You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Open Back Sequin Gown
Rental $80 Retail $750
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple, red, and purple sequin.
Chat with a Stylist
Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos252

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Tai
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Oct 17, 2013
Amazing Dress
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Unfortunately my fiance got the details for the event wrong and "black tie" was actually "cockail", so I didn't get to this wear this dress. The dress itself is timeless. The fit is amazing and hugs just right without making you feel self conscious about anything. I will be renting this dress again to actually wear to our next actual formal affair.
Holly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 108 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 14, 2013
Great staple
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Overall great staple black tie dress. Fit like a glove though not too tight. Just grazing the floor with 3.5-4" heels. I would consider renting it again in the future in a different color because the fit was great.
Emma
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4524
Oct 11, 2013
Great dress, very form fitting - great for more toned down, formal affairs.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress fit well and was true to size. Material and draping were beautiful. Sequins on shoulder straps definitely dressed up the dress, but overall still a very basic, black dress. Probably best for toned down formal affairs with an older crowd. The shape of the shoulder straps also emphasizes width of your arm, making it look larger.
Jessi
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4442
Oct 10, 2013
Absolutely stunning dress. Fitted and elegant. Simple, yet daring.
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress fit like a glove. But had delicate folds over the stomach and sides if you are conscious about your midsection. The open back was a little bit sexy, but the dress is very classy. Great for a black-tie wedding or event.
Emily
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Oct 9, 2013
Fabulous dress, great fit.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Vacation
Would recommend a great strapless bra with this one. Other than that, no complaints!
Maggie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Oct 6, 2013
perfect sexy fit!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I couldn't believe how fabulous this dress looked--fit in all of the right places without being trashy. Felt like a red carpet star!
Marlene
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Oct 3, 2013
Stunning dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to a formal event for a professional organization (mostly lawyers) and received compliments all night. It is very flattering on curves and still classy and appropriate for a professional event. The 4R fit me like a glove. I contemplated wearing the size 6R because it offered a little more breathing room, but it was too long and too big up by the shoulders. The sequins did chafe a bit on the arms by the end of the night, but that was a small price to pay to look and feel absolutely gorgeous.
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8544
Oct 3, 2013
Best Dress I've Rented so far
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I absolutely loved this dress. It was so flattering and I loved the little sleeves and back. Would HIGHLY recommend. Couple of things to look out for: 1) It is VERY form fitting. This is just how it is supposed to be. If you are uncomfortable in a super form fitting dress, this one is not for you. 2) I wore spanx under the dress and it had a tendency to twist around while I was walking, so the zipper wasn't straight down my back. I kept having to pull it back into place. I don't think it would have done this if I had not been wearing spanx, but it was kind of annoying. 3) it is long and gets wrinkled in the shipping package. Be prepared to steam it when you get it, unless you don't care. Otherwise, I think this was a great dress. Like I said the little sleeves were just enough to cover my armpit fat and the material had enough give that I could enjoy myself and not feel too constricted. Also, I'm fairly chesty and I never felt like I was going to fall out of the dress. I never felt like it was too revealing. Just the right amount of sexy and class. Really liked this dress.
Tricia
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6423
Sep 24, 2013
Very convenient and easy to use!
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful dress, fits true to size
Alicia
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Sep 20, 2013
Beautiful dress!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
My only compliant was that the length was off. I am 5'4 115 and the length of the 2 was perfect but too big but the 0 fit like a glove but was a tiny bit too short. I ended up sort of in a time crunch so I went with the 0 and went and bought shorter heels to wear.
5'11" NYC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5543
Sep 17, 2013
The dress was a hit!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Wedding
The dress really hugs your curves. I ordered teh 6L and the 4L but went with the 4L because it showed off my curves. You definitely need some cups for this dress unless you have a large bust. I think it's also important to note that you will have to suck in your tummy for must of the night even though Nicole Miller dresses have that great ruching. I wore heels with the dress for most of the night but was then able to switch to flats for the dancing without having the dress drag too much.
sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Sep 16, 2013
Very pretty/flattering dress
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would imagine this dress is very flattering for most women. I wore a size 2 regular, which is a size down from my normal size, 4. Back is very pretty. I love that you can wear a normal bra with this - which will help your boobs look amazing. I recommend.
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 4531
Sep 12, 2013
Absolutely perfect
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is absolutely stunning, particularly for my body type (smaller on top). Perfect with an updo as well given the shoulders. Plenty of confidence and compliments - recommend for anyone!!!
Nicole
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 164 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5444
Sep 11, 2013
The "wows" I got all night long! I was the best dressed and told that by many people!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Dress is true to size. I wear a 6 normally. The 6L fit perfectly. I wore the VS version of Spanx just because the material was thin. I am 5' 9" and wore 4" heels, dress flowed perfectly. You could just see my the tips of my shoes. I would rent this dress again for other occasions. It was amazing!
C
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Aug 7, 2013
Classy, Sexy
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't actually wear this dress as it was my back up but I did try it on. I would recommend a long as the regular was shorter than I would have liked. The dress seems to run true to size and has little stretch to it but not much. Overall it was a pretty dress and I would consider renting it for another event.
JENNIFER
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Aug 6, 2013
gorgeous dress, loved how it fit and felt against my body
Size worn: 6P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great with 3" heels, fits snug in all the right places
J9
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Jul 30, 2013
Loved this Dress!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
After having an issue with a different dress, I called RTR and the girl who helped me was so nice and accommodating. She shipped me this dress as a back up Next Day UPS and I absolutely loved it. Simple, pretty, and very flattering. I would definitely rent this dress again.
mililove
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 147 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6523
Jun 18, 2013
ok :)
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I rented this as a back up, and it was a great idea. The stylish is a beautiful classic one. I got beautiful complements from my friends. I handled the length quite ok. Thanks.
Crystal
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3423
Jun 10, 2013
Felt like a princess!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This dress was absolutely stunning! It fit like a glove and was the perfect length for the 2 inch heels I wore with it . The only reason why I am not rating it 5 stars is because I had to adjust the back all night as the zipper that ran down the back kept moving over to the right side. I had a great experience with RTR for my first time and have also decided to rent from them again for another wedding this weekend!
Anne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 4431
Jun 7, 2013
I wore this dress for a Mardi Gras ball, and everyone loved it!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Great dress!
K
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5442
Jun 6, 2013
Elegant!
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress for a charity gala in NYC...it was spectacular! Love the back (even has an exposed zipper for a fun touch) and the shoulder glitz brought the dress alive. Would happily order this again. Maybe a little on the small side, I normally wear a 6, but decided to wear an 8 because it was a more comfortable.
l
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7534
Jun 5, 2013
would rent again
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was a fabulous dress. Went with my regular size with SPANX underneath. Wore a strapless bra as the straps on dress are far set. Sequins did rub my arm raw by end of night.
carolyn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Jun 4, 2013
gorgeous gown - lots of compliments
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
rented this dress for a gala that I had to wear black. Absolutely LOVE the style of this dress (I now own it in blue). the stretch is just enough to make it hug your body without being too tight and the extra bling on the back adds some fun to a black gown.
julie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 162 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
May 24, 2013
I never stopped getting compliments on how I looked!!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Even my boyfriend of 4 years (who NEVER stopps in his tracks to say "wow") couldn't stop complimenting me. It accentuated my butt really well... it just looked realllllllly nice on me! I'm definitely renting this one again!!
Amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 15, 2013
Great dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this for a black tie event at business school. Really comfortable dress, easy to wear. Was a bit long even with tall shoes - and it does have a slight train so FYI, be careful during cocktail hour! I used fashion tape to make more of a sweetheart neckline - but it didn't stay long.
Rebecca
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 45
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4633
May 15, 2013
felt great
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress fit very well and the ruching was very flattering. The slight train in the back made dancing a little dangerous but was easily lifted up. I was able to wear a regular push up bra vs strapless - just moved the back strap over some.
Meghan
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4433
May 10, 2013
Classic Black Dress!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Very true to size, was extremely flattering. Loved the sequin straps. Added such a nice touch to a classic black dress :)
hillary
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
May 6, 2013
great fit and flattering!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
great fit, and very comfortable! highly recommended!
Nicole
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7424
May 6, 2013
A good first-time renting experience!
Size worn: 10P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Overall I enjoyed the dress. I wore it for a black tie event that I was working, and it was comfortable enough to allow me to run around making sure things were going smoothly so I'm sure it's just as comfortable to dance in! I wore it with a strapless bra, but I didn't have to do much of that fidgety secret-bra-adjustment move that all women perfect I liked the dress but I'm glad I'm only renting because I had 2 complaints. One, the dress has a small amount of ruching in the front and back that isn't apparent in the picture. I found that it made me look like the dress didn't fit well or was bunching up. Two, the zipper in the back didn't lie flat, it would buckle out in 1 or 2 places. I'm bigger in the bust than I am in the hips, and I do have a short torso, and I think both of these things contributed to the zipper buckling phenomenon that I experienced.
YC
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2421
May 4, 2013
Perfect for a black tie wedding!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lovely dress for a black tie wedding. It was simple and sophisticated and fit really well.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
May 3, 2013
This was my first choice to wear to a military ball but I wound up wearing the backup!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Well, this dress fit fine and was very attractive, but I wound up wearing the backup simply because I liked the style and fit better. I did not like the ruching around the midsection, which is not really visible in the photo of the dress on the website. I would still recommend it because it is classy and pretty, but I didn't like the ruching and that was the only issue I had with it.
JMarie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 38
Body type: Pear
Canonical User Type: 8541
Apr 28, 2013
Beautifully simple.
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Chose this as my second $25 dress, with Such A Knockout Dress being primary. I wore this dress just because I thought it would fit the event better (which is did). I found it to be just long enough w/ 2.5 in heels, which would be different than many reviews. Maybe I just like mine longer. Wore with silver sequin slingback heels and had many compliments.
Lia
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Apr 24, 2013
Comfy, classy dress for a black tie wedding.
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding in January and received SO many compliments. I am tall (6 ft) and the length was just right with flats. The best part about this dress is how comfortable and flattering it is; the material is stretchy, but somehow not clingy. Definitely recommended!
Danielle
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 145 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5533
Apr 13, 2013
I nice dress. Fits a bit smaller on the bottom than I anticipated. Elegant overall.
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only problem I had was that the two sizes I ordered had different zippers (one was black and one was gold). Clearly, this posed a bit of a problem in that the dresses were not identical and the black zipper looked seamless and more elegant whereas the the gold zipper was bulkier and casued the dress not to fit as well. It was also clearly exposed and obvious against the black fabric, which made the dress look cheaper. My guess is that the gold zipper was a replacement and should have been "retired" by RTR instead of fixed.
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4434
Apr 13, 2013
Such a great dress... love the detailing. I got so many compliments!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved the fit of this dress, but I wish I had gotten a size smaller. I have fairly small shoulders, so I'll bet this dress would fit broader shoulders perfectly. I loved the gathered sides and the sequins on the shoulder straps. The back is my favorite part. Great dress!
Casey
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Apr 10, 2013
Lots of compliments, true to size
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I am 5'7" and I ordered the 4L by accident, but with 4" heels, it was completely fine (next time I would have ordered a 4R). The dress was very comfortable and was ruched in the right places. The bust was well cut: not too low, but gives a great shape. Overall: I felt very elegant. The size 6 also fit well (the bust was probably a better fit to be honest), but the neck was a little too big. Was a little wrinkled, but easily fix-able with a steamer or low setting. Only complaint was that the hem came out of the bottom, and had I not left the fashion tape at home, it wouldn't have been an issue. Would definitely use RTR again. Great experience!
Donna
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6534
Apr 8, 2013
This was my first time renting from RTR and the whole experiences has been so easy and friendly.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Other
The dress was amazing, very comfortable to move,dance in. It stayed in place the entire time. It is a very classy and sophisticated look, perfect for Hourglass type of body.
Ashleyb
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Apr 8, 2013
This dress was beautiful! I would love to have it in my closet full time.
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The fabric and ruching of this dress were more forgiving than I would have thought from the picture. I wore it 5 months post baby and it was perfect! Loved the zipper and shoulder detailing. I rented the size 2 as well and it would have fit fine but it ran a little long even with tall heels. I didn't want to worry with others or myself tripping over the bottom so I ended up wearing the 0.
Katie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 29
Body type: Straight & narrow
Canonical User Type: 4441
Apr 4, 2013
I loved this dress!! It really fit well, and was very flattering.
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I thought this dress was perfect for a wedding!
Elle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3533
Apr 2, 2013
Great Dress, but another girl had the same one on! People kept complimenting it. The length was good
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Fit was good but kind of tight on the stomach
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress