Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$150 rental
$960 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

486 reviews

Fit
Small 21
True to Size 407
Large 54
Photos 403
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 175 lbs
Feb 10, 2014

Stunning detail

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The lace and colors are gorgeous. Received many compliments on the gown! It's an eye-catcher, for sure. Fit well, even for a pear-shaped girl like me. The sleeves and mermaid-esque bottom balance each other nicely.
Brooke
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 18, 2014

This dress was so comfortable to wear and GREAT to dance in - I highly recommend this rental!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This wasn't my first pick dress - I got my original pick and the dress was too short for the height of my heels - but RTR customer service was awesome and quickly sent me a similar dress (this one pictured). I liked even more than the original. I received tons of compliments all night and felt wonderful wearing it. Overall, my experience was a good one. Dress was perfect. Service was excellent. I'm definitely renting again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. So flattering and classy. The straps were a bit long but it was easy to pin them in the back. I went with the long, I'm 5'6" and wore 4" heels and it was still a tiny bit long but I'm glad I went with the long - I probably would have needed to wear flats if I got the regular. If you're 5'6" or taller I recommend long!
Octavia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2014

I won Prom Queen.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very beautiful and comfortable. The dress is true to size but if you are over 5'5'' and are going to wear heels you should order your size with the longer length. I had a great night and received a ton of compliments, the dress is more of a darker navy than the picture shows, but overall its very beautiful and I would strongly recommend it.
Jes
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2014

Photographs beautifully!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a photoshoot that I was shooting. I fit the model perfectly and was amazing to photograph! We are so excited to use these images for a new type of photo session that we offer and the dress and jewelry definitely made the shoot a success!
Ellen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Gorgeous dress, great service and so many compliments

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for a black tie wedding. Both sizes fit but the 4R was less tight and more flattering. The dress was pretty short though. I enjoyed being able to wear flats though, however if you like heels I recommend the tall. Overall very pleased with my first rent the runway experience. Customer service was really helpful and the dress was a huge hit for compliments and my budget.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Beautiful dress, easy to wear, tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Easy to wear - this dress is thick stretchy lace so it fits all. It is tight in the tummy, but the criss-cross overlay of the fabric hides everything in a clever way. I did find the straps a little long, but I have a shorter torso. Really pleased with this dress!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

LOVED the dress! it was so beautiful. Had a good stretch so it was comfortable & color was perfect..

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was smaller than normal. Im about a 6 and i fit into a 4R. It has a good stretch but material was still nice.
bear
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 16
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Comfortable dress and fabric moved (not restrictive)

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit well, I got the tall because I wanted to wear heels. It was maybe just a touch to long but better than being to short. Received a lot of compliments on the dress
zosia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Jun 7, 2014

Super comfortable and stretchy

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this to my boyfriends prom and I was so happy I chose this dress. I felt comfortable in it all night and it is super flattering. The only thing is that it runs really big since it is so stretchy. I originally ordered a 8L and 6L. But then got a 4L since the 6 was still a little big. But I highly recommend this dress. And to go down one or maybe even two sizes when ordering it
Kathryn
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135 lbs
Jun 9, 2014

I chose this dress for an extremely formal black tie event. I wanted to look stunning and classy.

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Ordered a 6R and 8R. The size 6 was tight in the bust, but size 8 worked well. The fabric stretched to hug my curves, and I debated going without Spanx, but in the end I opted for the extra confidence they provided.The lace is slightly loose on the upper back, but not problematic. The dress is a midnight blue with black lace overlay. I wore black 3.5 inch heels and paired it with my own jewelry. This dress allowed me to eat, dance, and mingle with ease. I received red carpet compliments and felt elegant all night.
RTR Customer
Jun 10, 2014

Even if I wasn't told how gorgeous I looked... I felt it!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great fit and length with my Choo sandals. Just slight peekaboo of bra... So I'd suggest a demi. LOVED this dress! Definitely loved the Nicole Miller. First RTR and will def do it again! Scheduled arrival was Friday... And I came home on a Wednesday after work to a great surprise! Thanks RTR!
Alex
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 11, 2014

This dress! I received so many compliments on it. It was absolutely wonderful!

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was ok. It was a little loose in the shoulders and I had a bit of extra room through the torso even though i wore the 0. The length was good. I'm 5'7" and wore 4 inch heels so it was good. I absolutely loved the neckline on this dress, the fabric, and the small amount of back it showed. Perfect for my company holiday party! Wish I could keep such a beautiful item, but RTR gave me the chance to feel beautiful in something so luxurious!
Kristen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140 lbs
Jun 15, 2014

I wore it to a black tie event and felt like the belle of the ball!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit of the dress was perfect. It was so well constructed that it had it's own boning you only needed a strapless bra. It was very comfortable and not heavy. I would describe the color to be a dark purplish/blue, with the lace overlay it was stunning. Absolutely perfect for me black tie event in Italy.
Brandi
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Jun 16, 2014

How easily I was able to move in this dress!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress is very comfortable! It fits true to size. I received lots of compliments all night! Absolutely love this dress!
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Jun 20, 2014

Loved this dress...elegant and comfy!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fits great but the shoulder pieces are a little long and I had to use double sided fashion tape to tighten them up. Got compliments all night!
Karen
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jun 23, 2014

This dress fit great and was so comfortable to wear.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit great and was so comfortable to wear. The length was perfect with my heels on and very easy to walk in. I did need to tack the lace and shoulder straps down in the back, but besides for that it was a wonderful dress to wear for the night.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 26, 2014

Lovely & Elegant!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little worn, but on the night of it didn't matter much. I was told by three men that I looked like a movie star (as they all guessed which one.) My husband loved to claim me! ;) It was perfect combination of sexy and elegant; I loved feeling classy and still young/fashionable.
Jaclyn
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 14, 2014

The dress was fab. It fit great and was very comfortable. Great experience.

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this to a very fancy black tie wedding. The dress is pretty timeless. It was perfect.
Kaitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180 lbs
Jul 19, 2014

Stunning showstopper!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely fell in love with this dress. I rented the 12 and 10 with the stretchy material the 10 fit better. I was stopped many times at the gala I attended and had people tell me how amazing my dress was. It was absolutely flattering on my curvy figure. I loved the lace and the overall fit is true to size. I would recommend this dress to anyone!
Tiffany
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Amazing Dress!!! Fit like a glove, was perfect and stunning!!! Perfect for a Black Tie Wedding.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Everything was perfect about this dress, it fit me perfectly and I received so many compliments!
Jacobi
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 18
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 195 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

The way I felt. I felt like a beautiful 40's jazz singer.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress felt amazing and I felt gorgeous. I would recommend getting a second size just in case, unless you try out on at one of the showrooms.
carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 0
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

Lots of compliments and super comfy!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I actually wanted the In Demand gown but it was too tight as a 0. The RTR team sent this as backup. I could have worn the 2 but I opted for the 4. It is so comfortable that I never thought about it all evening. It looks dark when you put it on but I was super happy when I watched a video of myself and saw that under the lights...it comes out blue! Many people complimented me and it is super flattering and forgiving too! I highly recommend this! Classy, tasteful but still has some sex appeal too! Rent it!
Ashley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 23, 2014

Pretty Dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was gorgeous. I am 5'3" and it showed my shoes - so it's short!! Additionally, I had to pin/sew the straps in the back, because they were REALLY long. But, I'm petite, so that is a common alteration I require in my clothing. The dress is quite snug, but the lace detail in front and back really helps you make the most of your shape. My husband loved it, and I felt really beautiful. I would be inclined to rent this dress again - However, I think the rental price is a bit high. When it arrived, the lace was squished, and didn't quite lay right, but I was afraid to iron it given the delicacy of the material. It was quite obvious the dress had been worn a lot, as it was stretched out in the bust and bottom. I was able to wear it with a regular bra, which is important because I am quite busty. I danced the night away, and had a great time in this dress. I recommend it for curvy gals!
Elena
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jul 27, 2014

Great dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress with 3"inch heels & still felt it was a tad too short even after ordering the Long. Other than that, received SO MANY compliments on this dress! Hugged my curves beautifully :-)
cassandra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Jul 28, 2014

Compliments all night; fit like a glove. Hugged all of the right places. So comfortable. LOVED THIS!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I had rented a different dress for a black tie wedding which came in damaged. I called RTR and they a overnighted this dress as a replacement. What luck! The dress was gorgeous a bit brighter in person. I felt beautiful in this gown and received compliments all night. I wore the 0R. I am a zero but sometimes have to wear a 2 because of my bust; then the dresses are large in the waist/ hips. The 0R in this dress fit me flawlessly. I am little at 5'3 and wore 6 inch stilettos which kept the dress off the ground just enough that I wasn't tripping over it. I HIGHLY recommend this dress.
Nina
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 112 lbs
Sep 9, 2014

I went to a Black Tie Wedding at such an elegant venue in PA, the Lake House Inn.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress was absolutely stunning and I received so many compliments. I felt very sophisticated and classy. This dress was perfect to the fit and the heels I wore made it the perfect length!
Lina
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127 lbs
Sep 13, 2014

I've never felt so pretty and elegant in my life. Everyone had something to say about my dress.

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress is snug to the body and hold u like a glove. its a perfect fit for people with hour glass shape. The lace detail really makes the dress stand out and gives it glamour. Im 5.7 and the 2L was perfect for me obviously with heels if not its pretty long so make sure you wear 6 inch heels. The dress was super comfortable i didn't want to take it off at the end of night. I def recommend this dress if you want to be WOW factor of the night.
Meredith
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Sep 15, 2014

Loved it!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to a formal military party and would love to wear it again! It fit great and was very comfortable. The lace was elegant and the back made it even better!
Megan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Sep 27, 2014

Felt stunning, and perfect for our first formal event together.

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit comfortably, but perhaps not the best for a large bust. Still it was gorgeous and I felt lovely and lacy.
RTR Customer
Sep 27, 2014

Compliments all evening! So gorgeous & comfortable. Could have went with a 2. Runs a bit large.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Compliments all evening! So gorgeous & comfortable. Could have went with a 2. Runs a bit large.
Corina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Sep 28, 2014

Night to Remember 67th Air Force Ball!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I fit between a 6 and 8 (6 zipped but was afraid would be too uncomfortable) went with the 8 but actually was a tad too big around waist but not noticeable. perfect length! Only sad thing was I have been renting for years and this time I saw duplicate after duplicate of RTR dresses at the Ball especially in the Navy blue! Thank goodness none of mine but, many of ones I had my eye on. Will still continue to do RTR for all my events you always come through for me!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

I felt like movie star in this dress!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using Rent the Runway and overall it was a great experience! I ordered both the 6L and the 8L but I probably should have ordered the 4L as my second size. I wore the 6L and it fit great and looked even better than the picture shows! My only complaint and the reason I gave the dress only 4 stars was that I could tell the dress was starting to be a little worn. The edges of the lace were starting to stretch and the scalloping at the top wouldn't lay flat. Additionally, the shoulder lace was a bit stretched and was looser than I would have liked (I fixed that by wearing a more padded bra). Overall, the imperfections were probably something only I noticed and I would definitely think about using RTR again, but maybe not rent such a popular dress.
Anita
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 60
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142 lbs
Oct 1, 2014

I enjoyed wearing this beautiful dress and got many compliments.

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Other than for my wedding, I have never worn a formal gown. I loved having the opportunity to wear such a beautiful dress. The dress really hugs your body and shows off every curve. In hindsight, I would have selected a dress that did not reveal as much cleavage; I would have not had a problem with the cleavage 20 years ago, but at age 60, less is sometimes more. I would have also selected a more A line dress that hugs at the waist and flairs as I think this would have been a bit more flattering to my body type. I told everyone about Rent the Runway and they all said they couldn't wait to try it out. We live in a small mountain community in NH, so there just isn't a big need to purchase a long dress, renting is perfect.
Misty
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Oct 3, 2014

Marine Corps Ball - The dress was comfortable and I got lots of compliments!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was great! I have a muscular short build. The lace is flattering and slims your midsection .. the sleeves help accent shoulders :)
phillygal
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 49
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Oct 5, 2014

Love rtr-it's become a staple of my wardrobe!

Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful and easy to wear-able to move and dance freely. I received many compliments throughout the evening. The back of the dress was very elegant. I would highly recommend this dress for any formal affair. It ran true to size and I wore 2 1-2 heels ---no need to schlep the flats.
Holly
Age: 27
Oct 5, 2014

Beautiful dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Attended a black tie wedding. Dress fit wonderfully except it was just a tad long for me. Just wore higher heels to make up for it!
Elizabeth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

So glad I chose this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is wonderful! I didn't want to send it back. It hugs in all of the right places and has beautiful detail. I thought it looked far more navy blue than what the picture indicates, but that was fine with me. I was going to rent a very similar Nicole Miller dress, except it was strapless and I'm SO glad I chose this one. The cap sleeve is very lovely but also covers any "un-toned" under-arm areas. :) I felt so great in it. Also, the entire process with RTR was so easy.
RTR Customer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Oct 6, 2014

Perfect for black tie event

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit great, length perfect, beautiful dress!
sara
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Oct 15, 2014

Second dress for my wedding, and it worked perfectly with the medieval decor of the reception venue!

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Its very stretchy so it should fit a lot of different sizes, but its not very structured, so even though I don't have a big tummy, it still showed it off in pictures. The key whole back and the lace really make this dress amazing!.. the only thing is I think i should have pinned the straps to make them a touch shorter, because of the open back, my bra kept showing (maybe if I had a bigger bust, that wouldn't have happened?) All in all, it is absolutely Beautiful! I had 3 rent the runway dresses to choose from, and all of them where stunning (and fit great!), this just happened be the best, most comfortable one.
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×