Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 rental
$430 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

123 reviews

Fit
Small 93
True to Size 27
Large 0
Photos 49
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 18, 2010

I felt so glamorous in this dress and had a great time dancing the night away at my sorority's semi formal.

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was fabulous! I read other reviews before ordering and saw that it ran small, so I ordered slightly bigger sizes than I would normally get. Typically I wear a 4-6, but I ordered this in a 6 and an 8. The 8 fit perfectly. The color is gorgeous and I am considering ordering the gold color in the future for a different event because the dress looked and fit perfectly.
CB
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
Oct 10, 2011

Great customer service and amazing dress that made me feel like a million bucks!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
I was a little hesitant about this dress, but I am so glad that I rented it! It does run a little small. If your chest is larger than average, I'd suggest getting a backup dress that is two sizes larger than your normal size. I squeezed into a size 6 dress which is one size larger than my usual. While the dress is very stretchy I had trouble zipping up the back. Luckily I am a 34B- any larger and there would be no zipping up that dress. The dress is a deep, burgundyish plum color- much prettier than shown in the photo here. The dress accentuates curves and is super sexy! Definitely a dress for strutting your stuff. I will probably rent it again whenever I take a trip to Las Vegas.
B
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Nov 30, 2011

the dress fit perfectly.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fits so well - love the dress for a fall or winter wedding!
Smooch
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245 lbs
Aug 31, 2012

Date Night with my heartbeat

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Looked and felt fantastic in dress.
AmyS
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 10, 2012

Looks better in person!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
So, I opened up the package and saw these 2 tiny dresses and thought, "I should not have had that ice cream after dinner!" I ordered the dress in 6 and 8 and I put on the 8 first because they looked so small. The 8 fit a bit loose so I attempted to squeeze into the size 6. I had it zipped up halfway and then hiked it up above my waist a bit to give some more slack for the zipper the rest of the way up! I smoothed down the dress and it fit so perfectly! I was shocked! The straps are thinner than pictured on the model (and I think it looks way better in person)! My friends were asking if I was wearing supportive undergarments, but I wasn't! This dress is just flattering especially on a pear shape like me! People said my hips and butt looked fabulous! Nicole Miller and RTR does it again!
Alex
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Sep 19, 2012

Flattering!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it.
Juliette
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

Great for a wedding!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I loved this dress. It stretches to fit you so you don't have to worry about the size too much. It was very comfortable and sexy!
Stef
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129 lbs
Sep 20, 2012

This dress made me feel amazing!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I was in Vegas for a Bachelorette and this dress fit so well I didn't have to worry at all throughout the night about anything slipping out or ridding up. I danced the night away.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

I got compliments all night about how great I looked in the dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Really sexy dress without being too over the top. It was pretty tight for me around the ribcage, if you are busty it will be hard to zip us, so I would go a size larger. The color and fabric are really pretty and the rouching is very flattering. Loved this dress!
lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

Holiday party

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This dress was very flattering for a holiday party. Ran a bit small
Rebekah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Oct 8, 2012

didn't love it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It fit everywhere except at the top, across the widest part of the back. Also, I found the chest area tight as well and I am not especially large chested.
Juli
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Waayyyyy small

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I usually order a size 4, and I ordered a 6 because of the other reviews. It was WAYYYY too tight. No chance of fitting. I probably could have worn a 12. Cute dress though.
jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155 lbs
Oct 15, 2012

Wore this to a wedding figuring it would fall longer on me since I am only 5'3. Wrong!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is much better suited for a sexy occasion, like New Years or a Bachelorette. Was not appropriate for a wedding. Did not wear. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and neither fit.
A.H.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

extremely small

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
When I first took this dress out of the bag, I checked the tag thinking the size shipped incorrectly. it looked like a 0! It was the correct size, however runs extremely small. I read reviews suggesting ordering a size up. I usually wear a size 6. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I had to SQUEEZE into the 10. Luckily the fabric is very stretchy, but the tight fit did make me a bit self-conscious throughout the night. It's a pretty dress. Make sure to order it two or three sizes larger than normal for sure!
Cherise
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Nov 20, 2012

Loved the dress but too small.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress however it ran small, really small. Probably not suffice for an athletic build like me. Sadly I did not wear it.
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 28, 2012

Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls- I'm a 34C bust and otherwise small frame (usually a sizw 2) and the top is too small at any size that would fit my smaller frame below.
Kathryn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 4, 2013

Fantastic dress thats fit perfectly.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Fit true to size chart. Material and style hides stomach flaws.
Jacquelynn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 9, 2013

Everyone was commenting on my dress and earrings telling me how gorgeous I looked

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Loved it! A bit tight in the bust area, but I made it work. The fabric was stretchy which helped
wave
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 10, 2013

Homecoming

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Other
I normally fit in an 8, but due to my bust I had to move up to a 10. Dress was very curve hugging, and I got a lot of compliments on how it looked.
Melissa
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Jan 14, 2013

runs small

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
ordered bigger size too small
Ali
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
Feb 6, 2013

Great Vegas Dress, small in the bust

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Vacation
I wasn't sure I would love it when it came off the hangar, the ruching makes it look wrinkled, and the metallic sheen isn't at its full glory until its in a party setting. But I did love it, it made me feel sexy and I got alot of compliments, my husband adored it. I read the reviews about it running small, and I agree. I wore the 6, which is my regular size, but a 6 wouldn't usually be so short, tight, and busty, so it does run small. If I was borderline between sizes I would definitely size up. For me, the 8 was too loose so it made the ruching bunch. I'm a 32C, and both the 6 and the 8 were small for me in the bust. Neither would zip with a bra on, so I had to go braless (which was fine because it has a little lining). But I was busting out of the dress part, luckily the ruching that goes across the bust is adjustable to allow you some control over how much cleavage you bare. Overall I really loved wearing it. I rarely have a use for a sexy Vegas party dress so it was awesome to rent and return and not have to spend $$ on something I may never wear again. Loved the peace of mind that a 2nd size and back up style offered. This was my first RTR experience. It been 2 days since I returned and I just placed my 2nd order for Valentine's day. Keep it up RTR, and I may never have to go to the mall again.
Catherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Feb 7, 2013

color is beautiful

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
the ruching wasn't my favorite but might be flattering on some
Natalie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

Great Dress for a Formal Affair!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
This was actually my back-up dress, and luckily I had read the reviews and saw that it ran a little small. I'm usually a size 0 or 2, but the 4 fit JUST right. The ruching on the dress hid any imperfections after a long night of eating and drinking, and I got SO many compliments on it. It's a very sexy dress; be ready for some intense cleavage! Overall, it was a great dress that made for a great night.
Christina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

This dress was amazing. I received a ton of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was form fitting without being uncomfortably tight or unattractive. I felt amazing in this!
Kristen
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 7, 2013

The color and fabric were fantastic, and it was a flattering shape.

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am a 34D and I was literally falling out of this dress, I had to wear a pashmina most of the evening. Lesson learned!
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Mar 29, 2013

I felt very pulled together and ready to hit the dance floor!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Definitely runs a little small, but loved the overall fit and the option to either show some decolletage or not! Great for a friend's wedding or cocktail party, but wouldn't be appropriate for a work event.
Kristin
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Jun 3, 2013

Loved the dress. Got compliments all night

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
very very small in the chest. It was hard to zip the 10. I usually wear a 4 or 6.
Michele
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 26, 2013

Loved the color!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Such a beautiful dress... I was obsessed with the color! So different from all of the other ones at the party. Thanks for another great rental!
Nikki
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Aug 14, 2013

Sexy designer dress

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
Definitely runs small. I had to wear a 4 (my normal size) because a size 6 was unavailable as a second choice. I literally had to fight my way into the dress, but once I got it on, it looked fabulous and I felt comfortable in it. Numerous compliments and it made my booty look bigger too ;-)
Jenn Ling
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Sep 26, 2013

it was really pretty and i got a lot of compliments

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
it was a little long on me but im short
Rita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Nov 7, 2013

I was unable to wear the dress due to the fact it dd not fit

Size worn: 12
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
So disappointed. The dress was gorgeous and the color beautiful; however it did not fit!
Christine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132 lbs
Nov 9, 2013

Many complements throughout the night!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
As an "athletic" body type the dress perfectly accentuated the (little) curves I do have. Showed off my legs but wasn't too short, and allowed for a tasteful amount of cleavage
Marjorie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Dec 13, 2013

Just o.k.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wanted to love it just as much as everyone else. It was just o.k. I ALWAYS wear a 0 but needed a 2 in this dress. Even in the past when they say dresses run small, I have never needed to size up. I thought it fit kind of strange in the chest. I did receive a lot of compliments on it. I just didn't love it.
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148 lbs
Feb 2, 2014

They were able to get me this back up within one day of realizing my original didn't fit!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
It looks very small on the hanger. But is very stretchy. The material was very comfortable and it fit great without feeling too tight!
Corrine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Feb 4, 2014

Great form fitting dress! Lots of compliments, one of a kind in a room full of LBDs

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Date
Borders that line of "Runs Small" if you have even the slightest of curves. I have the ribs hips and butt of a six and the waist and chest of a size four. So if you have curves, or long legs, go a size up to keep from being pinched in all night. Overall one of the best fits I have had from RTR
Sara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 26, 2014

This dress made me look hotttttt!

Size worn: 6
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
My cleavage was perfect in this dress. I loved the fit and everything about it. It was short (which I was looking for), and it was different -- I stood out. I would HIGHLY recommend to everyone. I wore it with pasties so I didn't wear a bra with it.
Ally
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

darker color in person

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress itself is BEAUTIFUL, unfortunately it runs very very small and I was not able to wear it. I am usually a size 4, 6 at the most. I couldn't even halfway zip up the 6. I would have loved to have worn it if I would have had the right size. I would suggest sizing up if you rent.
kristi
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 26, 2014

Didn't wear- horrible fit and not flattering at all.

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Rented for my bachelorette party in Vegas. Made the mistake of not trying on until I was getting ready to go out in it. Super tight in the chest- only good for tiny busts. And really awkwardly long for a dress that's supposed to be sexy. Was looser throughout the waist and hips also which just made it look all wrong. Super sad because I didnt have a good backup for going out in!
Becky
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Jul 8, 2014

Didn't wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
I ordered a size 10. It was too tight in the waist and chest so it wasn't flattering. I thought the ruching in the dress would make a difference...it only made me look bigger than I am. It is more of a rusty color than a plum shade so it will look better on a person that has a tan or color. Maybe if I get back down to a size 6 or 8, I'll try it again.
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jan 4, 2015

Didn't wear it

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Party
When I pulled it out of the box it looked like doll clothes. It runs SO small. It does stretch, but I couldn't zip it up. I am usually between a 4 and a 6. I think I would have needed at least an 8 in this dress, possibly a 10.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×