Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Lady In Waiting Gown

$150 rental
$960 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Ultra feminine and flattering, this gown is a sure bet to get you noticed at the black tie event. Deep blues and black lace give this body hugging gown a classic feel. Shown here with the Ben-Amun's Love Letter Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for backup (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sized: 0 - 12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable fit throughout midsection
HIPS: Very Fitted - stretchy fabric allows comfortable room for full hips
LENGTH: Two lengths available. Regular measures 58'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'2''-5'6''), Long measures 61'' from shoulder to hem (recommended for heights 5'7''-5'11'').

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Indigo lace (45% rayon, 25% cotton, 15% polyester, 15% spandex). Cap sleeves. Square neckline. Cutout back detail with button closure. A-line skirt. Hidden back zipper with hook-and-eye closure. Lined. See size and fit tab for lengths.

Share
594 reviews
Fit
Large64
True to Size481
Small24
Size worn:
0P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 25, 2015
Absolutely beautiful dress that fit like a glove.
Dress runs true to size, could have been a little shorter but nothing the right heels couldn't fix.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
October 23, 2015
This dress made me feel like a million bucks!
I couldn't have loved this dress more.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
October 23, 2015
Very pretty with the lace and cut-out back. Form-fitting and elegant.
I'm 5'10" and the long worked perfectly with a low heel.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 28
October 20, 2015
The dress worked perfectly for the black tie wedding that I went to.
The dress really fit perfectly, my only tiny complaint was that i kept having to pull it down, but otherwise it was perfect
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
October 20, 2015
This dress was both fitted and flattering!
I had to pin down the straps as I'm somewhat flat chested and there was some extra material for the lace straps.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
October 20, 2015
Wore this to a black tie preferred wedding.
Gorgeous dress, gorgeous fit. I felt amazing and got tons of compliments. Wore 3 inch heels and the length was perfect (I'm only 5'4" so was worried it might be too long). Material has plenty of give but remained fitted throughout. Highly recommend!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
October 19, 2015
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
This dress is really flattering! The 2R fit well and it was very comfortable the entire evening.
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 24
October 16, 2015
Fun, black tie wedding party in England.
Awesome dress. Wore this to a black tie wedding of my boyfriend's childhood friend, where I knew no one (and was the only American). However, I got so many complements and felt great wearing it. The lace gives it an elegant look and I loved the unique shoulders / neckline. Extra bonus, for anyone who is packing their dress / traveling to their event, it's a stretchy, forgiving material (but looks high quality and is flattering when worn), which was perfect as I had to pack it for the overseas flight to England. Came out of my carry on without even a wrinkle! One note: (very) high heels are a must or you'll be tripping and lifting all night. When I got home, a number of my friends who'd seen the photos on Facebook even asked me where I got the dress / told me how great it looked - and they weren't even there!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155lbs
October 15, 2015
I got so many compliments on this dress and I wouldn't hesitate to rent this again
This dress was literally the most perfect dress I have ever worn. It was form fitting yet forgiving in problem areas, and at 5'4, I was able to wear short heels or flats and it was perfect either way with the regular length. I felt amazing wearing this dress. Side note, RTR rush delivered this dress to me on a Saturday after I frantically called them on Friday at 3pm that the previous dress I ordered did not fit. RTR is amazing, and I can't wait to rent more from them!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
October 12, 2015
The event was a black tie wedding for my nephew, I had to have something more then just the LBD!
Was very unsure about the dress when I first put it on, but had no other option at that point! As the night went on and the compliments kept rolling in I grew to love the dress! It really did make me feel special! All in all I would recommend this dress and RTR to anyone!!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 38
October 8, 2015
Gorgeous dress - felt like a million bucks!
The 10L fit but was a little short. I am 5'11" and wanted to wear 3" heels. So I went with the 12L. The dress was gorgeous and I got so many compliments. I can't wait to try another one next time!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
October 7, 2015
Very pretty formal dress
The dress is a great length and a different neck line. It's very formal, so it's good for a Black tie affair especially in the colder weather since the dress is "heavy", but nothing less than that. You don't need to do much as far as accessories. Just throw it on and go - which is a pro in my book.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 54
October 2, 2015
The dress was perfect.
The dress fitted my figure perfectly, it is very fitting and looked gorgeous. I have a very slim figure and so hugged in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 30, 2015
luv it!
Got this dress as a back up, was a little hesitant at first due to the curve hugging style but it turn out so pretty! The dress was very comfy! The lace was not heavy at all and there's a spanx like layer underneath that makes it stretchy. I felt so glamorous in it! Would definitely rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
September 26, 2015
Perfect for an elegant, formal wedding!
I ordered a size 8 and 10 for backup. I could have fit in a 6. It was a little loose, but overall looked great. It was very stretchy, and comfortable. I felt very sexy in it and I loved the lace detail on the straps. Since I am smaller on top, the straps were a little bit big on me. My only complaint was the material looked a little worn up close- like it had been snagged on things. Not a big deal, because you could only tell up close.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
September 23, 2015
A formal event in Chicago that went very well thanks to Rent the Runway.
This dress fit very nicely. The only issue as a shorter woman is that the should straps were a tad too long. Very nice dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 68
Bust size: 36B
Weight: 130lbs
September 23, 2015
So happy I wore this dress
This dress has enough stretch that I could wear the 8 rather than 10 (I have a Nicole Miller in 12, so was concerned I had ordered the wrong sizes). It was a bit darker than I'd expected, but definitely had a midnight blue tone---another reason I was glad to have chosen it since blue seemed to be the popular color for dresses at this wedding. My only disappointment was the lace straps in the back which seemed to have too much material to fit snugly against my back. But, who really noticed!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2015
Beautiful
I didn't wear this dress as it was a size too large for me. It was sent as a backup chosen by RTR, as my alternative backup size was unavailable. If it had fit though, I'm sure it would have looked great.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 21, 2015
Black tie elegant! Tons of compliments
Very soft, form fitting fabric. I wore spanxx as I wanted to minimize any lumps and bumps, but it did a great job of accentuating the good while hiding the bad!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 47
September 19, 2015
I looked awesome and got TONS of compliments
Runs long so you will need high heels, if you are 5 3 or shorter.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2015
Elegant dress for a formal event
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding. It made me feel so classy and elegant. I wore my regular dress size (4) and it fit like a glove. It was so comfortable to wear. I received many compliments. My favorite part was the back of the dress, so I recommend wearing your hair up. It was my favorite RTR dress so far!!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 6"
September 16, 2015
This dress is very comfortable and so easy to move in. I received so many compliments on this dress!
There were a few fuzzies and strings hanging from the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
September 15, 2015
My fiance kept telling me how amazing I looked in this dress.
The fit is perfect, as most Nicole Miller dresses have stretch in them to hug lady lumps. I am typically between a 10 and a 12, and the 10L fit nicely, however it didn't seem as long as it should be (I am 5'7" and you can definitely see my shoes when I wear this dress). This was actually a replacement dress as my original choice came back to the warehouse damaged and they couldn't rent it to me. The consultant, Jamie T, was very sweet and helpful and sent two replacement dresses to make sure I had a dress for the wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 31
September 13, 2015
Overall very pleased.
The dress was gorgeous, fit in all the right places. I received SO many compliments.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 5, 2015
Didn't end up wearing.
Very loose fit and stretchy material, could have gone 2 sizes smaller. Gorgeous dress otherwise
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 55
August 4, 2015
I recently lost about 15 lbs and this dress showed off my figure.... and people noticed!
I loved the dress and received so many compliments. If you looked up close -- the dress looked worn in some places. The Long length was perfect -- wearing 2 /1/2 "heels. I wore the 10L instead of the 8L - because the 8 was tight in the bust.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 41
August 3, 2015
Beautiful gown - would have worn if it fit
I ordered a long - and couldn't pull it off even with 6" heels. Beautiful dress - fit like a glove.
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
August 2, 2015
Beautiful dress! Glad that the original dress I ordered didn't fit!
Ordered another dress that I picked up in the store and thank goodness I tried it on because it did not fit. The stylist at the store bought me this dress to try on and I was very happy with it. I wore this for an evening wedding and it was great. It has stretch in the material which I did need. I am on medication so I have a lot of bloating going on and I am top heavy 36DD so the stretch in the dress was perfect and necessary. You can wear one of the halter bras with this dress so you can have support. Beautiful. This dress is supposed to be a 12L, I am short so I don't know if this is the correct dress for you if you are tall, because I also wore flats with this. Serious flats, a pair of Coach loafers so if you are tall and have on heels I am not sure how the dress is going to fall. I received a lot of compliments, continued to receive compliments from pics online. Even my father was sad to see the dress go, he said oh you didn't buy it. I am now tempted to buy this gorgeous dress. Rent it, rent it a million times. Great color and very comfortable. Thank you Rent the Runway!
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 27, 2015
I wasn't even considering a long dress dude to my body shape and weight. This dress fit me perfectly
This dress was amazing. It fit so well and people were complimenting my dress all night.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 47
Body type: Hourglass
July 26, 2015
Loved the dress. Super comfortable. Very flattering. <3
The dress is flattering. Received a lot of compliments. The comfort level allowed for dancing all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Rented for:
Wedding
July 19, 2015
Easy ordering, shipping and return! Can't wait to use RTR again!
Fits AMAZING and super comfortable but was shorter than I thought a long would be:(
Size worn:
12L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
July 15, 2015
Great dress!
Very comfortable & flattering! The lace overlay helps to mask problem areas, while still accentuating curves. I received lots of compliments on the dress all night long from friends and strangers.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 138lbs
July 10, 2015
Finding a dress at the Las Vegas Showroom that I would have never chosen on my own. Great service!
Lucky to live in Las Vegas and made an appt at the shop to try on some dresses since I was going to be 6 months pregnant for the formal wedding we were attending. She pulled this dress, which I would have never picked out online and it was perfect!!!! Hugged in all the right places, super flattering color and made me feel great! Highly recommend as "bump friendly". They did send one extra size - 12R - which is the size I decided to wear just to give a little extra length in the front (I'm 5'4 and was 150ish lbs at the time - wore flats) My baby bump made it rise up a bit in the front. Just had to pin the extra fabric in the back/shoulders but because of the cut of the back that was super easy.. Loved everything about it! #bumpfriendly #blacktiewedding
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
July 10, 2015
Feeling good in my dress at my work event, crystal ball, was everything. This dress was perfect
I got so many compliments on this dress! I loved it!! I felt very sexy in it. It hugged my body in all the right places. The color was beautiful. I would wear this dress again.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
July 8, 2015
Glamorous.
Forgiving, perfect fit, thanks to stretch. I got compliments all night. Great for those of us with some curvature.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
July 6, 2015
The dress makes the event.
This dress if very fitting yet is composed of stretchy material. Normally I would have been a size 8R but because of the stretch I was able to fit the 6R. I also have very narrow shoulders so the top lace part was more fitted the smaller the dress size. I am very short but with the heels I wore (2.5-3inch) the hit the floor perfectly. I got my heels tied up in the bottom part a couple times whilst dancing or standing up from sitting. I wear a 34B/C cup and the breast area of the dress fit fine. It is a true navy blue. An all time classy dress for any formal occasion.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
July 1, 2015
Loved it!
The dress looked amazing and got tons of compliments. It was extremely comfortable, especially considering how great it looked. I wore it to a formal (black tie) event at the university and it fit the occasion perfectly. The earnings they sent along (long silver with sapphires) matched beautifully. I was so sad to send it back! Oh, and I forgot to bring a dark bra tat day and didn't have time to go back home, so I wore it without a bra (I'm a C cup) and it still worked!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 27, 2015
It fit great and I had a lot of compliments!
If you are more on the smaller bust size, this will most likely flatten a little, but it was still a great and beautiful dress for formal event!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
June 8, 2015
Looked very nice in warm lighting and with my red hair
I am 5'2" and it was definitely too long, even though I picked the short version. With 2 1/2 inch heels, it was barely wearable (still hit the floor), and I had to be very careful not to step on it. Looked great though, and I got a lot of compliments. I loved the lace and the drape.
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
June 7, 2015
Lovely dress that is perfect for formal events
This dress is super cute! It's stretchy, but still fitted. The material was not irritating or scratchy like some lace dresses are. I tried the size 8L and 10L; since I knew the wedding I was attending was going to include a ton of dancing, I decided to go with the 10L since it seemed like I could move around more in that dress. That said, if I was not going to be dancing I could have comfortably worn the 8L as the material is really stretchy! The length was perfect as well—if you're tall, definitely go with the L! The only con was the dress smelled a little weird. Not like body odor, but perhaps it was from the cleaning materials used? Not a huge deal or anything ~ just something to be aware of. Keeping the dress out of the bag the day before the event helped! Also, the zipper on the 8L easily got stuck and the neck buttons were impossible to undo, compared to the 10L dress!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×