Nicole Miller

Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

99 reviews

Fit
Small 3
True to Size 55
Large 41
Photos 52
Jenn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
Dec 5, 2011

A perfect hit - got some whistles from the NYC cabbies!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I love this dress so much I've rented it multiple times. Great things - 1) it hits at mid-thigh for someone my height so if you like a cute, short dress - i'd recommend this for 5'5" women and above. 2) It's best for a large chest as it drapes on top and perfectly highlighted my chest area. 3) the color is to die for! GORGEOUS.
Amy
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 38
Body type: Hourglass
Jan 12, 2012

The compliments on my dress keep rolling in when anyone sees my pictures!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and was really happy with how the dress turned out. The bottom of the dress is very fitted, so on me the M was a little snug, and the L was a little big on top, but with the dress tape that was included I didn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. The silver neckline is actually stitched silver beading, I thought it would be sequins, but this actually made it much more elegant looking and photographed really well. The blue was a stood out in a room of black and silver and the silk was heavy enough that I didn't feel naked. I'm 5' 5" and it wasn't so short on me that I felt uncomfortable, it was just right. Great experience and I'm looking forward to another successful rental from RTR!
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Jan 23, 2012

This was the 2nd dress I rented in one order- so I got this dress for $25! Knowing that I had the most glamorous, most unique, and best priced dress for my birthday celebration is a memory I will never forget!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this to my 21st birthday last week, and it was perfect for the party and night of dancing! The bottom definitely hugged my curves better than it shows on the model, but it was perfect if you're curvy and want a flattering dress. The middle was loose and hid everything in the stomach area. The only problem I encountered was one of my own fault- I forgot about the fashion tape that RTR sent with the dress! Definitely a couple pictures that showed a little more of my top than I would like, but overall I would rent this dress 10 times out of 10! Party on :)
Rachael
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160 lbs
Jan 27, 2012

very flattering

Size worn: L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner at a nice restaurant and felt great. The dress is extremely comfortable and very flattering. It could have used some fashion tape because the top part kept needing to be adjusted, but overall I loved this dress.
LP
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Feb 15, 2012

hot dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the dress, but I probably shouldn't have worn it to my school's formal since I like to get down on the dance floor. It's a little skimpy to be moving around a lot in, especially around the bust area. Got a lot of compliments, though, and it was very comfortable to wear. Fashion tape is your best friend.
Lauren
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Feb 28, 2012

I loved this dress. It was perfect for my sorority's date party Phi-Va Las Vegas! I got compliments on it all night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The top was a little bit large on me, but I wear a size A bra. Other than that, I think it fit pretty true to size.
Patsy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Mar 1, 2012

It was our last NYE party before my fiance proposed! The dress was really a standout!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This runs a little large up top, it's probably because of the way the fabric drapes. I have a larger chest but my shoulders and build are pretty petite, it's definitely roomy so I would order a smaller size as your back up. It's a beautiful dress and the neckline sparkle looks great in pics!
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 20, 2012

My friends were in awe. They kept telling me it looked awesome!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Wore this to the clubs in Vegas and absolutely loved it. It was the perfect fit, the perfect length so that I didn't have to worry about it, everything. Only warning is that if you plan to ever bend over at all, tape it down. It's a bit low cut so leaning over isn't really an option.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107 lbs
Mar 28, 2012

Getting the dresses on time and in good condition.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress with the "Silver glitz bangle set," "Danielle blue agate earrings," and "Georgie clutch" and accessorized with a belt (because there's essentially just elastic that separates the top of the dress from the bottom). I normally wear a size 4 dress, but had to wear an XS in this dress. I'm also fairly large chested; however, you lose all sense of bra size or boob size in this dress... which my husband didn't care for. I liked the short length... short even for someone who's 5'2".
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
Apr 14, 2012

Felt so fabulous all night in Vegas! The dress made it a truly unforgettable night!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I fell in love with this dress! It wasn't my first choice, but it looked fun so I decided to try it and I was amazed. It looked and felt great all night- very comfortable and flattering. Just the right amount of sparkle- perfect for a night out in Vegas with my best friend!
ForTheParty
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Jul 25, 2012

My boyfriend told me I was best looking person at the party over and over throughout the night!

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I had a blast in this dress. I wore it to a party in downtown Atlanta and it was perfect. Definitely get tape to hold the top up and size down for your extra size. I ordered a S and an XS and the S looked ridiculous on me. It wouldn't let me pick XS on the review, but that's what I ended up wearing.
Genevieve
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115 lbs
Aug 22, 2012

This was the perfect dress for Las Vegas! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I wore this dress to my sorority reunion in Las Vegas. I wanted to show off my petite frame, but not drown in the outfit. This was the perfect dress! I received so many compliments, and a gentleman even pulled me from the crowd to take a picture with him!
Carol
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 45
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Sep 3, 2012

The way I felt it in my dress.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was my back up dress. I wore since the other did not fit. I loved the color and neckline. I received compliments from both my friends and other invited guests.
Christina
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 23
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Apple
Sep 9, 2012

Sorority Formal Dress

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Such a great dress to wear, i loved it. It fit perfectly and just looked so great.
Melissa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Sep 25, 2012

This dress was a showstopper and I felt amazing in it!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I wasn't expecting as much draping on the top, which is why I said it runs a little large; definitely size down one when you order. The dress is super stretchy and comfortable, and looks great with sky high heels. Expect a beautiful dress in a beautiful color with just enough sparkle to make it stand out from the crowd!
Nivia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Sep 26, 2012

A Friend's birthday

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Very fitted at the bottom, and very loose at the top. I wore a belt to make the dress more flattering. The V neck was very deep and I had to use tape to keep my bra from showing the whole time.
kaleigh
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 21
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 160 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

The easiness of receiving and delivering of the dress.

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
fit well, top half runs a bit large
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Nov 13, 2012

Perfect cocktail dress

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Runs large
Natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 16
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 200 lbs
Nov 14, 2012

Classy and comfortable

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Rented this for tropical vacation. It was fitted around the butt/hips and loose up top (perfect for hiding belly!). I probably could have worn a M for it to be less tight around the hips. Used a small amount of fashion tape on the front. Overall it was a great dress. Looking back at my pics vs. model pics, I realized I actually wore it wrong - didn't put the sleeves on! Oops. No one (including myself) seemed to notice...
Meka
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Apple
Weight: 145 lbs
Nov 26, 2012

Good fit and runs true to size.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
Wore this for my 37th birthday and it was a hit! Very comfortable and nice length on the skirt.
Kim
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 157 lbs
Dec 16, 2012

I loved the ease of picking a dress from RTR! It was great to see the dresses on other women!

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I ordered the M and L and could have worn either. Chose the large as the skirt wasn't as snug and I knew I'd be dancing and sitting during the party and didn't want to worry about it inching up. I am between a 10-12 in sizes...just depends on the designer. The fashion tape is a must as the neckline is plunging. The tape stayed in place and I didn't have to worry about it all night. I chose the Kendra Scott blue agate earrings and they were perfect. I also rented the silver glitz bangles...but they were too small to fit over my wrist. So ladies with a wider hand take note if you are going to rent these. I was bummed as they were so beautiful. I loved this dress as it showed off my assets in all the right places (legs/butt/chest) and hid the part i wanted to hide (tummy). I think if I had to wear this again i might try to add a belt like some others did to add a bit more definition to the midsection but that may have highlighted my tummy as well. i I had a great experience with RTR and will be renting from you again!
Cindy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 63
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Dec 18, 2012

Fun dress and comfortable.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
It is very generous on top, so a padded bra, once again, came to my rescue. I received a lot of compliments and the color is spectacular!
Eurie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 27
Body type: Apple
Jan 4, 2013

Comfy with a great touch of glam

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented the dress for a night out at a club in Vegas and it looked great! The neckline and the sleeves added a nice touch of glitter and glam and the color of the dress is beautiful. It was also super comfortable for dancing and hanging out. This was my second style so I didn't get a back-up size, but I'm pretty sure that the large (which I would've chosen) would have been way too big, so the medium was perfect. Sorry I don't have any full length shots of the dress! I uploaded the two that came closest.
Erin
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Jan 12, 2013

gorgeous dress!!! I wish I could have taken a full pose photo :(

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
fits very well-this is a great dress -- very comfortable to wear. received HUGE compliments!
claire
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 23
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 125 lbs
Jan 30, 2013

Great dress and perfect for the event!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
the length was great and the size was perfect! The cut wasn't too low either. the sleeves were loose just like the picture. The earrings worked great with it as well.
Janelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 14
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Apple
Weight: 170 lbs
Feb 4, 2013

Loved the sparkles! Great dress to celebrate my 21st birthday!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
Again, I'm so pleased with my Rent the Runway experience. The reviews were so helpful in the case of this dress. I had no problems with the sizing because I already know what to expect (so glad I ordered the medium for my back-up!). Even though the top fits loosely, it is still very flattering. The beading is so wonderful; I love sparkly accents! I also ordered tights from Rent the Runway. They were $6 when I bought them, which was a great deal, especially because they turned out to be really comfortable! Overall, I'm so glad to have rented this dress for my birthday!
lulu
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 121 lbs
Feb 15, 2013

Versatile and comfortable, but a little big.

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Vacation
I'm usually a size 6 in dresses and wore this in the XS. I am not sure if the one I got was a bit stretched around the bottom band, it seemed like it might have been worn in a bit, but it was a little loose fitting, I wouldve preferred it a little tighter. I don't have a butt at all, though, so that could have been part of the problem. Overall it was a very fun dress to wear, very comfortable and eye catching and super easy for a night out in Vegas. I highly recommend this dress, and may rent it in the coral color sometime, too!
meg
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Feb 16, 2013

SAG Awards Screening & Q&A for Argo

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Other
I felt this dress was fantastic!!! It ran a bit large but the color looked great on my complexion (olive) along with the California sun bouncing off the beading. The top was a big heavy due to all the beading, but nothing unbearable
Allie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 158 lbs
Mar 4, 2013

Beautiful color, runs large up top.

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The beading on the top was very heavy and kept sliding down. I ordered a M and L and even the M was too loose; The bottom however fit perfect. Over all I loved the dress it was perfect for my birthday party on the town. The only reason I deducted a star was because I had to keep pulling it into place all night.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 131 lbs
Mar 17, 2013

Fun & Flirty Dress!

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful lightweight material, vibrant color. Bottom fits on the snug side for us curvier girls. I am a size 2/4 on the bottom and this fit snug but stretches a bit throughout the night so it was perfect. The top is very loose fitting and I forgot to get fashion tape to hold the dress in place but I saw there were little straps on the shoulder to put around your bra straps and they worked great!!! I recommend this dress!
Mykela
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Mar 20, 2013

Rent this dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
My first experience with RTR and will definitely not be my last! I felt like a celebrity - this dress is so glamorous, I got compliments all night. The other reviews mentioned that it runs large (and it definitely does) so I ordered a S and XS. The style is very flow-y and a bit on the baggy side so I would recommend garment tape as well. Gorgeous color and the neckline is to die for.
Jess
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 27
Bust size: 38D+
Body type: Full Bust
Mar 25, 2013

Wore this for my 25th birthday in Atlantic City, NJ!

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
Beautiful dress!! bottom fit a little snug, but it was fine. The top was a little big, but with some fashion tape everything stayed in place. First experience with RTR and I will absolutely be renting again!! :)
Amanda
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
May 9, 2013

SUCH an eye-catching party dress!!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the color, and the sparkles around the neckline really make it a special dress! The only thing was the fit definitely ran large, I ended up wearing the smaller of my two sizes and still had to belt the extra fabric. Even so-- looked great and had a great time in this dress!!
Amanda
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Aug 26, 2013

Perfect Dress!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this for my 23rd birthday in AC and it was perfect. Got lots of compliments. This dress does run big like most of the reviews say, but I liked it a lot because I felt comfortable in it compared to something that is skin tight. I usually wear a medium but with this dress I wore the x-small and still had room. The color is more blueish-purple in person. Recommend getting fashion tape because the top does hang down pretty low, I used some and was fine the whole night with nothing popping out! Overall great dress!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Sep 22, 2013

Amazing blue!

Size worn: XS
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
This dress totally pops and is very forgiving. I did size down as the top runs big. The neckline dresses it up nicely and the cinched skirt at the bottom brings it together. The color is gorgeous! Definitely pair it up with the matching earrings! My friend in this pick to the far right is also wearing RTR, we had a lot of converters that night!
natalie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 39
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Oct 2, 2013

I got so many compliments on this dress. It was perfect for a cocktail party or a fun event!A

Size worn: S
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
The dress fit great. It's blousy on the top but fits close to the body so it's very flattering
Lisa
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Body type: Apple
Jan 10, 2014

Party Perfect

Size worn: M
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
I rented this dress for a night out in Vegas. It was very comfortable and elegant and the color was beautiful. I would highly recommend this one. It runs a bit large.
Jen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Full Bust
Feb 2, 2014

Great little dress. Its more of a cobalt blue than I thought

Size worn: M
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Good fit. I had no problem with the top like others in the past. Neckline was great and didnt need to wear a necklace just fun earrings and bracelets/bangles.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 185 lbs
Mar 29, 2014

The top of the dress is sparkly no necklace needed

Size worn: L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
It fit great. A little snug on the bottom but overall this was a great Vegas dress!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Apr 15, 2014

Too large

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Party
The dress was way too large on the top and super tight around the hips. The jewels around the bodice were heavy and hung awkwardly. Thankfully I ordered this as my backup dress and didn't need to wear it (instead I wore a long Badgley Mischka which I loved).
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×