Nicole Miller

Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 93
True to Size 27
Large 0
Photos 49
Saimah
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 25, 2012

Great Birthday Dress

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It hugs your curves in all the right places. Shows off a bit of cleavage so if you aren't comfortable with that you may not like it.
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Aug 24, 2012

Fits like a glove!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
If you want a tight fitting stunner this is the dress! The color is beautiful but be prepared for this to hug you all over. I ended up wearing my backup size because I wanted the dress to be a little more foregiving. I would suggest sizing up because you may also want more room in the bust area. This dress may be too small for bigger chest sizes. Overall, it was a fun, sexy, party dress and I got lots of compliments.
Courtney
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Aug 24, 2012

beautiful dress wish it fit!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
After reading the other reviews i ordered my size (8) and a 10. I have a fuller chest so assumed the 10 would do - no such luck! I am so disappointed that I am unable to wear dress it is beyond tight!!! should have went 2 sizes up!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119 lbs
Aug 23, 2012

for models

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I actually wound up returning both sizes for this. I read that it ran small so I ordered a 4 and a 6 (I'm usually a 4 at most)... the 6 barely fit on my body...not only that - it also came below my knees... I wouldn't rent this dress unless you are very tall and very thin,
Karen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Aug 20, 2012

Awesome Dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs small! I usually wear a 4-6 and the 8 fit perfectly! Got tons of compliments all night long! Definitely a dress worth renting!
Dorothy
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 20, 2012

Love love love!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for New Years Eve & got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly.
Katherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Aug 13, 2012

Looks great

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
My order was suppose to arrive tonight by 8pm. I called your office at 830pm and no answer. This is my first time ordering from your company and I'm very disappointed with the service so far. I am leaving for Atlantic city tomorrow and the dress is for a wedding on fri. I could not order any sooner because the rental is for 4 days and I have to return it the day after the wedding on sat. Please help!!!!!!! I have no dress to wear, I did not go shopping because I was anticipating on getting this dress on time! This is a disaster! Someone from your office please call me ASAP, I expect a full refund!
Carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 11, 2012

LOVE

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and loved it. It was so flattering but it definitely runs small. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 0, but wore a 4 in this dress. I got complements on the dress all night. I would've bought it if it was an option!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jul 4, 2012

Not true to size, in my case

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
The dress was beautiful but unfortunately could not wear my size 8 or backup size 10 because they did not zip up on my back. I guess my back is wider, so the zipper would not go up because it did not stretch as much as i thought it would on top. I do have larger breasts but they fit fine on front. I also have a big butt (I am chubby for my short size but I am not fat, which is not the case why the dress didn't fit) and it fit great on my hips but my wider back just wouldn't fit in it. I did not want to get an even bigger size because it would not fit well in my bust of butt and didn't want it to be saggy.
Diana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2012

size up for large bust

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I really loved this dress but had to wear a size bigger than my normal size just to fit my bust, and even then it was extremely tight in the bust region. If you a larger chested, I would definitely get at least a size bigger and expect not to be able to wear a bra. Other than that it was perfect for the occasion and a really awesome dress!
Cherie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 6, 2012

Small & Tight

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
As everyone else is saying, the dress runs small. I have rented a Nicole Miller dress before, so I thought a size 4 would be fine for me. I rented a 4 and a 6, and had to squeeze into the 6! Even smaller than the one I had rented before. Other than that, nice dress. The cups were a little weird... Needed some adjusting.
RR
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102 lbs
Apr 24, 2012

Photographs well; not stunning

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
For my particularly body type, the 0 squashed and flattened my chest, while fitting perfectly in the waist area. The 2 fit my chest but was loose around my waist and made the sipper buckle in the back. (This is a consistent problem for me...) Also, the ruched shiny fabric does not hug a small waist....would probably hide a tummy well.
Katie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

Highest Bid

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress fit great, only ran very small. While the back-up dress size 6 was too big, the 6 in this dress was way too small and I wore the 8. Number doesn't matter as it looked great. Exaggerated all the good parts and hid the bad ones. I have a small chest and it was a great choice for flaunting what I got. I wore it to a date auction, where I was auctioned off, and brought in the highest bid of the night!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jan 6, 2012

Great NYE dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I love Nicole Miller Dresses but have found that I usually go up a size lately to fit my chest. Dress was comfortable and I was able to dance and have a great time. I would love to rent again! So gorgeous!
A
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 4, 2012

Bombshell status

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I'm in love with this dress. It's so feminine and shows off all the "lady goods." ;) It runs a little small (I usually wear an 8 in dresses, but sometimes a 10), and when I first tried the 10 on, I was worried it might be too tight, but I think it's supposed to be that way. It's stretchy, so even though it's tight, it's not uncomfortable. I did need to wear pantyhose/spanx underneath it, though, to kind of pull everything in. The color is a little bit darker than in the photo, but really pretty.
JSD
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Dec 16, 2011

Sorority Semi-Formal

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Very flattering-very tight. I normally wear a Size 0, but had tried this on at a Trunk Show so new to get a bigger size (Rented size 4 and 6) both fit. 34D and was very tight/revealing on my chest-- but that didn't bother me. I would rent a bigger size to avoid more cleavage but overall great tight, flattering dress definitely order larger size than normal.
NOLA
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 21, 2011

Perfect Birthday dress!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
LOVED this dress. It was amazingly stretchy so it was perfect for a dinner and then a night out on the town (and in New Orleans that is quite an ordeal). It definitely runs small. I am in between a 4/6 so when people said to order up I did and was glad because the 8 fit perfectly. I am smaller up top which was perfect for me because it made me look a size larger than I was! Fuller cups may have an issue here. Its also a draker, richer purple than the photo shows--closer to a plum, but a stunning color nonetheless. I am also very tall and find a problem with dresses being too short but this dress hit my legs at the perfect level (all the fun, none of the trash). Rent this dress! Your significant other or one you are trying to attract will definitely notice you in this.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 17, 2011

TOO SMALL!!!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I own a few Nicole Miller dresses, all of which are a size 2 or 4. I couldn't even zip up a size 6 in this! If you have anything larger than an A cup, I would NOT even consider this dress. It is not true to size at all. I had to return this and spend $25 extra in overnight shipping before our party!!
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Oct 14, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This was such a beautiful color but if you are any bigger than an A cup for the size 0 dress you are going to be squeezing the girls in! I felt really uncomfortable all night and when I finally got the dress off I had ruching on my breasts lol! So I would recommend going one or even two sizes up!
Mandy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112 lbs
Oct 5, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I rented this dress for a formal and it looked great. This dress is pretty snug especially in the bust area, so I would definitely get a size up if you are busty. My one complaint about the dress is its length, on the model it hits near mid-thigh, but on me it was about knee-length, which didn't necessarily look bad, but was not what I expected. I ended up folding the bottom portion under to give it a somewhat shorter look. Overall though, I was very pleased with this dress.
L
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Body type: Straight & narrow
Aug 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Great dress - very tight at the bust (despite a modest bust)! Had to ditch the bra. Loved wearing it!
Ajex
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Aug 1, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I usually wear a size 2 but after reading the reviews I ordered a 4 and 6 and ended up wearing the 6. The dress was beautiful. Not nearly as short as it appears on the model. The metallic color is stunning and the dress is very comfortable and beautiful! Highly recommend this dress!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 19, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Dress runs smalls, but when you order a size up, it's a good, snug fit. Dress hugged in all the right places and since rouching is so forgiving, the dress tends to hide tummy/hip bumps well. I wore this dress for a bachelorette party and it was sexy, but comfortable. Since the dress is shimmery, it's best for evening. It might be too costume like for a day event. The length was good for someone 5'4" and I had no problems with it riding up even when dancing. The top was snug so you don't need to wear a bra if you have a medium bust. Probably not the best choice in dress for a large bust.
Bec
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Body type: Athletic
May 23, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Beautiful Dress! It ran pretty small so I recommend a larger backup size and I agree with others that it was difficult to zip up at the top and is more of a plum/purple color (very pretty color!!!). But once on the dress was very comfy and supportive and great out! I have a hard time finding flattering dresses for myself (I have no hips and these awkward love handles that make my flat stomach really wide looking) and this one was so great! It really compliments the body and looks so gorgeous.
Emily
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
May 13, 2011

Overall fit: Small
I fell in LOVE with this dress when I saw it on RTR and just had to have it for a wedding in NYC. After reading the reviews and realizing the dress ran small, I got it in my size and the size up (so a 4 and 6). Both fit but it was definitely snug on top in the four! I ended up wearing that one out and got a TON of compliments on it! I would not recommend this dress if you have a large chest (my 32Cs were a bit much in the dress) but any larger would have been a bad look. Otherwise, it's a stunning dress so order smart and enjoy!
B.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110 lbs
May 11, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
As with most Nicole Millers, this fit snugly but perfectly. I had to struggle to get the back zipped up, as it is very tight around my chest, but once it was on, it was perfect and not uncomfortable at all. I wear a large B/small C so most 0s are a little snug in the chest area. I would recommend going with the size you usually wear because there is enough stretch in the dress that it will work. I'm 5'7" and 110 and the 0 fit really well, and was super flattering. This picture doesn't do it justice, the straps go up in a halter-like fashion and the back straps are really nice. The dress is also a deeper purple, with a metallic red undertone. Would highly recommend for a wedding, a formal, or a nice date night. Considering buying this dress because I know I'd wear it again. Absolutely loved.
KP
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 2, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I needed a dress for a celeb bday party and there were a lot of other celebs there. I wanted a dress that would fit my body well and also be comfy. I called RTR and they suggested this dress. LOVED IT! I am a size 6-8 and a 34D. This dress had a perfect stretch to it. I ordered the 8 and the 10 at the suggestion of RTR and wore the 8. I probably could have worn a 6 but the 8 was good. I didnt wear a bra bc the top is very supportive. I did feel like my boobs were going to fall out bc it was low cut but they never did. (thank goodness) I had another dress as back up in case this one didnt work and when I tried them both on, my friends ALL chose this dress for me. It was a great length also. I'm 5'4 and the dress hit me just a tiny bit longer than the model. I think bc if the crinkle, you can make he dress shorter if you want. I definately reccoment this dress to any girls who have a curvy shape. It is forgiving material and it hugs curves well yet still has enough give in the material to be comfy.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 24, 2011

Overall fit: Small
This dress was a bummer b/c not only does it run small but it looks more "cheap" and tacky in person than it does on this model.
SunnySoFla
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Mar 14, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Didn't make it out of the house with this dress. The top was so little - I'm an A-cup and I couldn't imagine this dress fitting anyone any bigger than me. The bottom part of the dress fit fine, although it's not as short as shown and the bottom hem is kind of funny. Not too happy with this dress - Nicole Miller disappointed me with this one.
Maria E.
Top Contributor
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 41
Body type: Apple
Mar 11, 2011

Overall fit: Small
The color and material are great! Unfortunately, the dress is too small, even though I ordered 2 sizes up already. I couldn't zip it up. I got a 2 and 4, since I'm usually a 0. Good thing I had another dress to wear to the event from RTR. This dress would have been the perfect choice, but it didn't make it.
Kim
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Feb 28, 2011

Overall fit: True to Size
I loved this dress! The color was lovely, although more purple than in the photo. It is very flattering for someone with an hourglass figure, because it hugs your curves. My measurements are 37-26-39.5 so finding anything that doesn't look baggy in the middle is difficult! There was plenty of room "leftover" in the waist area but the ruched material just sucked right in and you couldn't even tell it was too big there! My only caveat (which I saw some others mention) is that the bust is very tight on the size that it's supposed to fit -- the designer says that a 10 should fit a 37" bust and I'm exactly that size, but it took two of us to zip up the last few inches! Looked fabulous on, though!!
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Feb 10, 2011

Overall fit: Small
Runs a little small, normally I am a 0 but in this wore a 2. Amazing dress. Looks great on anyone. The color is fabulous..a little darker than shown on website. Have no complaints. Comfy, fun to dance in, flattering. Got so many compliments and would recommend this to anyone!
Andrea
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Full Bust
Dec 19, 2010

Overall fit: Small
The dress is lovely and the fabric is amazing, but it runs 2 sizes small and doesn't work at all on a larger chest.
jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Dec 13, 2010

Overall fit: Small
As many of the other ladies said, this dress takes some maneuvering to get into- thank goodness I had friends on hand to help me get it on me properly. I always wear a 0, but had the 2 as a backup and even considered wearing the larger size for a minute before I did some more shifting and shimmying to get the 0 to sit right. It was super long on me too, much longer than the photo implies. The cut definitely flattered my (smallish) bust and waistline, and the gathers can also hide a multitude of sins. After a night of dancing, the fabric along the bust/strap rubbed me the wrong way and actually left a mark for a few days. A friend of mine just rented the cocoa one for a wedding and looked great in it too.
Maryanne007
Top Contributor
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Dec 11, 2010

Overall fit: Small
I think this dress is close to true except for the bust, but I am a 32DD and the 8 fit better than the 6 (was busting out in the 6 and still very busty in the 8) but the 6 fit fine in the waist and hips and probably could have even been a 4 in those areas. The dress does stretch though and the crinkle like material is pretty flattering. The color is just like it is on the site, which I think is ok... would be prettier if it were a richer plum. I really like it overall though, very flattering especially if you have an hourglass figure.
mt0812
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Dec 8, 2010

Overall fit: Small
The dress is gorgeous, but quite small - I'm about 5'4" and 125-130 lbs, with a small bust, and the 6 was extremely difficult to zip up. I really wish I had ordered an 8. The length is nice - it hit me a few inches above my knee. It's a really sexy, bold dress, very flattering, and I would highly recommend it, but just get a size up (or two, since I thought I usually would be a 4!).
Alexa
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Body type: Petite
Dec 4, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress was amazing! The color is a dark plum, not as light as it is in the picture, but really pretty. It was tight but the material is stretchy and the ruffles made everything so flattering. I would recommend this dress!
Laina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Dec 3, 2010

Comfortable, fun, sexy

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I SERIOUSLY CONSIDERED RENTING THIS DRESS AGAIN 2 WEEKS AFTER THE FIRST TIME... but then I realized that would defeat the purpose! I loved this dress and it was perfect for a semi-formal weddding... however, some things to note: This dress runs small for sure! I went to a Nicole Miller store and they told me that. Normally I wear a 4 or a 6 and this dress I had to wear an 8 just to get my bust/back/neck in the dress. It's also a lot longer than it looks on the model... I would say with certainty that they folded the hem under or altered the dress for this picture. Either way, it wasn't way too long. The dress was tighter in the chest and straps than I thought it would (should) be and looser in the stomach/back/hips area. A little disproportionate... BUT it still looked great. There are soft cups so I didn't need to wear a bra (for my 34 C/D chest) and I wasn't uncomfortable at all.
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Nov 29, 2010

Overall fit: Small
The dress is really cute, but veryyyy narrow on top. I am normally a size 4 in dresses, but I ordered a 6 too just to be safe. The 6 fit around my butt (which is usually more of my problem area than my waist or my chest) but was surprisingly hard to zip around my chest area. Love the color though, just consider ordering a size bigger than you normally would.
Ali
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Nov 9, 2010

Overall fit: True to Size
This dress is absolutely amazing! I rented it for a wedding and received a ton of compliments. The only thing is that it runs a little tight on top so that I wasn't able to wear a bra (which I would NEVER normally do!) however, it supported me without spilling over! It didn't ride up or bunch, but you should have someone on hand to help you into it as there are a multitude of closures in back! Great dress, highly recommended!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×