Nicole Miller

Lady In Waiting Gown

$150 rental
$960 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

497 reviews

Fit
Small 22
True to Size 415
Large 54
Photos 409
Natasha
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 5, 2014

What an amazing dress!!!

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Okay, so I had picked out two dresses that were not this dress to wear to my friends wedding. Even though I ordered LONG in both of the other dresses, and I am only 5 foot seven, both of them were too short. So I was heading from New York to Michigan for the wedding and I called to go to girls. She was able to pick me out this address and have it overnighted to the hotel in Michigan just in time for the wedding. If it like a glove. This is by far the most comfortable dress I have ever worn, the fabric is just amazing. I had comments from every person at the wedding, and I am not exaggerating. If you want to look and feel amazing, definitely rent this dress!!!
Krystine
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 6, 2014

Great dress for a black tie event. It was very comfortable and classy. Received a lot of compliments

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had ordered both 2R and 4R. I am 5'2 and the 2R was a little short, especially since I wanted to wear heels. So if you prefer wearing 4 inch heels, go with the 4R. Also, buy the sticky bras. The dress fits very comfortably and I recommend it to anyone!
Poush
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Perfect for a winter wedding!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm tall and slim and had ordered the 4L and 6L. The 4L was REALLY short and I was nervous that the 6L wouldn't suffice, but it actually worked out just fine (I'm 5-10 and wore 2-3in heels). I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was perfect. I received a ton of compliments because it looks very classy but still has a little sexiness due to the design in the back. I would say that I would not recommend this to women with a large bust. I wore a strapless bra and it kept peeking out on the corners; needless to say it was VERY tight around the bust .
Laura
Age: 22
Apr 11, 2014

Awesome dress

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am usually a size 2 so the dress wasn't very forming but overall it was a great dress.
Kathleen
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

I danced the night away at Mardi Gras and felt like a princess the whole time!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal Mardi Gras event, and I loved it! I was able to try it on at the RTR store in SoHo, and I fell in love. It's very comfortable because it's so stretchy, and I felt awesome in it. It's very sleek-fitting, so Spanx are a must. I also had a little trouble reaching the buttons up top (by the neck), but as long as you have someone to help that's no problem at all. Definitely true to size, as well. I tried on the 10 even though I'm usually an 8, and it was very loose in the shoulders especially. So I tried the 8 and magic happened. I especially liked that it wasn't too long on me. I'm about 5'2", so finding a dress that I don't trip over is quite a feat. With heels, it was perfect. Overall, I loved this dress and I wish I could keep it!!
Dano
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Apr 14, 2014

LOVED this dress!! Very comfortable and very flattering!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit, true to size. I am 5'4" and my 3 1/2 in. heels were PERFECT for the length of the dress. Had compliments all night long!
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 17, 2014

Very Classy Dress!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a back up dress, that I decided not to wear. The silhouette is beautiful but it's very tight across the chest and is very flattening there and even a bit unflattering across the chest. If your bra fit is bigger than a C/D, the fit may be an issue. The dress is classy & elegant. I wear a 6-8 in regular clothes and the 8R was like a glove and just barely to the floor with a 3"heel. The fit was very comfortable and it was a tough choice, but ultimately I went with my other choice mainly because of the fit across the chest.
Julie
Age: 36
Apr 18, 2014

The dress was perfect for the event!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit perfect! Really comfortable and flattering!!!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

The extra "just in case" dress.

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Fits great, breathing room since it's stretchy. Received a lot of compliments. Loved the dress!!
Katherine
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Apr 19, 2014

I wore this dress to the ROTC Army Ball! Got many compliments! Love this dress!

Size worn: 2
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! It came early and it was so easy to send back! dress fits tight (very snug around the stomach, hips/butt), but runs true to size. The lace is beautiful and adds the perfect touch! I felt very comfortable wearing the dress- easy to sit (doesn't pull) and easy to dance in. I wore this dress to a military ball. I will definitely order from RTR again! :)
Kristina
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Apr 20, 2014

So glamorous!

Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit like a glove! It had a little bit of stretch so it hugged my curves. The length was perfect with 2.5 inch heels. I got compliments all night long. Loved this dress!
Jamie
Age: 26
Apr 20, 2014

Perfect for a formal affair! I loved it and so did everybody else!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up wearing the 2L, it was a bit more flattering, the 0L highlighted more flaws. The dress clings, so I wore a corset underneath to smooth out everything a bit. Had to pin the shoulder straps a little to make them fit better, but the dress is beautiful, the pattern and detail is amazing and it made me feel great!
Stephanie
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Apr 22, 2014

I received so many compliments the night of the wedding!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore the 4L because the 2 was a bit tight in the bust and behind area. I'm about 5'7" and didn't wear very high heels, it just skimmed the floor. So super high heels won't work. If you have smaller hips and bust I would go with the 2. Overall it was very comfortable to wear, as well as elegant!
RTR Customer
Apr 22, 2014

So many people had the most wonderful things to say about this dress and the way it fit-like a glove

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was very form fitting and I was a little nervous but I didn't need to wear spanx and didn't even need to wear a bra with, everything and everyone stayed in their place, even w serious dance moves. The only thing that I did notice was the lace shoulder straps were a bit loose , prob from hanging on a hanger most it's life but I made it work and rocked it!!
LB
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 170 lbs
Apr 22, 2014

Finally had an occasion to wear a long gown that wasn't a bridesmaid dress so I went all out!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The color was slightly different than the photo online - it looked navy with black but it was really lighter navy with darker navy. I was still able to get away with black strappy heals and a black clutch. Wore my hair up so I could show off the back of the dress and received tons of compliments (including from the bride!). It's a great "grown up" dress that showed off my figure without being too revealing. Also incredibly comfortable. I did wear spanx underneath to help keep the tummy flat because it was very form fitting. I did see a few other women in a similar cut dress but no one in my exact look. RTR was a great experience and I look forward to doing it again!
Taylor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 23, 2014

although it was a long day, the dress felt more than fitting for the event

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
just long enough to not drag on the floor which was great because it was rainy, I was doing a lot of running for work so it was nice to be able to look the part for the event but still be able to run around in a 2in wedged heel I was wearing. It fit nicely around the waist and was comfortable braless with no pasties. I received a lot of compliments on the dress lucky enough for me i tried it on in the showroom in vegas before I purchased which was definitely nice for my first rental but now with the first one out of the way i think i'll be more comfortable assessing reviews of dresses and getting it through the mail.
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 109 lbs
Apr 25, 2014

Great dress to wear to a formal gala. It was comfortable and elegant.

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress! The shoulder straps were slightly long (I am only 5'3") but were easy to pin up. I was concerned about renting a long dress at first but with 3" heels (my standard) this hit the ground just at the right spot...no tripping! I felt excellent and loved the experience.
Jaquelyn
Age: 29
Apr 26, 2014

Perfect fit.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Careful with the lace on the back it can get stretched out really easily
Michelle
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Felt like a movie star!!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is insanely beautiful, I wore the 8L and wish it would have been a smidge longer but other than that it was gorgeous. I have never been told how stunning I looked so many times in one night. My coworkers and I all wore dresses from Rent the Runway and were all so happy.
Kristina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

Beautiful comfortable dress!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress for a black tie event and absolutely loved it. It was beautiful....loved the back. It was actually comfortable too which is always a huge plus! Great service as always! Love RTR!
Beth
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Apr 27, 2014

I received so many compliments- I definitely felt like I was one of the best dresses at the gala!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the "lady in waiting" 2L & 4L. I normally wear a 2. The 2L fit well however, like most of the reviews, the straps were a bit loose. They could be pinned if needed however, I called RTR unfortunately the gown wasn't available in a 0L but they were able to ship me the "in demand" gown overnight in a size 0L which is a lighter color but almost the exact same dress. It fit even better and the straps weren't a problem. I love this gown and highly recommend it to others! RTR came through again!
RTR Customer
Apr 27, 2014

Everything came on time

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was amazing. Really works for curvy body. Make sure to wear spanx. Loved it
Katelyn
Usually wears: 10
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D+
Apr 27, 2014

The dress came just as I expected and it fit like a glove. The bust was a bit tight so I sized up.

Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Straps made it so comfortable. Wore it to a very formal wedding. People stopped me all night to ask where the dress was from.
Jenna
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Apr 28, 2014

SO Glamorous and comfortable!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ended up going with the long/larger size because i wanted it to be longer with my heels. It was a hit. People are still talking about it a year later!
Zabrinna
Age: 23
May 3, 2014

The dress was the best part of the evening

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress, I'm very busty so I usually wear a six in gowns but I was able to fit into a four with a push up bra on which was shocking and think I even could have worn a two. I received compliments all night long. My hair was a disaster so having this amazing dress made me feel beautiful. This was my first time with RTR and will definitely be using them again!
Shannon
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
May 4, 2014

The dress of course!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Beautiful dress! The fit was great overall, but be careful because it was very long! At 5' 4", four inch heels were a must.
Hayley
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145 lbs
May 8, 2014

This dress is AMAZING, OUTSTANDING, STUNNING you name it!

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress to wear to my husbands company 30 year gala. This dress fits true to size and is stretchy. The reviews from other renters were VERY helpful in selecting this dress. The lace was slightly stretched out which is to be expected since several people rent it and it is dry cleaned each time. This would not be noticed by anyone else I just noticed because was up close and personal with, but it was very minor. I received a multitude of complements on this dress and since I am so tall I was worried about the length even with it being a long but it was perfect and I even wore 2.5-3 inch heels. Overall this is an amazing dress. I did not wear a bra and only needed seamless no line underwear from vs. I had such a wonderful first experience with RTR and this beautiful dress. I will defiantly be renting from them again!
Meranda
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Weight: 160 lbs
May 11, 2014

Compliments all night long! It was nice to be sexy and elegant and stand out in a room full of black

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'5" and the 6r was too short. RTR overnighted a 6L in a different color and it was the best dress ever! This dress is easy to dance and move in. Very comfortable and gorgeous! If you are 5'3" I would recommend ordering the L. I also weigh 156 and size 6 was perfect and a little loose. This dress runs on the larger size.
Jessica
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128 lbs
May 11, 2014

The event was the 2013 Charity Water gala. There were fancy people everywhere. I felt classy!

Size worn: 8
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit perfectly, was on trend and yet classic.
BostonGirl
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
May 13, 2014

Stunning dress!

Size worn: 10
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The details on this dress really are beautiful. I loved the way it looked when pictures were taken from the waist up. It does hug your body tight, so you have to love your curves (which I do not), so keep that in mind if you are a bit curvier. I did not wear a necklace as it felt like there was already so much going on with the dress that it didn't need one. I wore my hair up to show off the gorgeous detail in the back and added a pretty bracelet. I would - and have already - recommend this dress to others. Also, my experience with RTR was absolutely perfect! I will definitely be using the site again.
jennie
Age: 48
May 13, 2014

Beautiful Location. Fun Evening. Great Dress.

Size worn: 4
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit true to size. I was only able to wear a 2 inch heel.. It's a very comfortable dress. I received many complements. I also rented the Kenneth Jay Lane Golden Shadow Bib necklace to wear with the dress. I did like the necklace over all but thought the finish was starting to dull.
G
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
May 13, 2014

Nice dress

Size worn: 0
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first RTR dress. I wore this dress to a Mardi Gras charity ball. It was too long for me (I'm 5'2"), but it worked with HIGH heels. The lace fabric looked worn and the top of the dress was stretched out a bit and very loose.
RTR Customer
May 15, 2014

Beautiful dress; beautiful fit.

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing fit. Very flattering dress
Caitlin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 17, 2014

Fit like a glove! Felt so elegant :)

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
No cons! Loved it
Brooke
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 118 lbs
May 18, 2014

This dress was so comfortable to wear and GREAT to dance in - I highly recommend this rental!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This wasn't my first pick dress - I got my original pick and the dress was too short for the height of my heels - but RTR customer service was awesome and quickly sent me a similar dress (this one pictured). I liked even more than the original. I received tons of compliments all night and felt wonderful wearing it. Overall, my experience was a good one. Dress was perfect. Service was excellent. I'm definitely renting again!
Laura
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
May 28, 2014

Amazing!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. So flattering and classy. The straps were a bit long but it was easy to pin them in the back. I went with the long, I'm 5'6" and wore 4" heels and it was still a tiny bit long but I'm glad I went with the long - I probably would have needed to wear flats if I got the regular. If you're 5'6" or taller I recommend long!
Octavia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 18
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
May 29, 2014

I won Prom Queen.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very beautiful and comfortable. The dress is true to size but if you are over 5'5'' and are going to wear heels you should order your size with the longer length. I had a great night and received a ton of compliments, the dress is more of a darker navy than the picture shows, but overall its very beautiful and I would strongly recommend it.
Jes
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2014

Photographs beautifully!

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
I rented this dress for a photoshoot that I was shooting. I fit the model perfectly and was amazing to photograph! We are so excited to use these images for a new type of photo session that we offer and the dress and jewelry definitely made the shoot a success!
Ellen
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Jun 1, 2014

Gorgeous dress, great service and so many compliments

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore this dress for a black tie wedding. Both sizes fit but the 4R was less tight and more flattering. The dress was pretty short though. I enjoyed being able to wear flats though, however if you like heels I recommend the tall. Overall very pleased with my first rent the runway experience. Customer service was really helpful and the dress was a huge hit for compliments and my budget.
Charlotte
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Beautiful dress, easy to wear, tons of compliments!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Easy to wear - this dress is thick stretchy lace so it fits all. It is tight in the tummy, but the criss-cross overlay of the fabric hides everything in a clever way. I did find the straps a little long, but I have a shorter torso. Really pleased with this dress!!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×