Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$40 rental
$450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

"Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9"".

Share
149 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size107
Small35
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Age: 38
January 20, 2016
A real statement dress in a sea of black
This is a very forgiving dress with all the ruching, and there is definitely no need for shape wear. I would say that this dress runs a little on the small side - so you might want to order two sizes. As others have noted, there is a visible gold side zipper. I wore the dress to a 40th birthday party, but would probably shy away from it in other more conservative or formal settings. The website pic really does reflect how this dress looks and fits. It's a real attention grabbing and sexy dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2015
For the jaw-dropping moment
A perfect fit for curvy petite frame, wore for a special date and got the best reaction from my date!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
December 8, 2015
Perfect red dress!
I usually wear a 00P so was worried this dress might be too big for me, but the reviews from other women like me seemed to gravitate towards wearing the 2 when they normally worse a 0. This was my first RTR and I wore this for my husband's formal work holiday party. This dress fit perfectly! It hugged in all the right places and felt really comfortable. The draping style also helps after you've eaten a big meal (: It hit me right around my knees which is what I was looking for. There is a gold zipper that goes down one side that I didn't notice in the pictures and is very visible when you wear the dress, but I still thought it was pretty. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again if I didn't use a picture of me in the dress for this year's Christmas cards!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2015
Classy and Sexy!
The ruching on this dress was amaze-balls - camouflaged every problem area! The color was also a really beautiful red. The shoulders stayed put the whole night. I would definitely size up, as it is a very tight fit. I was a little nervous it wouldn't zip, but all ended well! Despite the tight fit, the material is really stretchy so you can eat and drink all you like. Everyone commented on how elegant I looked and a friend even told me that I need to go home and buy the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 43
October 13, 2015
Great dress - comfortable and plenty of compliments! Wore it to two weddings in one weekend :)
Fit was good and the length was good for me, too. I felt covered but sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2015
Dress really popped!
This dress is great - I wore it to a wedding and received several compliments. It's a little on the small side, but at the same time it's forgiving. The off the shoulder straps are also pretty unique. I would have liked to have gone one size up, but the 10 had a big silver zipper on the side that I didn't like - the 8 didn't have that so I stuck with that one. The model makes it seem a little more modest than it actually is. It's a good length though so it wasn't over the top. I'd wear it again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 13, 2015
Perfect dress!
Love! I rented this dress for a wedding and it was a hit! I received so many compliments and it complimented my body shape. The zipper is a little difficult to get up, but once it was up the dress was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
July 4, 2015
vibrant and slimming
nothing bad to say about the dress. I chose to wear a size up for more comfort. loved it. sadly it was quite a humid day and my hair poofed into a poodle so no picture.
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Wedding
June 21, 2015
Liked it.
Great dress-- got lots of compliments. I'm normally an 8 or a 10 and the 10 was great. The dress is body hugging but the top is modest and the length is to the knee so doesn't seem trashy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
June 18, 2015
Beautiful, sexy dress
This dress is RED! Lots of compliments throughout the night. I did have some trouble with the shoulders not wanting to stay in place. If I had worn the 4, maybe that wouldn't have been an issue.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 9, 2015
Even Amy Schumer loved it at The 2015 Peabody Awards!
This is my favorite dress I've ever worn from RTR! This dress flatters every body shape and hugs your curves in the right places. The ruching is really flattering and covers up any pooch you think you may have (no Spanks needed)!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 3, 2015
Definitely NOT a LBD!
This was a tight fit, however, it is meant to be this way. It hugged my curves in all the right spots. I am a curvy woman and it complimented my curves instead of just highlighting them. I got many compliments and would definitely wear this again. I did wear SPANX underneath to make myself feel less self conscious.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
April 8, 2015
The Vivid Red definitely made an impression!
I wore this to a gala fundraiser for work and received TONS of compliments! This was actually a replacement dress, because I had fit issues with my initial order. The support staff at RTR are INCREDIBLE! I will definitely be using RTR again and again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 28, 2015
The perfect Valentine's Day gift...for yourself :)
This was my first time renting with RTR but definitely not my last. I rented this dress a smile smaller than usual but luckily it still fit like a glove. Honestly, this is a dress that would look good on any body shape because the layered/wrapped fabric is SO flattering. LOVE LOVE LOVE.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 24, 2015
Weird Fit
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 depending on the designer, but only the 6 was available on my date. When I tried the dress on, it hung all wrong on me---it got almost tangled on one side and I had to really work to pull it across my body. Even then, it was pretty small and just didn't look right on me. Luckily, RTR customer service is awesome and saved the day with another dress!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 18, 2015
I rented this for a Casino Night fundraiser.
The dress runs a little small, but has great give to it. I wore with spanx and that made me a bit more comfortable. The left should does not have as much pleating to it as the right, which I couldn't see from the picture. Spent some time trying to get it to lay right. Many compliments on the dress though. And it was quite comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2015
Awesome dress!
Very forgiving, great camouflage for imperfections, and incredibly comfortable to boot! Definitely stayed put except for shoulders. I would definitely rent again. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sized up. I'm glad I did, too, because I don't think a 4 would have worked. I probably could have worn the 8 comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2015
Hugs just right!
This dress looked and felt great. My 36As wouldn't have needed a bra had I been able to wear the dress. Unfortunately it was a little too snug for the night I had planned, but I felt fantastic in the try-on. If it had been available in a 12 I'd have kept it. No smoother needed with this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 19, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Engagement Dress!
Definitely snug, but sexy and kind when it comes to covering a poochy tummy. It fit well and I wasn't concerned about anything falling out! Very comfortable. It was a great dress for our Valentine's Day engagement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 17, 2015
My outfit was amazing! Thanks to RTR!
Dress is amazing. (I'm still waiting for pics from the evening.) The material had some slight give in it and yet hugged the body. The 0 was slightly tight for me to zip up but fit great. The ruching adds some nice curves for petite, athletic types. Looks awesome with all crystal accents (Ben Amun earrings, Logan ring) and a silver mesh bag. I received many compliments and admiring glances. Can't wait to wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2015
Great dress - perfect for event's theme
I got this dress for a Fire & Ice themed fundraising event. I received a size 10; I would have been more comfortable in a 12 but one wasn't available. Zipping it up over my 32DDD strapless bra took some doing. While trying on the dress a second time, one of the satin ribbons (to keep the dress on a hanger) got massively jammed in the side zipper. Had to cut it off (after calling RTR for the OK to do it!) in order to finally unzip the dress. Because of the neckline, I couldn't wear my usual Spanx with bra straps, but the ruching and heavier fabric (along with some control top hosiery) helped camouflage my tummy. Rented the Southern Plantation earrings and a necklace to go with it - lots of bling! BTW, the zipper is one of those exposed (meant to be visible) types; as someone who has sewn clothing for years, I still can't stand them. The dress is very well constructed, IMO. The left sleeve/neckline part was very stretched out, and kept slipping down my (admittedly, narrow) shoulder.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2015
LOVE THE RED
I Loved this dress! I've never worn red, since I have red hair, but I absolutely loved this dress. I really wish I could've worn the 8 but it was out of stock! I got compliments all night long, and I am still having random people come up to me and tell me how much they loved it! I would definitely rent this if you're contemplating it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2014
Very sexy and comfortable! The color stands out in a crowd!
Wore this to an engagement party. The color popped and was very sexy! Hugged my curves in all the right places. Got a lot of compliments on it too!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2014
Sexy red dress
I'm usually a 4 in Nicole miller, but the 6 just fit a little better. It's a sexy dress, but I didn't feel like it highlighted my curves. I have a tiny waist and a bigger butt, and I felt a little more boxy than usual in this. But I got a ton of compliments and it was very comfortable to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
The dress fit perfectly - the style was perfect!
I rented this dress for a formal event. The dress looked perfect when it came in. The fabric had its original stretch and looked like it had never been worn. Once I zipped the dress, it fit absolutely perfectly. I have a smaller bust and fuller hips, and the dress was very flattering to my body. It crosses nicely in the waist and has just the right amount of ruching to be figure-flattering. As for the length, it hit about two inches above my knee, so it was appropriate while still cute. Also, the color was amazing - very bright and vibrant. I just wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 2, 2014
Pretty dress, very classy
Wore this to a wedding in Florida over Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect. I got a ton of compliments and it was one of those dresses that hides a lot of problems!! Nice exposed side zipper makes it modern and it was a perfect red color. I would rent this again. The only problem is I forgot to take a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 20, 2014
Gorgeous. Felt dressed nicely but not too dressed up at Bat Mitzvah.
Substantial fabric but not heavy. Dress barely moved despite how snug it was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2014
Loved it!
I ordered both the 0 and 2, and while I could squeeze into the 0, the size 2 was much more comfortable. The ruching hid all the appetizers I ate during the wedding but still had the perfect amount of stretch to accentuate curves. Length was great for dancing, and I loved the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2014
This dress is for clubbing, not for fashionistas.
I needed a dress for a "red" themed corporate charity party. This was not the right dress. This dress was very clingy. It hugged my curves in all the right places and would be great for night clubbing in Miami or Vegas. It is NOT a dress for a wedding, formal affair, etc. The red is a very bright red. I showed it to a few of my male co-workers (both gay and straight) and all of them were like, "Um, no.. It's tacky." It looks sweet and demure on the model, but in real life it looks a bit trampy and the fabric is sort of cheap. I don't know what happened to Nicole Miller's brand in general. Her clothes were so classy and unique a decade ago. Now it seems she is trying to compete with Herve Leger's band-aid dresses.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2014
An amazing night at the bar feeling like a hot mama!
Fits snugly but hides bumps well because of the ruching. I felt like a bombshell even in the middle of freezing Toronto winter! Tights or bare legs, doesn't matter - this dress is killer!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 13, 2014
Great dress
The got was perfect and nice color. This was my back up dress though, and I chose my first choice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 6, 2014
Tons of compliments
Great material, thick and stretchy. No need for Spanx. If you have a bigger bust, I would suggest sizing up just because it zips on the side and it might be more difficult. The color is amazing! Very rich and flattering in a sea of LBD's at the wedding. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
I NEVER have an occasion to get dolled up, so when a friend of 14 years got hitched, I went all out!
I am a size 10 in my hour glass shape and this dress fit like a glove. It was substantial. I didn't feel like I was going to break the zipper and I felt held in by the dress (but I did wear Spanx for smoothness). The length was great for my 5'3" frame,and I was able to sit comfortably and dance comfortably. I received so many compliments. My husband who was a groomsman, was dressed in a tux and I felt well matched. It made his jaw drop. Such a fantastic first experience with Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 3, 2014
Wonderful dress.
Flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 1, 2014
I got many compliments on the dress, and was one of about 5 people who wore a color other than black
The dress fit like a glove - I wore the 6, and had the 4 as a back-up. I can wear anything from a size 2-4-6. I'd say the dress runs on the smaller side, so if you're in doubt about which way to go, go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 28, 2014
Feeling sexy again
I am so happy I RTR. I had my daughter 3 months prior to this wedding and nursing. I wasn't really sure how anything was going to fit. The thick material was very flattering for hiding parts that have not fully gone back to normal. I loved the off the shoulder, which I felt was the perfect amount of sexy with out being over the top bc of the color of the dress. I would definitely tent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2014
Fun dress!
I really loved this dress, the color was gorgeous and it was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 8, 2014
The dress was better than my date!
I ordered this bad boy just hoping it would fit and thinking it really wouldn't...at the time I was for sure a 12, but all that was available was a 10. I bit the bullet and did it anyway. I wore this for a 2-night formal (Fire & Ice—this was fire) and it was a hit. I never wear fitted things so everyone was talking about how beautiful the dress was. I had to work to get it to zip, but there is so much tight, right stretch to this that I knew I'd make it happen, and I did. My date sucked, I got pulled over by the police...asked to step out of the car...NO TICKET AND I DIDNT EVEN CRY. I think I partially have the dress to thank ;) This was my first RTR experience and I am now an addict.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
July 25, 2014
Great Dress!
I ordered both the 0 and the 2. Ended up wearing the 2 because although the 0 was a good fit it was a little shorter and tighter than i thought was appropriate for the wedding we were attending. The 2 was a little longer and had more material around my hips and chest so it didn't look like it was painted on like the 0 did!! The shoulders tended to slip down a little bit( probably because i was wearing the 2) but not often enough to bother me! I had 3 strangers come up to me during the evening to tell me how great the dress was. I will be ordering this one again! Loved it! Thank you RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
I looked and felt stunning...thank you
very form fitting and comfortable.
See more reviews:
1 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×