Nicole Miller

Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
124 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(27)
Small
(94)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
July 3, 2014
This dress was the best one at the event!!

It ran small, so go a size up. It was very comfortable to wear and 'hugged' all the right places!!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
November 29, 2010

The dress is really cute, but veryyyy narrow on top. I am normally a size 4 in dresses, but I ordered a 6 too just to be safe. The 6 fit around my butt (which is usually more of my problem area than my waist or my chest) but was surprisingly hard to zip around my chest area. Love the color though, just consider ordering a size bigger than you normally would.

Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2011

Beautiful Dress! It ran pretty small so I recommend a larger backup size and I agree with others that it was difficult to zip up at the top and is more of a plum/purple color (very pretty color!!!). But once on the dress was very comfy and supportive and great out! I have a hard time finding flattering dresses for myself (I have no hips and these awkward love handles that make my flat stomach really wide looking) and this one was so great! It really compliments the body and looks so gorgeous.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118lbs
October 14, 2011

This was such a beautiful color but if you are any bigger than an A cup for the size 0 dress you are going to be squeezing the girls in! I felt really uncomfortable all night and when I finally got the dress off I had ruching on my breasts lol! So I would recommend going one or even two sizes up!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
November 17, 2011
TOO SMALL!!!

I own a few Nicole Miller dresses, all of which are a size 2 or 4. I couldn't even zip up a size 6 in this! If you have anything larger than an A cup, I would NOT even consider this dress. It is not true to size at all. I had to return this and spend $25 extra in overnight shipping before our party!!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110lbs
December 16, 2011
Sorority Semi-Formal

Very flattering-very tight. I normally wear a Size 0, but had tried this on at a Trunk Show so new to get a bigger size (Rented size 4 and 6) both fit. 34D and was very tight/revealing on my chest-- but that didn't bother me. I would rent a bigger size to avoid more cleavage but overall great tight, flattering dress definitely order larger size than normal.

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
April 24, 2012
Photographs well; not stunning

For my particularly body type, the 0 squashed and flattened my chest, while fitting perfectly in the waist area. The 2 fit my chest but was loose around my waist and made the sipper buckle in the back. (This is a consistent problem for me...) Also, the ruched shiny fabric does not hug a small waist....would probably hide a tummy well.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 4, 2012
Not true to size, in my case

The dress was beautiful but unfortunately could not wear my size 8 or backup size 10 because they did not zip up on my back. I guess my back is wider, so the zipper would not go up because it did not stretch as much as i thought it would on top. I do have larger breasts but they fit fine on front. I also have a big butt (I am chubby for my short size but I am not fat, which is not the case why the dress didn't fit) and it fit great on my hips but my wider back just wouldn't fit in it. I did not want to get an even bigger size because it would not fit well in my bust of butt and didn't want it to be saggy.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
LOVE

I wore this dress to a Christmas party and loved it. It was so flattering but it definitely runs small. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 0, but wore a 4 in this dress. I got complements on the dress all night. I would've bought it if it was an option!

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 13, 2012
Looks great

My order was suppose to arrive tonight by 8pm. I called your office at 830pm and no answer. This is my first time ordering from your company and I'm very disappointed with the service so far. I am leaving for Atlantic city tomorrow and the dress is for a wedding on fri. I could not order any sooner because the rental is for 4 days and I have to return it the day after the wedding on sat. Please help!!!!!!! I have no dress to wear, I did not go shopping because I was anticipating on getting this dress on time! This is a disaster! Someone from your office please call me ASAP, I expect a full refund!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
Fits like a glove!

If you want a tight fitting stunner this is the dress! The color is beautiful but be prepared for this to hug you all over. I ended up wearing my backup size because I wanted the dress to be a little more foregiving. I would suggest sizing up because you may also want more room in the bust area. This dress may be too small for bigger chest sizes. Overall, it was a fun, sexy, party dress and I got lots of compliments.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
Holiday party

This dress was very flattering for a holiday party. Ran a bit small

Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Waayyyyy small

I usually order a size 4, and I ordered a 6 because of the other reviews. It was WAYYYY too tight. No chance of fitting. I probably could have worn a 12. Cute dress though.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
extremely small

When I first took this dress out of the bag, I checked the tag thinking the size shipped incorrectly. it looked like a 0! It was the correct size, however runs extremely small. I read reviews suggesting ordering a size up. I usually wear a size 6. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I had to SQUEEZE into the 10. Luckily the fabric is very stretchy, but the tight fit did make me a bit self-conscious throughout the night. It's a pretty dress. Make sure to order it two or three sizes larger than normal for sure!

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
January 14, 2013
runs small

ordered bigger size too small

Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 3, 2013
Loved the dress. Got compliments all night

very very small in the chest. It was hard to zip the 10. I usually wear a 4 or 6.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
December 13, 2013
Just o.k.

I wanted to love it just as much as everyone else. It was just o.k. I ALWAYS wear a 0 but needed a 2 in this dress. Even in the past when they say dresses run small, I have never needed to size up. I thought it fit kind of strange in the chest. I did receive a lot of compliments on it. I just didn't love it.

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 3, 2010

This dress fit perfectly! It was very comfortable and didn't ride up at all. I got compliments all night long!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Body type: Hourglass
February 28, 2011

I loved this dress! The color was lovely, although more purple than in the photo. It is very flattering for someone with an hourglass figure, because it hugs your curves. My measurements are 37-26-39.5 so finding anything that doesn't look baggy in the middle is difficult! There was plenty of room "leftover" in the waist area but the ruched material just sucked right in and you couldn't even tell it was too big there! My only caveat (which I saw some others mention) is that the bust is very tight on the size that it's supposed to fit -- the designer says that a 10 should fit a 37" bust and I'm exactly that size, but it took two of us to zip up the last few inches! Looked fabulous on, though!!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34DD
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011

I needed a dress for a celeb bday party and there were a lot of other celebs there. I wanted a dress that would fit my body well and also be comfy. I called RTR and they suggested this dress. LOVED IT! I am a size 6-8 and a 34D. This dress had a perfect stretch to it. I ordered the 8 and the 10 at the suggestion of RTR and wore the 8. I probably could have worn a 6 but the 8 was good. I didnt wear a bra bc the top is very supportive. I did feel like my boobs were going to fall out bc it was low cut but they never did. (thank goodness) I had another dress as back up in case this one didnt work and when I tried them both on, my friends ALL chose this dress for me. It was a great length also. I'm 5'4 and the dress hit me just a tiny bit longer than the model. I think bc if the crinkle, you can make he dress shorter if you want. I definately reccoment this dress to any girls who have a curvy shape. It is forgiving material and it hugs curves well yet still has enough give in the material to be comfy.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
November 30, 2011
the dress fit perfectly.

fits so well - love the dress for a fall or winter wedding!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
January 3, 2012
Looking and feeling fabulous!

I ordered this dress for NYE and I loved it, the ruching is very slimming it is stretchy and extrememly comfortbale. Great length I am 5'11 and it wasn't too short. Color in person is more purple and better than in picture.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
February 16, 2012
Glamorous Valentine's pick!

I ordered this for Valentine's Date night and I couldn't have been happier! The purple is darker than pictured, but the metallic shine and the ruching add alot of interesting textures that hide those "trouble spots"! The most interesting part was actually the back- in the front pics it looks like regular straps, but it actually buttons at the nape of the neck and acts as a halter, which was great for the chest area! My bf said I looked stunning! I was sad to return it, but it's a dress I would consider renting again!

View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
Great Birthday Dress

It hugs your curves in all the right places. Shows off a bit of cleavage so if you aren't comfortable with that you may not like it.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
August 31, 2012
Date Night with my heartbeat

Looked and felt fantastic in dress.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
September 20, 2012
Great for a wedding!

I loved this dress. It stretches to fit you so you don't have to worry about the size too much. It was very comfortable and sexy!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2013
Felt great in this extremely comfortable dress and is was a great alternative to wearing a LBD

I wore the dress to a wedding and it looked great and was very comfortable. It looks small on the hanger but has a lot of stretch. I ordered the size 2 and 4 but ended up going with the 4 because just like the other women mentioned, the dress is difficult to zip up and I needed help. But once it was zipped, it didn't even feel tight and I didn't need to wear a bra because it provided so much support. The color is prettier in person and the length was perfect. Since I'm only 5'2", I was concerned it would be a little long but it was perfect.

View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2013
This dress was amazing. I received a ton of compliments!

This dress was form fitting without being uncomfortably tight or unattractive. I felt amazing in this!

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 26, 2013
Pretty dress....but time to retire!

2 years ago, I rented the same dress in champagne, and got the most compliments I've received in my life. My boyfriend likes purple, so I figured, why not! Well, first, it is still a nice dress, but it's time to take it out of the rotation. First, both sizes (0 and 2) were very worn, particularly around the seams and the zippers. Like, threadbare. Second, the boob pads (built in bra?) are shrunken and bunchy, as are the straps, which makes the top a little uncomfortable. Third, the color is not that purple, it's more maroon, which probably looks nicer on darker skin tones. As for sizing: the 0 was incredibly tight around the chest area- which was surprising for Nicole Miller. The bottom fit great though. The 2, the chest was almost as small, but the bottom was too big. I went with the 2 just because of the ruching- I figured I could make it work. Long story short: either get more of these dresses, or take them out of the rotation. Their popularity might be their downfall!!!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2013
Loved the color!

Such a beautiful dress... I was obsessed with the color! So different from all of the other ones at the party. Thanks for another great rental!

Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 9, 2013
Many complements throughout the night!

As an "athletic" body type the dress perfectly accentuated the (little) curves I do have. Showed off my legs but wasn't too short, and allowed for a tasteful amount of cleavage

Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 57
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 1, 2014
I feel fabulous.

The trick to wear this dress is to zip up the dress first and then pull it down from over your head. I could not zip it up all the way. At first I thought the dress was too tight. However, I decided to zip the dress first and pull it through from over my head. This dress would probably look best for the pear-shaped body type. My butt is small, so although the top was really tight, the dress is loose at the waist line and the butt. So it was not truly body hugging. Still looks pretty good. I liked it.

View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
October 19, 2014
Compliment getter !!

This dress fit really well. I am usually a size 0 but my 34 dds had a hard time zipping up the dress! Fit all around perfect otherwise. I wore it to a wedding and I got tons of compliments . I definitely would recommend this dress!

View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 4, 2013
Fantastic dress thats fit perfectly.

Fit true to size chart. Material and style hides stomach flaws.

Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress made me feel like a rockstar! It was perfect and came in great condition!

Everyone said these dresses run a bit small, so if you are generally a range of sizes (I'm like a 6-8, depending) then go for larger size. Also be warned, the length was great for me, a bit longer than what it looks like in the photo, but after some dancing it rode up quite i a bit!

View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
November 9, 2010

This dress is absolutely amazing! I rented it for a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The only thing is that it runs a little tight on top so that I wasn't able to wear a bra (which I would NEVER normally do!) however, it supported me without spilling over! It didn't ride up or bunch, but you should have someone on hand to help you into it as there are a multitude of closures in back! Great dress, highly recommended!

Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
December 4, 2010

This dress was amazing! The color is a dark plum, not as light as it is in the picture, but really pretty. It was tight but the material is stretchy and the ruffles made everything so flattering. I would recommend this dress!

Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 30D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 11, 2011

As with most Nicole Millers, this fit snugly but perfectly. I had to struggle to get the back zipped up, as it is very tight around my chest, but once it was on, it was perfect and not uncomfortable at all. I wear a large B/small C so most 0s are a little snug in the chest area. I would recommend going with the size you usually wear because there is enough stretch in the dress that it will work. I'm 5'7" and 110 and the 0 fit really well, and was super flattering. This picture doesn't do it justice, the straps go up in a halter-like fashion and the back straps are really nice. The dress is also a deeper purple, with a metallic red undertone. Would highly recommend for a wedding, a formal, or a nice date night. Considering buying this dress because I know I'd wear it again. Absolutely loved.

Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
August 20, 2012
Love love love!

I rented this dress for New Years Eve & got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly.

Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
I got compliments all night about how great I looked in the dress!

Really sexy dress without being too over the top. It was pretty tight for me around the ribcage, if you are busty it will be hard to zip us, so I would go a size larger. The color and fabric are really pretty and the rouching is very flattering. Loved this dress!

See more reviews:
3 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×