Lady In Waiting Gown

$432 to buy
$960 retail
Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
697 reviews
Fit
Large
(68)
True to Size
(532)
Small
(24)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Weight: 140lbs
January 2, 2017
Gorgeous - I got so many compliments!
Fitted but the material was slightly stretchy. Very flattering. Surprisingly long enough (I'm 5'10"). Classy and elegant dress for a black tie wedding!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 27
January 1, 2017
Perfect fit, flowy, comfortable
LOVED it! Had to get this last minute for a black tie wedding. Got so many compliments. While the silhouette is slimming, the skirt is flowy and that made dancing awesome. It was my first time with RTR ad I was surprised at how smoothly everything went. 10/10 would recommend.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Weight: 145lbs
December 30, 2016
Perfect for any body type with just the right amount of stretch
I found this dress to be amazingly comfortable. It has some stretch to it so that it fits curves well. The length was great even when I switched from heels to flats.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 56
Body type: Full Bust
December 28, 2016
The last thing thought when they saw me in this dress was rental .Fit like a glove. Thanks RTR!
The dress was elegant, comfortable and fit like a glove. I received tons of compliments. The color, indigo and intricate lace work made this dress very special. I'm sure the last thing anyone thought when they saw me in this dress was rental .Fit like a glove. Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
December 16, 2016
The dress was perfect for the event and I had many compliments on the dres.
The fit was true to size with a size 4 regular. The length was perfect for me at 5'3".
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Weight: 145lbs
December 15, 2016
Comfortable & elegant
I am 5'7" and wore the 6L, which was the perfect length with heels on. The bodice is very stretchy which made the dress comfortable and easy to wear all night. I have a small bust and wider hips and this dress fit my curves (and lack thereof) perfectly. I am short-waisted which made the lace over-the-shoulder fit loose (I usually can't wear a dress with straps without having them shortened), but because there are buttons behind the neck, it keeps them in place.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
December 12, 2016
Embrace the night!
It was a great day, loved how this dress looked and fitted!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 11, 2016
This dress was a big hit!
The fit was perfect! It was form-fitting, but I could also dance without worrying about anything coming out of place. I felt confident in it, and received compliments on the dress all night :) I highly recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 29
December 10, 2016
GORGEOUS! I am 4 1/2 months pregnant, and I felt absolutely beautiful!
Pros: Fit snug, but stretchy and comfy Cons: I had to send it back after my rental
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 132lbs
December 7, 2016
So comfortable and gorgeous!
I got SO MANY COMPLIMENTS on this dress! I wore it to the reception of a black tie optional wedding. The dress was stretchy which made it comfortable to wear all night. I went with the 4R but the hips/butt area were tighter than I would have liked normally (it is definitely a form fitting dress, in a good way). It looked fine, though, but the 6R fit better in the body. The lace back of the 6R was WAY too loose, though and it was very obvious. The 4R was also loose in the lace back area, but you could not really tell once it was buttoned. I wore three-inch heels and the dress just touched the ground. The dress is navy and you can see the cobalt blue underlay in person, it looks darker in the photo I uploaded. I would definitely rent this one again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
December 6, 2016
Flattering cut and material
Fit: True to size even for petites with a bust. Material: Stretchy and figure flattering. Length: Edges dragged the floor a bit but not a tripping hazard. I'm 5'1" and wore 2.5" heels. Great dress - definitely putting heart on it!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 5, 2016
Fabulous fit! Easy dress to wear.
Stretchy fabric that hugs curves really well. Beautiful lace that is elegant but easy to wear. Great neck line of dress. Needed the long size at 5'9", could wear heels, didn't drag.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Age: 39
December 5, 2016
Comfortable dress!
This dress is a gorgeous navy blue, the fit is amazing- comfortable & flattering. I'm very petite & the mermaid style showed off/accentuated my subtle curves (weight 115 pounds). I felt beautiful & comfortable all night. I wore 3 inch heels & the length was perfect on my 5'4 height.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Weight: 100lbs
November 30, 2016
This dress is stunning!
This dress is comfortable, easy to wear, and stunning on! I was not going to wear this dress because I am 5'1" and there was no petite size available, but the wedding was outside in November and I needed a full length dress. I was worried that it would drag on the ground, but I am so glad I took the chance! I got so many compliments on the dress and everyone thought the length was an intentional mermaid effect. The top clasps behind the neck and holds the shoulder pieces in place the whole night. It was very comfortable to wear because there is no boning or internal structures; that said though it might be good for slim women because it shows every curve or bump.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 27, 2016
Flattering, classy stunner!
What a pretty dress. The material was more substantial than I would have thought but it looks just like I expected it to. I rented this for a black tie optional wedding and received compliments all evening. I rented a 4R and 6R; both were snug yet stretchy. I liked the fit of the 6R better, but the lace straps were stretched out so I went with the 4R. There wasn't too much of a difference between the two sizes. I am 5'5" and the regular length worked well for me with heels. I was worried about getting my heels tangled in the lace based on other reviews but had no trouble walking or dancing. I also wore a regular bra.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
November 25, 2016
This dress hugs all the right curves and hides the ones I didn't want shown.
This dress fit perfectly. I wore them with a one inch heel and it was perfect and comfortable the whole military ball I wore it to. I dressed it up with pearls and felt classy beautiful.
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Party
November 25, 2016
Comfortable, fashionable and just perfect!
This dress was perfect it fit just right! I'm 5'3 and 140 lbs and it was super comfortable. The way the dress contours to your body highlights and hides at the same time. Gorgeous dress I would recommend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
November 23, 2016
Wonderful dress!! Perfect for my event!
My first RTR experience, and this dress turned out to be just as beautiful as I hoped. I read through the reviews, so I had a good idea of what I was getting. It has some stretch, and hugs your body. I felt more comfortable getting a push-up strapless bra, because I felt the cut of the dress didn't accent my chest very well with a regular strapless bra. The lace straps were a little loose, but they worked just fine. I received a lot of compliments all evening! Thankfully I needed the dress for a last minute event, and RTR made it so easy!! Overall, I am very pleased with my experience!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
November 20, 2016
Like a glove
Beautiful dress - I opted for the 4R because of length (I was wearing 5" heels), but both the 4 and 2 fit well. Only thing is that it's more black than blue - great if you want a darker dress - not color.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
November 17, 2016
Beautiful blue
I was very bummed I didn't realize this dress came in different lengths. It was so flattering but the 'R' length was way too short on me even without shoes. I'm just under 5'9. I will definitely try this dress in the longer length if the occasion arises.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
November 15, 2016
Elegant dress
Perfect for a petite frame, stretchy and form fitting. Lightweight. I really like this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2016
Beautiful dress and got so many compliments!!!
Absolutely loved this dress! I had been set on a size 4 (my usual dress size) but ended up wearing the size 2 - it's form fitting with stunning lace details!! It was so comfortable to dance in - I basically was on the dance floor the whole time haha. I have to say I was hesitant to order this dress but after getting it I realized in pictures you can't really appreciate it - it's much more beautiful in person. It's a mermaid type dress and honestly I wish I could keep it!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 10, 2016
Loved it
Got so many compliments and the dress itself was surprisingly comfortable!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 22
November 9, 2016
Perfect dress for the Ball!
The fit was perfect! I ordered Wednesday night and it arrived on Friday mid day, fit perfectly and was super comfortable! We had a two hour commute to the USMC ball and it didn't wrinkle or bunch the whole way. The key hole back is classy and still allows for a strapless bra. I wore a 4 inch heel and it was just long enough that I didn't have to worry about it dragging or stepping on it. I was worried about the straps being a bit too big but they fit just fine, a little big but not so much so that they shifted or fell. The material isn't too clingy and has just enough stretch to allow walking and sitting to not be an issue. I got compliments all night and felt so confident!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 136lbs
November 8, 2016
Beautiful cut.
Needed some small repairs but they weren't noticeable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
November 7, 2016
So many compliments
This dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments. It has a beautiful back to it and it for like a glove!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
November 1, 2016
Stunning dress!!
First time trying RTR and could not have been happier! Fits great and received so many compliments!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
October 27, 2016
It's prom!! Everything was unforgettable
I wore this dress for my prom. I am tall, 5'10, and I didn't want to wear heels so I was unsure of whether to get a tall size. I am glad I got the 6R because the length was perfect with my flats. The dress was so comfortable and the color and lace are gorgeous in person!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
October 27, 2016
Beautiful dress, a little short
Rented this for the marine corps ball. It was gorgeous. Fit true to size, I wore a 6R. Maybe a tad tight over the bust, but nothing obscene. I do wish I had gone with the tall size. I couldn't wear as high of heels and was constantly shimmying the dress down. Other than that it was beautiful.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
October 25, 2016
What girl doesn't want to dress up like a princess for a night?!
This dress was heavenly. It was figure hugging without suffocating you. It was heavier than I expected, but still didn't feel like I was lugging it around all night. The color was GORGEOUS. The pictures on the site really don't do it justice. It is this gorgeous royal blue color with a black overlay. I was nervous as to what type of bra I would wear with it, but I ended up wearing a normal demi bra and it didn't stick out or show my straps. I would wear this dress again in a heart beat!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
October 24, 2016
Compliments all night!!!
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding. It fit wonderfully. The lace on top was slightly loose in the back, but was not a problem. I was complimented all night. Form fitting so recommend Spanx. Fits true to size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2016
Love love love!
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding at an art museum. I got the 8L for length- it was a little big, but not too noticeable. I was comfortable all night long, even while dancing. I was so sad to return this dress because I loved it so much! I would definitely rent it again in the future.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 31
October 17, 2016
Dress was so comfortable and so elegant! Received a ton of compliments
Fit very true to size. Very comfortable! Could wear a strapless bra with it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
October 16, 2016
Perfect dress! Looked fabulous!
This dress was perfect for a night wedding! Got multiple compliments, and the fit is perfect! I am athletic built, very small bust with hips and a butt, and this dress fit my curves great! The 4 is perfect, but long since I am only 5'4. Heals did help me from tripping! I used a sticky backless strapless bra which was perfect! Thanks for another successful rental!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 54
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 11, 2016
Really comfortable!
I wore this for a wedding in the Adirondacks. It was amazingly comfortable but I had to pull the top part up several times during the evening. Many compliments on the dress and fit. I usually wear a 4 but I could have worn a 2. By the end of the evening is was hanging a bit and my shoes got caught in the hem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
October 11, 2016
Good fit, but lacks something special
Overall the dress fit like a glove. Regular length was perfect with 3 inch heels. I ended up picking a different dress though because this one was lacking something unique.
Size worn:
10L
Rented for:
Wedding
October 8, 2016
Gorgeous dress
This dress is very form fitting but comfortable. It has stretch to it but hugs in all the right places. My only complaint was that the lace straps were a little too big. But overall, it was a gorgeous dress. I received so many compliments and would recommend the ease of RTR to everyone. #weddingguest #blacktie
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 7, 2016
Beautiful dress!
This dress is beautiful and very flattering. I got compliments from friends and strangers all night. I am between a 4 and 6 and went with the 6 just to have a little extra room but the 4 would have also worked. Glad I went with the long length. The lace on the back of the dress (especially the 6) was a little loose but my husband assures me nobody noticed but me. Overall a great experience with Rent the Runway!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36A
October 6, 2016
Very elegant!
I loved this dress! It was very slimming, it fit tight on my hips but had give to it when I moved throughout the night. Nothing but positive comments about this dress!
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 4, 2016
Gorgeous gown for a glam night!
The gown was beautiful and the color was very striking in person -- pictures don't capture it! Fit was good -- I'm 5'7", 140 pounds, and have an athletic hourglass figure. The fit was flattering and complemented my curves without being TOO tight. Loved the lace detailing but there was some fraying on the sleeves from wear & tear -- nothing too noticeable unless you were examining closely, though. Overall satisfied with the dress, though frustrated that RTR ran out of my backup size at the last minute and sent me a different back up dress that was hideous and too big. Luckily, my original size worked out, but that was annoying.
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
1 / 18
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×