Kate Lace V Dress

$30 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want to make that lasting first impression? Wear this stunning Nicole Miller lace dress to make him fall in love. Add a hint of color with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with nude stretch lining. V neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1631 reviews
Fit
Large122
True to Size1164
Small146
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
July 1, 2014
I really liked this dress but ended up not wearing it because it was more formal than the event.
Dress fit great and was very comfortable. Other reviews are correct that the lining is tighter so it works to suck you in :) I ended up not wearing this but only because the wedding was not as formal as the dress - and the other dress I ordered was easier to dress down. It did feel a little shorter than expected and I can see how moving a lot across the night may have made the outer black shell slip up on the nude slip underneath. Would rent again for the right occasion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
June 30, 2014
Comfortable and classy
I chose this dress for a concert I was attending. Many of the previous reviewers had suggested using the large slip with the medium dress, but I found that both the medium dress and slip fit brilliantly, so I never even took the large out of its plastic wrap until time to send it back! (Usually I wear an 8 or 10). This was sexy and cool, comfortable for sitting through hours of a master class, dinner, and the concert. Yes, the neckline plunges, so have fashion tape on hand to prevent any flashes of immodesty. ;) Was able to wear it with my regular nude bra, no spanx (the slip works very well for this!), some great earrings and comfortable shoes -- so easy to pull together at the last minute! And you can't beat that price with a stick, so… I will definitely have this one on the short list to rent again! Thanks RTR! <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
June 29, 2014
A great winter option!
This dress was perfect for a January wedding. There was even another guest at the wedding who had rented the same dress for the occasion - she and I were the only ones who noticed! I rented both the small and medium sizes and ended up wearing the medium slip under the small dress. The size small slip was too snug but the small dress fit perfectly. I loved wearing this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
June 26, 2014
Great dress. All the reviews were accurate.
Loved the dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
June 24, 2014
Great dress for NYE!
I really loved this dress. I wore it with tall boots and was glad it had long sleeves for a cold New Years Eve night. It is fun, not overly revealing but definitely sexy for a night out. I think this one can work well across seasons, and can be dressed down a bit, as I did, as well as being dressy. The only reason I didn't give it 5 starts is because the fabric was just a touch worn, and it seemed like it might have been worn a lot already, but I don't think anyone else noticed that part. RTR's service is always great.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 46
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
June 23, 2014
Great time playing the nigh away.
Loved this. Fits snug but has a tiny bit of give.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
June 23, 2014
Beautiful lace outer garment
I wore the medium inside slip and the large outer garment. Good thing I got the medium too! The outer garment is super stiff and does not give much grace if you're a hippy lady like me.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 26
Body type: Hourglass
June 21, 2014
looked great and was comfortable
I had to wear the under slip in a size larger than the dress. (medium in the slip and small in the lace dress)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
June 20, 2014
This accentuated in all the right places, yet was classy for a wedding
The particular dress that I wanted to wear had a snag/tear on it and looked worn; the size up was new, but not as accentuating. Customer services at RTR was great!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
June 19, 2014
Good dress
Good dress
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
June 19, 2014
Very low cut and tight fitting. Not appropriate for conservative events.
Unfortunately, this dress came and was way too sexy for a formal conservative wedding I needed it for. I am a C-cup and was spilling out of the top of this dress. It was also extremely tight around the midsection and hips. The nude slip also seemed smaller than the actual lace dress. This would have been more appropriate for a night out with the girls to grab some attention! Would rent again, but for a more appropriate venue.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165lbs
June 18, 2014
The long sleeve style was perfect for a winter work event!
The v neck was a little low for my preference, but with a little courage I think I was able to pull it off without being inappropriate. For those who are larger chested though, I'd definitely beware.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155lbs
June 16, 2014
LOVED!
This dress was perfect for my bachelorette girls night. Nicole Miller is always so flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160lbs
June 13, 2014
Perfect dress for winter wedding!
This was my backup style and luckily it fit because my main style was a disastrous fit. I don't have a large bra size, but I am broad shouldered/rib cage, and I did have to suck it in to get the slip done up all the way. I think a large would have been too big, though. The lace overlay fit perfect, fashion tape would have helped with the deep front but since I wasn't counting on wearing this I didn't have any on hand. The slip did ride up while dancing, but nothing too horrible. Received many compliments on the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
June 13, 2014
Appropriate and slightly sexy.
Con-The fit was way too low cut. I had to pin it because it was a formal affair. If you are small on top the dress will fit you a bit too loose. Maybe you can size down. But it will be more snug on your bottom. Pros- it was dressy without being too flashy. I wore a waist trainer to help suck me in. There are lines going around the arms and dress that made it pop a little against the lace. Overall it was nice.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
June 7, 2014
Nice, but not on me
I was hoping this would look great. Tall and curvy measurements did not combine well with this dress,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 113lbs
June 6, 2014
Great dress!
I wore this to a winter semi-formal party. It was sexy and chic while keeping me warm! It runs true to size, although it does hug your curves!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
May 30, 2014
Fun night celebrating a great friend's wedding...
Loved this dress! I received a ton of compliments on it throughout the night. I felt that it fit true to size - was very comfortable in the Medium...not too tight at all, but fitted enough!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
May 30, 2014
Loved my dress
It was perfect! Reviews are right, slip fits a bit tight but overall it was amazing!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
May 29, 2014
Would rent again
Great dress and extremely comfortable. The top was a little bit to large for my chest, but otherwise true fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 27, 2014
Perfect dress for fundraiser Gala! Hugged all the right places!
This fit very snug and I felt like it held all the right places in. Ran true to size for me. I usually wear and 6/8 and the medium fit great. The nude underlay was a little tight but I liked it because I didn't have to wear spanx. Noticed a little wear on the lace but overall I would rent again tomorrow in a heartbeat. I also rented the Emerald green earrings to go with it and they were perfect.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
May 24, 2014
Awesome dress!
Like other renters I used the slip from one size and the lace piece of another. I honestly fell IN love with this dress! It felt like my own. Super comfortable; being short it's hard to find dresses that hit just above the knee but this was perfect, so elegant looking. I would definitely rent this again for another fall/winter event!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 32
May 23, 2014
Cut and length made you feel like a vixen
It was an okay rental. I've definitely had better and I can't complain that it was bad but it certainly wasn't overly memorable. This was one of two dresses I rented for a wedding and decided to wear this one to the cocktail hour the day before.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
May 23, 2014
Rented for a black tie gala.
Great fit. The dress is in two pieces - a nude spaghetti strap slip and then the black long sleeved piece. The slip is very low cut and I found that it did not provide enough coverage. I layered it with a second tight Spanx slip, which worked well. The black dress itself is also very low cut - I ended up pinning it closed in the front a little. Overall the fit was great and I think it worked really well for a black tie event. Paired it with Lulu Frost earrings and cuff which I think dressed it up and looked good with it.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
May 21, 2014
Didn't wear
Just wasn't as nice as the others I rented but is nice. Dress had a perfume smell to it but it is nice
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 142lbs
May 20, 2014
Hottest. Dress. Ever.
Amazing dress!! I ordered a S/M and mixed and matched. I work the medium underlay and small black lace overlay. Perfect combo for my curves. Danced all night and felt great! I had sooo many compliments wearing this dress. I've rented it twice already and will be sure to rent it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
May 19, 2014
I'm in love!
I had contemplated RTR for several special occasions, but never actually had the guts to try it. After a lot of lusting after this dress, I finally went for it. I rented this dress for a late spring/ early summer wedding, and I am thrilled that I finally did it! I am in love with this dress and RTR. Based on other reviews I rented the XS and S sizes, just in case I needed to mix and match the dress with a different slip size, and I am so glad that I did. I mixed the S slip with the XS dress, and it worked perfectly. I got so many compliments, and each person asked me where I shopped! Can't wait for my next rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
May 19, 2014
I felt proud to have curves in this dress. So many compliments!
I wore this dress to a winter wedding and received so many awesome compliments; the women were all completely excited to try Rent the Runway after seeing it, and I felt curvy and beautiful while wearing it. Even with some extra winter weight, this dress felt like built in Spanx. I wore the medium slip underneath and the large lace dress overlay. I would absolutely recommend this dress to anyone looking to feel sexy (but not too over the top) for a nice evening.
SassyAugust 10, 2014
We are built very similar. I am going to a wedding in September need to find something like this but without long sleeves.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
May 18, 2014
This dress fit like a glove.
The fit was tight but not too tight. I ordered the XS and S and ended up wearing the small nude slip (which was like spanks) and wore the XS black lace over it. Great for a formal event. I received compliments all night and it was a big hit. I would buy this dress if I could.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
May 18, 2014
Beautiful!!!
This amazing dress looks even better in person. The material is strong and really holds it all in. The lace is classy it's definitely a wow effect once it's on and all together. Loved it
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 18, 2014
Everyone was complimenting me on my dress and asking me whether I had lost weight!
This dress is amazing and makes you look like a million bucks. Fit is tight but helps give you that slim look. Cons are that under-slip keeps riding down (not noticeable to others) and skirt rides up.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
May 16, 2014
Very classy and sophisticated
It runs very large! I'm usually bet 2 or 4 but this one, could've done xs.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170lbs
May 15, 2014
Great fit, received many compliments
This dress fits great, it holds you in and I felt great all night.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
May 14, 2014
I felt like "claire" from House of Cards. This dress is stunning, and flattering.
Everyone was right about swapping the slips and the top layer of the dress. However I could not wear the medium slip as the shoulder strap looked to have been broken and then repaired in such away that made it impossible to adjust. Unfortunately it was permanently set at a space too small for any arm :( Overall loved this dress & would own it if I could
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 176lbs
May 13, 2014
elegant
beautiful dress did not fit my body type and the lace made me look older than I wanted to , but perhaps on someone else it would be nicer. I decided against both rentals this time I rented I was really disappointed but I learned that Im not too fond of lace on myself so my dislike for the dress may be just my own taste. The dress was a good fit true to size I was not impressed by the material .
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
May 13, 2014
I liked the way it looked at home.
The fit is snug and my only regret is not wearing spanx (why there's no photo of me posted!). It was comfortable but I was a little disappointed in the quality of the dress. The material seemed a little flimsy.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 12, 2014
Felt amazing in this dress- so many compliments!
Rented the dress for a night in Vegas- dinner at a high end restaurant followed by dancing at the marquee. Wanted a dress that was suitable for both- it's sophisticated sexy--- long with arm coverage, but a neckline and lace that had the perfect bit of oomph. I got a million compliments and felt amazing in this dress! Didn't give the full 5 stars only because it has definitely been worn many times before (to be expected)- many snags here and there and a small rip in the back at a seam. Wasn't noticeable to people other than me though. I got a small and a medium as I have a pretty large rib cage and often smalls are too tight in the torso. Because of the lace and slip (no zipper and lots of stretch) I wish I had gotten an XS instead to compare to small (I never even took the M out of the bag). There was some extra fabric that would bunch in the neckline that I think would have been remedied if I had a smaller dress. Overall... IN LOVE with this dress and wish it was in my closet! Also very happy with my RTR experience and plan to use for just about every event in the future!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
May 12, 2014
Amazing dress
Fit was perfect, even the under slip fit perfectly. Did not have to use the second size!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
May 12, 2014
Gorgeous!
I LOVED this dress, but it gave me more cleavage than I expected. The nude lining is not nearly as stretchy as the dress itself and was pushing my girls together to the point I had cleavage to my collarbones! At the last minute, I made a make-shift adjustment and took off the top part of the lining and instead of wearing it, tucked it into my nude bra. The slip was tight enough elsewhere to stay up all night light that without sliding and with my own bra, the dress fit great on top. The XS was the right size for me, and I will definitely keep this in mind for another occasion- but will wear my own nude slip underneath.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 7, 2014
Wrong fit for my frame
Ordered this dress for NYE and while it was beautiful, it was all wrong for my frame. I am 5'0 and usually wear a size M or 8. I ordered the medium and the large as a back up. While the medium fit better than the large, both were way too long on my frame. The hemline went below my knees and completely cut off my legs. The V was also far too low for my torso (this would've been OK pinned together) but add in the sleeves that reached my fingertips, and it felt like I was playing dress up. Beautiful dress for taller girls, just didn't work for me. On the upside, RTR was awesome in the return process. Will definitely try again!
See more reviews:
15 / 41

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×