rented the same dress & it was a small event so pretty obvious. I made the best of it & took this pic together (I'm on the right). Maybe RTR could include a location & name of the event other people have rented it for to avoid duplicates? I love this dress so so much & was sad to have to return it. Il
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
April 8, 2015
Loved this dress!
I got tons of compliments before I even walked into the door. Wore this dress to my fiancé's military ball. The dress was comfortable and very well made. It didn't scratch my armpits at all. However, I had to be careful when I grabbed the dress with my fingers bc the sequins would cut right underneath my nail skin and it would burn all night. Two of my fingers started bleeding. I don't know if anyone else had the same problem lol, or just my luck. The dress was a little bit big so we had to put a couple of stitches in it. It was mainly the shoulder area. The dress kind of pushed my boobs down a little too, so make sure you wear a push-up bra of some sort. The length was perfect! I would def rent this dress again!!!
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
April 9, 2015
A *standout from the crowd* dress
I wore this to my boyfriends law school "prom". It was stunning and really stood out from a sea of black. It ran very long and I ended up pinning it up. I'm 5'7 and wore 2" heels. It fit true to size and had no give. The bust area was tight but ended up giving me a full looking chest (which I don't have) LOVE RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 16, 2016
Easy process! Will most def be using RTR again!
Dress was a huge hit! Wore this to a Mardi Gras Ball and felt beautiful in it! Fit great and the whole process was very easy!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 21, 2015
The dress was comfortable and flattering. I love the color.
This dress fit like a glove and I received many complements throughout the night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
April 19, 2015
This was so beautiful!!!
This was a backup dress and I would've worn it but soon found out It was not my size at all!! I loved how beautiful it was. Really made everything so beautiful and pop!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 19, 2015
Heavy but a stunner!
This was an option for a replacement dress for a formal event, ended up going with a different dress but I'm keeping this in mind for the future. Love the Nicole Miller fits, form fitting. The purple sequins is fabulous - I could see this being absolutely perfect for a formal Mardi Gras event! It's heavier of course so not for a hot day.
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
April 22, 2015
Bump friendly and chic!
This was listed as a bump friendly dress and I wore it to a black tie wedding 28 weeks pregnant. I got tons of compliments and felt great in it. I usually am a 10L prepregnancy and wore the 12L and felt it didn't have as much stretch as others reported ( maybe that's the pregnant lady in denial talking!). My only real complaint is the chaffing under the armpits!!! It was killer while dancing. I finally took my shawl and wrapped it around my shoulders and under my arms as my upper arms were red raw!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
April 24, 2015
First time using rent the runway. I can't wait to do it again!
This dress was beautiful! It's a little stretchy, but was still a little snug around my belly. I was worried about the fit, but didn't get the other size, so I can't compare. It's more low cut than I thought it was going to be. Which is actually a good thing for me. But I'm not large chested, so it worked. Like other reviews, it scratches under your arms, but it's not something that bothers you all night. I am 5'6 and it the regular. With my normal 2 1/2" heels it was just the right length. I got lots of compliments on this dress. The color and sparkles make you stand out from the crowd, but not so much that you feel uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 26, 2015
All eyes were on the dress! My boobs were out just a bit more than planned, but I have zero regrets.
Even more beautiful than the photos provide. So sparkly but not in a tacky way. It was like a purple Jessica Rabbit. Very sexy but also glamorous. Also, it made my butt look really amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2015
Perfect for the red carpet!
This dress was super flattering and easy to wear! We were invited to the ACM awards show and were told we would have access to the red carpet...this was the perfect dress! I got so many compliments from strangers- and my husband too, who isn't always so complimentary! The train was long and I had a few issues with it getting caught up on my heels, but no big deal. I was able to wear this without a bra (love that!) and the stretchy fabric didn't make me look completely flat. I was able to eat in this dress and still breathe. LOVED IT SO MUCH!! Can't wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
May 13, 2015
I received so many compliments! I highly recommend this dress for any formal occasion.
The 6 fit nicely but I felt more comfortable in the 8.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
May 22, 2015
How efficient and easy the entire process was
It fit like a glove. I felt so beautiful! Everything about it was perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
May 23, 2015
I looked dazzling! Like a Hollywood movie star. I received so many compliments.
#prom Great fit. Especially for a girl as petite as I am.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
June 4, 2015
Even the long was too short!
I'm 5'11" and the long size was too short. The dress hugged my body funny and just did not work for me! Pretty color, but bad fit.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
June 6, 2015
I usually wear a 2, but it was a little too long. RTR sent me a 0 quickly with no questions asked.
Looks better in person. Straps were a bit long for me, but I liked being able to wear a bra. I'm 4' 11' and the 2R was too long in my 4 inch heels. The 0 was perfect.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 17

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×