Nicole Miller

Kate Lace V Dress

$99 to buy
$410 retail
Stylist Notes

This sleek lace LBD by Nicole Miller is versatile and chic. Pair with pumps for a put together look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace with nude stretch lining. V neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1758 reviews
Fit
Large
(127)
True to Size
(1209)
Small
(150)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
March 12, 2016
Classy, comfortable, and warm!
This was my first RTR experience and it was such a hit! All I wanted for my birthday was to feel glam again (two kids, 3 and under) and go on an awesome date with my husband. This dress really made the evening extra special! I felt beautiful, confident and comfortable. I chose the XS and S sizes after reading reviews. When the bag arrived I tried on the Small first and immediately thought I would wear that one. It was slightly roomy in the bust and there was some extra fabric around the armpits, but the fit through the hips was good (this is usually my problem area) and overall it looked fine. On the day of my event I tried on the XS just for fun and was totally surprised that it fit even better than the Small! That nude underlayer makes this dress so versatile for different body types. The bust on the XS fit just right, and while the fit felt tight through the hips, the two layers made that area look smooth and sleek. I spent my evening mostly sitting at a restaurant and the symphony, but if I had been at a dancing event I would have gone with the bigger size because it did tend to ride up as I moved. I can't wait to rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 152lbs
September 24, 2012
Great date night!
This is a great little black dress. I just wore it for a fun date night with my husband. The large fit my pear-shape perfectly.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 149lbs
October 15, 2012
It was all right.
I wish I could give a better review, but this dress just didn't fit me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 13, 2012
Tons of compliments
Runs a bit small but definitely shows off the curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
December 7, 2012
Beautiful dress, but size up.
Although I had requested the S and M, only the small was available on my ship date. Although the dress was beautiful, the S was too loose in the chest and too tight on the bum. The M may have worked and fit differently. I usually wear anywhere between a 4 and 8 depending on the designer.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
December 14, 2012
Sexy but awkward fit
This dress fit in the hips but was baggy at the top. Maybe my 34B's aren't enough..... I was really disappointed because otherwise, this is a sexy, sophisticated Nicole Miller. If you have small hips and a big bust, this dress is for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
January 3, 2013
This dress runs too small!
ordered a small and medium, as I am usually a size 6, however, not even the medium was a flattering fit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
January 17, 2013
Ehh
Unfortunately, this was not as flattering as I would have hoped. I definitely have a butt and this barely covered it! I love the idea of a lace overlay but it just was not the right dress for me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
February 15, 2013
Gorgeous details
I wore this dress for a fancy Valentine's dinner with my boyfriend. The dress was very figure hugging, so I would definitely go up a size. However, I felt beautiful in it and the slight stretch was very helpful towards the end of my 24 course meal!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
February 15, 2013
loads of compliments for a holiday formal wedding.
The dress is a stretchy lace and fit fine. However the super tight, nude slip underneath squished my full chest and made me look disfigured. So, I used a spanx slip underneath and was fine. I'm 5"2 and a 34 D. I too needed a bit of wardrobe tape at the deep v neckline.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
March 11, 2013
Liked the concept, but wasn't right for me.
The dress was pretty and I liked how smoothing the nude under layer was. I rented dressed for a formal affair, but this just wasn't the best dress for the night. It would have been better for a holiday work party. The biggest problem with the dress was the chest. The V-neck was very deep, deeper than in the photo. My large check did not fit without making the look inappropriate. I could have made the neckline work with a lot of fashion tape and some pins, but ultimately wore the other dress I had rented.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
May 1, 2013
Felt Glamorous All Night
Rented this dress for a date night with my husband. It was my first time using RTR. I ordered the small and the medium sized dress. I have to say that this dress runs small. I noticed a few snags in the lace overlay of the size small, but that was ok because the medium fit better. I would definitely rent this dress again. It's perfect for anyone under 5'4''.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 12, 2013
Did not end up wearing it. Was tight and busty
Little too snug and low cut for my event. Nice quality.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
May 29, 2013
It was very chesty and too showy for my taste.
I didn't know I had a chest until I tried this on!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
June 25, 2013
My fiancé's reaction to the dress.
First let me say, I got compliments on this dress all night. With that being said, I wasn't exaclty comfortable all night. The dress was VERY tight, so much so that the slip kept riding up. The lace fit great but I ended up wearing the medium both slip and dress. I wish I had ordered a large so that I could have worn the large slip and medium lace.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
July 8, 2013
It's a great dress for an outdoor NYC fall wedding - I received a lot of compliments!
I'm fairly busty so while the dress fit nicely in my hips and waist, it was snug and a bit revealing in the chest. Overall, I was comfortable and it looked nice so no complaints! Like some other reviewers, I went up a size in the slip and wore a M in the dress to feel a little more comfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
November 27, 2013
Lovely!
This dress is really pretty, but I thought it ran small and it really shows off cleavage, so be careful if you are busty!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 154lbs
December 16, 2013
Never got to wear this dress :(
The dress was super small. I will be dieting in the future because I want to wear it! SO beautiful
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 164lbs
January 27, 2014
Cute but small
I ordered the large and it was still too tight, didnt get to use it..
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
February 25, 2014
Classy and Sexy-- a winning Combo!
Like many others, I wore the L slip with the M dress. It does take some wrangling to get in and out of. It really was very sexy-- I'm not sure I'd recommend it for a wedding, but a fun date with your man for sure. It's not super comfortable, but boy does it hide every single imperfection and promote your body's good points. It's a magic dress; if you're on the fence, definitely get it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 108lbs
March 4, 2014
Back up dress - looked good but didn't wear it.
This was my back up dress. Reminded me of the Nicole Miller Tempted By You Gown that I wore previously. Really liked it but wound up wearing the other dress instead. Wished I would have had another event to wear this one to! Would definitely consider renting again.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
November 15, 2014
It just didn't give me that wow factor!
End up returning it for an exchange, too tight! And it just didn't look right on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
February 24, 2015
Not for the busty!!
I dont know if its that this ran small or if it was my body type but this definitely did NOT work with my chest! The dress was spandex-y snug all over, however it was super flattering except when it came to my chest....I was popping out and there was no way to keep them in! I am a D so Im not that surprised, however usually there is a bra or some way to make them not look obscene and well, it wasnt going to happen in this!! Its a gorgeous dress though and its snug but flattering to any areas that may not be so perfect. The bottom layer of the dress seemed to suck my tummy in which is always a nice feature if you ask me! This dress wasnt worn but I would recommend it if you are looking for a LBD and you are smaller than a D cup,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 5, 2015
So this dress is beautiful, it just didn't fit....
I have a petite frame at 4'11'' at 110lbs. The XS was too small up top if you are bigger than a B cup. And the S was too long, meaning it went past my knees. The S was too big up top for me,, there was a lot of extra material loose around the chest and waist area.. If there was an in-between size XS and S, it probably would have fit perfectly. The dress was nice, I wish I could have worn it.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 159lbs
April 21, 2015
Great looking dress but runs a bit small, i ordered one size up.
Prompt service and dress arrived in excellent condition.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 123lbs
July 4, 2015
Classic dress that exudes sophistication.
Beautiful dress. It definitely ran small. I am usually between a 4 and 6, and the size small was snug. On the positive, I wore this to a wedding and received multiple complements. Very flattering cut for someone with a larger chest (I am 34DD), slimming in all the right areas. Although, I had a problem with the fashion tape staying in place to minimize my cleavage and look presentable, and not exposing too much. Another issue, the lace on the dress looked worn-out. and dry-cleaned excessively.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Age: 23
November 17, 2015
Classy and sassy!
Pretty long, luckily I read the same reviews and bought fabric tape to shorten it up a bit.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 10, 2016
Too small
Seems to run quite small. The medium was very small for me and the bust was very tight and did not offer much coverage. Due to the poor fit I was unable to wear this.. Probably better for those without curvy figures.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
June 20, 2016
This dress was very cute! Great find.
I ordered a large to get it long enough. it fit great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
July 20, 2016
SO MANY COMPLIMENTS!!
I wore this for rehearsal dinner for a friend's wedding in January. I LOVED THIS DRESS. I wanted to keep it. Like others have mentioned, the lining layer was pretty snug, so I ended up wearing the Large (which had been my back-up size) because it was just more comfortable to move in. But, I wore the medium overlay and it worked perfectly. I got SO many compliments on this dress both the night of the event and for weeks after from friends on Facebook. I loved it and will definitely rent it again if I find myself in need of a formal dress this winter.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 39
November 13, 2016
Great dress, size up, don't wear in a very warm climate if you plan on dancing!
Fits very tight, it was a gorgeous dress but I was very hot dancing in it all night (it comes with a tight fitting slip).
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Body type: Hourglass
October 16, 2011
This dress is tight, but very forgiving. The nude liner is separate from the back lace overlay and almost acts like a Spanx. Both the nude slip and the black lace dress are somewhat stretchy, which is helpful. It is body-hugging, but flattering. I usually wear a size 4-6 dress and I was nervous about getting a size small, but that was definitely the way to go. I am kind of short and the sleeves were a little long for me, but easy to push up. Hem was about knee-length, maybe a little shorter. Perfect for a rehearsal dinner.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
This dress runs large. Definitely order down for your back up size. I wore a 6 in a different Nicole Miller dress, but needed an XS in this dress. The length was also much longer than it shows on this model. It hit below the knee on me. I ended up having to send back because it was just too big for it to look nice.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
October 19, 2011
I rented this dress for a formal gala at the museum I work for and it perfectly toed the line of being upscale but sexy. The dress is definitely form fitting but the nude liner holds you in nicely. I wear a 6 and wore the S, I rented the M as well but it was a bit bunchy. I had so many compliments in this dress from everyone, man and woman of all ages. You can't go wrong.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2011
Tight fitting though true to size. Runs a little long - knee length on 5'5". Can be more or less conservative depending on styling - very versatile
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 148lbs
November 13, 2011
Pretty but a Constant Struggle
Dress was beautiful and flattering. But the nude slip underneath is not connected to the lace overlay, and no matter what I did, it was constantly pulling over to the right (and exposing my bra, which was black lace so not terrible inappropriate). To move it back required violent tugs. Which I had to do every half hour. So miserable, all night long, no matter what I did!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 14
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Bust size: 40D
Body type: Athletic
November 21, 2011
This dress is classy, yet sexy with all the lace
This dress was Perfect! I received tons of compliments!! About the fit, I'm tall and it went to my mid-thigh, I am normally a 6 or an 8 and I got the Small and it fit perfectly.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 23, 2011
Amazing Dress!!
Oh my goodness is this dress a stunner!! It was perfect for the semi-formal evening wedding I rented it for. It's VERY fitted, but still has plenty of stretch, so it's super flattering. I must have been stopped 100 times and told how gorgeous my dress was...even the bride told me I was best dressed :)! You can't go wrong with this one! Fits true to size and you can wear a regular bra, which I love. Hits a little closer to the knee, but is so body hugging that it's still sexy. Love, love, love it!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
December 4, 2011
The whole night of feeling beautiful!
This is my fourth RTR dress and probably my favorite. It is very comfortable. The built-in lining acts as a body shaper so there is no need for Spanx. I wore a regular beige bra. I received compliments before we got in the door! We ate, we danced...very comfortable all night and well into the morning! I'm sorry the picture is not very good but the photographer's printer was horrible and this is a scanned copy...
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 156lbs
December 6, 2011
Company Holiday Party
The dress is a very beautiful dress and i received great compliments on the dress and the way it fit my curves. my only bad experience is that the size i wanted to wear did not come with the under layer, so i had to go with the bigger size. but it was still a great experience
See more reviews:
14 / 44

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×