Nicole Miller

Hopelessly in Love Gown

$95 to buy
$530 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Turn heads in this jaw dropping Nicole Miller red halter gown. A stunning color for a stunning woman! Pair with trendy accessories like the Elizabeth Cole's Triple Black Diamond Bracelet and a chic handbag like the Carlos Falchi's Black Coffee Clutch.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet slightly short in length (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best for B or C cup sizes - halter neckline should be worn with no bra or a NuBra - removable padding in bust - smaller busted women should consider sizing down
WAIST: Fitted - fitted at natural waist with ruched band, which conceals mid-section
HIPS: Not fitted
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or a NuBra
FABRIC: Fabric has no stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Red silk georgette(100% silk). Halter neckline. Back spaghetti straps. Ruched waist. Draped skirt. Hook-and-eye closure. Hidden back zip. Imported. See size and fit tab for length.

Share
77 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(70)
Small
(4)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
May 2, 2013
Awesome
Really comfortable and fun to wear. Really flowey. The neck line was a little lower than it appears and it was meant for women with a nice bust. Reccomend it!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
July 28, 2013
I plan on using RTR many more times in the future!
The top exposed more on me than the picture led on. However, I got several complements on how beautiful the dress was!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
August 13, 2013
Wish I could have worn TWO dresses to the wedding!
This was a back up dress I rented for a black-tie wedding. I ended up not wearing it because the other dress I ordered had more of a "sexy" factor. This one is gorgeous though -- I felt like a Greek goddess in it. I was worried the plunge of the cleavage might be too loose and not hold my boobs in, but it's actually just tight enough. The whole thing is really pretty, and I would rent it again for something else.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127lbs
October 12, 2013
Pretty color, loved the back!
Loved everything about the dress, only thing I would change is the lower front portion, it is kind of separated in the middle so when you walk it kind of flows out, still very pretty just not my personal style, I would probably use a sticky bra with this, or something that works with a plunging neckline/semi-low back!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 23, 2013
This dress made me feel like a million bucks and it was definitely the one my boyfriend preferred.
If a halter cut flatters your figure, this is the dress for you. It's pretty low cut, so you'll want some fashion tape to keep everything in place. I was actually able to wear a bra under this for added support, although tape was required for keeping it hidden. The only size available was a 4, but that was a bit snug for me. I probably would have gotten a 6 if I could have. I'm awkwardly between sizes right now, so I'm not surprised the 4 felt snug. I could still move and breathe. If I were a true 4, I think it would have fit just fine. Final thought: a lot of times, those flowy front pleats can make you look more bulky, but on this dress they don't. They add a nice line and are actually kind of forgiving, drawing attention away from any telltale shadows.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
November 19, 2013
This dress fit amazing and was very forgiving, loved it!
I would just say that if you have ample cleavage, you will definitely be on display! Nothing a little double sided tape didn't help with though. I'd definitely recommend this dress. I wore the regular length with 4 inch heels and I'm 5'3", and it was perfect. The midsection does not give, so if your tummy is not as tight as you'd like, you might need to size up to compensate like I did. Still fit comfortably all night though.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
December 2, 2013
I got so many compliments and stood out in a sea of black dresses.
Fit was true to size and was very comfortable. The regular length was perfect with 3" heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
December 18, 2013
Felt super glamorous!
Fit great, super flattering in the waist and bust. I did use some tape to secure the top to be extra safe but it was probably unnecessary. I work 4 inch heels and it was still just a little long but I am very short. The back straps were slightly frayed but not too noticable
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
March 2, 2014
The open back is beautiful!
Fit pefectly. I am large up top and the smaller size 2 kept everything where it was supposed to be. The length was perfect with heels. I got lots of compliments! I recommend the dress!!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 105lbs
March 24, 2014
It is a glorious color in person. True to the picture.
It fits perfect! I danced all night and had no issues.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2014
This dress was beautiful, the color stood out and was so comfortable to sing and breathe in.
I was worried about the length because I was wearing flats and I wasn't sure if it'd be too long and I'd trip over it but it was perfect. I didn't even have to lift it up as I walked but it was enough length to cover my shoes as I stood there and sang, which is what I wanted. (I wore it for my vocal classical performance recital) I did not wear a bra with it, which I recommend, because the front dips down just far enough to see the middle of a strapless bra. What I did was wear those petal things you can buy at Target or Walmart and that was perfect. I have small boobs but I still felt strapped in and secure.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 116lbs
June 14, 2014
Beautiful.
Dress was perfect. Looks like the picture. It was a little too long for me, I had 4" heels and almost stepped on the edge at times, but otherwise it was awesome.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 137lbs
September 18, 2014
I got lots of compliments on this dress!
I'm a bit busty so I did have to use some fashion tape to reduce the cleavage factor. However, the dress was very flattering. I think the 6 would have fit better, but my second dress wasn't available and I received the same style that a friend had ordered.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
June 25, 2014
Eye-catching and fun
Because I ordered really late, I could only find 2R and 2L though I thought the 4 might fit better. The 2 was tight but totally manageable-- I have big lats so the 2 thin diagonal straps on the back were the only worrisome part of the dress but it didn't cause any problems throughout the night even with a lot of dancing! Previous reviews made me worry about the chest part of the dress: the material was thin but had slots for padding so you won't have awkward nipping. I thought about wearing the long with my 4.5 in heels (which would still leave a little bit of the dress dragging) but went with the regular with a pair of flats which worked out perfectly!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 3, 2011
Several attendees complimented me on my gown, and only two others in attendance wore red: a reporter and Helena Bonham Carter. Definitely worth the rental price if you want to catch attention. Due to this dress, I had the confidence to talk to Yao Ming's promoter, John Lasseter, Jason Isaacs, and David Yates. Renting again for New Years Eve!
I wore this gown to the Britannia Awards in Beverly Hills on Wednesday night. It's such a beautiful dress! I ordered the 2L and the 4R. My size is typically 4, but 4L wasn't available for the night. 4R worked just fine, a little long for black 2 1/2 heels, though. The dress was too low for a NuBra so I opted for BareLifts, the stickers that go above your breasts to pull them upwards. For accessories, I wore drop diamond earrings and a simple 2 row diamond bracelet (fake of course :D). I also had a black clutch to match my black shoes, but the shoes are really not visible at all since the gown is floor length. Hope this helps!
HaleyApril 9, 2012
I'm a HUGE Harry Potter fan, so I am so jealous that you got to talk to Jason Issacs and David Yates and see Helena-she's my favorite!
rj326June 7, 2012
what size did you order?
RTRJune 11, 2012
We recommend your true size in this style and size up for back up if you have a fuller bust!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 48
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
February 12, 2012
The dress really stood out in a sea of black dresses!
This dress was great! This was my first experience with Rent the Runway and I will definitely do it again. I wore a halter-type bra which I would recommend if possible. It's more low-cut then I usually wear, but I used double-sided tape which worked well. Tons of compliments at a back-tie affair!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 30, 2012
Perfect dress to attend the Creative Arts Emmys in 100+ degrees - was light, fit well, flattering.
Fit true to size and was flattering on my small chest and wider hips. I did not need to wear any unusual support or shaping undergarments, which held in the heat. Very flattering over all.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 53
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
November 14, 2012
The dress fit perfectly. I received many compliments. I definitely recommend this dress.
I ordered this dress in a very short time span. There wasn't a need to secure the halter as it held in place beautifully. My bust is natural so I did have to purchase a backless plunge bra. My size is between 8 and 10 average. The 8R was tight in the bodice so I went with the 10R. I'm 66.5-inches tall so I wore 4 inch heels. The dress was still about 3/4 of an inch longer than what I would normally wear. On a side note, the 8R seemed clean, but had a stain on it so I'm really glad the 10R fit. I will rent again from RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125lbs
November 17, 2012
It was great I did have to tighten the to area to make it tighter but it was great. The 4R fit great
No cons
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 150lbs
November 27, 2012
Walking into the ball with a stunning red dress like this was a perfect fit.
The neckline is rather low, I had to alter it with a bit of fashion tape (which RTR is SO helpful to give you by the way!) other than that, it's a FANTASTIC dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 19, 2013
This dress definitely has a "wow" factor! Simple and elegant, it definitely says "less is more!"
This was very true to size! I am 5'6", and I got the long size. Wore it with heels for the perfect length. THe color is very vivid and eye-catching! I received lots of compliments :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
February 19, 2013
this is a beautiful dress! Flows well and fits beautifully.
I wore this to the Heart Ball. Very elegant and simple but stunning. It's definitely such that you need to tape for "safety" but well worth it :-)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 127lbs
April 15, 2013
Nice, but just not for me.
I chose this dress as a back-up when one of the sizes that I ordered was unavailable. It is a lovely dress, but it didn't deliver the "WOW" factor that I needed for my event. I only gave it four stars because I had high hopes for it and because, even in just three in heels, the dress was a little too short. More of shoe was showing than I would have liked. Again, it's a lovely dress; I hope someone else has better luck with it than I did.
abiMay 2, 2013
Curious... which dress did you end up going with?
H.G.May 3, 2013
I ended up wearing the Halston Heritage Forever Mine Gown. Loved it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 17, 2013
I loved this dress!
It was a little small in bust area because I am very large but the larger dress was swimming on me so I just looked a little more voluptuous than I would have usually chosen but it looked really nice. Although other reviews said it ran short, it was long on me with high heels, very high heels on and I had to lift the gown to walk and not trip on it. It was gorgeous! I felt amazing!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 16, 2011
Mason's Ball the "Hit f the Ni
I would like to express my sincere thanks and satisfaction of the fantastic and successful evening that I had with this beautiful dress. I was the only woman dress in red and definitely made an statement among the other guest that evening. My boyfriend was delighted to have me next to him and every men wished they were holding my hand. I felt very special. Thank you for been able to provide me with a beautiful dress and a wonderful experience. Here are my pictures! Sincerely grateful! Glenda I will be renting again for the holidays coming up and definitely for New Years! :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2012
Stunning Dress!!!
This dress is stunning! I wore it to a holiday Gala and the combined color, fabric, and flattering, albeit comfortable fit made me feel amazing and confident throughout the evening. The only drawback is the length. I am 5'1" and though I wore three inch heels, the dress was still quite long. I would highly recommend purchasing the fashion tape along with the rental for those of you who are petite.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
September 28, 2012
The way I felt when I put on that dress
The neck gets uncomfortable and the back zipper is tricky when the zipper hits the sash section.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 8, 2012
Nice but just not for me.
RTR sent this to me cause the dress I wanted wasn't available. I was a little upset cause they didn't forewarn me about it. It was a great dress just not my style. I don't like halters that's why.
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
October 31, 2012
It fit beautifully!
I ordered this for a fundraising event, and it fit beautifully. I have an hourglass shape, and with some double-sided tape, the top stayed put. The bust's v was not too deep, but just enough to create great shape. Also, the skirt grazed my hips and the a-line shape was very complimentary.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 119lbs
November 19, 2012
it was just perfect and pretty
fit like a glove...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
December 11, 2012
Flattering gown!
This was my first RTR experience & I'm now recommending it to everyone! The dress was very comfortable for a long night of eating, drinking & dancing! The fitted waist & flowing skirt were so flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
January 25, 2013
Lovely dress, but too big up top
I am usually a size 2, but I ordered a 2 and a 4 since I had had a baby 3 weeks before my formal event, and I wasn't sure if I could fit back into a 2 by that point. I thought this dress would work well for a post-baby belly since it was fitted at the top and flowing at the bottom. Unfortunately, both the 2 and the 4 were too long in the top, causing the top to gap and the neckline to be far too low on me. I do have a shorter torso, and I think that was the issue. Still, the dress was gorgeous and I was sad not to be able to wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 38
Body type: Petite
March 18, 2013
Nice
The dress was nice, you could tell it had been worn. The extra size had a stain on the inside, and both dresses were a little worn, but it still looked great at the ball
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
June 17, 2013
u can't go wrong with red
it's amazing how a dress so comfortable can make u look so good.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
June 23, 2013
The dress billowed beautifully in the wind next to the beach!
Love the color, it was so vibrant! Beautiful cut and draping; however it seems like my particular dress had a tendency to pull to the right, which exposed one side of my chest more than the other... other than that I absolutely loved it! Length is perfect with 5 inch heels. A little long if you wear them with flat shoes, and you end up tripping over yourself.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
May 30, 2014
Total showstopper
I felt so sexy in this dress. The deep plunge might be too much for some people, but it's very classy and the detail on the bottom is so elegant. It's very old-Hollywood glam and I received compliments all night. I love compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 56
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
December 13, 2015
Beautiful dress, but it has a pretty low neckline.
I rented this for a black tie event for work. The gown was beautiful, but the neckline was pretty low. I wasn't comfortable so I ended up wearing my shawl all night. Having said the, most people would be fine, my situation was conservative.
See more reviews:
2 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×