You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Drop Dead Gold Gorgeous Gown
Rental $185 Retail $1200
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
Exclusive to Rent the Runway! This stunning Nicole Miller gown is sure to make a statement. Beautiful beading creates a delicate design that molds to your curves. Pair with gold chandelier earrings for an elegant monochromatic look.
Chat with a Stylist
Gold tulle with gold beading. V neckline. Spaghetti straps. Racer back with cutout detail. See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Works best from A to C cup sizes - exposed back cannot be worn with a strapless bra - small busted women should consider sizing down in back-up size
WAIST: Fitted - fitted through bodicing - beading highlights lower abdomen
HIPS: Fitted - fitted thoughtout hips and back-side - for curvy women, consider sizing up in back-up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular is for heights 5'6" and below - Long is for heights above 5'6"

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with no bra or strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch
GREAT FOR: Apple, Athletic, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
This style is currently unavailable.
Shop all dresses
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos188

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

MrsCheatham
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5424
Feb 25, 2013
The dress was beautiful and unique. Definitely a head-turner, although I did get some dirty looks.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was perfect, aside from the chest area. Being bigger-busted, I probably should have gone with something a little more conservative. With fashion tape there were no worries about spilling out, but I felt it was too much cleavage for a formal affair. Also being 5'2 I was worried about the length, but with 4 inch heels, it was perfect - I prefer to have my feet covered completely though so it may be too long for some people's liking. Overall, it was the perfect dress aside from the cleavage issues.
susan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 50
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3634
Feb 24, 2013
ELEGANT...
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time working with RTR. The event was a black tie affair and I felt extremely elegant. It fit perfectly and was remarkably comfortable to dance in. As noted in other comments, think BRONZE when trying to accessorize...I ADORE this dress!
Kim
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6533
Feb 20, 2013
Movie-star glamour!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This is a truly gorgeous dress.I wore it to a charity gala. Unfortunately, I needed a size 6, and they didn't have any available, so I had to make do with a 4 and an 8. The 4 just barely fit, but I could tell it would get uncomfortable after a while. The 8 had to be pinned so that my chest wasn't hanging out (it was VERY low-cut, more so than the 4), but once I fixed it, it looked great! The picture is not the most flattering angle, but rest assured the dress was very flattering, even with my pale skin and red hair. I got compliments from total strangers (men and women) all night. I was so glad I rented it, because we ended up winning a South African safari trip in the raffle and had our picture taken for the event publicity. After four hours of wearing the dress, though, be warned - the straps will cut into your neck and shoulders from the weight of the dress. I would still recommend it for short-term wear when you want to impress.
Amanda
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2424
Feb 16, 2013
Beautiful Dress, Fit great in all the right places!!
Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time using RTR for, the whole process was so easy! I was nervous about the sizing, but the dress fit perfect besides the length (I'm 5'2"). I read a lot of the reviews and other girls my hight said the dress was about 3-4" to long, so I was prepared for it to be long. I also rented the necklace and it was more gorgeous in person! I went to a Mardi Gras extravaganza and seen 2 other people wearing the same dress. It didn't bother me that other girls had the dress because about 15,000 people go to that event, I expected that. I would rent again from RTR!! Very pleased with this service!
Casey
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3532
Feb 13, 2013
Wore this for a fundraiser and felt absolutely gorgeous in it!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very detailed, very high quality dress. It is rather heavy and the straps dug in a little bit at the end of the night. I got a million compliments and felt sparkly, shiny and very pretty in it.
Alice
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 132 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4542
Feb 12, 2013
A real life "Golden Globe!" Felt like a movie star!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful! I rented this dress for my husband's annual award's banquet. I was the best dressed of the night. A total knockout, I was receiving compliments all night. Seriously, this is a show stopper! It is heavy, but "hangs" just right and looks AMAZING in photos. I ordered a 2L and a 4L. Interestingly, they both fit about the same. I went with the 4L as it fit just a bit better in the rib area AND I liked the beading better..the beading differed in color between the two sizes! (I am athletic with no bust, but have broad shoulders and ribs). I say "rent it!"
Hillary
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8533
Feb 10, 2013
Sexy! (But...)
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Other's photos and details were very misleading. I originally was going to order a 12R and a 10L when I first seen the dress- but after reading reviews of others, comparing height, weight, bra size, I decided to go down a couple sizes. The 10L came in (the 8L was unavailable)... While it "FIT," there's no way I could be comfortable for the night. The girls looked like smashed cantaloupes. SO RTR Saved the day and sent the 12L. Which was more comfortable and looked more flattering. I'm not very hippy though, so I could have gone with the 12R over the 12L. I have a wide upper torso which makes fits very challenging along with a larger bust. I'm 5'6" and wore a very high heel (about 5"). And the 12L was very long with that. (Again, no hips or rear end) The fabric molds to the body and has some stretch. So by end of night - it felt like it got a little longer. Had the 10L had just a little more give on the bust- it would have been perfect. This dress is "Drop Dead Gorgeous"- I had a lot of compliments. This is a fabulous dress!
Samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2323
Feb 5, 2013
It was fabulous!
Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was a little nervous about my boobs falling out the whole time because it was a little big (wish they made it in a 00p) and even with sticky boob bras there really wasn't anything I could wear. Other than that, I loved it!
Adriana
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 113 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3322
Feb 3, 2013
Beautiful dress...I received many compliments throughout the night!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'2" and with about 3.5" heels with the R0 was an ideal length. To accessorize I found great gold and crystal drop earrings and stuck with nude peep-toe pumps. I wish it had been slightly tighter around the waist, but it's still a beautiful, flattering dress.
Tamara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8533
Jan 29, 2013
I got so many compliments about this dress! In a sea of black dresses, I stood out for sure!
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Was super comfy. Ran true to size. In retrospect, maybe those adhesive bra cups would have added a bit more support for a curvy woman like myself!
Vanessa
Usually wears: 6
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 5543
Jan 25, 2013
The dress fit like a glove. It was gorgeous. Loved everything about it. Amazing gorgeous dress.
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was super worried about the length. I'm 5'11''/6 foot, and I would have liked to wear a very high heel, I love a super high heel. I chatted online with one of the stylists, who recommended a 2 inch heel, which i did wear, and the length was fine. The front is low, but it is GLAMOUROUS, so you love it. I did end up buying breast-forms to put into the top, just for a little shape. The dress is a bit heavy, but it's a piece of art, so you just have to deal. I voted myself best dressed!! I loved it. Great experience, I can't wait to rent again from Rent the Runway.
Adrienne
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Jan 24, 2013
The dress was awesome everyone loved it including me! I felt like such a superstar, RTR is the best!
Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first time renting from RTR. I normally don't where petite sizes but was so glad I order the 6P. Due to my height even with 4 inch heels the 6R was too long. The 6P was perfect for me, it still covered my shoes. The dress was fitting so glad that the 4R was out of stock it would have been too small. The comment I got that night of the ball made me so happy with my choice, this is truly drop dead gorgeous!
Carrie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 52
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6633
Jan 23, 2013
Shows all the curves...
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is beautiful, but ended up being a bit too clinging & curve showing for my comfort. My boyfriend loved it, but I was afraid I would fall out of the dress even with fashion tape to hold it in place. It does seem to run a bit small. If I had gone a size up, I'm afraid I would not have been able to contain the "girls", but it might have fit better in the hips... The length was perfect & the dress is a bit heavy. Not too much, but 3x heavier than the DVF dress I ended up wearing. The overall experience of RTR was amazing & I can't wait til my next event so I can rent again.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 21
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5344
Jan 22, 2013
this dress was unforgettable because I felt amazing and got so many compliments!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am big busted, so I ordered the 6L and 8L as a back up size. I normally wear a 6, and I tried that on first, it fit fine through the bodice and it even fit around my bust just fine, but I tried on the 8 just for comparison and felt that I had a little more wiggle room and it supported my chest better. I could have used one of those backless plunge bras, but i just put some bathing suit padding in as make-shit inserts, and it worked fine. I am 5' 7.5" and I ordered the long lengths and the dress came right to the floor in 4 inch heels, it was perfect. I will say though that as beautiful as the dress is, it is very heavy, so be prepared to have sore shoulders the next day. I also wore a spanx to smooth things out, and I thought that was necessary since the dress is sooo form fitting. Overall, beautiful dress, I felt amazing and got tons of compliments, and did not want to return the dress after my event!
Liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 21, 2013
STUNNING
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Delivery: I was expecting UPS or some type of postal service. A woman came and delivered to me very nicely. She was extremely sweet and answered any questions I had. Dress: I requested for a 2R and a 4L. I loved the way the 2R fit. It fit perfect against my curves, yet it was not long enough for me. I wanted the dress to hit the floor. I ended up wearing the 4L, it worked out perfectly! It gave me enough room to dance in and feel comfortable. The dress is heavy due to the bead design, yet I didn't experience pain on my shoulders like other people have stated. I guess I was having such a good time I didn't even notice. The dress looks alot better live and in person than it does in the RTR photo. The Color of the dress is a darker gold as well. Conclusion: I loved the Dress!!! I got complimented alllll night. My cousin's wedding was Red Carpet theme with guest wearing designers like Tom Ford and this dress really did it for me! Till this day when we look back to the wedding everyone says how I was one of the best dressed that night! It was also very easy to return. RTR provided everything and all I had to do was place it in the shipping bag and drop it in the mail box. I would def rent from them again. Using a promo code also helps lower the cost of rental. Google codes for it.
Scait
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Jan 21, 2013
NYE Black Tie Wedding!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Ordered the 4, but the 2 was shorter and fit almost exactly the same, even better for me since I'm small chested so I went with the two. I wore high heels, so that is a must, but OTHERWISE...the dress is AMAZEBALLZ. Everyone stops you to tell you how good you look and you just feel good wearing it. I know some people commented that it was heavy but I danced all night in it and didn't find a problem with it at all..had so much fun!
Phoebe
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 2333
Jan 19, 2013
Absolutely fell in love with this dress! I honestly felt like a princess in it the whole night.
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to my senior prom and I felt that it runs very true to size. I had to wear cup inserts instead of a regular bra because of the open back and low v-neck, but it worked out very well. The dress is pretty delicate but very heavy because of the gold beading overlay. I honestly could not have been happier with it!
Amber
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 14, 2013
I wore this gorgeous dress to a Hollywood gala and stole the glances of celebs!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress more in person than in the photo online. Amazing. I did not want to return it! Wore it to a celeb gala in Hollywood and held my own with the big name actresses. Fit completely true to size, like a glove. I am 5'10" and the 4L was almost not long enough. I did end up hurting my foot and had to wear light gold ballet flats, so it grazed the floor and no one could tell if I was wearing heels or flats. Some reviews said the breast area was large I think, but I didn't even have room to use the NuBra (I'm a 34 B+/C-). It was fine though, very flattering in the chest, and fit just snugly enough to not even need fashion tape, no slip ups. A little tight in the armpit, which is unusual because I'm not broad shouldered at all. Some reviews said the dress was bronze rather than gold. Although it is a darker, richer gold (very beautiful & classy color) than the picture, it is NOT bronze! I ordered a darker bronze clutch because of that review, but it did not match. Luckily it went with my friend's dress and I used a light gold one instead. There was some light wear and tear, but it's such a delicate dress with minute detailing, that's to be expected. I felt scared to sit in it at first, but it was perfectly durable. Save this for a special night!
Erin
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 19
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4233
Sep 25, 2012
Beautiful, but heavy!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I wish I had gotten a long though. The regular barley touched the ground, and I wore flats! (Im 5'7"). The material showed some wear and tear at the bottom, and the straps hurt my shoulders by the end of the night, but otherwise it was a very beautiful dress. The dress has inserts for you to put your own padding in, but remember to take it out! I didn't and its gone forever! The dress is also darker in person, more of a brownish color. Great service and WILL be renting from them again! Thanks RTR
Desiree
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 52
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 111 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2623
Jan 7, 2013
F-A-B-U-L-O-U-S
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is a complete stunner. It was gorgeous on and fit to a tee without cause. I will say that the color is more of a bronzy gold as the purse I chose from RTR was the wrong match for the dress :( I had one at home in bronze that complimented the look. The dress is fully beaded and therefore a bit weighty, which I didn't mind at all and that is another reason it hangs and presents so well on your frame The earrings I chose from RTR looked fabulous with the dress! I received many many copliments all evening long. The dress is exquisite. I highly recommend this choice.
Melia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Jan 2, 2013
Perfect NYE dress!
Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is really beautiful. I felt like a million bucks at the gala I attended for New Year's Eve. As mentioned by a previous wearer, the dress has slits that allow for extra padding. Adding some padding from a bathsuit let me go bra-less! A few caveats though: 1) The dress was much longer than I anticipated based on the sizing chart. Now, I am only 5'1" - but it was about 3 inches too long even with 3.5 inch heels. I had to pin it up with gold safety pins to make it work. 2) The dress isn't quite the color shown on the model. It is a darker gold, more towards a copper color. 3) The dress is heavy because of all of the beading.
Liza
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8544
Jan 1, 2013
Fit perfectly and was exactly what I needed for an NYE masquerade ball. Perfection!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was great. We had issues with my back up dress (my selection was unavailable and I did not like what was sent to me) but this dress was perfect so I didn't need it. I'll be using the service again!!!
Kim G.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 139 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5633
Dec 26, 2012
It was a FABULOUS dress.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was worth wearing -- it was stunning in every way. It wasn't as heavy as I thought it would be. It is very complementary in the back, I wish I had a good picture of that. It was, however, about 2 inches too long. I was in 4 inch heels and it wasn't enough. I am 5'4 1/2" and I should have gotten the petite.
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Dec 26, 2012
This was a beautiful dress! All night I was getting compliments. The perfect dress for the event
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress. I went to an event that was a formal party and it was perfect. I am a 34 D but the cup size in this dress was very large. I used alot of tape to make it stay in place around the chest. Also I purchased a U plunge backless strapless bra to keep everything in place. I am 5'5'' and I am very glad that I did NOT get the longer dress. This was perfect with a 3 inch heel. I was so happy with RTR. I will be using them again for sure.
Kira
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2522
Dec 20, 2012
Amazing!
Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress is gorgeous. Cannot go wrong with renting the dress. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because I ordered a 0P and it is definitely not a petite dress. So if you are short like me and are ok with a good 5 in hem and on top of that 5 in heels then you are good to go.
Brianna
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Dec 13, 2012
This was my first time using RTR. This was such a pleasant, and user-friendly experience.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am 5'4 and 3/4 and 128lbs and I ordered a 6R. I wore it with a pair of gold 2.5 inch heels. The bottom grazed the floor and I had to pick it up at times. Over-all I was highly impressed with the fit and design of this gown. I received so many compliments from it.
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3444
Dec 12, 2012
Beautiful Gown. Fits like a glove.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Rent the runway was great! They were not able to send me the original size I ordered but did offer to let me chose any other dress for a backup, in case the second size did not fit. Luckily it fit. I ordered a 2L but I wore the 4L. It fit great. One con is that it was really LONG. I am 5'8.5 and I wore 3" heels and it still was long. I just used Hollywood tape to hem it and it worked fine. The dress is a little heavy with all the beading but it did not bother me, although I felt as if the dress kept getting longer and longer as the night went on. There also was another girl wearing the dress. I wish the website could keep up with that somehow but I did not care bc I loved the dress! The only other bad thing was that I had to send it back! I loved it and received lots of complements.
Lauren
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Dec 8, 2012
This was my first experience with RTR and it was wonderful. I will definitely rent again!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress was beautiful in person; more bronze than light gold. It was a bit heavy, but not enough to be uncomfortable, even towards the end of the evening. It is pretty low-cut, but if you use the double-sided tape you should be fine. The 4R fit me really well with 3 inch heels. I did call the stylist beforehand since I usually wear petite sizes due to having shorter legs. She assured the regular size was the way to go and she was right. I also loved the cutout in the back, and got tons of compliments at the formal gala I wore it to. I would highly recommend!
Virginia
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4422
Dec 5, 2012
Gorgeous dress, fits like a glove!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I received so many compliments on this dress! I wore it to a Formal Christmas party. Fits great, no room or need to wear a bra. It is very long, I had to pin mine even with 4 inch heels! I would highly recommend renting this dress!!!
Krystal
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 5434
Dec 3, 2012
This dress was amazing! I got complements all night. I loved the cutout in the back.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fit was slightly big so I would recommend going a size smaller.
Tina
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Dec 3, 2012
Stood out in a sea of black tuxes and evening gowns...definitely a head-turning dress! ;)
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress ran a bit big...I ordered the long version (I'm 5'8" and wore 3.5 inch heels) because the RTR Stylist said it would run about true to size, but then it ended up being TOO long! I'm usually a size 4 and this dress definitely could've been a bit tighter...I think a 2R would've been just fine. I ended up bobby-pinning the bottom of the dress as a temporary hem fix (couldn't even tell!) and I also added my own cups since there was absolutely no bra support (there are slits for you to put the cups in). Also, as many reviewers have said, this is definitely more of a copper/bronze/antique gold...I made the mistake of getting gold accessories to match and had to rethink what to wear when I received the dress. Overall, the dress was a HUGE hit and I am still receiving compliments after the party :) The dress is form-fitting and absolutely made me feel beautiful and a standout for sure at the gala. I highly recommend it! :)
Jessica
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Dec 1, 2012
Loved this dress! I was getting compliments all night!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is very comfortable, fits tight to your body highlighting every curve. The inside fabric is very smooth and soft.
Tracy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6544
Nov 30, 2012
This dress had such WOW factor. What an amazing dress, what an amazing RTR experience!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I should have gotten better pictures because this dress was immaculate! Still had tags and couldn't have fit better. I loved that you get two different sizes which ensured perfect fit. I am a tall girl and I still wore my 5" heels and the hem was perfect length, just grazed the floor. I have a 36DD chest so the girls were on display but not falling out or too much. (it was for a breast cancer gala so boobs are appropriate, right?) The weight of the dress was actually really nice because we were outdoors and this was in early fall, I didn't get cold and was able to dance the night away. The beading is so pretty on this dress and the silk under layer was so soft and pretty, never bunched or shifted. The whole RTR experience was amazing and I don't know if I'll ever buy a gown again. I got to wear an absolutely stunning $1200 gown and it wont just sit in the back of my closet. I've figured that the money and room I'll save in my closet is better spent on shoes anyway ;)
liz
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 124 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 27, 2012
Was a Hollywood Starlet for the night!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I was concerned with the folks at rtr in Ny because hurricane sandy had hit the area days before my gown was to be shipped out to me in california. I was also anxious because i had never bought anything on-line before so the thought of getting a dress rental had me stressed. What condition would it be in? Would it fit? I received communication from rtr letting me know that they were all well due to the storm and I spoke to the stylist and they were very helpful in getting me the right size dress. I received my gown and it was a huge hit. The quality of the dress was immaculate. The return process was super easy. My experience was phenomenal. I am a true fan of rtr and look forward to my next event so I can get myself into another one of their fabulous dresses. Thank you rtr for making me look amazing! I could not have done it without you. Wishing you continued success. Liz from Santee, California
RTR Customer
Canonical User Type: 1111
Nov 20, 2012
This dress fit perfectly, exactly what I wanted!
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress fit just right. I usually wear a 0 in pants and the 0L fit me just right. I am 5'7' and with 4in heels the dress was about 1/2 an inch off the ground. It was perfect because it didn't drag but also didn't show my shoes. The dress is a little bit darker than the picture makes it look, its more of a bronze than gold. It is a little bit heavy, and was weighing on my shoulders by the end of the night, but it was worth it!
Ricklynn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4422
Nov 19, 2012
My fiance could not keep his eyes off me, neither could the rest of the ball ;)
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is definitely a show stopper, its absolutely gorgeous! I had to get a 0R because there were no petite; this made me very nervous only being 4'11. I wore 5in heels and still had to hem another 5 inches, I just pinned it which worked out just fine. I have the build of a gymnast so the straps were a little tight since I have broad shoulders and back. I'm a 34A and there was a little room up top. It didn't really bother me and I just used double-sided tape to avoid accidents. The fit was just right, it wasn't too clingy nor lose. Ahh, this dress is so beautiful! If I could afford it, I'd buy it! Thanks RTR for this experience!
Paige
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 20
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5333
Nov 16, 2012
I felt so sexy and elegant! My boyfriend couldn't keep his eyes off of me!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had originally thought that I would wear the 6R, but when I put it on, it was about a foot too long and had WAY too much room in the chest. I couldn't lean in any direction without putting on a show. The 4R on the other hand fit perfectly. It was just snug enough to show off my curves without being too tight. The only thing to be aware of is the amount of tape necessary to ensure that the necessary bits are covered up top. I don't have big boobs and still felt like I had to be taped within an inch of my life to avoid falling out. Color-wise, the dress is definitely more bronze than gold. The darker color makes the beading stand out more though. I really liked it. Reading reviews beforehand, other women said that the dress got very heavy and left marks on their shoulders. I didn't have any problems with the weight. I wore the dress from 5:00pm until approximately 1:00am and was comfortable the whole time. Overall, the dress was incredible. Would definitely rent from RTR again!
CD
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 15, 2012
I felt like a golden goddess in this dress! Couldn't have made a better choice!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Loved the fit of the dress. I usually wear a size 4, but the size 2 fit like a glove. The only issue was that the straps at the neck cut into my shoulders a little bit. I think that had more to do with the weight of the dress than anything. Other than that, I was extremely comfortable and very happy with it. I was a little nervous that the low neckline wouldn't be appropriate. Other than having to adjust the girls here and there, I worried for nothing. I even received compliments from some older women in their 70's. And keep it real, they are usually the most judgmental! Overall I had a great experience wearing this dress and the mystery jewelry that was chosen to go with it.
lyndi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Nov 14, 2012
Having my date say how beautiful I was in the gown.
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am usually a size 6 in dresses, but my hips are wider so I got the 8 just in case. The fit of the 6 was perfect...AND it still had the price tags on so that was a bonus. The material drapes over curves great. There was no bunching around the stomach or hips, which is a sensitive area for me and I'm always very conscious of. It has the perfect amount of stretch and was a great length for my 4" heels. Overall, I was so impressed with the fit and style of it I would of worn it all weekend if I could of.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4333
Nov 24, 2011
Wonderful dress
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I am about 5'5'' and 130 pounds, athletic build. The dress was a smidge big but it made it easy to eat a lot in! I got a lot of complements about the dress at the Marine Ball I went to. Perfect for the occasion and it was just the right length with 5 inch heels. Loved it!
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress