Nirvana Sequin Sheath Dress

$30 to buy
$400 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Own the party by walking in wearing this black sequin Nicole Miller off shoulder dancing dress. A stunning number that everyone will want to steal from you! Go with the Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Drop Earrings and Kenneth Jay Lane's Polished Crystal Ring.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized 0-12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Very fitted - consider sizing up for fuller hips
LENGTH: Mini to mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black sequins. Off the shoulder neckline. Long sleeves. 35'' from shoulder to hem. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large
(23)
True to Size
(67)
Small
(9)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 19
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2013
Best dress I've ever worn!!!
Most stunning dress ever! So many compliments. At first I was worried about my arms fitting in the sleeves. I have a toned back and shoulders from volleyball, but with a non pushup bra there was room. It was surprisingly airy and not as thick as I thought it was going to be. The dresses came on time with tons of fun little presents and were super clean! I'll definitely be renting again.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 5, 2013
HOT!
Wore it for a bachelorette party and couldn't have been happier! I felt classy and sexy. The dress fit like a glove.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 13, 2013
I wore this for my 50th birthday, it was great, fit well
I have recommended this site to all my friends, great selection, LOVED it!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 112lbs
September 12, 2013
True to size and overall comfortable.
I wore this for my movie premiere and was happy with it. It fit great and was overall comfortable. I would recommend this for just about any body type because it stretches and hugs your curves. The muted sequins help to keep it just casual enough not to be black tie.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
June 19, 2013
This dress was chic and attention grabbing.
The dress hugged my curves in all the right ways and yet was also forgiving. I suggest the proper undergarments to keep the tummy nice and hidden in this dress as the high shine of the sequence can draw attention to that area. The off the shoulder look was very sexy without being too revealing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
June 5, 2013
A review for hourglass shapes
I didn't end up wearing this dress (thankfully had a backup that I loved) but I wanted to comment on the fit of this dress for those with hourglass shapes that are on the fence like I was. There are some beautiful women wearing the dress in the reviews, but most are petite with straight shapes or you can't really see their full shape. I am a full size 12 hourglass shape. This dress has a very odd fit if you have a smaller waist and larger hips. I do believe it runs large, but there was so much room in the waist, I would have had to go down two sizes in that area but probably wouldn't fit in the arms or hips. It did very little to accent my shape and just kind of threw off my proportions, highlighting nothing. I am 5'6 and it is also rather short. One positive thing is that I did like the finish on the sequins (I hate tacky sequins). I really wanted to love this dress but it is probably best for lithier frames.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 21, 2013
Beautiful dress for my 1st wedding anniversary in vegas!!
The dress fit true to size. Loved that it hugged curves but not too tight. Perfect for hitting up the Marquee after dinner!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2013
Perfect dress for a concert in Vegas.
I usually wear a 4, but tried on the 2 and that was a better fit. The sparkle on the dress was perfect not to flashy. The only problem I had with the dress was I could not move my arms up and down. It was a little constricted. All in all perfect for Vegas.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
April 19, 2013
gorgeous, sexy, and sleek
my sister wore this for my bachelorette party four months after she gave birth, and her husband gave her strict instructions not to talk to any men that night. this from a guy who rarely notices anything she wears!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
April 1, 2013
Forgiving and great for us "curvelicious" divas!
Stretchy almost leather looking from a distance, although it's sequinned! The one downside was a tiny defect on the right forearm possibly a sewing glitch...still a stunner nonetheless!!! I usually wear a 12, but the 10 fit!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 25, 2013
Weird Fit
I am usually a size 8, but after reading the reviews on this dress I opted for the 10 because I am a busty girl. The dress fit up top, but because I have more of an hourglass shape, the rest of the dress just hung there, and didn't fit to my body at all because it was too big. I was very dissapointed that I was unable to wear it, as it's an absolutely stunning dress. The sequins are more muted than they are in the picture, and the dress was soft on the inside and I imagine would have been very comfortable to wear if it had fit. Too bad.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 121lbs
March 18, 2013
The dress fit perfect. Everyone completed how slim I looked in it..LOVED IT!
The dress was fabulous, exactly how it shows on the picture. I felt very comfortable in it all night and received many compliments on how I looked. I absolutely loved it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
March 15, 2013
Super Comfortable!
I loved this dress - didn't get to wear it because of the snow storm, but it was super cute and was tight in all the right places! Would have loved to wear it out :(
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 15, 2013
SUPER HOT DRESS!
This dress is SO sexy I actually didn't end up wearing it to the party I had planned on wearing it to because I felt like it might stand out a little too much. I will rent it again though, maybe for a birthday party with my girls or something, The sequins were very subtle and surprisingly flattering.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
February 13, 2013
excellent dress! Happy with my choice for Atlantic City night out.
The fit was great, I had the size 4 on and there was still room in the waist, but I lift weights and my back & arms are muscular and it was just a bit too tight around the shoulders as well as upper arms.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2013
Sexy and Comfortable
This dress has some stretch, but the gathering is very comfortable and flattering. Almost looks leather, very cool.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 9, 2013
Glamourous!
I got my regular size and a size smaller, I went with the smaller size, and that was still very comfy- definitely not skin tight. I loved the shimmer, but didn't think the off the shoulder neckline flattered my figure as much as I would have liked.
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
January 27, 2013
Perfect dress for a formal event, party, club...almost for anything!!!
I am between a 4-6, 5'2,137lb with curves. I definitely could have worn the size 4, especially if I was headed to a party or a club. I can't say enough about the fit, it was perfect. I suggest a strapless bra, the dress doesnt have any support but stays up perfectly. Take into consideration that this dress is sequined but NOT shiny , like New Year's Eve party shiny! It looks almost like leather in the pics but in person it's almost matte. No tugging, pulling or adjusting, it fits like a glove. iI need this dress in my closet!!!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
January 5, 2013
I looked amazing in this dress. Add some killer heels and you are set. Lots of compliments.
The fit is perfect. Runs true to size. Perfect for hourglass figure.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 95lbs
December 12, 2012
Awkward fit
I had ordered a 0 and a 2. The 0 was unavailable and so the 2 was still sent to me. I don't think either would have fit. The dress fit seems really hard to fit perfectly. The 2 was really baggy on me and so I don't think the 0 would have fit well either. The material is also really hard to keep looking new. I expected the muted sequins but it just looked really worn. I'm glad I had another backup dress. I would recommend picking a different dress b/c this one is not as glam as the photo of the model.
RTR CustomerDecember 14, 2012
We are so sorry to hear that your dress wasn't in perfect condition! We will look into this. If your dress is not in pristine condition or doesn't fit please contact a stylist at 1.800.509.0842 as soon as it arrives and we will get another dress out to you asap for your event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
December 5, 2012
Sophisticated and comfotable
This dress runs a bit big, size down for your second dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 3, 2012
This dress has major sex appeal. I've never felt more amazing in a LBD!
The dress is true to size but may run a bit large, I was expecting to fit into the 4 rather than the 2, and I could have probably even squeezed into a 0. I would love to own this dress. I got an incredible amount of compliments and really felt the best I ever had in a dress. This dress is worth every penny, even the original price tag of $400! Not kidding.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2012
Versatile and Comfortable
I wore this on my birthday because I wanted to shine but not appear too overdressed. This was perfect. The sequins are on the matte side, which allowed me to accessorize more than I would have with any other sequined dress. Very flattering on a curvy figure. Perect LBD!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 114lbs
November 21, 2012
Awesome Material!
I loved the leathery look of this dress! It has just the right amount of pop without being the typical sequin flashy. I do wish it was a bit smaller in the waist, but overall the length and fit were great!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 16, 2012
A great birthday dress!
It's snug and surprisingly warm as a result. Thank goodness I wore it in the winter. Got lots of compliments and loved the neckline-- great opportunity to show off a fun statement necklace.
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Body type: Petite
November 14, 2012
the dress wasn't what I expected
the fit in the arms was tighter than I expected and the bottom was looser than I wanted. personally it wasn't as form fitting as I wanted but overall the design was nice.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 127lbs
November 7, 2012
Sexy neck. Fits very well
Very good for a date night, dangerously sexy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
October 27, 2012
Drop Dead Sexy!
This dress is absolutely beautiful. It isn't as shiny as the photo shows, however, it does standout! I would suggest a strapless bra if you have a fuller bust.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124lbs
October 26, 2012
Great neckline & subtle sequins!
I rented this dress for my bachelorette party. I loved that the sequins weren't too flashy and gave it almost a gunmetal, faux leather effect. I ended up sizing down because the size 2 dress looked like it was ready to be retired from the rental scene; it had a few small stains, sequins were falling off, dress was a little stretched out, etc. The most noticeable difference between the two sizes was around the arms; the smaller dress was tighter there, but overall a better fit! Would definitely rent this one again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
October 23, 2012
always an easy time with RTR.
Wore this dress to my birthday party. I loved the way it fit. It hugged my body at the right places. I love showing off my shoulder and this was the perfect dress for this, and since my birthday falls in November the long sleeve kept me warm while still making me look hot! Only thing I wished was different was the length. It was a little too long for my taste, but overall it was a great dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
October 20, 2012
Gutsy, Edgy & Comfy
What made this dress a winner for me was the petite matte sequences that married well with the cut of the dress. The neck line is a winner because it shows just enough to make them wonder. I was sad since the dress had a few sequences missing, but RTR customer service took excellent care of me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 19, 2012
Comfortable and sexy sequins!
I wore this dress to a friend's party and even though it's super fitted, it's really comfortable! The sequins are matte so it has a pretty cool look and everyone kept commenting on how tiny i looked all night! Definitely a great dress for a night out!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
October 17, 2012
GORGEOUS!
This is my second time getting a dress from rent the runway. Again...I was extremely happy! The dress is beautiful! I am a tall gal ...5'11 and this dress looked just stunning on. I ordered it for my BD party in sizes 8 and 10. I usually wear size 8, in this dress both sizes fit kind of the same all over...what made the difference is sleeves and with wide shoulder cut. The cut up on top just felt a bit tighter in 8 than in 10. If not for planned dancing....and we sure did enough of that ;)...I would probably wear 8. Overall, I loved the dress! For a club, party or night on a town with girlfriends...or boyfriends - its perfect!
StashaJanuary 15, 2014
Love the vest you paired with it! You look awesome.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
October 14, 2012
This dress is form fitting and stretchy with just enough sparkle
Fit is large since the dress is very stretchy- you should order your normal size and a size smaller. It was perfect for my bachelorette party as I was able to dance comfortably while not having to worry about fixing my dress all night. I'm a very curvy lady and this dress was stunning!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
October 10, 2012
I LOVED this dress. I wore it to a formal and loved the off the shoulder cut and material.
Fit great although arms were a little tight. I loved the material, a matte sequin that was sexy but not too flashy.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 25
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
September 27, 2012
receiving my dress with dior makeup
It fit great on me! I have a athletic body and this really highlighted the best parts of me. I loved it so much! i would defiantly rent this again!!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
September 26, 2012
Wore a different dress, so glad I ordered 2 styles!
It bunched up weird. The arms looked awkward since I didn't stand the way the model was standing. Not as shimmery as the picture either. I think it was a great idea of a dress, but wasn't what I was looking for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 57
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 24, 2012
I didn't wear this dress. I wore my second choice because it fit better and was more flattering.
I chose a 6 and 8. The 6 fit fine, but when I tried on the 8, for some reason it looked better on me. The dress looked great and my husband loved it. I opted for the second dress I ordered, but I really wanted to wear this one as well. We were going to try to go the second night on our anniversary trip for drinks at a nice place just so that I could wear the dress, but it didn't work out. So I'm hoping to rent it again some time in the future. One thing I wanted to mention is that I was concerned the arms would be too tight because I am fairly muscular, but the dress is stretch enough that it was fine. The length was good with my short legs.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 21, 2012
Loved it!
It is not as shiny as the picture which was a plus, the length was about mid-thigh and true to size...stays in place at the shoulder, overall a great find!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
August 14, 2012
Exactly what I wanted
My husband and I had a trip to Vegas planned to see the Kiss/Motley Crue concert (his birthday present), so I knew I wanted something that was totally different from what I would normally wear and this was perfect! I felt elegant and beautiful, but still edgy enough to fit in with the crowd. The fit was very flattering too, not overly tight. My husband loved it! I wore it with black Elizabeth and James strappy heels and RTR's Showstopper earings. A perfect ensemble!
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×