Nicole Miller

Cherry Square Neck Gown

$96 to buy
$640 retail

This style is currently unavailable.

Shop all dresses

Stylist Notes

Red is the color of love so have everyone fall in love with you in this Nicole Miller gown. Just pair with a great dancing pump and a chandelier earring like the Badgley Mischka's Tiered Deco Earrings.

Also available in purple, black, and purple sequin.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size, yet runs slightly short in length. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should consider sizing up
LENGTH: Floor length, gown runs slightly short - available in 2 lengths (Regular, Long): Regular measures 56” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’1” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 59” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’4” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Product Details

Red stretch silk crepe de chine. Square neckline. Cut out detail on back. Side ruching detail. Hidden back zip. Imported. See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
108 reviews
Fit
Large
(3)
True to Size
(73)
Small
(31)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 119lbs
January 24, 2012
Customer service is phenomenal!
This was a back up dress, as I was worried about another being too low cut. I usually wear a 0/2, but this dress was obscene in it's tightness. I am a bit large in the bust, and the girls were trying to escape from my armpits. My hubs is a photog, and he enjoyed the rear view :). To be fair, I believe I put on the 0 by mistake in the photos. The other dress I rented for the formal was perfect!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 14, 2012
Stunner!
I rented this dress for a black tie event that my husband's company was having. I ordered it the 4L and the 6L because I'm bigger up top and can never be too careful. I also added the black version in a 6L as a back up. When they arrived, I was so pleased with the condition they're in. They 6L fit better for me than the 4L but was not as long as I would have liked. So I tried on the black one and it was much bigger and longer than the red. At the last minute I had to run out and find shorter shoes and it still was on the shorter side. Also, while I was steaming it the night of, I noticed a black stain along the hem. I called customer service and they apologized and gave me 25% off of my next order. I wore the dress anyway because it was in the train and not very noticable at all. That being said, the dress was stunning and I got tons of complements all night. I will definitely rent again. All and all a great experience!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
February 14, 2012
The people at RTR were extremely helpful-I called the day before wanting to change the sizes of the dress I had order and a specialist talked me through it and made me feel extremely comfortable, but offered to send another dress ASAP if I needed a different size! I felt extremely comfortable with everyone I talked to and I ended up absolutely loving my dress!!!
absolutely loved this dress! It was extremely flattering and true to size - just a tad short
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 42
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
February 21, 2012
loved It
This dress is stretchy so it's an easy fit. It was above my ankles though so a bit short but it worked out.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 25, 2012
Should have ordered the long!
I am about 5'2" and the size 4R hit at my ankles, even with my lowest heels. If you are on the petite size, and any taller than 5'2"-5'4", I would definitely recommend the long size. Like other reviewers have said, I do not think this is the dress for a taller girl. I also ordered a 6R and while it is longer, the dress itself did not fit. I have a fuller bust and didn't need a bra because the dress is very form-fitting; but, the the back is not too low for a strapless bra if you feel you need it. Overall, I was very disappointed with the length, as this is a beautiful and flattering dress. Make sure to order the correct length for you!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 48
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 28, 2012
Tiny
This dress is a beautiful color but runs so small on top that I was unable to wear either size!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
February 28, 2012
Red Carpet Ready
Do you enjoy being the wall flower? Standing back and admiring everyone? Sipping your cocktail and quietly chatting with your friends? DON'T rent this dress! You will be the center of attention. Receiving complements left and right. This dress fit beautifully (with a pair of Spanx to hold in the problem areas). It hugs your whole body, which is hard to tell on the model in 2-D. It fits just like the model though, and with a 2-in heel it just grazed the floor. Definitely recommend a Long. I can't tell you how much I loved wearing this dress! I wanted to keep it!
View photos (2)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
March 4, 2012
Beautiful color!
Everyone loved this dress! One thing to know before you rent though - the dress is a little short; I'm 5'4" and I had to wear flats!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
April 4, 2012
How beautiful Aaron thought I looked.
This dress looks incredible on. Many guest at the wedding, both men and woman, gave me compliments. As a new mom it felt incredible to wear such an elegant dress and look stunning at the same time. My only suggest is to consider ordering the long if you are wearing a higher heel, I'm 5'5 and the dress was a touch short with my 2 1/2 inch heels on.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
May 8, 2012
Gorgeous but tight
This dress is a beautiful deep red and the cut is beautiful. However, I ended up not wearing the dress as I felt it ran a little small and it was too tight in the hip area. This is a dress that is not forgiving, and is not for the timid.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
May 9, 2012
It was so easy!
Overall, I really liked this dress. I wore the 4L because the 6L was too loose throughout my torso/hips, but the chest was a little tight (I am top-heavy though). I was definitely glad I got the long dress - I'm 5'4" and wore 3" heels and it was just right. I wore this to my boyfriend's Army formal, and I felt comfortable in it sitting for dinner and standing for the ceremonies, etc. Overall wearing the dress was great!
ALYSESeptember 28, 2013
HI. I have the EXACT same measurements as you. I loved that I found your post. I, too, am wearing to my bf's military gown. Anyway, if my heels were 2 1/2, do you recommend a 4L anyway? Thank you!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 117lbs
June 6, 2012
I only had about 20 minutes to get ready for prom (including hair and make-up). I was in a rush to get to pictures (super stressed out). I put on the dress just before running out the door and instantly the stress disappeared. I found the perfect rental, and I was really excited. After telling everyone how I rented this dress...you guys might have some new members...
I rented this dress for my senior prom. I loved it!! I got so many compliments on it and every one loved the idea of renting a dress! The fabric has a little spandexy stretch to it so I had no problem sitting or dancing (even after dinner). I would 100% recommend this dress! After chatting with a stylist on here, I rented a 0L and a 2L. I weigh about 125 and I'm 5'7''. It just touched the ground perfectly so I wore flats (which was fine because my date is only a few inches taller than me). Rent this dress!!!! I cannot say enough about it :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 134lbs
July 18, 2012
Size up
I rented this for a formal wedding and was bummed when the size I ordered didn't fit. I'm generally around a size 2 and ordered a 4 based on the other reviews. The 4 was VERY tight on the hips and bust line. I'm also around 5'6" and it was probably about 3 inches too short (with no shoes on) so think about going up a couple of sizes and ordering a long!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 44
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
August 11, 2012
Elegant and sexy
The dress was lovely and earned me many complements throughout the evening. It fit perfectly; however it has a fold in the front around the hips that I didn't realize from the photo.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Body type: Hourglass
August 13, 2012
It was okay
It runs a bit small. I didn't care for the material.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
August 18, 2012
Smelt bad
This was a great dress. But I had to pay to have it dry cleaned because the two sizes I ordered smelt horrible like BO and were stained. Not happy at all with the delivery.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
August 20, 2012
Great dress
It fit great!
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
August 22, 2012
Beautiful Dress.
The fit of the dress was just right, but the length was a little short. I am 5'8 and wore 3 inch heels. The 6L came to my ankles. I am also large in the bust and hips so you might want to consider a different dress if you are taller and busty.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
August 25, 2012
Worked perfectly!
A great dress, lots of compliments. The fabric was a little more clingy than I expected, but otherwise awesome.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 30
Body type: Hourglass
August 31, 2012
Great dress - a little short
Very comfortable, not restricting at all. It was a little short, like other ladies have described and even getting a size up didn't help. Wear lower heels with this one! Still very flattering and attractive. I would definitely wear it again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145lbs
September 7, 2012
the same day service
I ordered two dresses originally – 4L & 6R. Neither fit! So I called RTR and they couriered out a 6L the same day! I have nothing but great things to say about the customer service. The dress is definitely short. I’m 5’3” and I never order “long” in ANYTHING! But the 6L was the way to go for me. I wore 4” shoes which made the dress a perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 40
Bust size: 34AA
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 14, 2013
I felt like this dress was made for me!
This dress is one of the best I have ever worn. From the color to the fit, it was perfect! The dress arrived in pretty decent shape. I did iron it because it was wrinkled in some spots, but that's to be expected. Thanks RTR, I will be renting from you again!
eftalyaJune 5, 2013
You look like a French movie star!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
April 15, 2013
I have to rent this dress again, or just buy it! People are still talking about it days later.
Length was perfect or just a hair short with flats.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
April 17, 2013
Didn't wear it
Ran too short, couldn't wear it.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Body type: Petite
April 18, 2013
Didn't fit well
The dress was nice and I got lots of compliments, however it did not fit as well as I would have liked. The gathering around the stomach area was not flattering. The color was great! The back was also really nice. I would definitely rent a size smaller than you usually are
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
May 20, 2013
Beautiful dress - even though a snug fit, it has a lot of movement!
This dress is a beautiful cherry red color and will work for many skin tones. It is easy to accessorize. I would order a longer length - I still made it work, but it's definitely on the shorter end.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 27, 2013
Wore this dress to my senior prom
I had a great experience with this dress! It fit well and people told me they really liked it. I especially liked the fabric; the dress was more comfortable than I expected it to be. It was real easy to dance in. The only con was that the chest area was a little bit awkward on me, but overall, I'd definitely recommend it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
May 30, 2013
Fabric not at all what I expected. Ended up returning the dress.
The color of the dress was gorgeous, exactly what I wanted. I don't know if I missed it but I thought the fabric of the dress was more structured, from the pictures I thought it would be tafetta or some sort of crepe de chine. It's actually a very stretchy fabric so it shows every lump and bump. Even with a pair of spanks the pleats down the sides of the dress make it look like the fabric is pulling and puckering, when it's not. You have to wear a strapless bra because the neckline cuts out so far on the sides. If you have bigger breasts, you cannot go braless with this dress because the fabric is too stretchy to provide any support. My other concern was how wrinkled the skirts of the dresses were. I assumed I would have to iron the dress or get it pressed at the cleaners but there were no instructions and the tags were completely blacked out and unreadable on both dresses. I typically wear a size 6 but it was to tight in the bust. The size 8 fit better but was too big in the waist.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
May 31, 2013
MANY compliments!
Very comfortable and flattering dress! I ordered one size larger based on fit suggestions. The long length was only regular length on me- was still short-ish in my opinion.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 119lbs
June 9, 2013
Retro Red Carpet
I wanted to give this dress 5 stars, and let me tell you it was very close. The neckline is spectacular and flattering and fit well. I wish I had a little more bust to cil it out, but a strapless bra helped nicely. The material is very comfy. Not statin, but almost a thick jersey with just enough added sheen for sleekness. I'm a true 4 and this was a great fit. The length, like others said, is off. It was very short. I had 3 in heels (low for me) and this skimmed the toes, losing the drama of a gown. I would have liked it to fall longer. I suggest you order the long version, no matter how tall you are. The other thing that made me shrug a bit was the gathering at the sides. It's not ruching, per se, but more of a gathering at the back and sides, causing this weird ripple effect. Those wrinkles you see in everyone's photos? Its not the way they are standing, that comes standard on the dress. Sometimes I felt like it made me look sloppy or a little pouchy. I would have preferred a tight sleek fit. Nonetheless I did turn a few heads. Oh, and it's not a coincidence that you see so many people wearing this to military events. The red compliments a navy mess dress gorgeously. I can't wait to get our formal photos in the mail. Nicole Miller really does red well. Its a lovely shade. All in al I was happy, and only slightly underwhelmed. I would wear it again.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
June 21, 2013
I was complimented on this dress ALL NIGHT!!
fit like a dream!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
September 10, 2013
Pretty
This dress runs short. I am not very tall and it was way too short on me. I did not end up wearing this one. I would be weary of the length because it was high water and that was with no shoes.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
September 11, 2013
Beautiful dress! Tons of compliments!
Fit perfectly. Rented the 8R and the bottom came about an inch above the floor with 3in heels on. I am 5'3". I also rented the 10L as my back up size and the L grazed the floor. While I liked how the long looked when i was just standing, I'm glad I went with the Regular length because of walking and you could see a glimpse of my shoes/toes. Wish I had a better strapless bra; felt that my bust slightly saggy, but that's not anything against the dress. I really loved this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
September 16, 2013
This dress fits like a charm. The only problem is...the R size is shortened.
I would have worn this, but it was way too short. I'm not even that tall. I don't wear "long" pants and I think I am fairly average in height. The R size is actually a SHORT, and the L size is the normal length of a formal gown. If you are wearing heels, you would HAVE to get the longer version. The bodice and rest of the dress fit like a glove, though! Really flattering.
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
September 19, 2013
I had to return it! TOO SMALL!
I would not recommend this dress unless you are very petite. I am typically a size 4 or 6 (and 5'9), and I rented a 6 and 8 because I know designer gowns typically run small. I tried on the 8, and it was SKIN TIGHT! I am not large by any means, and it was extremely unflattering. It created "rolls" on the sides due to the rushing detail. Also, if you are over 5'6, you DEFINITELY need a long. Unfortunately, a long was not available so I had to return it because the regular came up to my calves! If you attempt to try this dress, I definitely recommend going up a few sizes!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2013
Great Dress but too Short
I loved the dress but even the Long was too short for me. I am 5'8 and with even kitten heals it would have been too short. Great for shorter girls!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
September 24, 2013
The red dress really stood out among the crowd. It fit like a glove
I absolutely loved this dress. It was a lot shorter than expected, but it worked with the shoes I had on. It was the perfect dress for the perfect occasion. I would definitely wear it again.
View photos (3)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
September 28, 2013
Great dress!
I loved this dress, it was really beautiful! I actually wore the 8R, I probably could have gone with the 6 because I ended up needing to constantly adjust the ruching since it was a little loose. I also was able to wear it with flats, I'm only 5'4" but it's pretty short. (This worked for me because I had knee surgery recently) I also wore spanx and a strapless bra... I think both of those are pretty essential for the style.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
September 30, 2013
RUNS SMALL! Didn't get to wear it after all...
The cut and fabric were so much more beautiful in person, I will definitely rent again...almost wore it anyway but chickened out at the last second. If you are 5'6" or taller, go for the long versions. And for me I'll need about 2 sizes up from what I usually am. (Typically rent a 0 or 2...the 4 was screaming for life!)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
November 20, 2013
This dress is beautiful and made me feel incredible.
I didn't need the extra size the 8 which is the size i normally wear fit like a glove.
See more reviews:
2 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×