Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
173 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(118)
Small
(39)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 3, 2015
Awesome dress!
Very forgiving, great camouflage for imperfections, and incredibly comfortable to boot! Definitely stayed put except for shoulders. I would definitely rent again. I followed the advice of other reviewers and sized up. I'm glad I did, too, because I don't think a 4 would have worked. I probably could have worn the 8 comfortably.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 43
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170lbs
February 25, 2015
Hugs just right!
This dress looked and felt great. My 36As wouldn't have needed a bra had I been able to wear the dress. Unfortunately it was a little too snug for the night I had planned, but I felt fantastic in the try-on. If it had been available in a 12 I'd have kept it. No smoother needed with this one.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
February 19, 2015
Perfect Valentine's Day Engagement Dress!
Definitely snug, but sexy and kind when it comes to covering a poochy tummy. It fit well and I wasn't concerned about anything falling out! Very comfortable. It was a great dress for our Valentine's Day engagement.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 17, 2015
My outfit was amazing! Thanks to RTR!
Dress is amazing. (I'm still waiting for pics from the evening.) The material had some slight give in it and yet hugged the body. The 0 was slightly tight for me to zip up but fit great. The ruching adds some nice curves for petite, athletic types. Looks awesome with all crystal accents (Ben Amun earrings, Logan ring) and a silver mesh bag. I received many compliments and admiring glances. Can't wait to wear this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 5, 2015
Great dress - perfect for event's theme
I got this dress for a Fire & Ice themed fundraising event. I received a size 10; I would have been more comfortable in a 12 but one wasn't available. Zipping it up over my 32DDD strapless bra took some doing. While trying on the dress a second time, one of the satin ribbons (to keep the dress on a hanger) got massively jammed in the side zipper. Had to cut it off (after calling RTR for the OK to do it!) in order to finally unzip the dress. Because of the neckline, I couldn't wear my usual Spanx with bra straps, but the ruching and heavier fabric (along with some control top hosiery) helped camouflage my tummy. Rented the Southern Plantation earrings and a necklace to go with it - lots of bling! BTW, the zipper is one of those exposed (meant to be visible) types; as someone who has sewn clothing for years, I still can't stand them. The dress is very well constructed, IMO. The left sleeve/neckline part was very stretched out, and kept slipping down my (admittedly, narrow) shoulder.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 4, 2015
LOVE THE RED
I Loved this dress! I've never worn red, since I have red hair, but I absolutely loved this dress. I really wish I could've worn the 8 but it was out of stock! I got compliments all night long, and I am still having random people come up to me and tell me how much they loved it! I would definitely rent this if you're contemplating it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2014
Very sexy and comfortable! The color stands out in a crowd!
Wore this to an engagement party. The color popped and was very sexy! Hugged my curves in all the right places. Got a lot of compliments on it too!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2014
Sexy red dress
I'm usually a 4 in Nicole miller, but the 6 just fit a little better. It's a sexy dress, but I didn't feel like it highlighted my curves. I have a tiny waist and a bigger butt, and I felt a little more boxy than usual in this. But I got a ton of compliments and it was very comfortable to dance in.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 2, 2014
The dress fit perfectly - the style was perfect!
I rented this dress for a formal event. The dress looked perfect when it came in. The fabric had its original stretch and looked like it had never been worn. Once I zipped the dress, it fit absolutely perfectly. I have a smaller bust and fuller hips, and the dress was very flattering to my body. It crosses nicely in the waist and has just the right amount of ruching to be figure-flattering. As for the length, it hit about two inches above my knee, so it was appropriate while still cute. Also, the color was amazing - very bright and vibrant. I just wish I could have kept it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 62
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 2, 2014
Pretty dress, very classy
Wore this to a wedding in Florida over Thanksgiving weekend and it was perfect. I got a ton of compliments and it was one of those dresses that hides a lot of problems!! Nice exposed side zipper makes it modern and it was a perfect red color. I would rent this again. The only problem is I forgot to take a picture!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 126lbs
November 20, 2014
Gorgeous. Felt dressed nicely but not too dressed up at Bat Mitzvah.
Substantial fabric but not heavy. Dress barely moved despite how snug it was.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 9, 2014
Loved it!
I ordered both the 0 and 2, and while I could squeeze into the 0, the size 2 was much more comfortable. The ruching hid all the appetizers I ate during the wedding but still had the perfect amount of stretch to accentuate curves. Length was great for dancing, and I loved the color!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
October 30, 2014
This dress is for clubbing, not for fashionistas.
I needed a dress for a "red" themed corporate charity party. This was not the right dress. This dress was very clingy. It hugged my curves in all the right places and would be great for night clubbing in Miami or Vegas. It is NOT a dress for a wedding, formal affair, etc. The red is a very bright red. I showed it to a few of my male co-workers (both gay and straight) and all of them were like, "Um, no.. It's tacky." It looks sweet and demure on the model, but in real life it looks a bit trampy and the fabric is sort of cheap. I don't know what happened to Nicole Miller's brand in general. Her clothes were so classy and unique a decade ago. Now it seems she is trying to compete with Herve Leger's band-aid dresses.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 27, 2014
An amazing night at the bar feeling like a hot mama!
Fits snugly but hides bumps well because of the ruching. I felt like a bombshell even in the middle of freezing Toronto winter! Tights or bare legs, doesn't matter - this dress is killer!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
October 13, 2014
Great dress
The got was perfect and nice color. This was my back up dress though, and I chose my first choice.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 6, 2014
Tons of compliments
Great material, thick and stretchy. No need for Spanx. If you have a bigger bust, I would suggest sizing up just because it zips on the side and it might be more difficult. The color is amazing! Very rich and flattering in a sea of LBD's at the wedding. I would definitely wear this dress again!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
I NEVER have an occasion to get dolled up, so when a friend of 14 years got hitched, I went all out!
I am a size 10 in my hour glass shape and this dress fit like a glove. It was substantial. I didn't feel like I was going to break the zipper and I felt held in by the dress (but I did wear Spanx for smoothness). The length was great for my 5'3" frame,and I was able to sit comfortably and dance comfortably. I received so many compliments. My husband who was a groomsman, was dressed in a tux and I felt well matched. It made his jaw drop. Such a fantastic first experience with Rent the Runway.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 3, 2014
Wonderful dress.
Flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 55
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
October 1, 2014
I got many compliments on the dress, and was one of about 5 people who wore a color other than black
The dress fit like a glove - I wore the 6, and had the 4 as a back-up. I can wear anything from a size 2-4-6. I'd say the dress runs on the smaller side, so if you're in doubt about which way to go, go up a size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
September 28, 2014
Feeling sexy again
I am so happy I RTR. I had my daughter 3 months prior to this wedding and nursing. I wasn't really sure how anything was going to fit. The thick material was very flattering for hiding parts that have not fully gone back to normal. I loved the off the shoulder, which I felt was the perfect amount of sexy with out being over the top bc of the color of the dress. I would definitely tent again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
September 15, 2014
Fun dress!
I really loved this dress, the color was gorgeous and it was very flattering!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
August 8, 2014
The dress was better than my date!
I ordered this bad boy just hoping it would fit and thinking it really wouldn't...at the time I was for sure a 12, but all that was available was a 10. I bit the bullet and did it anyway. I wore this for a 2-night formal (Fire & Ice—this was fire) and it was a hit. I never wear fitted things so everyone was talking about how beautiful the dress was. I had to work to get it to zip, but there is so much tight, right stretch to this that I knew I'd make it happen, and I did. My date sucked, I got pulled over by the police...asked to step out of the car...NO TICKET AND I DIDNT EVEN CRY. I think I partially have the dress to thank ;) This was my first RTR experience and I am now an addict.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 106lbs
July 25, 2014
Great Dress!
I ordered both the 0 and the 2. Ended up wearing the 2 because although the 0 was a good fit it was a little shorter and tighter than i thought was appropriate for the wedding we were attending. The 2 was a little longer and had more material around my hips and chest so it didn't look like it was painted on like the 0 did!! The shoulders tended to slip down a little bit( probably because i was wearing the 2) but not often enough to bother me! I had 3 strangers come up to me during the evening to tell me how great the dress was. I will be ordering this one again! Loved it! Thank you RTR
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
I looked and felt stunning...thank you
very form fitting and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
July 17, 2014
Very flattering
I've gained some weight, so more like 142, size 8 now, but this dress seems to run small for me. The other dress I rented in an 8 fit perfectly, if not even a little bit loose. That said, this dress is very flattering and fairly forgiving. I would wear it again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
July 10, 2014
Wow! Just wow!
I loved this dress! It was my backup. RTR was amazing. The original dress I ordered did not fit right, and they overnight shipped this dress! It arrived the next day! It's a little heavy on the material, so I wouldn't recommend it for outdoor summer weddings. The zipper is a little tough to pull up, but over all beautiful dress! Hides the tummy area well. I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 146lbs
July 8, 2014
I wore this for a cruise on the Hudson under the fireworks on the 4th - perfect firecracker dress!
In the photo, both straps were up on her shoulders, but the one kept slipping off - my friends and I decided that was the way it was supposed to look and so I just went with it! The dress was super forgiving and flattering - I normally wear a size 10/12 and this was so slimming and beautiful. I did wear spanx underneath, but probably could have gone without them.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 60
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 27, 2014
did not wear due to size
was sent the 8 because it was a back up. I wear a 10. it was too tight. I will rent this again for a wedding I have in septtember becuase i really liked it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
June 19, 2014
This was a big disappointment. It was really thick and unflattering
I wanted to wear it for a winter wedding and it was just bad all a round. The rouching didn't look right and I couldn't get over how thick the material was. It felt a little like being wrapped in a velvet curtain at the movies. Needless to say I did not wear it to the wedding.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
June 9, 2014
Tight, but the rouching smoothed out any lines
Had to do a bit of tugging on the hemline, and the right sleeve was a bit tighter than the left, but overall a nice dress. Great, bright color, and I really liked the neckline (front and back).
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2014
Sexy dress for a special date
I was lucky enough to go to French Laundry with my husband for my birthday and it was a great excuse to get dressed up. This dress was perfect for the occasion. Although it definitely hugs your curves it's also pretty forgiving in the tummy region, which was great for enjoying a special meal. It wasn't terribly flattering to my bust and squished it in, but otherwise the dress looked great on. I honestly didn't notice much of a difference between the 4 and the 6 except in the bust, probably because the fabric was so stretchy. I'd size up if you're bigger on top.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 28, 2014
Perfect for a sexy date night!
This dress was pretty awesome for our night out. I took my husband out for a birthday dinner and wanted to wear something form-fitting and this worked out perfectly! It really accentuated the curves and made me feel comfortable even though I usually don't wear things so tight. I sized up for comfort really, it wasn't necessary but I like birthday desserts :) Rent this dress, you'll love it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 21, 2014
Made me bigger in all the wrong places- too much fabric
Did not like it at all.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 133lbs
April 16, 2014
Comfortable and sexy dress
This was a last minute rental for me, as my original dress was unavailable. I'm glad I chose this one. I wore this dress for a Mrs. pageant event. It was sexy, yet classy. The material is thick and stretchy, which is nice. It hugs your curves, and sucks you in in all the right places.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2014
DRESS FIT PERFECT!!
It was great to see family that I haven't seen in years to tell me how great I looked in my dress. The dress hugged in all the right places.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
March 31, 2014
Sexy and Classy!
I was hesitant to rent this dress because of my age, but I'm very glad I did! I chose the size 0 and 2. I would go with a size smaller because the fabric is very stretchy, and will flatter any body type.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 158lbs
March 10, 2014
Everyone complimented me on this dress all night! I felt beautiful in it!
It fits great! You'll receive lots of compliments on it. I loved it because it's very flattering. I wish I could buy this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
March 2, 2014
I loved this dress! I got so many compliments.
This dress was amazing. Very flattering and comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 140lbs
March 1, 2014
Gorgeous but unforgiving of any apple-ness.
Pros: beautiful color, substantial fabric. Cons: it really does fit like a sausage casing. Twenty years ago I would had rocked it :). Also runs small (in addition to the very slim fit.)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 14, 2014
Hot dress!
I was not able to wear this dress as it was a little too tight on the thighs. I have an athletic build and "good" thighs so this would have fit me better in the size 8. It is gorgeous though! The fabric is so nice and it hugs all your curves. I would recommend this dress and will rent it again but in a larger size.
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×