Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
614 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size517
Small37
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 124lbs
November 19, 2014
Great fit! Very flattering
This dress was my backup, and it was actually much more flattering than I expected. I wore 4 inch heels, and the length was perfect. There is very subtle ruching across the front which is just enough to camouflage imperfections. Very comfortable and would definitely rent a similar Nicole Miller dress for future events.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 33
Body type: Athletic
November 12, 2014
Beautiful dress! Classic, simple and elegant!
Beautiful dress! Made me feel beautiful and fit wonderfully (even just after having my 3rd child 4 months prior to the event)! Lots of compliments.
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 42
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
November 12, 2014
My husband loved it, I felt beautiful and sexy. Renting the dress made it so easy.
I tried this dress with multiple different bras. The straps of the dress have no give and offer a lot of support, so a push-up bra made the 8l seem too tight. A simple strapless was perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
November 12, 2014
USMC Ball
The dress fit really well, it was just a little small in the bust. I'm a 36DDD so having the extra size up was really beneficial so that I could actually breathe :)
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 28
November 12, 2014
So comfortable and flattering!
Amazing fit! Tight in the hips but very flattering! So easy to move in!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 145lbs
November 11, 2014
Great gown for a formal wedding
This was my first time using RTR, and it was super easy. I needed a dress that fit into 3 buckets - long enough so I could wear heels (I'm 5'10"), not too much cleavage, and NOT strapless. This dress fit all three perfectly! I was able to wear 2/2.5 inch heels and felt great. I got a lot of compliments and felt really pretty. It is a tight fit, so I wore spanx - I wanted the 8L, but they didn't have it, so I went 6L. I probably would have worn the size up if I had had it, but still was a great dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 24
Body type: Petite
Weight: 105lbs
November 11, 2014
Stunning dress, received a ton of comments!
This dress fit like a glove & the length was perfect. (I'm 5'1'') The material was extremely comfortable and I couldn't have been happier with how I felt & looked!
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 55
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
November 10, 2014
Great dress; arrived on time...thank you
Ordered the 8 and 10; 8 fit perfectly but a bit long - I'm 5'4". Only had 3 inch heels with me and had to make them work. Loved the dress, lots of compliments.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 40
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 9, 2014
Fit like a glove!
In a sea of black dresses, this one stood out. The fit was great, tight, but comfortable. It moved easily both walking and standing for an hour for cocktails and was still comfortable being seated for dinner and an auction. The only thing that was annoying was the sequins on the shoulders folded in a little, but that's me being very picky. Didn't need Spanx as the weight of the fabric and rushing was forgiving. Will not hesitate to rent again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 5, 2014
Wore this dress to the Chicago Emmy's. Absolutely loved it. I'd recommend it to anyone. Thanks, RTR!
Extremely comfortable. Fit beautifully. Sad to return it. I'd rent it again in a heartbeat. Gorgeous dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 135lbs
November 5, 2014
Gorgeous Dress
I loved this dress, I am 5'1" and wore four inch heels and the dress fit perfectly (I probably could have worn three inch heels). The dress was super snug and I opted to spanx just to be safe. I was able to dance all night and easily navigate the gala. Just a couple of notes: The shoulders were a little big, I definitely had to pull them down a few times. I also had to wear strapless bra - I tried to go without but I didn't fill out the top. If you are pear shaped, this dress actually fits!
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
November 4, 2014
Black-tie required, costume optional fundraiser gala
Length was perfect with a 4" heel. Dress overall fit like a glove and the gathers around the waist area were very forgiving for my post-baby body. The bust was a bit large for me, as my shape is more pear. Probably would be spectacular for someone with more of an hourglass shape, or if I would have had time to purchase a push-up strapless bra. Overall, I loved the dress. And my husband was blown away.
Size worn:
2P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 4' 11"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
November 3, 2014
Very flattering, nice lightweight material.
Wore this to a masquerade party in Miami. The material is lightweight and easy to wear. The wrinkles that came on the dress were steamed out in minutes. The small amount of sequence oh the shoulders does not overwhelm the dress for a petite person.The neckline is flattering for a larger bust, and you won't be spilling out the top. I'm 4'11, 115lbs, 34D with an athletic build. The 2P was perfect. I had to wear a 4" platform stiletto in order to get the hem to look appropriate. The small train on the back was lovely and really looked beautiful when I walked.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 127lbs
November 2, 2014
I had so many compliments on my dress!
This dress fit so incredibly perfect. I wore three inch heels and the dress touched the floor perfectly, no tripping what so ever. I was able to wear a strapless bra without it showing as well. The sequins under the arm scratch a teensy bit, but were never bothersome. I would wear this dress again and again if i could. We sat through a couple of hours at a military ball & then danced all night and the dress was never uncomfortable, and i never had to pull it up, down, sideways. it was just so perfect.
View photos (2)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
November 2, 2014
It was absolutely perfect!
I received many compliments on how "classy" I looked! The dress was very comfortable and I felt really beautiful in it!
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 30, 2014
Perfect dress!
Was easy to order, receive and return!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
October 25, 2014
The purse and dress went perfectly together. I loved it!!!!
The dress fit true to size. The dress also extenuated my shape. The only con would be the sequins were scratchy.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2014
Flattering, comfortable, sexy!
I rented this dress in a 4R and a 6R. The 4R fit, but it was a little snug and I felt like it wasn't as flattering as I was looking for. The 6R was perfect! It slipped onto my body comfortably and hid all the things I wasn't too keen on showing. Definitely felt stunning in this dress and I like seeing my boyfriend's jaw hit the floor. Unfortunately, I didn't get to attend the wedding I had rented the dress for, but I liked sitting around in it in my house :) Made me feel very glamorous. The next formal affair I have, I am wearing this dress!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 38
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
October 22, 2014
Beautiful, flattering, form fitting
Great for a formal affair and very classy while still being form fitting and sexy-
Top Contributor
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 12
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 35
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 175lbs
October 22, 2014
My sister rocked this dress!
I have tried this dress on before in the non-sequined style and the 12 was perfect. But this one ran much smaller (different material) and was therefore tighter than I wanted to wear. Thankfully, this was my backup dress, so I would up letting my twin sister wear it and she looked GREAT! She is an E-cup and with a strapless bra the girls were gracefully contained. She also has a pretty flat booty and the gathered back really made the most of what she had. FYI, she's 5'10" and wore heels and the length was great (12L). I would recommend, but size up for your backup size. :-)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 38
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 140lbs
October 22, 2014
The sequin detail is very nice and makes it stand out from a typical black dress.
Great dress for a formal event. The petite length was perfect. The dress was a bit tight in the chest and was low in the front.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
This dress is stunning & comfortable !
Wore this to a formal charity event. The dress is just beautiful- especially the back. It hugs in all the right places and I felt was very slimming. I am 5'4/138 pounds/34C - I ordered the 2R and 4R and the 4 was perfect. I wore shorter heels as I wanted the dress to hit the floor. Would highly recommend this dress for a formal event !
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
October 20, 2014
Gorgeous gown!
Loved this dress. Material was very comfortable and movable. The regular length on my 5'2" with 3.5" heels was perfect. The slight bunching around the mid section and the the rear end were so flattering! I would recommend this dress!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 20, 2014
Fit like a glove and extremely comfortable!
I originally rented a different dress and was worried when it didn't fit right and I had to have another dress over nighted to me. This dress was so perfect! It ran true to size, the material is very soft and the length just hit the tops of my toes and the train hung a little in back. It is clingy. I didn't mind but just a reference. The back detail is stunning.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
October 18, 2014
The dress was absolutely gorgeous and very comfortable. LOVED it and will be renting this again
Perfect
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
October 16, 2014
Absolutely stunning! Perfect fit, sexy back, classy and super comfortable! Hide everything i wanted!
This dress is a safe "go-to". Being that Im a little busty and have a wide back, the 8L was the perfect fit for me. It was floor length while wearing 3inch heels. The beading on the shoulder's are subtle but noticeable which is why I kept my hair swept up. I wore minimal jewelry to make sure I didn't take away from the dress...Its simple yet classic! Hands down, one of the best dresses I've worn thus far.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 135lbs
October 13, 2014
Great dress!
This was my back-up dress and I ended up wearing a different one, but would definitely rent this again!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 11"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
October 10, 2014
Elegant and Flattering
I rented this dress for a black tie wedding recently and absolutely loved it. In all honesty, I rented the dress pretty reluctantly...my husband said he loved it, but after just having a baby 8 months ago I was pretty concerned with the fit. The gathered midsection and dress material made for a great, flattering and comfortable fit. As a pretty tall girl, the L still allowed for 3 inch heels which was fantastic. I felt beautiful all night long! I would recommend the dress over and over again.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 135lbs
October 2, 2014
Sexy and classy !
This dress was beautiful and comfortable! I wore it to a military ball and got compliments all night. I'm usually between 2-4 and the 2 fur like a glove. I have an average size bust (34c) but if you're more gifted in the chest area I recommend a size up (:
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 24
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 141lbs
September 28, 2014
Perfect fit, scrunched middle
Glamorous, best dressed besides bride, scrunched middle so no need to suck in, beautiful and elegant fits perfectly !!!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
September 26, 2014
Subtle yet sexy!
This dress hugs in all the right places! No problems wearing a strapless bra with it. I'm 5"2 and wore 2.5" heels with the 0R size, which allowed the dress to skim the ground. I actually wanted to size up to the 2P but it was surprisingly too long for my heel + height combo. Really happy with this dress and can't wait to try other colors.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 150lbs
September 18, 2014
Great Dress, Great Fit
The 8L was not as long as I would have liked, I wore 3inch heals and you could see a little of my shoes but it wasn't horrible, there is a small train which was a nice touch. The fit is very flattering, I have a smaller bust and larger hips. Overall very comfortable and I was very happy with the dress and Rent the Runway./
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
September 8, 2014
Gorgeous dress for a black tie wedding!
This dress fit my body perfectly! It's subtle ruching hid any imperfections around my midsection I was concerned about. It was perfect length with around 3 inch heels. The dress was so comfortable and was easy and fun to dance in. There is a slight train on the back of the dress that did catch my heels once or twice so just be aware when walking up and down stairs. The sequins on the dress made it pop and the cut of the dress made my 32A chest look fantastic! Highly recommend!
View photos (3)
Size worn:
0P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
August 31, 2014
I loved this dress! It was perfect for the black tie wedding I attended and I felt beautiful!
I thought this fit very true to size. It was form fitting but not too tight.
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
August 21, 2014
I felt like a million sexy bucks in this dress!
I rented this dress for a formal masqaurade holloween party and it was perfect! I felt super sexy, the dress highlights all your best assets and hides any imperfections.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 48
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 118lbs
August 20, 2014
Comfortable and elegant for black tie dinner
I normally wear size 4 and was worried about length (I'm 5'3") so I ordered both 4R and 6P. I ended up wearing the 6P because the 4 was too snug in the mid-section and hips. The 6P was more comfortable overall and the length was good with 2" heels. The regular length was a bit too long and I didn't want to constantly worry about tripping. My one minor complaint would be the neckline which is straight across--it would be more flattering to have a nicer shape like a little V or sweetheart neckline. Other than that, I was very happy wearing this dress.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 118lbs
August 17, 2014
AMAZING dress!
This dress is absolutely gorgeous. Hugs your curves perfectly. Sultry, sexy, comfortable and classic. The back of the dress has a small train that I LOVED! I got so many compliments. I will definitely rent again!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Petite
Weight: 120lbs
August 12, 2014
Better in Person Than Pictured
This dress a lot better looking than pictured. It is very classic but the detailed back and straps give it a unique look. This dress was my runner up since the first dress I picked did not fit right at all. Rent the Runway was so helpful they recommended this dress to me. At first I was skeptical of ordering because it looked to simple but I am glad I did. This dress stretches very nicely and hugs your curves. I was worried the top part would hurt my under arms since usually shiny material does but it didn't bother me at all. I was able to dance all night with no problems of feeling like it would rip on me. Would totally recommend. With sizing it runs true to size I am usually between a 4 and 6. The size 6 seemed pretty tight at first but within minutes it adjusts to your body where I did not feel like it was too tight. I could have worn the 4 but that was not available. I wore a regular size 6 i thought it would run too long since I am short but it wasn't. If you are taller than me go for the long size if available.
Size worn:
0L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 10"
Age: 32
Bust size: 34A
Body type: Pear
Weight: 130lbs
August 7, 2014
great dress, not the star of the show, but perfect for formal wedding.
nice fit, very comfortable. was a little shorter than I imagined, but not problematic.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 31
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 134lbs
August 6, 2014
Felt very elegant in this dress...wore it to a NYC black tie wedding
Hugs every curve on your body
See more reviews:
4 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×