Butterfly Ruched Dress

$75 rental
$485 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Make a stylish statement in this flattering Nicole Miller for your next night out. Team it with black or gold accessories to finish the look.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5". )

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size
WAIST: Very fitted - fitted throughout dress with ruched detail - fabric has lots of stretch
HIPS: Very fitted
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: All body types
(Model's height is 5'8.5". )

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Midnight blue matte jersey. Exposed side zip. Boned bodice for support. Off the shoulder straps. Asymmetric ruching detail on body. 39" from shoulder to hem. Model's height is 5'8.5".

Share
50 reviews
Fit
Large0
True to Size42
Small8
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 160lbs
May 5, 2014
The dress arrived in plenty of time for my event. The dress was clean and I looked gorgeous.
Pro: The ruching creates a slimming effect.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Full Bust
April 10, 2014
Very comfortable dress, but not flattering on my figure
The dress fits great and the material is very comfortable, however, I thought the dress was not flattering on my body and actually made me look much larger than I am. Overall pretty, but not recommended!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
November 11, 2013
Comfortable and got tons of compliments
This was my first RTR experience. I wore this dress for my engagement party. The material was very stretchy and I got tons of compliments. I didn't realize the zipper was exposed and very noticeable, but aside from that, the dress was perfect for the occasion. It stayed in place all night.
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
February 25, 2013
Great fit for hourglass figures.
.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 11, 2013
rouching is a lifesaver
it is a snug fit but the rouching hides everything. loved the color & was comfortable to wear all day & night.
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
December 31, 2012
The dress is gathered in all the right places! So flattering! I got so many compliments!
I usually wear a 10 and the 10 fit perfectly! I recommended this dress to a friend and she wore it to a wedding and looked gorgeous!
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 140lbs
December 16, 2012
The consultant was knowledgeable very helpful and nice.
The fit was perfect...like a glove. The only draw back for me was the sliver zipper that ran through the back. I just wish the zipper was more concealed.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
November 8, 2012
RTR is the best!
This was my first experience and now this is my go-to shop for every event. If I don't get anything it's because I'm pressed for time and I always regret it. This however, was not a regret! I'm pretty curvy and wanted to be bold and this dress was hugging every curve!! So if you're shy, or not into a more fitting dress this may not work.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115lbs
October 16, 2012
Flattering and chic
This dress fits nicely and is very chic, but I wouldn't say it's terribly memorable. You could definitely dress it up with jewelry though, and sometimes all you want is a flattering dress that doesn't involve much thinking. It was easy to throw on quickly for a date. The navy color and thick material make it more of a fall/winter than a spring/summer dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 54
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 13, 2012
Ugly conspicuous, poorly sewn and bunching zipper in the back.
Looked great from the front. The zipper puckered through the back and was too bulky for the fabric. I didn't wear it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
September 24, 2012
Perfect for any shape!
I loved the feel of this dress. I have a little bit of a backside, and this dress hugged me so well in all the right places.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
September 21, 2012
Perfect Company Holiday Party Dress
I rented this dress for a company holiday party. I wanted to shy away from wearing black like everyone else and go with something with a little color. This dress was the perfect choice! It was a perfect blend of sexiness while not showing too much skin, as it was a corporate event. It fit me like a glove and my boyfriend absolutely loved it. I got a lot of compliments for it and felt really confident in it. I would definitely recommend this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
September 17, 2012
great go-to dress!
wore this to a friends engagement party and loved it! It was really easy to move around and be comfy and still look really cute in this dress. The material is very good at hiding any flaws!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
August 9, 2010
Ruching on my tummy made me look skinny. Stretch in the fabric helps for an easy fit. I hosted a dinner party and was comfortable and classy in this!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
September 13, 2012
Very pretty color and better for an hourglass figure.
I received compliments, but I did not feel comfortable in this dress. I am very petite, smaller bust and I just thought it did nothing for me. Definitely a great dress for someone who is curvier. I did like the navy blue color and a great alternative to a LBD.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
September 10, 2012
Amazing!
Amazing dress that really sucks you in and gives you an amazing silhouette. Wore it to a wedding and received so many complements on it!
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 66
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
August 20, 2012
Cute and Sexy!
Wore it for a Sunday daytime wedding. Not too plain, not too fancy....but elegant. Form fitting but not tight. Rented the dark blue which was a great color. Hit above the knee on me (I am about 5'4"). Got lots of compliments.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 170lbs
August 18, 2012
Beautiful, curve-hugging dress
I found this dress to be extremely flattering and form-fitting in all the right places. Great for an hour glass figure!
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 65
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
January 3, 2012
So many people at the dance told me how beautiful, young and stylish I looked. I could also dance the night away in this dress.
This was my first time to rent a dress. I was very pleased with the fit and the dress was so flattering. It is classy and elegant and I got many compliments. I wore some shiny bling to make it more festive. The look from behind was as attractive as the look from the front. I danced in this dress and it was comfortable and moved well. I was hesitant to order since I seem much older than the others who post. I am proof you can still look lovely and fashionable at 61.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138lbs
December 29, 2011
Beautiful Dress, Odd Zipper.
Overall, this dress was great. It is very flattering on and definitely has a bit of a slimming effect. I got tons of compliments on the color and the shape. My one qualm is the zipper, which definitely stands out and sort of seems like it doesn't belong there. I did have several people say that they liked the zipper detail though, so I guess it is just personal taste. Beautiful dress. I should note, however, that although I think the dress does run true to size, it was pretty tight. If you want it to fit like a glove, then order your true size... but if you want a more comfortable fit, I would advise going up one size. I did not get two sizes because my "size up" was not available, but I would definitely recommend getting your true size and then opting for the second dress in one size bigger.
Size worn:
2
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 112lbs
December 19, 2011
Very sexy hit
I rented this to wear to my office's Christmas party, and my husband's office's Christmas party. It meets the modesty requirements for hanging out with coworkers -- not too low plunging, long enough -- but is tremendously sexy and marvelously fun to wear.
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Date
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 53
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 135lbs
December 18, 2011
Don't be discouraged!
The first time I tried on this dress I was sure I'd rented the wrong size. Seemed really, really small and I couldn't zip it by myself. My husband was less than keen on my 2nd choice dress so at the last minute I put this one back on (with his help!!). It fit perfectly. Seemed a little tight under one arm but that didn't bother me again all evening. Cinched in my middle wonderfully and I could still eat a four course meal!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 160lbs
December 5, 2011
Sexy and Sophisticated
I wore this dress last night to my fiance's golf club's holiday party and it was a definite hit, especially with him. This dress definitely accentuated my curves without making me feel self-conscious. You feel cinched in, but not where you feel like you can't imbide in cocktail hour or dessert. For a black-tie optional party, this is a great dress when you don't want to be like everyone else who is wearing their little black dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145lbs
November 25, 2011
Beautiful!
Runs small, as other reviewers have mentioned... but overall, a beautiful, flattering dress. Wore a strapless bra without problems and topped the outfit off with silver earrings and bracelet. Got a lot of compliments, including one saying the dress made me look like Kate Middleton. I'll take it!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 18, 2011
Fun and sexy dress for a wedding. Super comfortable to dance in all night long!
Fit was perfect. This was my backup dress and was so glad that I got it because I wore this to the event! Thanks RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 150lbs
October 26, 2011
This was a bridesmaids' dress for a wedding I was in. I thought that it looked great on all of us! I rented my usual 6 and 4, but went with the 4. Danced all night without any problems!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
October 24, 2011
Loved the color
I rented this dress for a wedding and it was perfect. It was very comfortable to wear all night and easy to dance in. I received many complements in it and would definitely recommend renting this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2011
I got the size 4 and it was perfect for a gala dinner. I loved how the dress fit. The body of the dress is tight and keeps your figure intact. There is a metallic zipper on the side that I thought gave it a bit of edge. The neck line was also great, I am a 34 D and did not feel too busty.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
October 19, 2011
The dress was comfortable, but the ruching didn't fall the way it does on the model in the picture.
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
Small
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
October 13, 2011
I thought this dress was very pretty, however I felt that it ran very very small. I ordered this in an 8 and a 10 for my backup size because some reviews told me to do so. I'm typically a solid 8 and many times a 6, but I had to wear the 10 this time and I felt that was even very tight (even with spanx). I haven't gained any weight, lol! So my suggestion is to size up. Great dress!
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Body type: Athletic
October 5, 2011
I rented this dress for a wedding I attended. The dress fit perfectly which was great since the size bigger was not available. The dress was very flattering. My husband loved it & could not stop complimenting me! At first I didn't love the metallic zipper, but I had seen at NY Times article that this was the new trend. I would totally rent this dress again!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Hourglass
September 23, 2011
Totally honest: I rented this dress while carrying some extra weight. Feeling insecure, I was very worried about finding a dress that will highlight my curves without magnifying my flaws. This dress did it! I felt sexy, confident and quite Christina Hendricks-esque. I could breathe and not worry about the extra 15 lbs. I was carrying. Gorgeous color, I have light blue eyes and they really popped in this dress. I am very full busted and large in the back-end as well and this dress made me proud of those curves. For very busty women, the top provides full coverage and was very snug, yet what isn’t snug when you are that large on top? It still was flattering but took a little adjusting with the ruching. I was worried about the length being too short, but it was the perfect length, right above the knee. I'm so happy I went with this dress!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Body type: Athletic
September 13, 2011
This dress fits fantastic. It hides all the areas you want it too. Dress is also long enough. I got a ton of compliments and it was incredibly comfy, stayed in place while dancing.
Overall fit:
Small
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Body type: Hourglass
August 22, 2011
Overall I wasn't a big fan of this dress. I felt like it had a lot of extra fabric and made me look bigger than I am. I also did not like the silver zipper - it took away from the classiness of the dress. It did not have the wow factor I was looking for.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 27
Body type: Full Bust
August 1, 2011
Wore this dress to an evening wedding and I got so many compliments!! Loved it :)
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
July 19, 2011
SUPER flattering and the rouching really hides any midsection flaws! It's stretchy too, which made it comfortable all night long!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115lbs
July 13, 2011
Fit like a glove. Very sexy and comfortable. Give in the fabric made it comfortable to sit in as well.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 23
Body type: Athletic
June 20, 2011
This dress is absolutely amazing. If I weren't a college kid on a college kid budget-I'd buy it. I wore this dress to my sister's wedding, I sang the Ave Maria so I needed something pretty but appropriate. The neckline was flattering and the sleeves covered the shoulders very tastefully. The ruching was flattering everywhere. This is a BODY TIGHT dress. But I had people at the ceremony, the reception, on the street (while taking pics), and even at the bars giving me compliments, asking where I got it. I wore it with my hair in a side bun, silver drop crystal earring, and two fancy looking silver, crystal, and pearl rings. All in all, this picture doesn't do the dress justice--one of the best dresses on the site!
Top Contributor
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Body type: Hourglass
May 4, 2011
The size 2 that I received fit me fine, but I did not find the dress to be flattering. The amount of ruching material was bulky and added to my figure, rather than accentuating it. Fortunately I rented another Nicole Miller dress (Square Neck Sequin Shoulder Dress) that was stunning. I was also not a fan of the side silver zipper on this dress.
Overall fit:
True to Size
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Body type: Pear
March 25, 2011
Definitely a snug fit, but really sexy as it hugs ALL the right curves. I know a lot of people have issues with the huge zipper, but I received a lot of compliments...it made the dress that much better! My "second size" was a size down, which was a joke. I should've gotten it in a size larger so that it may have been a little less snug. Oh well...hindsight is 20/20.
See more reviews:
1 / 2

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×