Lady In Waiting Gown

$80 rental
$960 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
685 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(523)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Weight: 100lbs
November 30, 2016
This dress is stunning!
This dress is comfortable, easy to wear, and stunning on! I was not going to wear this dress because I am 5'1" and there was no petite size available, but the wedding was outside in November and I needed a full length dress. I was worried that it would drag on the ground, but I am so glad I took the chance! I got so many compliments on the dress and everyone thought the length was an intentional mermaid effect. The top clasps behind the neck and holds the shoulder pieces in place the whole night. It was very comfortable to wear because there is no boning or internal structures; that said though it might be good for slim women because it shows every curve or bump.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering, classy stunner!
What a pretty dress. The material was more substantial than I would have thought but it looks just like I expected it to. I rented this for a black tie optional wedding and received compliments all evening. I rented a 4R and 6R; both were snug yet stretchy. I liked the fit of the 6R better, but the lace straps were stretched out so I went with the 4R. There wasn't too much of a difference between the two sizes. I am 5'5" and the regular length worked well for me with heels. I was worried about getting my heels tangled in the lace based on other reviews but had no trouble walking or dancing. I also wore a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 25, 2016
This dress hugs all the right curves and hides the ones I didn't want shown.
This dress fit perfectly. I wore them with a one inch heel and it was perfect and comfortable the whole military ball I wore it to. I dressed it up with pearls and felt classy beautiful.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
November 25, 2016
Comfortable, fashionable and just perfect!
This dress was perfect it fit just right! I'm 5'3 and 140 lbs and it was super comfortable. The way the dress contours to your body highlights and hides at the same time. Gorgeous dress I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2016
Wonderful dress!! Perfect for my event!
My first RTR experience, and this dress turned out to be just as beautiful as I hoped. I read through the reviews, so I had a good idea of what I was getting. It has some stretch, and hugs your body. I felt more comfortable getting a push-up strapless bra, because I felt the cut of the dress didn't accent my chest very well with a regular strapless bra. The lace straps were a little loose, but they worked just fine. I received a lot of compliments all evening! Thankfully I needed the dress for a last minute event, and RTR made it so easy!! Overall, I am very pleased with my experience!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 20, 2016
Like a glove
Beautiful dress - I opted for the 4R because of length (I was wearing 5" heels), but both the 4 and 2 fit well. Only thing is that it's more black than blue - great if you want a darker dress - not color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2016
Beautiful blue
I was very bummed I didn't realize this dress came in different lengths. It was so flattering but the 'R' length was way too short on me even without shoes. I'm just under 5'9. I will definitely try this dress in the longer length if the occasion arises.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 15, 2016
Elegant dress
Perfect for a petite frame, stretchy and form fitting. Lightweight. I really like this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2016
Beautiful dress and got so many compliments!!!
Absolutely loved this dress! I had been set on a size 4 (my usual dress size) but ended up wearing the size 2 - it's form fitting with stunning lace details!! It was so comfortable to dance in - I basically was on the dance floor the whole time haha. I have to say I was hesitant to order this dress but after getting it I realized in pictures you can't really appreciate it - it's much more beautiful in person. It's a mermaid type dress and honestly I wish I could keep it!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 10, 2016
Loved it
Got so many compliments and the dress itself was surprisingly comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 9, 2016
Perfect dress for the Ball!
The fit was perfect! I ordered Wednesday night and it arrived on Friday mid day, fit perfectly and was super comfortable! We had a two hour commute to the USMC ball and it didn't wrinkle or bunch the whole way. The key hole back is classy and still allows for a strapless bra. I wore a 4 inch heel and it was just long enough that I didn't have to worry about it dragging or stepping on it. I was worried about the straps being a bit too big but they fit just fine, a little big but not so much so that they shifted or fell. The material isn't too clingy and has just enough stretch to allow walking and sitting to not be an issue. I got compliments all night and felt so confident!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 136lbs
November 8, 2016
Beautiful cut.
Needed some small repairs but they weren't noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2016
So many compliments
This dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments. It has a beautiful back to it and it for like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 1, 2016
Stunning dress!!
First time trying RTR and could not have been happier! Fits great and received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 17
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2016
It's prom!! Everything was unforgettable
I wore this dress for my prom. I am tall, 5'10, and I didn't want to wear heels so I was unsure of whether to get a tall size. I am glad I got the 6R because the length was perfect with my flats. The dress was so comfortable and the color and lace are gorgeous in person!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
October 27, 2016
Beautiful dress, a little short
Rented this for the marine corps ball. It was gorgeous. Fit true to size, I wore a 6R. Maybe a tad tight over the bust, but nothing obscene. I do wish I had gone with the tall size. I couldn't wear as high of heels and was constantly shimmying the dress down. Other than that it was beautiful.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 25, 2016
What girl doesn't want to dress up like a princess for a night?!
This dress was heavenly. It was figure hugging without suffocating you. It was heavier than I expected, but still didn't feel like I was lugging it around all night. The color was GORGEOUS. The pictures on the site really don't do it justice. It is this gorgeous royal blue color with a black overlay. I was nervous as to what type of bra I would wear with it, but I ended up wearing a normal demi bra and it didn't stick out or show my straps. I would wear this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2016
Compliments all night!!!
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It fit wonderfully. The lace on top was slightly loose in the back, but was not a problem. I was complimented all night. Form fitting so recommend Spanx. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2016
Love love love!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding at an art museum. I got the 8L for length- it was a little big, but not too noticeable. I was comfortable all night long, even while dancing. I was so sad to return this dress because I loved it so much! I would definitely rent it again in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 17, 2016
Dress was so comfortable and so elegant! Received a ton of compliments
Fit very true to size. Very comfortable! Could wear a strapless bra with it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 16, 2016
Perfect dress! Looked fabulous!
This dress was perfect for a night wedding! Got multiple compliments, and the fit is perfect! I am athletic built, very small bust with hips and a butt, and this dress fit my curves great! The 4 is perfect, but long since I am only 5'4. Heals did help me from tripping! I used a sticky backless strapless bra which was perfect! Thanks for another successful rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2016
Really comfortable!
I wore this for a wedding in the Adirondacks. It was amazingly comfortable but I had to pull the top part up several times during the evening. Many compliments on the dress and fit. I usually wear a 4 but I could have worn a 2. By the end of the evening is was hanging a bit and my shoes got caught in the hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
October 11, 2016
Good fit, but lacks something special
Overall the dress fit like a glove. Regular length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I ended up picking a different dress though because this one was lacking something unique.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
October 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress
This dress is very form fitting but comfortable. It has stretch to it but hugs in all the right places. My only complaint was that the lace straps were a little too big. But overall, it was a gorgeous dress. I received so many compliments and would recommend the ease of RTR to everyone. #weddingguest #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress is beautiful and very flattering. I got compliments from friends and strangers all night. I am between a 4 and 6 and went with the 6 just to have a little extra room but the 4 would have also worked. Glad I went with the long length. The lace on the back of the dress (especially the 6) was a little loose but my husband assures me nobody noticed but me. Overall a great experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
October 6, 2016
Very elegant!
I loved this dress! It was very slimming, it fit tight on my hips but had give to it when I moved throughout the night. Nothing but positive comments about this dress!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2016
Gorgeous gown for a glam night!
The gown was beautiful and the color was very striking in person -- pictures don't capture it! Fit was good -- I'm 5'7", 140 pounds, and have an athletic hourglass figure. The fit was flattering and complemented my curves without being TOO tight. Loved the lace detailing but there was some fraying on the sleeves from wear & tear -- nothing too noticeable unless you were examining closely, though. Overall satisfied with the dress, though frustrated that RTR ran out of my backup size at the last minute and sent me a different back up dress that was hideous and too big. Luckily, my original size worked out, but that was annoying.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
October 3, 2016
Loved this dress!
Fit perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 155lbs
October 2, 2016
Gorgeous dress
Fit was perfect. True to size. Received many compliments and with the blue underlay made this not the typical black dress. Gorgeous neckline. Wish I could keep it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 26, 2016
Attended a black tie wedding and I received many compliments on the dress all night long.
Tried it on in the store and it fit my body like a glove. It was comfortable to move and dance in all night long.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 39
September 26, 2016
It fit well and was very comfortable.
My only complaint was that it smelled like cigarettes. I ordered size 4 and 6. I am a 6 and size 4 was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 25, 2016
Sexy! Shows of your curves.
I loved the cut; it showed off my curves and was modest.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 51
September 24, 2016
When your dress fits and is comfortable to wear, you know it will be a good night.
The dress fit beautifully and I felt like a million bucks in it. The icing on the cake is that I did not have to spend 400-500 dollars on a dress.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 23, 2016
Perfect fit! Very comfortable to wear all night long!
I love that it was stretchy so I could sit, dance, and eat! What a fun dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
September 21, 2016
Gorgeous
Perfect dress for black tie event in DC, felt so classy, incredibly flattering
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 3, 2016
Lovely dress, very comfortable! But straps were stretched out.
I wore this to a wedding and it was really comfortable all night. My only complaint is with the straps. I had rented the size 10 and the 12, and the 10 ended up fitting the best all over. However the straps on the 10 were *much* looser than on the 12, so I think that at some point someone who wore the dress must have stretched the straps out of shape. The dress was fitted enough that I didn't need the straps to keep it in place, so it didn't prevent me from wearing it. But the back definitely didn't have the look that I was expecting because there was a ton of extra material hanging.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
August 30, 2016
I rented this dress for a Gala and even though I was sick I received compliments all night long,
I would say this dress is true to size. I'm usually a size 10. The reviews said the dress ran big so I ordered an 8. When I tried it on, it was a little snug so I kept the 8 but ordered a 10 as well. The 10 fit perfectly but unfortunately it had a huge rip in it.I called RTR and they told me to take a picture and offered to send another dress right away. I didn't have time to wait for the 2nd dress so I was glad I kept the 8. Again, the fit was a little snug but the dress was gorgeous !
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 23
August 18, 2016
This gown fit like a glove and I felt absolutely beautiful in it!
My only complaint would be that I couldn't wear the heals that I wanted because it was too short. I would suggest getting a long if you are taller than 5'7" and want to wear heals. Everything else was wonderful!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
August 10, 2016
Very elegant dress.
I wore this as a maid of honor dress for my mom's wedding. It was beautiful. Very elegant. The material is nice and stretchy, so I could have gone down a size. Very versatile for sizing.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 118lbs
August 9, 2016
Lovely in Lace
This is one of 3 dresses I rented to choose from to wear to a formal wedding, and my first RtR experience. I joined the unlimited program so I had plenty of time to try on different dresses and so I could keep them a little longer since the wedding was out of state and we would be gone for a week. This dress fit great everywhere, except I did need to watch my posture and pull the front down a little lower than I preferred in order to keep the shoulder and back lace laying flat. It did arrive with some threads hanging and certainly wasn't in pristine condition, but that didn't take away from the overall beauty of the dress. My hubby loved it on me, but I ended up going with one of the other dresses I rented simply because I found out it was very similar to the bride's aunt's dress and thought it best to avoid matching any of the family.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 18
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×