Nicole Miller

A Fair Lady Dress

$38 to buy
$420 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Show off your curves in this figure flattering Nicole Miller colored lace cocktail dress. The perfect choice to make his jaw drop when you walk into the room. Pair with Nicole Miller Accessories’ Star Light Star Bright Necklace to complete your look.

Also available in black, forest green and coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes P,S,M,L. Size P=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust
WAIST: Fitted - fitted throughout midsection; consider wearing with SPANX to cinch in abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted throughout skirt
LENGTH: Mid-thigh to knee length; lace is longer than slip - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'9".)

Product Details

Purple lace. Square neckline. Cap sleeves. Cut-out back. Inner slip. 38'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
1300 reviews
Fit
Large
(41)
True to Size
(962)
Small
(242)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 10, 2012
Wore this to a friend's wedding and loved it. Received a ton of compliments..wish I could have kept it ;)
The color was very true to life. The lace detail (especially the back) was amazing! I'm only 5' 3" and I thought it was a little long on me...probably fabulous for 5' 6" and taller :) Would highly recommend using RTR for all your dressy needs!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
September 10, 2012
Was so nice to wear a dress that I would normally not be able to afford.
This dress was amazing! It fit so nice! I wore some shape wear underneath to hold in the middle area ;) Everyone complimented me on my dress...people I knew, people I didn't know. I have never received that many compliments on a dress at a wedding before! LOVED!!
DrikaSeptember 11, 2012
I am wondering how it would fit in a size large as i am a size 12 if you dont mind whats your size in numbers?
RTR CustomerSeptember 19, 2012
Hi! A size large is recommended for anyone who is usually a size 10 or 12, so you should be fine with the size large!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 10, 2012
Beautiful Dress!
Loved the dress! The back was beautiful and I received many compliments on it :) I would recommend a strapless bra with it but not necessary. This was my first experience with rent the runway and I will definitely be using it again for my next event!
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 10, 2012
Absolutely stunning!
I rented this dress for a wedding and absolutely fell in love! It fit like a glove! I received SO many compliments, and the lace truly added to the dress. I 100% would recommend this! If you want to stand out, this is the dress!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Body type: Petite
Weight: 135lbs
September 11, 2012
great dress!
Fit great, neck line doesn't stretch out like the other nicole miller lace dresses. Tight enough on top that i didn't have to wear a bra!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
September 11, 2012
BEAUTIFUL!
LOVED wearing this dress to an afternoon garden wedding. Got so many compliments. I felt very sexy but appropriate. Wish I owned it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 11, 2012
I have never received so many compliments on my dress at a Wedding!
When I first put this dress on, I was concerned it was a little too snug...and too sexy for a wedding. But I've been wearing the same boring black dress to the past few weddings so I just needed to adjust to a different dress. ;) The color was amazing, and the lace overlay was very elegant. The dress was definitely a little snug, but that's just the style. I thought it was very flattering on my full bust figure, and fortunately the sleeves allowed me to wear a regular bra (I really dislike strapless). I'm so glad I rented this dress!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110lbs
September 11, 2012
Anniversary hit! Perfect!
One of the best dresses I have ever worn. Comfortable, beautiful color purple-blue, fit perfect, came a few inches above my knees. I was worried the lace might be itchy, not at all. I wore the dress for our five year wedding anniversary and my husband was blown away by the dress. Said he would buy it because he loved the way I looked in it! :) thanks RTR!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
September 12, 2012
great dress
wore this to a wedding the weekend after labor day...was a perfect dress for the occasion. great fit and beautiful color. i received tons of compliments throughout the night.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 64
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 14, 2012
return it because it was too small
it was too young and too small for me but was a really nice dress. It has some spandex in it which I didn't realize when I ordered it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
September 14, 2012
Great fit. Great color. Great dress. Lots of compliments.
This fit me like a glove, and was very flattering. The inner slip has a lot of 'pull' to it and has a bit of a spanx effect!! (bonus!). I wore a strapless bra and used fashion tape on the front at the top to make sure it wouldn't show at all. The color is more blue-purple than purple-purple. The neckline is flattering and the back is gorgeous. Many people stopped me to compliment the dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 15, 2012
Fits beautifully and moves with you - even on crutches!
I broke my ankle a few days before my event, so I was worried about how the dress would work. It was wonderful. Very comfortable, moved with me and gave just enough in all the right spots. I received compliments all evening. Some Nichole Miller dresses run tight in the rear-end, this one runs true to size, and I could wear a normal bra and not have it show in front of in the back cut-out.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
September 17, 2012
Cute and Fun Dress
I ordered the Petite and Small, both fit, but the P was a bit snug so I went with the S for a little more room. It was really cute for a wedding and with all the lace detail, I didn't need to wear accesories, just a simple pair of pearl earrings. I received compliments. My only complaints were the dresses smelled funny when I received them, almost like moth balls or like they'd been sitting in a basement. Also, you could tell the dresses had been worn many times previously. It looked a bit worn and there were some imperfections to the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 142lbs
September 17, 2012
Fabulous Sexy Dress!
It's definitely a body hugging dress, but it's incredibly comfortable! It's even bra friendly!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 17, 2012
Amazing experience!
This was my first RTR experience and I can honestly say I don't think I'll ever buy another dress for a wedding because this was so cheap, effortless, and I just LOVED the dress! I had originally bought a few dresses and weren't thrilled with them, so a friend suggested this particular dress (she had wore it to a wedding a few months ago through RTR). It came the night before, I tried it on and was sold! I read through a bunch of reviews prior to the dress arriving so took their advice and made sure I had spanx on hand. I was able to wear a normal bra, the straps of the dress totally hid its straps. I would highly recommend this dress, but only if you don't mind receiving compliments all night!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 17, 2012
Absolutely loved the dress and was told over and over how amazing it looked!
True to size however I opted for the smaller of the two sent to me. This was because the top part was a little big on me in the back with the small. The petite fit like a glove but in a flattering way.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 59
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 132lbs
September 17, 2012
My boyfriend loved the fit!
Take advantage of ordering two sizes as I ended up wearing the smaller size as the fabric had some streatch to it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 18, 2012
LOVED IT!
Very beautiful, I tried both medium and large, both looked okay, but the large didn't lay right in the back. I went with the medium, it was tight enough to make me feel confident, yet still comfortable. Did not wear shapewear, at the time I didn't feel like I needed it, but looking back and the pictures, I probably should have worn something. Wear a strapless bra with this (push-up). As others said, it does tend to ride up, a lot. But I highly recommend this. I was pleasently surprised that this dress gets so much use yet still looks brand new, (even had tad on medium)
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 18, 2012
unbelievable compliments!
this dress fit like a glove, and i got so many compliments on wearing it! The lace was high quality and had enough stretchiness for my curves and for lots of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
September 19, 2012
The same day delivery in NYC - have to love living in this city!
The dress was very true to size. With no zipper you are wiggly and struggling to make sure you can get it on; however, once it is it fits like a glove.
MaureenSeptember 25, 2012
Funny - there IS a zipper! I didn't see it either until I was packing it up to return it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
I was comfortable all night!
I highly recommend this dress to everyone. The material of the dress makes it so the size you choose will definitely fit. The dress is so flattering that I'm still receiving compliments from how it looked on. It's a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
September 19, 2012
This dress looked good and was so comfortable!
It fit really snugly, but it wasn't too tight. I wore it to a wedding full of models, since the bride was a model, and even though I certainly don't look like a model, the dress definitely made me feel more confident around them because it looked and felt so good! So happy with this rental!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
September 20, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress. It was fitted but structured so that it was flattering.
Beautiful color and fit. I wore this with the nicole miller teardrop dangle earrings, also available on RTR. The overall process of choosing, getting, weaering, and returning the dress was so fun and easy. I highly reccomend this one!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
Faculous - Fabulous - Fabulous!
The dress and complete rental experience was perfect! Can't wait to have another occasion to rent!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
September 20, 2012
I have never gotten more compliments on a dress before! LOVE!
The neckline is beautiful but I did need to pin it up a bit at the straps because they were a little big. The rest of the dress fit beautifully and overall, this is one of the best dresses I've worn to a wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 21, 2012
This dress was perfect for the wedding! It is a great color and beautiful fit! Also very comfortable
Fit was right on, length was great! Very comfortable and no wrinkles in this dress!
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 0
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 92lbs
September 21, 2012
I rented this for my boyfriend's birthday dinner and not able to wear it coz it was a bit big.
This brand runs big if you are petite like me size 0 will not work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 116lbs
September 21, 2012
Beautiful dress! Loved it!
I had gotten the P and the S. Both fit, but the P was just a little snug and I felt more comfortable in the S. Was perfect for a black-tie optional wedding. Loved it!
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 21, 2012
Looked worn
I thought that overall it looked worn (a lot) and fit as thought a much larger person had tried to squeeze into it and in the process stretched out the lace. I fit horrible. I am not a large person, curvy but not large. I am always a size 8. This dress was way to big.
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 22, 2012
I got so many compliments on this dress, the fit, the color, everyone was raving about it.
A little snug around the hips, but nothing scandalous or uncomfortable.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 180lbs
September 23, 2012
Lovely
Very pretty dress. Very tight - I ended up wearing the smaller size b/c both of them were equally tight, but the straps and back were too big and loose in the larger size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
September 24, 2012
The color of this dress is perfection.
I really, really wanted to give this dress 5 stars, but it had some issue. It looked outstanding when standing still. I have some "saddlebags"(I could NEVER wear Herve Leger) and was concerned that this dress would accentuate them, but it was quite the opposite. However, when I walked, that lining REALLY rode up. I looked down at one point and my underwear were nearly showing under the lace! Also, this particular dress (it may have been just this one dress) seem to be cut funny because it really wanted to shift left all night. Basically, I had to constantly pull, shift and adjust things in this dress, which made it fairly uncomfortable. I still had to give it 4 stars though because it is insanely beautiful.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
September 24, 2012
Great Dress!!
I loved this dress adn received many compliments on it. I did have to pull the dress down every time I stood up, but I have this issue with most dresses. So, although it was troublesome, I expected it with the dress being close fitting. The dress is very soft and comfy and I felt very pretty wearing it. I wasn't self conscious at all! This was a great experience
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2012
I loved the color and the lace! I received so many compliments on this dress!
It does run smaller than I thought so I'm glad I went a size up as other reviewers had mentioned. But it fits very well. The lining which is suppose to be shorter than dress does tend to hike up and I would recommend spanx as it is form fitting. Great dress though! Loved the lace and color!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
September 24, 2012
So many compliments!
This dress is so beautiful in person! I wore it to a wedding and received so many compliments from my friends as well as people I've never met. The fit is fantastic, stretchy and so comfortable. Perfect for a night of dancing!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
September 25, 2012
Comfortable and Classy
When I placed my RTR order for this wedding's dresses the "A Fair Lady Dress" was the one I was most nervous about, for three reasons: 1) I'm 5'11" and I was concerned that the lining underneath the lace would stop too short on my legs and it would be an inappropriate length. 2) I have fairly broad shoulders and I was worried that the straps would be too narrow across my chest, resulting in pinched "armpit fat". 3) That it was form fitted and I would be self conscious all night trying to suck in my stomach. Luckily, none of these turned out to be a concern! The size LG fit wonderfully, the fabric had a lot of stretch and was very comfortable, and the length was completely appropriate. The lace detailing has the great ability to conceal -- I never once felt subconscious. I was told upwards of 10 times how beautiful the dress was; even the groom told me that I wasn't supposed to look better than the bride!
AlexNovember 30, 2012
Thanks so much! I'm exactly your size and was thinking it would be too short and tight. Definitely going to rent it now :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
September 25, 2012
First order from RTR and I loved it! The package came on time too which I was nervous about
I wore this dress to a Sept wedding and I got soo many compliments. This dress felt great to wear, and didn't bunch at all. I train a lot for triathlons and was worried that it would be too tight on the bottom half, but it was just right. Not too snug but still very sexy. I wish I could own this dress for sure! I ordered a size P and S, and went with the P since it was a perfect fit
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 26, 2012
This dress was perfect! I got compliments ALL night long..
The dres fit really well and the lace detailwas very pretty. I got compliments from the moment we met up for the party! While out at a casino later, I got compliments from men, women, AND men WITH their wives/girlfriends. It was unbelievable! I can't wait to rent another dress for a special occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
P
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
September 27, 2012
So beautiful, and comfortable to wear all day! Received many compliments!
Fit mostly true to size. It was a little loose in the mid-section and the arm straps were a little long, but not enough for anyone to notice but me. Plan on wearing a strapless bra.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
September 28, 2012
Beautiful dress...just not for me :(
I'm so sad that this dress didn't work out for me like it did on everyone else. I ordered the Petite and the Small (the 2 smallest sizes) and they just swallowed me. The fabric was very baggy in the back and it made me look a lot larger than I am. The dress is gorgeous on a hanger, but not the best on my body type. Some pros of the dress are the detailing! The lace is beautiful, and I like how the designer covered the side zipper so that it isn't visible or rubs your skin. The color is a muted, dark periwinkle. Very unique and stunning on all skin tones. RTR was very helpful in wanting to find me another dress the day before the wedding, but unfortunately this event just didn't workout :( This doesn't ruin my experience with RTR, and I will definitely be renting again!
See more reviews:
3 / 33

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×