Nicole Miller

Cherry Square Neck Gown

$96 to buy
$640 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Red is the color of love so have everyone fall in love with you in this Nicole Miller gown. Just pair with a great dancing pump and a chandelier earring like the Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings.

Also available in purple, black, and purple sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Imported. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
108 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(73)
Small
(31)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 41
Body type: Hourglass
September 12, 2011
The size 8 was perfect. The only thing I felt was that the long length was not long enough. I wore 4" heels and while I'm tall, I am certainly not that tall and it would be difficult for anyone taller than myself to have the length be long enough especially if they wear heels. That said, I loved the dress and felt amazing in it!
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 40
Body type: Straight & narrow
September 12, 2011
I wear a 4 or 6 - this 6 was bordering on being too tight to wear in public. The fabric looked cheap. The 6L was not long enough. Luckily this was my backup style and the Badgly Mishka strapless 6L was perfect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
September 16, 2011
I felt like a million bucks!
I rented this dress for the ALMA Awards and it was a hit!! I LOVE THIS DRESS!! It hugged all my curves and the color was the perfect shade of red. I rented the regular and the long, and I highly suggest the long. I would also go up a size. The 2 was snug but the 4 fit perfectly. I stood out from the crowd of black dresses. It's such a sexy dress, tons of compliments. I will be renting this dress again!!! ***It wouldn't let me put in my size worn, which was a 4***
View photos (1)
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Straight & narrow
October 6, 2011
This dress is a little bit short to wear with heels (3 or 4 in), and I'm only 5'5". If you're planning to pair with sky-high heels, you might try a long. I agree with other reviews that the fabric looks a little bit cheap. It fits/looks as pictured, and it's a sexy dress. For opening night at the opera, I chose to wear my alternatie choice, the Milly Ravish Ruffle Gown because it was classier. I typically wear a 2 in nice retail stores (Ann Taylor, J.Crew), but was definitely a 4 in this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
October 17, 2011
Definition of false advertisement. Fabric looked cheap, the straps were awkward. The back of the dress was beautiful, but the pleats were bizarre and didn't flatter my body at all. I can't believe retail this dress is worth $640. I went to Minneapolis and bought a dress for $30 that looked 100,000 times better on me.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2011
This dress photographs like a dream! If your over 5'6 get the LONG. It was just barely long enough to wear 2 inch heels with. I am usually a 6 in the waist and a 10 in the bust and while this was a little tight in a bust, it was a nice fit otherwise.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
October 27, 2011
I absolutely LOVED this dress...I literally felt like a beauty queen, and all the looks surrounding me made me feel like one too. This dress it's very precise when it comes to length, so if you're trying to wear like the model in the pic, I would recommend you to order the long length if you're 5'6" or taller. Other than that, if you're planning to dance, go up and down the stairs, you should be good to go with the regular length, which was the one I ordered.
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 41
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
November 13, 2011
Everything went perfectly!!!
Here’s a detailed review – hope it and the pics helps make your decision! First off, those who said the fabric of this material is cheap…definitely NOT…it’s a VERY comfortable silk with a lining – and I do consider myself to be of fairly high standards. As for the pleats that others say lay weird – that’s one of the characteristics of the dress and what make it such an adorable and classy style. I am 5’5 and weigh 120 lbs. My measurements are chest (34C), true waist (26), lower waist (28), hips (33). I ordered the 2L and the 6L (4L was not available). The 2L fit from the waist down, but was way too tight in the chest and shoulders. The 6L fit PERFECTLY!! I will admit that there was almost an issue with the length. I like my gowns to hit the floor and with a 4” heel (no platform), this one just grazed the floor. So, those taller than 5’5 consider your heel height! So glad I did not order the short length!! I will also admit that I am disappointed that they hemmed the train off of the dress. One of the things I love about Nicole Miller gowns are her trains, but I guess I do understand why they would remove it. Despite that…this dress was AWESOME!! I was told that I was ravishing and got TONS of compliments on it!! Can't wait to find an excuse to rent from RTR again!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 54
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
November 17, 2011
I felt like the Lady In Red!
Wow - what a dress. Loved the slight stretch in the fabric, the fit around the chest area (since I am not particularly well endowed!) and the length. I spent a little money on a VS bra to and it was a perfect match for the dress fit. So very comfortable - easy to walk in, no hitching, pulling or readjusting anywhere! Would definitely rent this dress again but I suspect next time, I will try another one!! Thanks for this great experience!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 46
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
November 21, 2011
Loved it!!!!
I felt so great in this dress!!!!! Only 1 other red dress in a room of black and I rocked this one!!! It fit wonderfully. The length was great, I wore a 4" heel and I'm 5'2". Loved this dress
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Weight: 117lbs
November 30, 2011
The various options of dresses and the ease in sending them back.
This dress was great! I received so many compliments when I work it to a black tie event. It fit true to size and the fit was amazing. The dress isn't as long as pictured. I am 5'8" and had to wear very low heels (I typically run around in 5 inch heels) so the dress didn't look too short. Overall I would definitely recommend this dress.
GinaJanuary 5, 2012
what size did you order? looks fab on you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 5, 2011
Loved it!
This dress was great-- fit beautifully and was a real show-stopper. I would highly recommend it. If you're around my height, I'd recommend the long, too, if you're wearing heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 110lbs
December 29, 2011
Great Experience!
I wore this dress for my husbands Christmas party! I received compliments all night! On several occasions i was asked to pose for a picture so they can get a picture of the dress! It is a bit short so if you want to wear a High heel; be sure to get the long! It is more ruched in person than it appears on the photo but i actually liked that effect even better! If you have a problem tummy area this dress would be great to cover that up! Also i have a very small waist so i run into this problem a lot but the mid section was a bit baggy but definitely not a big issue! It kind of added to the ruching effect! It was great with black sparkly shoes and a black jeweled bracelet. Overal this was an amazing experience and i will definitely be renting from renttherunway.com again!!!!
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 116lbs
December 30, 2011
The dress was so flattering, My date and I won classy couple!!
I'm 5'8 but very small so i rented a 0L however it was way to short even with flats, i would highly suggest if you tall getting one size bigger than you regularly wear, for the dress is stretchy and runs semi small anyways so one size up would fit perfectly
View photos (3)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119lbs
January 24, 2012
Customer service is phenomenal!
This was a back up dress, as I was worried about another being too low cut. I usually wear a 0/2, but this dress was obscene in it's tightness. I am a bit large in the bust, and the girls were trying to escape from my armpits. My hubs is a photog, and he enjoyed the rear view :). To be fair, I believe I put on the 0 by mistake in the photos. The other dress I rented for the formal was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2012
Stunner!
I rented this dress for a black tie event that my husband's company was having. I ordered it the 4L and the 6L because I'm bigger up top and can never be too careful. I also added the black version in a 6L as a back up. When they arrived, I was so pleased with the condition they're in. They 6L fit better for me than the 4L but was not as long as I would have liked. So I tried on the black one and it was much bigger and longer than the red. At the last minute I had to run out and find shorter shoes and it still was on the shorter side. Also, while I was steaming it the night of, I noticed a black stain along the hem. I called customer service and they apologized and gave me 25% off of my next order. I wore the dress anyway because it was in the train and not very noticable at all. That being said, the dress was stunning and I got tons of complements all night. I will definitely rent again. All and all a great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
February 14, 2012
The people at RTR were extremely helpful-I called the day before wanting to change the sizes of the dress I had order and a specialist talked me through it and made me feel extremely comfortable, but offered to send another dress ASAP if I needed a different size! I felt extremely comfortable with everyone I talked to and I ended up absolutely loving my dress!!!
absolutely loved this dress! It was extremely flattering and true to size - just a tad short
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2012
loved It
This dress is stretchy so it's an easy fit. It was above my ankles though so a bit short but it worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2012
Should have ordered the long!
I am about 5'2" and the size 4R hit at my ankles, even with my lowest heels. If you are on the petite size, and any taller than 5'2"-5'4", I would definitely recommend the long size. Like other reviewers have said, I do not think this is the dress for a taller girl. I also ordered a 6R and while it is longer, the dress itself did not fit. I have a fuller bust and didn't need a bra because the dress is very form-fitting; but, the the back is not too low for a strapless bra if you feel you need it. Overall, I was very disappointed with the length, as this is a beautiful and flattering dress. Make sure to order the correct length for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2012
Tiny
This dress is a beautiful color but runs so small on top that I was unable to wear either size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2012
Red Carpet Ready
Do you enjoy being the wall flower? Standing back and admiring everyone? Sipping your cocktail and quietly chatting with your friends? DON'T rent this dress! You will be the center of attention. Receiving complements left and right. This dress fit beautifully (with a pair of Spanx to hold in the problem areas). It hugs your whole body, which is hard to tell on the model in 2-D. It fits just like the model though, and with a 2-in heel it just grazed the floor. Definitely recommend a Long. I can't tell you how much I loved wearing this dress! I wanted to keep it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2012
Beautiful color!
Everyone loved this dress! One thing to know before you rent though - the dress is a little short; I'm 5'4" and I had to wear flats!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 4, 2012
How beautiful Aaron thought I looked.
This dress looks incredible on. Many guest at the wedding, both men and woman, gave me compliments. As a new mom it felt incredible to wear such an elegant dress and look stunning at the same time. My only suggest is to consider ordering the long if you are wearing a higher heel, I'm 5'5 and the dress was a touch short with my 2 1/2 inch heels on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2012
Gorgeous but tight
This dress is a beautiful deep red and the cut is beautiful. However, I ended up not wearing the dress as I felt it ran a little small and it was too tight in the hip area. This is a dress that is not forgiving, and is not for the timid.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2012
It was so easy!
Overall, I really liked this dress. I wore the 4L because the 6L was too loose throughout my torso/hips, but the chest was a little tight (I am top-heavy though). I was definitely glad I got the long dress - I'm 5'4" and wore 3" heels and it was just right. I wore this to my boyfriend's Army formal, and I felt comfortable in it sitting for dinner and standing for the ceremonies, etc. Overall wearing the dress was great!
ALYSESeptember 28, 2013
HI. I have the EXACT same measurements as you. I loved that I found your post. I, too, am wearing to my bf's military gown. Anyway, if my heels were 2 1/2, do you recommend a 4L anyway? Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 6, 2012
I only had about 20 minutes to get ready for prom (including hair and make-up). I was in a rush to get to pictures (super stressed out). I put on the dress just before running out the door and instantly the stress disappeared. I found the perfect rental, and I was really excited. After telling everyone how I rented this dress...you guys might have some new members...
I rented this dress for my senior prom. I loved it!! I got so many compliments on it and every one loved the idea of renting a dress! The fabric has a little spandexy stretch to it so I had no problem sitting or dancing (even after dinner). I would 100% recommend this dress! After chatting with a stylist on here, I rented a 0L and a 2L. I weigh about 125 and I'm 5'7''. It just touched the ground perfectly so I wore flats (which was fine because my date is only a few inches taller than me). Rent this dress!!!! I cannot say enough about it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
July 18, 2012
Size up
I rented this for a formal wedding and was bummed when the size I ordered didn't fit. I'm generally around a size 2 and ordered a 4 based on the other reviews. The 4 was VERY tight on the hips and bust line. I'm also around 5'6" and it was probably about 3 inches too short (with no shoes on) so think about going up a couple of sizes and ordering a long!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Elegant and sexy
The dress was lovely and earned me many complements throughout the evening. It fit perfectly; however it has a fold in the front around the hips that I didn't realize from the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
It was okay
It runs a bit small. I didn't care for the material.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 18, 2012
Smelt bad
This was a great dress. But I had to pay to have it dry cleaned because the two sizes I ordered smelt horrible like BO and were stained. Not happy at all with the delivery.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress
It fit great!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2012
Beautiful Dress.
The fit of the dress was just right, but the length was a little short. I am 5'8 and wore 3 inch heels. The 6L came to my ankles. I am also large in the bust and hips so you might want to consider a different dress if you are taller and busty.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
August 25, 2012
Worked perfectly!
A great dress, lots of compliments. The fabric was a little more clingy than I expected, but otherwise awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Great dress - a little short
Very comfortable, not restricting at all. It was a little short, like other ladies have described and even getting a size up didn't help. Wear lower heels with this one! Still very flattering and attractive. I would definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2012
the same day service
I ordered two dresses originally – 4L & 6R. Neither fit! So I called RTR and they couriered out a 6L the same day! I have nothing but great things to say about the customer service. The dress is definitely short. I’m 5’3” and I never order “long” in ANYTHING! But the 6L was the way to go for me. I wore 4” shoes which made the dress a perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
September 16, 2012
loved it! fit great! had many compliments
The dress fit great and the length was perfect.I received many compliments as well. Only down fall I would say was that i had to get it steamed but it was a quick fix.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 97lbs
September 23, 2012
Glamorous!
Can't say enough about this Nicole Miller dress! The 0R fit like a glove and I felt like a movie star! Perfect length, perfect everything! My backup size, 2L, fit well through the torso but was too long and big in the shoulders for me. I would rent this dress again, again, and again!
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 22
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
October 3, 2012
Loved the color and the simple lines with a classic, elegant feel. Very Hollywood!
The dress was very form fitting and stunning, but the length was a real problem. I was worried about this after reading other reviews but measured the 59" length from shoulder to hem and thought it would still work. I think this dress would have been absolutely amazing if the length was longer for taller girls. A larger size may have been helpful as it wouldn't have hugged the body so close making it even shorter. Overall, though, the dress is a beautiful color and I loved how it looked minus the short length.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
October 8, 2012
Wear and tear
Had to wear the larger size as the dress my actual size came in terrible shape. The bottom of the dress was noticeably tattered and had a burn mark from an apparent iron attempt. That was disappointing and would make me think twice about renting a long dress again. The other reviews were correct to get the long as it still showed my shoes. The look was pretty comfortable and forgiving though.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
October 13, 2012
This dress was a showstopper!
Loved loved loved this dress. It fit perfectly, and totally true to size. It was very comfortable and easy to spend the whole evening in. Between the bright red color and the stunning shape of the dress, I don't think I've ever gotten so many compliments.
See more reviews:
1 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×