Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$40 rental
$450 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

"Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9"".

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

137 reviews

Fit
Small 30
True to Size 103
Large 0
Photos 73
Morgan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 30, 2011

All of the compliments I received all night long!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This is a classic dress-- I received complements on it all night from people of all ages. It the fit was pretty snug but the gathering helped to hide any areas that I didn't want to attract attention to. It tends to run a bit small, so order a size up. Perfect for an event where you want to feel sexy, but want keep it sophisticated.
Abby
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Dec 1, 2011

All the other ladies were jealous of my designer look.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress absolutely runs to size and fit the curves of my body perfectly. I do advise sizing up for the little bit of extra fabric. Because it is a body hugging material, it's nice being able to breathe a little. They only thing I had a concern about, was the silver zipper up the side. It was completely visible, but not very attractive in photos. I highly recommend this look for an evening out!
Maria
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 10, 2011

I had a lot of people tell me red was my color! If you know your color and body shape, I think you'll be more than pleased with your rental.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't want to take this dress off! I felt sexy and confident in this Nicole Miller Dress. It didn't show too much skin but really gives you a sense of sexiness, hello lady in red; and confidence, great flattering silhouette.
LM
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 12, 2011

-

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was very flattering and comfortable. I wore it to a holiday party and received lots of compliments. I loved this dress because it was fun while still being completely appropriate for a work party. I highly recommend it, and think it would flatter most body types.
Brianne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 7, 2012

I was called "stunning" by practically everyone in the building!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This was my first RTR purchase and I was pleasantly surprised. Red is my color and that was reaffirmed by all of my coworkers with all the compliments they were dishing out. I felt sexy and sophisticated in the dress. It was very form fitting and needed to be worn with spanx, but no bra. My main issue is that I have a large chest and the way it cut across my chest made my one breast look like it was tripled in size (mostly in the size 10). I had to keep moving the folds to give the proper illusion. The size 8 was tight but made my chest area look normal (go figure). All in all, the dress was a total head turner!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 8, 2012

Getting compliments on the dress and my babe loving it :)

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
After losing weight I thought I could go down a size in this dress but it was def snug and I felt more comfortable in the size 12. It is super form fitting and sexy. I got compliments on it all night. I think it would be great for any function. Be the lady in red :) My only issue was the zipper on the 12 was diff than the zipper on the 10 and it bulged out in an awkward spot halfway up the dress. Pulling down the dress or pulling it up didnt affect the weird bulge at all. *The 2nd pic you can see it*
Leigh Ann
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Mar 16, 2012

I love getting all the compliments that come along with the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for my sister's engagement party and received a ton of compliments! At the time I ordered the dress I wore a 2-4, but in between the time that I ordered the dress and wore it I lost a little weight and now wear a 0. I rented a 2 and 4 and wore the 2. it was a little big on me, but since it is so form fitting no one could tell. If I would have ordered a 0 it would have fit even better! Since this is a very form fitting dress I would recommend sizing up for your back up size just in case you are an in-between size.
Tara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 19, 2012

Created great curves!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fabric is thick and curve hugging in all the right places. Got so many compliments. A must rent!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 8, 2012

This dress made me feel like someone else! Sexy . . . and hot!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was fabulous! The bride asked me (mother of the groom) to wear red . . . and I could not find a dress. Stumbled upon this website in my search for a red dress. I cannot say enough great things about this company. I did not read the fine print (don't send outside the contiguous US) but they made this work for me . . . Janice was amazing in customer service. Next time I need a dress for a special occasion . . . this is where I will go! Love them!!!!!!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

A random woman in the bar stopped me, told me that my dress was AMAZING and I was the best looking woman there. We were just at a nice bar in downtown LA. That was a HUGE compliment!!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
I can wear some 6's but the 8 fit pretty snug. Very body hugging, but nicely lined so it smoothed things out. The dress was stunning and made me feel like a million dollars. I want to wear it everywhere just to show it off! Thanks RTR - you made my anniversary unforgettable.
Adela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170 lbs
Aug 12, 2012

Great all over fit, TTS!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress to attend my hub's best friend's daughter's Spanish Sweet 16! I received so many compliments that night & my husband loved it! & the service was great! Recieved dress ontime!
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 23, 2012

beautiful lipstick dress ... it's a headturner!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very comfortable and forgiving draping. would definitely rent again!
Sundae
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Sep 26, 2012

Flattering sexy dress!!

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding that my boyfriend was the best man, and when he saw me his jaw dropped and said stunning!! If you have curves this dress is perfect. It hides flaws and gives you a great shape! The picture of the model does not give this dress justice, i only wish i took a better picture with me wearing itt This dress is so perfect in person!! This is a must rent!! :)
Jord
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Oct 5, 2012

I got so many compliments on the dress and it fit perfect!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my first RTR experience and it was great! The dresses came when I wanted, and the 8 fit like a glove. It was extremely flattering and I got so many compliments! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!
Melanie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 7, 2012

This dress was perfect for the charity event I attended. It was forgiving and well made.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the whole RTR experience. Dress was on time, packed nicely, as described. It just completely worked out.
africa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 13, 2014

Didn't get to wear it

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
curve hugging dress. I wish i could have worn it, but the top ruching laid weird on my bust. I wouldn't recommend it if you have more than a DD cup size.
Martha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
Feb 14, 2014

Hot dress!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I was not able to wear this dress as it was a little too tight on the thighs. I have an athletic build and "good" thighs so this would have fit me better in the size 8. It is gorgeous though! The fabric is so nice and it hugs all your curves. I would recommend this dress and will rent it again but in a larger size.
lee
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 1, 2014

Gorgeous but unforgiving of any apple-ness.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
Pros: beautiful color, substantial fabric. Cons: it really does fit like a sausage casing. Twenty years ago I would had rocked it :). Also runs small (in addition to the very slim fit.)
Pam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 2, 2014

I loved this dress! I got so many compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
This dress was amazing. Very flattering and comfortable.
Meridith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Everyone complimented me on this dress all night! I felt beautiful in it!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It fits great! You'll receive lots of compliments on it. I loved it because it's very flattering. I wish I could buy this dress!
Allie
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Sexy and Classy!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was hesitant to rent this dress because of my age, but I'm very glad I did! I chose the size 0 and 2. I would go with a size smaller because the fabric is very stretchy, and will flatter any body type.
Grace
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

DRESS FIT PERFECT!!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was great to see family that I haven't seen in years to tell me how great I looked in my dress. The dress hugged in all the right places.
MELANIE
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 21, 2014

Made me bigger in all the wrong places- too much fabric

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Did not like it at all.
Antonette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

Perfect for a sexy date night!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was pretty awesome for our night out. I took my husband out for a birthday dinner and wanted to wear something form-fitting and this worked out perfectly! It really accentuated the curves and made me feel comfortable even though I usually don't wear things so tight. I sized up for comfort really, it wasn't necessary but I like birthday desserts :) Rent this dress, you'll love it!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

Tight, but the rouching smoothed out any lines

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Had to do a bit of tugging on the hemline, and the right sleeve was a bit tighter than the left, but overall a nice dress. Great, bright color, and I really liked the neckline (front and back).
Hilary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 19, 2014

This was a big disappointment. It was really thick and unflattering

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I wanted to wear it for a winter wedding and it was just bad all a round. The rouching didn't look right and I couldn't get over how thick the material was. It felt a little like being wrapped in a velvet curtain at the movies. Needless to say I did not wear it to the wedding.
Kathleen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 27, 2014

did not wear due to size

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

Very flattering

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.
CC
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 17, 2014

I looked and felt stunning...thank you

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
very form fitting and comfortable.
RTR Customer
Oct 3, 2014

Wonderful dress.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Flattering.
Amy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Tons of compliments

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great material, thick and stretchy. No need for Spanx. If you have a bigger bust, I would suggest sizing up just because it zips on the side and it might be more difficult. The color is amazing! Very rich and flattering in a sea of LBD's at the wedding. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Lisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100 lbs
Oct 13, 2014

Great dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The got was perfect and nice color. This was my back up dress though, and I chose my first choice.
Brit
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Oct 30, 2014

This dress is for clubbing, not for fashionistas.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I needed a dress for a "red" themed corporate charity party. This was not the right dress. This dress was very clingy. It hugged my curves in all the right places and would be great for night clubbing in Miami or Vegas. It is NOT a dress for a wedding, formal affair, etc. The red is a very bright red. I showed it to a few of my male co-workers (both gay and straight) and all of them were like, "Um, no.. It's tacky." It looks sweet and demure on the model, but in real life it looks a bit trampy and the fabric is sort of cheap. I don't know what happened to Nicole Miller's brand in general. Her clothes were so classy and unique a decade ago. Now it seems she is trying to compete with Herve Leger's band-aid dresses.
mary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

Pretty dress, very classy

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this to a wedding in Florida over Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect. I got a ton of compliments and it was one of those dresses that hides a lot of problems!! Nice exposed side zipper makes it modern and it was a perfect red color. I would rent this again. The only problem is I forgot to take a picture!
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Dec 2, 2014

The dress fit perfectly - the style was perfect!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal event. The dress looked perfect when it came in. The fabric had its original stretch and looked like it had never been worn. Once I zipped the dress, it fit absolutely perfectly. I have a smaller bust and fuller hips, and the dress was very flattering to my body. It crosses nicely in the waist and has just the right amount of ruching to be figure-flattering. As for the length, it hit about two inches above my knee, so it was appropriate while still cute. Also, the color was amazing - very bright and vibrant. I just wish I could have kept it!
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Feb 17, 2015

My outfit was amazing! Thanks to RTR!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Dress is amazing. (I'm still waiting for pics from the evening.) The material had some slight give in it and yet hugged the body. The 0 was slightly tight for me to zip up but fit great. The ruching adds some nice curves for petite, athletic types. Looks awesome with all crystal accents (Ben Amun earrings, Logan ring) and a silver mesh bag. I received many compliments and admiring glances. Can't wait to wear this again!
Kirstan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 3, 2015

Awesome dress!

Size worn: 6
Rented for: Other
Very forgiving, great camouflage for imperfections, and incredibly comfortable to boot! Definitely stayed put except for shoulders. I would definitely rent again. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sized up. I'm glad I did, too, because I don't think a 4 would have worked. I probably could have worn the 8 comfortably.
Michelle
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 18, 2015

I rented this for a Casino Night fundraiser.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress runs a little small, but has great give to it. I wore with spanx and that made me a bit more comfortable. The left should does not have as much pleating to it as the right, which I couldn't see from the picture. Spent some time trying to get it to lay right. Many compliments on the dress though. And it was quite comfortable.
Kyle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Mar 24, 2015

Weird Fit

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually wear a 6 or an 8 depending on the designer, but only the 6 was available on my date. When I tried the dress on, it hung all wrong on me---it got almost tangled on one side and I had to really work to pull it across my body. Even then, it was pretty small and just didn't look right on me. Luckily, RTR customer service is awesome and saved the day with another dress!
Ciera
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 28, 2015

The perfect Valentine's Day gift...for yourself :)

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Date
This was my first time renting with RTR but definitely not my last. I rented this dress a smile smaller than usual but luckily it still fit like a glove. Honestly, this is a dress that would look good on any body shape because the layered/wrapped fabric is SO flattering. LOVE LOVE LOVE.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×