Black Open Back Sequin Gown

$80 rental
$750 retail

Price varies based on availability. Select your date to see price.

Stylist Notes

This stunning Nicole Miller gown reveals just enough skin to be ravishing. Wear with Crislu's Crystal Hoop Love Earrings and Cara Accessories' Dress Me Up Bracelet for an extra dose of glam.

Also available in purple sequin, teal, red and gold.

Size & Fit

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size & Fit Notes

This dress runs true to size. We recommend going one size up for back-up size (see following fit notes for exceptions).

BUST: Great for any cup size - fitted at bust so fuller busted women should consider sizing up
WAIST: Very fitted - very fitted throughout so size up for a less fitted look
HIPS: Very fitted - very fitted at hips so curvy women should size up
LENGTH: Floor length - available in 3 lengths (Petite, Regular, Long): Petite measures 56" from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5'1" woman in 3" heels; Regular measures 58” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’3” woman in 3” heels; Long measures 61” from shoulder to hem and will be floor length on a 5’6” woman in 3” heels. Curvier women should consider sizing up for length

UNDERGARMENTS: Should be worn with a strapless bra and seamless underwear - wear with SPANX to cinch in waist and hips
FABRIC: Fabric is very stretchy
GREAT FOR: Apple, Full Bust, Hourglass, Pear, Tall, Straight & Narrow body types

Size Chart

Size Chart

Length Chart

Length Chart

Dresses may not be offered in all of the above lengths.

Product Details

Black silk crepe. Square neckline. Sequin straps. Open back. Exposed back zipper (picture shown with hidden zip). See Size and Fit tab for length.

Share
603 reviews
Fit
Large29
True to Size510
Small36
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 29
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 121lbs
July 30, 2015
I wore this for a Casino Royale event. I definitely felt like I was going to a 007 set!
I'm 5'5" and 32B with an athletic build. It was incredibly comfortable to dance in and wear. I wore with platform heels adding height which was perfect for the length.
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34A
July 26, 2015
Great dress! It was perfect for a Black Tie wedding.
The dress fit great! I'm about 5'3" and rented the Regular length and it was still a little long even with my heels. But over all great dress and very comfortable!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 142lbs
July 22, 2015
LOVED the fit of this dress!!!
I wanted to wear black with a little kick and the sequin detail on the back was PERFECT.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 7"
Age: 33
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 128lbs
June 15, 2015
Perfect dress! Fit like a glove :)
I was unsure of how these dresses would fit but after going through other RTR client reviews on sizing and fabric I was confident in my choice! I absolutely love RTR! I have various events to attend annually and this site is a godsend!~The only complaint? Due to rising popularity, I spotted three other women wearing the same exact dress as I..
View photos (3)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 26
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
June 1, 2015
So flattering!
Loved this dress!!! So, the 4R fit like a glove, seriously, perfect. However, I ended up wearing my backup size (6R) for two reasons. First, I think someone who had the dress before broke the zipper and replaces it with another one. This zipper was a much better quality (black) and blended in with the dress. Second, I am not one to love tight fitting clothes and liked the looser fit (even though it's very stretchy). I got compliments all night! HIGHLY recommend!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 58
Bust size: 36C
Body type: Apple
Weight: 128lbs
May 28, 2015
I felt beautiful and sexy in this gown
This gown is amazing. It fits true to size. I am a 36 C and I loved how I was not spilling over the top. I got so may compliments which made me feel wonderful. Highly recommend anyone looking to rent a classy and sexy dress all in one this is a great choice.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 36
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
May 21, 2015
This dress was the perfect length for a 5'3'' gal!
I loved the neckline on this dress. I am a DD after baby and have had trouble finding the right dress. The waist was also rouched and very forgiving for any post pregnancy ladies. The dress design wasn't necessarily a show stopper but it made me look very, very slim. I also loved the Rent the Runway experience. No trips to the mall and hours spent trying on dresses. I just browsed online and it showed up at my door. There was also no need for a trip to the tailor or drycleaner afterwards. If you are having any hesitation, rent this dress! It's perfect!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Petite
Weight: 115lbs
May 17, 2015
Stunning
I absolutely loved the dress and received so many compliments. It was my back up and I ended up liking it more than the original dress I ordered. It fit so snug, but was stretchy. It hid all of your problem areas and was stunning. It was simple and sophisticated. I LOVED rent the runway and will definitely order again. The staff was amazing and helped me with this dress since my original dress did not fit.
View photos (3)
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 27
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 175lbs
May 15, 2015
So so so so many wonderful comments wearing this dress!!
Absolutely loved this dress!! I received so many sweet comments throughout the evening. I had ordered an 8L as my first choice and a 10R as my backup size. I ended up wearing the 10R because my chest was too large for the 8L. I was extremely comfortable sitting during the loooong formal portion of our event. The fit of the dress was so perfect across my bust that I was able to dance all night without worrying about popping out of it. If you are large chested I definitely recommend sizing up. I would rent this again in a heart beat.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 19
May 10, 2015
I loved the dress!!!!
The dress for great!!! I Ioved it and got compliments on it all night. The only negative thing is that the zipper would not stay zipped. My mom put a safety pin in and hid it and that worked well. Other than that it was great!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2P
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 110lbs
May 4, 2015
Dress fit like a glove and was my back up dress!
This was my backup dress after the dress I really loved was unavailable. It wasn't the dress I had hoped for, but I felt amazing in it anyway! It fit perfect and was much more flattering on than I anticipated!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 17
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 108lbs
April 30, 2015
Beautiful dress and fit like a glove.
My daughter wore this to prom. She is 16 and it looked very sophisticated. She did not like the sleeves (she thought it made her look to matronly) so we just tucked them in on the sides and made it look strapless. I personally liked the sleeves but understood her point. I would highly recommend this dress to anyone.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 25
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 148lbs
April 29, 2015
Perfect for a formal event
It fit very well and was surprisingly comfortable. It was the right length for the heels I ended up wearing but it is a bit long. I got tons of compliments!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 31
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 134lbs
April 28, 2015
I looked like a classy vixen!
Beautiful, classy, sexy dress. I got compliments all night--even from the bride!
Size worn:
2L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 115lbs
April 26, 2015
My first personal RTR experience!
Perfect fit! The material stretches which made it easy to dance the night away. If you are lacking in the bust like I am, a padded push-up bra would be ideal...strapless and maybe even try the sticky ones. I had a regular strapless bra and it worked fine though. I wore my favorite 5" heels and the dress length was perfect. The train was a bit tricky when others followed too close behind and stopped me mid step. Lol! Felt beautiful all night! My sister and I love RTR
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 43
Weight: 124lbs
April 26, 2015
Perfect
I ordered this as a rush back-up because the original dress didn't fit. And I'm so glad! It was wonderful - hugged the body perfectly and still flowed. It is true to size, and the rouching even makes it forgiving. It was a spectacular dress. I was sad to return it!
Size worn:
10R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 29
Bust size: 38C
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 150lbs
April 23, 2015
LOVED MY RENTAL GOWN, it fit just right and shaped my body perfectly. <3
I wore this dress for a very important Doctors Gala, and it was stunning. The way you see the dress online is exactly how it looks in person. I will def. be renting all my gowns from RENT THE RUNWAY for any future events. The prices and material of the dress was worth it.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 45
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 120lbs
April 19, 2015
The dress was beautiful & super comfortable.
Wore the dress for a black tie wedding.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6P
Rented for:
Formal Affair
April 15, 2015
Perfect for prom!
Tighter up top than bottom, 6P had more durable zipper than 4P. Perfect length.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 29
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 103lbs
April 11, 2015
Perfect combination of sexy and classy!
This was my first time using Rent The Runway, and they certainly didn't disappoint. Going into it, I had really high expectations after hearing about the positive experiences my friends have had, but I was really nervous because I needed a dress for a black-tie, religious ceremony and banquet dinner. I was looking for something classy and appropriate (since this was a religious event) but at the same time trendy and youthful. The last thing I wanted was to look frumpy. I rented a black Nicole Miller floor length gown, and it was perfect. Fitted, only showed cleavage if you wanted to, and had a sexy keyhole in the back. The best part is that I didn't have to worry about the length which was a pretty big concern since I'm 5 ft. 2. I wore 4 inch heels and the dress touched the floor which is what I wanted. I have two black-tie weddings to attend this summer, and I will definitely be using RTR again!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 140lbs
March 31, 2015
Comfortable and very flattering!
I wore this to a formal for my law school, and it was actually my second option when shopping, but once I tried it on, knew I had to go with the black one. It was a great length with 3 inch heels, and was comfortable to dance in, and I didn't have to adjust or pull at it all night. The dress fit like a glove, and I was able to wear a strapless bra and regular thong bikini underneath, which was much more comfortable then needing spanx on underneath. It hugged in all the right places!
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4L
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 33
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 136lbs
March 22, 2015
Perfect dress for black tie wedding
Easy to wear, very flattering. I wore the 4L with 4 inch heels and the length was perfect. I could have worn a 6L, but it wasn't available and the dress was stretchy enough that the 4L worked as well. Regular length was way too short.
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 30
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 145lbs
March 18, 2015
Great for a black tie wedding
Got a ton of compliments in this dress. I felt it was a little tight but the material sucks you in a bit. Would definitely reccomend for a formal event or black tie wedding!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 1"
Age: 29
March 17, 2015
Tons of compliments!
The dress had no odd fit issues. I felt great in the dress. It actually was one that RTR selected for me because the gown I wanted was returned in bad shape. So glad they did too! I'm sure this one looked way better than the one I wanted originally.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Party
Usually wears: 8
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 39
Bust size: 36A
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 135lbs
March 13, 2015
LOVE this dress!!
This dress fit perfectly and looked gorgeous!! I got a ton of compliments! Wish I could keep it lol
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 28
Bust size: 34B
Body type: Pear
Weight: 125lbs
March 11, 2015
Danced all night
I rented the 2 and 4 Rs and ended up wearing the 4, it was much more comfortable of a fit. And the length was perfect with approx. 4" heels. The ruching, though I didn't love it while on the hanger, was very flattering when on. It hid most all little imperfections (though I still wore spanx, just in case) The neckline was gorgeous, the sparkle on the top added just enough to pop, and the keyhole back was fabulous (really wish I'd gotten a pic of it!) It was snug on top so it might give quite a lot of cleavage for bustier girls, but I really did enjoy wearing this dress.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
12L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 28
Bust size: 36D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 155lbs
March 9, 2015
I rented this dress for a friends wedding and it was fabulous!
I ended up wearing the larger size, due to how tight it is in the bust. I am a 36 DD and had trouble zipping the size 10 all the way. This dress was so flattering and hugged my body in all the right places! I got so many compliments throughout the night. I wish I owned this one!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8L
Overall fit:
Small
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 8"
Age: 55
Bust size: 36D
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 133lbs
March 2, 2015
Beautiful fit, I felt so glamorous!
Runs small, I am a size 6 and this was the back-up I ordered in a 8L. It's just a little short, but I still wore heels.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
2R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Age: 33
February 26, 2015
Beautiful dress
I was about 9 weeks pregnant with our 2nd child in this dress. I read some of the previous reviews and they stated that the dress was very forgiving in the abdominal area. I disagree. I felt like I had to try and keep it sucked in all night or I'd really look prego. It was a beautiful dress and very comfortable. I'm 5'3" and the 2R was the perfect length. It was a pretty good rental, though. Beautiful dress.
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Straight & narrow
Weight: 100lbs
February 18, 2015
Classy flattering dress for black tie wedding
I waited until the last minute to rent so this was one of a few options, my first experience with RTR. the dress fit perfectly, the length was perfect with 4 in heels. it was so flattering, it gave me more of shape. the rouching (sp?) was perfectly placed. the material was comfortable. the back has a flattering little bustle, it is subtle. I danced all night! I have another black tie wedding in a month and I may rent this dress again. pictures don't do the details justice, got tons of compliments. the RTR experience is easy, you feel like you are wearing a brand new dress.
View photos (1)
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 130lbs
February 17, 2015
Didn't wear it but it's beautiful!
I ended up going with another dress for my law school's Barrister's Ball but this was a close second! I loved how elegant, simple, and skinny it made me look! Perfect size!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32D+
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 123lbs
February 17, 2015
Loved how this dress made me feel sexy and sophisticated!
Dress fit great, has some stretch and ruching around the midsection so is great for hiding any little flaws. Length was perfect with heels on. Didn't have any problems with the sequins scratching at all. And was able to wear a regular strapless bra without anything showing. Would 100% recommend this dress to anyone!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 36
Bust size: 34D
Body type: Full Bust
Weight: 130lbs
February 16, 2015
Great dress!
This dress fit like a glove and was extremely flattering. It definitely showed more cleavage than I anticipated, but overall it was perfect. Unfortunately, a friend in our party also rented the same dress from RTR, which was a little awkward. It would be great if they could allow you to specify what event you're attending to avoid this in the future, but we made the most of it.
Top Contributor
Size worn:
4R
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 6"
Age: 34
Bust size: 32C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 120lbs
February 15, 2015
Walking the red carpet
Fits true to size. The 2 would have for better, but the button latch was broken on the size 2 they sent me. But very comfortable. Loved the length and train. Got MANY compliments. Would definitely rent again.
View photos (1)
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 2"
Age: 24
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 125lbs
February 13, 2015
Beautiful silhouette! Just the right amount of sexy and conservative!
I usually wear a 4 or a 6 depending on the dress. I could have worn the 4 but it was a little more snug in the middle and bust. 6 flattered much more. I wore this to a black tie affair and felt like a million bucks!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
8R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 10
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 32
Bust size: 36B
Body type: Hourglass
Weight: 150lbs
February 11, 2015
Fit like a glove and made me feel beautiful and confident.
Dress can be long if you don't wear high enough heels.
Size worn:
2L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 2
Height: 5' 5"
Age: 30
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 11, 2015
Perfect fit!
Perfect fit!
Size worn:
0R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 0
Height: 5' 3"
Age: 32
Bust size: 32B
Body type: Petite
Weight: 108lbs
February 9, 2015
One of my favorite dresses!
I absolutely love this dress! The fit is very true to size. I wear a size 0 so I decided to go with the 0R. I wore 3 inch heals with the dress and they were perfect. The dress is stretchy where it needs to be and I was able to dance and move very comfortably. I received so many compliments on this dress throughout the night and it was a perfect dress for the black tie wedding that we attended. I was so sad to put it in the mail this morning! I wish I could keep it!
View photos (1)
Size worn:
4L
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Wedding
Usually wears: 4
Height: 5' 9"
Age: 35
Bust size: 32A
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 130lbs
February 8, 2015
This dress made me feel incredible. I felt glamorous while wearing it.
Fit was awesome. I'm 5-9" and am sometimes a 6 but usually a size 4. The main issue for me usually is my shoulders, which tend to be overbuilt (I'm a rock climber). This was not an issue with this dress. It made my shoulders and back look great. I wore short heels (2-1/2"). I wore the 4L and it was a great fit for my body; but wish I had been wearing slightly higher heels as the dress barely hit the floor, which made it tricky to dance. I would buy this dress! I have a small bust, and that was also not a problem. It made my derriere look great!
Top Contributor
Size worn:
6R
Overall fit:
True to Size
Rented for:
Formal Affair
Usually wears: 6
Height: 5' 4"
Age: 37
Bust size: 34C
Body type: Athletic
Weight: 140lbs
February 2, 2015
The dress was a showstopper!
The dress was perfect!! The fit, the size, the style, everything was exactly how I would have wanted it. I was getting compliments all night on how the dress looked and how flattering it was. It was also very comfortable. I was worried that the sequins on the arms would be scratchy but I didn't even notice them!
View photos (1)
See more reviews:
2 / 16

NEW! Add your favorites to a shortlist to organize for upcoming occasions.

Click a <3 to start!

×

We created a shortlist for

Click the <3 to save your favorites

×