Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(40)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 61
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2014
did not wear due to size

was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Very flattering

I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 1, 2014
I got many compliments on the dress, and was one of about 5 people who wore a color other than black

The dress fit like a glove - I wore the 6, and had the 4 as a back-up. I can wear anything from a size 2-4-6. I'd say the dress runs on the smaller side, so if you're in doubt about which way to go, go up a size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
March 24, 2015
Weird Fit

I usually wear a 6 or an 8 depending on the designer, but only the 6 was available on my date. When I tried the dress on, it hung all wrong on me---it got almost tangled on one side and I had to really work to pull it across my body. Even then, it was pretty small and just didn't look right on me. Luckily, RTR customer service is awesome and saved the day with another dress!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2015
Dress really popped!

This dress is great - I wore it to a wedding and received several compliments. It's a little on the small side, but at the same time it's forgiving. The off the shoulder straps are also pretty unique. I would have liked to have gone one size up, but the 10 had a big silver zipper on the side that I didn't like - the 8 didn't have that so I stuck with that one. The model makes it seem a little more modest than it actually is. It's a good length though so it wasn't over the top. I'd wear it again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
October 13, 2015
Classy and Sexy!

The ruching on this dress was amaze-balls - camouflaged every problem area! The color was also a really beautiful red. The shoulders stayed put the whole night. I would definitely size up, as it is a very tight fit. I was a little nervous it wouldn't zip, but all ended well! Despite the tight fit, the material is really stretchy so you can eat and drink all you like. Everyone commented on how elegant I looked and a friend even told me that I need to go home and buy the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
December 8, 2015
Perfect red dress!

I usually wear a 00P so was worried this dress might be too big for me, but the reviews from other women like me seemed to gravitate towards wearing the 2 when they normally worse a 0. This was my first RTR and I wore this for my husband's formal work holiday party. This dress fit perfectly! It hugged in all the right places and felt really comfortable. The draping style also helps after you've eaten a big meal (: It hit me right around my knees which is what I was looking for. There is a gold zipper that goes down one side that I didn't notice in the pictures and is very visible when you wear the dress, but I still thought it was pretty. I would definitely recommend this dress and would rent it again if I didn't use a picture of me in the dress for this year's Christmas cards!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 41
January 20, 2016
A real statement dress in a sea of black

This is a very forgiving dress with all the ruching, and there is definitely no need for shape wear. I would say that this dress runs a little on the small side - so you might want to order two sizes. As others have noted, there is a visible gold side zipper. I wore the dress to a 40th birthday party, but would probably shy away from it in other more conservative or formal settings. The website pic really does reflect how this dress looks and fits. It's a real attention grabbing and sexy dress.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
February 10, 2016
Fit my petite curvy shape just right, great quality material!

My first RTR experience and it definitely won't be my last. I'm glad I got the 10 and could have probably worn a 12. I'm short big large bust and big :) so it was a little snug. However, I loved the color, the quality of the material, and neckline. Perfect for big busted women who want to look sexy without everything hanging out. Loved it!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
December 26, 2012
Tight but cute

I liked the dress a lot but it was snug. It rode up on me a lot, but I did like that you could re arrange the top part to either be off the shoulder or not depending on what you wanted. I wore it to Christmas dinner with my dad. The zipper was a little tricky and it dug in under my arms a little. It definitely is much longer on the model than it was on me.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
July 10, 2014
Wow! Just wow!

I loved this dress! It was my backup. RTR was amazing. The original dress I ordered did not fit right, and they overnight shipped this dress! It arrived the next day! It's a little heavy on the material, so I wouldn't recommend it for outdoor summer weddings. The zipper is a little tough to pull up, but over all beautiful dress! Hides the tummy area well. I loved it!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32DD
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 16, 2013
Holy Cow what a dress!! Rent it NOW!

The first thing my husband asked was if I could buy the dress! He loved it as did I. I was so comfortable and forgiving of all flaws. It was super easy to wear with a regular bra and the stretchy fabric was perfect for two long nights. I wore this dress to two different holiday parties and I received all the compliments. If I ever have the occasion I'll wear it again! I will say I ordered up because the dress looks so snug in the picture and that was the right choice. I could not have zipped a 4, but I was wearing a mega pushup bra.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Could barely squeeze into this.

I am usually between a 2 and a 4, but I rented this dress in a 4 to make sure it wasn't too tight. I could barely squeeze myself into the 4 and when I did, even though nothing was popping out, it felt too tight for a wedding.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36F
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
March 18, 2015
I rented this for a Casino Night fundraiser.

The dress runs a little small, but has great give to it. I wore with spanx and that made me a bit more comfortable. The left should does not have as much pleating to it as the right, which I couldn't see from the picture. Spent some time trying to get it to lay right. Many compliments on the dress though. And it was quite comfortable.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 45
October 13, 2015
Great dress - comfortable and plenty of compliments! Wore it to two weddings in one weekend :)

Fit was good and the length was good for me, too. I felt covered but sexy.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 10, 2016
Great color and fit

Definitely a body-hugging fit. The color is beautiful and the dress is unique. I enjoyed wearing this dress and received many compliments!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 12, 2017
Fun wedding with lots of dancing. This dress was perfect.

Fun and forgiving dress. So much better than wearing black. I was afraid the 10 would be too big but the cut is very fitted so it was perfect.

Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 14, 2017
Loved the dress! This dress fits like a glove and flatters your body!

This dress fits like a glove! It hugs your body in all the right places and flatters the curves. I wore it as off shoulder and received so many compliments all night! It does run a bit small and my friend had to help me zip up the dress. I would advise that you go a size up if you are larger up top.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
May 31, 2017
Red dress stands out

Very tight dress but supposed to be and it kind of holds you in. Was tight and supportive enough that I didn't need to wear a bra. The color made me stand out in a sea of mostly black dresses.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 49
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 137lbs
September 14, 2011

This dress is amazing! It hugs every curve, but the draping keeps it elegant. I would definitely rent it again. I usually wear 4-6 and chose the 6 on this one. The fabric is very stretchy, so it fits any figure.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Body type: Pear
September 28, 2011

Loved this dress. I wore it to a wedding and received lots of compliments! The color was definitely what attracted people to it, it is more bright in person than in the picture. It also made me look thinner and curvaceous. The only thing I did not like at first was that it felt tight on the legs but I got used to it.

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 8
Height: 4' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 10, 2011

I thought that I would love this dress. The color is fabulous and I usually look great in Nicole Miller. I even tried on a similar style at a Nicole Miller store near me, but this dress had to much material. It actually made me look bigger in the waste because of the thick fabric. I wouldn't recommend it for an hourglass shape, maybe for someone who is really skinny and petite and wants a bit of extra fabric to make them look curvier.

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 1, 2011
All the other ladies were jealous of my designer look.

This dress absolutely runs to size and fit the curves of my body perfectly. I do advise sizing up for the little bit of extra fabric. Because it is a body hugging material, it's nice being able to breathe a little. They only thing I had a concern about, was the silver zipper up the side. It was completely visible, but not very attractive in photos. I highly recommend this look for an evening out!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 10, 2011
I had a lot of people tell me red was my color! If you know your color and body shape, I think you'll be more than pleased with your rental.

I didn't want to take this dress off! I felt sexy and confident in this Nicole Miller Dress. It didn't show too much skin but really gives you a sense of sexiness, hello lady in red; and confidence, great flattering silhouette.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 62
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
January 25, 2012
LOVED this one

Wore this to a winter cocktail party...its a tight fit but very stretchy. Its extremely comfortable and flattering to an hour glass figure... even for those of us over 50. It's a side zipper which is a little tricky since it is so form fitting and stretchy, but I LOVED wearing it. I wore it in a 12, which fit well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145lbs
February 7, 2012
I was called "stunning" by practically everyone in the building!

This was my first RTR purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. Red is my color and that was reaffirmed by all of my coworkers with all the compliments they were dishing out. I felt sexy and sophisticated in the dress. It was very form fitting and needed to be worn with spanx, but no bra. My main issue is that I have a large chest and the way it cut across my chest made my one breast look like it was tripled in size (mostly in the size 10). I had to keep moving the folds to give the proper illusion. The size 8 was tight but made my chest area look normal (go figure). All in all, the dress was a total head turner!

View photos (2)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 8, 2012
Getting compliments on the dress and my babe loving it :)

After losing weight I thought I could go down a size in this dress but it was def snug and I felt more comfortable in the size 12. It is super form fitting and sexy. I got compliments on it all night. I think it would be great for any function. Be the lady in red :) My only issue was the zipper on the 12 was diff than the zipper on the 10 and it bulged out in an awkward spot halfway up the dress. Pulling down the dress or pulling it up didnt affect the weird bulge at all. *The 2nd pic you can see it*

QueenieFebruary 8, 2012
You look fab!!
StashaFebruary 8, 2012
You look awesome!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
March 16, 2012
I love getting all the compliments that come along with the dress!

I wore this dress for my sister's engagement party and received a ton of compliments! At the time I ordered the dress I wore a 2-4, but in between the time that I ordered the dress and wore it I lost a little weight and now wear a 0. I rented a 2 and 4 and wore the 2. it was a little big on me, but since it is so form fitting no one could tell. If I would have ordered a 0 it would have fit even better! Since this is a very form fitting dress I would recommend sizing up for your back up size just in case you are an in-between size.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2012
Now a believer!

I had a Rent-the-Runway account for almost a year. It took a lovely birthday credit to actually get me to place my first order! I've been crazy busy working and planning my own wedding that I didn't have time to shop for a wedding that was just 2 weeks away! Thanks to the help of a fit stylist, I ordered this beauty and I have never gotten so many compliments! I am now a believer and will be renting dresses for the upcoming weddings as well as my bridal shower & rehearsal dinner!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
June 19, 2012
Created great curves!

Fabric is thick and curve hugging in all the right places. Got so many compliments. A must rent!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
August 10, 2012
Great dress

I rented this dress in black previously and wanted to rent it again because I liked it so much but it was no longer on the website so I decided to try it in red. The sizing is accurate (I usually wear a 6 or 8 and the 6 was perfect) and the dress is very flattering, although obviously more so in black!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 12, 2012
Great all over fit, TTS!

I rented this dress to attend my hub's best friend's daughter's Spanish Sweet 16! I received so many compliments that night & my husband loved it! & the service was great! Recieved dress ontime!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 32G
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 7, 2011
Great dress!

This dress fit perfectly, and the ruched sides covered any imperfections. Really lovely dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2012
Valentines Love

The rouching hides every flaw, but leaves you feeling sleek and sexy.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
I got so many compliments from family and strangers!

The dress was so easy to rent and looked so amazing on me! I got so many compliments! At first I thought that it made me look a little more hippier and padded my curves to make me look bigger, which I didn't really like, but I think it's just that there was so much fabric from the ruching - it still looked amazing!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
I kept getting questions on where I got my dress. I was all too happy to tell them about RTR.

Fit is true to size and zipped up perfectly. The style was really flattering as well. The only negative I found with it was the fit of the shoulders. Regardless of size, they always seemed to pull upwards and dig into my underarms. That may be due to my own body shape though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful

Runs true to size, beautiful red color very stylish wore to a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Flattering sexy dress!!

I love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding that my boyfriend was the best man, and when he saw me his jaw dropped and said stunning!! If you have curves this dress is perfect. It hides flaws and gives you a great shape! The picture of the model does not give this dress justice, i only wish i took a better picture with me wearing itt This dress is so perfect in person!! This is a must rent!! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress and it fit perfect!

This was my first RTR experience and it was great! The dresses came when I wanted, and the 8 fit like a glove. It was extremely flattering and I got so many compliments! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Really pretty and comfortable, lots of compliments

The zipper really stands out on the side. I found it a little tight in the hips, but not uncomfortable.

See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×