Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 rental
$605 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-10.

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted – stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Full Bust, Hourglass, Athletic, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
490 reviews
Fit
Large32
True to Size338
Small36
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
February 9, 2016
Love!
Fit like a glove. I own the same style dress in white linen and short, so I was fairly certain the 0 would fit the same but was appreciative of the free second size just in case! I had been worried about the sequins scratching or irritating my arms like other reviews had mentioned but I didn't notice or feel anything the entire night and no irritation the next day...and I did my fair share of dancing! Had to lift the skirt up a bit to really get down as there is no slit, but it has enough give for easy walking etc. Amazing pick, lots of compliments and I felt so glamorous! Such an easy service with RTR as well! Can't wait for the next opportunity to use the again!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 24
February 9, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress was a great fit and was definitely an "eye-catcher." I would not normally wear this many sparkles (it looks even more glittery in person because the purple is a little lighter than the photo), but I wanted something fun and festive for the formal Mardi Gras ball we were attending. The weight wasn't nearly as heavy as I expected it might be by the end of the night, and it does a really good job of highlighting you silhouette.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 8, 2016
I received so many complements on the color and fit of this dress!
The fit was perfect!!! I am normally a size 0 or 2. So glad I went with the 2! The sequins tend to rub on the inside of your arm a bit but that's a small price to pay for this beauty! I'm 5'2" and the length was also perfect (for the regular).
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 44
February 8, 2016
My dress was perfect for the Mardi Gras theme I attended
The dress ran a little bit small for me, but overall it was beautiful
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 7, 2016
Pretty but not my favorite
Did not end up wearing this dress, but it was beautiful. Arrived with a button coming off and I didn't have time to sew it back on. Opted to wear another dress. Also this dress is gorgeous but in my opinion would look better on someone who has boobs. I don't! It made me look very flat
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
February 6, 2016
Perfect!
Awesome dress! Got so many compliments on it! I typically wear a 4 or 6 but the 2 was almost too big. It was also a little long (not surprising since I'm 5'2). Still loved it and it was super comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 5, 2016
The customer service and quickness to fix my initial dress problem was great!
I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras ball and everyone loved it! I initially ordered a different dress that didn't work and was sent this dress as a replacement. It fit like a glove. I like that the dress had some stretch so it wasn't uncomfortable. The only thing I was surprised about was the dress rubbed the bottom part of my arms raw! It was worth it though! #glamorous
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
February 2, 2016
The purple sequins could not have been better for a Mardi Gras ball!
The fit is true to size. Everyone raved over the gorgeous purple sequins! I do not wear super high heels, so the dress still covered my feet in the regular length. Only two cons (totally still WORTH it, but to be honest...) 1) The sequin chafing on my arms was REAL. My event *was* 10 hours long, and I did dance for a couple of them, so maybe it wouldn't be a problem for a shorter, less jovial event - but yeah, owww. 2) I did have to keep pulling up the bust every once in a while. The top of my padded strapless bra would begin to peek, and the dress lining would roll over & start to show a bit. Again, though, neither were deal breakers for this gorgeous dress!!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
February 2, 2016
This dress was amazing--the perfect dress for a Mardi Gras Ball.
I loved this dress. I felt very pretty in it, and I got tons of compliments. The sequins weren't as scratchy as I thought they would be, BUT my hair kept getting caught on them. I have long hair so my suggestion to future wearers---put your hair up or risk having a good bit of it torn out. I usually wear a size 2, but the straps were a little loose on my shoulders. I ended up wearing a 0 which was a little bit tighter, but not unbearable.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
February 2, 2016
The dress was beautiful, sexy and an overall standout for sure!
I had a rough first experience with Rent the Runway. My event was reschedule due to a snow storm so my original dress never made it to me and was unavailable for the rescheduled date. I went through quite a few options that were not available however my representative was very helpful and patient with me. I ended selecting a dress I originally kept over looking and it was PERFECT! I received compliments all night. I loved how it fit and the way I looked. I am happy with the end result.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 1, 2016
I was surprised by this dress!
I was nervous about renting this dress due to the fact that I have a smaller bust (36B), but when I put it on (with a backless Nubra), it fit like a glove and hid my "not so flattering" tummy area. I would definitely rent this dress again for another event!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Work
Age: 51
January 31, 2016
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. I would rent this dress for another occassion.
I rented a size 6R and 8R. I usually wear a size 8, but after looking at the other profiles, I thought I would be able to fit a size 6R. The dress was slightly long to be wearing 2 1/2 inch heals, so I wore a pair of 3 1/2 inch heals. I'm excited to rent my next dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 44
January 31, 2016
Stunning!
This dress made me feel like a million bucks! It fit my body like a glove and had just enough stretch so that it was extremely comfortable. The length was perfect for me, which I was concerned about because I am only 5'3". I did where 4.5" inch heels. The dress made me feel like a movie star and I got a ton of compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
January 31, 2016
Easy shipping!
5'6 135 lbs I ordered the 4&6 long and the 4 for better ok the straps. The zipper is pretty hard to handle on your own, but other than that a beautiful Gown!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 31, 2016
Mardi Gras Glitz!!
This was a terrific dress!! I'm 5'6", 118lbs with a thin frame and this fit me perfectly. It did make me look flat chested but still had a wonderful cut with the shoulder detailing. I got TONS of compliments!! Perfect for a Mardi Gras ball. Note: I rented the 2R and actually contemplated getting them to ship me the 2L. I decided not to chance the L being TOO long and I'm glad, another friend actually wore this dress in the 2L and it drug the floor all night. The 2R showed the tips of my toes. I never tripped once. That's very important to consider when wearing a full sequined dress... The weight will make the fabric grab you as you walk, don't get the dress too long! I'd rent this again!! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
January 28, 2016
Wore this to a Mardi Gras themed Mall Ball.
Beautiful, perfect fit and length with high heels!
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
January 27, 2016
This was my second rental and once again it was amazing and so easy.
This dress was just long enough with flats I loved it and received lots of compliments. Only downfall was that it tore my underarms up. I had a rash the next day. I would wear it again though.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 30
January 25, 2016
All-in-all, a great dress! Comfortable to wear and received lots of compliments
All in all, the dress was really pretty and fit true to size. I ordered both a 4L and 6L, and ended up going with the 4, because the straps/cap sleeves on the 6 were way too loose and I knew they would continue to sag all night. I'm 5'6" and am SO glad I opted for a "long". It's a really short long, and in kitten heels still just hit the floor and covered my feet. If you are 5'5" or over, I would definitely recommend getting a long. Be aware that it is a very fitted dress, and is form-fitting, particularly in the tummy area. Some people mentioned that the sequins irritated their skin- I didn't have this problem at all and was able to dance in it with no trouble. I also loved that I could wear a normal strapless bra with it, without it showing. Be aware that the dress doesn't have built in cups or pads, only a really thin lining, so it doesn't do much to support your chest (I felt like it made me look a lot flatter than normal without a bra). My only major complaint (like lots of others mentioned) is that the lining of the dress continued to pop out at the top of the chest area. The only way to fix it was to go to the bathroom, reach inside the dress and tug it down from the very bottom. I did this maybe 6 times before I gave up and just let it stick out, but it is very obvious. It is a gorgeous dress and surprisingly comfortable to wear, in my opinion
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
January 21, 2016
Received many many complements on this dress.
Fit wonderful!!! Not stiff or tight, just right.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 16, 2016
Fun dress!
Fits well! The color is really pretty in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
January 13, 2016
This dress is gorgeous!! Hello it's a WOW!!!
This dress fit amazing and is gorgeous, a little bit of a train , but a bit itchy under the arms.. And a little low cut , the zipper does bunch up right above your butt. Again it's a beautiful dress though
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 12, 2016
Wore this dress to an award show. I was a trophy girl. Felt like one of the stars. IG @ chika__I_ am
Fit was great. Had to get the larger size 12 because of the extra length it provided me.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
January 12, 2016
Best dress of the night! Sparkles galore
Fit was true to size. The dress has some stretch to it which is good. I would prob order a long next time so it hit the floor but was great for dancing all night. So beautiful in person. The color was amazing the the sequins sparkled like crazy. Great dress would rent again and again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
January 11, 2016
The fit was so flattering and color definitely stood out in a crowd. Successful first rental!
The dresses arrived right on time and the process was very easy. Both sizes would have fit me but I felt the 2R fit me better in the mid section while the 4R was a little more accommodating in the bust. The material wasn't stretchy but it was comfortable. The only con that has been noted before was a little bit of scratching on my arms from the sequins which quickly resolved and only bothered me that night. All in all the dress was fantastic and I would definitely consider renting it or a similar dress again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
January 11, 2016
Glam and eye catching sequins for a formal work holiday party
Material is forgiving and stretchy - this dress has some give that's good for curvier girls, or if you're not sure what size you should get. I would size down so that the dress can help give you some shape, especially since there is some ruching across the waist/tummy area that is very flattering, regardless of how tight the dress is on you. The purple is perfect if you want to stand out a bit in a black-tie crowd in a more subtle way. The material at the neckline does roll over a bit at the fold, so that's something to watch out for. I got a lot of nice compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 10, 2016
Showstopper! The most flattering shape!
This dress is amazing! I'm not very curvy, but it made me look like I had shape in all the right spots. It's very form fitting, so grab the spanx. It's a bit long (I'm 5'6" and had 4" heels on) but not unmanageable. The lining on the bust does roll up a bit when dancing, FYI. I got so many compliments on this number, would highly recommend
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
January 7, 2016
Was a stunner at the party!
I wore this dress to a NYE party and it was amazing! I was a little worried because I gained some weight during the holidays and I was so scared the dress wouldn't fit but I was actually able to wear the smaller size of the two I chose. The material stretches which is good because I have a small top but a wide bottom. It hugs all your curves and gives you a great looking shape. Even though it's covered in sequins it didn't rub or scratch anywhere. The color is a beautiful plum color. The only downside to this dress is if you are pear shaped like me the top of the dress can be a bit big if you get the dress to fit your bottom but a padded strapless bra made the dress work perfect. I was super happy and reviewed so many compliments.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
January 6, 2016
I had second thoughts about going to the black tie affair, but RTR made my mind up for me!
The dress fit like a glove. I went for the longer length because I wore 4 inch heels. I rented the 2L and 4L to be certain I had enough room in the dress. I wore the 2L because it was actually much longer than the 4L. The zipper was hard to zip on both dresses, but I had read in other reviews that it would be a challenge. The husband managed to zip it up after about 5 minutes..LOL This was my first experience with RTR and it was fabulous! Thanks Tabby(G'town Store) for all you did to help me find the dress for me!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
January 6, 2016
LOVE IT
The dress arrived a day before expected, it was a nice surprise... the dress fit perfectly, it was beautiful in length and comfortable. Recommend the whole experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
January 5, 2016
Perfect dress for a black tie NYE wedding!
I loved this dress! I received compliments throughout the night. The color is much richer in person than I had expected based on the online photos, which was great. I found the fit of this dress to be just right for me, and I was glad I went with the 4L as the length was perfect with 3" heels (I'm 5'7"). The cut of the dress accentuated my curves perfectly for a hip-hugging but comfortable fit, and the neckline and back were very flattering as well. Would definitely recommend it!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
January 5, 2016
Wore this dress to the Marine Corps ball. Definitely a success.
I was really nervous about renting because it is so difficult to find a dress that fits me well. But I put faith in to the reviews on RentTheRunway an it really worked out well. I definitely felt glamorous! But let's get down and dirty. A few people mentioned the sequins giving them a rash. I didn't experience that but I was only wearing the dress for a few hours. I'm 5'3", have a boyish/athletic figure, and have A cups. Don't let the boobs fool you, I'm wearing cutlets AND a push up bra. Sneaky. The dress is really flattering, regardless. You can wear it with or without a bra (or two). It does stretch, though! Thats a blessing and a curse -- its easy to zip in to buy but not the most forgiving when you have a few too many helpings for dinner. I was so pleased with RentTheRunway, though. Not only was the dress on time, I had a back up size to choose from which actually fit better than the original size I ordered.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
The ease of this process will DEFINITELY make me a repeat customer. Thank you RTR!!
Wore this to my husband's Christmas military ball. It did not disappoint. Was not any heavier than any other gown of this nature. I also did not find the sequins to be as bothersome as others. I really loved this dress. Will definitely use RTR again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 4, 2016
I work this dress to a NYE Masquerade Ball, it was everything I wanted in a dress!
Fit like a glove, comfortable and easy to move around in! This dress does have a fussy zipper where the ruching is on the back but other than that... AMAZING!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
January 3, 2016
The Ultimate Bond Girl Dress!
Rented this dress for an NYE black tie James Bond 007 themed party and absolutely LOVED it!!! Aside from receiving countless compliments all night long (my date especially loved it), this dress was incredibly lightweight and perfect for a night of dancing into the new year. I'm just about 5'1" and wore about 4" heels and had no issues with the length. Had the 0P been available I would have rented that as my backup - the top on the 0R was slightly bigger in the back than I care for, but was just fine. Rent this dress- you won't be disappointed!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
January 1, 2016
Beautiful gown, fit perfectly!
I am 5'11 and 155lbs with a small waist but full hips. I ordered a 8L and 6L and the 6L was actually LONGER than the 8 and it fit better. It was gorgeous! I received so many compliments all night and the dress was very comfortable. The only con was a minor issue with the lining of the dress peaking through at the chest. Other than that, the dress was perfect! Great dress for us tall girls! I easily could have wore 4in heels and still had a beautiful train behind me.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
December 31, 2015
Loved this dress and so did everyone else!
This dress fit great. I normally wear a 00P in dresses, but this was perfect. It has some stretch to it. I got compliments all night. It was a bit long for me and I get tripping on it even with 4 inch heels, but I would definitely rent this again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
December 22, 2015
Loved this dress! Comfortable and beautiful. Fit well. Sequins were a little itchy on arms.
great dress!
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Party
Age: 30
December 22, 2015
This dress is stunning! I had a great time wearing it to a fun, formal party.
Pros- Beautiful! Loved the color and fit Cons- It's heavy, which made it uncomfortable after a while
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
December 18, 2015
Perfect fit!
Dress fit like a glove! I received so many compliments!! Perfect for a Christmas party! Comfortable and easy to move and dance in!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
December 17, 2015
This dress was gorgeous - fit like a glove and wasn't any kind of nuisance to wear. Loved it!
Fit beautifully, I'm small on top and fuller on bottom. The sequins at hem would catch a little once in a while - heels I wore where just 1.5", so I carried the hem a little to protect it. Not too long though. Very comfortable to wear - amazing!
See more reviews:
1 / 13

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×