You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown
Rental $70 Retail $605
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Erickson Beamon’s Amethyst Collage Ring and Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in purple, red, and black.
Chat with a Stylist
Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos142

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Haley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8433
Jan 22, 2014
Amazing Holiday Party Dress
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. The color, the fit, the showcasing of the boobage ;) ... I usually wear a size 12 and so had to work a little to get into the 10, but thankfully, the stretch got me there and I loved the way it looked. I had no problem with the top or straps being too big, but again, it was a size small for me. The length was surprising .. I ordered the long and had to wear strappy flats in order for it to touch the floor. I also noticed some irritation on the undersides of my arms from the sequins, but it was absolutely worth it for how great it looked. Got compliments all night long. Highly recommend.
Chelsey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Jan 21, 2014
Gerat dress! The sequins were really pretty and such a perfect choice for my event.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
For the details, the dress was a little heavy, nothing I couldn't handle. The sequins did scratch under my arms pretty bad. When I took my dress off I still had the marks. Also, others commented about the front sort of rolling down, to see the linging, that happened but just had to fix it real quick.
Rachel
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3434
Jan 17, 2014
Definitely a head turner!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! This was my first RTR rental and I am hooked. I rented the 2 and 4. The 2 hugged my body better. The sequins did rub under my arms, but it was worth it. I also wished I had a slightly smaller heel. I wore 3 in heels and the dress was a tad shorter than I would have preferred.
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4424
Jan 13, 2014
Gorgeous dress, kind of annoying to wear!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress and might even rent it again, even though I share many of the same complaints that other women have already mentioned. The color and sparkle were truly stunning in person, and photographed beautifully. I thought the fit was quite flattering -- sexy without being too scandalous. You don't need any shapewear and can even go braless, though I felt more comfortable with a standard strapless bra. Now the frustrations. The sizing is quite odd. I wore the 2R even though I normally wear a 4-6, and even wore an 8 in another Nicole Miller dress (the Plum Metallic Ruched Dress). It was insanely long and I had to hold it up to walk even with 4.5 inch heels on -- no dancing for me! The straps are too long, which means they gape awkwardly in the back, and the front always wanted to fall down to display my bra. Since the sequin layer is heavier than the underlayer, the slip kept showing at the bust (you can see it in one of the pics). Fashion tape wouldn't've helped. The sequins were also a bit irritating under the arms, though I stopped noticing it after a while. I wore it with the Crystal Thorn Drop Earrings by RJ Graziano. My stunning friend is wearing the Take the Stage Gown by Badgley Mischka.
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 6, 2014
Black tie family wedding! Such a great event and it felt so good to look so great in this dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5"4, 130lbs, and a C cup. Dress fit me like a glove. The length was perfect for 3" heels. If I had wanted to wear any bigger of a heel, the 4R would have been too short. I thought I would be able to wear a strapless bra, but the cut is definitely very low and none of my strapless bras would fit. Had to wear stick on pasties which isn't my favorite, but it totally worked out alright. The only negative that I have is that the sequins were harsh on my arms. I have very pale, sensitive skin and by the end of the night I had scratches up and down my arm. It was pretty uncomfortable while dancing, but not enough to ruin my night. Thanks, Rent the Runway for a fantastic fitting dress! Can't wait to rent again!
Gabby
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3424
Jan 5, 2014
Sexy glamorous and flattering!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this for a black tie New Years Eve event in both a 0R and 2R...the 0 was perfect it was very close fitting to showcase my curves but not too tight so that i couldn't move or sit. I am quite petite so i did have to wear 5.5 heels and be a bit cautious with the small train. However, all of this was very minor, it is a beautiful dress that was sexy but tasteful and made me feel beautiful the whole night, and my boyfriend loved it! I highly recommend this dress.
AJ
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 7421
Jan 1, 2014
Simply Amazing! I felt so gorgeous all night!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress runs very true to size. I wore it to a NYE 2014 Gala. Quite comfortable. The color was hard to capture in pictures in darker places, but the eggplant color looked great under lights! My arms got a little scratched from the sequins but this was the only things bad I can say about this dress--because otherwise, it's awesome. My recommendations: Wear a heel higher than 3 inches with this dress to avoid using hem tape. As far as undergarments go, you don't need a waist cincher , but I feel like stronger one that what I used would have made a great silhouette (if you don't have a small midsection). Still, I felt fabulous in this dress and got so many compliments on it! Love love loved it!.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5542
Dec 30, 2013
This was my first time using RTR - it was SUPER easy and I highly recommend it!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The 4 fit my tiny bust better but I went with the 6 because of the length. Performing in this gown was really comfortable, even while seated, though like others I found the sequins rubbing on my underarms slightly unpleasant. Even though it sat too low, I loved that it stayed securely on my shoulders. This gown was an AWESOME stage gown - the comments were numerous! If you want attention, this is the dress for you!
Jessica
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 144 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 24, 2013
Loved this dress!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fit was great. The only con was the scratchiness under the arm but it was well worth it!
Kate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Dec 22, 2013
This is such a beautiful dress! I felt like I was having my own Marilyn moment!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit perfectly. Usually I have a hard time finding a dress that hugs my curves perfectly without the top being too big. I didn't have any problem with this dress. At first I thought it might be a little short for my shoe preferences but it ended up being perfect. If you like to wear shoes taller than 3 1/2 inches I would recommend getting it in long. You will not be disappointed in this dress!!
Sharon
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6434
Dec 16, 2013
Comfort meets glamorous!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
First off make sure you read the dimensions for the length of the dress. I needed a long so that I could wear heels. I first got a 8 Reg but it was too short and I had to immediately get in contact with RTR and get a long overnighted. But they did and I didn't have any issues and the long was perfect. In regards to comfort, this dress didn't constrict me and I felt comfortable in it all night thanks to the stretchy fabric. You will get lots of compliments while wearing this dress and I really don't have any cons. The sequins didn't hurt under my arm, in fact I didn't notice them at all. Overall, an absolutely perfect dress. I wore it to my company holiday party and the sequins is purple. Some pics look royal blue, but it's purple and it is sparkly! Love it and highly recommend it!
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Dec 15, 2013
Stunning dress, serious slippage.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Based on reviews, I ordered this dress in a 2 and a 4. I normally wear a 4, but the 2 did fit better. The dress was stunning and I received a lot of compliments, but the top rolled down ALL night. I tried taping, pulling, shifting...nothing worked. Very frustrating. I would have worn the bigger dress, but the 4 came with a hole near the zipper in the back, which was very noticeable when on.
GlitterCake
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Dec 13, 2013
Stand out in a great way!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
When random girls are stopping you at a party with 500 people to compliment your dress, and you're still getting comments a week later, you know it's a good one! Definitely stands out, and the color/sparkles are noticeable without being overwhelming and garish. I am 5'9" and wore 4" heels, and the long was perfect, regular would have been too short for that heel height for me. Sequins are scratchy but tolerable. Did not have trouble with the straps as others mentioned, but I also have broad shoulders and could see how it would be a struggle if I didn't. Tried on both with spanx and without, and the material/sparkles are forgiving enough that it disguises problem areas with dazzle. Felt a bit like it flattened my chest and gave me a bit of a barrel look, but not so much that it prevented me from wearing, just tried to be cautious in picture angles! Am usually either a 6 or an 8 depending on style, and 6 fit perfectly, 8 could have still worked, but would have had a bit too much extra material. Would rent again, very fun dress to wear!
shruti
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Dec 4, 2013
Loved it and flaunted it
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Everything is perfect about this dress
Katie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6442
Dec 5, 2013
Breath Of Life Gala in SF, supporting the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress to wear to a fundraiser supporting the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation. Our 2.5 year old was born with CF. (Please learn more at cff.org) Purple is the color of the CF Awareness ribbon. The shoulder straps of the dress were very loose on me. There was one to two inches of fabric that I had to safety pin up in the back to keep the dress up and avoid a wardrobe malfunction. The sticky tape that RTR sent with my order did not help as it just stuck to the inner lining and made the lining show. This could be due to the fact that I have virtually no boobs from breastfeeding two kids. But it is worth noting that it did not fit on top. I do agree with the sequins being very scratchy! I would not recommend this dress to ladies with my figure, with nothing to put in the top of the dress. Also, the alternate size 8L was so big that it would have shown my whole chest area had I worn it. Just noting that also. The rest of the dress fit great, very flattering
Kat
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 156 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Dec 3, 2013
The little sequins really irritated the underside of my arms.
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Not long enough - I'm 5'10" and my feet were totally exposed. Also the top came a bit far down on my bust so I kept having to pull it back up to make sure my bra wasn't showing. Nicole Miller dresses usually fit me really well, but this one was a bit of a let down (though I did get lots of compliments on the color on me).
amber
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Nov 25, 2013
Beautiful dress! Received lots of compliments.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Runs a little large in the bust and torso. It also said to rent a long if you were my height and wearing 4" heels, I did and it was too long. would have been fine if I went with a regular.
Patricia
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Nov 20, 2013
I loved this dress! The fit was right on target... it was perfect! Got compliments all evening.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect dress. The only thing that bothered me was that the sequins rubbed under my arms and irritated my skin a bit but maybe that was the price to pay for feeling beautiful! Definitely still recommend!
Meaghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Nov 11, 2013
HOT. Loved this dress.
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
When I needed a gown for a ball I was attending in Texas, I knew I needed something over the top. I initially ordered two other gowns but neither worked. They were too short or too big. RTR's staff are ANGELS, I literally called everyday I received a new dress that didn't work. They helped me and assured me each time. Finally I landed on this gown and couldn't be happier. They even sent the dress to my hotel so once I arrived the dresses were waiting for me! Great shape and hugs in all the right ways. The only issue was the sequins pinched a little but I got over that fast. The dress was BEAUTIFUL!
Alyssa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5243
Nov 6, 2013
"Thank you so much for being here, my table said you had the prettiest dress."
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was very nice. I am 5'8" and I ordered the long dress and it was a little too short with my heels, as you can see in the picture. It still looked great and I didn't want to take this dress off. If you need to be that "light" when you walk in the room, GET THIS DRESS! I had so much complements it was so amazing. The only thing that was not so exciting was my underarms got a major rub mark from the sequins on the side of the dress. But I have nothing else bad to say about this dress.
Jess
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Oct 21, 2013
So many compliments! One lady stopped to tell me I was stunning!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is absolutely amazing! It's extremely comfortable, easy to wear, and looks fantastic in photographs. It hugs the body and catches the light in ways that will surely make you stand out at any event. As for fit, I am typically a size 0P-2P so I rented the 0R and opted for the 2R as a backup. The 0 fit perfectly through my chest and body, but had a little extra room vertically in the shoulders (typically that would be a petite adjustment) and a lot of extra fabric on the hem. I'm 5'0" and heels don't exist that would make me tall enough for this dress! Luckily the fabric is very forgiving and with a quick needle and thread I was able to make a loose and removable, but invisible, hem. I would recommend this dress to anyone attending a black tie event, just be weary if you're under 5'2". You may need super tall heels or a removable hem!
S
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4523
Oct 20, 2013
Fabulous dress! I got tons of compliments and felt gorgeous!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this dress for a black-tie wedding. It was a total win and I got tons of compliments! I would absolutely wear it again. Here's what you should know about this dress: Pros: *It was form-fitting without being tight. *It was very flattering for my petite figure. *It's a great medium purple. A classy shade. I thought it might be too prom-y or girlish, but it wasn't. *It was very comfortable (for the most part. Sometimes the sequins dug into me when I was seated, but it wasn't that bad). *I didn't need a special bra or slip. A regular strapless bra and strapless slip were perfect. Cons: *As other reviewers mentioned, it was really long. I had to lift it up whenever I walked or my 4" heels got caught on the inside hem. Wear the highest heels you can walk in if you're under 5'4". *The fit was great overall, but it was a little loose at the shoulders. *It's not a breast-enhancing dress, so if you have little ta-tas and want to show them off, this isn't the dress for you. If you have big ta-tas, however, maybe it would work. *The sequins scratch the underside of your arms a bit. It's not horrible, but I could see it getting really annoying after awhile if you're dancing and moving your arms around a lot. Overall, this dress was fantastic. I looked and felt great all night!
Beth
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5433
Oct 13, 2013
First off, the service was so easy and fun to shop. Second, my dress got so many compliments!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Perfect length for someone of my height w heels. The sequins under my arms really didn't scratch. My skin as bad as some of the other reviews lead me to think it would. The length of the straps in the front were a little long for me, but I just shifted the length to the back and it worked out fine. Super comfortable, super easy to wear. Loved it!
Bay
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3234
Jul 31, 2013
sparkly and elegant!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the size 2, and it fit me pretty well overall! It was a little long, however I was wearing 6 inch heels so that helped. I loved the color, style, and fit! I recommend this dress! and I wish I owned it!
Cate
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 18
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6243
Jul 15, 2013
Going to the showroom is an amazing experience!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I felt like a celebrity getting ready for an event while trying on all the gowns in nyc. My stylist was absolutely amazing, and actually was alum from the college i will be attending in the fall, and we really hit it off which made the experience that much more memorable! At prom, i felt like a million bucks and looked awesome. When it came in the mail, i put it on and wore it around for like 4 hours until my mom told me to hang it up before i get it dirty. The process is seamless and so convenient. I ordered 8L and 8R as a backup and wore the 8R because i decided i wanted to wear flats to be more comfortable and it was about 1/4 of an inch from the floor in my flats, which was really perfect. I would DEFINITELY rent again! Wonderful experience
becca
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3233
Jun 14, 2013
I definitely had the best dress of all my friends and I shined the whole night!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I normally would wear a size 2 but the zero was even a tiny bit loose on me. I loved loved loved the dress. It covered/hid everything that needed to be while making me look extremely skinny!
SH
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jun 12, 2013
Glitter! Glamour! Gorgeous!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I've never felt this glamourous before! The dress itself is stunning! I received many compliments on the dress--especially the top and the back. It was simple, yet had that extra kick to it. My shoulders were not as broad, so the top was a bit loose, but you can easily pin it together a bit more closely. I could have worn higher heels for height, but heels were about 2 inches, and it ran slightly longer. However, it really didn't matter. I'm glad there was RTR as an option--it was definitely a moment for a lady to dazzle! The best part was that my friend and I both rented dresses from RTR and definitely shined brightly! It was an evening to remember :)
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4241
May 23, 2013
Standout dress, feel like a queen!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for my senior prom, and I received many compliments before/after from students and parents alike about how well it fit me (bodywise and personality)! The sequins are not so bad if you keep your arms up most of the time. The straps, however, were a little big and fell off my shoulders a few times. With some fashion tape, that problem can be averted. Overall, it's a fabulous dress!
Kyla
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4233
May 21, 2013
This Dress was a knock out! I'm still getting compliments about it. I wore it to my senior prom!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore the dress with silver accessories, it wasn't tight or too big on the shoulders. The sequins did not give me a rash. The color is amazing in person, and everyone is still complimenting me weeks after the prom. This dress did not disappoint! RTR was amazing, the dress came in on time- everything was flawless, this is my 2nd rental I've done with them, and definetly NOT my last!
Emily
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5233
May 18, 2013
Stunning, flattering, and I felt like a princess :)
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was even more beautiful in person, and the sequins were secure on the fabric and didn't fall off or cause the dress to lose shape. Only con was that the sleeves were tight around the underarms, but I looked and felt so beautiful it was worth it!
Ilona
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 19
Body type: Full Bust
Canonical User Type: 5221
May 15, 2013
This dress was me in every way!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a standout dress! A perfect combination of simple elegance and understated sexiness. The fit is rather large though. I ordered the smaller size just in case, and I was glad I did!
Anna
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 19
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7334
May 7, 2013
Amazing! I felt beautiful and confident wearing this dress!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress! It hugged my curves in all the right places and was very flattering. The color is even more beautiful worn.
Trish
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7644
May 6, 2013
Renting from the Runway ending up being the easiest process. I would definitely do it again!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a lot more beautiful and sparkly than the pictures show. I received many compliments on this dress throughout the evening and I wouldn't hesitate to rent again. The dress runs pretty true to size...but after trying on the 10L I realized that an 8L would probably be better. So I contacted Rent the Runway via chat on line and they over-nighted the 8L and it was perfect. The dress was comfortable as it has a little stretch to it. I read the other reviews about it being scratchy to the arms but I didn't experience that. I wouldn't hesitate to rent this dress if you are looking for the color purple, it's a beautiful shade, very sparkly and beautifully designed. It's a winner...
Jessica
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3422
Apr 21, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was beautiful! It was actually my second choice dress, but when I saw it in person and tried it on, I had to go with it. I received many compliments on this dress, including one from the bride! Two minor negatives - my under arms hurt by the end of the night from the rubbing of the sequins (but nothing I couldn't handle) and the straps were a tad big, again, not that bad. I wish I could wear this dress again! The length was perfect with 3-4" heels.
Anne
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Apr 18, 2013
So much fun to wear! So many compliments!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for the 20th Annual Bear Tie Ball! Unfortunately my size, 8, was not available for the date of the ball so I rented one size up, 10, and one size down, 6. The 10 was too big and the 6 fit just fine. I would have preferred the 8 but loved the fit & length anyway. It was so much fun to dance in and I received so many compliments!
Melissa
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Apr 16, 2013
This dress is a show stopper! I felt beautiful in a room full of beautiful women. Thanks, RTR!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. Fabric was stretchy, allowing for movement. Very comfortable to wear. Many complements. I highly recommend it!
Emma
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4223
Apr 8, 2013
I didn't want to send the dress back, the perfect senior Prom gown.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Like other reviewers, the only problems I had were the loose shoulders and a minor rash from the sequins underneath my arms. I ordered both the 2R and 4R because I generally wear a 4. Although the dress information says to order the size up I decided to go down instead based on some other reviews. I ended up wearing the 2R, it worked really well and accentuated my curves. I am curious to see whether the 0R would have maybe even fit a bit better. I wore a strapless (very padded) push up bra which help tighten up the loose arms, if I had time to get one of the sticky push up bras I would have because that probably would have worked much better. I am 5'3" and with 4" heels the length worked really well, it dragged a bit but I would prefer that to it being too short. Overall, the dress was absolutely perfect for the occasion and I received enormous amounts of compliments. My Rent The Runway experience went so smoothly that I can't wait to use them again!
Danielle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Mar 27, 2013
I want to own this dress - perfect!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had originially ordered a 2R/4R but learned the day before my rental was supposed to arrive that due to a mistake with my order, both sizes were unavailbale for my event data...so I ordered a 0R and crossed my fingers that it fit. THANK GOD it did when it arrived! It was definately a little tighter than I would have liked, but it was still super flattering. Good cut and color. I literally want to own this dress it was so beautiful!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4533
Mar 24, 2013
Spent a night out with my husband - the first time since our son was born. I felt beautiful!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfectly - hugged in all the right places. I wish I had taken a photo of the back as well. I received numerous compliments. It is a beautiful dress.
Tara
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5443
Feb 5, 2013
Getting the "thumbs-up" from my boyfriend when I walked into the room.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
While the sequins below my axilla scratched my skin, the loose fit of the neck and shoulders helped prevent this chaffing, despite previous dress reviews. I highly recommend this dress and website.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress