Blue Silk Wave Dress

$65 rental
$385 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

Grab those dancing shoes and wear this sexy Nicole Miller cobalt dress. Go with monochromatic earrings and wear Kendra Scott's Danielle Blue Agate Earrings.

Also available in coral.

Size & Fit

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs a size large. We recommend going one size down for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions). Sizes XS,S,M,L. Size XS=0,2; S=4; M=6,8; L=10,12.

BUST: Great for any cup size - very comfortable room at bust
WAIST: Fitted - loosely fitted at midsection with elastic band
HIPS: Fitted - more fitted for curvier women
LENGTH: Mid-thigh - (on a 5'5" model)

UNDERGARMENTS: May be worn with any standard bra
FABRIC: Fabric has some stretch at mid-section
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Petite, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types
(Model's height is 5'10".)

Size Chart

Size Chart

Product Details

Blue silk crepe de chine(100% silk). V neckline with beaded embellishment. Open sleeves. Bloussant body. 34'' from shoulder to hem. Imported.

Share
99 reviews
Fit
Large41
True to Size55
Small3
Top Contributor
Size worn:
None
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
July 25, 2012
My boyfriend told me I was best looking person at the party over and over throughout the night!
I had a blast in this dress. I wore it to a party in downtown Atlanta and it was perfect. Definitely get tape to hold the top up and size down for your extra size. I ordered a S and an XS and the S looked ridiculous on me. It wouldn't let me pick XS on the review, but that's what I ended up wearing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 35
Body type: Apple
June 14, 2012
Sister's Rehearsal Dinner
I wore this to my sister's rehearsal dinner, & got so many compliments! This was the first time a lot of people had seen me since I had a baby (I was still hanging on to some baby weight/pooch!), I was told more than once that I was looking like a "hot mom!" Warning, the bottom part is quite tight, so if the butt/thighs is where you carry weight, you might not want to size down. I was worried about the elastic waist part (waist was NOT the area I wanted to highlight), but the top blouses over it no problem. The dress seemed like it had been worn a lot (fabric seemed maybe a touch faded?), and there was a very small (almost imperceptible) white mark on the front of the dress, but not noticeable at all. The dress was also very, very short. I'm tall, and was feeling just a little like it was too short, but after the compliments started rolling in, I decided the length was just fine!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
April 20, 2012
Great Dress
I loved the fabric -- it was lightweight and reminded me of silk. The beading was much prettier than in the picture. This dress is not something I would normally wear, so it was great to try something different and not be stuck with it forever! It did run a little large. I really am more like an 11; sometimes 10s fit and sometimes 12s. Because of the bust size for the Medium, I stuck to the large and did not opt for a second dress. I was very grateful for the fashion tape that was included to secure the plunging neckline. It accentuated my curves and was very flattering. My fiance loved it on me.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34D+
Body type: Hourglass
April 14, 2012
Felt so fabulous all night in Vegas! The dress made it a truly unforgettable night!
I fell in love with this dress! It wasn't my first choice, but it looked fun so I decided to try it and I was amazed. It looked and felt great all night- very comfortable and flattering. Just the right amount of sparkle- perfect for a night out in Vegas with my best friend!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 2
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
April 9, 2012
Absolutely perfect!
This dress was amazing and the exact same color you see on the website. I'm a little taller than 6 foot and it wasn't too short at all. I would definitely order the free back-up size a size smaller than what you would usually wear; I usually wear a small but the extra-small fit better. The top fit fine and I'm not that big busted, it only slunk down throughout the night because of the beads around the neckline. I wore this to homecoming and it was a huge success! Survived dancing and pictures perfectly fine! Have fun!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 43
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 107lbs
March 28, 2012
Getting the dresses on time and in good condition.
I rented this dress with the "Silver glitz bangle set," "Danielle blue agate earrings," and "Georgie clutch" and accessorized with a belt (because there's essentially just elastic that separates the top of the dress from the bottom). I normally wear a size 4 dress, but had to wear an XS in this dress. I'm also fairly large chested; however, you lose all sense of bra size or boob size in this dress... which my husband didn't care for. I liked the short length... short even for someone who's 5'2".
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
March 20, 2012
My friends were in awe. They kept telling me it looked awesome!
Wore this to the clubs in Vegas and absolutely loved it. It was the perfect fit, the perfect length so that I didn't have to worry about it, everything. Only warning is that if you plan to ever bend over at all, tape it down. It's a bit low cut so leaning over isn't really an option.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
March 1, 2012
It was our last NYE party before my fiance proposed! The dress was really a standout!
This runs a little large up top, it's probably because of the way the fabric drapes. I have a larger chest but my shoulders and build are pretty petite, it's definitely roomy so I would order a smaller size as your back up. It's a beautiful dress and the neckline sparkle looks great in pics!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
February 28, 2012
I loved this dress. It was perfect for my sorority's date party Phi-Va Las Vegas! I got compliments on it all night!
The top was a little bit large on me, but I wear a size A bra. Other than that, I think it fit pretty true to size.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
February 15, 2012
hot dress
Loved the dress, but I probably shouldn't have worn it to my school's formal since I like to get down on the dance floor. It's a little skimpy to be moving around a lot in, especially around the bust area. Got a lot of compliments, though, and it was very comfortable to wear. Fashion tape is your best friend.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Other
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 160lbs
January 27, 2012
very flattering
I wore this dress to my birthday dinner at a nice restaurant and felt great. The dress is extremely comfortable and very flattering. It could have used some fashion tape because the top part kept needing to be adjusted, but overall I loved this dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
January 23, 2012
This was the 2nd dress I rented in one order- so I got this dress for $25! Knowing that I had the most glamorous, most unique, and best priced dress for my birthday celebration is a memory I will never forget!
I wore this to my 21st birthday last week, and it was perfect for the party and night of dancing! The bottom definitely hugged my curves better than it shows on the model, but it was perfect if you're curvy and want a flattering dress. The middle was loose and hid everything in the stomach area. The only problem I encountered was one of my own fault- I forgot about the fashion tape that RTR sent with the dress! Definitely a couple pictures that showed a little more of my top than I would like, but overall I would rent this dress 10 times out of 10! Party on :)
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
M
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
January 15, 2012
totally worth it
this was my first time renting from RTR. i ordered this dress to go to a friends birthday party in hoboken. it was perfect! i felt like a million bucks in this dress... classy and sexy. I ordered the large but ended up wearing the medium. love that i had 2 sizes to choose from! overall... this website and dress are a big hit with me! well done!
Size worn:
L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 39
Body type: Hourglass
January 12, 2012
The compliments on my dress keep rolling in when anyone sees my pictures!
I wore this dress for New Year's Eve and was really happy with how the dress turned out. The bottom of the dress is very fitted, so on me the M was a little snug, and the L was a little big on top, but with the dress tape that was included I didn't have to worry about adjusting it all night. The silver neckline is actually stitched silver beading, I thought it would be sequins, but this actually made it much more elegant looking and photographed really well. The blue was a stood out in a room of black and silver and the silk was heavy enough that I didn't feel naked. I'm 5' 5" and it wasn't so short on me that I felt uncomfortable, it was just right. Great experience and I'm looking forward to another successful rental from RTR!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Vacation
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
December 30, 2011
Very Pretty!
This dress was very pretty and fun.... Forgiving in the waist if you need it to be. The color is really pretty and I loved the silver beading around the neck. Very comfortable, highly recommend.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
December 9, 2011
Need Fashion Tape
I loved the color and the detail of the neckline (saved me a trip to the jewelry store since I didn't need a necklace!), but it is IMPERATIVE to wear fashion tape unless you're a full C or larger. I'm an A and have broad shoulders, and I wore the most padded strapless bra I had, but I absolutely needed to wear fashion tape with the dress. Luckily, the ladies @ RTR sent me a few strips as part of a free sample, so I didn't have any wardrobe malfunctions! It was a bit tight in the rear for me, but I have big hips and a behind...I think this dress has potential to be more flattering on a taller woman, or if you're fairly slim with a large bust/torso.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
S
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Apple
December 5, 2011
A perfect hit - got some whistles from the NYC cabbies!
I love this dress so much I've rented it multiple times. Great things - 1) it hits at mid-thigh for someone my height so if you like a cute, short dress - i'd recommend this for 5'5" women and above. 2) It's best for a large chest as it drapes on top and perfectly highlighted my chest area. 3) the color is to die for! GORGEOUS.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125lbs
November 28, 2011
Not the dress for me
I wanted to love this dress...however it was so unflattering on me! It runs huge too. I was still swimming in the XS and I am usually a true size 4/Small. It also sorta looked cheap. Also, very baggy in the midsection...and not in a good, forgiving kind of way...
Top Contributor
Size worn:
XS
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 23, 2011
Looks better on the model
I loved the color of this dress and thought it would be perfect to wear over a wedding weekend at the beach, however, when I tried the dress on it was huge on me and very unflattering. I didn't end up wearing the dress.
See more reviews:
3 / 3

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×