Nicole Miller

Sequin Tyrian Purple Gown

$70 – $85 rental
$605 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this sultry deep purple sequin gown by Nicole Miller for your next formal affair and be the showstopper everyone will be talking about. Shown here with Ben-Amun’s Deco Crystal Teardrops.

Also available in teal, black, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for A to C cup sizes – should be worn with a backless bra
WAIST: Fitted, stretchy fabric allows for comfortable fit at waist
HIPS: Fitted, stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Floor length, three lengths available. Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights under 5'2"), Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a backless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Eggplant sequins (100% polyester). Sleeveless. Square neckline. Pencil skirt with ruching. Back keyhole with button closure. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths. Imported.

Share
682 reviews
Fit
Large
(34)
True to Size
(429)
Small
(58)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 7, 2017
Get lots of attention in this dress!

I am 110lbs, 5'1", 34B and this dress fit like a glove! The 2P fit at just the right length with my platform heels (4-5 inches). I wore a strapless bra and did not have any issues with it showing. I rented this dress to wear to the Metropolitan Opera in NYC. I recieved numerous compliments from complete strangers and was very aware of many people staring and admiring the dress. I truly felt like a celebrity in this dress! The only downside is that it is a bit flattening in the chest...it looks great from the front, but from the side, I looked flat. Other than that, this dress was exquisite!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
December 7, 2017
Get ready for lots of looks!

I'm giving the dress itself 5 stars because it did its job: I wanted to stand out at a holiday gala, and this worked! The experience was more like a 3.5, due to the length. It does create some real cleavage, so be careful if that's not appropriate for your particular event. I was actually feeling a little flat-chested in it until I put some backless, adhesive chicken cutlets on just to shift the girls up. The change was like 0 to 100- there seemed to be no in-between! I got compliments from both men and women, and the stretch was cozy. I did not have any issues with sequins rubbing under the arms, like some others did. As a shorty, this dress was waaaaaaay too long to pull off without hemming it. I used fashion tape and reinforced it with safety pins. I was in a hurry so I only did the front. I was constantly concerned that the tape was going to come off, so I was checking it all night. That made it a bit hard to walk around with confidence, which was annoying, but I held the dress up on the side and was even able to dance a little. Not ideal, though. I wish RTR had a 0P and it would have been absolute perfection. I'm not sure if the designer just doesn't make one, which would be weird because there are other sizes in petite, but if it's available, RTR, buy it!

Size worn:
12R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 153lbs
November 26, 2017
Crisis averted!

I ordered this dress in an 8 and 10, based on other reviews posted. However, when the dress arrived, the 10 was too small to zip. I wear anything from 6-10 in pants and usually a medium top but with this dress I needed a 12. I immediately emailed RTR and the next day they overnighted me the 12. It fit perfectly. I was complimented on my dress so many times throughout the day and evening. It was stunning and super comfortable. However, at 5'3", it was a tad long on me. I made due and it all worked out well.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
November 24, 2017
Gorgeous cut!

The fit was looser in the chest, and tight in the arms. Happy I went with the smaller size.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Age: 22
November 18, 2017
Sequins galore

I'm typically a zero but my wide shoulders made me need the size 2. So the top part was a little Big but not anything uncomfortable. If I'd known i was gonna wear the size two I probably also would have gotten the shorter one as well. Overall I loved the dress and got so many compliments! 10/10 recommend!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Age: 33
November 15, 2017
I wore this for an annual charity gala and it was AMAZING!

This dress was stunning in person! I got so many compliments. It was comfortable to be in all night long and the purple glitter is stunning. There is not much stretch in the material but fit true to size.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 15, 2017
Sexy and fun

Just wish it had bust support

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 161lbs
November 14, 2017
Loved the color and the cut!

This dress was for a very formal event and worked out well. The color was amazing and I really liked the quality. Unfortunately both sizes I rented were a tad short for my preference. I'm 5'11 and even in flats the Long dress in both sizes barely nicked the floor. It's a great rental for anyone just a smidge shorter than I am.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 48
November 13, 2017
This dress was super comfortable - perfect for a formal dinner with dancing afterwards.

The fit was flattering and conformed to my shape. I loved the neckline and the color was gorgeous. The lace pattern was intricate without being heavy. The only thing I would have done differently was wear shape wear underneath, especially to keep my tummy flat and avoid any panty lines - I think I ended up ditching my panties for that reason! Shape wear didn't even occur to me at the time but definitely would have been a good idea!

Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Age: 67
November 13, 2017
Gorgeous purple sequin gown

Though I've been slacking at my work outs lately, I was nervous it would show knowing I had a form fitting dress that I had chosen months prior to my brother's wedding. However, this dress fit like a glove and was super flattering! I received compliments all night and felt like a million bucks. Perfect for the galaxy/space theme of blacks, purple and navy colors. Highly recommend. There was the issue of the chest area folding down a bit that others mentioned in their reviews, but it was manageable. Someone who is more busty might not experience that issue.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Work
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
November 10, 2017
I️ felt so classy and everything is shipped right to your door, hassle free! Thank you guys!!

I️ felt Oscar ready! Such a magical day!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
November 9, 2017
Felt like a queen

Fit great and sequins were not itchy.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Age: 39
November 9, 2017
Great dress. Fit well. Got lots of compliments

Fit was good. A touch long for me (even in heels) but not too bad/bothersome.

Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
November 8, 2017
Standing out from the crowd in this dress!

Very flattering, hides all the lumps and bumps and creates a nice hourglass shape. Only con is that the sequins itch a little under your arms.

Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
November 6, 2017
This was my first time ever using RTR and I was extremely pleased!

I ordered a size 4R and a 6R as my back up which is the one I ended up going with for a black tie event. The 4R fit as there's a good bit of stretch but I felt a bit more comfortable in the 6R. It fit like a glove! I weigh 133 and am 5'6". I wore a 3 inch heel and was the perfect length in front with a small train in back. The only small con was the 6R zipper pull thingy was gone so I just threaded a safety pin through the part of the zipper pull for leverage to zip up. Totally worked! I was incredibly pleased and happy with this dress I was sad to send it back. The sequence did not bother me one bit and the lining did not ride up in the chest like some other reviews stated. I will definitely use RTR again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36DD
Weight: 168lbs
November 6, 2017
Gorgeous dress, tons of compliments, but...

I should have heeded the warnings of previous reviewers regarding the lining popping up at the chest. It happened all night long. I tried double sided tape in various placements but it did not work! Other than that ..beautiful dress! Unfortunately my pics are too big to upload!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 136lbs
November 5, 2017
USMC Ball - lovely, traditional affair

Beautiful dress! Was a little longer than I would like so I spent a fair amount of time trying not to step on the front of the dress. I'm 5'4" so that's just the way it goes. Very comfortable! I received loads of compliments and I felt so pretty!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
November 5, 2017
In a sea of black, it was nice to stand out from the crowd!

Others have described the gown as both long and scratchy. I'm not tall, and it was perfect with a 3" heel. Also, didn't find the arms to be particularly scratchy. Zipper was a little difficult to zip, I think due to the sequins stickig in it, so I wore the larger size. Material is a little stretchy, and it's slightly ruched on the sides, so it's super flattering. I was able to wear my regular strapless bra, although I did use some dress tape to keep it from peeking out. If I could think of someplace else to wear this dress, I'd certainly get it again!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 136lbs
November 2, 2017
-

This dress was gorgeous and I received several compliments throughout the night. Definitely get the long if you are planning wearing heels and are over 5'5". Only had two minor fit issues, the top was a little low-cut and is better suited for bustier women and the lining kept peeking through at the bust line. I had to safety pin the top clasp a little to make it fit where my bra didn't show and use fashion tape to keep the lining in place. Overall, great dress for a formal night out!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Weight: 133lbs
November 1, 2017
perfect dress

perfect dress

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2017
Mardi Gras Magnificent!

I got compliments all night! The sequins sparkled, the material was comfortable, the length was perfect. Love, Love, Love!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 157lbs
October 19, 2017
Pretty dress but tight fitting!

No stretch to this dress and sequins are very itchy! Best for slim or athletic body frames. Did not work well on my short torso curvy build. Dress was not worn for event.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Age: 32
October 18, 2017
Eye catching

Great fit especially for full chests. A bit stretchy underneath so that was nice. Quite long though - I need temporary hem tape. Would definitely recommend!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 136lbs
October 9, 2017
Didn't wear this one but pretty.

I chose a different dress for my event but this one was very pretty. A little snug.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 8, 2017
Fun color for a black tie event

Great deep purple color, sequins fun (not too scratchy), very form-fitted but with forgiving ruching in tummy area. 4R length perfect for 5'2" with 4" heels.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2017
I felt so glamorous!

This gown fit like a glove! I even had a stranger offer to buy it from me after our event. After having major order issues with shipping, this was the only size of this gown I had to choose from so I'm glad it worked out! I felt so comfortable and was able to dance all night. There is a small train in the back you have to lift up when going up stairs or walking quickly. I have a very small bust and loved how tight it was in the chest area to make it look like I had cleavage. I wore a regular strapless bra with this dress. Loved it and wished I could have kept it!! I am 5'4" and the length was perfect!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 1, 2017
Lots of compliments!!

I was torn on the length. I think.if I would order the L it would have been too long. Most of the time, my toes peeked out of the bottom. If I thought about it, I could cover them (obviously didn't think of that in the picture). It was very comfortable on. I wore a no back push up bra. I am 5'7, 123 lbs. D Bust. 28 waist.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 25, 2017
So many compliments on this dress ALL night! Definitely a showstopper!

It fit perfectly from the waist down, but was a little loose in the shoulder and chest area. The lining in the chest kept creeping up, so I had to adjust it frequently. The long was perfect for my height- 5'8" when wearing heels.

Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 13, 2017
Looked and felt great!

This dress is definitely a show stopper! I wore this for a formal black tie wedding and was not disappointed! It is a beautiful color purple, definitely lighter in person than in the photo on here. The dress did fit snuggly and was hard to zipper, but I felt it was true to size and was super comfortable! I am 5'5 and 155 pounds and wore the size 8R. I wore a 3 inch heel and the dress was the perfect length. I am a 34DD and wore a regular strapless bra just to give some lift. This dress is sorta chesty so be prepared to have the girls on display a bit if you have a large chest, but not to the extent that it is not classy. I did not experience any arm irritation that some girls have reported. I wore this dress for about 8 hours and it was just as comfortable at hour 8 as it was when I first put it on! The one issue I had was that the lining kept popping up slightly in the chest area and I did need to keep fixing it throughout the night, but it was a small price to pay for such a stunning gown! I felt beautiful wearing it and got tons of compliments from strangers! I would definitely rent this gown again! Don't hesitate to try it out! You will definitely stand out from the crowd!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Full Bust
September 3, 2017
New Years wedding

I wore to a New Year's Eve wedding it was beautiful but it scratched my arms.

Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
July 16, 2017
So many compliments on this!

It was a little smaller than expected but still comfortable to wear and really I couldn't believe that compliments. Felt great wearing it.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
June 13, 2017
I felt amazing and beautiful!

I wore this dress for a New Year's party, and loved it. I received a lot of compliments and felt fabulous! There was some slight irritation on my inner arms from the sequins, but other than that, no other complaints!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 19, 2017
Ordered for a black tie fundraiser but didn't end up wearing it

Beautiful dress but too short for my 5'11" height. I could have worn it with flats, otherwise it was too short.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
May 8, 2017
Fun standout dress

Ran a bit small and was so low cut my sticky bra kept showing. I probably could have used a size up. The color was beautiful and perfect for the moroccan themed event. The sequins really irritates the underside of my arms. I had to leave early but it was really pretty.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
May 6, 2017
All of the compliments were overwhelming!!!

I loved how the dress fit on the waist and hip area, but I was a little uncomfortable with the breast area being too big.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
April 30, 2017
Made me feel very "Hollywood"

This fit my "post baby" figure okay. It did not hide my problem areas very well but it was very comfortable. I ordered it in Long to fit my 5'8 physic but it fit more like a regular in length which forced me to wear kitten heels. If you are tall then definitely order the long!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Pear
April 26, 2017
Stunning gown!

Fit is true to size. The regular length was a tad long, but was manageable with heels. Did not wear a bra due to the cut of the neckline - tried a Nubra, but the edges showed. The dress hugs your curves, so I felt supported even without a bra. Fantastic dress!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 26, 2017
I loved this dress. Very comfortable and easy to move in. Highly recommend! Great formal dress!!!

The dress was a smidge tight but the underlayer/lining makes it easy to move in. I would definitely rent again!

Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Height: 5' 8"
April 24, 2017
Great dress, I received a ton of compliments.

It fill well, true to size, fitted nicely. I didn't not find the sequins uncomfortable or scratcy.

Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 21, 2017
Pretty with one issue

Rented this for a friend's 30th birthday. Dress was super pretty and fit was flattering. My only complaint was that the lining kept creeping up at the neckline and showing. So I was constantly tugging at it all night.

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×