A Fair Lady Dress

$38 to buy
$420 retail
Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this figure flattering Nicole Miller colored lace cocktail dress. The perfect choice to make his jaw drop when you walk into the room. Pair with Nicole Miller Accessories’ Star Light Star Bright Necklace to complete your look.

Also available in black, forest green and coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length; lace is longer than slip - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length; lace is longer than slip - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Purple lace. Square neckline. Cap sleeves. Cut-out back. Inner slip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1299 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(961)
Small
(242)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 25, 2012
All of the compliments on the dress! I felt beautiful
I absolutely loved this dress, loved the color and style.. Did fit a little snug but still looked good even without spanx!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
August 26, 2012
Summer Wedding
I rented this for a summer wedding - I wasn't sure what to wear because it was an evening backyard cocktail wedding. The dress was elegant, comfortable and ended up being extremely flattering. It was definitely an appropriate pick - not too formal or too casual!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
August 27, 2012
Perfect
Perfect for a Nantucket wedding
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
August 27, 2012
My Fair Lady
I wore this Nicole Miller dress to an outdoor wedding this summer. Everything about the dress from the rich purple color, to the structure / lace detailing, to the open back made me feel like a blonde version of Audrey Hepburn in "My Fair Lady". I now know why they gave the dress that name. It was classic and elegant, yet comfortable enough for me to dance the night away!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
August 28, 2012
Fantastic date dress
I rented this dress for a date (birthday dinner!), and I was extremely pleased with it. It is very form-fitting and flattering, although the lace's pattern was a little bit more broadening around the hips than I had anticipated. My boyfriend, however, loved it! It is also a bit bluer than I'd thought--but I loved both iterations of the color. Overall, highly recommended, and the back is fab.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
August 30, 2012
LOVE this dress
I had rented this dress in black lace last October and loved it b/c it was sexy, classy, comfortable and I can put it in a suitcase without it wrinkling. The color is purple, some people thought it was blue b/c the slip in more like a blue color, but definitely purple. I didn't have to wear spanx b/c it's lace and doesn't show flaws as much. I did wear a strapless bando bra b/c my regular strapless bra made the dress too tight around the bust. I got so many compliments again....I wish it came in another color to wear to my next wedding:)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
September 4, 2012
The process was easy, the dress was exactly what I expected/hoped and I didn't have to spend hundreds of dollars to get the look I wanted.
I usually wear between a 0-2. I chose sizes: petite (P) and small (S). The petite fit better, not as loose on the top or sides. Seemed to fit true to size. I think this dress would look good on any figure and received a ton of compliments. I had no problem wearing a bra with it too. The color looked true to the online photo..purple/lavender.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
September 4, 2012
Customer service it's outstanding, everything is easy to order and the return was a piece of cake.
This dress is fabulous. The fit was perfect for my body type (petite with big boobs) and it was very comfortable to wear. I was even running around dancing and chasing my 17 month old baby and I was comfortable at all times.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
September 4, 2012
LOVED this dress. Got so many compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 143lbs
September 4, 2012
The two best compliments I received were that it fit me like a glove and that I should definitely buy that dress!
Loved this dress! I wore it to an indoor August wedding, and like many other reviewers, I received a ton of compliments. I was a little nervous ordering a size medium since it seems like there is much more variation in sizing than with standard numbered sizing, but this thing fit like a glove. I tried it on with and without spanx and no one could tell the difference so I ended up ditching them. The back is gorgeous, I definitely recommend wearing your hair up!
KathiaSeptember 10, 2012
Hi Ali: I love how this dress looks on you!! Can you share more on the slip vs. lace on the dress. I am your height and bust size and was concerned about it being too short for a wedding or the slip being too short on my thighs. Thank you!!!
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi Ali! The dress is 38' inches from shoulder to hem, so it should not be too short for a wedding! The slip is just a few inches shorter than the lace.
AliSeptember 24, 2012
Hi Kathia, you should be fine, I didn't think it was too short at all. For me, the lace only came down an inch or two below the shirt hem, unlike the model. You should try it and get the free second size.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
July 18, 2012
This is a great dress
Everybody loves it. It fits perfectly and it is very comfortable,
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138lbs
September 5, 2012
Loved the color, received so many compliments!
I loved the fun color and the flattering fit. It helps balance broad shoulders with the shape of the straps. Consider wearing spanx if you have a tummy. It was a little short for a catholic wedding but with a wrap I felt more covered up, and then it was great for the reception. I always get compliments on RTR dresses... way more then when I buy my own! This dress was no exception. The only cons were that the straps felt a little wider in the back, so they felt slightly loose, but it wasn't a dealbreaker for me. Also, I probably would've liked another inch of the slip dress under the lace overlay; that would've made me feel more comfortable since it's a tighter dress. But if you're a shorter person that won't be a problem.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 125lbs
September 5, 2012
A total stranger came up to me at the wedding and said "Oooh I love your dress".
I wore this dress to a church wedding in June. It was the perfect standout in a sea of black dresses. The lace was really pretty and the cut out detail in the back a really nice touch. I'm only 5'1" and I'm always nervous about these dresses being too long on me but it was the perfect length. The color is a mix between a blue/purple ...the slip is actually purple and the lace overlay is blue. I paired it with silver heels and accessories.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 115lbs
September 6, 2012
Amazing Dress
I wore this dress to my sister in law wedding rehearsal. I got tons of compliments. The size small fit nicely and the neck line is very flattering for a large bust. I am 5'4 115 lbs and the small fit great. The material and the color are just beautiful!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
September 6, 2012
Pretty dress, just not for me
I rented this dress for my Aunts wedding. I absolutely loved the color and style and the lace! For me however, it was just too form fitting and I didn't feel comfortable in it-even with my Spanx. I was really bummed and someday hope to give it another try.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 7, 2012
Several friends who are RTR customers oohed and aahed over the dress saying it is one that they have been wanting to rent, and definitely will rent now!
This is the perfect dress for a semi-formal/cocktail attire wedding. It is definitely more purple in person than it looks in pictures, but still beautiful! I got tons of compliments, and it was pretty comfy to wear, too! I ended up wearing the XS. I am 5'9'' and about 120 pounds. Because of my height I was very worried the dress would be too short, but the liner is an appropriate length, and the extra lace material at the bottom adds length, too.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 7, 2012
Perfect dress!!
This dress is prettier in person than the picture shows! Gorgeous fit for a slim body- shows every curve- but will get you compliments at any event!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180lbs
September 8, 2012
Hugs curves, sexy and classy
I have a true hourglass shape, with a more than ample bust and hips, so it's always a struggle to fit the curves, while still showing off my slimmer waist. The material here was surprisingly and thankfully more giving than I'd thought. Color was as shown, and the lace added the touch of class I wanted. The fit hugged my curves, but I felt gorgeous. I put it on and muttered to myself "this is the one." I liked that I could wear a regular bra for needed support. Wore it to two weddings (the same weekend ;), and received lots of compliments. It's a sexy dress, but I didn't feel like it was "too much." Rock your curves!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
September 9, 2012
Wish it wasnt
Didnt end up wearing this dress but I did tried it on. And wasnt in love, not even like. The color was a bit blah and it was super short. The lace though on this dress is just gorgeous.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 51
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
September 9, 2012
My husband loved this dress
The color, lace and fit of the dress was great. It was romantic and sexy but didn't show too much skin. My husband loved it. Lots of compliments from everyone.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 9, 2012
Recommend!
Great dress. Received a ton of compliments all night!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
September 10, 2012
Beautiful!
This is such an elegant gorgeous dress! I do think it's navy blue, not purple.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 10, 2012
Wore this to a friend's wedding and loved it. Received a ton of compliments..wish I could have kept it ;)
The color was very true to life. The lace detail (especially the back) was amazing! I'm only 5' 3" and I thought it was a little long on me...probably fabulous for 5' 6" and taller :) Would highly recommend using RTR for all your dressy needs!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Was so nice to wear a dress that I would normally not be able to afford.
This dress was amazing! It fit so nice! I wore some shape wear underneath to hold in the middle area ;) Everyone complimented me on my dress...people I knew, people I didn't know. I have never received that many compliments on a dress at a wedding before! LOVED!!
DrikaSeptember 11, 2012
I am wondering how it would fit in a size large as i am a size 12 if you dont mind whats your size in numbers?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi! A size large is recommended for anyone who is usually a size 10 or 12, so you should be fine with the size large!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
Loved the dress! The back was beautiful and I received many compliments on it :) I would recommend a strapless bra with it but not necessary. This was my first experience with rent the runway and I will definitely be using it again for my next event!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2012
Absolutely stunning!
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely fell in love! It fit like a glove! I received SO many compliments, and the lace truly added to the dress. I 100% would recommend this! If you want to stand out, this is the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2012
great dress!
Fit great, neck line doesn't stretch out like the other nicole miller lace dresses. Tight enough on top that i didn't have to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 11, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!
LOVED wearing this dress to an afternoon garden wedding. Got so many compliments. I felt very sexy but appropriate. Wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 11, 2012
I have never received so many compliments on my dress at a Wedding!
When I first put this dress on, I was concerned it was a little too snug...and too sexy for a wedding. But I've been wearing the same boring black dress to the past few weddings so I just needed to adjust to a different dress. ;) The color was amazing, and the lace overlay was very elegant. The dress was definitely a little snug, but that's just the style. I thought it was very flattering on my full bust figure, and fortunately the sleeves allowed me to wear a regular bra (I really dislike strapless). I'm so glad I rented this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Anniversary hit! Perfect!
One of the best dresses I have ever worn. Comfortable, beautiful color purple-blue, fit perfect, came a few inches above my knees. I was worried the lace might be itchy, not at all. I wore the dress for our five year wedding anniversary and my husband was blown away by the dress. Said he would buy it because he loved the way I looked in it! :) thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2012
great dress
wore this to a wedding the weekend after labor day...was a perfect dress for the occasion. great fit and beautiful color. i received tons of compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2012
return it because it was too small
it was too young and too small for me but was a really nice dress. It has some spandex in it which I didn't realize when I ordered it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 14, 2012
Great fit. Great color. Great dress. Lots of compliments.
This fit me like a glove, and was very flattering. The inner slip has a lot of 'pull' to it and has a bit of a spanx effect!! (bonus!). I wore a strapless bra and used fashion tape on the front at the top to make sure it wouldn't show at all. The color is more blue-purple than purple-purple. The neckline is flattering and the back is gorgeous. Many people stopped me to compliment the dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2012
Fits beautifully and moves with you - even on crutches!
I broke my ankle a few days before my event, so I was worried about how the dress would work. It was wonderful. Very comfortable, moved with me and gave just enough in all the right spots. I received compliments all evening. Some Nichole Miller dresses run tight in the rear-end, this one runs true to size, and I could wear a normal bra and not have it show in front of in the back cut-out.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 17, 2012
Cute and Fun Dress
I ordered the Petite and Small, both fit, but the P was a bit snug so I went with the S for a little more room. It was really cute for a wedding and with all the lace detail, I didn't need to wear accesories, just a simple pair of pearl earrings. I received compliments. My only complaints were the dresses smelled funny when I received them, almost like moth balls or like they'd been sitting in a basement. Also, you could tell the dresses had been worn many times previously. It looked a bit worn and there were some imperfections to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
September 17, 2012
Fabulous Sexy Dress!
It's definitely a body hugging dress, but it's incredibly comfortable! It's even bra friendly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 17, 2012
Amazing experience!
This was my first RTR experience and I can honestly say I don't think I'll ever buy another dress for a wedding because this was so cheap, effortless, and I just LOVED the dress! I had originally bought a few dresses and weren't thrilled with them, so a friend suggested this particular dress (she had wore it to a wedding a few months ago through RTR). It came the night before, I tried it on and was sold! I read through a bunch of reviews prior to the dress arriving so took their advice and made sure I had spanx on hand. I was able to wear a normal bra, the straps of the dress totally hid its straps. I would highly recommend this dress, but only if you don't mind receiving compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
Absolutely loved the dress and was told over and over how amazing it looked!
True to size however I opted for the smaller of the two sent to me. This was because the top part was a little big on me in the back with the small. The petite fit like a glove but in a flattering way.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 17, 2012
My boyfriend loved the fit!
Take advantage of ordering two sizes as I ended up wearing the smaller size as the fabric had some streatch to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
LOVED IT!
Very beautiful, I tried both medium and large, both looked okay, but the large didn't lay right in the back. I went with the medium, it was tight enough to make me feel confident, yet still comfortable. Did not wear shapewear, at the time I didn't feel like I needed it, but looking back and the pictures, I probably should have worn something. Wear a strapless bra with this (push-up). As others said, it does tend to ride up, a lot. But I highly recommend this. I was pleasently surprised that this dress gets so much use yet still looks brand new, (even had tad on medium)
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
1 / 33

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×