Rent the Runway

Nicole Miller

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 Retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple, purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share

Got A Minute?

Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.

557 reviews

Fit
Small 34
True to Size 481
Large 28
Photos 357
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 4, 2014

The photo does not do this dress justice. It is a stunning gown and I received a ton of compliments

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove, didn't need to wear a bra which was nice. The material does not wrinkle which was great since I needed to put it in a suitcase.
Scrappy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Mar 9, 2014

Too large for a petite body!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress on the website but unfortunately it just did not fit properly and was too large/loose across the shoulders, back and chest. I have a short torso so it might work better on a petite body but with a longer torso. The fabric was great and the shimmer over the shoulders was lovely.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Mar 10, 2014

Very Flattering Fit!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress had enough stretch that you could dance and eat in it. Very comfortable and flattering!
Keally
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Body type: Petite
Mar 11, 2014

Loved it, felt glamorous and comfy at the same time.

Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
May be a bit long for those of us on the petite side.
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Mar 12, 2014

This dress fit PERFECT! I loved it!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only con is that is was a little long I'm 5'2" but it was nothing a higher heel couldn't fix. This dress was comfortable beautiful and fit perfect like a glove! I hope I have another black tie event soon so I can rent again.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Received many comploments

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was great!
Taylor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Mar 13, 2014

Loved this dress! Will rent again for other events.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I ordered the long version because I wanted to wear tall heels 4" and the dress needed to be past your ankles for regulation at the military event. I received lots of compliments. I felt sexy while being somewhat conservative. Perfect fit, and very comfortable.
Daniela
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Mar 21, 2014

Perfect fit for petites!

Size worn: 0P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This was my first rental from RTR and it will not be the last! I was worried about renting a long dress due to the length. Turns out, both the 0 and the 2 fit, but the 0 was a bit shorter, so I went with that. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress grazed the floor slightly, but it worked out great. Like other reviewers said, this dress was comfy and really flattering.
Molly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Mar 23, 2014

Loved the sequin detail, made for anything but a standard black dress!

Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress, but received it and the zipper has obviously been replaced. It was not the same zipper as pictured on the dress. It looked very worn and banged up, but the dress itself was absolutely stunning. Ended up going with another selection for the night, but would have loved to have worn this, had it not been so "used".
Ashley
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190 lbs
Mar 26, 2014

Button at back of dress sadly broke but RTR sent me a new one right away

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Dress did not fit and button broke at back
Elizabeth
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

sexy dress with stretchy forgiving fabric. Rouching flatters tummy!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Beautiful, flattering dress. I didn't wear because my whole group wore gold as it was an Oscar party, but it looked so good and slenderized that I will rent again!
Kristy
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Mar 31, 2014

Pretty dress, understated front and interesting back.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I went to a black tie gala and was 5 months pregnant. Fortunately, I wasn't showing too much yet and was able to just go up a size to fit into it. It was a little tight across the chest due to my larger than life boobs from my pregnancy. Overall, the dress was beautiful and just what I needed to feel comfortable in my new shaped body. The only down side was the train. It was pretty long and was stepped on a lot.
Mel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 2, 2014

Many compliments on the dress!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It is snug around the middle, but the gathered material makes it work. I am almost 5'7 and the regular was fine with 3" heals. It has a train which still touched the floor.
RTR Customer
Top Contributor
Apr 7, 2014

Beautiful!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I didn't wear this but I rented it and was torn between the dress to choose! It's so beautiful on!
Kelli
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 7, 2014

Makes you feel like the belle of the ball!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
So happy this was my back-up dress! It fit perfectly & was just the right length w/ 3+ inch heels. I got so many compliments & it was super comfortable to dance the night away.
Allison
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Apr 12, 2014

Black-tie event, floor-length dress required.

Size worn: None
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
I got this dress in 6L and 8L. Both were extremely tight all over and not flattering on me at all. Both sizes fit the exact same way, I really saw no difference between them. I guess I would've needed an even larger size to be acceptable. The sequins on the sleeves also scratched my arms just trying it on. The dress is pretty and the length was fine with a 3-4 inch heel. Order a size or two up if you decide to get this one.
Krissy E
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120 lbs
Apr 14, 2014

Fabulous dress for black tie event!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I can't say enough great things about this dress. It was comfortable, form fitting and so flattering. I got so many compliments and really didn't want to take it off! I wore it for a black tie charity gala, and it was really perfect for the event. I got great advice about sizing from RTR stylist Jessica. I had very short notice about this event, and she helped me find this dress and recommended the exact size I ended up wearing.
Elisa
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 105 lbs
Apr 18, 2014

wouldn't have it in my closet, but perfect for my formal event

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
sleek, comfortable, just enough sparkle and skin
NYCfashiongirl
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 34
Body type: Athletic
Apr 19, 2014

Great

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Good fit and very flattering
Sarah
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

This was my first rental with RTR and I couldn't have been happier.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I had a black tie wedding to attend so I picked this dress and it made me feel gorgeous! It is a form fitting so if your self conscious about your mid section may want to get some spandex or something. I was worried about the train in the back but actually ended up loving it and it wasn't too long to dance in :). Overall beautiful gown!
Jackie
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 34
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175 lbs
Apr 29, 2014

I received a lot of compliments and felt super sexy!

Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The fabric is great, it has some stretch and is very soft. The top was just enough embellishment to break away from a completely black dress. I had no problem with the length, it was great with my 3 in heels.
Sierra
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 138 lbs
May 10, 2014

I wore this to a black tie work function and looked amazing. I fit right in with the celebrities!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The dress hung very elegantly over my curves, complimenting my hourglass figure. The length was just right and I was able to work, look good, and feel comfortable the whole time. The dress was a little tight on my hips but I am used to that on most dresses. The shoulders are cut a little loose but this didn't effect the look or the night.
Rosa
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115 lbs
May 13, 2014

Loved the dress!

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It was my first rental so I was hopeful yet still skeptical. To fear not - the dress fit great and was in great condition too! One little quirk: the back of the dress is a longer than the front (which doesn't show in the picture), so take that into consideration when picking out your shoes. I wore about a 5 inch pump (including a small platform) and the front of the shoe was exposed while the dress fully covered the back. The only problem I had with the dress was that the back straps didn't sit well against my skin and stuck out a bit. I have very slim shoulders and small bust so perhaps others will fill it out a bit better than I did. However, everyone loved the dress and the fit and straps didn't take anything away from the look!
lindsay
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
May 13, 2014

perfect for some baby bump!

Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this dress 4 months pregnant, and ordered my usual size. With it's slim fit but stretchy material, it fit perfectly and was very flattering even with some extra belly!
Jennifer
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
May 23, 2014

Loved it! Received so many compliments!

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Fit perfectly! I got so many compliments on this dress. A little difficult to find a bra that works well with it, but not impossible.
Sam
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 138 lbs
Jun 4, 2014

Nice sparkle on the shoulder area. But a little too tight and the fabric is not forgiving.

Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
Aside from the super-tight fit, the dress was too short, even in the long version. I ended up not wearing it, because I felt uncomfortable in it.
Melanie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 170 lbs
Jun 5, 2014

Doubled as Halloween costume- great fit!

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
To play Anne Hathaway's Selina Kyle at the masquerade ball, I rented this and added my own accessories. I have rented this dress in the cobalt for a costume party before and its become a go-to. Nice ruching at stomach disguises flaws and sequins on straps add interest and sparkle. Highly recommend!
Lily
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Jun 7, 2014

This was the perfect dress for a formal September evening wedding in Philadelphia

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I got this dress in 6R and 4R and I ended up wearing the 4R. It is formfitting but the ruching around the waist/stomach made me feel super comfy. I didn't have any issues with the sequins causing irritation in the armpit. I would recommend spanx or going commando because that's what I ended up doing because I didn't have any spanx and I could still see panty lines with my supposed no show panties and with a thong. I think I had 2-3 inch heals and the dress hit perfectly. I would definitely recommend this dress!
Amanda Lynne
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Pear
Jun 11, 2014

Amazing gown worn at my best friends wedding that I did a reading at!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Worn with a strapless bra!
Lauren
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Jun 11, 2014

Husband's Military Ball

Size worn: None
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this for my husbands military ball, unfortunately I was unable to wear it. I was about 5 months pregnant and it was too tight around my belly and when I called to get a bigger size, they were all out. I was disappointed as this dress is absolutely beautiful!!
Julie C.
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 143 lbs
Jun 17, 2014

Perfect for a black-tie wedding. Tons of compliments, easy to dance in.

Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Lots of compliments, fit great. Was a little longer than I expected. I'm 5'8" and had to wear 4" heals with the long dress. Only real issue with the dress was the hem was coming undone at the bottom so I had to use double-stick fabric tape to hold it together. There were a few places on the dress where the fabric had pulled, but no one but me noticed. Overall I was really happy with the dress.
S
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 115 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

Looooooove this dress. Received compliments all night long.

Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Amazing dress!!! Very comfortable and the gathering at the tummy is very forgiving. Only thing I didn't like was that the zipper on the back was exposed, but for how well the dress fit and how much I liked the style, I got over the zipper pretty quickly. I have never had so many complete strangers come up to me just to compliment me on my dress.
Rachel
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 24+
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 23
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 250 lbs
Jun 22, 2014

So many options during a crisis!

Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit was great!!
Erinn
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 21
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 147 lbs
Jun 24, 2014

Liked the dress but it was too short!

Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I liked the cut of the dress but it was too short! I'm only 5'7" and it only came down to my ankles. I usually like my dress to cover my shoes and I had bought some really nice heals that I wasn't able to wear. The dress is very flattering and even though I usually wear a 4 I was able to wear a 2.
Julie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 41
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145 lbs
Jun 28, 2014

This dress was beautiful, but I wore my back up dress instead!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was nice. I ordered the 8L and the 10L and both were a good length. I'm 5' 5 1/2" and wore 5" heels. The dress touched the floor and was great. The black sequins were a little shinier than i expected them to be, but it was a nice dress. The 8L was a little too snug, and the 10L was a little too loose, just the way the ruched materials gathered around the waist wasn't as flattering as I'd hoped. If I had not had a back up dress style, I would have happily worn the 10L. It was a well made dress and was beautiful!
DW
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130 lbs
Jul 4, 2014

This dress is amazing. I n

Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is amazing. I usually steer clear of black b/c I want to stand out (and I steer clear of Nicole Miller b/c she's so ubiquitous) but I tried this on at RTRW's showroom and didn't want to take it off. That's the thing about Nicole, she knows how to fit a woman. I had been vacation eating and had a little belly pooch and it sucked me in and emphasized all the right curves. Everyone told me how thin and amazing I looked.
HM82
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120 lbs
Jul 12, 2014

Perfect for a formal black tie event

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fits true to size. Great dress for a black tie event. The sequin sleeves are the perfect addition!
Allison
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Jul 15, 2014

So flattering!

Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Arrived a little dirty on the train- so I ended up wearing the other size. I received so many compliments at a formal wedding.
Jodi
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 126 lbs
Jul 21, 2014

It was simple but very elegant and it fit great.

Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I'm 5'2'' and I wore the dress with heels and the length was perfect. It was really pretty and it was comfortable.
samantha
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134 lbs
Aug 6, 2014

Felt very elegant in this dress...wore it to a NYC black tie wedding

Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Hugs every curve on your body
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×