Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
622 reviews
Fit
Large
(29)
True to Size
(521)
Small
(38)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 25
October 11, 2015
the dress!
This dress fit like it was made for me. I wish I could have kept it. It does have a bit of a train which I didn't notice so just keep that in mind when looking to order this dress. But it was perfect for my event and got many compliments on it.
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
October 10, 2015
I wore this dress for a Navy ball. I received tons of compliments and felt like a million bucks.
The dress was form-fitting and snug but not tight. It was not too long, not too short for 3 1/2 inch heels. I highly recommend this dress and RTR!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 37
October 9, 2015
Everyone complimented how beautiful the dress was!
Fit super snug but was a beautiful fit-the length was great and I am 5 feet so finding a good length dress can be hard (without altering it). The boobs showed a little but nothing too much.
Size worn:
6P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 44
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 135lbs
October 8, 2015
gala
The dress was super flattering and well made. It fit my frame perfectly. I wore simple accessories and 2 inch heels. It held in my chest, but allowed just a tiny (tiny) amount of cleavage to show. I felt modest and sexy at the same time.
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 27
October 4, 2015
It was for a fancy gala! Such a fun night and a great dress to wear at this event!
It fit in all the right places!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 30, 2015
Super comfortable and flattering.
I wore this to a black tie wedding and it was super comfortable and so flattering. I typically wear an 8, but was more comfortable in the 10 given that the dress is skin tight. The only thing is that it was a bit short in the front with heels. Not a big deal, but I would get a 10L vs. the 10R if I had it to do again. If you're over 5'7, definitely look into a long size.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Pear
Weight: 120lbs
September 28, 2015
Form fitting yet formal. Classy all the way
I wore this as a bridesmaid dress. The fabric was more elegant when I tried it on at the RTR DC store, but after steaming and hanging, the dress was back in shape. It is snug but no one was able to spot my Spanx. If you dance a lot, be careful as the dress does shift, so the zipper in the back might not be straight down your back at some points of the night. Overall I got MANY compliments about how great it looked on me. I'm not in the best shape but this dress made me feel oh so pretty and a little sexy, hehe. I wore 3 inch heels to make up the length and just accessorized with a simple bangle. Hair up or to the side to show off the cut out back.
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
September 25, 2015
I was hesitant at first to rent a dress that I couldn't try on! But the dress fit like a glove!!!
I am 5'1 and often have to get dresses tailored. The length on this dress was perfect I ordered a 2R and it didn't drag and I didn't have to keep picking it up all night! I felt so glamour-is in it I received compliments all night! I will definitely be renting again!!!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Petite
Weight: 98lbs
September 21, 2015
Fab LBD for more formal events!
I wore this dress for a black tie wedding and it was absolutely perfect in every way! The fit, length, cut, everything about it was absolutely stunning. I'm 5'3" so length is usually an issue but I was able to wear 3" heels without the dress dragging or being awkwardly short. It is a simple yet super classy, chic and elegant dress that I would wear again in a heart beat. Did I mention how comfortable it is?! The dress is all around stunning and the cut along with the little details are what makes it sexy yet appropriate for every occasion. The dress runs true to size and you can easily wear a black strapless bra with is with is a major plus. Highly, highly recommend this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
September 21, 2015
loved the dress, got so many compliments on it.
love that they send you a back up size!!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
Large
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 27
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
September 21, 2015
This was the perfect dress for the occasion and looks perfect on.
This dress was awesome! I ordered the 10 and 12 and there wasn't much difference in sizing so i wore the 10 so that the straps would stay flat. I got SOOOOO many compliments on this dress, it was perfect for the black tie wedding I wore it to. The material was very forgiving and the fit was very flattering.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 122lbs
September 20, 2015
Told by many we were the epitome of old Hollywood glamour.
It was a good length with heels...almost short, but I wore 5" heels. Felt like the fit was sexy and classy for a black tie optional wedding. Cleavage was appropriate as I am busty. Plenty of space in the thigh area for comfort; we danced the night away! The fabric is light weight and not too hot. Loved the dress!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4P
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 34
September 11, 2015
Beautiful dress that is also comfortable
I wore this dress to a art gala and it was very comfortable and still looked great! I received lots of compliments. The dress hugs the right place in the right way.
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 32
September 2, 2015
Overall Very Comfortable Option
I rented this as an option for a black-tie optional wedding. It is probably the most comfortable gown I've ever had on. I ended up going with my other option as this didn't feel special enough. It was nice, but just ok. I wanted something a little bit more youthful. This dress would be great with a slit to show a bit of leg, but is a great option for someone looking to feel amazing and be a bit more conservative. **The regular length on this dress is short. At 5'4, it just brushed the ground without shoes on. This could be a great option if you don't want to wear heels, but rent the Long length if you are wanting to wear heels.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 28
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Athletic
August 29, 2015
Loved this sexy, easy to wear gown for a formal occasion!
Fit is true to size, length was good for me with 3" heels, and was a really easy dress to wear! I went with spanx-esque pantyhose but the dress itself helped even out little lines and what not too. I love the neckline - makes it a little different than the other black dresses in the room. This is an awesome go-to for formal functions!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
August 13, 2015
A New York City Affair
This dress was AMAZING! I wore it to a black tie wedding in New York City. It was the most comfortable gown I have ever worn! I am a 36D and this dress was not too much in the bust area. I would absolutley recommend this dress and I would wear this again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
NONE
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 32
Body type: Athletic
August 11, 2015
I didn't end up using this dress. :/
Did not work with my 7month baby bump. It was stretchy and the 8 and 10 both fit, but had to return due to zipper looking funky. I would definitely re-rent not prego.
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 22
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
August 5, 2015
I felt like a princess in this gorgeous dress!
Fit perfectly. I'm 5'4" and wore 4" heels with this dress. It barely grazed the ground which is perfect. The button on the back kept unbuttoning, but it was nothing a safety pin couldn't fix. Sequins were not uncomfortable at all and didn't rub like the sometimes can around the arms. Gave me a beautiful profile.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 110lbs
August 2, 2015
How comfy this dress is!
The dress is elegant and simple, perfect for a black tie wedding. Temps were around 80 degrees and the dress was comfortable to mill around in. I didn't have to wear a bra , I wore three inch heels and the dress was only an inch too long but not not so long I trip, the material moves with you, the straps stay in place (although having a bit more there helps the fit), and I did get compliments throughout the evening. I wore the size2r, and although a bit longer than floor length, the rest fit like it should. I could have gotten away with the size0r because the length would have been ideal, and it fit like a glove, but wasn't as forgiving for dancing.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
July 30, 2015
I wore this for a Casino Royale event. I definitely felt like I was going to a 007 set!
I'm 5'5" and 32B with an athletic build. It was incredibly comfortable to dance in and wear. I wore with platform heels adding height which was perfect for the length.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34A
July 26, 2015
Great dress! It was perfect for a Black Tie wedding.
The dress fit great! I'm about 5'3" and rented the Regular length and it was still a little long even with my heels. But over all great dress and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
July 22, 2015
LOVED the fit of this dress!!!
I wanted to wear black with a little kick and the sequin detail on the back was PERFECT.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2015
Perfect dress! Fit like a glove :)
I was unsure of how these dresses would fit but after going through other RTR client reviews on sizing and fabric I was confident in my choice! I absolutely love RTR! I have various events to attend annually and this site is a godsend!~The only complaint? Due to rising popularity, I spotted three other women wearing the same exact dress as I..
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2015
So flattering!
Loved this dress!!! So, the 4R fit like a glove, seriously, perfect. However, I ended up wearing my backup size (6R) for two reasons. First, I think someone who had the dress before broke the zipper and replaces it with another one. This zipper was a much better quality (black) and blended in with the dress. Second, I am not one to love tight fitting clothes and liked the looser fit (even though it's very stretchy). I got compliments all night! HIGHLY recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
May 28, 2015
I felt beautiful and sexy in this gown
This gown is amazing. It fits true to size. I am a 36 C and I loved how I was not spilling over the top. I got so may compliments which made me feel wonderful. Highly recommend anyone looking to rent a classy and sexy dress all in one this is a great choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2015
This dress was the perfect length for a 5'3'' gal!
I loved the neckline on this dress. I am a DD after baby and have had trouble finding the right dress. The waist was also rouched and very forgiving for any post pregnancy ladies. The dress design wasn't necessarily a show stopper but it made me look very, very slim. I also loved the Rent the Runway experience. No trips to the mall and hours spent trying on dresses. I just browsed online and it showed up at my door. There was also no need for a trip to the tailor or drycleaner afterwards. If you are having any hesitation, rent this dress! It's perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 17, 2015
Stunning
I absolutely loved the dress and received so many compliments. It was my back up and I ended up liking it more than the original dress I ordered. It fit so snug, but was stretchy. It hid all of your problem areas and was stunning. It was simple and sophisticated. I LOVED rent the runway and will definitely order again. The staff was amazing and helped me with this dress since my original dress did not fit.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 15, 2015
So so so so many wonderful comments wearing this dress!!
Absolutely loved this dress!! I received so many sweet comments throughout the evening. I had ordered an 8L as my first choice and a 10R as my backup size. I ended up wearing the 10R because my chest was too large for the 8L. I was extremely comfortable sitting during the loooong formal portion of our event. The fit of the dress was so perfect across my bust that I was able to dance all night without worrying about popping out of it. If you are large chested I definitely recommend sizing up. I would rent this again in a heart beat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
May 10, 2015
I loved the dress!!!!
The dress for great!!! I Ioved it and got compliments on it all night. The only negative thing is that the zipper would not stay zipped. My mom put a safety pin in and hid it and that worked well. Other than that it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 4, 2015
Dress fit like a glove and was my back up dress!
This was my backup dress after the dress I really loved was unavailable. It wasn't the dress I had hoped for, but I felt amazing in it anyway! It fit perfect and was much more flattering on than I anticipated!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 18
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
April 30, 2015
Beautiful dress and fit like a glove.
My daughter wore this to prom. She is 16 and it looked very sophisticated. She did not like the sleeves (she thought it made her look to matronly) so we just tucked them in on the sides and made it look strapless. I personally liked the sleeves but understood her point. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 29, 2015
Perfect for a formal event
It fit very well and was surprisingly comfortable. It was the right length for the heels I ended up wearing but it is a bit long. I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
April 28, 2015
I looked like a classy vixen!
Beautiful, classy, sexy dress. I got compliments all night--even from the bride!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2015
My first personal RTR experience!
Perfect fit! The material stretches which made it easy to dance the night away. If you are lacking in the bust like I am, a padded push-up bra would be ideal...strapless and maybe even try the sticky ones. I had a regular strapless bra and it worked fine though. I wore my favorite 5" heels and the dress length was perfect. The train was a bit tricky when others followed too close behind and stopped me mid step. Lol! Felt beautiful all night! My sister and I love RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 44
Weight: 124lbs
April 26, 2015
Perfect
I ordered this as a rush back-up because the original dress didn't fit. And I'm so glad! It was wonderful - hugged the body perfectly and still flowed. It is true to size, and the rouching even makes it forgiving. It was a spectacular dress. I was sad to return it!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 30
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2015
LOVED MY RENTAL GOWN, it fit just right and shaped my body perfectly. <3
I wore this dress for a very important Doctors Gala, and it was stunning. The way you see the dress online is exactly how it looks in person. I will def. be renting all my gowns from RENT THE RUNWAY for any future events. The prices and material of the dress was worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2015
The dress was beautiful & super comfortable.
Wore the dress for a black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2015
Perfect for prom!
Tighter up top than bottom, 6P had more durable zipper than 4P. Perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 11, 2015
Perfect combination of sexy and classy!
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and they certainly didn't disappoint. Going into it, I had really high expectations after hearing about the positive experiences my friends have had, but I was really nervous because I needed a dress for a black-tie, religious ceremony and banquet dinner. I was looking for something classy and appropriate (since this was a religious event) but at the same time trendy and youthful. The last thing I wanted was to look frumpy. I rented a black Nicole Miller floor length gown, and it was perfect. Fitted, only showed cleavage if you wanted to, and had a sexy keyhole in the back. The best part is that I didn't have to worry about the length which was a pretty big concern since I'm 5 ft. 2. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress touched the floor which is what I wanted. I have two black-tie weddings to attend this summer, and I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2015
Comfortable and very flattering!
I wore this to a formal for my law school, and it was actually my second option when shopping, but once I tried it on, knew I had to go with the black one. It was a great length with 3 inch heels, and was comfortable to dance in, and I didn't have to adjust or pull at it all night. The dress fit like a glove, and I was able to wear a strapless bra and regular thong bikini underneath, which was much more comfortable then needing spanx on underneath. It hugged in all the right places!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 16
Hey!
We just got a makeover.
Tap your Unlimited Bag to view and confirm what you've selected for your next shipment.
Try it now

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×