Nirvana Sequin Sheath Dress

$30 to buy
$400 retail
Stylist Notes

Own the party by walking in wearing this black sequin Nicole Miller off shoulder dancing dress. A stunning number that everyone will want to steal from you! Go with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. Long sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(9)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2013
Perfect dress for a concert in Vegas.
I usually wear a 4, but tried on the 2 and that was a better fit. The sparkle on the dress was perfect not to flashy. The only problem I had with the dress was I could not move my arms up and down. It was a little constricted. All in all perfect for Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
A review for hourglass shapes
I didn't end up wearing this dress (thankfully had a backup that I loved) but I wanted to comment on the fit of this dress for those with hourglass shapes that are on the fence like I was. There are some beautiful women wearing the dress in the reviews, but most are petite with straight shapes or you can't really see their full shape. I am a full size 12 hourglass shape. This dress has a very odd fit if you have a smaller waist and larger hips. I do believe it runs large, but there was so much room in the waist, I would have had to go down two sizes in that area but probably wouldn't fit in the arms or hips. It did very little to accent my shape and just kind of threw off my proportions, highlighting nothing. I am 5'6 and it is also rather short. One positive thing is that I did like the finish on the sequins (I hate tacky sequins). I really wanted to love this dress but it is probably best for lithier frames.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 19, 2013
This dress was chic and attention grabbing.
The dress hugged my curves in all the right ways and yet was also forgiving. I suggest the proper undergarments to keep the tummy nice and hidden in this dress as the high shine of the sequence can draw attention to that area. The off the shoulder look was very sexy without being too revealing.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 12, 2013
True to size and overall comfortable.
I wore this for my movie premiere and was happy with it. It fit great and was overall comfortable. I would recommend this for just about any body type because it stretches and hugs your curves. The muted sequins help to keep it just casual enough not to be black tie.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
November 18, 2013
I received SO many complements on my dress for my birthday party!
At 5'11, I always worry about length on dresses. This was a very comfortable short dress. It hugged my curves in all the right places, and highlighted my shoulders beautifully. So pretty, it was a total showstopper!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 21, 2013
Loved the off the shoulder. I felt super sleek and sexy.
good length, not too short so it was still classy.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 13, 2013
Beware, it's tight!
I wear an 8 in nearly every brand/design in dresses. I ordered the 8 and 10 for backup. Due to some damage from previous renter the 10 was the only one RTR was able to send me (they sent me an additional dress as compensation!) What a blessing in disguise though! The 10 was tight and just not great on a girl my size (and I'm not even big!) I cannot fathom what the 8 would have felt or looked like. Maybe us "curvy" girls should shy away from this dress. Sorry no picture...wasn't gonna do that to myself!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
January 14, 2014
The matte sequins rock and got lots of complements on the neck lline. Liner kept peeping out though.
The dress has a fantastic shap and is flattering I'm imagining to just about any body type. I actually wore the size 2 because of the shoulder tightness. Also the lining tends to peep out at the hemline a bit. Would I wear it again? Absolutely!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
January 20, 2014
Great Dress but not for me.
This was a gorgeous dress however it was large in the hips. I also had issues with the sleeves. I have a very small frame but very defined arms and shoulders. Even with the clasp latched I was having issues with the zipper staying up. Great dress just not for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
January 24, 2014
I felt super sexy in this dress!
The neckline is my absolute favorite part of this dress! I have short hair which showed off this feature perfectly. For women with long hair, I suggest wearing it up. But the beauty of this dress is the versatility. I didn't wear much jewelry because I felt the matted sequence gave it enough glam. I'm usually not one for sequence but the fact that they were matte was really cool! I felt incredible in it all night long. It runs true to size, however, there is no stretch to the dress. Wear this dress to impress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
January 28, 2014
I've used RTR twice and loved it both times!!
I loved this dress! It was a perfect fit, with a great amount of stretch and I didn't have to adjust it once all night. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone for a semi-formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 49
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 2, 2014
great customer service
spectacular dress. i felt like a million bucks. wore it to the grammy awards. dresses arrived in great shape. ordered a 2 and a 4. not a big difference between the two sizes. runs a little tight across the top of the dress and into the arms but i think it needs to be that way for the fit of the dress to work. i am small chested but still had to add some padding to fill out the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 5, 2014
the dress!
wore for new years. great fit, not too tight. definitely stretchy
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
February 11, 2014
very flattering, sparkle without overkill
i think the flattering nature of the ruching might have been overstated. the neckline is fabulous and stays in place without maintenance
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
March 5, 2014
Great Party Dress
It's super comfortable but make sure you pick the correct size; The reason--I feel-- the size matters is the ruching along the sides, when the dress is too big, it looks kind of messy. I honestly hated the dress so much when tried on the larger size... The sleeves are great once you get them in the correct/comfortable position, otherwise they're a hassle--they stay up on their own which is lovely, but they need some help. But I love the matte sequins, the stretch, and the length of the dress. And all the compliments made my night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
March 9, 2014
Great dress, but size down!!
I ordered this as a backup & didn't wind up wearing it. I'm usually a size 8 or 10 & the size 10 in this dress was so baggy, I was swimming in it. I would have needed an 6 or maybe even a 4. It's a very sexy dress, love the off-the-shoulder look, but definitely size down.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
March 18, 2014
Sexy dress that fit like a glove!
This dress fit like a glove and was very flattering for my hourglass figure! It has some "give" and is very comfortable to wear.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
March 29, 2014
Amazing for my bachelorette in South Beach
Extremely comfortable! It's very stretchy and went with the smaller size. Looks almost like leather from a distance but it's small flat sequins. Very flattering. Got a little warm but to be expected with that many sequins and long sleeves dancing for hours in a club. I was worried at first that I would be restricted lifting my arms but not so. Would totally recommend!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
March 29, 2014
The off-the-shoulder aspect MAKES the dress
The off-the-shoulder cut makes this dress worth the money. Really cute and really flattering design. The dress purposely bunches up, so it is not a tight and smooth fit, but it is still very cute like that. Definitely didn't think the size 0 would fit, so i would recommend sizing down.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 6, 2014
Sexy and Fun look.
I fluctuate between 10 and 12, so I would say this run pretty true to size (unless your concern is length, then I would choose one size up for my second option). It's form fitting, and the off the shoulder is cut in a way that makes it pretty comfortable and easy to move it. Last, the materially is not itchy or coarse enough to catch on things. Love Love Loved!
StashaAugust 28, 2014
You look so incredible! You rock that dress.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
April 13, 2014
Ive never felt more beautiful! RTR really helped to make my night!
The dress fit to a "T"! I was afraid the 6 wouldn't fit because I am a bit larger in the hips but it fit perfectly. It fits true to size. I was also anxious it would ride up a bit but had no issues with that. I would recommend this dress if you want to feel like a million bucks.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2014
Loveeeeed it!!! Highly recommend.
I danced all night in the dress and it never rode up or was uncomfortable.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
April 21, 2014
RTR is great
Great fit if you want to show your curves. I'm curvy. I wore spanx underneath to give it nice clean lines. I also had just had a baby 5 months prior.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 26, 2014
I didn't wear this dress for my event.
I was worried since I normally wear a size 4 that this would be too tight. It fit perfectly, it was incredibly comfortable and it really is an awesome dress. The only thing I would change is, I have athletic arms and thought the arms ran a little tight. I normally have a problem with this so, I don't feel it is this dress in particular. I would probably rent again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 6, 2014
great date night dress!
very comfortable, i would normally wear an 8 but went with the 10 for length stretchy enough that it fit well.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
May 13, 2014
It was sexy and never needed adjusting. I received a lot of compliments and felt like a million $$!
Arms were tighter than I expected and it definitely ran large as I'm usually a 4 and ended up wearing a 2. But overall it fit me well and I'm a 34DD so that's hard to find.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 7, 2014
A special LBD
This dress fits true to size, very comfortable to wear, fully lined so the sequins are not itchy. If you're alone, be warned you will need someone to help zip up the last few inches unless you're a contortionist with crazy flexibility. From looking at reviews, I noticed I liked the look of this dress on others best with hair worn up, so I did the same. I got a ton of compliments when I wore this dress even though it's just another LBD. I think it's all about how this one is styled. I will definitely be renting it again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 24, 2014
Loved!
True to size. Isn't too short. I did get kinda hot. I wore this to a party bus and it was pretty hot outside. So I wouldn't label this a summer dress. Bit overall loved it. So glad I picked it as my birthday dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
July 15, 2014
Received a ton of compliments!
I wore this to a formal event. It fit very well. Material is a bit itchy but loved the outfit overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 152lbs
July 23, 2014
This dress makes you a rock star!
Wow! This is one hot dress! I rented for a vacation with my husband and friends in Las Vegas and wore it to the Light nightclub in Mandalay Bay. I felt like a rock star. My husband was speechless when I met him downstairs in the casino after getting ready in our room. In fact, the promoter at the club approached us at a bar and escorted us to a table with free bottle service, so there you go! I did feel like the whole thing was slightly large and could have probably sized down to an 8, but this was my add-on dress and I only got one size. I did wear a strapless bra. I struggled a little with the back closure, but if you have someone to help, that shouldn't be a problem. The neckline looked amazing and didn't slip. As always, RTR was fun and easy to work with. Thanks, RTR!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 133lbs
July 29, 2014
Even the comedian on stage acknowledged how great this dress looked
Fit like a glove but you can still wear shape wear underneath. It is snug but not tight, extremely comfortable. Does not ride up when you walk.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 5, 2014
Sexy!!!
Delivery on time, dress fit perfect, has stretch to material. Shapes to curves. Comfortable dancing dress. Everyone loved my look in this sexy number. <3'ed it! :-)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195lbs
October 27, 2014
The perfect LBD for a big night out!
I am tall with large hips and bust, and found this dress to be very flattering and forgiving. It was the perfect length and hit me right at mid-thigh - short enough to be appropriate for the bachelorette party I was at, but long enough that I never felt like I was risking exposure. I love love LOVED this dress and would recommend to ladies of all body types! 10/10!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 144lbs
October 29, 2014
First Rental -- Great Dress, Perfect Fit!
I wanted to rent an 8, but that was not available. So I actually rented a 10 and a 6 for my backup. To my surprise, the 6 fit the best! The 10 was big in the stomach area (and this is after 3 kids... my youngest is 18 months--so there is stomach room! ). The only thing I noticed is that a few of the sequences did fall off during the night. The dress did not 'ride up' at all -- and was a great dress to wear for my sister in law's bachelorette party. I received a lot of compliments! I did wear a strapless bra with it and felt comfortable all night long.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 2, 2014
Only size left was a 6 but loved it
Fit great in the body but super tight on my crossfit arms. Loved the fit for my dia de Los muertos Van Gogh gala.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
November 4, 2014
Square cut not all that flattering
I have a small bust so the cut on this wasn't flattering for me. Luckily I had a back-up.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
November 12, 2014
Awesome dress I felt like a rock star, received tons of compliments!
Fit perfect
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
June 3, 2015
Sooooooooo Many Compliments! Fit perfectly.
I know everyone says this but I didn't want to return! Loved everything about it! Fit tight, but wasn't uncomfortable. Shiny, but not over the top. Sexy, but not trampy. Sorry I don't have a pic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 123lbs
November 22, 2011
Hubby said I looked very sexy!!
I rented this dress for a night out in Las Vegas. I did not want anything too short, and this dress had the perfect length. I ordered sizes 0 and 2. I thought both fitted good, but I wore size 0 because my bust is small (32 B) and it just fitted right. I was worried about the color being too gunmetal like, but it was perfect. Nothing crazy. It is just black, but the fabric makes it a nice dress for a night out. I gave it 4 stars because it is a little tight in the arms, I didn't do anything crazy that night, but if you are going out to dance, it might be uncomfortable after a while. Other than that, I felt sexy and beautiful the night I wore it. My husband thought it was a very sexy dress too.
gorjushJanuary 15, 2012
what booties are you wearing? I love them!
ClaudiaJanuary 18, 2012
u sure u are 5'7"??
LindseyJuly 28, 2012
let me guess... mandalay bay! lol just stayed there. hope you had fun :)
lolamaryNovember 16, 2012
@Gorjush These are BCBG boots
lolamaryNovember 16, 2012
@Claudia... Yes I am 5'7". I just measured myself just to make sure. ;)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 21, 2012
Awesome Material!
I loved the leathery look of this dress! It has just the right amount of pop without being the typical sequin flashy. I do wish it was a bit smaller in the waist, but overall the length and fit were great!!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×