Kate Lace V Dress

$30 rental
$410 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Want to make that lasting first impression? Wear this stunning Nicole Miller lace dress to make him fall in love. Add a hint of color with Kenneth Jay Lane’s Emerald Drop Earrings.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Black lace with nude stretch lining. V neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1643 reviews
Fit
Large122
True to Size1168
Small149
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 170lbs
January 6, 2015
Classy, Comfy Dress
This dress is 2 pieces, a nude slip and a black lace overlay. The slip seems to run small and the lace overlay seems to run large. I ordered a L and a M, and the medium slip was too small for my chest, but the large slip had one broken strap, although the other strap had a tag from that said "tailored" indicating that it had just been repaired by the dry cleaner. I'm not sure why they would have fixed one strap but not the other, or how one strap could become detached in transit. Either way, I was more comfortable in my own nude slip anyway, so I wore that with the black lace dress instead of either slip that came with the dress. I wanted to be more comfortable rather than sexy, so I wore the L dress although both fit. If I had a smaller bust I probably would have worn the medium. The dress is low cut but very comfortable and classy. It worked well for my New Years Eve party but I would prefer a more modest neckline for most other events (that could easily be pinned or taped). Overall a win!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 5, 2015
Conservative cut complimented by sexy detailing and fit
I ordered the XS and S based on the reviews of others. The XS was too small (I supposed I was being optimistic) and the S fit fine. It's a snug fitting dress that was relatively comfortable. There was a hole in the back, left hand sleeve by the shoulder but it wasn't visible so i didn't pose much of a problem.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
January 5, 2015
Wore it on Christmas.
It is pretty tight and as other mentioned is low cut so I added a nude tank top under it as well. A little revealing for Christmas.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
January 5, 2015
Lovely dress, lots of compliments
This was a lovely dress and I got lots of compliments on it all night during a NYE party. I kept it classy by pairing the ensemble with a short pearl necklace and pearl studs and a pointy leather black heel. The dress comes with a nude slip under, and under that I wore spanx and nude tights because it was a cold night out. However, the nude slip did a great job of keeping the belly fat in. The dress was long when standing straight up, but as the night wore on and I was dancing, because it is tight, it rode up to about 1/2 up the thigh, but still looked classy. I had a good rental experience overall.
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
January 5, 2015
Perfect dress for a winter wedding
No regrets about ordering this dress. It was beautiful. I am 6'1 and usually a size 4-6. The small fit perfectly and was long enough to still look classy. The top of the dress was a bit stretched out but it was hardly noticeable. Overall, great experience.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
January 4, 2015
I loved the way this dress fit. It was classy and elegant, compliments all night long!
The fit was as expected. The underneath layer was a perfect touch to this dress. It shaped everything just how it should have been. The dress itself however was not in the best condition when it was received. There were a few spots in the lace that were ripped. Fortunately because of the style of the dress and the fact that it was all lace, nobody was able to tell. I was just nervous all night that it would tear. Otherwise, I would recommend this dress. I loved it, and I would rent it again with hopes of no tears!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 3, 2015
Sexy, classy, beautiful!
I loved this dress! I wore it to a New Years Eve party that was themed "Fancy and Glittery!" and this was perfect. The lace is truly beautiful and the neckline adds enough sex appeal without being too short or revealing too much. As other reviewers have said, the dress comes in two parts- the nude slip and the lace overlay. I am really short- 4'11, and definitely would be defined as "curvy"- I have muscular thighs and a booty for sure so I was nervous about this dress being tight, but it worked beautifully. I ordered both the small and the medium, and ended up wearing the small. The slip smoothes everything out, and the lace is just beautiful. As usual, RTR was right on time and made dressing so easy! I paired this with simple nude heels and a very simple gold necklace. The dress is so beautiful, it doesn't need much in the way of jewelry or bling.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
January 2, 2015
Perfect fit!
This was my first rental and I loved it! The dress was stretchy enough to hug in all the right places but be forgiving in others. Very comfortable and dressy enough for a nice NYE date that included dinner and drinks. I'm attending a ball in February, and I'll definitely be renting again for it. I can't wait to pick out my next dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Age: 32
January 2, 2015
beautiful dress, perfect for a winter wedding.
dress arrived as scheduled, however when I tried it on there was a large hole in the arm sleeve. I was able to mend the hole and wear it to the event. it is a great dress for taller girls, I am 6' and the length and arm length was perfect. this was my first RTR experience, despite the hole in the dress I would rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Wedding
January 2, 2015
Loved this dress! A classy dress for a wedding!
I actually wore the medium slip with the small dress! The small slip was a bit tight.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
January 2, 2015
This dress was the most elegant thing I've ever worn!!
I cannot say enough positive things about this dress. My boyfriend summed it up well - "seeing it on the hanger DEFINITELY doesn't do it justice." I agree with the other reviewers in that the slip underneath acts like a spanx, so I didn't need to wear any spanx myself. You can wear a regular bra which is AWESOME - The dress definitely shows a lot of cleavage, but it wasn't obscene; I think the long sleeves & knee length along with the thick lace material made it an overall classy dress that I felt more than comfortable wearing at a nice restaurant for NYE dinner. I would recommend this dress to anyone wanting to combine elegance with a little sass!! I was so sad to turn this dress in...I wanted to keep it forever!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
January 2, 2015
I loved the look and feel of this dress! The length was perfect as well as the long sleeves!
I am not terribly large in the bust area, and I think that made this dress a bit loose fitting in that department. I wore a black strapless bra with this dress due to the straps showing through the lace (do not recommend a colored bra at all). The fit of the dress was wonderful. This dress was incredibly comfortable as well. Definitely recommend this for any event!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
January 1, 2015
Stunning, classy dress
This dress is beautiful! It is so classy, just modest enough but also sexy. My boyfriend absolutely loved it which is my favorite! This is such a timeless dress that I would consider buying it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
January 1, 2015
This dress fit beautifully for our NYE celebrations. I received many compliments.
This dress would look good on anyone. Hugs all the right places and hides flaws.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122lbs
December 30, 2014
Loved this dress. It was sexy and comfortable and just right!
I wore this to my husband's office holiday party. I wore the XS dress with the S slip. Like others said, the slip ran tighter/smaller than the dress. And the XS slip did come with white straps, whereas the S slip had nude straps that matched the rest of the dress. I was surprised at how well the XS dress fit, and with the slip, it even held in my post-2-babies belly. I have a modest bust, but the dress did gape a little just below the bustline, so I used fashion tape. Would definitely rent this dress again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
December 29, 2014
Wore it to a friend's birthday celebration!
Never did I ever think I would fit into an XS, but I did! It fit like a glove and was super sexy. Can wear regular underwear with this. My only complaint is that the slip rode up in the car, when walking, etc. Need to keep a close eye on it, as the slip is separate from the lace overlay!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 29, 2014
Felt amazing in this dress!
I received this as a back-up dress- RTR's excellent customer service over-nighted this dress when my first choice didn't fit. I am so glad that they did! It's a little hard to tell, but the dress is actually a nude slip with a lace overlay- the two are not connected. The length was perfect too; not too short! I paired it with fancy stud earrings and black heels with ankle straps. I received many compliments and felt great. Another RTR success!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
December 29, 2014
Great dress, not for girls who are top heavy.
The top section is too small for anyone in a C cup +. Lovely dress, but I had to wear a black insert because the top section was extremely small (cleavage level would have been ridiculous, not sexy),
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
December 28, 2014
Classy and sexy!
I wore this for my company's holiday party, and received a ton of compliments. Like previous reviews have stated, I wore the larger slip (M) with the small outer lace layer. I had to get a little creative with a safety pin up top to make sure that the dress stayed coworker appropriate! But other than that, I was quite comfortable all night.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 128lbs
December 27, 2014
The dress looked good - but more importantly made me look great!
I wore the size S with the M under layer - worked well. It is a little cleavage-y, and I'm just a 34B, but it actually looked good. It was comfy and the under layer added some support.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
December 26, 2014
Pretty!
This dress was really special for a black-tie Christmas event. I loved the sleeves and the overall lace look. I didn't realize it was going to be low-cut though—be prepared! Thankfully it is on the long side, so it was still fairly tasteful.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 25, 2014
I got so many compliments in this dress- loved it!!
I wear a size 6-8 and the medium was a perfect fit
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
December 24, 2014
Great Dress for a party or wedding
This was a great dress to rent for a holiday party I attended. I had initially planned on wearing it to my office party as well, but I have a larger chest and it was too boob-a-licious for me! The dress comes with a nude slip and I wore the small slip (more like spanx) with the medium dress. I would have worn the small dress, but there was a small tear in the lace.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
December 23, 2014
It was perfect
I loved the dress. I got so many compliments. It was just above the knee (I am 5'8") I am a true medium. It was a perfect fit and perfect for a more formal work Christmas Party
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2014
Incredibly flattering, low neck line but the sleeves and length make it appropriate for an event.
At my mother's suggestion, I decided to pick out a dress for a Christmas party we were attending from RTR. I was nervous at first about renting a dress and receiving it only a day before an event I was attending, but was reassured that they offer you the option to select a back up size as well. The dress was of course gorgeous on the model, but while browsing through pictures of this dress on other girls, it legitimately seemed to look good on every shape and size. I wanted something sophisticated but still a little fun, so this dress was the perfect fit. And fit perfectly as well. The sleeves and body have some give, and the slip that comes with it helps "suck everything in" a bit. I usually steer toward loser fitting clothing for a flattering look, but felt great despite this dress being form fitting. I am very excited to use this site again and will have to try very hard not to rent the same dress twice.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121lbs
December 22, 2014
Worn for a formal holiday party at a DC venue
Sooo the PS size was tight through the butt and thigh, but fit me perfectly at the bust and through the arms... The S was more forgiving through the lower half of my body but it gapped a bit at the top (see first picture). My friends swore it wasn't noticeable, but I worried about it all night and tried to pose with one leg forward. The nude slip is totally detachable - you have to zip that up. The black lace overlay has no zipper - its got lots of stretch. Overall not one of my faves (usually Nicole Miller fits me like a glove).
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Body type: Athletic
December 22, 2014
Loved it!!
I loved this dress!! I would buy it if I could. This dress was so comfortable and very flattering. My only small complaint is that the nude underslip showed at the bottom every so often.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
December 22, 2014
Classy and Sexy!
This dress was gorgeous on and it fit like a dream. It's very sexy yet still is very classy looking. I'm full busted, and this still worked out great. It's a great dress for an hourglass figure, for sure! I was worried it would be too short on me since I am tall, but it fell just above my knee. Surprisingly comfortable too! Will definitely rent again.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
December 22, 2014
Not what expected but it worked ok
This dress was a little disappointing but overall still worked really well. It fit great throughout the body, but the arms were baggy. Because the arms and shoulders were baggy the dress looked, for lack of a better word, matronly. I ordered the dress because I thought it would be a sexy long-sleeve dress with the lace and the low neckline. It was still a pretty dress, but if the sleeves and shoulders had been fitted better I would have loved it. I did not try the small because the rest of the dress fit perfectly, and I did not want to stretch the dress out for anyone else. Sidenote for those with larger chests - the slip for the medium covered me about as well as a triangle bikini. I'd recommend wearing a nude bra to make up for the lack of slip coverage beneath the lace.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
December 22, 2014
Beautiful dress, but a little long and low cut
Loved the dress itself. Beautiful lace. But, even the XS went to my knees. Also, it's a very deep V neck. *Everything* was out. Would not have been appropriate for the work holiday party I ordered it for.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 124lbs
December 22, 2014
Classy dress
I rented a S and M. I am usually a 4 in dresses. The small I wore but it was big up top. The sleeves were long and the neck was big. Also the straps on the nude slip had been changed from nude to white, which shown through the lace dress. I didn't notice but the straps on the medium nude slip were nude and I could have switched it out. It was low cut so be confident to show some cleavage. The length was classy and it was not hot or uncomfortable. Spanks not necessary since the dress was not form fitting. Probably wont rent this one again, but it was fine for the country club cocktail event I wore it to.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
December 22, 2014
This dress was perfect, I would definitely rent again.
The arms were a little long but not noticeable. Being petite the dress was much longer than on the model but this actually made it more appropriate for a work holiday party and balanced out the plunging neckline. Overall, the dress looked great and I received compliments on it all night.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
December 22, 2014
Had a few issues, but sexy and comfortable!
This dress is very sexy and comfortable. I felt amazing it in. While it looks pretty restricting, I was able to comfortably dance in it all night. I also received many compliments on it. The slip works as a spanx to smooth things out - which is appreciated! I ordered a M and L. The L was big overall (including the slip). The straps on the slip are not adjustable, which is the main reason I went with the M (held in my chest much better). I needed to use fashion tape to hold the neckline in place - it was stretched out and kept popping open at the V. There was a hole in the elbow, which I was able to cover this up by bunching up the sleeve a bit. Of course, Rent the Runway has great customer service and offered to credit me the cost of the dress or refund my rental fee. Overall, great, sexy dress with some fixable flaws.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 21, 2014
Sexy-Elegant!
Perfect winter wedding dress. Super comfortable, felt great on and looked amazing! Got many compliments. I did not wear the slip underneath, I wore my own black spanx slip, still looked great! The slip it came with wasn't very supportive on top, needed more support. Other than that, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
December 21, 2014
2nd time renting, love this dress!
Fits true to size!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
December 20, 2014
So many compliments. Fit like a glove.
A lot of the reviews said to go a size down for the slip (this is a 2 piece dress) and a size up in the dress. I'm 5'4, 110 pounds and the XS fit me perfectly. It fit like a glove. I don't normally wear tighter dresses but because this was longer I was very comfortable in it. I got compliments on it all night. This was my first RTR and I'll def do it again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
Age: 32
December 20, 2014
Sexy!
The M fit like a glove but ended up being too sexy of a look for the holiday party I was going to, more appropriate for NYE. Fit my pear shape great, easy to make the low neckline work with a safety pin
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
December 20, 2014
Great dress for a winter wedding!
This dress was perfect for a winter wedding. I am typically a size 2 and the xs fit great. Even at 5'9 the length was just right
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Rented for:
Party
December 20, 2014
Very Elegant Dress! Loved it!
Fit great and seemed true to size. Ordered small and medium and both fit. The small seemed to be a little stretched out so I chose to wear the medium. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
December 19, 2014
Elegant and sexy, all in 1!
This dress is stretchy and really form fitting. Elegant and beautiful. The lace work is intricate. I just had not realized that there are slight ruffles on the arms. Not bad, just hand't spotted the ruffles on the pictures posted online. Simple pair of shoes and jewelry will do.
View photos (2)
See more reviews:
11 / 42

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×