Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
123 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size27
Small93
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 2, 2013
Flattering Fit
The dress did run a little small, I ended up wearing the larger back up size and that was snug in the chest, but back helped add support. I definitely used the fashion tape to help prevent any accidents. Great plum color, more purple than the model picture. Overall, a great party dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls
Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls- I'm a 34C bust and otherwise small frame (usually a sizw 2) and the top is too small at any size that would fit my smaller frame below.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
December 13, 2012
Amazing Dress!
Upon the suggestion of other reviewers who said it ran small, I rented the 2 and 4 (I usually rent 0 and 2). When I received the dresses, I noticed that the fabric of the 4 felt thicker than the 2. I first tried on the 4 and it fit, but I couldn't zip it up by myself. When it was zipped up, it was comfortable but there was extra fabric around the tummy area and in the back that just didn't look right to me. I then tried on the 2 and the zipper was super hard to get up. I needed my husband's help and I had to pull the fabric closer together as he zipped. The 2 was slightly tight in the chest (with a padded, strapless bra), but it looked a whole lot better. The color is different than the model pics. It's more of a maroon color, which you can see in the real girl's pictures. It was slightly longer than I wanted (it was down to my knees) but rode up as I walked and danced so it was ok.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 13, 2012
The dress made me feel like a rockstar! It was perfect and came in great condition!
Everyone said these dresses run a bit small, so if you are generally a range of sizes (I'm like a 6-8, depending) then go for larger size. Also be warned, the length was great for me, a bit longer than what it looks like in the photo, but after some dancing it rode up quite i a bit!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 58
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
December 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments, fun to wear.
As all the other reviews stated, this does run small. After reading , I ordered the 8 which was a perfect fit. The length was still well above my knees, even with me being short! I wore spanx and nothing else underneath and had very good support in the top. I did feel I showed alot of cleavage, which I didn't know I had. Someone with a larger top may not feel as comfortable. I wore the beautiful earrings that were my mystery bling and let the dress take center stage.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress was extremely comfortable! I didnt want to take it off at the end of the night!
I wore this dress for a bachlorette party at Foxwoods. The strechy material and rouching made this dress both forgiving and extremely comfortable! The length was not too short & with the material you could slide it up if you desired a shorter look. It ran small especially in the bust! other reviewers said it ran 1 size small so I ordered a 10 and a backup size of 12 ( i am usually an 8). The 10 fit me great except in the bust area. The bust area has some stiching that makes it extremely tight to zip in comparison to the rest of dress & the cut is low, so it also looked like I was falling out of it. I am not huge on top I wear a size 36 C. I had to go with the 12 because of the bust. besides the bust I really liked the way the the dress fit. I would own this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Loved it! Got compliments from everyone!
Wore this for my 25th birthday and it was a hit! Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it from. It was comfy and had good support so I did not have to wear a bra. It did run a bit small though so I am glad I got a size up. Wearing spanx also made it easier to put on and made it look that much better!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
Loved the dress but too small.
Loved the dress however it ran small, really small. Probably not suffice for an athletic build like me. Sadly I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 13, 2012
extremely small
When I first took this dress out of the bag, I checked the tag thinking the size shipped incorrectly. it looked like a 0! It was the correct size, however runs extremely small. I read reviews suggesting ordering a size up. I usually wear a size 6. I ordered an 8 and a 10. I had to SQUEEZE into the 10. Luckily the fabric is very stretchy, but the tight fit did make me a bit self-conscious throughout the night. It's a pretty dress. Make sure to order it two or three sizes larger than normal for sure!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore this to a wedding figuring it would fall longer on me since I am only 5'3. Wrong!
This dress is much better suited for a sexy occasion, like New Years or a Bachelorette. Was not appropriate for a wedding. Did not wear. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and neither fit.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
October 15, 2012
Waayyyyy small
I usually order a size 4, and I ordered a 6 because of the other reviews. It was WAYYYY too tight. No chance of fitting. I probably could have worn a 12. Cute dress though.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175lbs
October 12, 2012
Very cute and flattering! Runs a bit small.
I wore this for a night out on the town in Las Vegas. I am normally a 10 bordering on an 8 and I wore a 12 in this dress. It runs a bit small but looked fantastic and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170lbs
October 8, 2012
didn't love it
It fit everywhere except at the top, across the widest part of the back. Also, I found the chest area tight as well and I am not especially large chested.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 28, 2012
This dress made me feel amazing!
The dress ran a little small but it fit perfectly with the right size. I ordered a 4 and a 6, went with the 6. I loved how it accentuated my smaller bust and the rouching really made my lower curves look amazing! I would wear this dress again and again. Home run with this one!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2012
Holiday party
This dress was very flattering for a holiday party. Ran a bit small
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 26, 2012
I got compliments all night about how great I looked in the dress!
Really sexy dress without being too over the top. It was pretty tight for me around the ribcage, if you are busty it will be hard to zip us, so I would go a size larger. The color and fabric are really pretty and the rouching is very flattering. Loved this dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress made me feel amazing!
I was in Vegas for a Bachelorette and this dress fit so well I didn't have to worry at all throughout the night about anything slipping out or ridding up. I danced the night away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress makes you feel sexy!
I usually wear a 6, however after reading all the reviews, I decided to get the next 2 sizes up. I am so glad I did. The 8 did not fit my bust while I was wearing a strapless bra, so I removed it and it still felt tight. So I ended up in the 10. I really like the extra support. The straps on the back are designed like a sports bra. I NEVER go braless, especially in dresses where the goods may pop out but trust me, you're supported! I also love the ruching. It accentuates and minimizes the right places. This is by far the most favorite dress I've rented yet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2012
Great for a wedding!
I loved this dress. It stretches to fit you so you don't have to worry about the size too much. It was very comfortable and sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
September 19, 2012
Flattering!
Loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2012
Looks better in person!
So, I opened up the package and saw these 2 tiny dresses and thought, "I should not have had that ice cream after dinner!" I ordered the dress in 6 and 8 and I put on the 8 first because they looked so small. The 8 fit a bit loose so I attempted to squeeze into the size 6. I had it zipped up halfway and then hiked it up above my waist a bit to give some more slack for the zipper the rest of the way up! I smoothed down the dress and it fit so perfectly! I was shocked! The straps are thinner than pictured on the model (and I think it looks way better in person)! My friends were asking if I was wearing supportive undergarments, but I wasn't! This dress is just flattering especially on a pear shape like me! People said my hips and butt looked fabulous! Nicole Miller and RTR does it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
August 31, 2012
Date Night with my heartbeat
Looked and felt fantastic in dress.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
August 28, 2012
My husband really loved this dress on me :)
This was my "girls night out" dress and it was perfect. Definitely runs small like all the other reviews say, order a size up from your normal size. But the dress is beautiful and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
Great Birthday Dress
It hugs your curves in all the right places. Shows off a bit of cleavage so if you aren't comfortable with that you may not like it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
August 24, 2012
Fits like a glove!
If you want a tight fitting stunner this is the dress! The color is beautiful but be prepared for this to hug you all over. I ended up wearing my backup size because I wanted the dress to be a little more foregiving. I would suggest sizing up because you may also want more room in the bust area. This dress may be too small for bigger chest sizes. Overall, it was a fun, sexy, party dress and I got lots of compliments.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
beautiful dress wish it fit!
After reading the other reviews i ordered my size (8) and a 10. I have a fuller chest so assumed the 10 would do - no such luck! I am so disappointed that I am unable to wear dress it is beyond tight!!! should have went 2 sizes up!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
August 23, 2012
for models
I actually wound up returning both sizes for this. I read that it ran small so I ordered a 4 and a 6 (I'm usually a 4 at most)... the 6 barely fit on my body...not only that - it also came below my knees... I wouldn't rent this dress unless you are very tall and very thin,
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Awesome Dress!
Definitely runs small! I usually wear a 4-6 and the 8 fit perfectly! Got tons of compliments all night long! Definitely a dress worth renting!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Love love love!
I rented this dress for New Years Eve & got so many compliments on it. It fit perfectly.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117lbs
August 13, 2012
Looks great
My order was suppose to arrive tonight by 8pm. I called your office at 830pm and no answer. This is my first time ordering from your company and I'm very disappointed with the service so far. I am leaving for Atlantic city tomorrow and the dress is for a wedding on fri. I could not order any sooner because the rental is for 4 days and I have to return it the day after the wedding on sat. Please help!!!!!!! I have no dress to wear, I did not go shopping because I was anticipating on getting this dress on time! This is a disaster! Someone from your office please call me ASAP, I expect a full refund!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 11, 2012
LOVE
I wore this dress to a Christmas party and loved it. It was so flattering but it definitely runs small. I usually wear a 2, sometimes a 0, but wore a 4 in this dress. I got complements on the dress all night. I would've bought it if it was an option!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 9, 2012
n/a
Loved this dress! Very Flattering! Runs a bit small so I'd order your extra size a size up!
CarolynMay 11, 2013
Hi! I was wondering, could a strapless bra work with this dress (even with the back design)?
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2012
Hearing my boyfriend tell me how amazing I looked made the night perfect!
I was so happy with this dress. It is very comfortable and easy to dance in all night! I agree with the reviews it does run small..the 6 is very tiny..and I was glad I ordered the 8. I usually wear a size 4. I cant wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 165lbs
July 18, 2012
Great compliment from my boyfriend since I don't typically wear this style of dress!
I love Nicole Miller dresses as they accomodate a larger chest and still are flattering in the waist. The stretch in this dress allows for a great fit! Size up if you need the extra room up top.
nadiaSeptember 17, 2012
you're two inches shorter than me.. do you have a picture of how long it was on you.. i love this dress but i htink that may be my only problem!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Nadia! This dress should be a bit shorter than mid-thigh on you. It is 38' inches from shoulder to hem and shouldn't be too short on you!
AllisonNovember 16, 2012
Sorry for the delay in this comment. I'll post another photo. It hit about mid thigh so no problem there, but it did ride up a bit when walking.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
July 4, 2012
Not true to size, in my case
The dress was beautiful but unfortunately could not wear my size 8 or backup size 10 because they did not zip up on my back. I guess my back is wider, so the zipper would not go up because it did not stretch as much as i thought it would on top. I do have larger breasts but they fit fine on front. I also have a big butt (I am chubby for my short size but I am not fat, which is not the case why the dress didn't fit) and it fit great on my hips but my wider back just wouldn't fit in it. I did not want to get an even bigger size because it would not fit well in my bust of butt and didn't want it to be saggy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 148lbs
June 22, 2012
You can dance in this dress!!! And Show a little leg without it riding up TOO far.
Had a baby? Still a little insecure about the mid section? THIS DRESS HIDES IT!!! Runs extremely small!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
May 28, 2012
size up for large bust
I really loved this dress but had to wear a size bigger than my normal size just to fit my bust, and even then it was extremely tight in the bust region. If you a larger chested, I would definitely get at least a size bigger and expect not to be able to wear a bra. Other than that it was perfect for the occasion and a really awesome dress!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
May 7, 2012
the dress came right on time and super easy to return. beautiful dress and great color!
loved this dress! i wore it for my first sorority formal. so happy i read the reviews and saw that it ran small. i normally wear a size 4 but decided to order a size 6 and 8. i didn't even try to size 6 on because it looked so tiny. the size 8 fit well. definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 6, 2012
Small & Tight
As everyone else is saying, the dress runs small. I have rented a Nicole Miller dress before, so I thought a size 4 would be fine for me. I rented a 4 and a 6, and had to squeeze into the 6! Even smaller than the one I had rented before. Other than that, nice dress. The cups were a little weird... Needed some adjusting.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 102lbs
April 24, 2012
Photographs well; not stunning
For my particularly body type, the 0 squashed and flattened my chest, while fitting perfectly in the waist area. The 2 fit my chest but was loose around my waist and made the sipper buckle in the back. (This is a consistent problem for me...) Also, the ruched shiny fabric does not hug a small waist....would probably hide a tummy well.
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×