Nicole Miller

Kate Lace V Dress

$79 to buy
$410 retail
Stylist Notes

This sleek lace LBD by Nicole Miller is versatile and chic. Pair with pumps for a put together look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - may be worn with a standard bra yet fashion tape is recommended to secure deep V neckline
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; stretchy fabric allows for comfortable room though consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - curvier women should consider sizing up for full hips
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Black lace. V-neckline. Long sleeves. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. 36'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Nude stretch slip is not guaranteed.

Share
1761 reviews
Fit
Large
(127)
True to Size
(1212)
Small
(150)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 106lbs
February 1, 2013
It's fun to wear a dress once and then give it back.
I like this dress but if I owned it I would have had it shortened. I am 5'3" and wear three inch heels and I think it feel a bit too long on me. Also, if you are busty (I am a 32C) this may not work for you. I had to wear something under it because the V-neck dipped too low.
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 1, 2013
Perfect for our Christmas party
We hosted a semi-formal party and it was amazing not having to worry about the dress on top of everything else that needed to be handled. I wore the XS with the S slip because the bust area is TINY on the slip! If I had more time I would've bought a slip that fit better, or maybe a nude bra instead of black would've looked better. Aside from the slip, it's a fantastic fitting dress that's super comfortable and I got compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 90lbs
February 2, 2013
Wasn't for me.
This was my backup dress I requested. It was a lovely dress but being 5'3 it hung a bit low on me and showed off a bit to much chest for my taste.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 3, 2013
Proposal
I wore this for a trip to NYC, which turned into my boyfriend proposing!! It was an unforgettable night and I am so happy I was wearing a nice dress. The only thing I didn't LOVE about the dress is that in some of the pictures of the actual proposal I looked somewhat naked underneath. I'm not sure if it was the lighting or what! But I did love the dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
February 4, 2013
I received compliments ALL night long!
I was a little hesitant to get this dress because after two babies, I still have some body issues. Let me just say, the nude slip underneath works GREAT and the lace sheath is just beautiful. The dress is super comfortable, but also very sexy. I am a 36D and I wore the large slip with the M dress. I am glad that RTR sent the tape because I definitely needed it. The plunge of the V neck is very deep and depending on what kind of party you are going to, you may want the tape for some added coverage. Overall, I LOVED this dress and so did my husband! He stared at me all night! Would definitely rent again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 4, 2013
Looking in the mirror and not worrying how I would measure up to anyone else's dress!
Beautiful dress. I am 5'7 and it still hit my knees, so it's definitely longer than it appears in the model picture. It fits beautifully but definitely hugs your curves, so be mindful of that depending on your body type. The lace was very good quality and didn't have any snags, which I appreciated. It was a lovely dress and I definitely felt sexy wearing it. I would recommend it for any event that requires cocktail attire.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 4, 2013
Really tight and sexy
The small was skintight. And the medium baggy so its a tough call which to go with. But it's a really pretty dress. I went with the tight fit, and felt fine. Unfortunately the slip was ripped at the hem (received this way) but no one sees the slip so it was okay.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 57
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 4, 2013
Great Fit - ordered the small and medium - wore the medium spanx and small dress.
Dress worked well!! Clean and delivered just as promised.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 180lbs
February 4, 2013
I felt so confident!
Never in my life do I think I received so many compliments! I rented this dress for a black tie affair. I was so worried that it wouldn't fit ONLY because with having a large chest, ordering anything online and it fitting is nearly impossible. I was so relieved and excited when the dress fit I actually didn't want to take it off! haha! Now, for us larger chested women I highly recommend adding a little closure to the front by adding a simple stitch to close the low V-neck. It was easy to remove at the end of the night. Undergarments wise, I kept it simple with a tank top style spanx that went over my hips. The nude under garment that came with the dress does hold you in a little bit but for those of us with a little extra something, something, I suggest an extra layer to hold you in. I think there was 5 of us total that rented from RentTheRunway and we all had a blast! Thank you so much for making my night so amazing and memorable.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
February 5, 2013
Love, Love , Love!
Loved this dress....I'm only 5'2 so it was a little longer than I thought. I paired it with classic black pumps and it gave me the height to help my legs look longer. I would still recommend this dress for a shorter woman because eventhough it hit at the knee for me it still looks gorgeous paired with the right shoes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
February 6, 2013
Form fitting and comfortable - not a standard combination!
This dress is fantastic - I seriously considered buying it from RTR. The slip is separate from the lace outer-layer, and the combination makes it almost similar to a Spanx dress. It is form fitting but very comfortable, and everything stays in place. Even with all the dancing I was never tugging/re-adjusting. It is low-cut in the front so be wary of that, but it is long enough to make it appropriate. People of all ages and both genders had great compliments to give.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 123lbs
February 7, 2013
It was fun to try the lace trend without the commitment of purchasing a dress!
The combination of the earrings and the dress made me feel fashionable, elegant and sexy all at the same time.The dress runs true to size, and the deep v-neck was just revealing enough for the occasion. I think it might be too revealing for larger chested women, depending on the look you're going for! The earrings were big and bold - just beautiful. RTR never lets me down!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
February 7, 2013
So many compliments!!
This dress was incredible. It was so comfortable and flattering on my hourglass figure. It was very snug and I'd agree to go a size up if you can but being that L was the largest it still worked. It rode up just a little but it was not noticeable to anyone else and easy to fix throughout the night. I would rent this dress again and again!! I wore with nude strappy heels so the focus was on the dress which made me about 6' tall. The dress came to just above the knee which was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 122lbs
February 8, 2013
I felt so glamorous on my birthday celebration date with my hubby at a fancy restaurant!
I ordered the XS and S for back up. The dress comes with a nude slip to wear under the lace dress. I ended up wearing the S slip under the XS dress. I felt that was the most flattering fit for me. I was not bothered with itchiness by the lace material where it touched my arms, chest and upper back. The date was in late November in Canada, just across the border of northern Maine, so I wanted a dress to keep me somewhat warm. Was very comfortable in this dress. Fashion tape to keep the cleavage tasteful is a must. The only time I felt awkward in the dress was when I stood up from the table and had to adjust and pull down the skirt of the dress. Overall was very pleased with my RTR experience! I live in such a remote area in northern Maine that it usually takes an extra day for anything by mail, but it arrived on time on the date expected! Thanks RTR for helping to make my birthday celebration so special!!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 8, 2013
It fit about as expected. I am 4 months post partum so I'm 10 lbs heavier and a size 10 right now.
I was actually pretty disappointed with my dress. I got the medium and large and because I'm still carrying some baby weight and defnitely needed the large. It wasn't too revealing, even for a nursing mother whose bust grows as the night goes on :) I did get a lot of compliments, but I'm pretty disappointed with the dress I got in particular and hope RTR retires it after my wear. The straps were replaced and white instead of nude, which was obvious, the lace was coming off and there were strings in some places plus it smelled like the person who got it before me was wearing horrible perfume and sweated a lot in it and they couldn't get it out. Not the most pleasant. The medium, which didn't fit, was perfect. I was pretty disappointed, especially because I've rented before without issue. The dress defnitely looked borrowed.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 129lbs
February 8, 2013
I decided to return this dress, as it just didn't fit my expectation.
Dress was longer than it appears in picture, which gave me a matronly appearance. The slip/spanx undergarment was a nice touch, but fit awkwardly. Overall, I was not impressed with this dress for the event I needed it for.
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 10, 2013
Sexy dress for wedding at Ballroom at the Ben in Philly!
Loved this dress and got SO many compliments. I felt it ran a little small (the spanks underneath was super tight), but of course I wasn't not going to wear the dress after I ordered it...so I wore it despite it being on the tight side and definitely thought it photographed really well. I loved it, and can't beat the price for a designer dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 11, 2013
Fabulous dress!
Fit great. I wore the small spanx-like undergarment and the small dress. I had no problems with either. This was a comfortable easy-wear dress. It's so pretty, it requires no other accessories, really...just slip on and you're set! Would definitely rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
February 11, 2013
Fun dress for a tall girl!
This dress is fabulous. I am 6'1 and a bit curvy so it's often hard to find a dress that looks classy and sexy at the same time. This dress did just that! I wore it out in Vegas. I wanted to stay on the conservative side because I was there for a professional conference, and I was going out with others who were there for the same conference. Because I am 6'1, the length of this dress was great on me. I also loved having the lace sleeves - it was simply beautiful. I can't wait to rent it again. Oh, and the dress had the perfect amount of stretch, so that it was really comfortable. Also, I did not wear spanx because the part of the dress under the lace did a great job sucking it all in! :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
Great dress!
This dress was awesome. I generally wear a 2, and the small fit me perfectly other than being a little large in the chest. I received SO many compliments on this dress and would rent it again in a heartbeat. Perfect for a winter wedding or other cold-weathered event.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 11, 2013
I got compliments on my dress all night long!
It fit very well, I wore the medium slip and the small dress per others' reviews. It was extremely comfortable and lots of shoe/earring/clutch combinations would match it. I've never gotten so many compliments on a black dress before. Sometimes the dress would ride up over the slip but it was an easy problem to fix. I'm definitely renting it again!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165lbs
February 11, 2013
This dress is perfect for if you want to look 20 pounds thinner, HOT, all while remaining classy!
I rented this dress because of the amazing reviews I read. Everyone was right. This dress is phenomenal. I got so many compliments! I felt like the belle of the ball! My husband couldn't take his eyes off me! This dress hides everything you want it to hide and accentuates the things you want accentuated. It's perfect. I've got large tata's and I was easily able to pull the dress up and offer as much or as little clevage as I wanted. Like everyone else suggested, if you've got large tata's, order a size up for the slip. I wore the size L slip and the size M dress. This dress also falls a little above the knee. (On the model it looks like a mini dress almost.)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2013
Flattering dress! It made me look skinny and feel sexy!
I received a bunch of compliments on this dress and it fit perfectly! The dress was form fitting and easy to slip on. I felt comfortable in the dress and was did nto have to worry about how I looked in the dress all day.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
February 12, 2013
Loved the dress!! I would rent it again for sure.
The dress was exactly what I expected. So pretty and very comfortable to wear. However I didn't like the white straps on the under layer. Seems like a cheap mistake but I don't think it was too noticeable. The "V" is very deep and I eneded up wearing it with a strapless bra which didn't add as much clevage. Paired it with nude pantent leather pumps.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 126lbs
February 12, 2013
Amazing dress, Amazing fit!
This was my backup dress for my engagement anniversary dinner w/ the new hubby. I was skeptical about it at first b/c it looked a bit old for me. Luckily, however, I went against my first judgement and rented it as my backup anyway b/c I LOVED it! The dress was BEAUTIFUL, from the lace to the fit, etc. And the under lining was surprisingly like wearing a spanx underlayer so the lace when put over fit so beautifully! I was definitely sad to see the dress go but so happy that I rented it for my special occasion.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 13, 2013
CEO's wife loved my dress!!
This dress fit like a glove! Like the other reviewers said, the nude slip underneath was tight but not uncomfortable, just enough to give my spanx the night off. The material is stretchy which was great to dance all night in! I wore this to a formal event for my husband's job, and as we walked in the CEO's wife could not stop raving about the dress!! That was just the beginning of a night of compliments! Thank you so much RTR!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 15, 2013
Great dress for an hourglass figure.
Thank goodness when I had a problem with the fit on the dresses in my original order I was shipped this one as a replacement. It is an amazing dress! It has 2 pieces--a biege spanx slip and a lace fitted stretchy fabric dress. I usually wear a 6/8 and the medium was great. It is sexy without being too over the top, and it is very forgiving with fit as the whole dress stretches. I would highly recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 102lbs
February 15, 2013
Unfortunately, this dress didn't work for me.
The dress is beautiful, but I was not able to wear it because it was too big. The skirt fell beneath my knees and the sleeves were too long as well. The top was loose and showed my bra underneath. I was disappointed because it really is a beautiful dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 51
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 17, 2013
Lovely Dress!
I wore this to a fund raising event at a museum. It was perfect because it was sexy but very sophisticated. I did need to wear fashion tape at the bust to keep the girls under cover. Overall I loved it.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 131lbs
February 18, 2013
Meh
This dress is beautiful, particularly for a winter wedding. However, the lace was stretched on near the waist and bust so the small didn't fit. The second size I ordered was a medium so in the end, I just couldn't wear it. Bummer.
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 47
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 18, 2013
Beautiful dress. Received lots of compliments. Would rent again!
Wore the L over M for the extra length--was about an inch longer overall.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
February 19, 2013
GORGEOUS DRESS!
I have never received so many compliments on a dress before! its extremely elegant, fits perfectly and very flattering!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
February 20, 2013
It fit really great everywhere except the chest. However, I have a really small chest.
Needed to pin the top closed. Fairly snug through the hips. Received a lot of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 20, 2013
All the fabulous compliments!
The fit is great but be aware, if you have a bigger chest, the girls are going to be out there for everyone to see. I ended up wearing it with a scarf to keep it a little classier. If it was for a different event, I wouldn't have minded.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 153lbs
February 20, 2013
Great dress for a tall woman
I really liked the length of the dress and the style! I did however have to use the medium beige slip with the small black lace dress! They are two separate pieces. My only concern is that I am a d cup and I had way too much cleavage for my taste. Other than that I felt very comfortable and sexy in the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 21, 2013
STUNNING!
I felt beautiful and sexy in this dress. It is perfect for an evening wedding or cocktail party. It is a sophisticated dress with a hint of sexy that is sure to turn many heads. Months later I am still receiving compliments!
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
February 22, 2013
I felt so sexy
It was beautiful. hugs your curves. Mine came with a beige slip which was very helpful. Not too revealing, but just enough. I would rent it again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Apple
February 23, 2013
Perfect fit, length & sexiness!
Absolutely loved this dress! Received so many compliments on the fit & style.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2013
This was my first time using rent the runway and it was a great experience! Such wonderful service.
I wore the M, fit was very comfortable. True to size. I'm just under 5'4" so the dress came to my knee.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2013
Had a great time at a wedding- but wearing a different RTR dress
Ordered this dress for a wedding but ended up wearing my backup style instead- the dress was a bit tight- it might have been comfortable enough for just standing/sitting around, but I had a long night of dancing ahead of me and wanted something I felt more comfortable in! Despite the waist the lace was actually not very flattering and the pattern was a bit too chunky for me. However, overall the dress was of good quality and would probably look nice on other body types.
See more reviews:
11 / 45

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×