Rent 3 for 1 Valentine's Day weekend! Use code 3FOR1VDAY16. DETAILS

Valid on rentals only. You will pay the cost of the most expensive item. Adding a free backup size will count as 1 of the 3 items. Offer expires 2/13/16 at 11:59pm EST and delivery dates must be 2/5/16 through 2/13/16. Promo code cannot be used on existing orders or be combined with other offers or gift cards. Enter promo code at checkout.

Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
600 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size509
Small36
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
April 7, 2014
Makes you feel like the belle of the ball!
So happy this was my back-up dress! It fit perfectly & was just the right length w/ 3+ inch heels. I got so many compliments & it was super comfortable to dance the night away.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 7, 2014
Beautiful!
I didn't wear this but I rented it and was torn between the dress to choose! It's so beautiful on!
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 27
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
April 5, 2014
Love the fit, very flattering!
This dress was very flattering. I am very short 5'1 and was worried about all of the formal gowns being too long, but this one fit perfectly! It was a little loose in the bust area and I was worried about it showing the top of my strapless bra, but it was fine. I tried fabric tape but it didn't look right, so I ended up not using the tape and had no problems. I wore this to a black tie event. The sequins on the straps/sleeves are perfect, and not too much flair. I actually own this dress in the deep red color in a 2R, and I did not have it hemmed. I wore 3 inch heels and I honestly the 2P was perfect but the 2R would have been fine too. I think that earrings are better than a necklace with this dress because of the dramatic neckline and sequins up top. Gold or silver goes well. Loved it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 120lbs
April 2, 2014
Many compliments on the dress!
It is snug around the middle, but the gathered material makes it work. I am almost 5'7 and the regular was fine with 3" heals. It has a train which still touched the floor.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
March 31, 2014
Pretty dress, understated front and interesting back.
I went to a black tie gala and was 5 months pregnant. Fortunately, I wasn't showing too much yet and was able to just go up a size to fit into it. It was a little tight across the chest due to my larger than life boobs from my pregnancy. Overall, the dress was beautiful and just what I needed to feel comfortable in my new shaped body. The only down side was the train. It was pretty long and was stepped on a lot.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
March 31, 2014
sexy dress with stretchy forgiving fabric. Rouching flatters tummy!
Beautiful, flattering dress. I didn't wear because my whole group wore gold as it was an Oscar party, but it looked so good and slenderized that I will rent again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 190lbs
March 26, 2014
Button at back of dress sadly broke but RTR sent me a new one right away
Dress did not fit and button broke at back
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 0"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 100lbs
March 24, 2014
I felt beautiful!
So comfortable! This dress was absolutely stunning and so easy to wear. Great experience! I 0P may have been a better length for me but it was not available. My backup, a 2R, would have been way too long and I did not try that one on. Arrived a day sooner than I expected and return was a no-brainier!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 23, 2014
Loved the sequin detail, made for anything but a standard black dress!
Loved this dress, but received it and the zipper has obviously been replaced. It was not the same zipper as pictured on the dress. It looked very worn and banged up, but the dress itself was absolutely stunning. Ended up going with another selection for the night, but would have loved to have worn this, had it not been so "used".
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
March 23, 2014
Simple and elegant, easy to dance in.
After seeing others reviews, I ordered the 2L and 4L and both ended up being too large. RTR was amazing and able to overnight me the 0L. If you're smaller chested, I definitely recommend sizing down. I was able to wear 3 inch heels with the long, with a bit of toe popping out. The wedding I wore this to was not black tie, so I dress edit down with some colorful earrings and a watch. I love this dress so much that I want to keep it!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 21, 2014
Perfect fit for petites!
This was my first rental from RTR and it will not be the last! I was worried about renting a long dress due to the length. Turns out, both the 0 and the 2 fit, but the 0 was a bit shorter, so I went with that. I wore 3 inch heels and the dress grazed the floor slightly, but it worked out great. Like other reviewers said, this dress was comfy and really flattering.
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
March 13, 2014
Loved this dress! Will rent again for other events.
I ordered the long version because I wanted to wear tall heels 4" and the dress needed to be past your ankles for regulation at the military event. I received lots of compliments. I felt sexy while being somewhat conservative. Perfect fit, and very comfortable.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
March 13, 2014
Received many comploments
It was great!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
March 12, 2014
This dress fit PERFECT! I loved it!
The only con is that is was a little long I'm 5'2" but it was nothing a higher heel couldn't fix. This dress was comfortable beautiful and fit perfect like a glove! I hope I have another black tie event soon so I can rent again.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 35
Body type: Petite
March 11, 2014
Loved it, felt glamorous and comfy at the same time.
May be a bit long for those of us on the petite side.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 10, 2014
Get This Dress!
I bought a dress from a prom website and it arrived 4 days before my event. I tried it on and it just didn't work so I returned it. When I thought about it, it made no sense for me to actually purchase a dress as this is the very first black tie event I've ever gone to in my 33 years of living (not including prom) and when am I gonna wear the thing again? Also would I want to, the same dress? So RTR popped in my head, thank goodness. I ordered two dresses, this was the one I initially saw and the only one that actually came. They sent me another dress the same color as my 2nd-turned 1st choice, unbeknownst to me. I'm glad I did keep this as an option or I would have been out of luck. Anyway, the fit was perfect. The only thing I didn't like is that since I'm already very thin, an all black dress slims me even more. I would have preferred the turquoise dress by Nicole Miller but I still really did love this one. I wore 4 inch heels and as you can see while standing the dress is long enough to hide my shoes. As I walked you could see my toes peeking through but that was great b/c my heels had some gold detailing on the straps across my toes that I wanted to be seen. One lady stepped on my dress, but she was extremely close to the kid. Easy to walk in, didn't have to lift it up or anything. I can't wait to attend the event next year, gonna RTR for sure.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
March 10, 2014
Very Flattering Fit!
This dress had enough stretch that you could dance and eat in it. Very comfortable and flattering!
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2014
I was so thankful for RenttheRunway! I had no time to shop for a dress, so I am very thankful!
I am usually an 8 or 10, and both fit fine, but in the end I chose to go with the more comfortable dress, it was still tight, but it gave my large tatas room to breathe. I wish I would have had the time and money to buy a new strapless bra and some spanks, but I got a pair of good tights and that worked. I felt like it was a great fit and fun, but I also felt that it didn't give me the best shape, or I think a different dress would have accented my curve and huge breasts better. But overall, I felt classy and beautiful!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 104lbs
March 9, 2014
Too large for a petite body!
I loved this dress on the website but unfortunately it just did not fit properly and was too large/loose across the shoulders, back and chest. I have a short torso so it might work better on a petite body but with a longer torso. The fabric was great and the shimmer over the shoulders was lovely.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
March 9, 2014
This dress looks amazing on!
I first ordered a completely different dress, but couldn't zip it around the chest! I was in a panic and RTR sent me this dress and it was so much better than the first!!! It's so comfortable. I ate a ton and still looked fabulous at the event. I am usually a size 4 and I could have worn the size 4, but the 6 was just more comfortable. I highly recommend this dress. It looks even better on!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
March 7, 2014
This dress was absolutely breathtaking! I was so in love from the moment I put it on :)
There were absolutely no cons to this dress. It was worn for a military ball and the compliments were never ending. The fit in the waist area is a little snug and the length runs a little short. The long fit me perfectly with 3" heels (normally I would go with a regular). It hugged all the right places!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 4, 2014
The photo does not do this dress justice. It is a stunning gown and I received a ton of compliments
Fit like a glove, didn't need to wear a bra which was nice. The material does not wrinkle which was great since I needed to put it in a suitcase.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
March 4, 2014
I got compliment after compliment all night long.
The in-store dress I tried on was an 8. I don't know who stretched it out like that, but the in-store 8 I tried on was much looser and more comfortable than the 10 they sent. I had to adjust the dress whenever I stood up. It wasn't bad though, just unexpected..
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
March 3, 2014
simple and stunning!
I wore this dress for an Oscar party that I hosted, and it could not have been more perfect! Paired with a pair of blingy earrings and a chunky, sparkly bangle, it was simple and elegant and totally comfortable. I loved the sequin accents on the shoulders and back, too!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 114lbs
March 3, 2014
Perfect fit...extremely comfortable! 5 stars!
I have no faults with this dress!!! It looked gorgeous, fit like a glove, and was incredibly comfy!!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
March 3, 2014
Beautiful fit, but too short
I rented this for a Mardi Gras ball. I am not tall, however, the dress was too short with heels on. I ended up wearing it anyway, but if you plan on wearing heels I would rent the long. Overall, the dress fit like a glove, and was extremely flattering.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
NONE
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
February 24, 2014
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Didn't end up receiving the dress, wore a different replacement.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
February 24, 2014
Great night at the opera!
Wore this beautiful dress for a girl's night at the opera. It fit wonderfully and I felt amazing.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 31
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 125lbs
February 23, 2014
Great black dress!
This was my backup dress but I ended up wearing it because the boning was poking out of my first choice dress - ouch! I'm usually between a size 4 and 6 so, against my better judgment after practically studying the reviews, I conservatively went with the 6L. If I order this again I will size DOWN to the 4L because I could have gone for a tighter fit. Since the 6L wasn't quite hugging my body the way I wanted (I'm pretty straight and curve-less), I wore spanx under the dress and a strapless bra to help hold my shape (otherwise I could see my belly button, which bothers me) and fill out the chest. I'm also just shy of 5'7" and I love tall heels. I wore 4 1/2-5" inch heels and the bottom of the dress just touched the ground, which was perfect. Other than that, the dress was in great condition and I got plenty of compliments. I'd definitely recommend this dress.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
12R
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
February 23, 2014
Stunning dress for a black tie optional winter wedding!
I wore this dress to my best friend's black tie optional winter wedding in Boston. It runs on the small side, I'm usually a 10 in dresses and the 12 was a snug fit. It's so beautiful and slimming on. I danced the whole night and it was so comfortable. When I took the dress off I realized the sequins caused a little chafing around the arms but nothing too terrible. Would definitely recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Weight: 170lbs
February 21, 2014
Very flattering, very comfortable, simple & classic
This is a simple, classic dress that is super comfortable and easy to wear. I got a ton of complements, and felt it was very figure flattering. The material was a little wrinkled, but that's not as noticeable in the dark at your event. It touched the ground in back but not in front with my 1.5" heels. (I'm just shy of 6') I wore it to a gala for the charitable foundation of my local Bar Association and it was great as it was fun, but conservative enough to wear to an event where the other guests are my fellow attorneys I see in court.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 145lbs
February 17, 2014
Wore this dress to a black tie wedding in Miami and it was absolutely perfect!
Rented 6L and 8L - both sizes fit well, but with spanx the 6L was a little more flattering. Length was great, very comfortable and great for dancing. Glad this option worked because there was another girl at the wedding wearing the dress I had rented as a back up (Living A Dream). Overall, the process was incredibly easy and I look forward to using this service again soon.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 42
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 115lbs
February 15, 2014
Stunning, sexy, will make some heads turn for sure!
Dress was beautiful. I ordered the 2R and 4R. The 4R was more comfortable and easier to dance it. It really is a stunning dress...very classy but still sexy! Received compliments all night on the dress. My husband said I looked like a celebrity!! It fits right to your shape...very flattering. The diamond cuff bracelet looked perfect with it. I wore a backlass Nubra..which gives you some support I am a full c or small d so I like to have some kind of support. The length was perfect with my 4" heels. Wore this to my husbands military ball.
View photos (2)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 180lbs
February 11, 2014
Very flattering and classic silhouette while also comfortable and forgiving
This dress was beautiful for a black tie wedding I attended. A classic look with a pop of drama from the sequin and cut of the back. Added dramatic chandelier earrings to enhance the look.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 120lbs
February 10, 2014
The dress has a short train in the back, which is a beautiful detail. I got tons of compliments.
The dress is true to size. I normally wear a 0L, but they were out of that size. The 2L fit, but a 0L would have been the perfect fit. The sequin back is beautiful and added just enough sparkle to make the dress special. The fabric is a light weight crepe - and it made me feel like I was effortlessly gliding around the room. Very elegant! You cannot wear a normal bra with this dress, as the straps will show in the back. I wore a very fitted strapless bra and felt pretty comfortable and secure.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 12
Height: 6' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 160lbs
February 9, 2014
Having the accessories AND the dress!
This dress was super slimming and glamorous feeling!
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 117lbs
February 9, 2014
The dress looked great on.
The only tiny issue I had was that the elastic on the side of the dress did not allow the dress to hug my waist all the way. I felt like the dress made me look a little curve less. Other than that its a very pretty conservative dress. With the right accessories can look amazing
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 140lbs
February 9, 2014
My favorite dress from RTR so far!
This dress is incredible! Slimming, very flattering for curves! Only tough thing is finding a bra, you will need a low-cut strapless.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
February 7, 2014
Perfect fit for the ball
The cut of this dress was stunning. Made me feel glamorous and sexy. Showed enough of my curves without looking garish. Received lots of compliments and credited RTR with my success, as always! The only downfall to this dress was that the sequins on the straps did get to be a bit annoying a few hours into wearing the dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
February 6, 2014
I felt like I belonged on a red carpet!
If you want to turn heads, this is your dress. It's classy, glamorous and 100% wearable. It was definitely on the formal side (with a subtle train), but I embraced it and still felt appropriate at the black tie optional fundraiser gala. The sequin accents don't require much for additional accessories and it was overall very flattering. I would definitely rent this again!
MariahAugust 28, 2014
Hello, did you wear a strapless bra?
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
6 / 15

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×