Nicole Miller

Majestic Waters Gown

$76 to buy
$695 retail
Stylist Notes

Dazzle them in this glamorous Nicole Miller gown. A regal look that's perfect for those holiday black tie events or a formal wedding. Go with accessories like the House of Harlow 1960's Gold Metal Fringe Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup. (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust with built in padding, so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted at empire waist
HIPS: Not fitted - full skirt conceals hips and backside
LENGTH: Floor length - Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'1''-5'6''). Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem(recommended for heights 5'7'' and above).

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra; dress has built-in padding for support
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Model's height is 5'10''.

Product Details

Multi printed silk lurex(83% silk; 17% lurex; lining: 100% polyester). Asymmetric one shoulder. Ruched bodice. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
177 reviews
Fit
Large
(10)
True to Size
(138)
Small
(22)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 10, 2012
Lovely gown, appropriate for the holidays!
This seems to be one of the styles of the season as I wasn't the only one at the holiday ball wearing a gown of this style. Thankfully nobody else showed up with the same dress! Extremely comfortable and flowy, it sparkles in the light and makes for great holiday photos. I had ordered a 0L, and the bust area was a bit tight, so I opted for the 2L instead. The dress was long enough for me to wear 3 inch heels! YAY!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 13, 2012
Beautiful dress--- ended up going with the more flashy one that I bought
This dress was really pretty! The fit was good and I think that it really runs true to size. I am 5'9 and go the long and it was perfect with some shorter heels. I ended up not wearing it though because I was gong to a mardi gras ball and I really wanted to wear something that was a little flashier. But overall I really like the dress. I think the colors are prettier in person.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 150lbs
December 18, 2012
GREAT DRESS!
loved this dress! it was true to size and also very long!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
January 4, 2013
It is a beautiful dress, and I received lots of compliments!
I wore this dress when I was 3 months pregnant, so it was perfect for hiding that little bit of extra around the waist. It was flattering and elegant!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
January 13, 2013
PERFECT!
I usually wear between a 2/4 size and I am 5'7. I wore the 4L and it fit very comfortably. I really don't like tight dresses so I went a size bigger and it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
January 16, 2013
The dress was perfect-it looked beautiful by the river and glistened in the evening under the stars.
I loved the colors, especially the gold threads. The dress was comfortable and the fit was just right -- a little long for me, but it was so easy to fix using temporary hem tape. The look was exactly what I wanted for my Senior Prom.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 116lbs
February 3, 2013
I LOVED this dress! I received a ton of compliments and it was a beautiful dress to wear!
I wore the 6R, but probably could have worn the 4R. I thought it fit true to size, right now I'm in between sizes. I did think it ran longer than expected. I am 5'2" and had on 4 inch heels. I still had to hem 3 inches of the dress with hem tape. I really should have hemmed 3.5 inches. It was just a lot longer than I expected.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
February 6, 2013
Beautiful yet comfortable
I recently had a baby and struggled to find a suitable dress for a formal event. This gown looks much prettier in person than in the pics. The fabric while not luxurious, shimmers & falls beautifully. Best of all, it was form flattering and super comfy. I danced all night and felt great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2013
Elegant and very flattering
Absolutely elegant gown. I normally look terrible in empire waists but the tight bust and well tailored skirt were the perfect combination. It is tight in the bust, and I almost went with the 8, but that was too large around the waist (always my problem). The only reason I gave it 4 and not 5 stars is the length. The dress was extremely long, even with 4 1/2" heels. I ended up dancing and holding the skirt at the same time, so in the end it wasn't a problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158lbs
January 13, 2013
Beautiful but chest too tight.
Ordered as a backup and didn't wear. I am a 36C and the chest area was too tight.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2013
Perfect dress for my masquerade ball event!
The dress was a little big on me (they were out of the size 6), and very long, but it looked great! I got compliments all night. Great first experience with Rent the Runway!
ChandlerFebruary 25, 2013
Would you say this is a good prom dress? I have looked almost everywhere affordable near me and I just haven't found the perfect one yet..
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Apple
March 18, 2013
Beautiful dress. Loved all the colors and gold flecks.
The length was a little long even in petite sizes and with heels but overall not an issue.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
March 30, 2013
Wore to a military ball. Fit just right and received many compliments. Will definitely rent again!
All around great dress no spanx needed! One thing though if you're a C-cup like me be, prepared for a snug fit around the boobage!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 137lbs
April 8, 2013
My husband loved the look and I had a great time at our event!
This was my first time with RTR and as a busy mom with little kids it is a great option when in need of a dress asap! I am between sizes of my current dresses so besides lack of time, I was happy to not have to buy another dress. I went with the regular length since the reviews said this dress was long. I almost wore some low heals so the dress would graze the floor but liked my Jessica Simpson purple suede platforms with it better. They are about 3.5-4". my toes peeped out and the dress worked fine. I was happy I went with these as I still had to pay attention to not snag the back hem of the dress occasionally. I had to have my husband zip me up. the zipper was tough and although the dress is so light and flows so easily, the empire bust-line has no stretch what-so-ever. It keeps it from falling down but was a tight zip. The material is beautiful and you feel no weight at all. Because it is so light, you will need a coat or jacket if you need to be out in cool weather at all. Oh I would recommend so large gold earrings. I did the best with what I had. You really cannot wear a necklace with it, but I did a gold chunky ring and some golden bangles. Also did some fun blue smoky eyes for the evening. Overall, loved the dress! No complaints! Was fun to have it just show up, and then drop it in the mail when the party was over!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 27, 2013
This dress is perfect
I wore this dress to my prom and received many compliments. This dress was beautiful! It could be worn without a bra and the strap easily held everything up. The golden flecks shimmer when I walked and matched the color of my hair perfectly. I wore two and a half inch heels and the dress hit the floor exactly. The dress ended up being more of a deep purple than I expected but that turned out to be even prettier than the navy I thought it was going to be.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 4, 2013
Good fit, loved the fabric.
I was super comfortable in this dress. It made me feel pretty, really liked the feel and look of the material. Was roomy around the middle and just the right tightness in the bust. I'm 5'2" and I had to wear 5 inch heels in the regular length.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
May 12, 2013
Great Dress!
This was an amazing dress, and I wore it to my prom. It's a beautiful pattern and great fabric. The only downside was that as a result of years of competitive swimming, I have incredibly wide shoulders and a v-shaped torso, so the 10 fit everywhere perfectly, but was a challenge to zip up because of my body type... my only recommendation is that if you do have an athletic build, order a size up so it will zip up! But once we got it zipped it worked wonderfully!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 16, 2013
I went with my boyfriend to a wedding where I knew only him. Strangers were complementing the dress!
The dress runs true to size, the only problem I had with it was that the strap was a little large and at times it would fall down. Overall it was a minor annoyance for such a great dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
May 16, 2013
Prettier in person.
Although this dress is much better looking in person, it just wasn't what I envisioned wearing to the wedding I was attending. In addition, this dress was sent to me as a result of the dress chosen not being available to me to rent which the company notified right away. I really appreciated their customer service which was awesome even though the dress didnt work for me.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 16, 2013
Such an amazing experience - will definitely do it again! :)
I wore this dress to my junior prom and it was amazing. The dress came right on time and was even more beautiful in person than in any of the pictures. I ordered the 2R and the 4R and ended up wearing the 4R. I would really, really recommend getting this dress, I got endless compliments on it and I felt amazing the whole night. Thanks so much RTR! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 19, 2013
Loved it! I received compliments all night long!
The only problem I had was the zipper. It kept getting stuck halfway up and the style of the strap keeps you from zipping up the dress before putting the strap over your shoulder. I just had a to do a little wiggle to get the zipper up, but other than that the dress was perfect!
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 2, 2013
Felt like a princess
The dress was such a light, pretty fabric and was so easy to wear. The dress was a bit long for me even after wearing 6 inch heals but nothing pulling up a few times cant solve. It came in right on time and I will definetly be using renttherunway again
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
June 3, 2013
The delivery was on time but one of the dresses was not what I ordered.
This dress is fitted in the bust and very loose in the waist. It could be very helpful to hide a large middle if that is what you are looking for, but unless you are quite small it sort of gives you a pregnant lady effect. I went with a different dress with a more fitted waist and thought it looked more sophisticated.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
June 12, 2013
Beautiful fabric
Beautiful fabric, LOVE the golden touches, comfortable dress. However, looking at pictures I thought the empire waist and the flowy skirt made me look bigger than I would have wanted, but in general I don't wear looser dresses and I lost a lot of weight since this photo, so maybe that's why. Everyone at the wedding had compliments for the dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 15, 2013
Beautiful Dress!!
I wore this dress to the Hospital Corpsman Ball. It was just a little snug up top, but I am a breastfeeding mamma of a 3 month old. It was very figure flattering and hid my post-baby bump very well. I wore a 12R and it was the perfect length. I absolutely loved this dress and had a wonderful first time experience with RTR. I've already picked my dress for the Navy Ball later this year!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
June 26, 2013
Lovely
The print of the fabric is great. Very elegant and beautiful. You have to be tall to wear this one or 5" heels which is what I wore and even then it was still about 1/2" too long. Also it was a bit too long in the torso for me (shoulder strap too long) . They didn't have a 6 when I rented it so it may have been better in that regards but my bust would have been way too tight. It is probably not my favorite dress I rented at RTR but I got plenty of compliments... people thought i was drop dead gorgeous in it. ;)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
July 10, 2013
Very pretty dress, not right for me.
This dress really is very, very pretty, and though I ended up wearing it to a formal beach wedding anyway, it just did not look right on me (so THAT'S why they tell you not to put all your eggs in one basket). I rented and 8 and a 10, and true to almost every dress I've ever worn, I was exactly in between sizes. I went with the 10 because it fit slightly better in the bust, but that might account for why it didn't look right; it was just a little too big, which can make a long dress look kind of sack-like. It was long, but I wore flats. I would think with a reasonable heel, the length shouldn't be a problem.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
August 1, 2013
This dress was perfect for a Black-Tie optional wedding!
This dress was perfect!!! The length was just right (and i'm not very tall.) I didn't even need to wear super high heels!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2013
Beautiful, comfortable dress... I wish I could have kept this one!
I LOVED this dress. The fabric is gorgeous, the colors are beautiful, and it is crazy elegant and crazy comfortable. The bust area was tight, which is why I went with the 6 (my back-up size). I do not have a large bust but I am broad-shouldered/chested so that was an issue. It was just a tiny bit longer than I would have wanted, but it wasn't a problem, I held it up while walking anyway. There is a lot of fabric below the waist. I definitely recommend this dress for a more formal event. It is so pretty, but not complicated or uncomfortable.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
October 22, 2013
Love this dress!!!
I wore this dress to a wedding while I was almost 5 months pregnant! It looked so good on me and I received compliments all night long!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
October 28, 2013
Perfect black tie dress
This dress was perfect- I loved the length (I wore a 2R). It was comfortable yet fabulous. I wore it to a black tie optional wedding and worked fabulously. The colors were so bright and vivid- I received compliments on this all night long! (My secret- I didn't even need to wear a bra with it- AMAZING!)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 6, 2013
Comfortable, stylish, and fun
The dress was exactly as pictured. I go between an 8 and a 10 and it fit perfectly. I chose to get an 8 Long after reading some of the reviews, but at 5'7 I would have been fine with 8 Regular as it was a little long on me. Loved wearing it overall.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2013
Perfect for black-tie optional!
Gorgeous dress. Very comfortable and fit as expected--was able to wear a strapless bra with it for my comfort but it wasn't needed. Lots of colors to play around with accessories.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 3, 2013
Beautiful!
I ordered this dress as a back-up for a wedding. The original dress I ordered didnt' work at all so this was it because I really didn't have any extra back up at home either. It was so gorgeous though and I received compliments all night long. It was a little bit tight around the bust, but other than that fit great! It was the perfect length with the heels I had and the earrings I ordered from RTR worked perfect with it as well. Would definitely recommend.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
February 4, 2014
So comfortable!
Perfect fit! Lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
February 20, 2014
nicer in person
I really wanted to wear this dress but it was just a little too tight. I got the 10L to fit around my 6 month pregnancy bump/chest. I usually wear a 6/8 in empire dresses. it would fit around my bump fine, plenty of room, and I could still wear heels, definitely long enough. but it was a little tight under the chest when zipped up. I think the 12L would have fit great but wasn't available. the pattern was fun and looked better in person.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
April 16, 2014
Beautiful. Easy to wear.
Felt beautiful. Got compliments at dinner and at the party. I am very very busty and I wasn't pulling on it all night. Which is great. And I didn't have to wear a bra under it which is...unheard of.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
April 27, 2014
This dress is SOOOOO gorgeous in person! My favorite rental, by far!!!
I'm just under 5'7", 120lbs, and smaller-chested. I wore the 2L but needed a bra to fill out the top (otherwise it was a little looser). Without a bra I probably would have wanted a 0L. I also wore some sassy 5-6" heels and I was still catching the front of the dress occasionally when walking. The regular probably wouldn't have been long enough, but for reference - this dress is very long. This dress is UNBELIEVABLY gorgeous in person. The colors are stunning and the gold spots are metallic so they really catch the light. AMAZING. This is my favorite rental dress ever. Easy to wear, unique, comfortable and seriously beautiful.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
May 5, 2014
compliments all night!
fit was perfect and true to size. i am 5'5" and length was perfect with 4 inch heels. this is for small busted women only! dazzling colors.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
May 8, 2014
Evening winter wedding on Cape Cod
Thank god for petite sizes! The 6R also fit me, but the zipper was goofy so I went with the 8P. The color and shimmer of this dress was wonderful, and the diagonal strap kept me from worrying that the whole thing would fall down. I am 5'2" and with 3.5" heels was pretty close to stepping the hem all night, but managed to avoid any catastrophes. The internal structure was such that I did not need to wear a bra OR shapewear. Winning!
See more reviews:
3 / 5

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×