Nicole Miller

Red Butterfly Ruched Dress

$30 rental
$450 retail
Stylist Notes

Wear this body accentuating Nicole Miller off shoulder dress. A great style for a wedding, romantic date night, or cocktail party. Pair with classic accessories for that lady like look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'9". )

Product Details

Red matte jersey. Off the shoulder neckline. V back. Boned bodice. Ruched bodice. Exposed side zip. 39"" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'9.

Share
178 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(119)
Small
(40)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2012
Valentines Love

The rouching hides every flaw, but leaves you feeling sleek and sexy.

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 21, 2012
I got so many compliments from family and strangers!

The dress was so easy to rent and looked so amazing on me! I got so many compliments! At first I thought that it made me look a little more hippier and padded my curves to make me look bigger, which I didn't really like, but I think it's just that there was so much fabric from the ruching - it still looked amazing!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 24, 2012
I kept getting questions on where I got my dress. I was all too happy to tell them about RTR.

Fit is true to size and zipped up perfectly. The style was really flattering as well. The only negative I found with it was the fit of the shoulders. Regardless of size, they always seemed to pull upwards and dig into my underarms. That may be due to my own body shape though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2012
Beautiful

Runs true to size, beautiful red color very stylish wore to a wedding.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36DD
Body type: Pear
September 26, 2012
Flattering sexy dress!!

I love this dress!! I wore it to a wedding that my boyfriend was the best man, and when he saw me his jaw dropped and said stunning!! If you have curves this dress is perfect. It hides flaws and gives you a great shape! The picture of the model does not give this dress justice, i only wish i took a better picture with me wearing itt This dress is so perfect in person!! This is a must rent!! :)

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2012
I got so many compliments on the dress and it fit perfect!

This was my first RTR experience and it was great! The dresses came when I wanted, and the 8 fit like a glove. It was extremely flattering and I got so many compliments! I will definitely be renting from RTR again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
October 7, 2012
This dress was perfect for the charity event I attended. It was forgiving and well made.

I loved the whole RTR experience. Dress was on time, packed nicely, as described. It just completely worked out.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 8, 2012
Really pretty and comfortable, lots of compliments

The zipper really stands out on the side. I found it a little tight in the hips, but not uncomfortable.

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
October 22, 2012
Beautiful dress and very flattering

The dress does run small, so if you're not comfortable pulling it down all night long definitely size up or even two sizes up. Sadly, I wasn't able to wear it because it was just too small :(

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 18, 2012
I was so nervous/anxious to rent, but it was PERFECT.

This dress was absolutely perfect. My boyfriend loved it and I could not have been happier with the fit. I ended up not having to wear a bra with it and it hugged in all the right places (even after an open bar and prime rib it was very comfortable BOOM)

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
December 12, 2012
I looked like a celebrity. I never received so many compliments in my life.

Fit like it was made for me! Beautiful dress. The designer details were amazing. The dress contoured to my body. I never received so many compliments in my life. I wore a size 4, but I am usually a size 6. The size 6 wasn't available. The 4 fit just fine.

View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 14, 2012
gorgeous but size up if you are big busted

This dress really is amazing, beautiful fabric, very flattering cut. The size 4 would have been perfect had I not wanted to contain my boobs in the dress :/ It was too tight to zip up top. My back up size was a 2 so obviously that wouldn't help. Normally in this designer I'm a solid 4, but unfortunately it didn't work this time. I think the 6 would have fit up top and still fit on bottom b/c of the stretchy fabric. In all, very nice, I'll definitely rent this dress again but in the bigger size. RTR was great to do an exchange for my party though, thanks RTR!!!!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 21, 2012
I ordered this dress for a class reunion; unfortunately, I never got to wear it.

I ordered a size 4 and 6, but even the larger size wouldn't zip up past the waist. I'm thin but have a healthy-sized chest. No time to exchange it before the party. Very sad, because it looks like a gorgeous dress!!

RTR CustomerDecember 21, 2012
Hi Kim! So sorry this rental did not work out for you, next time be sure to give a stylist a call so we can make sure you get the perfect fit!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 106lbs
January 3, 2013
Compliments all night long!!

I rented this dress for my company holiday party, and I have to say this might be one of my absolute favorites. The fit was amazing, emphasizing what should be emphasized and downplaying what shouldn't. A few notes: I was pretty nervous looking at the size 0 on the hanger - it looked TINY and I had my doubts about fit. But clearly it expands and fits like a dream! The dress acts as its own spanx/control top, but not in an "I can't breathe" kind of way. I was able to eat, drink, and move around the venue without any issue. The red is a bit brighter than it appears on the model, but it's still a great choice for the holiday season. The asymmetrical neckline adds some extra pizzazz to an already outstanding dress. All evening long I had coworkers and significant others telling me they loved my dress! And those who I had told about RTR before were tickled to see it in action.

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 119lbs
January 5, 2013
I wore it to a wedding and got numerous compliments. I felt great in this dress!

My only regret is not renting a necklace to wear with the dress.

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
January 7, 2013
Confident "Lady in Red" ; Great color for the holidays!

Chose this for my husband's company holiday party. I ordered it in a 2 & 4. Usually 2 works well for me but I ended up wearing the 4. The other reviews hold true regarding the zipper. It was difficult to zip in my regular size. But going up an extra size, it was a cinch. I also preferred to wear the longer length in size 4 since the crowd was more on the conservative side. It looks sexy yet classy. The dress photographs beautifully & appears a little darker in pictures. The fabric is thick & can add curves to more petite ladies. In terms of my preference, the only small "con" was the amount of ruching on the dress. I know ruching can help dresses be more forgiving but I also like clean lines. Accessories: I wore it with the Nicole Miller Starlite star bright necklace which was recommended by a stylist. Originally, I ordered the mystery bling but when I checked online to see if my rental was shipped, I saw the earrings that were going to be shipped. It was a Badgley Mischka blue Ice Crystal earrings which I was afraid would be too overpowering for me & wasn't keen on adding another color to the look. They canceled the mystery bling before the whole order shipped & ordered the Nicole Miller necklace which went Perfectly with the dress & shoes. Kudos to RTR customer service. If you want to be the Lady in Red, don't hesitate to try this one. You'll receive compliments galore!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
January 26, 2013
This dress is amazing! I didn't want to send it back!

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this dress. I wore this the night I got engaged and this dress made the evening even more memorable. My fiancé wanted to buy it for me! This dress fits like a glove. It is well-lined and the ruching hugs your body in a very flattering way. I normally wear a size 0 or 2, so I ordered both and ended up wearing the 0, but could have worn the 2 as well. It just depends how snug you want the dress to fit. I would definitely rent this dress again. I'm probably a bit older than many of the women who rent from Rent the Runway, and this is one of the dresses that is flattering regardless of your age.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 10, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!!!

Gorgeous deep red color! I wore this to a Valentine's party, my husband absolutely loved it. The dress is form fitting, enhances existing curves and is very flattering. There is a lot of stretch to the dress, initially I thought I wouldn't be able to zip it but was able to with my husband's assistance. Even though it was form-fitting, it was still comfortable enough to dance in for hours. I received a number of compliments on it, one stranger even asked for me to take a picture with his wife, she loved it so much. I would definitely recommend this dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 6, 2012
Compliments all night!

Fit perfectly, hugged every curve like most ruched Nicole Miller Dresses.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
A great dress that is forgiving and flattering!

I loved this dress and recieved many compliments on it! The color is very vibrant and the ruching would work for many figure types. The fabric is thick and of good quality. You'll love it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
March 25, 2013
LOVE THIS DRESS!!!

I wore this dress to a fancy wedding in NYC this weekend. I truly adored it and would wear it again. Wish I could keep it. The color is beautiful. It fit perfectly and I received tons of compliments. A friend at the wedding is going to rent the exact same dress now for a weddding she has later this year! It was a perfect fit, super comfortable and easy to wear. Can't say enough. Definetely using RTR again in April! Thanks

View photos (3)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
March 29, 2013
perfect fit and gorgeous color!

I wore this to a late fall wedding and it fit like a glove! I usually don't venture out when it comes to color, so I made a bold decision to go for this red dress and I'm so glad I did. The fabric is super comfy and was able to enjoy dancing the night away. Once again, RTR did not disappoint!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175lbs
April 8, 2013
Extremely flattering dress, perfect for a wedding or formal event.

This dress was PERFECT for a wedding! The fit was amazing and I was able to sit and stand and then sit and stand during the ceremony and had no problem dancing all night at the reception. I did have to pull it down a few times during the course of the night, but that it to be expected from this fabric and how tight it is. And it is tight. Like I said before, the fit was amazing. It hugs all your curves in the right places and the ruching conceals anything that you would prefer to hide. I don't have the smallest frame so I did opt for Spanx underneath just to make sure everything stayed smooth, but it wasn't a must. I felt gorgeous all night long and would gladly wear this dress again!

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
April 15, 2013
Red hot!

I wore this to a wedding, got so many compliments! The fit was pefect

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 15, 2013
Perfect date Dress. REALLY WOWS!

Great for curves without too much cleavage and not too short so completely sexy while leaving a reasonable amount to the imagination. Such a great dress!! So many compliments and neck snaps!!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
April 16, 2013
I got a million compliments, and felt like the sexiest glamazon in the room/world!

This dress was AMAZING. Women walked by me all night asking where I got my dress, and I got a ton of compliments from guys who would normally never notice that sort of thing. RTR sent me the wrong sizes (a 6 and an 8, when I ordered the 8 and 10 based on RTR customer service advising me the dress ran small), but the 6 ended up fitting like a glove. I also tried the 8 and the extra fabric made it look a little bulky. I wore it with slimcognito spanx and got a very hourglassy figure. VERY comfortably, easy to dance in, and it stands out in a sea of little black dresses. I didn't want to return it ever! I will definitely rent it again. The only reason I'm taking off a star is because of what a lot of other reviewers have said: the side zipper is a little tacky and doesn't go with the classiness of the dress. Other than that, this is a must-rent!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 19, 2013
Several strangers tapped me on the shoulder to pass along a quick compliment! Felt fantastic!

I normally wear a 0 and ordered 0 and 2. The 2 was snug but perfect. Only complaint is that the clasp at the top of the zipper was missing so the zipper didn't stay as well pulled up as it should have.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 161lbs
May 21, 2013
Got tons of compliments! Super comfy

This dress was great for the wedding I attended. I was looking for something and am currently in between sizes so I wasn't sure where I was going to fall for this one. Also, i've always strayed away from red (never been a fan) but something about this one just called to me. This dress was snug where it needed to be and forgiving elsewhere. My only issue is that I have long legs and no torso, so it was a little long on me (went past my knee). Had it been a few inches shorter, it would have been absolutely perfect. It was great to dance in and easy to sit in (which i know is always an issue with tighter dresses). I'd definitely rent again.

View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2013
Too small.

I wanted to wear this to a wedding that my husband was in, but it was too small and it doesn't come in a 14 so I had to settle for a different dress. RTR had great customer service, but I was disappointed that I didn't get to wear it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
August 2, 2013
Sexy and fun

I was a little worried about wearing a form fitting red dress to a wedding. But the dress gives you enough coverage and is extremely flattering. Anyone who is heavier on the bottom (like me) should not worry about wearing this dress. I received many compliments and my husband could not take his eyes off me. :)

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 5, 2013
Sexy and Classy!

I wore this to a formal event and received compliments all night. This dress holds you in in all the right places! I felt sexy but not inappropriate.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 17, 2013
Compliments all night long!

The ladies at the Ball loves this Gorgeous dress & i told them that they can find it here at the Rent the Runway :) Beautiful dress, very comfortable & sexy. I love it!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
September 23, 2013
I had many compliments on this dress. People could not believe I rented it. RTR has new costumers

It feels tight, but that is needed for the style of the dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
October 6, 2013
Beautiful color...

I took a chance and ordered a 6 because that was the only size available..It didn't fit but based on the reviews I wasn't surprised...I probably would have needed the 10...will try again for the next occasion

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 14, 2013
I loved wearing this dress. I got so many compliments all night long. The color and fit rocked.

This dress fit really well and was extremely flattering.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108lbs
November 4, 2013
Very easy to wear!

It was comfortable but looked good. I don't have much curve anywhere but I looked like I did in this dress. I usually wear a 0 but in this dress the 2 fit better in the chest and rib cage and allowed the raunching to hang better over my hips. Definitely order a size up for your back up if you are larger than an A cup!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2013
Great dress, but overused; had tears in material

I was so excited to get this dress for my friends fall wedding. However, when I tried on the dress I noticed small tears in the dress that were noticeable. Overall, the fit of the dress was tight but it was supposed to be. It was a gorgeous dress and I am sure that it would have been a great hit. I am a little disappointed with the rips in the dress. Luckily, I ordered a backup dress and was able to wear that to the wedding.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 155lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress was a show stopper!!!

This was my first time doing RTR and it was a success. I cannot say enough good things about this dress. I wore this to a black tie wedding in the fall. It hugs all the right curves and no need for spanx. I received soooo many compliments all night long. The dress is very form fitting, but in a good way. All the ruching hides any imperfection you have and sucks you in. I am usually in-between a sizes 6 and 8 and the 8 fit perfectly. I would definitely order a size up if you are unsure. The only slight trouble I had with it was it was a little restricting over the shoulders because of the neckline, but not a big deal because I loved the neckline. I absolutely LOVED this dress and I would totally rent it again if I didn’t take so many pictures in it. I will be using RTR for more events!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
December 3, 2013
Complements Galore

Fit like a glove in all the right places. The ruching really hides any imperfections and highlights assets. I'm kind of short so it hung a bit longer [just below the knees] than I would have liked, but with heels on my legs looked nice. I received quite a few complements during the night so I guess the dress looked nice on me.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
December 6, 2013
I had a great experience with RTR. Will definitely recommend this website to everyone!

The color of this dress is radiant and the ruching accentuates your natural curves. I would recommend a Spanx or similar type body shapewear for a smoother look. I wore this to my high school reunion. I received compliments all night. I was voted best dressed female for the night! ( I gave the award to another deserving guest). I accessorized this dress with the Cara Dress Me Up Bracelet, the Crislu Classic Lady Earrings, and the Whiting & Davis Silver Mesh Glam Clutch. You will not regret renting this dress!

View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×