You are masquerading as ! (switch back)
| REVIEWS |
 
| MY BAG
 

FREE SHIPPING + INSURANCE
What's this?

Rent like a PRO all year long! One year of
free shipping & insurance. Plus, we'll throw in
a free birthday dress. Learn More

Our Runway
What's New
Dresses
Accessories
Occasions
Designers
Stores
Blog
Black Open Back Sequin Gown
Rental $80 Retail $750
info
  • Stylist Notes
  • Product Details
  • Size & Fit
This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple, red, and purple sequin.
Chat with a Stylist
Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.
Chat with a Stylist
This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Chat with a Stylist
  • Enter your shipping zip code
  • Select size
    Select free 2nd size
  • Select the day you'd like your dress to arrive
    We recommend you select a rental start date 1-2 days before your event.
    Renting for Thanksgiving weekend? Enjoy an extended rental on us! Rent for 11/27 and return 12/1.
    • Start Date
    • Mail Back
    • Unavailable
    • *No delivery on Sundays
Got A Minute? Share your review (upload a pic, too!) and help others select the perfect style and fit.
Fit
Small
True to Size
Large
Photos252

0 Reviews from women like you:

Enter more for better results

Jennifer
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2423
Mar 13, 2014
Received many comploments
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was great!
Rachel
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5523
Mar 12, 2014
This dress fit PERFECT! I loved it!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The only con is that is was a little long I'm 5'2" but it was nothing a higher heel couldn't fix. This dress was comfortable beautiful and fit perfect like a glove! I hope I have another black tie event soon so I can rent again.
Keally
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 33
Body type: Petite
Canonical User Type: 3521
Mar 11, 2014
Loved it, felt glamorous and comfy at the same time.
Size worn: 2P
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
May be a bit long for those of us on the petite side.
Christine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Mar 10, 2014
Very Flattering Fit!
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress had enough stretch that you could dance and eat in it. Very comfortable and flattering!
Scrappy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2523
Mar 9, 2014
Too large for a petite body!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: Large
Rented for: Formal Affair
I loved this dress on the website but unfortunately it just did not fit properly and was too large/loose across the shoulders, back and chest. I have a short torso so it might work better on a petite body but with a longer torso. The fabric was great and the shimmer over the shoulders was lovely.
Kim
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Mar 4, 2014
The photo does not do this dress justice. It is a stunning gown and I received a ton of compliments
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit like a glove, didn't need to wear a bra which was nice. The material does not wrinkle which was great since I needed to put it in a suitcase.
Amy
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4543
Mar 3, 2014
simple and stunning!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Party
I wore this dress for an Oscar party that I hosted, and it could not have been more perfect! Paired with a pair of blingy earrings and a chunky, sparkly bangle, it was simple and elegant and totally comfortable. I loved the sequin accents on the shoulders and back, too!
Mariam A.
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6433
Feb 24, 2014
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Size worn: NONE
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Jill
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Feb 11, 2014
Very flattering and classic silhouette while also comfortable and forgiving
Size worn: 8R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was beautiful for a black tie wedding I attended. A classic look with a pop of drama from the sequin and cut of the back. Added dramatic chandelier earrings to enhance the look.
Andrea
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7544
Feb 9, 2014
Having the accessories AND the dress!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was super slimming and glamorous feeling!
Vas
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3432
Feb 9, 2014
The dress looked great on.
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The only tiny issue I had was that the elastic on the side of the dress did not allow the dress to hug my waist all the way. I felt like the dress made me look a little curve less. Other than that its a very pretty conservative dress. With the right accessories can look amazing
amanda
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Feb 7, 2014
Perfect fit for the ball
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The cut of this dress was stunning. Made me feel glamorous and sexy. Showed enough of my curves without looking garish. Received lots of compliments and credited RTR with my success, as always! The only downfall to this dress was that the sequins on the straps did get to be a bit annoying a few hours into wearing the dress.
Jennifer
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4534
Feb 5, 2014
This was the PERFECT black dress for a formal event! Very slimming fit and super comfortable!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress was the perfect black dress. It was very form fitting, but had a stretchy fabric that made it soooo comfortable. It didn't have any flaws. The length was great for my 5'7" height, and the shoulders gave just enough bling to dress it up. I also wore the bracelet the model is wearing - it was all a great selection. Highly recommend.
mariana
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32AA
Body type: Pear
Weight: 128 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Jan 28, 2014
My roomie said I looked super skinny!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this to an Army ball and it was perfect. Elegant, classy - I was one of the best dressed. It was a backup dress and thank goodness because my first choice (in 2 sizes) was a fail all around. I got this in a 4L and it was perfect. It's very form fitting but comfortable. The "sleeves" are a very elegant touch, and you can really accessorize with this simple look. I would absolutely wear this again. I have extremely small boobs, a "bubble butt" and hips, so finding something that works for both halves can be challenging, and like more women I'm picky/image conscious. This dress did the trick. FYI, I would not get the regular if you're 5'7" or taller as it will be too short. Wear whatever shoes you need to, but ball gowns should drag and hide your feet (like on the model). If you don't want to step on it take little steps with a kick-glide motion, and hold it up by the train when going up or down stairs.
Maryjane
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 17, 2014
Stunning Classic!
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved this dress! I'm a non-profit event planner and needed something formal but functional for an upcoming fundraiser. I was concerned that the sequins would look tacky, but they're the perfect amount of subtle bling. There's ruching down the sides which hugged my hips perfectly and the material was great - comfortable, forgiving, but clingy in just the right places. Classic gown that will work with any event!
Simone
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 23
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8443
Jan 16, 2014
Hugged all the right curves!
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I would definitely rent this dress again. It was classy but sexy too! The regular length was perfect as I was wearing ballet flats... I wore this to a military banquet and felt appropriately dressed. Loved the exposed zipper and that I could show a little without over-doing it. Thanks RTR!!
Michelle
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4541
Jan 15, 2014
Received complaints all night!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Pro: it was very comfortable and just felt great. Con: none :)
Nora
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Jan 13, 2014
This was my back up dress
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It fit true to size, though I felt the length was too short. This was my backup dress for a formal event and would have work this one because it was not as short as the other dress I ordered, but my date absolutely loved the other dress and I enjoyed seeing his smiling face when he saw me in it.
Rach
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5534
Jan 11, 2014
x
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
x
Maggie
Usually wears: 10
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7443
Jan 8, 2014
Perfect for formal affair
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Wore it to a wedding and loved it! Very comfortable. Snug for me in the boobage area which I like since I barely fill a B cup. Length was a little shorter than I had hoped. I am nearly 6' and would recommend that anyone over 5'9" order a L.
Christina
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4433
Jan 3, 2014
fit wonderful, very flattering Loved it!
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was very confortable & light. The aterial was very forgiving
Kristen
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 165 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7543
Jan 2, 2014
Great dress! Was told many times I looked stunning!
Size worn: 10L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
The dress was definitely true to size. The hem was taken out on the first one that shipped so a second was sent right away. The dress was beautiful but the sequence may irritate your arms a little. You will need a strapless bra and shape wear is always a plus if need be. The only thing that bothered me was that the dress seemed like it was worn a million times (understandable with renting) but for someone that likes that new dress feel like me I am not sure I would rent another unless maybe it was a newer style. There were a lot of pulls on it and the backup that most would not be able to see unless up close but I could see them. Overall nice dress, fit the occasion (black tie NYE wedding) and fit nicely in length and size. I am 5'8 and the length was perfect with 2 inch heals.
Jennifer
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3523
Dec 25, 2013
Absolutely stunning and unforgettable
Size worn: 2R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I wore this dress to the ballet. I've rented several dresses and this was by far my favorite! What makes this dress is how its cut. Simplicity is stunning when a cut is flattering and done well. At my height the regular was perfect when I wore my 4" heels. If you want to feel elegant go with this dress.
Loz
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 6434
Dec 18, 2013
Very sexy.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Great dress - received lots of compliments on the night. Spanx or other shapewear are a must to make you feel super glamorous. The loop for the button on the back of the dress actually broke while I was at dinner (it was fairly well worn when it arrived) but this was easily fixed with a safety pin. Would be interested in trying this one in the red or purple next time around.
Katherine
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Dec 17, 2013
Perfect dress for a black tie wedding!
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
I wore this for my boyfriend's sister's wedding and I got rave reviews from my boyfriend and his mom. It was the perfect mix of classy and sexy. The only problem I had was that the under layer would twist whenever I walked or danced, making the zipper in the back twist and bunch in a weird way. It wasn't noticeable to others, but was very annoying to me. However, I loved the fit of the dress otherwise!
Victoria
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140 lbs
Canonical User Type: 5432
Dec 13, 2013
Putting it on and it looking as good as it did on the screen as it did on me!
Size worn: 6R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Fit true to size, very flattering, wore it to the Swedish House Mafia black tie ball. Comfortable and elegant!
PMMOM
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4532
Dec 11, 2013
Didn't fit right
Size worn: 4L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Wedding
I ended up wearing my back-up instead of this dress. It didn't fit well. Some areas were large and some were small. The straps didn't fit. They were kind of loose and gaped. If you have broad shoulders I wouldn't suggest this dress as the straps also show off the width of the shoulders. I also felt like this dress shows off a tummy if you have one. I don't have a huge tummy (some might even say it's pretty flat) but after having a couple kids my tummy tends to stick out after a meal and I definitely wanted to eat at this wedding so I decided against wearing it.
Kate
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155 lbs
Canonical User Type: 7431
Dec 10, 2013
Beautiful gown, perfect for black tie event!
Size worn: 10R
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
This dress is fantastic for an hourglass shape and a full bust. It hugs your curves and hides imperfections, I wore spanx to help smooth, totally undetectable. The sequins are beautiful, wore black and gold earrings because I thought a necklace would be too much. The back is very sexy, perfect for a winter black tie event in Chicago, paired with a mink coat!
Nicole
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3433
Dec 10, 2013
Great dress - but a little too popular on RTR!
Size worn: 2L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
The stretchy material makes this dress an easy fit. I'm 5'7" and wore a 2L and it was a little short in the front...make sure you have shoes you want to show off. Only negative is if you're going to an event where RTR is popular, look out for other people in this dress! It comes in a lot of colors, and there were 5 other people at my large event wearing it in the long version in different colors, one other black. I saw a few short versions as well. So - if you want a dress that no one else has, don't get this. It did look good on everyone though.
Sara
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2434
Dec 9, 2013
The dress was beautiful - gorgeous for a formal event.
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Loved the material, but was long - needed heels to avoid dragging.
Stephanie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4443
Nov 24, 2013
This dress was perfect and I received a lot of compliments!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
It fits true to size and is very flattering. I am 5'8 and did notice the long was pretty long and I even wore 4 inch heels. I would definitely recommend this dress for a formal event. It is very classy looking. The dress did arrive very, very wrinkled and I had to spend a good amount of time ironing it.
Barbara
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 47
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 4634
Nov 10, 2013
Great dress! I got tons of compliments.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Tight fit, but tight in all the right places
Tara
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Canonical User Type: 8633
Nov 9, 2013
The dress was perfect for night wedding in Vegas.
Size worn: 12R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Even though the dress is fitted, it was very comfortable to wear. The design looks simple in the picture but the dress is very pretty in person. I would rent this again for a formal event.
Libbie
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 125 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4533
Nov 8, 2013
LOVED THIS DRESS - DEFINITELY CONSIDER THE LONG VERSION
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Wore this dress to a formal business event and it was awesome! Ordered the purple and the black ones but found that the black one is much more comfortable. I am between a 4 and 6 and liked the size 4 in the purple and size 6 in black. BUT needed the LONG length. I am 5'6" and wore 2" heels. The regular length was at my ankles.
Allie
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150 lbs
Canonical User Type: 6443
Nov 7, 2013
Danced all night!
Size worn: 6L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
Super flattering, super comfortable, simple but still glamorous. An all around great dress for a formal affair.
Valerie
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 50
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 127 lbs
Canonical User Type: 4623
Oct 30, 2013
This dress was beautiful! It was well made and fit well on every part of my body.
Size worn: 4R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
It was a little long for a regular. I ordered a 6 and a 4. I normally wear a 4, and except for the length (I am only 5"2), it was perfect.
Kelly
Top Contributor
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110 lbs
Canonical User Type: 2433
Oct 29, 2013
Red Carpet Worthy
Size worn: 0R
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
I rented this dress for a formal Charity Gala that my firm sponsored and it was beyond perfect. It was elegant, yet sexy (without being TOO much so for a work event), and fit beautifully. I wish I owned this dress and won't be surprised if I rent it again!
Nomomo
Usually wears: 8
Height: 6' 0"
Age: 39
Body type: Athletic
Canonical User Type: 6541
Oct 28, 2013
This is one very sexy dress and comfortable at the same time.
Size worn: 8L
Overall fit: Small
Rented for: Formal Affair
Too sexy for a corporate law formal affair however which is why I switched it for another dress. If you are a true pear shape this dress is flattering. The only thing is I would order one size up if your dimensions are like mine 1:2 ratio of upper body to lower body. Also, I did not realize the design purposely includes ruching that almost makes the dress look too tight on you even though it does not feel that way. I think it is a lovely dress but just be mindful of where you intend to wear it. I am a little more conservative when it is a work function
kavita
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 114 lbs
Canonical User Type: 3534
Oct 27, 2013
Lots of compliments and felt very classy and elegant
Size worn: 0L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Wedding
This was sent by the RTR staff because the dress I wanted was no longer available. It is a little long and the train did get stepped on and dragged even with my heels. It is a stunning dress and I received lots of compliments. Midsection is not forgiving and I had to suck in after the cake! Overall, it is a flattering, sexy but very classy dress.
Amy
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 49
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 175 lbs
Canonical User Type: 8644
Oct 20, 2013
Great neckline
Size worn: 12L
Overall fit: True to Size
Rented for: Formal Affair
Love the neckline of this dress and the fit was true to size. The sequins were bothersome but tolerable. I wasn't a big fan of the silver zipper in the back but I didn't see it so I guess it was ok. It was not as long as I would have liked but I am tall and wore heels/
See more reviews:

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×
×
Save at least $14.95 on every order and rent like a pro all year long. Details
  • free shipping
  • free insurance
  • free birthday dress