Nicole Miller

Drop Dead Gold Gorgeous Gown

$180 to buy
$1,200 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This stunning Nicole Miller gown is sure to make a statement. Beautiful beading creates a delicate design that molds to your curves. Pair with gold chandelier earrings for an elegant monochromatic look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best from A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a strapless bra - small busted women should consider sizing down in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted through bodicing - beading highlights lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted thoughtout hips and back-side - for curvy women, consider sizing up in back-up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below - Long is for heights above 5'6"

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Product Details

Gold tulle with gold beading. V neckline. Spaghetti straps. Racer back with cutout detail. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
218 reviews
Fit
Large
(31)
True to Size
(180)
Small
(7)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 56
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
January 23, 2013
Shows all the curves...
This dress is beautiful, but ended up being a bit too clinging & curve showing for my comfort. My boyfriend loved it, but I was afraid I would fall out of the dress even with fashion tape to hold it in place. It does seem to run a bit small. If I had gone a size up, I'm afraid I would not have been able to contain the "girls", but it might have fit better in the hips... The length was perfect & the dress is a bit heavy. Not too much, but 3x heavier than the DVF dress I ended up wearing. The overall experience of RTR was amazing & I can't wait til my next event so I can rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140lbs
January 24, 2013
The dress was awesome everyone loved it including me! I felt like such a superstar, RTR is the best!
This was my first time renting from RTR. I normally don't where petite sizes but was so glad I order the 6P. Due to my height even with 4 inch heels the 6R was too long. The 6P was perfect for me, it still covered my shoes. The dress was fitting so glad that the 4R was out of stock it would have been too small. The comment I got that night of the ball made me so happy with my choice, this is truly drop dead gorgeous!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 28, 2013
The theme for our Ball was "Escape to Casablanca" and this dress was perfect
It fit like a glove - heavy, given the weight of the beading, but really gorgeous. The color is a dark gold, very glamorous, I absolutely loved it! It fit true to size, absolutely fabulous dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
January 29, 2013
be ready to get noticed!!
This dress is unbelievable. It is a walk in the room and everyone notices kind of dress. It was a little long for me, so I am glad I had the hem tape. It is very beaded, so if it is too long, you will step on the beads and break them. It is also heavy, so it might not be the best choice if you will be doing a lot of dancing. But, it is worth renting if you want to feel glamorous!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113lbs
February 3, 2013
Beautiful dress...I received many compliments throughout the night!
I am 5'2" and with about 3.5" heels with the R0 was an ideal length. To accessorize I found great gold and crystal drop earrings and stuck with nude peep-toe pumps. I wish it had been slightly tighter around the waist, but it's still a beautiful, flattering dress.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
February 5, 2013
It was fabulous!
I was a little nervous about my boobs falling out the whole time because it was a little big (wish they made it in a 00p) and even with sticky boob bras there really wasn't anything I could wear. Other than that, I loved it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 8, 2013
Not a good first experience but will give it another try!!
I didn't wear either, the size 2 fitted me perfectly but was not long enough and the bigger size was just too big!! The color looks different in person. The size 2 had so many loose threads hanging from the beads it looked like lots of people had worn it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
February 12, 2013
A real life "Golden Globe!" Felt like a movie star!
Beautiful! I rented this dress for my husband's annual award's banquet. I was the best dressed of the night. A total knockout, I was receiving compliments all night. Seriously, this is a show stopper! It is heavy, but "hangs" just right and looks AMAZING in photos. I ordered a 2L and a 4L. Interestingly, they both fit about the same. I went with the 4L as it fit just a bit better in the rib area AND I liked the beading better..the beading differed in color between the two sizes! (I am athletic with no bust, but have broad shoulders and ribs). I say "rent it!"
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2013
Wore this for a fundraiser and felt absolutely gorgeous in it!
Very detailed, very high quality dress. It is rather heavy and the straps dug in a little bit at the end of the night. I got a million compliments and felt sparkly, shiny and very pretty in it.
HunterMarch 21, 2013
Gorgeous! What kind of bra did you wear?!
RTR CustomerMarch 25, 2013
Hi! I would suggest wearing the Braza Strapless Adhesive Reveal Bra with this dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 113lbs
February 17, 2013
Awesome dress! Fit perfectly and I received countless comments.
Well fitted dress and perfect lentgh. It is a heavy garment, however. Other than that, I loved it.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 39
Bust size: 32DDD/E
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
February 21, 2013
My chest is too large for this dress.
The detail on this dress is amazing but my chest is way too big for the deep plunge in the front!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 117lbs
November 11, 2012
Very GLAM. Loved it
Great dress. Quality beading.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 132lbs
January 29, 2013
Beautiful
Fits true to size
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 25, 2013
The dress was beautiful and unique. Definitely a head-turner, although I did get some dirty looks.
The fit was perfect, aside from the chest area. Being bigger-busted, I probably should have gone with something a little more conservative. With fashion tape there were no worries about spilling out, but I felt it was too much cleavage for a formal affair. Also being 5'2 I was worried about the length, but with 4 inch heels, it was perfect - I prefer to have my feet covered completely though so it may be too long for some people's liking. Overall, it was the perfect dress aside from the cleavage issues.
RTR CustomerMarch 13, 2013
I hope you don't mind me asking but Im a size D, compared to your own size do you think the fit would be too tight? thanks
MrsCheathamMarch 15, 2013
I am not sure if it was tight on me or just a lower cut than I would have liked. Either way, it is a lot of cleavage. I hope that helps you make your decision!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
February 25, 2013
Mostt perfect dress!
I am 5'1" and the dress was easily 3 inches too long even with 3 inch heels. Other than that, it was perfect!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2013
This dress made me feel really sexy! I always wear black but branched out and it was worth it!
I got a million compliments which certainly helped my self esteem as this dress is not forgiving and is revealing. I feel like I showed a lot of chest, but luckily I am small chested so with the help of doubled sided tape there were no malfunctions. I didn't use inserts or a bra. I am 5ft 8in and wore 3 inch heels (no platform) and felt the dress was the perfect length. All in all I felt it might have been a little sexy, but again all the compliments I got helped me pull it off!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 26, 2013
Perfect for a black tie event - glamorous and elegant.
Great fit! The one minor issue I had was the dress is pretty heavy, so I felt like it kept slipping down as the night went on. I'm flat chested so it wasn't a problem, but I can see how it might be a problem for someone with a fuller chest. It is pretty low cut! The fabric and beading was perfect - very glamorous dress without being too flashy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130lbs
February 27, 2013
This dress was awesome. I wore it to an Inaugural Ball and got tons of compliments all night.
This was my first choice and I was so glad it worked. It fit really well, was a great length, and easy to wear. I'd definitely wear this dress again if I could afford it. I received it a day early so I had time to try it without panicking. LOVED it. The ladies at RTR were great and super helpful determining what size/dress to choose. Thanks, RTR!
KendallMarch 5, 2013
Did you do anything to help it fit well in the chest? I'm about the same body type as you are
RTR CustomerMarch 6, 2013
Hi Kendall! I would suggest wearing the Braza Strapless Adhesive Reveal Bra with this dress!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 163lbs
February 28, 2013
The dress was gorgeous, but the fit wasn't!
When I saw this dress I fell in love with. Unfortunately, the fitting in the bust area was horrible! It would not have fit unless I had DD's. There was no way to temporarily alter it to make it work for the event. I'm glad I ordered a back up style.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
March 2, 2013
Award-winning dress
Rented this one for the Grammy's and couldn't have made a better decision. Received so many compliments, I felt lucky just to be in it. The only aspect of this dress, which I kind of struggled with was the bra part. Since the dress sits so low, I didn't really feel 100% supported but guess alot of people couldn't tell :)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Body type: Petite
Weight: 102lbs
March 2, 2013
Fit like a glove.
The beading is absolutely beautiful, I'd say it even looks better in person. I wore this to my junior prom and got so many compliments, and I was comfortable in it all night. I didn't want to take it off! Gorgeous dress.
SBMarch 12, 2013
You look amazingg, this is the picture that convinced me to get this dress for my prom.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
March 4, 2013
This dress also looked as though 50 girls had worn it.
The dress was very heavy, and would not be comfortable after an hour. The eye hook was missing from the dress.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
March 5, 2013
I wore this dress to a black tie wedding. It was PERFECT!
Fit great- no complaints!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 128lbs
March 8, 2013
Not what I expected
Unfortunately, this dress was not what I expected. The color was a lot darker than the image and the dress is quite heavy it almost felt like the straps couldn't hold it all up. I went with my backup the fuchsia Temperley London and couldn't be happier.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
March 11, 2013
Got a ton of compliments on this dress! Made me feel beautiful <3
I had seen in some comments to go up a size. I am in between a 4 and a 6, so I rented the 6 and 8. I should have gone with a 4, as I am smaller chested and it hung a bit low due to the heaviness of the dress, but I added some inserts (chicken cutlets) and it definitely helped. Altogether, it was a wonderful dress and added to the great night that we all had!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 107lbs
March 11, 2013
So many compliments! Pair with Oscar de la Renta's Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff for an exact match.
I rented this dress for a fraternity formal in New Orleans. The dress is SO beautiful- when I got a call the day before my rental was supposed to come in saying that the 0R was no longer fit to wear and that they only had the 0L available, I decided to go with the 0L rather than wear another dress because I couldn't get over how gorgeous it looked in all the pictures online. The next day, I received two 0L's, which were both the same dress but different shades- I think one must have been newer than the other and made after they updated the style a little. The one that looked newer was more of a mustard gold and had some black beads, while the older one was an antique gold that was not quite bronze but almost there. I chose to wear the older one because I loved the color more and it worked so well with the Oscar de la Renta Jeweled Champagne Branch Cuff I also rented.. I used temporary hem tape, because at 5'4 and with 5.5" platform heels, the 0L was just 1.5" too long for me. The hem tape held very well despite my worries about the dress being too heavy to stay put. I have a bigger rib cage and large shoulders, so I had no issues with the straps hurting my shoulders or the dress being too heavy. During the walks to and from the hotel and the venue on Bourbon St, I got so many compliments from a lot of the fraternity brothers, their dates, and even strangers who saw me on the street! I felt so beautiful and like the best dressed there. I have rented from RTR so many times and this rental truly was my favorite.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 14, 2013
Amazing dress...so many compliments:)
Great dress...I was able to wear a heel without dragging. Lots of bead work but not a heavy dress at all. Low cut in front and back so a bra wasn't entirely possible. I think if you had a fuller chest it could be a little "too much" in certain scenarios...I wore it to a black tie wedding. Overall, one of my favorites I've ever rented...ever.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 19, 2013
Amazing dress!!
I rented this dress for a formal gala in Miami. I was not sure how it would fit but was confident that it would be fine because of the positive reviews and because Nicole Miller is a fairly consistent designer. I ordered two sizes, a 2R and a 4R. I am typically a 4 but ended up wearing the 2 since it fit my body a little bit better. I think this dress could work on all different body types. I would definitely recommend this dress for anyone having a formal event to go to. You will get tons of compliments. I agree with the previous reviews that the dress is a darker shade of gold than how it looks in the pictures.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
March 24, 2013
LOVE LOVE LOVE
It was stunning. I felt like a princess. I ordered the 2R, I am 5'5'' and it was quite long on me. I had a slight panic moment, but brought it to a taylor that put in a temporary hem that was taken out before I shipped it back with no damage done to the dress. My prom was made special thanks to RTR. <3
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 128lbs
March 26, 2013
Absolutely gorgeous dress! Non stop compliments all night. This dress is an absolute must For formal
This dress runs large I'm a size 2 and the 0 fit like a glove, perfect. I'm 5'6 & around 128 curvy side, I was worried about front being too revealing but the size down actually held my me in not revealing at all. It was a bit long but with 4 inch heals it worked. Only con the straps were tight & hurt by the end of the night but without a doubt would rent This dress again!!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 51
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 139lbs
March 29, 2013
Stunning Dress!
Absolutely stunning dress! Wish, however, there was a little more room for "the girls."
View photos (1)
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 109lbs
March 31, 2013
Beautiful, but heavy.
This dress is very heavy, so I didn't end up wearing it. It is also very long, but I'm short so maybe that's not a problem for everyone. The color was also slightly darker than the picture suggests.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130lbs
April 14, 2013
Amazing! A real head turner!
So I pretty much fell in LOVE with this dress! I was worried I wouldn't fit (I recently lost weight and went from a size 8 to a size 6), but the fit was PERFECT! The color was a bit darker in gold, but it looked amazing. I got so many compliments from the dress and I assure you heads will turn as you walk by! The only uncomfortable thing about the dress was the amount of cleavage shown and the length, but with dress tape and heels everything was perfect! I HIGHLY recommend this dress for any occasion.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
April 21, 2013
The dress was perfect!! I felt drop dead gorgeous!!!
The fit was true to size. The color is more bronze than gold in the picture. The beading was beautiful. I absolutely loved the dress and received compliments all night!
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 168lbs
April 26, 2013
Glamourous!!
I rented this along with three other dresses. This one by far was the most beautiful on and is really just breathtaking. My fiance even commented that he wanted to buy it for me because it was so beautiful. I have a huge bum and a small waist and this dress really just accentuated my curves and made me feel so glamourous. It was a charity event with Bond theme, so this dress was a no brainer and everyone loved it. I was stopped all night to tell me how beautiful I looked in the dress. If you are even wondering, get it, you will look amazing in it!
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
April 29, 2013
Absolutely loved it!
Got this one for a marine corps ball and it felt great, got lots of compliments and the fit was spot on. Definitely a great find!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
May 1, 2013
Gorgeous dress for the Inaugural Ball! I got so many compliments and felt amazing!
I loved this dress. It fit perfectly; fitted without being too tight. The dress is pretty heavy so the small straps dug into my shoulders and the seam came out on the bottom so one portion of the dress was very long. None of the minor issues were too problematic, though, and it was such a beautiful and unique dress I would rent again in a heartbeat!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
May 2, 2013
Not as good as picture
I ended up wearing the other style I chose. It's definitely not good for pear-shapes. It's much darker than the picture and just not as pretty.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
May 2, 2013
How easy it was and how perfectly it fit!
I was supposed to receive the 4 and the 6, but the 4 was damaged so unfortunately I only got the 6. Thankfully, it fit fairly well however a smaller size could have fit better. I received compliments literally all night and loved the experience despite not receiving the second size and a small tear that my mom was able to sew. The dress was slightly heavy, but bearable and pretty easy to dance in. I would definitely recommend this site to anyone based on how accommodating and helpful everyone was. Overall, loved the dress; loved the experience. Perfect night and perfect dress.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
May 5, 2013
No regrets! I loved this dress!!
This dress is just as beautiful as the photos if not more! My goal was to look like I came straight out of The Great Gatsby. I loved the beading and the color. People are not lying when they say this dress shows a lot of cleavage. I wore this dress to my senior ball so it was a little uncomfortable to dance in but I felt so beautiful I didn't even care. Received tons of compliments. I rented a necklace as well but there was just too much goin on up there that I didn't wear it. Over all the dress turned out great!
View photos (3)
See more reviews:
4 / 6

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×