Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$119 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
718 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(550)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
October 12, 2017
I loved this dress! I received so many compliments that I would love to rent it again!
No cons, all pros, rent this dress!
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 48
August 30, 2017
What a fairytale wedding!
Stunning dress! I can't wait to actually wear it but I am sadly a few lbs to heavy still. Would recommend to anyone to purchase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Weight: 125lbs
August 28, 2017
loved this dress!
Very comfortable and fun, a little long, think a 6P would have fit better
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Weight: 120lbs
August 7, 2017
It was a great night, with even better friends! Wore it as a bridesmaids dress to a friend's wedding
The dress is flattering on truly all body types (thin, curvy, tall, short, etc). I ordered 2R and 0L and ended up wearing the 0L, but 0R would have fit best as the long was dragging along the floor a bit. I later switched to taller heels to balance it out. One photo shows another bridesmaid wearing the dress in a 4 or 6 i believe. Depending on the amount of lift you want it is comfortable with or without a bra (i did not wear one and felt covered even while dancing the night away). I loved it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
July 21, 2017
LOVE! I wore it for a wedding in Scotland..in a castle! Perfect for a black tie occasion.
It fit like a glove, and really showed off all the right curves. I'm small busted so the cut actually gave me a nice about of boost. It's a beautiful navy, and the back was my favorite part - sexy and elegant. Received so many compliments, and we danced the night away. :)
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
July 10, 2017
It was a gorgeous dress for a formal black tie event. Loved the color and the shape.
It fit great but the length was slightly too short - I'm 5'11 without shoes so an extra inch or so would have been perfect to fully cover my shoes.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 130lbs
June 26, 2017
dress fit exactly as expected. nice long very formal dress without being over the top.
size 2 fit like a glove, definitely true to size. it looked gorgeous!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
June 7, 2017
Dress fit perfectly, very flattering.
Loved the bust, neckline and back. The Navy blue is VERY dark though so in some photos the dress looks black. But still very pretty.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 33
May 28, 2017
Finally a bridesmaids dress that I didn't have to buy, wear once, and then store in my closet.
The fit is amazing! I wore this as a bridesmaids dress for my cousins wedding and it was perfect. It's form fitting but the fabric still has a little stretch so that you can move when it's time to dance. I'm 5' 8" and the length was great with a pair of 3" heels.
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
May 24, 2017
Fit like a glove and VERY FLATTERING! I didn't want to take it off.
Wore this for a formal 2013 NYE wedding of a life long friend. I had moved away and had my 4th baby; June 2013 so you can imagine, I hadn't seen my LL friends in quite sometime. The entire night all I heard was compliments! Nicole Miller is one of my most loved designers because she designs clothes that conform to any woman's body (type), instead of women changing their body to conform to clothing. I'm 5'5 and about 120 lbs; 36C. The dress was the perfect length (wore 3 inch heels and the dress as about 2.5 inches off of the floor). Th fit was snug but certainly comfortable. No bra needed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 16, 2017
Beautiful, yet comfortable fitting lace dress. Perfect for an hour-glass shape!
Fitted in the bust and torso, stretchy and loose fitting through the leg.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 15, 2017
Comfortable and sexy for casino night gala
I loved this dress and got a ton of compliments. It hugged the curves perfectly with the stretch and I was able to wear a strapless bra. You do have to be carful with what bracelet to wear anything with claps with catch the fabric and pull. My husband loved the rear view
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
May 1, 2017
So many compliments
Beautiful dress, love Nicole miller, would highly recommend. My only complaint is the garment bag it came in sorta smelled so I had to air it out and spray with fabreeze to make it smell better. But other then that rent the runway was great.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 143lbs
March 15, 2017
Could not have picked a better dress for my formal party!
This dress was very flattering and definitely hugs your curves. If you are 5'7 or taller, go with the long size as it cuts up on the regular size. The straps are big and a little loose so you might need to pin in the back. Overall, got several nice compliments and would definitely rent again for a formal occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 164lbs
March 8, 2017
I felt like a princess and everyone said so!
I recently gained some weight so I requested my normal size and a backup. The backup fit PERFECTLY...I was very comfortable the entire night and I got compliments from everyone.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
March 7, 2017
Elegant easy dress.
Wore this one to a military ball. It was lovely. As others mentioned, its stretchy and therefore easy to wear. Yes, it was a tad long with my 3 inch heels, petite woulda been better but it was not available. The sleeves were also long but not too bad. Overall it really was just lovely. The pop of blue was nice with the black.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 25, 2017
friends, business culture! Awesome company
The dress fit perfectly. It is the most comfortable dress I have ever worn. It hugged me in the all the right places.
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
January 20, 2017
The dress made me feel elegant--it was perfect for the occasion and many asked who I was wearing!
I rented this Nicole Miller dress for the opening night of the SF ballet gala. I was initially concerned over how to determine an adequate size, so I walked into a wedding dress shop prior to ordering and they did my measurements. I also suggest looking up the designer to see how their sizes run--this helped very much. Nicole Miller runs pretty true to size, however I did have to pin the shoulder pieces because the dress was a bit long, even with 3 1/2 inch heels on. Other than that, it was a perfect fit for my body. I highly recommend RTR to everyone! #sfballetopeningnight #sfballet #sfballetgala
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
January 18, 2017
My co-workers, and boyfriend couldn't stop the compliments!
I rented this for a black tie gala for work. I work for a finance company and this was my first big event for them so I wanted to make an impression. This gown and the back up we're both gorgeous, but in the end I went with my first choice and I was so happy. My boyfriend was speechless when I came out in it and just kept saying "wow" over and over, and all of my co-workers loved it. There were absolutely no flaws in the dress, the only issue I had was that I've gained some weight since an injury and have had trouble seeing myself as pretty since, but this gown made me feel like a princess. Will definitely be using RTR in the future, and recommend this for anyone who wants to feel royal and glam.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 58
January 8, 2017
It hugged nicely around curves and was very comfortable. I got a lot of compliments on it!!
When taking a photograph make sure to keep your arms away from body...that way the underarm bulge doesn't show up. I'm 5'3", bra size c, 136#
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2017
Gorgeous - I got so many compliments!
Fitted but the material was slightly stretchy. Very flattering. Surprisingly long enough (I'm 5'10"). Classy and elegant dress for a black tie wedding!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
January 1, 2017
Perfect fit, flowy, comfortable
LOVED it! Had to get this last minute for a black tie wedding. Got so many compliments. While the silhouette is slimming, the skirt is flowy and that made dancing awesome. It was my first time with RTR ad I was surprised at how smoothly everything went. 10/10 would recommend.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2016
Perfect for any body type with just the right amount of stretch
I found this dress to be amazingly comfortable. It has some stretch to it so that it fits curves well. The length was great even when I switched from heels to flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2016
The last thing thought when they saw me in this dress was rental .Fit like a glove. Thanks RTR!
The dress was elegant, comfortable and fit like a glove. I received tons of compliments. The color, indigo and intricate lace work made this dress very special. I'm sure the last thing anyone thought when they saw me in this dress was rental .Fit like a glove. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
December 16, 2016
The dress was perfect for the event and I had many compliments on the dres.
The fit was true to size with a size 4 regular. The length was perfect for me at 5'3".
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2016
Comfortable & elegant
I am 5'7" and wore the 6L, which was the perfect length with heels on. The bodice is very stretchy which made the dress comfortable and easy to wear all night. I have a small bust and wider hips and this dress fit my curves (and lack thereof) perfectly. I am short-waisted which made the lace over-the-shoulder fit loose (I usually can't wear a dress with straps without having them shortened), but because there are buttons behind the neck, it keeps them in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2016
Embrace the night!
It was a great day, loved how this dress looked and fitted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2016
This dress was a big hit!
The fit was perfect! It was form-fitting, but I could also dance without worrying about anything coming out of place. I felt confident in it, and received compliments on the dress all night :) I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 30
December 10, 2016
GORGEOUS! I am 4 1/2 months pregnant, and I felt absolutely beautiful!
Pros: Fit snug, but stretchy and comfy Cons: I had to send it back after my rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 7, 2016
So comfortable and gorgeous!
I got SO MANY COMPLIMENTS on this dress! I wore it to the reception of a black tie optional wedding. The dress was stretchy which made it comfortable to wear all night. I went with the 4R but the hips/butt area were tighter than I would have liked normally (it is definitely a form fitting dress, in a good way). It looked fine, though, but the 6R fit better in the body. The lace back of the 6R was WAY too loose, though and it was very obvious. The 4R was also loose in the lace back area, but you could not really tell once it was buttoned. I wore three-inch heels and the dress just touched the ground. The dress is navy and you can see the cobalt blue underlay in person, it looks darker in the photo I uploaded. I would definitely rent this one again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2016
Flattering cut and material
Fit: True to size even for petites with a bust. Material: Stretchy and figure flattering. Length: Edges dragged the floor a bit but not a tripping hazard. I'm 5'1" and wore 2.5" heels. Great dress - definitely putting heart on it!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2016
Fabulous fit! Easy dress to wear.
Stretchy fabric that hugs curves really well. Beautiful lace that is elegant but easy to wear. Great neck line of dress. Needed the long size at 5'9", could wear heels, didn't drag.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 40
December 5, 2016
Comfortable dress!
This dress is a gorgeous navy blue, the fit is amazing- comfortable & flattering. I'm very petite & the mermaid style showed off/accentuated my subtle curves (weight 115 pounds). I felt beautiful & comfortable all night. I wore 3 inch heels & the length was perfect on my 5'4 height.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Weight: 100lbs
November 30, 2016
This dress is stunning!
This dress is comfortable, easy to wear, and stunning on! I was not going to wear this dress because I am 5'1" and there was no petite size available, but the wedding was outside in November and I needed a full length dress. I was worried that it would drag on the ground, but I am so glad I took the chance! I got so many compliments on the dress and everyone thought the length was an intentional mermaid effect. The top clasps behind the neck and holds the shoulder pieces in place the whole night. It was very comfortable to wear because there is no boning or internal structures; that said though it might be good for slim women because it shows every curve or bump.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering, classy stunner!
What a pretty dress. The material was more substantial than I would have thought but it looks just like I expected it to. I rented this for a black tie optional wedding and received compliments all evening. I rented a 4R and 6R; both were snug yet stretchy. I liked the fit of the 6R better, but the lace straps were stretched out so I went with the 4R. There wasn't too much of a difference between the two sizes. I am 5'5" and the regular length worked well for me with heels. I was worried about getting my heels tangled in the lace based on other reviews but had no trouble walking or dancing. I also wore a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 26
November 25, 2016
This dress hugs all the right curves and hides the ones I didn't want shown.
This dress fit perfectly. I wore them with a one inch heel and it was perfect and comfortable the whole military ball I wore it to. I dressed it up with pearls and felt classy beautiful.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
November 25, 2016
Comfortable, fashionable and just perfect!
This dress was perfect it fit just right! I'm 5'3 and 140 lbs and it was super comfortable. The way the dress contours to your body highlights and hides at the same time. Gorgeous dress I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2016
Wonderful dress!! Perfect for my event!
My first RTR experience, and this dress turned out to be just as beautiful as I hoped. I read through the reviews, so I had a good idea of what I was getting. It has some stretch, and hugs your body. I felt more comfortable getting a push-up strapless bra, because I felt the cut of the dress didn't accent my chest very well with a regular strapless bra. The lace straps were a little loose, but they worked just fine. I received a lot of compliments all evening! Thankfully I needed the dress for a last minute event, and RTR made it so easy!! Overall, I am very pleased with my experience!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 20, 2016
Like a glove
Beautiful dress - I opted for the 4R because of length (I was wearing 5" heels), but both the 4 and 2 fit well. Only thing is that it's more black than blue - great if you want a darker dress - not color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2016
Beautiful blue
I was very bummed I didn't realize this dress came in different lengths. It was so flattering but the 'R' length was way too short on me even without shoes. I'm just under 5'9. I will definitely try this dress in the longer length if the occasion arises.
See more reviews:
1 / 18

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×