Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
157 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(111)
Small
(37)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
I NEVER have an occasion to get dolled up, so when a friend of 14 years got hitched, I went all out!
I am a size 10 in my hour glass shape and this dress fit like a glove. It was substantial. I didn't feel like I was going to break the zipper and I felt held in by the dress (but I did wear Spanx for smoothness). The length was great for my 5'3" frame,and I was able to sit comfortably and dance comfortably. I received so many compliments. My husband who was a groomsman, was dressed in a tux and I felt well matched. It made his jaw drop. Such a fantastic first experience with Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 3, 2014
Wonderful dress.
Flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 1, 2014
I got many compliments on the dress, and was one of about 5 people who wore a color other than black
The dress fit like a glove - I wore the 6, and had the 4 as a back-up. I can wear anything from a size 2-4-6. I'd say the dress runs on the smaller side, so if you're in doubt about which way to go, go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 28, 2014
Feeling sexy again
I am so happy I RTR. I had my daughter 3 months prior to this wedding and nursing. I wasn't really sure how anything was going to fit. The thick material was very flattering for hiding parts that have not fully gone back to normal. I loved the off the shoulder, which I felt was the perfect amount of sexy with out being over the top bc of the color of the dress. I would definitely tent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2014
Fun dress!
I really loved this dress, the color was gorgeous and it was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 8, 2014
The dress was better than my date!
I ordered this bad boy just hoping it would fit and thinking it really wouldn't...at the time I was for sure a 12, but all that was available was a 10. I bit the bullet and did it anyway. I wore this for a 2-night formal (Fire & Ice—this was fire) and it was a hit. I never wear fitted things so everyone was talking about how beautiful the dress was. I had to work to get it to zip, but there is so much tight, right stretch to this that I knew I'd make it happen, and I did. My date sucked, I got pulled over by the police...asked to step out of the car...NO TICKET AND I DIDNT EVEN CRY. I think I partially have the dress to thank ;) This was my first RTR experience and I am now an addict.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
July 25, 2014
Great Dress!
I ordered both the 0 and the 2. Ended up wearing the 2 because although the 0 was a good fit it was a little shorter and tighter than i thought was appropriate for the wedding we were attending. The 2 was a little longer and had more material around my hips and chest so it didn't look like it was painted on like the 0 did!! The shoulders tended to slip down a little bit( probably because i was wearing the 2) but not often enough to bother me! I had 3 strangers come up to me during the evening to tell me how great the dress was. I will be ordering this one again! Loved it! Thank you RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
I looked and felt stunning...thank you
very form fitting and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Very flattering
I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
July 10, 2014
Wow! Just wow!
I loved this dress! It was my backup. RTR was amazing. The original dress I ordered did not fit right, and they overnight shipped this dress! It arrived the next day! It's a little heavy on the material, so I wouldn't recommend it for outdoor summer weddings. The zipper is a little tough to pull up, but over all beautiful dress! Hides the tummy area well. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
July 8, 2014
I wore this for a cruise on the Hudson under the fireworks on the 4th - perfect firecracker dress!
In the photo, both straps were up on her shoulders, but the one kept slipping off - my friends and I decided that was the way it was supposed to look and so I just went with it! The dress was super forgiving and flattering - I normally wear a size 10/12 and this was so slimming and beautiful. I did wear spanx underneath, but probably could have gone without them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2014
did not wear due to size
was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 19, 2014
This was a big disappointment. It was really thick and unflattering
I wanted to wear it for a winter wedding and it was just bad all a round. The rouching didn't look right and I couldn't get over how thick the material was. It felt a little like being wrapped in a velvet curtain at the movies. Needless to say I did not wear it to the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Tight, but the rouching smoothed out any lines
Had to do a bit of tugging on the hemline, and the right sleeve was a bit tighter than the left, but overall a nice dress. Great, bright color, and I really liked the neckline (front and back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2014
Sexy dress for a special date
I was lucky enough to go to French Laundry with my husband for my birthday and it was a great excuse to get dressed up. This dress was perfect for the occasion. Although it definitely hugs your curves it's also pretty forgiving in the tummy region, which was great for enjoying a special meal. It wasn't terribly flattering to my bust and squished it in, but otherwise the dress looked great on. I honestly didn't notice much of a difference between the 4 and the 6 except in the bust, probably because the fabric was so stretchy. I'd size up if you're bigger on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a sexy date night!
This dress was pretty awesome for our night out. I took my husband out for a birthday dinner and wanted to wear something form-fitting and this worked out perfectly! It really accentuated the curves and made me feel comfortable even though I usually don't wear things so tight. I sized up for comfort really, it wasn't necessary but I like birthday desserts :) Rent this dress, you'll love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2014
Made me bigger in all the wrong places- too much fabric
Did not like it at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
April 16, 2014
Comfortable and sexy dress
This was a last minute rental for me, as my original dress was unavailable. I'm glad I chose this one. I wore this dress for a Mrs. pageant event. It was sexy, yet classy. The material is thick and stretchy, which is nice. It hugs your curves, and sucks you in in all the right places.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
DRESS FIT PERFECT!!
It was great to see family that I haven't seen in years to tell me how great I looked in my dress. The dress hugged in all the right places.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2014
Sexy and Classy!
I was hesitant to rent this dress because of my age, but I'm very glad I did! I chose the size 0 and 2. I would go with a size smaller because the fabric is very stretchy, and will flatter any body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
March 10, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress all night! I felt beautiful in it!
It fits great! You'll receive lots of compliments on it. I loved it because it's very flattering. I wish I could buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 2, 2014
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments.
This dress was amazing. Very flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 52
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Gorgeous but unforgiving of any apple-ness.
Pros: beautiful color, substantial fabric. Cons: it really does fit like a sausage casing. Twenty years ago I would had rocked it :). Also runs small (in addition to the very slim fit.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 14, 2014
Hot dress!
I was not able to wear this dress as it was a little too tight on the thighs. I have an athletic build and "good" thighs so this would have fit me better in the size 8. It is gorgeous though! The fabric is so nice and it hugs all your curves. I would recommend this dress and will rent it again but in a larger size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
February 13, 2014
Didn't get to wear it
curve hugging dress. I wish i could have worn it, but the top ruching laid weird on my bust. I wouldn't recommend it if you have more than a DD cup size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 12, 2014
Very surprised by how much I ended up loving this dress!
This dress is very tight & body-hugging... BUT it's supposed to be. I rented a size 0 and 2. They were both tight but the size 2 felt like it just had extra material that made me look bigger so I decided to wear the 0. I usually don't wear tight body-hugging dresses so it took a little convincing for me to realize that it's not that the dress was too small... it's just supposed to fit that way. Once I got comfortable with that, I realized how comfortable the dress actually was. I never felt constricted and the material was so comfortable and actually pretty forgiving. I was surprised by how much I ended up LOVING this dress. I highly recommend it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2014
I wanted a fabulous red dress for my 40th- something to make my boyfriend's jaw drop. This worked.
The dress is amazing. The color is rich and bright. The fabric is not paper thin but it is also not heavy. All the ruching seems excessive but once you put the dress on, it will stretch out and cover up any imperfections that concern you. You can dance in it without fear of exposure. It is very comfortable. It's sexy without being too revealing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 17, 2014
I didn't wear it, but loved the option
Didn't wear the dress, but it looked cute!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2014
Perfect length and color.
Fit true to size, hit just above the knee. I would definitely recommend!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
January 6, 2014
Could barely squeeze into this.
I am usually between a 2 and a 4, but I rented this dress in a 4 to make sure it wasn't too tight. I could barely squeeze myself into the 4 and when I did, even though nothing was popping out, it felt too tight for a wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 30, 2013
Super fun!
It was a great red color! However it's way strechy!! It looks tiny till you put it on. Looked great, a bit tight. I didn't love it, but I felt pretty in it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 27, 2013
AMAZING!!!!!!!
This dress is absolutely amazing. RENT THIS AND DO NOT HESITATE! It hugs your body in all the right places and hides any imperfections you may have. No Spanx required and I am a busty/curvy girl. Since I'm busty I normally wear a 12 but it wasn't available; the 10 fit perfect but I would have loved to go up a side because the zipper is right underneath the armpit and I think it would have been a bit more comfortable.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 27, 2013
I'm not a dress type of girl. So when my family saw me in the dress their mouths dropped.
The fit was true to size. I wear either a 3 or 4 depending on the clothes and the 4 fit perfectly! It was like it was made especially for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
December 18, 2013
Wore this dress to my hubby's work Christmas party. Looked great and was comfy!
I ordered the 6 and got an 8 as back-up. Ended up wearing the 8 because it wasn't quite as tight, though I could have worn the 6. The color was a wonderful deep red, very flattering for my complexion (dark hair and eyes, skin on the fair side - freckles). I would order this dress again, and look forward to using RTR for future events!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 16, 2013
Holy Cow what a dress!! Rent it NOW!
The first thing my husband asked was if I could buy the dress! He loved it as did I. I was so comfortable and forgiving of all flaws. It was super easy to wear with a regular bra and the stretchy fabric was perfect for two long nights. I wore this dress to two different holiday parties and I received all the compliments. If I ever have the occasion I'll wear it again! I will say I ordered up because the dress looks so snug in the picture and that was the right choice. I could not have zipped a 4, but I was wearing a mega pushup bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 8, 2013
Nice holiday brunch dress
This was my backup dress for a formal outing. The first dress was fine so I wore this for a holiday brunch with my family. Very comfortable dress. I received lots of complements on the dress. Definitely would wear with Spanx for a more pulled together look.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 6, 2013
I had a great experience with RTR. Will definitely recommend this website to everyone!
The color of this dress is radiant and the ruching accentuates your natural curves. I would recommend a Spanx or similar type body shapewear for a smoother look. I wore this to my high school reunion. I received compliments all night. I was voted best dressed female for the night! ( I gave the award to another deserving guest). I accessorized this dress with the Cara Dress Me Up Bracelet, the Crislu Classic Lady Earrings, and the Whiting & Davis Silver Mesh Glam Clutch. You will not regret renting this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 3, 2013
Complements Galore
Fit like a glove in all the right places. The ruching really hides any imperfections and highlights assets. I'm kind of short so it hung a bit longer [just below the knees] than I would have liked, but with heels on my legs looked nice. I received quite a few complements during the night so I guess the dress looked nice on me.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was a show stopper!!!
This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success. I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I wore this to a black tie wedding in the fall. It hugs all the right curves and no need for spanx. I received soooo many compliments all night long. The dress is very form fitting, but in a good way. All the ruching hides any imperfection you have and sucks you in. I am usually in-between a sizes 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. I would definitely order a size up if you are unsure. The only slight trouble I had with it was it was a little restricting over the shoulders because of the neckline, but not a big deal because I loved the neckline. I absolutely LOVED this dress and I would totally rent it again if I didn’t take so many pictures in it. I will be using RTR for more events!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress, but overused; had tears in material
I was so excited to get this dress for my friends fall wedding. However, when I tried on the dress I noticed small tears in the dress that were noticeable. Overall, the fit of the dress was tight but it was supposed to be. It was a gorgeous dress and I am sure that it would have been a great hit. I am a little disappointed with the rips in the dress. Luckily, I ordered a backup dress and was able to wear that to the wedding.
See more reviews:
2 / 4
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×