Nicole Miller

Plum Metallic Ruched Dress

$31 to buy
$430 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

With subtle sheen and a sexy back, this Nicole Miller dress is a true showstopper.

Size & Fit

This dress runs small. We recommend sizing up in this dress (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - bust is very fitted on C cup sizes and bigger so size up for fuller busts - low neckline reveals cleavage
WAIST: Very fitted - stretchy material is fitted throughout - ruched detail conceals midsection
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra or no bra; bust has light, built-in padding to support bust
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'10''.)

Product Details

Wine metallic stretch taffeta. V neckline with halter straps. Woven strip detail on chest. Ruched body. Exposed back zip with button closure at back of neck. 38'' from shoulder to hem.

Share
124 reviews
Fit
Large
(0)
True to Size
(27)
Small
(94)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
July 23, 2012
Hearing my boyfriend tell me how amazing I looked made the night perfect!
I was so happy with this dress. It is very comfortable and easy to dance in all night! I agree with the reviews it does run small..the 6 is very tiny..and I was glad I ordered the 8. I usually wear a size 4. I cant wait to use RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
August 20, 2012
Awesome Dress!
Definitely runs small! I usually wear a 4-6 and the 8 fit perfectly! Got tons of compliments all night long! Definitely a dress worth renting!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
August 23, 2012
for models
I actually wound up returning both sizes for this. I read that it ran small so I ordered a 4 and a 6 (I'm usually a 4 at most)... the 6 barely fit on my body...not only that - it also came below my knees... I wouldn't rent this dress unless you are very tall and very thin,
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 24, 2012
beautiful dress wish it fit!
After reading the other reviews i ordered my size (8) and a 10. I have a fuller chest so assumed the 10 would do - no such luck! I am so disappointed that I am unable to wear dress it is beyond tight!!! should have went 2 sizes up!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
Great Birthday Dress
It hugs your curves in all the right places. Shows off a bit of cleavage so if you aren't comfortable with that you may not like it.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
August 28, 2012
My husband really loved this dress on me :)
This was my "girls night out" dress and it was perfect. Definitely runs small like all the other reviews say, order a size up from your normal size. But the dress is beautiful and comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 245lbs
August 31, 2012
Date Night with my heartbeat
Looked and felt fantastic in dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
September 10, 2012
Looks better in person!
So, I opened up the package and saw these 2 tiny dresses and thought, "I should not have had that ice cream after dinner!" I ordered the dress in 6 and 8 and I put on the 8 first because they looked so small. The 8 fit a bit loose so I attempted to squeeze into the size 6. I had it zipped up halfway and then hiked it up above my waist a bit to give some more slack for the zipper the rest of the way up! I smoothed down the dress and it fit so perfectly! I was shocked! The straps are thinner than pictured on the model (and I think it looks way better in person)! My friends were asking if I was wearing supportive undergarments, but I wasn't! This dress is just flattering especially on a pear shape like me! People said my hips and butt looked fabulous! Nicole Miller and RTR does it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
September 20, 2012
Great for a wedding!
I loved this dress. It stretches to fit you so you don't have to worry about the size too much. It was very comfortable and sexy!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 144lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress makes you feel sexy!
I usually wear a 6, however after reading all the reviews, I decided to get the next 2 sizes up. I am so glad I did. The 8 did not fit my bust while I was wearing a strapless bra, so I removed it and it still felt tight. So I ended up in the 10. I really like the extra support. The straps on the back are designed like a sports bra. I NEVER go braless, especially in dresses where the goods may pop out but trust me, you're supported! I also love the ruching. It accentuates and minimizes the right places. This is by far the most favorite dress I've rented yet.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 129lbs
September 20, 2012
This dress made me feel amazing!
I was in Vegas for a Bachelorette and this dress fit so well I didn't have to worry at all throughout the night about anything slipping out or ridding up. I danced the night away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 129lbs
October 8, 2012
didn't love it
It fit everywhere except at the top, across the widest part of the back. Also, I found the chest area tight as well and I am not especially large chested.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
October 12, 2012
Very cute and flattering! Runs a bit small.
I wore this for a night out on the town in Las Vegas. I am normally a 10 bordering on an 8 and I wore a 12 in this dress. It runs a bit small but looked fantastic and was very comfortable.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2012
Wore this to a wedding figuring it would fall longer on me since I am only 5'3. Wrong!
This dress is much better suited for a sexy occasion, like New Years or a Bachelorette. Was not appropriate for a wedding. Did not wear. I ordered the 8 and the 10 and neither fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 20, 2012
Loved the dress but too small.
Loved the dress however it ran small, really small. Probably not suffice for an athletic build like me. Sadly I did not wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
November 24, 2012
Loved it! Got compliments from everyone!
Wore this for my 25th birthday and it was a hit! Everyone loved it and wanted to know where I got it from. It was comfy and had good support so I did not have to wear a bra. It did run a bit small though so I am glad I got a size up. Wearing spanx also made it easier to put on and made it look that much better!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 26, 2012
This dress was extremely comfortable! I didnt want to take it off at the end of the night!
I wore this dress for a bachlorette party at Foxwoods. The strechy material and rouching made this dress both forgiving and extremely comfortable! The length was not too short & with the material you could slide it up if you desired a shorter look. It ran small especially in the bust! other reviewers said it ran 1 size small so I ordered a 10 and a backup size of 12 ( i am usually an 8). The 10 fit me great except in the bust area. The bust area has some stiching that makes it extremely tight to zip in comparison to the rest of dress & the cut is low, so it also looked like I was falling out of it. I am not huge on top I wear a size 36 C. I had to go with the 12 because of the bust. besides the bust I really liked the way the the dress fit. I would own this dress
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 59
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 124lbs
December 12, 2012
Beautiful dress, lots of compliments, fun to wear.
As all the other reviews stated, this does run small. After reading , I ordered the 8 which was a perfect fit. The length was still well above my knees, even with me being short! I wore spanx and nothing else underneath and had very good support in the top. I did feel I showed alot of cleavage, which I didn't know I had. Someone with a larger top may not feel as comfortable. I wore the beautiful earrings that were my mystery bling and let the dress take center stage.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
December 13, 2012
Amazing Dress!
Upon the suggestion of other reviewers who said it ran small, I rented the 2 and 4 (I usually rent 0 and 2). When I received the dresses, I noticed that the fabric of the 4 felt thicker than the 2. I first tried on the 4 and it fit, but I couldn't zip it up by myself. When it was zipped up, it was comfortable but there was extra fabric around the tummy area and in the back that just didn't look right to me. I then tried on the 2 and the zipper was super hard to get up. I needed my husband's help and I had to pull the fabric closer together as he zipped. The 2 was slightly tight in the chest (with a padded, strapless bra), but it looked a whole lot better. The color is different than the model pics. It's more of a maroon color, which you can see in the real girl's pictures. It was slightly longer than I wanted (it was down to my knees) but rode up as I walked and danced so it was ok.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 28, 2012
Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls
Beautiful dress but not for large busted girls- I'm a 34C bust and otherwise small frame (usually a sizw 2) and the top is too small at any size that would fit my smaller frame below.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2013
Flattering Fit
The dress did run a little small, I ended up wearing the larger back up size and that was snug in the chest, but back helped add support. I definitely used the fashion tape to help prevent any accidents. Great plum color, more purple than the model picture. Overall, a great party dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
January 9, 2013
Everyone was commenting on my dress and earrings telling me how gorgeous I looked
Loved it! A bit tight in the bust area, but I made it work. The fabric was stretchy which helped
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
January 10, 2013
Homecoming
I normally fit in an 8, but due to my bust I had to move up to a 10. Dress was very curve hugging, and I got a lot of compliments on how it looked.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 15, 2013
Felt great in this extremely comfortable dress and is was a great alternative to wearing a LBD
I wore the dress to a wedding and it looked great and was very comfortable. It looks small on the hanger but has a lot of stretch. I ordered the size 2 and 4 but ended up going with the 4 because just like the other women mentioned, the dress is difficult to zip up and I needed help. But once it was zipped, it didn't even feel tight and I didn't need to wear a bra because it provided so much support. The color is prettier in person and the length was perfect. Since I'm only 5'2", I was concerned it would be a little long but it was perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 6, 2013
Great Vegas Dress, small in the bust
I wasn't sure I would love it when it came off the hangar, the ruching makes it look wrinkled, and the metallic sheen isn't at its full glory until its in a party setting. But I did love it, it made me feel sexy and I got alot of compliments, my husband adored it. I read the reviews about it running small, and I agree. I wore the 6, which is my regular size, but a 6 wouldn't usually be so short, tight, and busty, so it does run small. If I was borderline between sizes I would definitely size up. For me, the 8 was too loose so it made the ruching bunch. I'm a 32C, and both the 6 and the 8 were small for me in the bust. Neither would zip with a bra on, so I had to go braless (which was fine because it has a little lining). But I was busting out of the dress part, luckily the ruching that goes across the bust is adjustable to allow you some control over how much cleavage you bare. Overall I really loved wearing it. I rarely have a use for a sexy Vegas party dress so it was awesome to rent and return and not have to spend $$ on something I may never wear again. Loved the peace of mind that a 2nd size and back up style offered. This was my first RTR experience. It been 2 days since I returned and I just placed my 2nd order for Valentine's day. Keep it up RTR, and I may never have to go to the mall again.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 16, 2013
Great Dress for a Formal Affair!
This was actually my back-up dress, and luckily I had read the reviews and saw that it ran a little small. I'm usually a size 0 or 2, but the 4 fit JUST right. The ruching on the dress hid any imperfections after a long night of eating and drinking, and I got SO many compliments on it. It's a very sexy dress; be ready for some intense cleavage! Overall, it was a great dress that made for a great night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2013
Golden Globes
In a lot of the Nicole Miller's I've grown I find they run large, however this one ran small. I often wear a 4 and in Miller's a size down from my usual 4. However after reading reviews and seeing what people were saying I rented the 4 & the 6 and the 6 was TIGHT!!! I had to have my friend really help me climb into it, I feel an 8 would have been much more appropriate for me. But I WOULD rent it again because it was gorgeous like so many of her dresses are.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2013
Great dress, awesome fit
I am a huge fan of Nicole Miller in general because her dresses always seem to be the most flattering and comfortable to wear - this dress was no exception. It DOES run a bit small, however, so I would order a size up for backup because I am very petite and almost always wear a zero but I could barely zipper this zero so I ended up going with a 2 which fit perfect. I absolutely loved it and I have no complaints.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
March 7, 2013
This dress was amazing. I received a ton of compliments!
This dress was form fitting without being uncomfortably tight or unattractive. I felt amazing in this!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
March 29, 2013
I felt very pulled together and ready to hit the dance floor!
Definitely runs a little small, but loved the overall fit and the option to either show some decolletage or not! Great for a friend's wedding or cocktail party, but wouldn't be appropriate for a work event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
April 26, 2013
Pretty dress....but time to retire!
2 years ago, I rented the same dress in champagne, and got the most compliments I've received in my life. My boyfriend likes purple, so I figured, why not! Well, first, it is still a nice dress, but it's time to take it out of the rotation. First, both sizes (0 and 2) were very worn, particularly around the seams and the zippers. Like, threadbare. Second, the boob pads (built in bra?) are shrunken and bunchy, as are the straps, which makes the top a little uncomfortable. Third, the color is not that purple, it's more maroon, which probably looks nicer on darker skin tones. As for sizing: the 0 was incredibly tight around the chest area- which was surprising for Nicole Miller. The bottom fit great though. The 2, the chest was almost as small, but the bottom was too big. I went with the 2 just because of the ruching- I figured I could make it work. Long story short: either get more of these dresses, or take them out of the rotation. Their popularity might be their downfall!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
June 18, 2013
I felt all dressed up and the quality showed....
I ended up getting this dress instead of what I had previously ordered (I ordered right has hurricane sandy hit - but RTR was very gracious and got me this dress on time) I love Nicole Miller designs anyways so I was happy to have it. The dress is VERY tight in the chest area I have a small bust 34A and felt if I was any bigger I would have been poppin out. It's very forgiving in the stomach area however I was super tight up top but had tons of extra fabric in the stomach area it could have been my height though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2013
Loved the color!
Such a beautiful dress... I was obsessed with the color! So different from all of the other ones at the party. Thanks for another great rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 167lbs
August 14, 2013
Sexy designer dress
Definitely runs small. I had to wear a 4 (my normal size) because a size 6 was unavailable as a second choice. I literally had to fight my way into the dress, but once I got it on, it looked fabulous and I felt comfortable in it. Numerous compliments and it made my booty look bigger too ;-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
September 21, 2013
Gorgeous, flattering, comfortable! I got tons of compliments and wanted to keep it forever.
I am pretty wide so I typically wear an 8, but I decided to play it safe and go up two sizes because this was my backup dress and I only had it in one size. I was very lucky I did that because the 12 fit me perfectly and there's no way my normal size would have fit. However, numbers aside, I LOVED this dress! It fit like a glove and I got a ton of compliments all night - I wish I owned it. There was a little bit of visible wear but it was largely on the back of the dress and the venue was pretty dark so it wasn't an issue. Overall this dress was great but I would definitely go up a size especially if you're larger in the chest area.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
November 3, 2013
My husband saying, when I first tried it on, that he couldn't wait to get me out of it!
I'm 5'3" and 135 lbs, 36 DD bra and I'm heavy in the tummy area. 39 years old. This dress does run small. I usually wear size 8 or 10 and this 10 fit me as if I were trying on a size 6, but the 12 was perfect. I was wearing spanx for my tummy. This dress made me feel like a million bucks! My cleavage looked great with no bra. Others have noted the ruching is "elastic" and I experienced this as well, but after it settles in place naturally it was a good length, not too short. The size 10 was very worn in a few places so I'm glad it didn't fit (so I didn't have to wear it) but the 12 was in great condition. Process of delivery and return was very easy. Will use RTR again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
November 7, 2013
I was unable to wear the dress due to the fact it dd not fit
So disappointed. The dress was gorgeous and the color beautiful; however it did not fit!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 9, 2013
Many complements throughout the night!
As an "athletic" body type the dress perfectly accentuated the (little) curves I do have. Showed off my legs but wasn't too short, and allowed for a tasteful amount of cleavage
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
November 11, 2013
It was a great color and fit for the NYE party! I received tons of compliments!
The dress runs REALLY small. I wear a 4, but had to squeeze into the 8. The dress is comfortable, and the color is slightly more burgundy than brown, but the shimmer makes it great for a party (I wore this to a New Year's Eve event). I definitely recommend renting this dress, but go up a size or two to be safe!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
January 1, 2014
I feel fabulous.
The trick to wear this dress is to zip up the dress first and then pull it down from over your head. I could not zip it up all the way. At first I thought the dress was too tight. However, I decided to zip the dress first and pull it through from over my head. This dress would probably look best for the pear-shaped body type. My butt is small, so although the top was really tight, the dress is loose at the waist line and the butt. So it was not truly body hugging. Still looks pretty good. I liked it.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
2 / 4

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×